DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 13, 17, and 29-30 have been canceled. Claims 10, 14, and 18 have been amended, and claims 31-32 have been added.
Claims 10, 14, and 18 were previously objected to and have been amended; the previous objections are thus withdrawn.
Claims 10-30 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims have been amended to overcome these previous rejections and thus the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) are withdrawn.
Claims 10-30 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) where the claims were previously found to be indefinite. The claims have been amended to overcome these previous rejections and thus the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 24 has a typographical error wherein it recites “wherein the at least one flexible flange is configured” and should instead recite “wherein at least one flexible flange is configured” to have proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Cowan does not disclose the transfer reservoir comprising a pressurization port and aperture located at a distal end of the transfer reservoir and that is distinct from the pressurization port as claimed. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Cowan discloses a pressurization port, which is septum 54 and the opening immediately surrounding it radially, and an aperture, which is neck 46 of the reservoir, which are different and thus distinct structures since they are located at different longitudinal positions and are provided at an end of the reservoir which can be considered to be the distal end. Examiner notes that no additional structures are provided differentiating the claimed distal end from a proximal end of the reservoir.
Thus, Examiner respectfully finds Applicant’s arguments unpersuasive and rejects the claims as indicated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 and 22-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Cowan et al. (WO 2017091643, previously made of record, henceforth Cowan).
Regarding claim 18, Cowan discloses an apparatus (assembly of figs. 1 and 3B) for providing stable and pressurized flow of fluid during phacoemulsification surgery (see at least [00115]), the apparatus comprising: a supply source (liquid container 36, fig. 3B) comprising a receiving port (i.e., port in which pierceable septum 54 is located, fig. 3B) ([00132]; Fig. 8) and a supply source aperture (neck 46, fig. 3B); a transfer reservoir (container 12, fig. 3B), the transfer reservoir communicatively coupled with the supply source via a spike (adapter 32, fig. 3B) ([00134], [00137]; i.e., piercing device 68 is part of the fill adapter 32) located at a proximal end of the transfer reservoir (see fig. 3B, the end of container 12 which includes groove 35 is a proximal end as claimed; note that while Cowan describes this end as a distal end in [00136], there are no structures in the claim specifying what is meant to be a proximal end or a distal end); and the spike configured to at least partially penetrate the receiving port ([00139]).
It is noted that Cowan discloses that the transfer reservoir comprising a pressurization port and an aperture distinct from the pressurization port since Cowan discloses that container 12 may be a syringe 12b ([00128]) comprising a pressurization port (i.e., opening at end 16 through which plunger 31 is slidably received) and an aperture (i.e., opening at end 18) distinct from the pressurization port (Fig. 2B) or a syringe with a fitting 218 for coupling a tube connected to a patient ([00144]) comprising a pressurization port (i.e., opening at open end of syringe 202) and an aperture (i.e., opening of fitting 218 for coupling with the tube) (Fig. 12).
However, even if the noted disclosure of Cowan is not sufficient to disclosing that the different embodiments of container 12 being disclosed with piercing device 68 having a deflectable barb 84 as described in [00137]-[00140], it is further noted that Cowan also explicitly disclose that the one or more features of the examples being combined with one or more features of any other example ([00204]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify container 12 with pierceable device 68 of Cowan disclosed in [00137]-[00140] with the specific features of a pressurization port and an aperture as disclosed in [00128] or [00144] since Cowan discloses these as alternative embodiments of the container and since it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art, Boston Scientific v. Cordis Fed. Cir. 2009.
Regarding claim 22, Cowan discloses the apparatus of claim 18 wherein the pressurization port is configured to apply pressure to the transfer reservoir to modify the fluid flow continuing from the transfer reservoir ([00128] via application of pressure from plunger 31).
Regarding claim 23, Cowan discloses the apparatus of claim 18 wherein a pressure source (plunger 31, fig. 2B) provides the pressure through the pressurization port to the transfer reservoir ([00128]).
