DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed on 10/06/2025
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 9 and 18 are independent claims. Claims 1, 7-9 and 15-17 have been currently amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an
abstract idea without significantly more.
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (Step 1). If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, the second step in the analysis is to determine whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (Step 2A). The Step 2A analysis is broken into two prongs. In the first prong (Step 2A, Prong 1), it is determined whether or not the claims recite a judicial exception (e.g., mathematical concepts, mental processes, certain methods of organizing human activity). If it is determined in Step 2A, Prong 1 that the claims recite a judicial exception, the analysis proceeds to the second prong (Step 2A, Prong 2), where it is determined whether or not the claims integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. If it is determined at step 2A, Prong 2 that the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the analysis proceeds to determining whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception (Step 2B). If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim integrates the judicial exception into a practical application, or else amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Applicant is advised to consult the 2019 PEG for more details of the analysis.
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
Claim(s) 1-8 are drawn to a hardware device, claims 9-17 are drawn to a method and claims 18-20 are drawn to a computer readable hardware storage device, therefore each of these claim groups falls under one of four categories of statutory subject matter (machine/products/apparatus, process/method, manufactures and compositions of mater; Step 1). Nonetheless, the claims are directed to a judicially recognized exception of an abstract idea without significant more (Step 2A, see below). Independent claims 1, 9 and 18 are non-verbatim but similar in claim construction, hence share the same rationale that the claimed inventions are directed to no statutory subject matter as follows:
Regarding claim 1:
Claim 1 recites: A hardware device comprising a processor coupled to a computer- readable memory unit, the memory unit comprising instructions that when executed by the processor implements an automated digital agent communication and control method comprising:
retrieving, by said processor from a first digital agent via a software/hardware interface, a query associated with a knowledge based control process;
receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, a set of digital knowledge elements, associated digital skills, and a sequence of control operations and associated code to obtain a response to said query;
selecting, by said processor using a knowledge fabric of a knowledge marketplace and based on said set of digital knowledge elements, said associated digital skills, and said sequence of control operations and associated code, a first possible set of knowledge of said set of digital knowledge elements, skills of said associated digital skills, and an associated sequence of operation of said sequence of control operations;
transmitting, by said processor to said first digital agent, said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation;
executing, by said processor via said first digital agent in response to said transmitting, a sequence of skills of said skills with respect to digital knowledge elements and components associated with said associated sequence of operation;
enabling, by said processor, a hardware interface device to interact with and control various devices for enabling operational functionality associated with devices for providing said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation;
receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, another digital knowledge element and one or more digital knowledge element edges associated with execution of said sequence of skills: and
updating, by said processor via said first digital agent, said knowledge fabric based on upvotes and downvotes of said other digital knowledge element and said one or more digital knowledge element edges by multiple digital agents to cause [[the ]]said digital knowledge element[[s]] to be discoverable by said multiple digital agents.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1)
Claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea, specifically, mental processes, organizing human activity and information processing/ data manipulation/ knowledge management. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III) & MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II)..
Independent claim 1 recites in part:
selecting, […] said associated digital skills, and said sequence of control operations and associated code, a first possible set of knowledge of said set of digital knowledge elements, skills of said associated digital skills, and an associated sequence of operation of said sequence of control operations
The limitation above is broadly and reasonably interpreted as a mental process. For example, one can browse a marketplace, select knowledge and choose skills. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
enabling, […] said skills, and said associated sequence of operation
The limitation above is broadly and reasonably interpreted as a mental process. For example, one can follow a sequence of operations to deliver knowledge or skills. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
updating, […] said knowledge fabric based on upvotes and downvotes of said other digital knowledge element and said one or more digital knowledge element edges by multiple digital agents to cause [[the ]]said digital knowledge element[[s]] to be discoverable by said multiple digital agents
The limitation above is broadly and reasonably interpreted as a mental process - a case in which a computer or with pen and paper is used as a tool to perform a mental process. For example, one can manually update a workflow diagram, revise a chart, maintain a knowledge base and change relationship between concepts. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
Independent claim 1 recites in part:
A hardware device comprising a processor coupled to a computer- readable memory unit, the memory unit comprising instructions that when executed by the processor implements an automated digital agent communication and control method comprising: as drafted, amounts to adding the word “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception using a generic computer components. Such generic computing components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
retrieving, by said processor from a first digital agent via a software/hardware interface, a query associated with a knowledge based control process, as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., pre-solution activity, gathering information). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). Also, recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, a set of digital knowledge elements, associated digital skills, and a sequence of control operations and associated code to obtain a response to said query, as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., pre-solution activity, gathering information). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). Also, recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
[…] by said processor using a knowledge fabric of a knowledge marketplace and based on said set of digital knowledge elements[ …] as drafted, recites generic computing components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
transmitting, by said processor to said first digital agent, said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation, as drafted, is an additional element that amounts to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g).
executing, by said processor via said first digital agent in response to said transmitting, a sequence of skills of said skills with respect to digital knowledge elements and components associated with said associated sequence of operation, as drafted, is an additional element that amounts to post solution using insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g).
[…] by said processor, a hardware interface device to interact with and control various devices for enabling operational functionality associated with devices for providing said first possible set of knowledge, […] as drafted, recites generic computing components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, another digital knowledge element and one or more digital knowledge element edges associated with execution of said sequence of skills, as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., pre-solution activity, gathering information). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). Also, recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
[…] by said processor via said first digital agent, […], as drafted, recites generic computing components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea when considered as an ordered combination and as a whole.
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
First, the additional elements directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use are deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception to a patentable invention because the claimed limitations generally link the judicial exception to the technology environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h). However, they are included below for the sake of completeness.
Second, the additional elements mere application of the abstract idea or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer are deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception to a patentable invention because the limitations generally apply the use of a generic computer and/or process with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f). However, they are included below for the sake of completeness.
Independent claim 1 recites in part:
A hardware device comprising a processor coupled to a computer- readable memory unit, the memory unit comprising instructions that when executed by the processor implements an automated digital agent communication and control method comprising: as drafted, amounts to adding the word “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception using a generic computer components. Such generic computing components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
retrieving, by said processor from a first digital agent via a software/hardware interface, a query associated with a knowledge based control process, as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., pre-solution activity, gathering information). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). Also, recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, a set of digital knowledge elements, associated digital skills, and a sequence of control operations and associated code to obtain a response to said query, as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., pre-solution activity, gathering information). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). Also, recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
[…] by said processor using a knowledge fabric of a knowledge marketplace and based on said set of digital knowledge elements[ …] as drafted, recites generic computing components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
transmitting, by said processor to said first digital agent, said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation, as drafted, is an additional element that amounts to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g).
executing, by said processor via said first digital agent in response to said transmitting, a sequence of skills of said skills with respect to digital knowledge elements and components associated with said associated sequence of operation, as drafted, is an additional element that amounts to post solution using insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g).
