DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/07/2026 regarding claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-15, 17 and 19 in the remarks are fully considered but not persuasive.
(i) Applicant argues that the cited portion(s) of Matsumura (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0081169) fail to clearly teach the limitation(s) of “determine, from the CSI report configuration, to turn on a group based beam reporting and a number of groups of resources indicators to report” (please see page 11 under arguments and remarks).
(i) (Response) According to the above limitation(s), said group based beam reporting and the number of groups of resource indicators to report are triggered by a signaling (i.e., a CSI report configuration). Subsequent paragraphs such as [0097] and even [0100] disclose said group-based beam reporting is triggered/enabled based on higher layer parameter (i.e., “groupBasedBeamReporting”). Since said higher layer parameter triggers/enables group-based beam reporting it can be construed as said CSI report configuration as recited above. Please also note that paragraph [0095] of the prior art already recites said parameter. Also, N beam indices for each of the M groups as disclosed in paragraph [0095] can be construed as said resource indicators. For example, paragraph [0094] clearly states “a beam index may be replaced with, for example, CRI/SSBRI”, where CRI represents CSI-RS resource indicator. Thus, examiner maintains that paragraph [0095] of the prior art address the above argued limitation(s).
(ii) Applicant also argues that Matsumura fails to disclose whether the same higher layer signaling is used to turn on the group based beam reporting as recited in claim 1 (please see page 12 under arguments and remarks).
(ii) (Response) Please see section(i)(response) regarding examiner’s explanation on how said groupBasedBeamReporting triggers or enables beam reporting.
(iii) Applicant also argues that Takano does not provide correlation between determining the number of groups to report and the measurement (please see page 13 under arguments and remarks).
(iii) (Response) Paragraph [0171] disclose prior to measurement, the UE is provided with settings of grouping SSBs. The terminal device then receives the SSBs as groups on each transmit panel (please see paragraph [0172]). Paragraph [0172] disclose the terminal device then monitors and measures RSRP of each group and determines the best or appropriate SSB to report. Thus, based on the measured RSRP from the respective groups, the terminal device will be able to determine the groups with the best beam. For example, paragraphs [0158]-[0160] and table 2 disclose the based on the RSRP measurements the terminal device may be able to the number of SSB groups with the appropriate/best signal quality. Thus, Takano disclose ability of the terminal to determine the number of groups to report based on the measurements.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0345191) in view of Matsumura (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0081169) and further in view of Takano (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0158710) and Babaei (US PG Pub. No. 2019/0215870).
As per claim 1:
Guo teaches a user equipment (UE) (see Figure 2, terminal device 100), comprising:
a transceiver (see Figure 2, communication unit 110) configured to:
receive information for a channel state information (CSI) report configuration (see paragraph [0120], the terminal device 100 may be configured with a reporting setting configuration with a higher layer parameter to control the terminal device 100 to measure and report receiver unit specific beam measurements. The higher layer parameter may be a radio resource control (RRC) parameter. Said report setting configuration may be generated by any one of the first, second and third network devices 200a, 200b and 200c and transmitted to the terminal device 100 by at least one of the first and second network devices 200a, 200b, please see paragraph [0121]. The terminal may be configured with an information element, such as CSI-ReportConfig for providing said reporting setting configuration, please see paragraph [0122]);
and receive information for a CSI resource setting (see paragraph [0187], the terminal device 100 may be configured with one resource setting with N CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks for channel measurement. The resource setting may be generated by at least one of the first, second and third network devices 200a, 200b and 200c and transmitted to the terminal device 200);
and a processor (see Figure 2, processing unit 120) operably coupled to the transceiver (see paragraph [0102], disclose said processing unit 120 is configured to control the overall functionality of the terminal device 100, including that of the communication unit 110 and thus it is operably coupled to the communication unit 110).
Guo does not clearly teach the processor configured to:
determine, from the CSI report configuration, to turn on a group based beam reporting and a number of groups of resource indicators to report;
identify two CSI resource sets in the CSI resource setting, based on the information for the CSI report configuration indicating to turn on the group based beam reporting, wherein each of the two CSI resource sets includes at least one synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or at least one channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource;
perform a measurement on the two CSI resource sets;
and wherein each of the two resource indicators is an SSB resource indicator (SSBRI) or a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI).