Regarding claim 24, Cowan discloses the apparatus of claim 18 wherein the at least one flexible flange (deflectable barbs 84, fig. 8) is configured to deflect towards a body of the spike when being inserted through the receiving port and regain normality once through the receiving port (see [00139], where the claimed body of the spike is the main tubular extension of piercing device 68).
Regarding claim 25, Cowan discloses the apparatus of claim 18 wherein the spike is recessed into a first seal membrane (plug 85, see fig. 8; [00140]), and the transfer reservoir and the receiving port is recessed into a second seal membrane of the supply source (septum 54, figs. 6 and 8; [0138]).
Regarding claim 26, Cowan discloses the apparatus of claim 25 wherein the first seal membrane and the second seal membrane comprise screw threads (i.e., male and female threading) configured to mate the transfer reservoir and the supply source together ([00140]-[00141], the claimed threaded portions are described).
Regarding claim 27, Cowan discloses the apparatus of claim 26 wherein the first seal membrane and the second seal membrane provide a mechanical force that maintains the communicative coupling of the transfer reservoir and the supply source (see [00141]).
Regarding claim 28, Cowan discloses the apparatus of claim 18 wherein a first screw (i.e., male or female threading) based attachment element of the transfer reservoir and a second screw (i.e., corresponding female or male threading) based attachment element of the supply source are configured to mate and draw the transfer reservoir and the supply source together to provide a force enabling the spike to at least partially penetrate the receiving port (see [00140]-[00141], the claimed threaded portions providing mating forces are described).
Claim(s) 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cowan et al. (WO 2017091643, previously made of record, henceforth Cowan).
Regarding claim 19, Cowan discloses the apparatus of claim 18 wherein Cowan does not explicitly disclose that the spike comprises a plurality of openings configured to enable a fluid flow between the supply source and the transfer reservoir. However, Cowan discloses various fill adapters including adapters 300 and 703 having a plurality of openings dispersed uniformly among a top portion of the spike as respectively disclosed in Fig. 14 ([00147]) and Fig. 18D ([00157]-[00159]) to control fluid flow and prevent air bubbles from entering the spike. Moreover, Cowan also explicitly discloses that the one or more features of the embodiments having a plurality of openings are combinable with one or more features of any other example ([00204]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify fill adapter 32 of Cowan with the specific features of a plurality of openings to control fluid flow ([00147]) and prevent air bubbles ([00157]-[00159]) since Cowan discloses that the one or more features of the examples being combined with one or more features of any other example ([00204]) and since it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art, Boston Scientific v. Cordis Fed. Cir. 2009.
Regarding claim 20, Cowan as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 19 wherein the plurality of openings are uniformly dispersed among a top portion of the spike (Figs. 14 and 18D, the plurality of openings are dispersed along a longitudinal axis with uniform spacing).
Regarding claim 21, Cowan as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 19 wherein a rate of the fluid flow is proportionate to a number of the plurality of openings (i.e., the flow rate is proportionate to the number of plurality of openings with more openings).
