Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to Applicant’s response of 2/12/2026. In that response, Applicant did not amend any claims.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the
individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that,
in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by
the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng et al. (US 2022/0011555, hereinafter, “Weng”) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0269453, hereinafter, “Lee”) and Kim (US 2024/0388783, hereinafter, “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Weng discloses an image acquisition module 10 (Fig. 1), comprising:
a lens 210;
a first moving component, comprising: a first magnetic component 250 fixedly disposed on the lens 210, and a first coil 240 fixedly disposed on a housing (261, 161) of the image acquisition module 10, wherein the first coil 240 generates a magnetic field when applied with a first driving signal, and drives the first magnetic component and the lens to move through the magnetic field of the first coil;
a light transmission component 120, configured to transmit ambient light to the lens 210 through at least one reflection; and a second moving component 170 (Figs. 1, 2, [0034], [0036], [0041]-[0042], [0048]).
It is noted that prism 120 receives ambient light since it receives light transmitted through lens 110 which is exposed to the exterior of the device.
Weng does not explicitly disclose the second moving component 170 comprising: at least one second magnetic component fixedly disposed on the light transmission component, and at least one second coil fixedly disposed on the housing, wherein the second coil generates a magnetic field when applied with a second driving signal, and drives the second magnetic component and the light transmission component to move through the magnetic field of the second coil.
However, Weng discloses that both of the other two driving assemblies, 150 (moving the lens 110) and 250 (moving the lens 210) comprise a magnet affixed to the lens (i.e., the moving optical element) and a coil affixed to the housing, [0040], [0042]. The coil drives the magnet to move the lens through the magnetic field created by the coil.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to arrange the image acquisition module 10 of Weng such that the prism 120 is moved, i.e., rotated, by a pair comprising a magnet fixedly disposed on the prism and a coil fixed on the housing, as taught by Weng, for moving the other optical components 210 and 110 of the optical system, for a simpler construction utilizing the same type of moving assemblies for moving all the various optical elements of the optical system. Here it is taken that the claimed second moving component comprises a magnet and a coil (as is the case with the first moving component comprising a first magnet and a first coil) which drive the light transmission component, i.e., the prism 120.
It is noted that in the above arrangement of the image acquisition module 10 of Weng, a second moving component 170 is not added to the one shown in Fig. 2. Weng in Fig. 2 simply denotes a moving component 170 which is associated with the prism 120. In the construction discussed above, this second moving component 170 “replaces/specifies” the one shown in Fig. 2.
Moreover, Weng does not disclose wherein there are three second moving components, and the three second moving components are located on a first side, a second side, and a third side of the light transmission component, respectively, and wherein the first side and the second side are distributed with an optical axis of the lens as a symmetry axis, and the third side is perpendicular to the optical axis.
Lee discloses a camera actuator for moving a prism and a lens in the camera. In one embodiment, actuator 1100 (Fig. 4) rotates prism 1132. The actuator comprises first, second and third magnets 1151, first, second and third coils 1152, and first, second and third Hall sensors 1153, located on the three sides of the prism 1132, the two sides along the optical axis Z of the lens ([0137]-[0144]).
Both Weng and Lee disclose optical cameras.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Weng so that there are three pairs of magnet/coil distributed on the three sides of the prism 120, the first and second sides having the optical axis as a symmetry axis, as taught by Lee, for detecting and controlling the position of the multiple sides of the prism during the rotation of the prism, [0147]-[0149] in Lee.
However, Weng/Lee does not disclose the third side is perpendicular to the optical axis. In Lee the third side is parallel to the optical axis.
Kim discloses a camera module comprising a first camera actuator 1000 supporting a plurality of lenes to perform a zoom function or an auto focus function by moving the lenses sin the optical direction and a second camera actuator 2000 comprising a prism unit 2400 comprising a prism 2410, a first magnet 2351, a second magnet 2352 and a third magnet 2353 (Fig. 15, 16, 17, 19, [0222], [0231]-[0234]). In the second camera actuator 2000 of Kim, the first magnet 2351 is on a first side, the second magnet 2352 is on a second side, the first side and the second side are distributed with the optical axis as a symmetry axis (Fig. 19, light incident on the right angle prism 2410 from the left of the figure is reflected towards the first actuator 1000 along the optical axis between magnets 2351 and 2352. The third magnet 2353 is on a third side which is perpendicular to the optical axis passing between the first and second magnets 2351 and 2352).