[…] by said processor, a hardware interface device to interact with and control various devices for enabling operational functionality associated with devices for providing said first possible set of knowledge, […] as drafted, recites generic computing components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, another digital knowledge element and one or more digital knowledge element edges associated with execution of said sequence of skills, as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., pre-solution activity, gathering information). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). Also, recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
[…] by said processor via said first digital agent, […], as drafted, recites generic computing components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Thus, considering the additional elements individually and in combination and the claims as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. The claims are not eligible subject matter.
Therefore, in examining elements as recited by the limitations individually and as an ordered combination, as a whole the independent claim limitations do not recite what have the courts have identified as “significantly more”.
Regarding claim 9
Claim 9 recites: An automated digital agent communication and control method comprising:
retrieving, by a processor of a hardware device from a first digital agent via a software/hardware interface, a query associated with a knowledge based control process; receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, a set of digital knowledge elements, associated digital skills, and a sequence of control operations and associated code to obtain a response to said query;
selecting, by said processor using a knowledge fabric of a knowledge marketplace and based on said set of digital knowledge elements, said associated digital skills, and said sequence of control operations and associated code, a first possible set of knowledge of said set of digital knowledge elements, skills of said associated digital skills, and an associated sequence of operation of said sequence of control operations;
transmitting, by said processor to said first digital agent, said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation;
executing, by said processor via said first digital agent in response to said transmitting, a sequence of skills of said skills with respect to digital knowledge elements and components associated with said associated sequence of operation;
enabling, by said processor, a hardware interface device to interact with and control various devices for enabling operational functionality associated with devices for providing said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation;
receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, another digital knowledge element and one or more digital knowledge element edges associated with execution of said sequence of skills: and
updating, by said processor via said first digital agent, said knowledge fabric based on upvotes and downvotes of said other digital knowledge element and said one or more digital knowledge element edges by multiple digital agents to cause [[the ]]said digital knowledge element[[s]] to be discoverable by said multiple digital agents
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Claim 9 is directed to an abstract idea, specifically, mental processes, organizing human activity and information processing/ data manipulation/ knowledge management. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III) & MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II)..
Independent claim 9 recites in part:
selecting, […] and said sequence of control operations and associated code, a first possible set of knowledge of said set of digital knowledge elements, skills of said associated digital skills, and an associated sequence of operation of said sequence of control operations
The limitation above is broadly and reasonably interpreted as a mental process. For example, one can browse a marketplace, select knowledge and choose skills. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
enabling, […] said skills, and said associated sequence of operation
The limitation above is broadly and reasonably interpreted as a mental process. For example, one can follow a sequence of operations to deliver knowledge or skills. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
updating, […] said knowledge fabric based on upvotes and downvotes of said other digital knowledge element and said one or more digital knowledge element edges by multiple digital agents to cause [[the ]]said digital knowledge element[[s]] to be discoverable by said multiple digital agents
The limitation above is broadly and reasonably interpreted as a mental process - a case in which a computer or with pen and paper is used as a tool to perform a mental process. For example, one can manually update a workflow diagram, revise a chart, maintain a knowledge base and change relationship between concepts. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
Independent claim 9 recites in part:
An automated digital agent communication and control method comprising:
retrieving, by a processor of a hardware device from a first digital agent via a software/hardware interface, a query associated with a knowledge based control process, as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., pre-solution activity, gathering information). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). Also, recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, a set of digital knowledge elements, associated digital skills, and a sequence of control operations and associated code to obtain a response to said query, as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., pre-solution activity, gathering information). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). Also, recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
[…] by said processor using a knowledge fabric of a knowledge marketplace and based on said set of digital knowledge elements, said associated digital skills, […]as drafted, recites generic computing components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
transmitting, by said processor to said first digital agent, said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation, as drafted, is an additional element that amounts to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g).
executing, by said processor via said first digital agent in response to said transmitting, a sequence of skills of said skills with respect to digital knowledge elements and components associated with said associated sequence of operation, as drafted, is an additional element that amounts to post solution using insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g).
[…] by said processor, […] as drafted, amounts to adding the word “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception using a generic computer components. Such generic computing components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, another digital knowledge element and one or more digital knowledge element edges associated with execution of said sequence of skills, as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., pre-solution activity, gathering information). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). Also, recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
[…] by said processor via said first digital agent, […] as drafted, amounts to adding the word “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception using a generic computer components. Such generic computing components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea when considered as an ordered combination and as a whole.
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
First, the additional elements directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use are deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception to a patentable invention because the claimed limitations generally link the judicial exception to the technology environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h). However, they are included below for the sake of completeness.
Second, the additional elements mere application of the abstract idea or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer are deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception to a patentable invention because the limitations generally apply the use of a generic computer and/or process with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f). However, they are included below for the sake of completeness.
Independent claim 9 recites in part:
An automated digital agent communication and control method comprising:
retrieving, by a processor of a hardware device from a first digital agent via a software/hardware interface, a query associated with a knowledge based control process, as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., pre-solution activity, gathering information). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). Also, recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, a set of digital knowledge elements, associated digital skills, and a sequence of control operations and associated code to obtain a response to said query, as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., pre-solution activity, gathering information). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). Also, recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
[…] by said processor using a knowledge fabric of a knowledge marketplace and based on said set of digital knowledge elements, said associated digital skills, […]as drafted, recites generic computing components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
transmitting, by said processor to said first digital agent, said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation, as drafted, is an additional element that amounts to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g).
executing, by said processor via said first digital agent in response to said transmitting, a sequence of skills of said skills with respect to digital knowledge elements and components associated with said associated sequence of operation, as drafted, is an additional element that amounts to post solution using insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g).
[…] by said processor, […] as drafted, amounts to adding the word “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception using a generic computer components. Such generic computing components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, another digital knowledge element and one or more digital knowledge element edges associated with execution of said sequence of skills, as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., pre-solution activity, gathering information). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). Also, recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Thus, considering the additional elements individually and in combination and the claims as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. The claims are not eligible subject matter.
Therefore, in examining elements as recited by the limitations individually and as an ordered combination, as a whole the independent claim limitations do not recite what have the courts have identified as “significantly more”.
