Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, submitted on 12/23/2025, have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new ground(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-7, 9, 11, 12, 16-17, 20, 22, 26, and 28-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh (US 20210227435) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20220361072).
Regarding claim 1, Hsieh discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a source integrated access and backhaul (IAB) donor central unit (CU) (Source IAB-Donor Central Unit 810 (Source CU 810); [0091]), comprising:
transmitting, to an IAB node over a first F1 control plane (F1-C) signaling connection with the source IAB donor CU, a trigger to cause the IAB node to transmit an F1 setup request message to initiate an F1 setup procedure with a target IAB donor CU to establish a second signaling connection between the IAB node and the target IAB donor CU (Source CU 810 may generate and send a first interface message 908 to the IAB-Node DU 836 over the existing F1 interface 806 between the Source CU 810 and the IAB-Node DU 836. The first interface message 908 includes a modification request including information for setting up an F1 interface between Target CU 860 and the IAB-Node DU 836.
Responsive to receiving the first interface message 908, the IAB-Node DU 836 may initiate a F1 setup procedure with the Target CU 860 by generating and sending a F1 Setup Request message 916 to the Target CU; [0123, 0135-0136]);
Hsieh does not expressly disclose transmitting, to the IAB node over the first F1-C signaling connection prior to the second signaling connection being established, transport network layer (TNL) address information, comprising Internet Protocol (IP) address information, associated with the target IAB donor CU to enable the IAB node to: establish a TNL association with the target IAB donor CU, and initiate the F1 setup procedure to establish the second signaling connection with the target IAB donor CU.
In an analogous art, Zhu discloses transmitting, to the IAB node over the first F1-C signaling connection prior to the second signaling connection being established, transport network layer (TNL) address information, comprising Internet Protocol (IP) address information, associated with the target IAB donor CU (Step 803: The CU of the first IAB donor sends a third message to the first IAB node. The third message includes a transport network layer address (for example, the IP address of the CU of the second IAB donor) of the CU of the second IAB donor, and the IP address is used by the first IAB node to perform control plane communication with the CU of the second IAB donor, and/or the IP address of the CU of the second IAB donor is used by the IAB node to determine first TNL association information between the first IAB node and the CU of the second IAB donor; [0208, 0220])
to enable the IAB node to: establish a TNL association with the target IAB donor CU (Step 806: The first IAB node initiates a first TNL association establishment process to the CU of the second IAB donor by using the first IP address and the IP address of the CU of the second IAB donor, to establish the first TNL association between the first IAB node and the CU of the second IAB donor, and generate the corresponding first TNL association information; [0224-0225]), and
initiate the F1 setup procedure to establish the second signaling connection with the target IAB donor CU (step 807: The first IAB node uses the first TNL association to carry an F1AP message to be sent to the CU of the second IAB donor. The F1AP message is specifically an F1 SETUP REQUEST (F1 interface setup request) message; [0229]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Zhu into the system of Hsieh in order to a reduce service latency and signaling overheads associated with and IAB donor node change (Zhu; [0003]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hsieh and Zhu, particularly Hsieh discloses wherein the second signaling connection is a second F1-C signaling connection (Via the F1 setup procedure, the IAB-Node DU 836 and the Target CU 860 exchange the application layer configuration data for the IAB-Node DU 836 and the Target CU 860 to correctly interoperate on the F1 interface. The IAB-Node DU 836 and the Target CU 860 exchange this application layer configuration data via the wireless backhaul link 815 (Un 815). Utilizing the application layer configuration data, a second F1 interface 856 is set up between the Target CU 860 and the DU 836 of IAB-Node 832; [0136]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hsieh and Zhu, particularly Hsieh discloses wherein the second signaling connection is associated with one or more of F1-C traffic, F1 user plane (F1-U) traffic, or non-F1 traffic (MT 834 of the IAB-Node 832 connects the IAB-Node 832 to the Target DU 872 of the