Both Weng and Kim disclose optical cameras.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Weng/Lee so that the third magnet is positioned on a side perpendicular to the optical axis, as taught by Kim, for rotating the prism in an up and down direction ([0243] in Kim).
Regarding claim 10, Weng/Lee/Kim discloses the image acquisition module according to claim 1, wherein:
the first moving component is specifically configured to move the lens back and forth along an optical axis of the lens; and the second moving component is specifically configured to rotate the light transmission component ([0042], [0048] in Weng).
Regarding claim 11, Weng/Lee/Kim discloses the image acquisition module according to claim 1, wherein:
the light transmission component comprises at least one mirror (prism 120 has a reflecting surface, [0036] in Weng).
Regarding claim 12, Weng discloses an image acquisition module 10 (Fig. 1), which may be part of a terminal, e.g., a smartphone or a digital camera, [0003], comprising:
a lens 210;
a first moving component, comprising: a first magnetic component 250 fixedly disposed on the lens 210, and a first coil 240 fixedly disposed on a housing (261, 161) of the image acquisition module 10, wherein the first coil 240 generates a magnetic field when applied with a first driving signal, and drives the first magnetic component and the lens to move through the magnetic field of the first coil;
a light transmission component 120, configured to transmit ambient light to the lens 210 through at least one reflection; and a second moving component 170 (Figs. 1, 2, [0034], [0036], [0041]-[0042], [0048]).
It is noted that prism 120 receives ambient light since it receives light transmitted through lens 110 which is exposed to the exterior of the device.
Weng does not explicitly disclose the second moving component 170 comprising:
a second magnetic component fixedly disposed on the light transmission component, and a second coil fixedly disposed on the housing, wherein the second coil generates a magnetic field when applied with a second driving signal, and drives the second magnetic component and the light transmission component to move through the magnetic field of the second coil.
However, Weng discloses that both of the other two driving assemblies, 150 (that moves the lens 110) and 250 (moving the lens 210) comprise a magnet affixed to the lens and a coil affixed to the housing, [0040], [0042]. The coil drives the magnet to move the lens through the magnetic field created by the coil.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to arrange the image acquisition module 10 of Weng, so that the prism 120 is moved, i.e., rotated, by a pair of a magnet fixedly disposed on the prism and a coil fixed on the housing, as taught by Weng for moving the other optical components 210 and 110 of the optical system, for a simpler construction utilizing the same type of moving assemblies for moving the various optical elements of the optical system. Here it is taken that the claimed second moving component comprises a magnet and a coil (as is the case with the first moving component comprising a first magnet and a first coil) which drive the light transmission component, i.e., the prism 120.
It is noted that in the above arrangement of the image acquisition module 10 of Weng, a second moving component 170 is not added to the one shown in Fig. 2. Weng, in Fig. 2 simply denotes a moving component 170 which is associated with the prism 120. In the construction discussed above, this second moving component 170 “replaces/specifies” the one shown in Fig. 2.
Moreover, Weng does not disclose wherein there are three second moving components, and the three second moving components are located on a first side, a second side, and a third side of the light transmission component, respectively, and wherein the first side and the second side are distributed with an optical axis of the lens as a symmetry axis, and the third side is perpendicular to the optical axis.
Lee discloses a camera actuator for moving a prism and a lens in the camera. In one embodiment, actuator 1100 (Fig. 4) rotates prism 1132. The actuator comprises first, second and third magnets 1151, first, second and third coils 1152, and first, second and third Hall sensors 1153, located on the three sides of the prism 1132, the two sides along the optical axis Z of the lens ([0137]-[0144]).