Regarding claim 18
Claim 18 recites: A computer program product, comprising a computer readable hardware storage device storing a computer readable program code, said computer readable program code comprising an algorithm that when executed by a processor of a hardware device implements an automated digital agent communication and control method, said method comprising:
retrieving, by said processor from a first digital agent via a software/hardware interface, a query associated with a knowledge based control process;
receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, a set of digital knowledge elements, associated digital skills, and a sequence of control operations and associated code to obtain a response to said query;
selecting, by said processor using a knowledge fabric of a knowledge marketplace and based on said set of digital knowledge elements, said associated digital skills, and said sequence of control operations and associated code, a first possible set of knowledge of said set of digital knowledge elements, skills of said associated digital skills, and an associated sequence of operation of said sequence of control operations;
transmitting, by said processor to said first digital agent, said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation;
executing, by said processor via said first digital agent in response to said transmitting, a sequence of skills of said skills with respect to digital knowledge elements and components associated with said associated sequence of operation;
enabling, by said processor, a hardware interface device to interact with and control various devices for enabling operational functionality associated with devices for providing said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation;
receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, another digital knowledge element and one or more digital knowledge element edges associated with execution of said sequence of skills; and
updating, by said processor via said first digital agent, said knowledge fabric based on upvotes and downvotes of said other digital knowledge element by multiple digital agents to cause [[the ]]said digital knowledge elements to be discoverable by said multiple digital agents.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Claim 18 is directed to an abstract idea, specifically, mental processes, organizing human activity and information processing/ data manipulation/ knowledge management. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III) & MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II)..
Independent claim 18 recites in part:
selecting, […] and said sequence of control operations and associated code, a first possible set of knowledge of said set of digital knowledge elements, skills of said associated digital skills, and an associated sequence of operation of said sequence of control operations
The limitation above is broadly and reasonably interpreted as a mental process. For example, one can browse a marketplace, select knowledge and choose skills. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
enabling, […] a hardware interface device to interact with and control various devices for enabling operational functionality associated with devices for providing said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation
The limitation above is broadly and reasonably interpreted as a mental process. For example, one can follow a sequence of operations to deliver knowledge or skills. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
updating, […] said knowledge fabric based on upvotes and downvotes of said other digital knowledge element by multiple digital agents to cause [[the ]]said digital knowledge elements to be discoverable by said multiple digital agents
The limitation above is broadly and reasonably interpreted as a mental process - a case in which a computer or with pen and paper is used as a tool to perform a mental process. For example, one can manually update a workflow diagram, revise a chart, maintain a knowledge base and change relationship between concepts. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
Independent claim 18 recites in part:
A computer program product, comprising a computer readable hardware storage device storing a computer readable program code, said computer readable program code comprising an algorithm that when executed by a processor of a hardware device implements an automated digital agent communication and control method, said method comprising as drafted, amounts to adding the word “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception using a generic computer components. Such generic computing components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
retrieving, by said processor from a first digital agent via a software/hardware interface, a query associated with a knowledge based control process, as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., pre-solution activity, gathering information). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). Also, recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, a set of digital knowledge elements, associated digital skills, and a sequence of control operations and associated code to obtain a response to said query, as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., pre-solution activity, gathering information). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). Also, recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
transmitting, by said processor to said first digital agent, said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation, as drafted, is an additional element that amounts to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g).
executing, by said processor via said first digital agent in response to said transmitting, a sequence of skills of said skills with respect to digital knowledge elements and components associated with said associated sequence of operation, as drafted, is an additional element that amounts to post solution using insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g).
[…] by said processor, a hardware interface device to interact with and control various devices for enabling operational functionality associated with devices for providing said first possible set of knowledge, […] as drafted, recites generic computing components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, another digital knowledge element and one or more digital knowledge element edges associated with execution of said sequence of skills, as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., pre-solution activity, gathering information). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). Also, recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
[…] by said processor via said first digital agent, […] as drafted, recites generic computing components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea when considered as an ordered combination and as a whole.
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
First, the additional elements directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use are deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception to a patentable invention because the claimed limitations generally link the judicial exception to the technology environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h). However, they are included below for the sake of completeness.
Second, the additional elements mere application of the abstract idea or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer are deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception to a patentable invention because the limitations generally apply the use of a generic computer and/or process with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f). However, they are included below for the sake of completeness.
Independent claim 18 recites in part:
A computer program product, comprising a computer readable hardware storage device storing a computer readable program code, said computer readable program code comprising an algorithm that when executed by a processor of a hardware device implements an automated digital agent communication and control method, said method comprising as drafted, amounts to adding the word “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception using a generic computer components. Such generic computing components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
retrieving, by said processor from a first digital agent via a software/hardware interface, a query associated with a knowledge based control process, as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., pre-solution activity, gathering information). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). Also, recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, a set of digital knowledge elements, associated digital skills, and a sequence of control operations and associated code to obtain a response to said query, as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., pre-solution activity, gathering information). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). Also, recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
transmitting, by said processor to said first digital agent, said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation, as drafted, is an additional element that amounts to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g).
executing, by said processor via said first digital agent in response to said transmitting, a sequence of skills of said skills with respect to digital knowledge elements and components associated with said associated sequence of operation, as drafted, is an additional element that amounts to post solution using insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g).
[…] by said processor, a hardware interface device to interact with and control various devices for enabling operational functionality associated with devices for providing said first possible set of knowledge, […] as drafted, recites generic computing components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, another digital knowledge element and one or more digital knowledge element edges associated with execution of said sequence of skills, as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., pre-solution activity, gathering information). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). Also, recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
[…] by said processor via said first digital agent, […] as drafted, recites generic computing components are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Thus, considering the additional elements individually and in combination and the claims as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. The claims are not eligible subject matter.
Therefore, in examining elements as recited by the limitations individually and as an ordered combination, as a whole the independent claim limitations do not recite what have the courts have identified as “significantly more”.
Furthermore, regarding dependent claims 2-8 which are dependent on claim 1, claim 14 which is dependent on claim 8, claims 10-17 which are dependent on claim 9, and claims 19-20 which are dependent on claim 18, the claims are directed to a judicial exception without significantly more as highlighted below in the claim limitations by evaluating the claim limitations under Step 2A and 2B:
Claims 2, 10 and 19 are dependent on claims 1, 9 and 18 respectively, and doesn’t provide integration into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea because this merely includes generic computer components, and therefore doesn’t break away from the reason for the identified abstract idea
Claims 3, 11 and 20 are dependent on claims 1, 9 and 18 respectively, and doesn’t provide integration into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea because this merely includes generic computer components, and therefore doesn’t break away from the reason for the identified abstract idea.
Claims 4 and 12 are dependent on claims 1 and 9 respectively, and include outside organizations, which doesn’t provide integration into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea because an outside organization doesn’t add significantly more to the mental activity and it’s a general inclusion of a new organization associated with a mental activity, and therefore doesn’t break away from the reasons for the identified abstract idea.
