DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Examiner acknowledges the receipt of the Applicant’s Amendment dated February 27, 2026. Applicant amended claims 1, 6, 8, and 17. Applicant canceled claims 5, 7, 23, and 25. Claims 1-3, 6, 8-22, 24 and 26 are pending.
Applicant's arguments have been considered and are persuasive. Upon further search and consideration, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed below in view of the new grounds of rejection over Atarot et al. (U.S. Publication 2017/0212723) as necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant has amended claim 1 and the previous rejections are withdrawn.
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-22, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright et al. (U.S. Publication 2023/0024942, hereinafter “Wright”) and in further views of Mai et al.(U.S. Publication 2022/0087768, hereinafter “Mai”; now U.S. Issued Patent 12,186,135), Black et al. (U.S. Publication 2003/0009086, hereinafter “Black”), Juergens (U.S. Publication 2019/0343588), and Atarot et al. (U.S. Publication 2017/0212723, hereinafter “Atarot”).
As to Claim 1, Wright discloses a surgery assistance system in Fig. 1 and (1126) in [0114] as shown in Fig. 7 for guiding an endoscope camera (109) in [0037] and [0039] and “endoscope” in [0114],
at least a section of the endoscope camera can be introduced through a first surgical opening and is movable in a controlled manner in an operating space of a patient body “patient’s body cavity” in [0147], the system comprising: the endoscope camera (109) in [0039] and “endoscope” in [0114] for capturing images of the operating space in a form of image data, and a robot kinematics, a free end of which accommodates the endoscope camera by an auxiliary instrument carrier “movable camera arm” in [0037] and (112) in [0039], wherein the robot kinematics is movable in a motor-controlled manner “comprising one or more electric motors” in [0037] for guiding the endoscope camera in the operating space, on a basis of control signals generated by a control unit (110) in [0039] and (1105) in [0115], wherein at least one voice control routine via “voice control system or the like” in [0039] is executed in the control unit, by which voice commands or voice command combinations in a form of voice data “voice input” in [0115] are captured via “natural user interface (NUI) input/output” in [0115], evaluated, and on the basis thereof the control signals generated by the control unit are generated as described in [0134] and [0138], and at least one image capture routine being executed in the control unit for continuous acquisition of the image data relating to the operating space that are provided by the endoscope camera as described in [0126], wherein at least one mage analysis routine is provided in the control unit, by which the image data, previously captured, are continuously evaluated and classified on based upon statistical and/or artificial intelligence self-learning methods “via neural network image classification” in [0045]-[0046], [0052], and [0099]-[0100], that object and/or scene related information relating to a surgical scene currently being captured by the endoscope camera in an image is determined by the continuous evaluation and classification of the image data during normal operation.
However Wright does not specifically disclose captured voice data evaluated on the basis of the captured object and/or scene related information. Mai teaches in the related field of endoscopy wherein voice commands and voice cues in [0091], [0093], and [0109] are utilized to perform measurements on the basis of scene related information. Black teaches in the related field of endoscopy wherein endoscope commands via voice commands using computer science and artificial intelligence in [0030]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the voice commands of Wright to be evaluated on the basis of captured object and/or scene related information as taught by Mai and Black in order to fulfill additional control functions with predictable results.
Although Wright discloses accessing a database in [0138], Wright does not specifically disclose the voice control routine evaluates the voice data based on statistical and/or artificial intelligence self-learning methods. Juergens teaches in the analogous field of endoscopy wherein the voice control routine evaluates the voice data based on statistical and/or artificial intelligence self-learning methods as described in [0004]. In order to expedite prosecution, Atarot is additionally cited to teach a voince sensor picking up at least one vocal command in coordination with a vocal recognition algorithm in [0028], [0098], and [0201]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the system of Wright capable of accessing a database with further statistical and machine learning as taught by Juergens and that a neural network with sound and/or syllable recognition algorithms for evaluating voice data on the basis of the object and/or scene related information as taught by Atarot in order to fulfill the same function of accessing additional information and performing input commands with predictable results.