Both Weng and Lee disclose optical cameras.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Weng so that there are three pairs of magnet/coil distributed on the three sides of the prism 120, the first and second sides having the optical axis as a symmetry axis, as taught by Lee, for detecting and controlling the position of the multiple sides of the prism during the rotation of the prism, [0147]-[0149] in Lee.
However, Weng/Lee does not disclose the third side is perpendicular to the optical axis. In Lee the third side is parallel to the optical axis.
Kim discloses a camera module comprising a first camera actuator 1000 supporting a plurality of lenes to perform a zoom function or an auto focus function by moving the lenses sin the optical direction and a second camera actuator 2000 comprising a prism unit 2400 comprising a prism 2410, a first magnet 2351, a second magnet 2352 and a third magnet 2353 (Fig. 15, 16, 17, 19, [0222], [0231]-[0234]). In the second camera actuator 2000 of Kim, the first magnet 2351 is on a first side, the second magnet 2352 is on a second side, the first side and the second side are distributed with the optical axis as a symmetry axis (Fig. 19, light incident on the right angle prism 2410 from the left side of the figure is reflected towards the first actuator 1000 along the optical axis between magnets 2351 and 2352. The third magnet 2353 is on a third side which is perpendicular to the optical axis between the first and second magnets 2351 and 2352).
Both Weng and Kim disclose optical cameras.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Weng/Lee so that the third magnet is positioned on a side perpendicular to the optical axis, as taught by Kim, for rotating the prism in an up and down direction ([0243] in Kim).
Regarding claim 20, Weng/Lee/Kim discloses the terminal according to claim 12.
It is noted that in Weng, actuator 170 rotates the prism 120 ([0048]), actuator 240 moves the lens, thus realizing zooming ([0042]) and image stabilization (i.e., improving image quality) ([0048]). In addition, rotation of the prism compensates for movement of the terminal due to shake, thus, providing anti-shake function.
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng, Lee, Kim in view of Mireault et al. (US 2022/0091482, hereinafter, “Mireault”.
Regarding claim 2, Weng/Lee/Kim discloses the image acquisition module according to claim 1.
Weng/Lee/Kim does not explicitly disclose the movement control component is configured to send the first driving signal to drive the first moving component to move the lens, and / or send the second driving signal to drive the second moving component to move the light transmission component.
Mireault discloses an actuator for a folded optics camera which includes a voice coil motor that moves a lens group (Abstract). In one embodiment, current (i.e., a driving signal) is supplied to the coils to electromagnetically interact with the magnets to produce Lorentz forces to move the lenses, [0033].
Both Weng and Mireault disclose optical cameras.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Weng/Lee/Kim so that the first moving component (moving the lens 210) and the second moving component (moving the prism 120) are driven by receiving a current driving signal by a movement control component, as taught by Mireault, for an effective, i.e., fast, activation of the actuators.
Regarding claim 13, Weng/Lee/Kim discloses the terminal according to claim 12.
Weng/Lee/Kim does not explicitly disclose the movement control component configured to send the first driving signal to drive the first moving component to move the lens, and / or send the second driving signal to drive the second moving component to move the light transmission component.
Mireault discloses an actuator for a folded optics camera which includes a voice coil motor that moves a lens group (Abstract). In one embodiment, current (i.e., a driving signal) is supplied to the coils to electromagnetically interact with the magnets to produce Lorentz forces to move the lenses, [0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Weng/Lee/Kim so that the first moving component (moving the lens 210) and the second moving component (moving the prism 120) are driven by receiving a current driving signal by a movement control component, as taught by Mireault, for an effective, i.e., fast, activation of the actuators.
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng, Lee, Kim, Mireault in view of Hsu (US 2013/0021485, hereinafter, Hsu).
Regarding claim 5, Weng/Lee/Kim/Mireault discloses the image acquisition module according to claim 2.
Weng/ Lee/Kim/Mireault does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
an image sensing component, configured to form an image based on the ambient light acquired by the lens; and
an image processing component, coupled to the image sensing component and the movement control component, and configured to determine an image quality parameter of the image formed by the image sensing component, and adjust the first driving signal and / or the second driving signal of the movement control component based on the image quality parameter.
