Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 01/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts (page 9 of remarks):
a) Turtinen fails to teach or suggest "starting a timer based at least in part on the determination that the UE does not have the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI" as recited in claim 1 and similar features recited in claims 10, 19, and 23.
b) However, the Examiner very kindly directs applicant to UE 110 determines whether a QoS flow ID corresponding to the new QoS flow matches a flow ID in the configured QoS flow ID space. The Non-Access Stratum (NAS) will map IP flows to QoS flows. The UE may have been configured for NAS to map certain IP flows to certain QoS flows, but there is as of yet no rule for QoS flow to DRB mapping. If the QoS flow ID does not match a flow ID in the configured QoS flow ID space 370-4 (block 325=No, i.e., the condition in the rule 380-3 is not met), the flow proceeds to block 345. In block 345, the UE 110 maps the new QoS flow packet to buffer of default DRB. In block 355, the UE 110 transmits the new QoS flow packet using default DRB. If the QoS flow ID matches a flow ID in the configured QoS flow ID space 370-4 (block 325=Yes, i.e., the condition in the rule 380-3 is met), flow proceeds to block 330. Blocks 315, 320, and 325 can all result (if the condition for each of the corresponding rules 380-1, 380-2, or 380-3 in the blocks is “Yes”, meaning the condition is met) in arriving at block 330. In block 330, the UE 110 determines whether a default DRB buffer delay or queuing delay is greater than (“>”) a threshold 370-5. These could be the same delay such that there is only a single threshold 370-5, or there could be two delays such that there are two thresholds 370-5 (each threshold 370-5—which may be different—corresponds to one of the default DRB buffer delay or queuing delay). If so (block 330=Yes, i.e., the condition in the rule 380-4 is met), then in block 335, the UE 110 triggers RRC signaling for the new QoS flow indication to request a dedicated DRB for the new QoS flow, and also starts timer T1. Note that triggering the RRC signaling means that RRC signaling is performed. The UE 110 determines, in block 340, whether an RRC reconfiguration is received within the time period 370-6 of the configured timer T1. Note that the time period for the configured timer T1 may be received (and configured) in block 305. If the RRC reconfiguration is received within the time period 370-6 of the configured timer T1 (block 340=Yes, i.e., the condition in rule 380-5 is met), the flow proceeds to block 350, where the UE 110 maps the new QoS flow packet to the buffer 179 of the configured DRB. It is a bit of a modelling issue, but there can be a buffer above DRBs (e.g., the transmission buffer 178) and then a buffer 179 per DRB (where the packet is already mapped to a DRB). In block 360, the UE 110 transmits the new QoS flow packet using the configured DRB. If the QoS flow ID does not match the a flow ID in the configured QoS flow ID space 370-4 (block 325=No, i.e., the condition in the rule 380-3 is not met), or if the default DRB buffer or queuing delay is not greater than a corresponding threshold 370-5 (block 330=No, i.e., the condition in the rule 380-4 is not met), or if the RRC reconfiguration is not received within the time period 370-6 of the configured timer T1 (block 340=No, i.e., the condition in the rule 380-5 is not met), the flow proceeds to block 345. Note that block 340=No also means expiry of the timer without reception of RRC configuration. In block 345, the UE 110 maps the new QoS flow packet to a buffer of the default DRB. As described above, there can be a buffer above DRBs (e.g., the transmission buffer 178) and then a buffer 179 per DRB (where the packet is already mapped to a DRB) (¶0083-85). Therefore, Turtinen teaches starting the timer T1 based on the determination that the UE does not have the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for the QoS flow having the QFI.
c) Applicant's arguments with regards to dependent claims are based on the deficiency of the references to support the limitations of independent claims. The arguments are respectfully traversed for the same reason(s) as stated above for rejection of independent claims.
3. Therefore, the limitations of the claims are met and the rejection is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 1, 10, 19, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHO (US 2019/0150023 A1) in view of TURTINEN (US 2020/0053592 A1).
As per claim 1, CHO teaches a method of wireless communications performed by a user equipment (UE) (CHO, Fig.9, a method of wireless communications performed by UE) , comprising: receiving a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol data unit (PDU) session modification command for a PDU session that adds a new quality of service (QoS) flow having a first QoS flow identifier (QFI) (CHO, ¶0113-114 and ¶0120, receiving NAS message/command for PDU session establishment/modification that update QoS rules (i.e. adding new quality) of QoS flow having first QoS flow ID).
However, CHO does not explicitly teach determining that the UE does not have an uplink QoS flow to data radio bearer (DRB) mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI; starting a timer based at least in part on the determination that the UE does not have the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI; and preventing, during a period when the timer is running the UE from processing and transmitting uplink data associated with the QoS flow having the first QFI.
