DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/13/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 29, 31, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sorokin (US 20130096702 A1).
With regards to claim 21. Sorokin disclose(s):
(previously presented) A system comprising:
a lighting controller (10, 26, 12, 34) connected to each of the plurality of lighting devices (“lighting” in fig 1; [0038]), the lighting controller being operable to control a function of each of the plurality of lighting devices and to execute stored computer code by which the plurality of lighting devices emit lighting signals (“The lighting system may create a desired lighting scene under control of the atmosphere creation system 10” [0038]; see interfaces for controlling lighting in [0039]; see interfaces being stored in 12 [0040]); and
an input controller (18, 20) connected to the lighting controller, the input controller including at least one receiving unit (19, 21; [0045]) for receiving an input from an external device (28; [0045]),
wherein the input received from the external device (28) is operable to alter the lighting signals emitted by the plurality of lighting devices (see interfaces for controlling lighting in [0039]; see 28 having the interfaces in [0047]).
With regards to claim 29. Sorokin disclose(s):
The system of claim 21, wherein the input controller (18, 20) includes a plurality of receiving units (19, 21; [0045]).
With regards to claim 31. Sorokin disclose(s):
(new) The system of claim 21, wherein the receiving unit receives the input from the external device wirelessly (wirelessly [0045]).
With regards to claim 32. Sorokin disclose(s):
(new) The system of claim 31, wherein the external device (28; [0045]) is a mobile phone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorokin (US 20130096702 A1) in view of Verfuerth (US 20090243517 A1).
With regards to claim 33. Sorokin disclose(s):
(new) The system of claim 32, wherein the lighting controller is accessed by the mobile phone using a web-based interface [0039]
Sorokin does not disclose(s):
the web-based interface being based on hyperlinks
Verfuerth teaches
the web-based interface being based on hyperlinks [0089].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Sorokin by implementing the web-based interface being based on hyperlinks as disclosed by Verfuerth in order to efficiently and remotely control a system through an web based interface as taught/suggested by Verfuerth ([0089]).
With regards to claim 34. Sorokin as modified disclose(s):
(new) The system of claim 33,
Sorokin further disclose(s):
wherein the hyperlink is provided in a scannable image readable by the mobile phone (see 36 in fig 1; see 18 being an smartphone with a camera in [0045]).
With regards to claim 35. Sorokin as modified disclose(s):
(new) The system of claim 34,
Sorokin further disclose(s):
wherein the scannable image is a QR code (see 36 in fig 1).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorokin (US 20130096702 A1) in view of Wilson (US 10143053 B1)
With regards to claim 30. Sorokin as modified disclose(s):
The system of claim 21,
Sorokin further disclose(s):
wherein the input received from the external device (28; [0045]) is operable to cause the lighting controller (10, 26, 12, 34)
Sorokin does not disclose(s):
wherein the input received from the external device is operable to cause the lighting controller to execute additional stored computer code by which the plurality of lighting devices emit additional lighting signals.
Wilson teaches
wherein the input received from the external device (103; fig 1; fig 5) is operable to cause the lighting controller (104; fig 1) to execute additional stored computer code by which the plurality of lighting devices emit additional lighting signals (see 521 in fig 5; [lines 3-7 in col 10]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Sorokin by implementing the input received from the external device is operable to cause the lighting controller to execute additional stored computer code by which the plurality of lighting devices emit additional lighting signals as disclosed by Wilson in order to allow users to further access to advance lighting control as taught/suggested by Wilson ([line 60 in col 9 to line 6 in col 10]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the interpretation being used in the current rejection.
Applicant asserts that the prior art, Sorokin, fails to disclose “the input received from the external device is operable to alter the lighting signals emitted by the plurality of lighting devices” as recited in claim 1. The examiner respectfully disagrees; Sorokin discloses the input received from the external device (28) is operable to alter the lighting signals emitted by the plurality of lighting devices (see interfaces for controlling lighting in [0039]; see 28 having the interfaces in [0047]). For at least reason above, the examiner maintain reference Sorokin with a different interpretation to reject claims 21, and 29-35.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RENAN LUQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896