Hsu discloses an image capturing device comprising a zooming lens 22 and a reflective prism 221 (claim 1, Fig. 1). To compensate for movement of the image capturing device, for example, due to hand shaking, i.e., based on a correction amount, coils generate magnetic fields with a predetermined intensity so as to move the corresponding magnets. Hall elements detect positions of the magnets and accordingly move the optical elements to determine the correction amount needed, ([0022]-[0023]).
It is noted that the camera of Hsu comprises an image sensing component 33 configured to form an image, based on light received by the lens, Fig. 2, [0020]. In addition, the image correction, i.e., image stabilizing, is achieved by adjusting the driving of the optical elements based on an image quality parameter.
Both Weng and Hsu disclose optical cameras.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Weng/ Lee/Kim/Mireault so that the driving signals to the optical elements are adjusted based on an image quality parameter of the image captured by the optical image capturing module, as taught by Hsu, for achieving accurate correction based on the received/detected image.
Regarding claim 16, Weng/Lee/Kim/ Mireault discloses the terminal according to claim 13.
Weng/Lee/Kim/Mireault does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
an image sensing component, configured to form an image based on the ambient light acquired by the lens; and
an image processing component, coupled to the image sensing component and the movement control component, and configured to determine an image quality parameter of the image formed by the image sensing component, and adjust the first driving signal and / or the second driving signal of the movement control component based on the image quality parameter.
Hsu discloses an image capturing device comprising a zooming lens 22 and a reflective prism 221 (claim 1, Fig. 1). To compensate for movement of the image capturing device, for example, due to hand shaking, i.e., based on a correction amount, coils generate magnetic fields with a predetermined intensity so as to move the corresponding magnets. Hall elements detect positions of the magnets and accordingly move the optical elements to determine the correction amount needed, ([0022]-[0023]).
It is noted that the camera of Hsu comprises an image sensing component 33 configured to form an image, based on light received by the lens, Fig. 2, [0020]. In addition, the image correction, i.e., image stabilizing, is achieved by adjusting the driving of the optical elements based on an image quality parameter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Weng/Lee/Kim/Mireault so that the driving signals to the optical elements are adjusted based on an image quality parameter of the image captured by the optical image capturing module, as taught by Hsu, for achieving accurate correction based on the received/detected image.
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng, Lee, Kim, Mireault in view of Bang et al. (US 2023/0359108, hereinafter, “Bang”).
Regarding claim 3, Weng/Lee/Kim/Mireault discloses the image acquisition module according to claim 2.
Weng/ Lee/Kim/Mireault does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
a first magnetic sensing component and / or a second magnetic sensing component, wherein:
the first magnetic sensing component is coupled to the movement control component, and is configured to sense a change value of the magnetic field of the first magnetic component, and send the sensed change value of the magnetic field of the first magnetic component to the movement control component;
the second magnetic sensing component is coupled to the movement control component, and is configured to sense a change value of the magnetic field of the second magnetic component, and send the sensed change value of the magnetic field of the second magnetic component to the movement control component; and
the movement control component is configured to determine a position change of the lens according to the received change value of the magnetic field of the first magnetic component, and / or configured to determine a position change of the light transmission component according to the received change value of the magnetic field of the second magnetic component.
Bang discloses a camera actuator 1100, 1200, for a camera that performs optical image stabilization (OIS), zooming, or auto focusing (AF), [0077]. Bang discloses that magnetic sensing components, such as, Hall sensors, detect a location of the magnet that moves a lens or a prism, for controlling the location of said optical elements, Figs. 3, 4, [0186]-[0187].
Both Weng and Bang disclose optical cameras.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Weng/Lee/Kim/Mirea so that the magnetic field of the magnets of the first moving component and the second moving component is sensed and sent to the movement control component to determine the current position of the lens 210 and prim 120, as taught by Bang, for accurate correction results due to the precise movement of the lens and prism.
Regarding claim 14, Weng/ Lee/Kim/Mireault discloses the terminal according to claim 13.
