DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 10-13, 22-23, 25, 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kundu et al. (US# 2019/0261391 hereinafter referred to as Kundu) in view of Yin et al. (US# 2020/0374085 hereinafter referred to as Yin).
RE Claim 1, Kundu discloses A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
identifying a collision between one or more hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (ACK) resources and one or more scheduling request (SR) resources (See Kundu [0034], [0060] – determining collision between HARQ-ACK resources and SR), wherein at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources and at least one of the one or more SR resources have different priorities (See Kundu [0034], [0060] - HARQ-ACK and SR resources having different priorities); and
performing an action, to resolve the collision, associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources (See Kundu [0034], [0045], [0054], [0060] - to resolve collision, performing action such as dropping HARQ-ACK or SR, or multiplexing HARQ-ACK and SR), wherein the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources is based at least in part on:
a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) format and a priority associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources (See Kundu [0099] - based on format and priority of HARQ-ACK), and
a second PUCCH format and a priority associated with at least one of the one or more SR resources (See Kundu [0099] - based on format and priority of SR (format 0)).
Kundu does not specifically disclose
Performing the action to resolve the collision based at least in part on a quantity of bits of the one or more HARQ ACK resources, whether the SR is positive or negative, and a quantity of bits associated with the one or more SR resources.
However, Yin teaches of Performing the action to resolve the collision based at least in part on a quantity of bits of the one or more HARQ ACK resources (See Yin [0037], [0077], [0117] – taking different actions to resolve overlapping situations depending on how many bits of HARQ-ACK/SR are being transmitted; PUCCH for HARQ-ACK format is based in part on size of HARQ-ACK (formats 0,1 for <= 2 bits, formats 2,3,4 for >2 bits); PUCCH resource dynamically selected based on actual UCI payload size; collision handling is different depending on HARQ-ACK size (bits) which affect PUCCH resource and PUCCH format), whether the SR is positive or negative (See Yin [0077] – in case of negative SR, using same PUCCH resources as for HARQ-ACK only; in case of positive SR, using HARQ-ACK on PRB for HARQ-ACK only), and a quantity of bits associated with the one or more SR resources (See Yin [0037], [0077], [0094], [0096], [0118]-[0119] – taking different actions to resolve overlapping situations depending on how many bits of HARQ-ACK/SR are being transmitted; collision handling is different based on quantity of SR bits (i.e. X number of SR bits)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the collision management system, as disclosed in Kundu, comprising performing an action to resolve the collision based at least in part on a quantity of bits of the one or more HARQ ACK resources, whether the SR is positive or negative, and a quantity of bits associated with the one or more SR resources, as taught in Yin. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication capacity, flexibility, and efficiency (See Yin Background; [0077]).
RE Claim 2, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein identifying the collision between the one or more HARQ ACK resources and the one or more SR resources comprises:
identifying a collision between a HARQ ACK resource, associated with a first priority and the first PUCCH format (See Kundu [0099] – collision with HARQ-ACK with first PUCCH format a certain priority level), and an SR resource associated with a second priority and the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0099] – collision with SR second PUCCH format and a certain priority level); and
wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources is based at least in part on at least one of:
whether the first priority is a higher priority than the second priority (See Kundu [0060], [0099] – handling collision based on whether HARQ-ACK or SR has higher priority), the first PUCCH format or the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0054], [0099] – handling collision based on PUCCH format), or whether a payload of the SR resource indicates a positive SR (See Kundu [0045] – based on positive SR string of X bits indicate which of the X configured SRs are chosen for multiplexing (SR being positive or negative)).
RE Claim 3, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource associated with a low priority (See Kundu [0060] – collision with HARQ ACK of a certain priority) and associated with the first PUCCH format (See Kundu [0027], [0029], [0046]-[0049] – PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK in format 0), and an SR resource associated with a high priority (See Kundu [0060] – collision with SR of a certain priority) and associated with the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0027], [0029], [0046]-[0049] – PUCCH carrying SR in format 0); and
wherein performing the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises:
multiplexing a payload of the HARQ ACK resource and a payload of the SR resource on the HARQ ACK resource (See Kundu [0027], [0029], [0049] – multiplexing HARQ-ACK and SR on HARQ-ACK resource); and
transmitting, using the HARQ ACK resource, a multiplexed payload that includes the payload of the HARQ ACK resource and the payload of the SR resource (See Kundu [0027], [0029], [0049] – transmitting multiplexed resource).