Matsumura teaches the processor (see Figure 15, paragraph [0255], user terminal 20 comprise of processor 1001) configured to:
determine, from the CSI report configuration, to turn on a group based beam reporting and a number of groups of resource indicators to report (see paragraph [0095], a UE in which group-based beam reporting is enabled may report beam indices for a plurality of (for example, M) groups for each resource setting. The CSI report may include a plurality of N beam indices for each of the M groups. M may be set by a higher layer parameter (for example, nrofReportedGroup) related to the number of groups to be reported and in addition, N may be set by a higher layer parameter (for example, nrofReportedRS) related to the number of RSs to be reported);
identify two CSI resource sets in the CSI resource setting, based on the information for the CSI report configuration indicating to turn on the group-based beam reporting (paragraph [0087] explicitly states: “…the UE in which group-based beam reporting is enabled can report only two different CRI/SSBRI (which may be replaced with beam indices) for each report setting”. Therefore, it is evident that the UE has the capability of identifying two different CRI/SSBRI per report setting when group-based beam reporting is activated), wherein each of the two CSI resource sets includes at least one synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or at least one channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource (as explained earlier in paragraph [0087], two different CRI/SSBRI for each resource setting. Note: That M (the number of groups to be reported) and N (the number of beam indices) may be M>=2 and N>=2, see paragraph [0099]);
perform a measurement on the two CSI resource sets (see Figure 7A, paragraph [0116], the UE measures resources of the reference signals (CSI-RS) transmitted from two TRPs. Therefore, it is evident that the UE performs measurements from two different CSI resource sets (i.e., CSI-RS transmissions from TRP#1 and TRP#2 respectively));
and wherein each of the two resource indicators is an SSB resource indicator (SSBRI) or a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) (see paragraph [0117], TRP#1 transmits CSI-RS using resources of CRI#1-1 to CRI#1-4 corresponding to different beams. Similarly, TRP#2 transmits CSI-RS using resources of CRI#2-1 to CRI#2-4 also corresponding to different beams. Thus, the resource indicators corresponding to the two different sets (i.e., TRP#1 and TRP#2) are CRIs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the group based beam measurement and reporting (as disclosed in Matsumura) as a way of enabling both the UE and base station to determine to which group the field in the CSI report corresponds (please see paragraph [0103] of Matsumura). Therefore, by reporting CSI for each group, the control section can determine whether or not resources in a group can be simultaneously received (please see paragraph [0008] of Matsumura).
Guo and Matsumura do not clearly teach and determine, based on the measurement, the number of groups to report, wherein each of the number of groups to report includes two resource indicators selecting a CSI-RS resource or an SSB resource from each of the two CSI resource sets in the CSI resource setting.
Takano teaches and determine, based on the measurement, the number of groups to report, wherein each of the number of groups to report includes two resource indicators selecting a CSI-RS resource or an SSB resource from each of the two CSI resource sets in the CSI resource setting (see paragraph [0172], discloses subsequently, the base station 100 transmits SSBs as groups for each of the antenna panels. That is, each of the antenna panels are associated with group transmission. The terminal 200 then monitors and measures a plurality of SSBs divided into a plurality of groups. The terminal then reports the appropriate SSB (i.e., best beam) and RSRP for each of the groups. In other words, after measurement, the terminal selects the best SSB for each group based on the measurement and reports accordingly. Note: Prior to measurement, the settings of the grouping SSBs are provided to the terminal by the base station, please see paragraph [0171]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the measurement and reporting of best beams from SSB groups (as disclosed in Takano) as a way of enabling the base station to associate each resource areas that receives a plurality of pieces of control information (PDCCH) with the reported SSB (please see paragraph [0173] of Takano). Therefore, by reporting the appropriate SSBs, the terminal will be able to determine the reception environment when receiving each of the plurality of pieces of control information transmitted from the base station (please see paragraph [0178] of Takano).
The combination of Guo Matsumura and Takano do not clearly teach wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit, in a single reporting instance, the number of groups of the two resource indicators.