In the same field of endeavor, TURTINEN teaches determining that the UE does not have an uplink QoS flow to data radio bearer (DRB) mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI (Fig.3, ¶0083-85, determining that there is no uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for QoS having QoS flow ID (QFI)); starting a timer based at least in part on the determination that the UE does not have the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI (Fig.3, ¶0083-85, starting the timer T1 based on the determination that the UE does not have the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule); and preventing, during a period when the timer is running the UE from processing and transmitting uplink data associated with the QoS flow having the first QFI (Fig.3, ¶0083-86, within/during the time period of the configured timer T1 when there is a QoS flow remapping in the transmission buffer of the default DRB and the new packets of are buffered; therefore the relevant transmission is stopped or prevented as the packets are buffered).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of TURTINEN into invention of CHO in order to determine using one or more conditional rules whether to send data from the new QoS flow using a default data radio bearer (DRB) or to trigger radio resource control (RRC) signaling to request a dedicated DRB for the new QoS flow to improve uplink and downlink speed.
As per claim 10, CHO teaches a apparatus of wireless communications (CHO, ¶0168, apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more processors, individually or collectively (CHO, ¶0168, microprocessor), configured to: receive a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol data unit (PDU) session modification command for a PDU session that adds a new quality of service (QoS) flow having a first QoS flow identifier (QFI) (CHO, ¶0113-114 and ¶0120, receiving NAS message/command for PDU session establishment/modification that update QoS rules (i.e. adding new quality) of QoS flow having first QoS flow ID); and a memory coupled with the one or more processors (CHO, ¶0168, memory).
However, CHO does not explicitly teach determine that the UE does not have an uplink QoS flow to data radio bearer (DRB) mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI; start a timer based at least in part on the determination that the UE does not have the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI; and prevent, during a period when the timer is running the UE from processing and transmitting uplink data associated with the QoS flow having the first QFI.
In the same field of endeavor, TURTINEN teaches determine that the UE does not have an uplink QoS flow to data radio bearer (DRB) mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI (Fig.3, ¶0083-85, determining that there is no uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for QoS having QoS flow ID (QFI)); start a timer based at least in part on the determination that the UE does not have the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI (Fig.3, ¶0083-85, starting the timer T1 based on the determination that the UE does not have the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule); and prevent, during a period when the timer is running the UE from processing and transmitting uplink data associated with the QoS flow having the first QFI (Fig.3, ¶0083-86, within/during the time period of the configured timer T1 when there is a QoS flow remapping in the transmission buffer of the default DRB and the new packets of are buffered; therefore the relevant transmission is stopped or prevented as the packets are buffered).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of TURTINEN into invention of CHO in order to determine using one or more conditional rules whether to send data from the new QoS flow using a default data radio bearer (DRB) or to trigger radio resource control (RRC) signaling to request a dedicated DRB for the new QoS flow to improve uplink and downlink speed.
As per claim 19, CHO teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE) (CHO, ¶0175, memory unit and executed by a processor), cause the UE to perform a method of wireless communications (CHO, Fig.9, a method of wireless communications performed by UE) , the method comprising: receiving a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol data unit (PDU) session modification command for a PDU session that adds a new quality of service (QoS) flow having a first QoS flow identifier (QFI) (CHO, ¶0113-114 and ¶0120, receiving NAS message/command for PDU session establishment/modification that update QoS rules (i.e. adding new quality) of QoS flow having first QoS flow ID).
However, CHO does not explicitly teach determining that the UE does not have an uplink QoS flow to data radio bearer (DRB) mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI; starting a timer based at least in part on the determination that the UE does not have the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI; and preventing, during a period when the timer is running the UE from processing and transmitting uplink data associated with the QoS flow having the first QFI.
In the same field of endeavor, TURTINEN teaches determining that the UE does not have an uplink QoS flow to data radio bearer (DRB) mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI (Fig.3, ¶0083-85, determining that there is no uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for QoS having QoS flow ID (QFI)); starting a timer based at least in part on the determination that the UE does not have the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI (Fig.3, ¶0083-85, starting the timer T1 based on the determination that the UE does not have the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule); and preventing, during a period when the timer is running the UE from processing and transmitting uplink data associated with the QoS flow having the first QFI (Fig.3, ¶0083-86, within/during the time period of the configured timer T1 when there is a QoS flow remapping in the transmission buffer of the default DRB and the new packets of are buffered; therefore the relevant transmission is stopped or prevented as the packets are buffered).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of TURTINEN into invention of CHO in order to determine using one or more conditional rules whether to send data from the new QoS flow using a default data radio bearer (DRB) or to trigger radio resource control (RRC) signaling to request a dedicated DRB for the new QoS flow to improve uplink and downlink speed.