RE Claim 4, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource associated with a low priority (See Kundu [0060] – collision with HARQ ACK of a certain priority) and associated with the first PUCCH format (See Kundu [0027], [0029], [0046]-[0049] – PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK in format 0), and an SR resource associated with a high priority (See Kundu [0060] – collision with SR of a certain priority) and associated with the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0027], [0029], [0046]-[0049] – PUCCH carrying SR in format 0); and
wherein performing the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises:
multiplexing a payload of the HARQ ACK resource and a payload of the SR resource on the SR resource (See Kundu [0027], [0029] – if two PUCCHs of short format (i.e. format 0) collide, can multiplex both (i.e. HARQ-ACK and SR) onto either PUCCH resource (i.e. PUCCH carrying SR)); and
transmitting, using the SR resource, a multiplexed payload that includes the payload of the HARQ ACK resource and the payload of the SR resource (See Kundu [0027], [0029] – transmitting multiplexed resource).
RE Claim 7, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource associated with a low priority and associated with the first PUCCH format, and an SR resource associated with a high priority and associated with the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0056], [0064], [0099] – PUCCHs with UCIs of different priorities colliding; HARQ-ACK resource first PUCCH format and SR resource second PUCCH format), wherein the first PUCCH format is different from the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0098]-[0099], [0109]); and
wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources includes transmitting a payload of the HARQ ACK resource on the HARQ ACK resource or the SR resource based at least in part on whether a payload of the SR resource indicates a positive SR (See Yin [0077]).
RE Claim 8, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource associated with a low priority and associated with the first PUCCH format, and an SR resource associated with a high priority and associated with the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0056], [0064], [0099] – PUCCHs with UCIs of different priorities colliding; HARQ-ACK resource first PUCCH format and SR resource second PUCCH format), wherein the first PUCCH format is different from the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0098]-[0099], [0109]); and
wherein performing the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises: transmitting, using the SR resource, a payload of the HARQ ACK resource based at least in part on the payload of the SR resource indicating a positive SR; or transmitting, using the HARQ ACK resource, a payload of the HARQ ACK resource based at least in part on the payload of the SR resource indicating a negative SR (See Yin [0077] – transmitting HARQ-ACK on HARQ-ACK resource based on if SR resource indicates a negative SR).
RE Claim 10, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource associated with a high priority (See Kundu [0034], [0060] - HARQ-ACK and SR resources having different priorities) and associated with a PUCCH format 0 (See Kundu [0046]-[0049] – HARQ ACK with PUCCH format 0), and an SR resource associated with a low priority (See Kundu [0034], [0060] - HARQ-ACK and SR resources having different priorities) and associated with a PUCCH format 0 (See Kundu [0046]-[0049] – SR with PUCCH format 0); and
wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources includes multiplexing a payload of the HARQ ACK resource and a payload of the SR resource on the HARQ ACK resource (See Kundu [0049] – multiplexing HARQ-ACK and SR on HARQ-ACK resource).
RE Claim 11, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource associated with a high priority (See Kundu [0034], [0060], [0099] - HARQ-ACK and SR resources having different priorities) and associated with the first PUCCH format, and an SR resource associated with a low priority (See Kundu [0034], [0060], [0099] - HARQ-ACK and SR resources having different priorities) and associated with the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0052]-[0053], [0099] – HARQ-ACK colliding with SR), wherein the first PUCCH format is different from the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0098]-[0099], [0109]); and
wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources includes multiplexing a payload of the HARQ ACK resource and a payload of the SR resource on the HARQ ACK resource (See Kundu [0098], [0109] – multiplexing HARQ-ACK and SR on HARQ-ACK resource).