Babaei teaches wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit, in a single reporting instance, the number of groups of the two resource indicators (see paragraph [0515], when group-based-beam reporting set is “ON”, the UE may report in a single reporting instance up to number-of-beams-reporting L1-RSRP and CSI, where up to number-of-beams-reporting [CSI-RS and or SSB] resources may be received simultaneously by the UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the reporting of the number of beams in a single instance (as disclosed in Babaei) into Guo, Matsumura and Takano as a way of supporting simultaneous reception of resources (please see paragraph [0515] of Babaei).
As per claim 13:
Guo teaches a method for operating a user equipment (UE) (see abstract), the method comprising:
receiving information for a channel state information (CSI) report configuration (see paragraph [0120], the terminal device 100 may be configured with a reporting setting configuration with a higher layer parameter to control the terminal device 100 to measure and report receiver unit specific beam measurements. The higher layer parameter may be a radio resource control (RRC) parameter. Said report setting configuration may be generated by any one of the first, second and third network devices 200a, 200b and 200c and transmitted to the terminal device 100 by at least one of the first and second network devices 200a, 200b, please see paragraph [0121]. The terminal may be configured with an information element, such as CSI-ReportConfig for providing said reporting setting configuration, please see paragraph [0122]);
receiving information for a CSI resource setting (see paragraph [0187], the terminal device 100 may be configured with one resource setting with N CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks for channel measurement. The resource setting may be generated by at least one of the first, second and third network devices 200a, 200b and 200c and transmitted to the terminal device 200).
Guo does not teach determining, from the CSI report configuration, to turn on a group based beam reporting and a number of groups of resource indicators to report;
identifying two CSI resource sets in the CSI resource setting, based on the information for the CSI report configuration indicating to turn on the group based beam reporting, wherein each of the two CSI resource sets includes at least one synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or at least one channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource;
performing a measurement on the two CSI resource sets;
and wherein each of the two resource indicators is an SSB resource indicator (SSBRI) or a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI).
Matsumura teaches determining, from the CSI report configuration, to turn on a group based beam reporting and a number of groups of resource indicators to report (see paragraph [0095], a UE in which group-based beam reporting is enabled may report beam indices for a plurality of (for example, M) groups for each resource setting. The CSI report may include a plurality of N beam indices for each of the M groups. M may be set by a higher layer parameter (for example, nrofReportedGroup) related to the number of groups to be reported and in addition, N may be set by a higher layer parameter (for example, nrofReportedRS) related to the number of RSs to be reported);
identifying two CSI resource sets in the CSI resource setting, based on the information for the CSI report configuration indicating to turn on the group-based beam reporting (paragraph [0087] explicitly states: “…the UE in which group-based beam reporting is enabled can report only two different CRI/SSBRI (which may be replaced with beam indices) for each report setting”. Therefore, it is evident that the UE has the capability of identifying two different CRI/SSBRI per report setting when group-based beam reporting is activated), wherein each of the two CSI resource sets includes at least one synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or at least one channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource (as explained earlier in paragraph [0087], two different CRI/SSBRI for each resource setting. Note: That M (the number of groups to be reported) and N (the number of beam indices) may be M>=2 and N>=2, see paragraph [0099]);
performing a measurement on the two CSI resource sets (see Figure 7A, paragraph [0116], the UE measures resources of the reference signals (CSI-RS) transmitted from two TRPs. Therefore, it is evident that the UE performs measurements from two different CSI resource sets (i.e., CSI-RS transmissions from TRP#1 and TRP#2 respectively));
and wherein each of the two resource indicators is an SSB resource indicator (SSBRI) or a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) (see paragraph [0117], TRP#1 transmits CSI-RS using resources of CRI#1-1 to CRI#1-4 corresponding to different beams. Similarly, TRP#2 transmits CSI-RS using resources of CRI#2-1 to CRI#2-4 also corresponding to different beams. Thus, the resource indicators corresponding to the two different sets (i.e., TRP#1 and TRP#2) are CRIs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the group based beam measurement and reporting (as disclosed in Matsumura) as a way of enabling both the UE and base station to determine to which group the field in the CSI report corresponds (please see paragraph [0103] of Matsumura). Therefore, by reporting CSI for each group, the control section can determine whether or not resources in a group can be simultaneously received (please see paragraph [0008] of Matsumura).