Claim(s) 10-12, 14-16, 18-25, and 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez (US Pub. No. 2017/0273826 A1) in view of Cowan (WO 2017091643 A1) as evidenced by Mallough (US Pub. No. 2016/0220751 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Sanchez discloses a system for providing stable and pressurized flow of fluid during phacoemulsification surgery, the system comprising: a supply source (fluid source 214, fig. 2) comprising a supply source aperture (opening of fluid source 214 which feeds to fluid line 218, fig. 2); a transfer reservoir (fluid chamber 204, fig. 2) communicatively coupled with the supply source via a line (fluid line 218, fig. 2 and [0027]) located at a proximal end of the transfer reservoir (see fig. 2, the end of source 214 is a proximal end as claimed; note that there are no structures in the claim specifying what is meant to be a proximal end or a distal end); a surgical console (surgical console 102, fig. 1) communicatively coupled to a pressurization port (pressure inlet 208, fig. 2) of the transfer reservoir (Fig. 2; [0029]) ([0021]; i.e., since fluid delivery system 200 corresponds to the delivery system 110, it follows that console 102 with the fluid delivery system 200 is communicatively coupled with inlet 208), the surgical console having at least one system bus (i.e., communication lines with control system 108) communicatively connected to at least one computing processor (control system 108, fig. 1) capable of accessing at least one computing memory associated with the at least one computing processor ([0035]); a surgical hand piece (ophthalmic surgical tool 112, fig. 2) having at a distal end at least one surgical tool (see [0031], where the distal end is the end downstream of tool 112) and at a proximal end being communicatively connected to at least one tube (fluid infusion line 224, fig. 2) connected to an aperture (fluid outflow port 222, fig. 2) located at a distal end of the transfer reservoir (see [0021] and see fig. 2, where the distal end is the end closer to the patient or downstream from source 214); wherein the pressurization port applies pressure to the transfer reservoir causing a modification to a first fluid flow through the at least one tube ([0023]-[0024]; i.e., first flow when the negative pressure is applied); and wherein the pressurization port comprises an opening (hollow opening of pressure inlet 208 which must be present to allow for passage of gas therethrough, see [0029]) in the transfer reservoir that is distinct from the aperture of the transfer reservoir (i.e., pressure inlet 208 and fluid outflow port 222 are distinct from each other).
Sanchez does not explicitly disclose that the transfer reservoir communicatively coupled to the supply source is via a spike located at a proximal end of the transfer reservoir. However, Cowan discloses a fluid transfer device (fill adapter 32, figs. 14 and 18D) for accessing and transferring medication between a supply source (liquid container 36, figs. 14 and 18D) and a transfer reservoir (container 12, figs. 14 and 18D) whereby the fluid transfer device comprises a spike (piercing device 68, figs. 14 and 18D) located at a proximal end of the transfer reservoir (see figs. 14 and 18D, the end of container 12 which includes groove 35 is a proximal end as claimed; note that while Cowan describes this end as a distal end in [00136], there are no structures in the claim specifying what is meant to be a proximal end or a distal end).
Therefore, since both Sanchez and Cowan are drawn to medical fluid transfer systems, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sanchez with the feature of the transfer reservoir communicatively coupled to the supply source via a spike as in Cowan so as to prevent inadvertent disconnection ([00139] of Cowan) and since Mallough discloses that it is known for phacoemulsification systems to provide fluid communication between the irrigation source and the irrigation delivery line via an IV spike ([0049], [0051]).
Regarding claim 11, Sanchez as modified discloses the system of claim 10 wherein the spike is configured to penetrate the supply source (see Cowan [00139]). Cowan further discloses that the spike may also enable a second fluid flow between the supply source and the transfer reservoir via openings extending circumferentially ([00147]) or openings extending laterally on the spike ([00157]) such openings being a plurality of openings uniformly dispersed among a top portion of the spike (305 or 712; see Fig. 14, [00147] for openings 305 and see Fig. 18D, [00157] for openings 712) for controlling flow through the spike and also preventing air bubbles ([00147] and [00159]).
Regarding claim 12, Sanchez as modified discloses the system of claim 11 wherein a rate of the second fluid flow is proportionate to a number of the plurality of openings (i.e., the flow rate is proportionate to the number of openings since a greater number of openings allows for increased flow).
Regarding claim 31, Sanchez as modified discloses the system of claim 10.