Target IAB-Donor 125 over a backhaul Uu interface 857 (Uu 857); [0158]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hsieh and Zhu, particularly Hsieh discloses wherein the TNL address information is associated with one or more of F1-C traffic, F1-U traffic, or non-F1 traffic (based on the received configuration information, the DU creates Transport Network Layer (TNL) connectivity towards the Target CU and the DU implements a wireless backhaul link with the Target CU utilizing the TNL connectivity. At block 1110, the DU exchanges application layer configuration data with the Target CU via the wireless backhaul link implemented utilizing the TNL connectivity and sets up a second F1 interface with the Target CU utilizing the application layer configuration data; [0204-0205]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hsieh and Zhu, particularly Zhu discloses receiving the TNL address information from the target IAB donor CU (Step 802: The CU of the second IAB donor sends a second message to the CU of the first IAB donor. the second message is a handover request acknowledgment (HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE) message, and the handover request acknowledgment message includes the first IP address allocated by the CU of the second IAB donor to the first IAB node. Optionally, the second message further includes transport network layer address information of the CU of the second IAB donor (which alternatively is a CU-CP of the second IAB donor), which is used by the first IAB node to establish a TNL association with the CU of the second IAB donor; [0204-0206]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Zhu into the system of Hsieh in order to a reduce service latency and signaling overheads associated with and IAB donor node change (Zhu; [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Hsieh and Zhu, particularly Hsieh discloses communicating with the target IAB donor CU to establish a usage associated with the TNL address information (the DU exchanges application layer configuration data with the Target CU via the wireless backhaul link implemented utilizing the TNL connectivity and sets up a second F1 interface with the Target CU utilizing the application layer configuration data; [0205]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Hsieh and Zhu, particularly Zhu discloses wherein the TNL address information transmitted to the IAB node is associated with communication over an F1 interface for establishing the second signaling connection between the source IAB donor CU and the target IAB donor CU (step 807: The first IAB node uses the first TNL association to carry an F1AP message to be sent to the CU of the second IAB donor, where the F1AP message carries the identifier of the first IAB node (for example, the gNB DU ID of the DU part of the first IAB node). The F1AP message is specifically, for example, a gNB-DU CONFIGURATION UPDATE (DU configuration update) message or an F1 SETUP REQUEST (F1 interface setup request) message.
Step 808: The CU of the second IAB donor updates the control plane context information of the F1 interface by using the first TNL association information, where the F1 interface is the interface between the first IAB node and the CU of the second IAB donor; [0229-0230]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Zhu into the system of Hsieh in order to a reduce service latency and signaling overheads associated with and IAB donor node change (Zhu; [0003]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Hsieh and Zhu, particularly Zhu discloses wherein the TNL address information transmitted to the IAB node enables the IAB node to establish the TNL association with the target IAB donor CU prior to transmitting an F1 setup request message to the target IAB donor CU (Step 806 then Step 807; [0224-0229]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Zhu into the system of Hsieh in order to a reduce service latency and signaling overheads associated with and IAB donor node change (Zhu; [0003]).
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 7.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 12.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 16.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Hsieh and Zhu, particularly Hsieh discloses wherein the second signaling connection is a second F1-C signaling connection (Via the F1 setup procedure, the IAB-Node DU 836 and the Target CU 860 exchange the application layer configuration data for the IAB-Node DU 836 and the Target CU 860 to correctly interoperate on the F1 interface. The IAB-Node DU 836 and the Target CU 860 exchange this application layer configuration data via the wireless backhaul link 815 (Un 815). Utilizing the application layer configuration data, a second F1 interface 856 is set up between the Target CU 860 and the DU 836 of IAB-Node 832; [0136]).