Claims 5 and 13 are dependent on claims 1 and 9 respectively, and doesn’t provide integration into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea because this merely includes generic computer components, and therefore doesn’t break away from the reason for the identified abstract idea.
Claims 6 and 14 are dependent on claims 1 and 9 respectively, and doesn’t provide integration into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea because this merely includes generic computer components, and therefore doesn’t break away from the reason for the identified abstract idea.
Claims 7 and 15 are dependent on claims 1 and 9 respectively, and amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer.
Claims 8 and 16 are dependent on claims 1 and 9 respectively, and doesn’t provide integration into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea because this merely includes generic computer components, and therefore doesn’t break away from the reason for the identified abstract idea.
Claim 17 is dependent on claim 9, and doesn’t provide integration into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea because this merely includes generic computer components, and therefore doesn’t break away from the reason for the identified abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9, 10-11, 15, 17 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahuja-Cogny et al. (Pub No.: 20180322396 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ahuja-Cogny, in view of Agarwal et al. (Pub No.: 20180067991 A1) hereinafter referred to as Agarwal and further in view of Xu et al. (Pub No.: 20200242140 A1), hereinafter referred to as Xu.
With respect to claim 1, Ahuja-Cogny disclose:
A hardware device comprising a processor coupled to a computer- readable memory unit, the memory unit comprising instructions that when executed by the processor implements an automated digital agent communication and control method comprising (In paragraph [0092, Ahuja-Cogny disclose the computer system also includes a system memory coupled to the bus for storing information and instructions to be executed by processors. The system memory may include computer readable storage media in the form of volatile and/or nonvolatile memory. )
Receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, a set of digital knowledge elements, associated digital skills, and a sequence of control operations and associated code to obtain a response to said query ((“Based on the examiners' broadest reasonableInterpretation (BRI) and the lack of details in the specification, digital skills are interpreted as a functionality and/or operation performed from the piece of information from the set of information" In paragraph [0080], Ahuja-Cogny disclose acquiring a manual review of knowledge and information pertaining to the process presented for example in a document. By using Knowledge Process Executable Language (KPEL), this process can be done automatically. It can find the rules in the document and organize the process in a way that makes it easy to check if the rules are met.)
Selecting, by said processor using a knowledge fabric of a knowledge marketplace and based on said set of digital knowledge elements, said associated digital skills, and said sequence of control operations and associated code, a first possible set of knowledge of said set of digital knowledge elements, skills of said associated digital skills, and an associated sequence of operation of said sequence of control operations (“Based on the examiners' broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) and the lack of details in the specification, knowledge fabric is interpretedAs multiple sessions linking different operations or activities from multiple sessions,") In paragraph [0076], Ahuja-Cogny disclose a selection is made between alternative operations : The BPMN-Based Knowledge Operation & KPML-Based Knowledge Operation, mutually exclusive processing operations, resulting in different translations and executable outputs. The selection determines translation and machine-executable operations are performed. In paragraph [ 0095], Ahuja-Cogny disclose the computer system can carry out tasks based on the processor running instructions stored in the system memory. These instructions can come from another source, like a hard disk or a removable media drive. The processors can also work together to run the instructions in the system memory.
Transmitting, by said processor to said first digital agent, said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation (In paragraph [0049], Ahuja-Cogny discloses that the way the Knowledge User Computer sends documents or information to the Knowledge Processing Computer can be different.)
Executing, by said processor via said first digital agent in response to said transmitting, a sequence of skills of said skills with respect to digital knowledge elements and components associated with said associated sequence of operation (In paragraph [0095], Ahuja-Cogny discloses that the computer system can carry out some or all of the steps of the invention when the processors follow one or more sets of instructions stored in memory.)
Enabling, by said processor, a hardware interface device to interact with and control various devices for enabling operational functionality associated with devices for providing said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation (In paragraph [0102], Ahuja-Cogny discloses a graphical user interface (GUI) comprising one or more display images, generated by a display processor and enabling user interaction with a processor or other device and associated data acquisition and processing functions. The GUI also includes an executable procedure or executable application.)
With respect to claim 1, Ahuja-Cogny do not explicitly disclose:
Retrieving, by said processor from a first digital agent via a software/hardware interface, a query associated with a knowledge based control process
Receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, another digital knowledge element and one or more digital knowledge element edges associated with execution of said sequence of skills
Updating, by said processor via said first digital agent, said knowledge fabric based on upvotes and downvotes of said other digital knowledge element and said one or more digital knowledge element edges by multiple digital agents _to cause [[the ]]said digital knowledge element[[s]] to be discoverable by said multiple digital agents
However, it is known by Agarwal to disclose:
Retrieving, by said processor from a first digital agent via a software/hardware interface, a query associated with a knowledge based control process (In paragraph [0032], Agarwal discloses determining from the knowledge base which task to perform in response to a user's input/query. Inferences may also be determined from the knowledge based on user input/query. In Fig. 4 and paragraph [0058], Agarwal discloses receiving first input via the digital assistant. The digital assistant carries out a task based on the user's input, like providing search results for the question asked. A knowledge base can be generated that stores the session linking the user's query with the search results generated and provided by the digital assistant. In Fig. 5 and paragraph [0062], Agarwal discloses the physical components (i.e., hardware) of a computing device, the computing device may include at least one processing unit and a system memory; The system memory may include an operating system and one or more program modules suitable for running software applications such as digital assistant.)
Receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, another digital knowledge element and one or more digital knowledge element edges associated with execution of said sequence of skills (In paragraph [0059], Agarwal disclose the first session from the knowledge base in response to subsequently receiving a second input from the user. For instance, if the user asks a second question during a second session, the digital assistant can find information from the knowledge base about the first session, which connects the first question to the task it completed.)
Ahuja-Cogny and Agarwal are analogous pieces of art because both references concern the methods, systems, and apparatuses for modeling and automating knowledge processes using computing systems. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ahuja-Cogny, with training a machine learning model used to automatically perform the translation of the knowledge process as taught by Ahuja-Cogny, with a digital assistant receiving a first input from the user via the digital assistant as taught by Agarwal. The motivation for doing so would have been to enhance conventional techniques by collecting, organizing, segregating and qualifying knowledge processes based on professionals' thought processes as they are presented in their work (See [0051] of Ahuja-Cogny.)
With respect to claim 1, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal do not explicitly disclose:
updating, by said processor via said first digital agent, said knowledge fabric based on upvotes and downvotes of said other digital knowledge element and said one or more digital knowledge element edges by multiple digital agents to cause [[the ]]said digital knowledge element[[s]] to be discoverable by said multiple digital agents
However, it is known by Xu to disclose:
Updating, by said processor via said first digital agent, said knowledge fabric based on upvotes and downvotes of said other digital knowledge element and said one or more digital knowledge element edges by multiple digital agents to cause [[the ]]said digital knowledge element[[s]] to be discoverable by said multiple digital agents ((“Based on the examiners' broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) and the lack of details in the specification, upvotes and downvotes are interpreted as a way to signal positive /negative feedback.) In paragraph [0066], Xu discloses creating both good and bad examples using information from a knowledge base or other sources. Good examples are questions about the knowledge in base and correct answers, while bad examples are questions and answers that are wrong or not related. When training the feature extraction module, which needs to share settings, the updates to these settings happen at the same time.)
Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu are analogous pieces of art because both references concern the methods, systems, and apparatuses for modeling and automating knowledge processes using computing systems. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xu, with updating the knowledge in the knowledge base continuously. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve knowledge element level in the knowledge base (See[0024] of Xu).
Regarding claim 2, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu disclose elements of claim 1. In addition, Agarwal disclose:
The hardware device of claim 1, wherein said software/hardware interface comprises an interface selected from the group consisting of a text interface, a voice activated interface, and an artificial intelligence (AI) interface (In paragraph [0072], Agarwal discloses visual notifications, and/or an audio interface 674 may be used for producing audible notifications via the audio transducer. The audio interface 1274 is used to provide audible signals to and receive audible signals from the user.)
Regarding claim 3, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu disclose elements of claim 1. In addition, Agarwal disclose:
The hardware device of claim 1, wherein said selecting comprises: executing by said processor, an additional query associated with a social hardware and software machine with respect to said knowledge based control process, wherein said enabling is performed with respect to results of said additional query (In paragraph [0059], Agarwal discloses that in response to a second query received from the user during a second session, that the digital assistant may retrieve or recall information from the knowledge base about a prior first session, linking a first query with the digital assistant's corresponding completed task.)
Regarding claim 7, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu disclose elements of claim 1. In addition, Xu disclose:
The hardware device of claim 1, wherein said updating comprises: adding, by said processor to said knowledge fabric, results of said query with respect to digital tasks executed by multiple digital agents (In paragraph [0066], Xu discloses creating both good and bad examples using information from a knowledge base or other sources. Good examples are questions about the knowledge in base and correct answers, while bad examples are questions and answers that are wrong or not related. When training the feature extraction module, which needs to share settings, the updates to these settings happen at the same time.)
With respect to claim 9, Ahuja-Cogny disclose:
An automated digital agent communication and control method comprising (In paragraph [0045], Ahuja-Cogny disclose automating knowledge-based processes and operations. )
Selecting, by said processor using a knowledge fabric of a knowledge marketplace and based on said set of digital knowledge elements, said associated digital skills, and said sequence of control operations and associated code, a first possible set of knowledge of said set of digital knowledge elements, skills of said associated digital skills, and an associated sequence of operation of said sequence of control operations; transmitting, by said processor to said first digital agent, said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation ((“Based on the examiners' broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) and the lack of details in the specification, knowledge fabric is interpreted as multiple sessions linking different operations or activities from multiple sessions,") In paragraph [0076], Ahuja-Cogny disclose a selection is made between alternative operations : The BPMN-Based Knowledge Operation & KPML-Based Knowledge Operation, mutually exclusive processing operations, resulting in different translations and executable outputs. The selection determines translation and machine-executable operations are performed. In paragraph [ 0095], Ahuja-Cogny disclose the computer system can carry out tasks based on the processor running instructions stored in the system memory. These instructions can come from another source, like a hard disk or a removable media drive. The processors can also work together to run the instructions in the system memory.
Receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, a set of digital knowledge elements, associated digital skills, and a sequence of control operations and associated code to obtain a response to said query ((“Based on the examiners' broadest reasonableInterpretation (BRI) and the lack of details in the specification, digital skills are interpreted as a functionality and/or operation performed from the piece of information from the set of information" In Fig. 2 paragraph [0058], Ahuja-Cogny discloses executable operations when one or more documents with knowledge information are received. These documents can be in different formats, like Microsoft Office (.doc), html, or rich text. The techniques for receiving the documents may vary. In paragraph [0059], Ahuja-Cogny discloses that the knowledge information contained in one or more documents is segregated and organized into information elements using automated tagging and extraction techniques coded for the purpose and based on a type of AI for knowledge processes.)
Transmitting, by said processor to said first digital agent, said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation (In paragraph [0049], Ahuja-Cogny discloses that the way the Knowledge User Computer sends documents or information to the Knowledge Processing Computer can be different.)
Executing, by said processor via said first digital agent in response to said transmitting, a sequence of skills of said skills with respect to digital knowledge elements and components associated with said associated sequence of operation (In paragraph [0095], Ahuja-Cogny discloses that the computer system can carry out some or all of the steps of the invention when the processors follow one or more sets of instructions stored in memory.)
Enabling, by said processor, a hardware interface device to interact with and control various devices for enabling operational functionality associated with devices for providing said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation (In paragraph [0102], Ahuja-Cogny discloses a graphical user interface (GUI) comprising one or more display images, generated by a display processor and enabling user interaction with a processor or other device and associated data acquisition and processing functions. The GUI also includes an executable procedure or executable application.)
With respect to claim 9, Ahuja-Cogny do not explicitly disclose:
Retrieving, by a processor of a hardware device from a first digital agent via a software/hardware interface, a query associated with acknowledge based control process
Receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, another digital knowledge element and one or more digital knowledge element edges associated with execution of said sequence of skills
Updating, by said processor via said first digital agent, said knowledge fabric based on upvotes and downvotes of said other digital knowledge element and said one or more digital knowledge element edges by multiple digital agents _to cause [[the ]]said digital knowledge element[[s]] to be discoverable by said multiple digital agents
However, it is known by Agarwal to disclose:
Retrieving, by a processor of a hardware device from a first digital agent via a software/hardware interface, a query associated with a knowledge based control process (In paragraph [0032], Agarwal discloses determining from the knowledge base which task to perform in response to a user's input/query. Inferences may also be determined from the knowledge based on user input/query. In Fig. 4 and paragraph [0058], Agarwal discloses receiving first input via the digital assistant. The digital assistant carries out a task based on the user's input, like providing search results for the question asked. A knowledge base can be generated that stores the session linking the user's query with the search results generated and provided by the digital assistant. In Fig. 5 and paragraph [0062], Agarwal discloses the physical components (i.e., hardware) of a computing device, the computing device may include at least one processing unit and a system memory; The system memory may include an operating system and one or more program modules suitable for running software applications such as digital assistant.)
Receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, another digital knowledge element and one or more digital knowledge element edges associated with execution of said sequence of skills (In paragraph [0059], Agarwal disclose the first session from the knowledge base in response to subsequently receiving a second input from the user. For instance, if the user asks a second question during a second session, the digital assistant can find information from the knowledge base about the first session, which connects the first question to the task it completed.)