Sanchez as modified does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the spike comprises at least one flexible flange that enhances the communicative coupling of the transfer reservoir and the supply source; and wherein the at least one flexible flange is configured to deflect towards a body of the spike when the spike and the at least one flexible flange are being inserted through the supply source aperture. However, Cowan teaches an alternative embodiment of a fluid transfer device (fill adapter 32, fig. 8) for accessing and transferring medication between a supply source (liquid container 36, fig. 8) and a transfer reservoir (container 12, fig. 8) whereby the fluid transfer device comprises a spike (piercing device 68, fig. 8) located at a proximal end of the transfer reservoir (see fig. 8, the end of container 12 which includes groove 35 is a proximal end as claimed; note that while Cowan describes this end as a distal end in [00136], there are no structures in the claim specifying what is meant to be a proximal end or a distal end) wherein the spike comprises at least one flexible flange (deflectable barbs 84, fig. 8) that enhances the communicative coupling of the transfer reservoir and the supply source ([00139]); and wherein the at least one flexible flange is configured to deflect towards a body of the spike when the spike and the at least one flexible flange are being inserted through the supply source aperture (see [00139], where the claimed body of the spike is the main tubular extension of piercing device 68). Cowan additionally teaches that features of different embodiments are combinable with one another ([00204]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the deflectable barbs of the alternative embodiment of Cowan to the modified system of Sanchez for preventing inadvertent removal of the spike from the septum which it pierces as in Cowan ([00139]), and further since Cowan discloses that the one or more features of the examples being combined with one or more features of any other example ([00204]) and since it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art, Boston Scientific v. Cordis Fed. Cir. 2009.
Regarding claim 14, Sanchez discloses an apparatus for providing stable and pressurized flow of fluid during phacoemulsification surgery, the apparatus comprising: a supply source (fluid source 214, fig. 2) comprising a supply source aperture (opening of fluid source 214 which feeds to fluid line 218, fig. 2); a transfer reservoir (fluid chamber 204, fig. 2) communicatively coupled with the supply source via a line (fluid line 218, fig. 2 and [0027]) located at a proximal end of the transfer reservoir (see fig. 2, the end of source 214 is a proximal end as claimed; note that there are no structures in the claim specifying what is meant to be a proximal end or a distal end); a pressurization port (pressure inlet 208, fig. 2) of the transfer reservoir (Fig. 2; [0029]) ([0021]; i.e., since fluid delivery system 200 corresponds to the delivery system 110, it follows that console 102 with the fluid delivery system 200 is communicatively coupled with inlet 208); at least one tube (fluid infusion line 224, fig. 2) connected to an aperture (fluid outflow port 222, fig. 2) located at a distal end of the transfer reservoir (see [0021] and see fig. 2, where the distal end is the end closer to the patient or downstream from source 214); wherein the pressurization port applies pressure to the transfer reservoir causing a modification to a first fluid flow through the at least one tube ([0023]-[0024]; i.e., first flow when the negative pressure is applied), wherein the pressurization port comprises an opening (hollow opening of pressure inlet 208 which must be present to allow for passage of gas therethrough, see [0029]) in the transfer reservoir that is distinct from the aperture (i.e., pressure inlet 208 and fluid outflow port 222 are distinct from each other).
Sanchez does not explicitly disclose that the transfer reservoir communicatively coupled to the supply source is via a spike located at a proximal end of the transfer reservoir. However, Cowan discloses a fluid transfer device (fill adapter 32, figs. 14 and 18D) for accessing and transferring medication between a supply source (liquid container 36, figs. 14 and 18D) and a transfer reservoir (container 12, figs. 14 and 18D) whereby the fluid transfer device comprises a spike (piercing device 68, figs. 14 and 18D) located at a proximal end of the transfer reservoir (see figs. 14 and 18D, the end of container 12 which includes groove 35 is a proximal end as claimed; note that while Cowan describes this end as a distal end in [00136], there are no structures in the claim specifying what is meant to be a proximal end or a distal end).
Therefore, since both Sanchez and Cowan are drawn to medical fluid transfer systems, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sanchez with the feature of the transfer reservoir communicatively coupled to the supply source via a spike as in Cowan so as to prevent inadvertent disconnection ([00139] of Cowan) and since Mallough discloses that it is known for phacoemulsification systems to provide fluid communication between the irrigation source and the irrigation delivery line via an IV spike ([0049], [0051]).