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Hsieh and Zhu, particularly Hsieh discloses transmit, to the target IAB donor CU, a request to establish the second signaling connection with the target IAB donor CU based at least in part on the trigger (Responsive to receiving the first interface message 908 and having created Transport Network Layer (TNL) connectivity toward the Target CU 860, the IAB-Node DU 836 may initiate a F1 setup procedure with the Target CU 860 by generating and sending a F1 Setup Request message 916 to the Target CU 860 via the wireless backhaul link 815 (Un 815) implemented utilizing the TNL connectivity; [0136]).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Hsieh and Zhu, particularly Hsieh discloses wherein the F1 setup request message is associated with an F1 setup procedure between the IAB node and the target IAB donor CU (Via the F1 setup procedure, the IAB-Node DU 836 and the Target CU 860 exchange the application layer configuration data for the IAB-Node DU 836 and the Target CU 860 to correctly interoperate on the F1 interface. The IAB-Node DU 836 and the Target CU 860 exchange this application layer configuration data via the wireless backhaul link 815 (Un 815). Utilizing the application layer configuration data, a second F1 interface 856 is set up between the Target CU 860 and the DU 836 of IAB-Node 832; [0136]).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Hsieh and Zhu, particularly Hsieh discloses wherein the second signaling connection is a second F1-C signaling connection (Via the F1 setup procedure, the IAB-Node DU 836 and the Target CU 860 exchange the application layer configuration data for the IAB-Node DU 836 and the Target CU 860 to correctly interoperate on the F1 interface. The IAB-Node DU 836 and the Target CU 860 exchange this application layer configuration data via the wireless backhaul link 815 (Un 815). Utilizing the application layer configuration data, a second F1 interface 856 is set up between the Target CU 860 and the DU 836 of IAB-Node 832; [0136]).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Hsieh and Zhu, particularly Hsieh discloses wherein the second signaling connection is a second F1-C signaling connection (Via the F1 setup procedure, the IAB-Node DU 836 and the Target CU 860 exchange the application layer configuration data for the IAB-Node DU 836 and the Target CU 860 to correctly interoperate on the F1 interface. The IAB-Node DU 836 and the Target CU 860 exchange this application layer configuration data via the wireless backhaul link 815 (Un 815). Utilizing the application layer configuration data, a second F1 interface 856 is set up between the Target CU 860 and the DU 836 of IAB-Node 832; [0136]).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Hsieh and Zhu, particularly Hsieh discloses wherein the trigger causes the IAB node to perform the F1 Setup procedure before data plane traffic is transmitted over the second signaling connection (In response to receiving the F1 Setup Request message 916, the Target CU 860 may generate and send a F1 Setup Response message 918 to the IAB-Node DU 836 via the wireless backhaul link 815 (Un 815) including IAB-Node DU application layer configuration data as confirmation of setup of the F1 interface. the Target CU 860 may generate and send a second interface message 920 to the IAB-Node DU 836 via the second F1 interface 856. The second interface message 920 notifies the IAB-Node DU 836 about the handover decision and initiates a UE Context Setup procedure for establishing or modifying the UE Context (e.g., signaling radio bearer (SRB), data radio bearer (DRB)); [0137, 0141]).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Hsieh and Zhu, particularly Zhu discloses wherein the TNL address information is transmitted in response to a request message from the IAB node over the first F1-C signaling connection (Step 801: A CU of a first IAB donor sends a first message to a CU of a second IAB donor, where the first message includes an identifier of a first IAB node, and the first message is for requesting a first address; [0200]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Zhu into the system of Hsieh in order to a reduce service latency and signaling overheads associated with and IAB donor node change (Zhu; [0003]).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Hsieh and Zhu, particularly Zhu discloses wherein the trigger comprises signaling that causes the IAB node to maintain the first F1C signaling connection with the source IAB donor CU while the IAB node establishes the second signaling connection with the target IAB donor CU (the first IAB node and the CU of the IAB donor transmit a control plane message of the F1 interface by using the second TNL association between the two nodes. Therefore, the control plane context information of the F1 interface maintained by the first IAB node includes the second TNL association information. After establishing a new first TNL association with the CU of the IAB donor by using the first IP address, the first IAB node adds first TNL association information to the control plane context information of the F1 interface maintained by the first IAB node, that is, the first IAB node uses the first TNL association as one of TNL associations for carrying the control plane message of the F1 interface between the first IAB node and the CU of the IAB donor; [0159]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Zhu into the system of Hsieh in order to a reduce service latency and signaling overheads associated with and IAB donor node change (Zhu; [0003]).
Claim(s) 8, 13-14, 21, 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh (US 20210227435) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20220361072) and in view of Rajadurai (US 20230354023).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hsieh and Zhu does not expressly disclose transmitting, to the IAB node, information indicating whether the TNL address information is associated with the one or more of F1-C traffic, the F1-U traffic, or the non-F1 traffic.