Ahuja-Cogny and Agarwal are analogous pieces of art because both references concern the methods, systems, and apparatuses for modeling and automating knowledge processes using computing systems. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ahuja-Cogny, with training a machine learning model used to automatically perform the translation of the knowledge process as taught by Ahuja-Cogny, with a digital assistant receiving a first input from the user via the digital assistant as taught by Agarwal. The motivation for doing so would have been to enhance conventional techniques by collecting, organizing, segregating and qualifying knowledge processes based on professionals' thought processes as they are presented in their work (See [0051] of Ahuja-Cogny.)
With respect to claim 9, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal do not explicitly disclose:
updating, by said processor via said first digital agent, said knowledge fabric based on upvotes and downvotes of said other digital knowledge element and said one or more digital knowledge element edges by multiple digital agents to cause [[the ]]said digital knowledge element[[s]] to be discoverable by said multiple digital agents
However, it is known by Xu to disclose:
Updating, by said processor via said first digital agent, said knowledge fabric based on upvotes and downvotes of said other digital knowledge element and said one or more digital knowledge element edges by multiple digital agents _to cause [[the ]]said digital knowledge element[[s]] to be discoverable by said multiple digital agents ((“Based on the examiners' broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) and the lack of details in the specification, upvotes and downvotes are interpreted as a way to signal positive /negative feedback.) In paragraph [0066], Xu discloses creating both good and bad examples using information from a knowledge base or other sources. Good examples are questions about the knowledge in base and correct answers, while bad examples are questions and answers that are wrong or not related. When training the feature extraction module, which needs to share settings, the updates to these settings happen at the same time.)
Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu are analogous pieces of art because both references concern the methods, systems, and apparatuses for modeling and automating knowledge processes using computing systems. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xu, with updating the knowledge in the knowledge base continuously. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve knowledge element level in the knowledge base (See[0024] of Xu).
Regarding claim 10, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu disclose elements of claim 9. In addition, Agarwal disclose:
The method of claim 9, wherein said software/hardware interface comprises an interface selected from the group consisting of a text interface, a voice activated interface, and an artificial intelligence (AI) interface (In paragraph [0072], Agarwal discloses visual notifications, and/or an audio interface 674 may be used for producing audible notifications via the audio transducer. The audio interface 1274 is used to provide audible signals to and receive audible signals from the user.)
Regarding claim 11, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu disclose elements of claim 9. In addition, Agarwal disclose:
The method of claim 9, wherein said selecting comprises: executing by said processor, an additional query associated with a social hardware and software machine with respect to said knowledge based control process, wherein said enabling is performed with respect to results of said additional query (In paragraph [0059], Agarwal discloses that in response to a second query received from the user during a second session, that the digital assistant may retrieve or recall information from the knowledge base about a prior first session, linking a first query with the digital assistant's corresponding completed task.)
Regarding claim 15, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu disclose elements of claim 9. In addition, Xu disclose:
The method of claim 9, wherein said updating comprises: adding, by said processor to said knowledge fabric, results of said query with respect to digital tasks executed by multiple digital agents (In paragraph [0066], Xu discloses creating both good and bad examples using information from a knowledge base or other sources. Good examples are questions about the knowledge in base and correct answers, while bad examples are questions and answers that are wrong or not related. When training the feature extraction module, which needs to share settings, the updates to these settings happen at the same time.)
With respect to claim 18, Ahuja-Cogny disclose:
A computer program product, comprising a computer readable hardware storage device storing a computer readable program code, said computer readable program code comprising an algorithm that when executed by a processor of a hardware device implements an automated digital agent communication and control method, said method comprising (In paragraph [0092, Ahuja-Cogny disclose the computer system also includes a system memory coupled to the bus for storing information and instructions to be executed by processors. The system memory may include computer readable storage media in the form of volatile and/or nonvolatile memory.)
Receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, a set of digital knowledge elements, associated digital skills, and a sequence of control operations and associated code to obtain a response to said query ((“Based on the examiners' broadest reasonableInterpretation (BRI) and the lack of details in the specification, digital skills are interpreted as a functionality and/or operation performed from the piece of information from the set of information" In Fig. 2 paragraph [0058], Ahuja-Cogny discloses executable operations when one or more documents with knowledge information are received. These documents can be in different formats, like Microsoft Office (.doc), html, or rich text. The techniques for receiving the documents may vary. In paragraph [0059], Ahuja-Cogny discloses that the knowledge information contained in one or more documents is segregated and organized into information elements using automated tagging and extraction techniques coded for the purpose and based on a type of AI for knowledge processes.)
Selecting, by said processor using a knowledge fabric of a knowledge marketplace and based on said set of digital knowledge elements, said associated digital skills, and said sequence of control operations and associated code, a first possible set of knowledge of said set of digital knowledge elements, skills of said associated digital skills, and an associated sequence of operation of said sequence of control operations ((“Based on the examiners' broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) and the lack of details in the specification, knowledge fabric is interpreted as multiple sessions linking different operations or activities from multiple sessions,") In paragraph [0076], Ahuja-Cogny disclose a selection is made between alternative operations : The BPMN-Based Knowledge Operation & KPML-Based Knowledge Operation, mutually exclusive processing operations, resulting in different translations and executable outputs. The selection determines translation and machine-executable operations are performed. In paragraph [ 0095], Ahuja-Cogny disclose the computer system can carry out tasks based on the processor running instructions stored in the system memory. These instructions can come from another source, like a hard disk or a removable media drive. The processors can also work together to run the instructions in the system memory.
Transmitting, by said processor to said first digital agent, said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation (In paragraph [0049], Ahuja-Cogny discloses that the way the Knowledge User Computer sends documents or information to the Knowledge Processing Computer can be different.)
Executing, by said processor via said first digital agent in response to said transmitting, a sequence of skills of said skills with respect to digital knowledge elements and components associated with said associated sequence of operation (In paragraph [0095], Ahuja-Cogny discloses that the computer system can carry out some or all of the steps of the invention when the processors follow one or more sets of instructions stored in memory.)
Enabling, by said processor, a hardware interface device to interact with and control various devices for enabling operational functionality associated with devices for providing said first possible set of knowledge, said skills, and said associated sequence of operation (In paragraph [0102], Ahuja-Cogny discloses a graphical user interface (GUI) comprising one or more display images, generated by a display processor and enabling user interaction with a processor or other device and associated data acquisition and processing functions. The GUI also includes an executable procedure or executable application.)