RE Claim 12, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource associated with a high priority (See Kundu [0034], [0060], [0099] - HARQ-ACK and SR resources having different priorities) and associated with the first PUCCH format, and an SR resource associated with a low priority (See Kundu [0034], [0060], [0099] - HARQ-ACK and SR resources having different priorities) and associated with the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0052]-[0053], [0099] – HARQ-ACK colliding with SR), wherein the first PUCCH format is different from the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0098]-[0099], [0109]); and
wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources includes dropping the SR resource (See Kundu [0054], [0099] – dropping SR resource while transmitting HARQ-ACK resource).
RE Claim 13, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource associated with a high priority (See Kundu [0034], [0060], [0099] - HARQ-ACK and SR resources having different priorities) and associated with the first PUCCH format, and an SR resource associated with a low priority (See Kundu [0034], [0060], [0099] - HARQ-ACK and SR resources having different priorities) and associated with the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0052]-[0053], [0099] – HARQ-ACK colliding with SR), wherein the first PUCCH format is different from the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0098]-[0099], [0109]); and
wherein performing the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises:
dropping the SR resource (See Kundu [0054], [0099] – dropping SR resource); and
transmitting, using the HARQ ACK resource, a payload of the HARQ ACK resource (See Kundu [0054], [0099] – transmitting HARQ-ACK resource).
RE Claim 22, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource (See Kundu [0037]-[0038], [0099] – i.e. format 2), and at least one of:
one or more SR resources associated with a high priority, or one or more SR resources associated with a low priority (See Kundu [0055], [0099] – SR associated with a priority); and
wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises:
appending information to a payload of the HARQ ACK resource to indicate a payload of the one or more SR resources associated with the high priority or the one or more SR resources associated with the low priority based at least in part on whether a payload of an SR resource, of the one or more SR resources associated with the high priority, indicates a positive SR (See Kundu [0037]-[0038], [0055], [0098]-[0099], [0109] – appending SR to HARQ-ACK indicating positive SR).
RE Claim 23, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource (See Kundu [0037]-[0038], [0099] – i.e. format 2), and at least one of:
one or more SR resources associated with a high priority, or one or more SR resources associated with a low priority (See Kundu [0055], [0099] – SR associated with a priority); and
wherein performing the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises:
appending information, indicating a payload of any positive SRs included in the one or more SR resources associated with the high priority, to a payload of the HARQ ACK resource based at least in part on at least one payload of the one or more SR resources associated with the high priority indicating a positive SR (See Kundu [0037]-[0038], [0055]. [0098]-[0099], [0109] – appending SR to HARQ-ACK indicating positive SR); or
appending information, indicating a payload of any positive SRs included in the one or more SR resources associated with the low priority, to a payload of the HARQ ACK resource based at least in part on no payloads of the one or more SR resources associated with the high priority indicating a positive SR.
RE Claim 25, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein performing the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises:
multiplexing a first payload of one or more HARQ ACK resources and a second payload of the one or more SR resources on the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources (See Kundu [0038], [0040], [0098]-[0099], [0109] – SR multiplexed with HARQ-ACK on HARQ-ACK PUCCH); and
transmitting, using the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources, a message including a multiplexed payload, wherein the multiplexed payload includes the first payload and the second payload (See Kundu [0038], [0040], [0098]-[0099], [0109] – HARQ-ACK PUCCH including HARQ-ACK/SR payload).
RE Claim 27, Kundu discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
One or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (See Kundu FIGs 13-15), which are configured, individually or in any combination, to:
identify a collision between one or more hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (ACK) resources and one or more scheduling request (SR) resources (See Kundu [0034], [0060] – determining collision between HARQ-ACK resources and SR), wherein at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources and at least one of the one or more SR resources have different priorities (See Kundu [0034], [0060] - HARQ-ACK and SR resources having different priorities); and
perform an action, to resolve the collision, associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources (See Kundu [0034], [0045], [0054], [0060] - to resolve collision, performing action such as dropping HARQ-ACK or SR, or multiplexing HARQ-ACK and SR), wherein the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources is based at least in part on:
a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) format or a priority associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources (See Kundu [0099] - based on format and priority of HARQ-ACK), and
a second PUCCH format and a priority associated with at least one of the one or more SR resources (See Kundu [0099] - based on format and priority of SR (format 0)).