In an analogous art, Rajadurai discloses transmitting, to the IAB node, information indicating whether the TNL address information is associated with the one or more of F1-C traffic, the F1-U traffic, or the non-F1 traffic (In case of IAB-donor-based IP address allocation, the at least one IP address is (are) allocated by the IAB-donor-CU (150) or IAB-donor-DU (160). In both cases, the IAB-node (200) requests the at least one IP address via RRC from the IAB-donor-CU (150). IAB-node (200) includes a separate IP address request for each usage, where the usages defined are all traffic, F1-U, F1-C and non-F1; [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Rajadurai into the system of Hsieh and Zhu in order to ensure effective authentication of an Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) node in a wireless network (Rajadurai; [0013]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Hsieh and Zhu does not expressly disclose receiving a request for the TNL address information from the IAB node over the first F1-C signaling connection.
In an analogous art, Rajadurai discloses receiving a request for the TNL address information from the IAB node over the first F1-C signaling connection (the IAB-node (200) requests the at least one IP address via RRC from the IAB-donor-CU (150). IAB-node (200) includes a separate IP address request for each usage, where the usages defined are all traffic, F1-U, F1-C and non-F1. The IAB-donor-CU (150) may initiate the IAB Transport Network Layer (TNL) Address Allocation procedure to obtain IP addresses from the IAB-donor-DU (160). The IAB-donor-CU (150) sends the IP addresses allocated for each usage to the IAB-node (200) via RRC; [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Rajadurai into the system of Hsieh and Zhu in order to ensure effective authentication of an Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) node in a wireless network (Rajadurai; [0013]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Hsieh, Zhu, and Rajadurai, particularly Rajadurai discloses wherein at least one of: the request indicates a usage associated with the TNL address information, or the TNL address information is transmitted to the IAB node based at least in part on the request (IAB-node (200) includes a separate IP address request for each usage, where the usages defined are all traffic, F1-U, F1-C and non-F1. The IAB-donor-CU (150) may initiate the IAB Transport Network Layer (TNL) Address Allocation procedure to obtain IP addresses from the IAB-donor-DU (160). The IAB-donor-CU (150) sends the IP addresses allocated for each usage to the IAB-node (200) via RRC; [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Rajadurai into the system of Hsieh and Zhu in order to ensure effective authentication of an Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) node in a wireless network (Rajadurai; [0013]).
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 8.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 13.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 14.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Hsieh, Zhu, and Rajadurai, particularly Rajadurai discloses wherein the TNL address information is transmitted to the IAB node based at least in part on the request (The IAB-donor-CU (150) may initiate the IAB Transport Network Layer (TNL) Address Allocation procedure to obtain IP addresses from the IAB-donor-DU (160). The IAB-donor-CU (150) sends the IP addresses allocated for each usage to the IAB-node (200) via RRC.; [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Rajadurai into the system of Hsieh and Zhu in order to ensure effective authentication of an Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) node in a wireless network (Rajadurai; [0013]).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh (US 20210227435) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20220361072) and in view of Huang et al. (US 20230362745).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hsieh and Zhu does not expressly disclose transmitting, to the target IAB donor CU, a request for the TNL address information, wherein the TNL address information is received from the target IAB donor CU based at least in part on the request.
In an analogous art, Huang discloses transmitting, to the target IAB donor CU, a request for the TNL address information (source donor CU sends a handover request message to the target donor CU. In an embodiment, the handover request message includes at least one of the following: IP address request information, including one of the following IP address request, IPv4 address request number, IPv6 address request number, or IPv6 address prefix request; [0061]),
wherein the TNL address information is received from the target IAB donor CU based at least in part on the request (the target donor CU sends handover request ACK message to source donor CU which includes IP address information allocated for IAB-DU, including IAB donor DU BAP address, or (b) Target donor CU’s IP address; [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Huang into the system of Hsieh and Zhu in order to reduce signaling overhead and improve service continuity (Huang; [0037]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Abedini et al. (US 10945226), “Timing And Frame Structure In An Integrated Access Backhaul (IAB) Network.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413