Weng/ Lee/Kim/Mireault does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
a first magnetic sensing component and / or a second magnetic sensing component, wherein:
the first magnetic sensing component is coupled to the movement control component, and is configured to sense a change value of the magnetic field of the first magnetic component, and send the sensed change value of the magnetic field of the first magnetic component to the movement control component;
the second magnetic sensing component is coupled to the movement control component, and is configured to sense a change value of the magnetic field of the second magnetic component, and send the sensed change value of the magnetic field of the second magnetic component to the movement control component; and
the movement control component is configured to determine a position change of the lens according to the received change value of the magnetic field of the first magnetic component, and / or configured to determine a position change of the light transmission component according to the received change value of the magnetic field of the second magnetic component.
Bang discloses a camera actuator 1100, 1200, for a camera that performs optical image stabilization (OIS), zooming, or auto focusing (AF), [0077]. Bang discloses that magnetic sensing components, such as, Hall sensors, detect a location of the magnet that moves a lens or a prism, for controlling the location of said optical elements, Figs. 3, 4, [0186]-[0187].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Weng/ Mireault/Hsu/Seo so that the magnetic field of the magnets of the first moving component and the second moving component is sensed and sent to the movement control component to determine the current position of the lens 210 and prim 120, as taught by Bang, for accurate correction results due to the precise movement of the lens and prism.
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng, Lee, Kim, Mireault, Hsu in view of Kim (US 2022/0229264, hereinafter, Kim1).
Regarding claim 6, Weng/Lee/Kim/Mireault/Hsu discloses the image acquisition module according to claim 5.
Weng/ Lee/Kim/Mireault/Hsu does not disclose wherein: the image quality parameter comprises an image suppression ratio.
Kim1 discloses a liquid lens control device (Abstract). In discussing stabilizing photographing functions, such as, auto-focusing function and optical image stabilization function, Kim1 discloses that a goal in this field is to improve image suppression ratio, [0002]-[0005].
Both Weng and Kim1 disclose optical cameras.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Weng/ Lee/Kim/Mireault/Hsu so that an image quality parameter that is optimized based on the movement of the actuators of Weng/ Lee/Kim/Mireault/Hsu is an image suppression ratio, as taught by Kim1, for improving the image quality, see [0120]-[0121] in Tanizoe et al. (US 2008/0049124).
Regarding claim 17, Weng/Lee/Kim/Mireault/Hsu discloses the terminal according to claim 16.
Weng/Lee/Kim/Mireault/Hsu does not disclose wherein: the image quality parameter comprises an image suppression ratio.
Kim1 discloses a liquid lens control device (Abstract). In discussing stabilizing photographing functions, such as, auto-focusing function and optical image stabilization function, Kim1 discloses that a goal in this field is to improve image suppression ratio, [0002]-[0005].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Weng/ Lee/Kim/Mireault/Hsu so that an image quality parameter that is optimized based on the movement of the actuators of Weng/ Lee/Kim/Mireault/Hsu is an image suppression ratio, as taught by Kim1, for improving the image quality, see [0120]-[0121] in Tanizoe et al. (US 2008/0049124).
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng, Lee, Kim in view of Imada (US 6,208,810, hereinafter, “Imada”).
Regarding claim 7, Weng/Lee/Kim discloses the image acquisition module according to claim 1.
Weng/Lee/Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the first coil and / or the second coil are wound with a twisted pair.
Imada discloses an image blur preventing device where a movable lens is moved in two directions in response to vibrations, Abstract. Coils 720 and 730 (Figs. 19, 20) have terminals that are composed of teflon-coated twisted paired wires which are soldered to an end portion 716d of the flexible circuit board 716, col. 4, ll. 61-64.
Both Weng and Imada disclose optical cameras.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Weng/Lee/Kim so that the first coil moving the lens 240 and the second coil moving the prism 120 are wound in twisted paired wires, as taught by Imada, for a achieving a better, less crowded, packing of the components of the actuators.
Regarding claim 18, Weng/Lee/Kim discloses the terminal according to claim 12.