Guo and Matsumura do not clearly teach and determining, based on the measurement, the number of groups to report, wherein each of the number of groups to report includes two resource indicators selecting a CSI-RS resource or an SSB resource from each of the two CSI resource sets in the CSI resource setting.
Takano teaches and determining, based on the measurement, the number of groups to report, wherein each of the number of groups to report includes two resource indicators selecting a CSI-RS resource or an SSB resource from each of the two CSI resource sets in the CSI resource setting (see paragraph [0172], discloses subsequently, the base station 100 transmits SSBs as groups for each of the antenna panels. That is, each of the antenna panels are associated with group transmission. The terminal 200 then monitors and measures a plurality of SSBs divided into a plurality of groups. The terminal then reports the appropriate SSB (i.e., best beam) and RSRP for each of the groups. In other words, after measurement, the terminal selects the best SSB for each group based on the measurement and reports accordingly. Note: Prior to measurement, the settings of the grouping SSBs are provided to the terminal by the base station, please see paragraph [0171]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the measurement and reporting of best beams from SSB groups (as disclosed in Takano) as a way of enabling the base station to associate each resource areas that receives a plurality of pieces of control information (PDCCH) with the reported SSB (please see paragraph [0173] of Takano). Therefore, by reporting the appropriate SSBs, the terminal will be able to determine the reception environment when receiving each of the plurality of pieces of control information transmitted from the base station (please see paragraph [0178] of Takano).
The combination of Guo Matsumura and Takano do not clearly teach transmitting, in a single reporting instance, the number of groups of the two resource indicators.
Babaei teaches transmitting, in a single reporting instance, the number of groups of the two resource indicators (see paragraph [0515], when group-based-beam reporting set is “ON”, the UE may report in a single reporting instance up to number-of-beams-reporting L1-RSRP and CSI, where up to number-of-beams-reporting [CSI-RS and or SSB] resources may be received simultaneously by the UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the reporting of the number of beams in a single instance (as disclosed in Babaei) into Guo, Matsumura and Takano as a way of supporting simultaneous reception of resources (please see paragraph [0515] of Babaei).
4. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Matsumura and further in view of Babaei.
As per claim 9:
Guo teaches a base station (BS) (see Figure 3, network device 200), comprising:
a transceiver (see Figure 3, communication unit 210) configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), information for a channel state information (CSI) report configuration (see paragraph [0120], the terminal device 100 may be configured with a reporting setting configuration with a higher layer parameter to control the terminal device 100 to measure and report receiver unit specific beam measurements. The higher layer parameter may be a radio resource control (RRC) parameter. Said report setting configuration may be generated by any one of the first, second and third network devices 200a, 200b and 200c and transmitted to the terminal device 100 by at least one of the first and second network devices 200a, 200b, please see paragraph [0121]. The terminal may be configured with an information element, such as CSI-ReportConfig for providing said reporting setting configuration, please see paragraph [0122]);
transmit, to the UE, information for a channel state information CSI resource setting (see paragraph [0187], the terminal device 100 may be configured with one resource setting with N CSI-RS resources or SS/PBCH blocks for channel measurement. The resource setting may be generated by at least one of the first, second and third network devices 200a, 200b and 200c and transmitted to the terminal device 200).
Guo does not clearly teach wherein the CSI report configuration indicates to turn on a group-based beam reporting and a number of groups of resource indicators to report;
wherein two CSI resource sets in the CSI resource setting are identified based on the information for the CSI report configuration indicating to turn on the group based beam reporting and wherein each of the two CSI resource sets include at least one synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or at least one channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource;
wherein each of the two resource indicators is an SSB resource indicator (SSBRI) or a CSI- RS resource indicator (CRI).