Kundu does not specifically disclose
Performing the action to resolve the collision based at least in part on a quantity of bits of the one or more HARQ ACK resources, whether the SR is positive or negative, and a quantity of bits associated with the one or more SR resources.
However, Yin teaches of Performing the action to resolve the collision based at least in part on a quantity of bits of the one or more HARQ ACK resources (See Yin [0037], [0077], [0117] – taking different actions to resolve overlapping situations depending on how many bits of HARQ-ACK/SR are being transmitted; PUCCH for HARQ-ACK format is based in part on size of HARQ-ACK (formats 0,1 for <= 2 bits, formats 2,3,4 for >2 bits); PUCCH resource dynamically selected based on actual UCI payload size; collision handling is different depending on HARQ-ACK size (bits) which affect PUCCH resource and PUCCH format), whether the SR is positive or negative (See Yin [0077] – in case of negative SR, using same PUCCH resources as for HARQ-ACK only; in case of positive SR, using HARQ-ACK on PRB for HARQ-ACK only), and a quantity of bits associated with the one or more SR resources (See Yin [0037], [0077], [0094], [0096], [0118]-[0119] – taking different actions to resolve overlapping situations depending on how many bits of HARQ-ACK/SR are being transmitted; collision handling is different based on quantity of SR bits (i.e. X number of SR bits)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the collision management system, as disclosed in Kundu, comprising performing an action to resolve the collision based at least in part on a quantity of bits of the one or more HARQ ACK resources, whether the SR is positive or negative, and a quantity of bits associated with the one or more SR resources, as taught in Yin. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication capacity, flexibility, and efficiency (See Yin Background; [0077]).
RE Claim 28, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 27 above, wherein the one or more processors, to identify the collision between the one or more HARQ ACK resources and the one or more SR resources, are configured to:
identify a collision between a HARQ ACK resource, associated with a first priority and the first PUCCH format (See Kundu [0060], [0099] – collision with HARQ-ACK with first PUCCH format and a certain priority level), and an SR resource associated with a second priority and the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0060], [0099] – collision with SR second PUCCH format and a certain priority level); and
wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources is based at least in part on at least one of:
whether the first priority is a higher priority than the second priority (See Kundu [0060], [0099] – handling collision based on whether HARQ-ACK or SR has higher priority), the PUCCH format (See Kundu [0054], [0099] – handling collision based on PUCCH format (i.e. dropping SR)), or whether a payload of the SR resource indicates a positive SR (See Kundu [0045] – based on positive SR string of X bits indicate which of the X configured SRs are chosen for multiplexing (SR being positive or negative)).
RE Claim 29, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 27 above, wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource associated with a low priority (See Kundu [0060] – collision with HARQ ACK of a certain priority) and associated with the first PUCCH format (See Kundu [0027], [0029], [0046]-[0049] – PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK in format 0), and an SR resource associated with a high priority (See Kundu [0060] – collision with SR of a certain priority) and associated with a the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0027], [0029], [0046]-[0049] – PUCCH carrying SR in format 0); and
Wherein the one or more processors, to perform the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources, are configured to:
multiplex a payload of the HARQ ACK resource and a payload of the SR resource on the HARQ ACK resource (See Kundu [0027], [0029], [0049] – multiplexing HARQ-ACK and SR on HARQ-ACK resource); and
transmit, using the HARQ ACK resource, a multiplexed payload that includes the payload of the HARQ ACK resource and the payload of the SR resource (See Kundu [0027], [0029], [0049] – transmitting multiplexed resource).