With respect to claim 18, Ahuja-Cogny do not explicitly disclose:
retrieving, by said processor from a first digital agent via a software/hardware interface, a query associated with a knowledge based control process
receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, another digital knowledge element and one or more digital knowledge element edges associated with execution of said sequence of skills
updating, by said processor via said first digital agent, said knowledge fabric based on upvotes and downvotes of said other digital knowledge element and said one or more digital knowledge element edges by multiple digital agents _to cause [[the ]]said digital knowledge element[[s]] to be discoverable by said multiple digital agents
However, it is known by Agarwal to disclose:
Retrieving, by said processor from a first digital agent via a software/hardware interface, a query associated with a knowledge based control process (In paragraph [0032], Agarwal discloses determining from the knowledge base which task to perform in response to a user's input/query. Inferences may also be determined from the knowledge based on user input/query. In Fig. 4 and paragraph [0058], Agarwal discloses receiving first input via the digital assistant. The digital assistant carries out a task based on the user's input, like providing search results for the question asked. A knowledge base can be generated that stores the session linking the user's query with the search results generated and provided by the digital assistant. In Fig. 5 and paragraph [0062], Agarwal discloses the physical components (i.e., hardware) of a computing device, the computing device may include at least one processing unit and a system memory; The system memory may include an operating system and one or more program modules suitable for running software applications such as digital assistant.)
Receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, another digital knowledge element and one or more digital knowledge element edges associated with execution of said sequence of skills (In paragraph [0059], Agarwal disclose the first session from the knowledge base in response to subsequently receiving a second input from the user. For instance, if the user asks a second question during a second session, the digital assistant can find information from the knowledge base about the first session, which connects the first question to the task it completed.)
Ahuja-Cogny and Agarwal are analogous pieces of art because both references concern the methods, systems, and apparatuses for modeling and automating knowledge processes using computing systems. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ahuja-Cogny, with training a machine learning model used to automatically perform the translation of the knowledge process as taught by Ahuja-Cogny, with a digital assistant receiving a first input from the user via the digital assistant as taught by Agarwal. The motivation for doing so would have been to enhance conventional techniques by collecting, organizing, segregating and qualifying knowledge processes based on professionals' thought processes as they are presented in their work (See [0051] of Ahuja-Cogny.)
With respect to claim 18, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal do not explicitly disclose:
updating, by said processor via said first digital agent, said knowledge fabric based on upvotes and downvotes of said other digital knowledge element and said one or more digital knowledge element edges by multiple digital agents _to cause [[the ]]said digital knowledge element[[s]] to be discoverable by said multiple digital agents
However, it is known by Xu to disclose:
Updating, by said processor via said first digital agent, said knowledge fabric based on upvotes and downvotes of said other digital knowledge element and said one or more digital knowledge element edges by multiple digital agents _to cause [[the ]]said digital knowledge element[[s]] to be discoverable by said multiple digital agents ((“Based on the examiners' broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) and the lack of details in the specification, upvotes and downvotes are interpreted as a way to signal positive /negative feedback.) In paragraph [0066], Xu discloses creating both good and bad examples using information from a knowledge base or other sources. Good examples are questions about the knowledge in base and correct answers, while bad examples are questions and answers that are wrong or not related. When training the feature extraction module, which needs to share settings, the updates to these settings happen at the same time.)
Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu are analogous pieces of art because both references concern the methods, systems, and apparatuses for modeling and automating knowledge processes using computing systems. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xu, with updating the knowledge in the knowledge base continuously. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve knowledge element level in the knowledge base (See[0024] of Xu).
Regarding claim 19, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu disclose elements of claim 18. In addition, Agarwal disclose:
The computer program product of claim 18, wherein said software/hardware interface comprises an interface selected from the group consisting of a text interface, a voice activated interface, and an artificial intelligence (AI) interface (In paragraph [0072], Agarwal discloses visual notifications, and/or an audio interface 674 may be used for producing audible notifications via the audio transducer. The audio interface 1274 is used to provide audible signals to and receive audible signals from the user.)
Regarding claim 20, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu disclose elements of claim 18. In addition, Agarwal disclose:
The computer program product of claim 18, wherein said selecting comprises: executing by said processor, an additional query associated with a social hardware and software machine with respect to said knowledge based control process, wherein said enabling is performed with respect to results of said additional query. (In paragraph [0059], Agarwal discloses that in response to a second query received from the user during a second session, that the digital assistant may retrieve or recall information from the knowledge base about a prior first session, linking a first query with the digital assistant's corresponding completed task.)
Claim(s) 4-6, 12-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal, Xu and further in view of SOHUM et al. (Pub No.: 20210117893 A1), hereinafter referred to as SOHUM.
Regarding claim 4, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu disclose elements of claim 1. Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu do not explicitly disclose:
The hardware device of claim 1, wherein said selecting comprises: executing, by said processor via a plurality of digital agents, multiple sub-queries associated with a social hardware and software machine with respect to said knowledge based control process, wherein said enabling is performed with respect to results of said multiple sub- queries
However, SOHUM disclose the limitation (In Fig. 2 and paragraph [0042-0047], SOHUM disclose several agents, one or more queries with the mega bot related to a communication devices and chatbot switching system with respect to the marketplace.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu to include SOHUM, with one or more intelligent conversational agents to respond instead of calling each of the one or more intelligent conversational agents sequentially as taught by SOHUM. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve ranking and the trust score of the one or more intelligent conversational agents (See [0068] of SOHUM).
Regarding claim 5, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu disclose elements of claim 1. Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu do not explicitly disclose:
The hardware device of claim 1, wherein said selecting comprises: generating, by said processor via a plurality of digital agents, a social hardware and software machine via execution of bottom-up approach software code, wherein said enabling is performed in response to execution of said bottom-up approach software code
However, SOHUM disclose the limitation (( Based on examiners' broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) and the lack of details in the specification, “bottom-up approach” is interpreted as building something step-by-step. In Fig. 2 and paragraph [0026-3500], SOHUM disclose one or more intelligent conversational agents going to different chatbots (agents).))
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu to include SOHUM , with one or more intelligent conversational agents to respond instead of calling each of the one or more intelligent conversational agents sequentially as taught by SOHUM. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve ranking and the trust score of the one or more intelligent conversational agents (See [0068] of SOHUM).
Regarding claim 6, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu disclose elements of claim 1. Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu do not explicitly disclose:
The hardware device of claim 1, wherein said selecting comprises: generating, by said processor via a plurality of digital agents, a social hardware and software machine via execution of top-down approach software code, wherein said enabling is performed in response to execution of said top-down approach software code
However, SOHUM disclose the limitation ((Based on examiners' broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) and the lack of details in the specification, “top-down approach” is interpreted as progressively breaking down into smaller, more specific components. In Fig. 2 and paragraph [0026-0035], SOHUM disclose the mega bot and chatbot marketplace breaking down in communication with one or more agents))
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu to include SOHUM, with one or more intelligent conversational agents to respond instead of calling each of the one or more intelligent conversational agents sequentially as taught by SOHUM. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve ranking and the trust score of the one or more intelligent conversational agents (See [0068] of SOHUM).
