DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Examiner notes that the limitation of a “right angle” transition constitutes new matter. The drawings generally show an angle that might be a right angle, but it is not explicitly shown as such. The Specification does not specify any angle of a transition between the second and third diameters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pell (US 5713348) in view of Morgan et al. (US 2020/0345998).
Re Clm 1: Pell discloses a unitary adapter (10) capable of coupling a breathing circuit to an operating laryngoscope, comprising: a monolithic body (ash shown) having a small-bore connector (14) having a first inner diameter (as shown), the small- bore connector being formed at a first end (left end, figs 1-3); an elongated tubular passage (middle tapered portion) having a second inner diameter greater than the first inner diameter (figs 2-3); and a second end (right end) having an opening configured to couple the body to the breathing circuit (as shown), said opening having a third inner diameter greater than the second diameter (see figs 2-3); and a flange (18) projecting radially outward from an exterior surface of the elongated cylindrical tubular passage at a right angle transition between the second inner diameter and a third inner diameter (shown in figs 2-3).
Pell fails to disclose a cylindrical collar concentrically formed around the small-bore connector, the cylindrical collar having a threaded inner wall configured to couple the body to the operating laryngoscope.
Morgan et al. teaches (fig 6) the use of a unitary adapter at a first end (small bore) of the adapter having a cylindrical collar (252, 254) concentrically formed around the small-bore connector, the cylindrical collar having a threaded inner wall (242) configured to couple the body to the operating laryngoscope. This is a well-known Luer Lock configuration is taught for the purpose of connecting tubing to prevent unwanted leaks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided the first end small bore of the adapter of Pell with a known Luer Lock having a cylindrical collar concentrically formed around the small-bore connector, the cylindrical collar having a threaded inner wall configured to couple the body to the operating laryngoscope, as taught by Morgan et al. with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of connecting tubing to prevent unwanted leaks.
Re Clms 2 and 3: Pell as modified above disclose wherein the small-bore connector is configured to couple the body to an attachment port on a side of the operating laryngoscope (clm 2), and wherein the small-bore connector is configured to couple the body to an end of the operating laryngoscope (clm 3).
Re Clm 4: Pell as modified above discloses wherein the flange body has a rounded rectangle shape-shaped flange projecting radially outward from an exterior surface of the elongated tubular passage at a transition between the second diameter and the third diameter (see figs 2-3).
Re Clm 5: Pell as modified above discloses wherein a concave arcuate surface is formed at a transition between the first inner diameter and the second inner diameter (see figs 2 and 3).
Re Clm 7: Pell as modified above discloses wherein the elongated tubular passage and the cylindrical collar have a first outer diameter and the second end has a second outer diameter greater than the first outer diameter (as shown in Pell and Morgan et al.).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN P MASINICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678