DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Busby (US20180098424).
Regarding claim 14, Busby discloses a casted security cover (paragraph 0022: “encapsulant 130 may be provided in the form of a molding”) comprising: a flex cable including at least one sensor configured to detect tampering (paragraph 0022: “Tamper-respondent sensor 120 may include various detection layers, which are monitored through, for instance, a ribbon cable”) disposed within at least one portion of the security cover (paragraph 0024: “The encapsulant may, in one or more embodiments, completely surround the tamper-respondent sensor 120 and enclosure 110, and thus form a complete environmental seal”).
Regarding claim 37, Busby discloses the metal security cover of claim 14, wherein the flex cable is of a material that is resistant to heat required for casting the metal security cover.
Busby does not expressly disclose wherein the flex cable is of a material that is resistant to heat required for casting the metal security cover.
The method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 20-24 and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klum et al. (hereinafter Klum) (US 9066447) in view of Dragone et al. (hereinafter Dragone) (US20190384942) further in view of Huang (US7645951).
Regarding claim 1, Klum (US9066447) discloses a hardware security module comprising; a card (102) configured to be plugged into a computer system (Paragraph 001 – electronic assembly); at least one cryptographic chip (108) disposed on the card (102); a security cover (104), the security cover (104) having a first half (104-1) and a second half (104-2), the first half (101-1) of the security cover (104) disposed on a first side of the card (Figure 1B), and the second half (Figure 1B) of the security cover disposed on a second side of the card (Figure 1B), wherein the security cover (104) encloses the at least one cryptographic chip.
Klum does not expressly disclose a flex cable including at least one sensor configured to detect tampering with the hardware security module, the flex cable disposed within the security cover.
Dragone discloses a flex cable (30)(31) including at least one sensor (50) (Paragraph 0059 – The sensing circuitry 50 is electrically connected to the first set of embedded detection lines 30 and the second set of embedded detection lines 31 via connection lines 34) configured to detect tampering with the hardware security module (Paragraph 0059 – The sensing circuitry 50 is configured to sense as sensing signal S the conductance of the first set 30 and the second set 31 of embedded detection lines or more particularly of the integral mesh 33 to detect tampering events), the flex cable (30)(31) disposed within the security cover (Paragraph 0057 – The cover part 22 of the enclosure 20 is arranged on the printed circuit board 21 and comprises a second set of embedded detection lines 31).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the flex cable of Dragone into the hardware security module of Klum.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this as such a modification would allow for monitoring against penetration of or damage to the enclosure.
Klum does not expressly disclose metal.
Huang discloses metal (Column 4 Lines 65-67).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the metal of Huang into the security cover.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this aid in heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 20, Klum in view of Dragone further in view of Huang discloses the hardware security module of claim 1, wherein the flex cable is disposed at a variable depth within the metal security cover (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 21, Klum in view of Dragone further in view of Huang discloses the hardware security module of claim 20, wherein the variable depth within the metal security cover is a random depth.
Regarding claim 22, Klum in view of Dragone further in view of Huang discloses the hardware security module of claim 1, wherein the flex cable is disposed within the first half of the metal security cover.
Regarding claim 23, Klum in view of Dragone further in view of Huang discloses the hardware security module of claim 22, wherein the flex cable ((30)(31) – Dragone) is connected to the first side of the card. (The configuration of the connection of 20 to 40 of Dragone mirrors the applicant claimed limitations of claim 23) (Paragraph 0055 – The printed circuit board 21 comprises a first set of embedded detection lines 30)
Regarding claim 24, Klum in view of Dragone further in view of Huang discloses the hardware security module of claim 23, wherein another flex cable is disposed within the second half of the metal security cover (Figure 1 – Dragone).
Regarding claim 26, Klum in view of Dragone further in view of Huang discloses the hardware security module of claim 1, wherein the first half of the metal security cover is larger than the second half of the metal security cover (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 27, Klum in view of Dragone further in view of Huang discloses the hardware security module of claim 1, wherein the flex cable is disposed within a material that forms the metal security cover (Paragraph 0055 – The printed circuit board 21 comprises a first set of embedded detection lines 30). (Paragraph 0057 – The cover part 22 of the enclosure 20 is arranged on the printed circuit board 21 and comprises a second set of embedded detection lines 31.)
Regarding claim 28, Klum in view of Dragone further in view of Huang discloses the hardware security module of claim 1.
Klum in view of Dragone further in view of Huang does not expressly disclose wherein the flex cable is of a material that is resistant to heat required for casting the metal security cover.
The method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight.
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Busby (US20180098424) in view of Dragone et al. (hereinafter Dragone) (US20190384942).
Regarding claim 36, Busby discloses the metal security cover of claim 14.
Busby does not expressly disclose wherein the flex cable is disposed wherein the flex cable is disposed within a material that forms the metal security cover.
Dragone discloses wherein the flex cable is disposed wherein the flex cable is disposed within a material that forms the metal security cover (Paragraph 0055 – The printed circuit board 21 comprises a first set of embedded detection lines 30). (Paragraph 0057 – The cover part 22 of the enclosure 20 is arranged on the printed circuit board 21 and comprises a second set of embedded detection lines 31.)
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the flex cable of Dragone into the metal security cover of Busby.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to protect the flex cable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25 and 29-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 25, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the interconnection and interrelationship wherein the another flex cable is connected to the second side of the card, as claimed with the remaining limitations dependent of claims 22-24 independent claim 1.
Regarding claim 29, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the interconnection and interrelationship wherein the at least one portion of the metal security cover is the first half of the metal security cover; and a second half of the metal security cover disposed on a second side of the card of the hardware security module, as claimed with the remaining limitations of independent claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-11, filed 28 August 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 14 and 20-37 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Busby (US20180098424), Klum et al. (US 9066447), Dragone et al. (hereinafter Dragone) (US20190384942), and Huang (US7645951), respectfully.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XANTHIA C RELFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
17 August 2026