Regarding claim 12, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu disclose elements of claim 1. Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu do not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 9, wherein said selecting comprises: executing, by said processor via a plurality of digital agents, multiple sub-queries associated with a social hardware and software machine with respect to said knowledge based control process, wherein said enabling is performed with respect to results of said multiple sub- queries
However, SOHUM disclose the limitation (In Fig. 2 and paragraph [0042-0047], SOHUM disclose several agents, one or more queries with the mega bot related to a communication devices and chatbot switching system with respect to the marketplace.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu to include SOHUM, with one or more intelligent conversational agents to respond instead of calling each of the one or more intelligent conversational agents sequentially as taught by SOHUM. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve ranking and the trust score of the one or more intelligent conversational agents (See [0068] of SOHUM).
Regarding claim 13, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu disclose elements of claim 1. Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu do not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 9, wherein said selecting comprises: generating, by said processor via a plurality of digital agents, a social hardware and software machine via execution of bottom-up approach software code, wherein said enabling is performed in response to execution of said bottom-up approach software code
However, SOHUM disclose the limitation (( Based on examiners' broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) and the lack of details in the specification, “bottom-up approach” is interpreted as building something step-by-step. In Fig. 2 and paragraph [0026-3500], SOHUM disclose one or more intelligent conversational agents going to different chatbots (agents).))
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu to include SOHUM, with one or more intelligent conversational agents to respond instead of calling each of the one or more intelligent conversational agents sequentially as taught by SOHUM. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve ranking and the trust score of the one or more intelligent conversational agents (See [0068] of SOHUM).
Regarding claim 14, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu disclose elements of claim 1. Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu do not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 9[[8]], wherein said selecting comprises: generating, by said processor via a plurality of digital agents, a social hardware and software machine via execution of top-down approach software code, wherein said enabling is performed in response to execution of said top-down approach software code
However, SOHUM disclose the limitation ((Based on examiners' broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) and the lack of details in the specification, “top-down approach” is interpreted as progressively breaking down into smaller, more specific components. In Fig. 2 and paragraph [0026-0035], SOHUM disclose the mega bot and chatbot marketplace breaking down in communication with one or more agents))
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu to include SOHUM, with one or more intelligent conversational agents to respond instead of calling each of the one or more intelligent conversational agents sequentially as taught by SOHUM. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve ranking and the trust score of the one or more intelligent conversational agents (See [0068] of SOHUM).
Regarding claim 17, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu disclose elements of claim 9. Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu do not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 9, further comprising: providing at least one support service for at least one of creating, integrating, hosting, maintaining, and deploying computer-readable code in [[the]]said hardware device, said code being executed by the processor to implement: said retrieving, said receiving, said selecting, said transmitting, said executing, said enabling, and said updating
However, SOHUM disclose the limitation (In paragraph [0119], SOHUM disclose fetching suitable intelligent conversational agent from the one or more intelligent conversational agents having the trust score, wherein the mega-agent is use to carryout out tasks.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu to include SOHUM, with one or more intelligent conversational agents to respond instead of calling each of the one or more intelligent conversational agents sequentially as taught by SOHUM. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve ranking and the trust score of the one or more intelligent conversational agents (See [0068] of SOHUM).
Claim(s) 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal, Xu and further in view of Yuan et al. (Pub No.: 20200005117 A1), hereinafter referred to as Yuan.
Regarding claim 8, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu disclose elements of claim 1. Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu do not explicitly disclose:
The hardware device of claim 1, wherein said updating comprises: adding, by said processor to said knowledge fabric, results of said query with respect to enabling orchestration code for selecting optimal sequence code
However, Yuan disclose the limitation ((Based on examiners' broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) and the lack of details in the specification, “optimal sequence” is interpreted as sequence coding, arrangement or order of tasks, operations, etc. In Fig. 2 and paragraph [0042-0047], Yuan discloses a knowledge set used in a virtual agent, an operational sequence using the knowledge and how data is arranged. ))
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu to include Yuan, with generating a knowledge graph of the conversation model to organize the identified intents; linking the intents in the knowledge graph to properties of the respective conversations as taught by Yuan. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the function of the virtual agent for subsequent operations (See [0035] of Yuan).
Regarding claim 16, Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu disclose elements of claim 9. Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu do not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 9, wherein said updating comprises: adding, by said processor to said knowledge fabric, results of said query with respect to enabling orchestration code for selecting optimal sequence code
However, Yuan disclose the limitation ((Based on examiners' broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) and the lack of details in the specification, “optimal sequence” is interpreted as sequence coding, arrangement or order of tasks, operations, etc. In Fig. 2 and paragraph [0042-0047], Yuan discloses a knowledge set used in a virtual agent, an operational sequence using the knowledge and how data is arranged. ))
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Ahuja-Cogny in view of Agarwal and Xu to include Yuan, with generating a knowledge graph of the conversation model to organize the identified intents; linking the intents in the knowledge graph to properties of the respective conversations as taught by Yuan. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the function of the virtual agent for subsequent operations (See [0035] of Yuan).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/06/2025 have been fully considered but were not persuasive.
Pertaining to the rejection under 101
The examiner respectfully remains convinced of the currently amended claims 1, 9 and 18 (independent claims) as being directed to a judicial exception (abstract idea) without significantly more. Abstract ideas include mental process. Independent claim 1 recites in part: “selecting, […] and said sequence of control operations and associated code, a first possible set of knowledge of said set of digital knowledge elements, skills of said associated digital skills, and an associated sequence of operation of said sequence of control operations”, a human can pick procedures, select knowledge, choose skills, See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III). Even the “upvotes and downvotes” are treated as evaluation of information, not physical control. Under Step 2A Prong One.
Also, applicant fail to overcome Step 2A Prong Two, limitation such as “receiving, by said processor from said first digital agent, another digital knowledge element and one or more digital knowledge element edges associated with execution of said sequence of skills” as drafted, amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., pre-solution activity, gathering information). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). Also, recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing data gathering and mathematical calculations) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Pertaining to the improvement to technologyBased on examiner's opinion and careful analysis, the claims are not viewed as any improvement to technology and/or computer functionality under 35 USC 101. It is framed as an improvement to an abstract information process. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology. See MPEP § 2106.05(f) for more information about mere instructions to apply an exception. The claims must change how the machine operates, not just what information it processes or why. Thus, it is not integrated into a practical application.
Pertaining to rejection under 103
Applicant’s arguments in regard to the examiner’s rejections under 35 USC 103 are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
EVEL HONORE
Examiner
Art Unit 2142
/HAIMEI JIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2142