RE Claim 30, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 27 above, wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource associated with a low priority (See Kundu [0060] – collision with HARQ ACK of a certain priority) and associated with the first PUCCH format (See Kundu [0027], [0029], [0046]-[0049] – PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK in format 0), and an SR resource associated with a high priority (See Kundu [0060] – collision with SR of a certain priority) and associated with the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0027], [0029], [0046]-[0049] – PUCCH carrying SR in format 0); and
Wherein the one or more processors, to perform the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources, are configured to:
multiplex a payload of the HARQ ACK resource and a payload of the SR resource on the SR resource (See Kundu [0027], [0029] – if two PUCCHs of short format (i.e. format 0) collide, can multiplex both (i.e. HARQ-ACK and SR) onto either PUCCH resource (i.e. PUCCH carrying SR)); and
transmit, using the SR resource, a multiplexed payload that includes the payload of the HARQ ACK resource and the payload of the SR resource (See Kundu [0027], [0029] – transmitting multiplexed resource).
Claims 5, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kundu et al. (US# 2019/0261391 hereinafter referred to as Kundu) in view of Yin et al. (US# 2020/0374085 hereinafter referred to as Yin) and Guo (US# 2022/0191890).
RE Claim 5, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource associated with a low priority and associated with the first PUCCH format, and an SR resource associated with a high priority and associated with the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0046], [0064], [0099] – PUCCHs with UCIs of different priorities colliding), wherein the first PUCCH format is different from the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0099]).
Kundu, modified by Yin, does not specifically disclose wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources includes transmitting a payload of the HARQ ACK resource on the SR resource based at least in part on a payload of the SR resource indicating a positive SR.
However, Guo teaches of wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources includes transmitting a payload of the HARQ ACK resource on the SR resource based at least in part on a payload of the SR resource indicating a positive SR (See Guo [0195], [0197]-[0198] – if first SR is positive, transmit HARQ-ACK on first PUCCH (SR resource)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the collision management system, as disclosed in Kundu, modified by Yin, wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources includes transmitting a payload of the HARQ ACK resource on the SR resource based at least in part on a payload of the SR resource indicating a positive SR, as taught in Guo. One is motivated as such in order to more efficiently handle collisions (See Guo Background; Summary).
RE Claim 20, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above. Kundu, modified by Yin, does not specifically disclose wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource, associated with the first PUCCH format, a first SR resource associated with a high priority, and a second SR resource associated with a low priority; and wherein performing the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises: performing a first action associated with a payload of the HARQ ACK resource and a payload of the second SR resource based at least in part on a payload of the first SR resource indicating a negative SR; or performing a second action associated with the payload of the HARQ ACK resource and the payload of the first SR resource based at least in part on the payload of the first SR resource indicating a positive SR.
However, Guo teaches of wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource, associated with a first PUCCH format (See Guo [0042], [0049] – HARQ-ACK can be format 2, 3, or 4), a first SR resource associated with a high priority, and a second SR resource associated with a low priority (See Guo [0075] – first and second SRs of different priorities); and
wherein performing the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises:
performing a first action associated with a payload of the HARQ ACK resource and a payload of the second SR resource based at least in part on a payload of the first SR resource indicating a negative SR (See Guo [0041], [0099]-[0100], [0131] – determining whether or not to drop SR based on what other SR indicates (positive or negative)); or
performing a second action associated with the payload of the HARQ ACK resource and the payload of the first SR resource based at least in part on the payload of the first SR resource indicating a positive SR (See Guo [102]-[0103] – determining how to handle SR based on what SR indicates (positive or negative)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the collision management system, as disclosed in Kundu, modified by Yin, wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource, associated with the first PUCCH format, a first SR resource associated with a high priority, and a second SR resource associated with a low priority; and wherein performing the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises: performing a first action associated with a payload of the HARQ ACK resource and a payload of the second SR resource based at least in part on a payload of the first SR resource indicating a negative SR; or performing a second action associated with the payload of the HARQ ACK resource and the payload of the first SR resource based at least in part on the payload of the first SR resource indicating a positive SR, as taught in Guo. One is motivated as such in order to more efficiently handle collisions (See Guo Background; Summary).
RE Claim 21, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above. Kundu, modified by Yin, does not specifically disclose wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource, associated with the first PUCCH format, a first SR resource associated with a high priority, and a second SR resource associated with a low priority; and wherein performing the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises: dropping the second SR resource based at least in part on a payload of the first SR resource indicating a positive SR.