Weng/Lee/Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the first coil and / or the second coil are wound with a twisted pair.
Imada discloses an image blur preventing device where a movable lens is moved in two directions in response to vibrations, Abstract. Coils 720 and 730 (Figs. 19, 20) have terminals that are composed of teflon-coated twisted paired wires which are soldered to an end portion 716d of the flexible circuit board 716, col. 4, ll. 61-64.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Weng/Lee/Kim so that the first coil moving the lens 240 and the second coil moving the prism 120 are wound in twisted paired wires, as taught by Imada, for a achieving a better, less crowded, packing of the components of the actuators.
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng, Lee, Kim in view of Yu et al. (US 11,740,538, hereinafter, “Yu”).
Regarding claim 8, Weng/Lee/Kim discloses the image acquisition module according to claim 1.
Weng/Lee/Kim does not disclose wherein: there are two first moving components, and the two first moving components are distributed on both sides of the lens with an optical axis of the lens as a symmetry axis.
Yu discloses a lens driving module 1 including a movable lens UL and a reflecting element P, Fig. 1, col. 4, ll. 46-60. In one embodiment, the lens unit UL includes a pair of electromagnetic driving assemblies MC1 and MC2, each comprising a magnet and a coil distributed on both sides of the lens with an optical axis of the lens as a symmetry axis, Figs. 2, 3, col. 5, ll. 7-40.
Both Weng and Yu disclose optical cameras.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Weng/Lee/Kim so that there are two pairs of magnet/coil distributed on both sides of the lens 210, as taught by Yu, for achieving efficacy of the OIS operation, col. 5, ll. 39-40 in Yu.
Regarding claim 19, Weng/Lee/Kim discloses the terminal according to claim 12.
Weng/Lee/Kim does not disclose wherein: there are two first moving components, and the two first moving components are distributed on both sides of the lens with an optical axis of the lens as a symmetry axis.
Yu discloses a lens driving module 1 including a movable lens UL and a reflecting element P, Fig. 1, col. 4, ll. 46-60. In one embodiment, the lens unit UL includes a pair of electromagnetic driving assemblies MC1 and MC2, each comprising a magnet and a coil distributed on both sides of the lens with an optical axis of the lens as a symmetry axis, Figs. 2, 3, col. 5, ll. 7-40.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Weng/Lee/Kim so that there are two pairs of magnet/coil distributed on both sides of the lens 210, as taught by Yu, for achieving efficacy of the OIS operation, col. 5, ll. 39-40 in Yu.
It is noted that the actuator 240 in Weng moves the lens back and forth along the optical axis of the lens for optical zooming, [0042] in Weng.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Regarding independent claims 1 and 12, Applicant stated that “As can be seen from the above passages, the magnet 2350 includes a first magnet 2351, a second magnet 2352, and a third magnet 2353, and in the technical solution of Kim, the third direction means a z-axis direction shown in the drawing in a direction perpendicular to the first and second directions, and the third direction means an optical axis direction. With reference to FIG. 19 of Kim, reproduced below, a side where the third magnet 2353 is disposed is parallel to the z-axis direction, i.e., the optical axis direction, rather than perpendicular to the z-axis direction. Therefore, Kim fails to disclose, teach or suggest at least the above-identified feature, i.e., the third side is perpendicular to the optical axis.”, see p. 4 of the Remarks.
It is noted that as seen in Fig. 19 of Kim, there is a first optical axis corresponding to light being incident on the prism 2410 from the left side of the figure, which optical axis is between magnets 2351 and 2352, i.e., one optical axis of the system acting as a symmetry axis, but also there is a second optical axis corresponding to light being reflected from the side surface of the prism 2410 and being directed towards the bottom of the figure, i.e., along Z. In other words, in Fig. 19 of Kim, the magnet 2353 is perpendicular to the first optical axis acting as a symmetry axis of the first and second magnets.
Applicant's above argument has been fully considered but it is not persuasive, thus, the rejection of claims 1 and 12 (and their dependents) is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Stephone Allen, can be reached on 571-272-2434. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/L.B./
Patent Examiner, AU 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872