As per claim 23, CHO teaches an apparatus of wireless communications (CHO, Fig.9, apparatus of wireless communications) comprising: means for receiving a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol data unit (PDU) session modification command for a PDU session that adds a new quality of service (QoS) flow having a first QoS flow identifier (QFI) (CHO, ¶0113-114 and ¶0120, receiving NAS message/command for PDU session establishment/modification that update QoS rules (i.e. adding new quality) of QoS flow having first QoS flow ID).
However, CHO does not explicitly teach means for determining that the UE does not have an uplink QoS flow to data radio bearer (DRB) mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI; means for starting a timer based at least in part on the determination that the UE does not have the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI; and means for preventing, during a period when the timer is running the UE from processing and transmitting uplink data associated with the QoS flow having the first QFI.
In the same field of endeavor, TURTINEN teaches means for determining that the UE does not have an uplink QoS flow to data radio bearer (DRB) mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI (Fig.3, ¶0083-85, determining that there is no uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for QoS having QoS flow ID (QFI)); means for starting a timer based at least in part on the determination that the UE does not have the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI (Fig.3, ¶0083-85, starting the timer T1 based on the determination that the UE does not have the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule); and means for preventing, during a period when the timer is running the UE from processing and transmitting uplink data associated with the QoS flow having the first QFI (Fig.3, ¶0083-86, within/during the time period of the configured timer T1 when there is a QoS flow remapping in the transmission buffer of the default DRB and the new packets of are buffered; therefore the relevant transmission is stopped or prevented as the packets are buffered).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of TURTINEN into invention of CHO in order to determine using one or more conditional rules whether to send data from the new QoS flow using a default data radio bearer (DRB) or to trigger radio resource control (RRC) signaling to request a dedicated DRB for the new QoS flow to improve uplink and downlink speed.
B) Claims 27, 30, 33, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHO (US 2019/0150023 A1) in view of TURTINEN (US 2020/0053592 A1) and further in view of SEBIRE (WO 2018/172602 A1).
As per claim 27 as applied to claim 1 above, CHO in view of TURTINEN does not explicitly teach receiving the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI; and stopping the timer based at least in part on receiving the mapping rule.
In the same field of endeavor, SEBIRE teaches receiving the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI; and stopping the timer based at least in part on receiving the mapping rule (page 5, lines 9-17, receiving the uplink QoS flow to S-DRB remapping and lapsing or stopping the timer based on the receiving part).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of SEBIRE into invention of CHO and TURTINEN in order to improve packet handling after a quality of service flow remapping to a new data radio bearer.
As per claim 30 as applied to claim 10 above, CHO in view of TURTINEN does not explicitly teach receive the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI; and stop the timer based at least in part on receiving the mapping rule.
In the same field of endeavor, SEBIRE teaches receive the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI; and stop the timer based at least in part on receiving the mapping rule (page 5, lines 9-17, receiving the uplink QoS flow to S-DRB remapping and lapsing or stopping the timer based on the receiving part).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of SEBIRE into invention of CHO and TURTINEN in order to improve packet handling after a quality of service flow remapping to a new data radio bearer.
As per claim 33 as applied to claim 19 above, CHO in view of TURTINEN does not explicitly teach receiving the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI; and stopping the timer based at least in part on receiving the mapping rule.
In the same field of endeavor, SEBIRE teaches receiving the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI; and stopping the timer based at least in part on receiving the mapping rule (page 5, lines 9-17, receiving the uplink QoS flow to S-DRB remapping and lapsing or stopping the timer based on the receiving part).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of SEBIRE into invention of CHO and TURTINEN in order to improve packet handling after a quality of service flow remapping to a new data radio bearer.
As per claim 36 as applied to claim 23 above, CHO in view of TURTINEN does not explicitly teach means for receiving the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI; and means for stopping the timer based at least in part on receiving the mapping rule.
In the same field of endeavor, SEBIRE teaches means for receiving the uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI; and means for stopping the timer based at least in part on receiving the mapping rule (page 5, lines 9-17, receiving the uplink QoS flow to S-DRB remapping and lapsing or stopping the timer based on the receiving part).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of SEBIRE into invention of CHO and TURTINEN in order to improve packet handling after a quality of service flow remapping to a new data radio bearer.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 28-29, 31-32, 34-35 and 37-38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
6. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARIDEH MADANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643