However, Guo teaches of wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource, associated with the first PUCCH format (See Guo [0042], [0049] – HARQ-ACK can be format 2, 3 or 4), a first SR resource associated with a high priority, and a second SR resource associated with a low priority (See Guo [0075] – first and second SRs of different priorities); and
wherein performing the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises:
dropping the second SR resource based at least in part on a payload of the first SR resource indicating a positive SR (See Guo [0131]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the collision management system, as disclosed in Kundu, modified by Yin, wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource, associated with the first PUCCH format, a first SR resource associated with a high priority, and a second SR resource associated with a low priority; and wherein performing the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises: dropping the second SR resource based at least in part on a payload of the first SR resource indicating a positive SR, as taught in Guo. One is motivated as such in order to more efficiently handle collisions (See Guo Background; Summary).
Claims 6, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kundu et al. (US# 2019/0261391 hereinafter referred to as Kundu) in view of Yin et al. (US# 2020/0374085 hereinafter referred to as Yin) and Froberg Olsson et al. (US# 2023/0164774 hereinafter referred to as Froberg).
RE Claim 6, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource associated with a low priority and associated with the first PUCCH format, and an SR resource associated with a high priority and associated with the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0046], [0064], [0099] – PUCCHs with UCIs of different priorities colliding; HARQ-ACK on first PUCCH format and SR on second PUCCH format), wherein the first PUCCH format is different from the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0098]-[0099], [0109]); and
wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources includes:
transmitting a payload of the HARQ ACK resource on the HARQ ACK resource based at least in part on a payload of the SR resource indicating a negative SR (See Yin [0077] – if first SR is negative, transmitting HARQ-ACK on HARQ-ACK PUCCH resource).
Kundu, modified by Yin, does not specifically disclose dropping the SR resource based at least in part on the payload of the SR resource indicating the negative SR.
However, Froberg teaches of dropping the SR resource based at least in part on the payload of the SR resource indicating the negative SR (See Froberg [0023] – if SR negative, transmitting HARQ-ACK and dropping SR).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the collision management system, as disclosed in Kundu, modified by Yin, comprising dropping the SR resource based at least in part on the payload of the SR resource indicating the negative SR, as taught in Froberg. One is motivated as such in order to improve latency while avoiding inter-cell interference (See Froberg Background; Summary).
RE Claim 9, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource associated with a low priority and associated with the first PUCCH format, and an SR resource associated with a high priority and associated with the second PUCCH format (See Kundu [0056], [0064], [0099] – PUCCHs with UCIs of different priorities colliding; HARQ-ACK resource PUCCH first format and SR resource second PUCCH format).
Kundu, modified by Yin, does not specifically disclose wherein performing the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises: dropping the SR resource; and transmitting, using the HARQ ACK resource, a payload of the HARQ ACK resource.
However, Froberg teaches of wherein performing the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises:
dropping the SR resource (See Froberg [0023] – dropping SR occasion); and
transmitting, using the HARQ ACK resource, a payload of the HARQ ACK resource (See Froberg [0023] – transmitting HARQ-ACK on HARQ-ACK resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the collision management system, as disclosed in Kundu, modified by Yin, wherein performing the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises: dropping the SR resource; and transmitting, using the HARQ ACK resource, a payload of the HARQ ACK resource, as taught in Froberg. One is motivated as such in order to improve latency while avoiding inter-cell interference (See Froberg Background; Summary).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kundu et al. (US# 2019/0261391 hereinafter referred to as Kundu) in view of Yin et al. (US# 2020/0374085 hereinafter referred to as Yin) and Xiong et al. (US# 2019/0306922 hereinafter referred to as Xiong).
RE Claim 14, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the collision is between a HARQ ACK resource, associated with a high priority and associated with a PUCCH format 1, and an SR resource associated with a low priority and associated with a PUCCH format 1 (See Kundu [0056]-[0061] – PUCCHs with UCIs of different priorities colliding; HARQ-ACK resource PUCCH format 1 and SR resource PUCCH format 1).
Kundu, modified by Yin, does not specifically disclose the specific PUCCH formats and wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources includes transmitting a payload of the HARQ ACK resource using the SR resource or the HARQ ACK resource based at least in part on whether a payload of the SR resource indicates a positive SR.