Regarding claim 15, Sanchez as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 14 further wherein the spike is configured to penetrate the supply source (see Cowan [00139]). Cowan further discloses that the spike may also enable a second fluid flow between the supply source and the transfer reservoir via openings extending circumferentially ([00147]) or openings extending laterally on the spike ([00157]) such openings being a plurality of openings uniformly dispersed among a top portion of the spike (305 or 712; see Fig. 14, [00147] for openings 305 and see Fig. 18D, [00157] for openings 712) for controlling flow through the spike and also preventing air bubbles ([00147] and [00159]).
Regarding claim 16, Sanchez as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 15 wherein a rate of the second fluid flow is proportionate to a number of the plurality of openings (i.e., the flow rate is proportionate to the number of openings since a greater number of openings allows for increased flow).
Regarding claim 32, Sanchez as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 14. Sanchez as modified does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the spike comprises at least one flexible flange that enhances the communicative coupling of the transfer reservoir and the supply source; and wherein the at least one flexible flange is configured to deflect towards a body of the spike when the spike and the at least one flexible flange are being inserted through the supply source aperture. However, Cowan teaches an alternative embodiment of a fluid transfer device (fill adapter 32, fig. 8) for accessing and transferring medication between a supply source (liquid container 36, fig. 8) and a transfer reservoir (container 12, fig. 8) whereby the fluid transfer device comprises a spike (piercing device 68, fig. 8) located at a proximal end of the transfer reservoir (see fig. 8, the end of container 12 which includes groove 35 is a proximal end as claimed; note that while Cowan describes this end as a distal end in [00136], there are no structures in the claim specifying what is meant to be a proximal end or a distal end) wherein the spike comprises at least one flexible flange (deflectable barbs 84, fig. 8) that enhances the communicative coupling of the transfer reservoir and the supply source ([00139]); and wherein the at least one flexible flange is configured to deflect towards a body of the spike when the spike and the at least one flexible flange are being inserted through the supply source aperture (see [00139], where the claimed body of the spike is the main tubular extension of piercing device 68). Cowan additionally teaches that features of different embodiments are combinable with one another ([00204]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the deflectable barbs of the alternative embodiment of Cowan to the modified system of Sanchez for preventing inadvertent removal of the spike from the septum which it pierces as in Cowan ([00139]), and further since Cowan discloses that the one or more features of the examples being combined with one or more features of any other example ([00204]) and since it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art, Boston Scientific v. Cordis Fed. Cir. 2009.
Regarding claim 18, Sanchez discloses an apparatus for providing stable and pressurized flow of fluid during phacoemulsification surgery, the apparatus comprising: a supply source (fluid source 214, fig. 2) comprising a supply source aperture (opening of fluid source 214 which feeds to fluid line 218, fig. 2); a transfer reservoir (fluid chamber 204, fig. 2) comprising a pressurization port (pressure inlet 208, fig. 2) and an aperture (fluid outflow port 222, fig. 2) located at a distal end of the transfer reservoir (see [0021] and see fig. 2, where the distal end is the end closer to the patient or downstream from source 214) and that is distinct from the pressurization port (i.e., pressure inlet 208 and fluid outflow port 222 are distinct from each other), the transfer reservoir communicatively coupled to the supply source via a line (fluid line 218, fig. 2 and [0027]).
Sanchez does not explicitly disclose of that the transfer reservoir communicatively coupled to the supply source via a spike located at a proximal end of the transfer reservoir, and the spike configured to at least partially penetrate a receiving port of a supply source. However, Cowan discloses a fluid transfer device (fill adapter 32, figs. 14 and 18D) for accessing and transferring medication between a supply source (liquid container 36, figs. 14 and 18D) and a transfer reservoir (container 12, figs. 14 and 18D) whereby the fluid transfer device comprises a spike (piercing device 68, figs. 14 and 18D) located at a proximal end of the transfer reservoir (see figs. 14 and 18D, the end of container 12 which includes groove 35 is a proximal end as claimed; note that while Cowan describes this end as a distal end in [00136], there are no structures in the claim specifying what is meant to be a proximal end or a distal end), and the spike configured to at least partially penetrate a receiving port in a source aperture of a source (the port is septum 54 which is in the opening of neck 46 which is an aperture of container 36).