Matsumura teaches wherein the CSI report configuration indicates to turn on a group-based beam reporting and a number of groups of resource indicators to report (see paragraph [0095], a UE in which group-based beam reporting is enabled may report beam indices for a plurality of (for example, M) groups for each resource setting. The CSI report may include a plurality of N beam indices for each of the M groups. M may be set by a higher layer parameter (for example, nrofReportedGroup) related to the number of groups to be reported and in addition, N may be set by a higher layer parameter (for example, nrofReportedRS) related to the number of RSs to be reported);
wherein two CSI resource sets in the CSI resource setting are identified based on the information for the CSI report configuration indicating to turn on the group based beam reporting (paragraph [0087] explicitly states: “…the UE in which group-based beam reporting is enabled can report only two different CRI/SSBRI (which may be replaced with beam indices) for each report setting”. Therefore, it is evident that the UE has the capability of identifying two different CRI/SSBRI per report setting when group-based beam reporting is activated) and wherein each of the two CSI resource sets include at least one synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or at least one channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource (as explained earlier in paragraph [0087], two different CRI/SSBRI for each resource setting. Note: That M (the number of groups to be reported) and N (the number of beam indices) may be M>=2 and N>=2, see paragraph [0099]);
wherein each of the two resource indicators is an SSB resource indicator (SSBRI) or a CSI- RS resource indicator (CRI) (see paragraph [0117], TRP#1 transmits CSI-RS using resources of CRI#1-1 to CRI#1-4 corresponding to different beams. Similarly, TRP#2 transmits CSI-RS using resources of CRI#2-1 to CRI#2-4 also corresponding to different beams. Thus, the resource indicators corresponding to the two different sets (i.e., TRP#1 and TRP#2) are CRIs).
Guo and Matsumura do not clearly teach and receive, from the UE in a single reporting instance, the number of groups, wherein each of the number of groups to report includes two resource indicators selecting a CSI-RS resource or an SSB resource from each of the two CSI resource sets in the CSI resource setting.
Babaei teaches and receive, from the UE in a single reporting instance, the number of groups, wherein each of the number of groups to report includes two resource indicators selecting a CSI-RS resource or an SSB resource from each of the two CSI resource sets in the CSI resource setting (see paragraph [0515], when group-based-beam reporting set is “ON”, the UE may report in a single reporting instance up to number-of-beams-reporting L1-RSRP and CSI, where up to number-of-beams-reporting [CSI-RS and or SSB] resources may be received simultaneously by the UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the reporting of the number of beams in a single instance (as disclosed in Babaei) into Guo and Matsumura as a way of supporting simultaneous reception of resources (please see paragraph [0515] of Babaei).
5. Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Matsumura and further in view of Takano and further in view of Babaei and Yuan (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0232267).
As per claim 2:
Guo in view of Matsumura and further in view of Takano and Babaei teaches the UE of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the CSI-RS resource or the SSB resource from each of the two CSI resource sets indicated by the at least one number of groups of two resource indicators are received simultaneously by the UE.
Yuan teaches wherein the CSI-RS resource or the SSB resource from each of the two CSI resource sets indicated by the at least one number of groups of two resource indicators are received simultaneously by the UE (see paragraph [0053], the UE shall report in a single reporting instance two different CRI or SSBRI for each report setting, where CSI-RS and/or SSB resources can be received simultaneously by the UE. Paragraph [0054] disclose UE is configured with CSI-RS resource setting with up to 16 resource sets, with a total of up to 64 CSI-RS resources).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the reporting of CRI or SSBRI into Guo, Matsumura, Takano and Babaei as a way of enabling the network to implement analog beam transmission by using training signals when a service is transmitted next time (please see paragraph [0039] of Yuan).
Claim 14 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
6. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Matsumura and further in view of Babaei and Yuan.
As per claim 10:
Guo in view of Matsumura and further in view of Babaei teaches the BS of claim 9 with the exception of:
wherein the CSI-RS resource or the SSB resource from each of the two CSI resource sets indicated by the number of groups of two resource indicators are transmitted simultaneously.