As to Claim 2, Wright discloses the surgery assistance system according to Claim 1, wherein the image analysis routine comprises a neural network with pattern and/or color detection algorithms for evaluating the captured image data “via neural network image classification” in [0045]-[0046], [0052], and [0099]-[0100].
As to Claim 3, Wright discloses the surgery assistance system according to Claim 2, wherein the pattern and/or color detection algorithms “via neural network image classification” in [0045]-[0046], [0052], and [0099]-[0100] are configured and trained to capture or detect objects or parts thereof which are present in the image, in surgical instruments, in medical tools, or in organs.
As to Claim 6, Wright in views of Mai, Black, Juergens and Atarot discloses the surgery assistance system according to Claim 1, wherein the sound and/or syllable recognition algorithms are configured to capture sounds, syllables, words, gaps in speech and/or combinations thereof contained in the voice data as described in [0138].
As to Claim 8, Wright in views of Mai, Black, Juergens and Atarot discloses the surgery assistance system according to Claim 1, wherein the voice control routine captures object and/or scene related voice commands contained in the voice data as described in [0135], wherein at least one control signal is generated by the voice control routine on the basis of the object and/or scene related voice commands, previously captured, via which at least movement of the endoscope camera is controlled in terms of direction, speed and/or magnitude.
As to Claim 9, Wright in views of Mai, Black, Juergens and Atarot discloses the surgery assistance system according to Claim 4, wherein the voice control routine captures and evaluates directional and/or speed information and/or associated magnitude information in the voice data as described in [0135].
As to Claim 10, Wright discloses the surgery assistance system according to Claim 1, wherein the endoscope camera is designed to capture a two-dimensional image as described in [0135].
As to Claim 11, Wright discloses the surgery assistance system according to Claim 1, wherein a two-dimensional image coordinate system is assigned to the image via the image analysis routine “via neural network image classification” in [0045]-[0046], [0052], and [0099]-[0100].
As to Claim 12, Wright in views of Mai, Black, Juergens and Atarot discloses the surgery assistance system according to Claim 11, wherein in order to determine an orientation and/or position of an object in the image coordinates (X, Y) of the object or at least of a marker or marker point of the object are determined in a screen coordinate system “via neural network image classification” in [0045]-[0046], [0052], and [0099]-[0100].
As to Claim 13, Wright in views of Mai, Black, Juergens and Atarot discloses the surgery assistance system according to Claim 1, wherein surgical instruments and/or organs and/or other medical tools displayed in the image are detected as objects or parts of objects by the image analysis routine “via neural network image classification” in [0045]-[0046], [0052], and [0099]-[0100].
As to Claim 14, Wright in views of Mai, Black, Juergens and Atarot discloses the surgery assistance system according to Claim 13, wherein in order to detect objects or parts of objects, one or more markers or marker points of an object is/are detected by the image analysis routine, wherein an instrument tip, special color or material properties of the object and/or an articulation point between a manipulator and an instrument shaft of a surgical instrument are used as markers or marker points “via neural network image classification” in [0045]-[0046], [0052], and [0099]-[0100].
As to Claim 15, Wright discloses the surgery assistance system according to Claim 14, wherein the markers or marker points, previously detected, are evaluated by the image analysis routine for classifying the surgical scene and/or the objects located therein, and the object related and/or scene related information is determined on the basis thereof “via neural network image classification” in [0045]-[0046], [0052], and [0099]-[0100].
As to Claim 16, Wright in views of Mai, Black, Juergens and Atarot discloses the surgery assistance system according to Claim 15, wherein the object related and/or scene related information determined by the image analysis routine is transferred to the voice control routine as described in [0135].
Claims 17-22, 24, and 26 substantially recite the limitations of claims 1-3, 6, and 8-16 respectively in method form and are similarly rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the enclosed 892 form. 20210313051 ([0054]) is cited to show usage of artificial intelligence. 11055356 (Claim 30) and 20210141597 are cited to show a speech recognition system. The prior art should be considered to define the claims over the art of record.
/WILLIAM CHOU/
Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795