However, Xiong teaches of wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources includes transmitting a payload of the HARQ ACK resource using the SR resource or the HARQ ACK resource based at least in part on whether a payload of the SR resource indicates a positive SR (See Xiong [0153] – HARQ-ACK format 1, SR format 1, transmitting HARQ-ACK on SR resource depending on whether SR is positive or negative).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the collision management system, as disclosed in Kundu, modified by Yin, wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources includes transmitting a payload of the HARQ ACK resource using the SR resource or the HARQ ACK resource based at least in part on whether a payload of the SR resource indicates a positive SR, as taught in Xiong. One is motivated as such in order to provide bandwidth and acceptable response times while efficiently utilizing network resources (See Xiong [0003]).
RE Claim 15, Kundu, modified by Yin and Xiong, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 14 above, wherein transmitting the payload of the HARQ ACK resource using the SR resource or the HARQ ACK resource comprises:
transmitting, using the SR resource, the payload of the HARQ ACK resource based at least in part on the payload of the SR resource indicating the positive SR (See Xiong [0153] – HARQ-ACK format 1, SR format 1, transmitting HARQ-ACK on SR resource depending on whether SR is positive or negative); or transmitting, using the HARQ ACK resources, the payload of the HARQ ACK resource based at least in part on the payload of the SR resource indicating a negative SR (See Xiong [0153] – HARQ-ACK format 1, SR format 1, transmitting HARQ-ACK on SR resource depending on whether SR is positive or negative).
Claims 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kundu et al. (US# 2019/0261391 hereinafter referred to as Kundu) in view of Yin et al. (US# 2020/0374085 hereinafter referred to as Yin) and Islam et al. (US# 2020/0228248 hereinafter referred to as Islam).
RE Claim 16, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above. Kundu, modified by Yin, does not specifically disclose wherein the collision is between a first HARQ ACK resource associated with a low priority, a second HARQ ACK resource associated with a high priority, and an SR resource associated with the high priority; and
wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises:
multiplexing, on the second HARQ ACK resource, a payload of the first HARQ ACK resource and a payload of the second HARQ ACK resource; and
performing another action associated with the second HARQ ACK resource, that includes a multiplexed payload, and the SR resource based at least in part on associating the multiplexed payload with the high priority.
However, Islam teaches of wherein the collision is between a first HARQ ACK resource associated with a low priority, a second HARQ ACK resource associated with a high priority, and an SR resource associated with the high priority (See Islam [0064]-[0073] – first HARQ-ACK, second HARQ-ACK, and SR associated with different priorities); and
wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises:
multiplexing, on the second HARQ ACK resource, a payload of the first HARQ ACK resource and a payload of the second HARQ ACK resource (See Islam [0064]-[0073] – multiplexing first HARQ-ACK and second HARQ-ACK); and
performing another action associated with the second HARQ ACK resource, that includes a multiplexed payload, and the SR resource based at least in part on associating the multiplexed payload with the high priority (See Islam [0064]-[0073] – multiplexing (or not multiplexing) first/second HARQ-ACK with SR based in part on priorities of HARQ-ACKs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the collision management system, as disclosed in Kundu, modified by Yin, wherein the collision is between a first HARQ ACK resource associated with a low priority, a second HARQ ACK resource associated with a high priority, and an SR resource associated with the high priority; and
wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises:
multiplexing, on the second HARQ ACK resource, a payload of the first HARQ ACK resource and a payload of the second HARQ ACK resource; and
performing another action associated with the second HARQ ACK resource, that includes a multiplexed payload, and the SR resource based at least in part on associating the multiplexed payload with the high priority, as taught in Islam. One is motivated as such in order to provide better prioritization for services in the network (See Islam [0003]).
RE Claim 18, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above. Kundu, modified by Yin, does not specifically disclose wherein the collision is between a first HARQ ACK resource associated with a low priority, a second HARQ ACK resource associated with a high priority, and an SR resource associated with the low priority; and wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises: multiplexing, on the second HARQ ACK resource, a payload of the first HARQ ACK resource and a payload of the second HARQ ACK resource; and performing another action associated with the second HARQ ACK resource, that includes a multiplexed payload, and the SR resource based at least in part on associating the multiplexed payload with the high priority.