Yuan teaches wherein the CSI-RS resource or the SSB resource from each of the two CSI resource sets indicated by the number of groups of two resource indicators are transmitted simultaneously (see paragraph [0053], the UE shall report in a single reporting instance two different CRI or SSBRI for each report setting, where CSI-RS and/or SSB resources can be received simultaneously by the UE. Paragraph [0054] disclose UE is configured with CSI-RS resource setting with up to 16 resource sets, with a total of up to 64 CSI-RS resources).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the reporting of CRI or SSBRI into Guo, Matsumura and Babaei as a way of enabling the network to implement analog beam transmission by using training signals when a service is transmitted next time (please see paragraph [0039] of Yuan).
7. Claims 3, 5, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Matsumura and further in view of Takano, Babaei and Faxer (US PG Pub. No. 2020/0395989).
As per claim 3:
Guo in view of Matsumura and further in view of Takano and Babaei teaches the UE of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive information on a non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resource set including a first group of a first number of one or more resources and a second group of a second number of one or more resources, and the information includes the first number and the second number.
Faxer teaches wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive information on a non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resource set including a first group of a first number of one or more resources and a second group of a second number of one or more resources, and the information includes the first number and the second number (see paragraph [0139], the WD 22 is configured with a first NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement and an associated second NZP CSI-RS resource set for interference measurement. The number of resources in the two resource sets may be the same. The configuration of the first and second resource sets are received by the wireless device from the network, please see Figure 15, step 134 and figure 16, step 138).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the first and second configured non-zero power resource sets (as disclosed in Faxer) into Guo, Matsumura, Takano and Babaei as a way of enabling the wireless device to perform different types of measurements such as channel and interference measurements respectively (please see paragraph [0139] of Faxer).
As per claim 5:
Guo in view of Matsumura and further in view of Takano, Babaei and Faxer teaches the UE of claim 3.
Guo, Matsumura, Kim and Babaei do not teach the transceiver is further configured to:
receive, from a base station, information (i) configuring a number of resource pairs, each resource pair including a first resource from the first group and a second resource from the second resource group, and (ii) including the number,
and transmit, to the base station, a CSI report based on the one or more resource pairs and the CSI report includes at least one of: a rank indicator (RI), a CRI, a layer indicator (LI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), or a channel quality indicator (CQI).
Faxer teaches the transceiver is further configured to:
receive, from a base station, information (i) configuring a number of resource pairs, each resource pair including a first resource from the first group and a second resource from the second resource group, and (ii) including the number (see paragraph [0139], the WD 22 is configured with a first NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement and an associated second NZP CSI-RS resource set for interference measurement. The number of resources in the two resource sets may be the same. The configuration of the first and second resource sets are received by the wireless device from the network, please see Figure 15, step 134 and figure 16, step 138),
and transmit, to the base station, a CSI report based on the one or more resource pairs and the CSI report includes at least one of: a rank indicator (RI), a CRI, a layer indicator (LI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), or a channel quality indicator (CQI) (see paragraph [0037] disclose reporting information such as CQI and PMI).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the first and second configured non-zero power resource sets (as disclosed in Faxer) into Guo, Matsumura, Takano and Babaei as a way of enabling the wireless device to perform different types of measurements such as channel and interference measurements respectively (please see paragraph [0139] of Faxer).
Claim 15 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Claim 17 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
8. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Matsumura and further in view of Babaei and Faxer.
As per claim 11:
Guo in view of Matsumura and further in view of Babaei teaches the BS of claim 9 with the exception of:
wherein the transceiver is further configured to:
transmit to the UE, information on a non zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resource set including a first group of a first number of one or more resources and a second group of a second number of one or more resources, wherein the information includes the first number and the second number,
transmit, to the UE, information (i) configuring a number of resource pairs, each resource pair including a first resource from the first group and a second resource from the second group, and (ii) include the number, and receive from the UE, a CSI report based on the one or more resource pairs.
Faxer teaches transmit, to the UE, information (i) configuring a number of resource pairs, each resource pair including a first resource from the first group and a second resource from the second group, and (ii) include the number (see paragraph [0139], the WD 22 is configured with a first NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement and an associated second NZP CSI-RS resource set for interference measurement. The number of resources in the two resource sets may be the same. The configuration of the first and second resource sets are received by the wireless device from the network, please see Figure 15, step 134 and figure 16, step 138), and receive from the UE, a CSI report based on the one or more resource pairs (see paragraph [0037] disclose reporting information such as CQI and PMI).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the first and second configured non-zero power resource sets (as disclosed in Faxer) into Guo, Matsumura, Kim and Babaei as a way of enabling the wireless device to perform different types of measurements such as channel and interference measurements respectively (please see paragraph [0139] of Faxer).
9. Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Matsumura and further in view of Takano, Babaei and Liu (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0262503), hereinafter referred to as Liu’503.
As per claim 7:
Guo in view of Matsumura and further in view of Takano and Babaei teaches the UE of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein a first resource indicator of the two resource indicators corresponds to a first CSI resource set of the two CSI resource set and a second resource indicator of the two resource indicators corresponds to a second CSI resource set of the two CSI resource sets.
Liu’503 teaches wherein first resource indicator of the two resource indicators corresponds to a first CSI resource set of the two CSI resource set and a second resource indicator of the two resource indicators corresponds to a second CSI resource set of the two CSI resource set (see paragraph [0058], CSI parameters CRI #1, RI #1, PMI #1, LI #1 and CQI #1 (CSI #1) are obtained with respect to the first resource set that is related to TRP #1; and CSI parameters CRI #2, RI #2, PMI #2, LI #2 and CQI #2 (CSI #2) are obtained with respect to the second resource set that is related to TRP #2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the report quantity parameter (as disclosed in Liu’503 into Guo, Matsumura, Takano and Babaei as a way of enabling the UE report CRI, RI, PMI, LI and CQI of the respective resources sets (please paragraph [0057] of Liu’503).
As per claim 19:
Guo in view of Matsumura and further in view of Kim and Babaei teaches the method of claim 13 with the exception of:
wherein a first resource indicator of the two resource indicators corresponds to a first CSI resource set of the two CSI resource sets and a second resource indicator of the two resource indicators corresponds to a second CSI resource set of the two CSI resource sets.
Liu’503 teaches wherein a first resource indicator of the two resource indicators corresponds to a first CSI resource set of the two CSI resource sets and a second resource indicator of the two resource indicators corresponds to a second CSI resource set of the two CSI resource sets (see paragraph [0057], disclose reportQuantity contained in the ‘CSI-ReportConfig’. For example, when reportQuantity in the CSI-ReportCnnfig is set to ‘cri-RI-LI-PMI-CQI’, CRI, RI, LI and CQI for both the first resource set in the first resource setting and the second resource set in the second resource setting. Note: The CSI-ReportConfig IE configured by RRC signaling is a CSI reporting setting to notify the UE the quantities (parameters) to be reported, the resources to be measured and the reporting manner).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the report quantity parameter (as disclosed in Liu’503 into Guo, Matsumura, Takano and Babaei as a way of enabling the UE report CRI, RI, PMI, LI and CQI of the respective resources sets (please paragraph [0057] of Liu’503).
10. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Matsumura and further in view of Babaei and Liu’503.
As per claim 12:
Guo in view of Matsumura and further in view of Babaei teaches the BS of claim 9 with the exception of:
wherein a first resource indicator of the two resource indicators corresponds to a first CSI resource set of the two CSI resource sets and a second resource indicator of the two resource indicators corresponds to a second CSI resource set of the two CSI resource sets.
Liu’503 teaches wherein a first resource indicator of the two resource indicators corresponds to a first CSI resource set of the two CSI resource sets and a second resource indicator of the two resource indicators corresponds to a second CSI resource set of the two CSI resource sets (see paragraph [0058], CSI parameters CRI #1, RI #1, PMI #1, LI #1 and CQI #1 (CSI #1) are obtained with respect to the first resource set that is related to TRP #1; and CSI parameters CRI #2, RI #2, PMI #2, LI #2 and CQI #2 (CSI #2) are obtained with respect to the second resource set that is related to TRP #2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the report quantity parameter (as disclosed in Liu’503 into Guo, Matsumura and Babaei as a way of enabling the UE report CRI, RI, PMI, LI and CQI of the respective resources sets (please paragraph [0057] of Liu’503).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH
Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/PRINCE A MENSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474