Therefore, since both Sanchez and Cowan are drawn to medical fluid transfer systems, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sanchez with the feature of the transfer reservoir communicatively coupled to the supply source via a spike as in Cowan so as to prevent inadvertent disconnection ([00139] of Cowan) and since Mallough discloses that it is known for phacoemulsification systems to provide fluid communication between the irrigation source and the irrigation delivery line via an IV spike ([0049], [0051]). As part of this modification, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added a receiving port to the supply source aperture of Sanchez where the port is a septum as in Cowan as this is what allows for the coupling operation of Cowan to work in the modified system.
Regarding claim 19, Sanchez as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 18 wherein the spike may also comprise a plurality of openings extending circumferentially (see Cowan Fig. 14, [00147] for openings 305) or openings extending laterally on the spike (see Cowan Fig. 18D, [00157] for openings 712) for controlling flow through the spike and also preventing air bubbles (Cowan [00147] and [00159]).
Regarding claim 20, Sanchez as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 19 wherein the plurality of openings are uniformly dispersed among a top portion of the spike (see Cowan figs. 14 and 18D, the plurality of openings are dispersed along a longitudinal axis with uniform spacing).
Regarding claim 21, Sanchez as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 19 wherein a rate of the fluid flow is proportionate to a number of the plurality of openings (i.e. from Cowan, the flow rate is proportionate to the number of openings since a greater number of openings allows for increased flow).
Regarding claim 22, Sanchez as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 18 wherein the pressurization port is configured to apply pressure to the transfer reservoir to modify the fluid flow continuing from the transfer reservoir (see Sanchez [0023]-[0024]; i.e., first flow when the negative pressure is applied).
Regarding claim 23, Sanchez as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 18 wherein a pressure source (Sanchez pressure source 212, fig. 2) provides the pressure through the pressurization port to the transfer reservoir (Sanchez [0023]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 24, Sanchez as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 18.
Sanchez as modified does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the spike comprises at least one flexible flange that is configured to deflect towards a body of the spike when being inserted through the receiving port and regain normality once through the receiving port. However, Cowan teaches an alternative embodiment of a fluid transfer device (fill adapter 32, fig. 8) for accessing and transferring medication between a supply source (liquid container 36, fig. 8) and a transfer reservoir (container 12, fig. 8) whereby the fluid transfer device comprises a spike (piercing device 68, fig. 8) located at a proximal end of the transfer reservoir (see fig. 8, the end of container 12 which includes groove 35 is a proximal end as claimed; note that while Cowan describes this end as a distal end in [00136], there are no structures in the claim specifying what is meant to be a proximal end or a distal end) wherein the spike comprises at least one flexible flange (deflectable barbs 84, fig. 8) that is configured to deflect towards a body of the spike when being inserted through the receiving port and regain normality once through the receiving port (see [00139], where the claimed body of the spike is the main tubular extension of piercing device 68). Cowan additionally teaches that features of different embodiments are combinable with one another ([00204]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the deflectable barbs of the alternative embodiment of Cowan to the modified system of Sanchez for preventing inadvertent removal of the spike from the septum which it pierces as in Cowan ([00139]), and further since Cowan discloses that the one or more features of the examples being combined with one or more features of any other example ([00204]) and since it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art, Boston Scientific v. Cordis Fed. Cir. 2009.
Regarding claim 25, Sanchez as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 18 wherein the spike is recessed into a first seal membrane since Cowan discloses that the spike is recessed into a first seal membrane (plug 85, see fig. 8; [00140]) and Sanchez further discloses that the transfer reservoir and the receiving port is recessed into a second seal membrane of the supply source (i.e., membrane forming fluid storage container 202).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL J MARRISON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783