However, Islam teaches of wherein the collision is between a first HARQ ACK resource associated with a low priority, a second HARQ ACK resource associated with a high priority, and an SR resource associated with the low priority (See Islam [0064]-[0073] – first HARQ-ACK, second HARQ-ACK, and SR associated with different priorities); and
wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises:
multiplexing, on the second HARQ ACK resource, a payload of the first HARQ ACK resource and a payload of the second HARQ ACK resource (See Islam [0064]-[0073] – multiplexing first HARQ-ACK and second HARQ-ACK); and
performing another action associated with the second HARQ ACK resource, that includes a multiplexed payload, and the SR resource based at least in part on associating the multiplexed payload with the high priority (See Islam [0064]-[0073] – multiplexing (or not multiplexing) first/second HARQ-ACK with SR based in part on priorities of HARQ-ACKs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the collision management system, as disclosed in Kundu, modified by Yin, wherein the collision is between a first HARQ ACK resource associated with a low priority, a second HARQ ACK resource associated with a high priority, and an SR resource associated with the low priority; and wherein the action to be performed associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises: multiplexing, on the second HARQ ACK resource, a payload of the first HARQ ACK resource and a payload of the second HARQ ACK resource; and performing another action associated with the second HARQ ACK resource, that includes a multiplexed payload, and the SR resource based at least in part on associating the multiplexed payload with the high priority, as taught in Islam. One is motivated as such in order to provide better prioritization for services in the network (See Islam [0003]).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kundu et al. (US# 2019/0261391 hereinafter referred to as Kundu) in view of Yin et al. (US# 2020/0374085 hereinafter referred to as Yin) and Park et al. (US# 2019/0246416 hereinafter referred to as Park).
RE Claim 26, Kundu, modified by Yin, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above. Kundu, modified by Yin, does not specifically disclose wherein performing the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises: transmitting, using a low priority resource among the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources, a payload of at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources, wherein the low priority resource is transmitted using a power control parameter associated with a high priority resource among the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources.
However, Park teaches of wherein performing the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises:
transmitting, using a low priority resource among the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources, a payload of at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources, wherein the low priority resource is transmitted using a power control parameter associated with a high priority resource among the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources (See Park [0023]-[0025], [0223]-[0224], [0226] – low priority channel power matched with high priority channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the collision management system, as disclosed in Kundu, modified by Yin, wherein performing the action associated with at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources comprises: transmitting, using a low priority resource among the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources, a payload of at least one of the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources, wherein the low priority resource is transmitted using a power control parameter associated with a high priority resource among the one or more HARQ ACK resources or the one or more SR resources, as taught in Park. One is motivated as such in order to help communicate SR and HARQ-ACK data when there is a collision (See Park [0006]-[0030]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 19, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Yin teaches of Performing the action to resolve the collision based at least in part on a quantity of bits of the one or more HARQ ACK resources (See Yin [0037], [0077], [0117] – taking different actions to resolve overlapping situations depending on how many bits of HARQ-ACK/SR are being transmitted; PUCCH for HARQ-ACK format is based in part on size of HARQ-ACK (formats 0,1 for <= 2 bits, formats 2,3,4 for >2 bits); PUCCH resource dynamically selected based on actual UCI payload size; collision handling is different depending on HARQ-ACK size (bits) which affect PUCCH resource and PUCCH format), whether the SR is positive or negative (See Yin [0077] – in case of negative SR, using same PUCCH resources as for HARQ-ACK only; in case of positive SR, using HARQ-ACK on PRB for HARQ-ACK only), and a quantity of bits associated with the one or more SR resources (See Yin [0037], [0077], [0094], [0096], [0118]-[0119] – taking different actions to resolve overlapping situations depending on how many bits of HARQ-ACK/SR are being transmitted; collision handling is different based on quantity of SR bits (i.e. X number of SR bits))).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477