Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 11-12, 20-21, and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shim et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2025/0344086), herein referred to as “Shim”, in view of Park and Kim (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2023/0319605), and further in view of Zarifi and Abdoli (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2020/0358576), herein referred to as “Zarifi”. The Shim reference claims priority to, and has support in, Korean application 10-2021-0069549.
Regarding Claim 1,
Shim discloses: An apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to: transmit, for a first plurality of user equipments (UEs) associated with a same cell of the base station, cell-level signaling common to the first plurality of UEs that configure the first plurality of UEs with a cell-level configuration of a first set of common resources for sounding reference signals (SRS) for cross-link interference (CLI) measurement, wherein the first set of common resources is common to the first plurality of UEs
[0435] FIG. 22B is a diagram for describing a scenario for measuring and reporting CLI that can occur between UEs in a same cell. In more detail, a UE #1 22b-03, a UE #2 22b-02, and a UE #3 22b-01 which are connected to a gNB 22b-05 are considered. The afore-described UEs are all connected to the gNB 22b-05. Here, the gNB 22b-05 may configure, by a higher layer signal or a physical signal, the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 to transmit UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10 (e.g., SRS), and the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 may receive configuration or indication from the gNB 22b-05 and thus may transmit the UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10. The gNB 22b-05 may indicate the UE #3 22b-01 to measure the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 and then to report a measurement result of the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 to the gNB 22b-05. The UE #3 22b-01 may previously receive, from the gNB 22b-05 by a higher layer signal, a plurality of pieces of information such as information including at least a transport resource and a transmit time necessary for reporting of the measurement result.
Note: The “cell-level” configuration is all of the UEs communicating with the same base station, as demonstrated in Figure 22B. Here, the common resources are being interpreted as “pieces pf information including at least a transport resource”, which is by a higher layer signal, same as 22-b10 (SRS).
receive, from a second UE in the first plurality of UEs, a report of a CLI associated with a first UE in the first plurality of UEs and measured by the second UE, via
a first resource in the first set of common resources
[0435] FIG. 22B is a diagram for describing a scenario for measuring and reporting CLI that can occur between UEs in a same cell. In more detail, a UE #1 22b-03, a UE #2 22b-02, and a UE #3 22b-01 which are connected to a gNB 22b-05 are considered. The afore-described UEs are all connected to the gNB 22b-05. Here, the gNB 22b-05 may configure, by a higher layer signal or a physical signal, the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 to transmit UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10 (e.g., SRS), and the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 may receive configuration or indication from the gNB 22b-05 and thus may transmit the UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10. The gNB 22b-05 may indicate the UE #3 22b-01 to measure the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 and then to report a measurement result of the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 to the gNB 22b-05. The UE #3 22b-01 may previously receive, from the gNB 22b-05 by a higher layer signal, a plurality of pieces of information such as information including at least a transport resource and a transmit time necessary for reporting of the measurement result.
Note: Here, UE#3 (the “second UE”) is tasked with measuring the UL signals 22b-10 and 22b-15 which are interconnected with the other UEs which contain CLI.
Shim does not disclose wherein the first resource in the first set of common resources is indicated by the cell-level configuration of the first set of common resources to be a non-zero power (NZP) CLI SRS resource for transmission of the SRS by the first UE and the first resource is indicated by the cell-level configuration of the first set of common resources to be a zero power (ZP) CLI SRS resource for measurement of the SRS by the second UE.
However, Park discloses wherein the first resource in the first set of common resources is indicated by the cell-level configuration of the first set of common resources to be a non-zero power (NZP) CLI SRS resource for transmission of the SRS by the first UE and the first resource is indicated by the cell-level configuration of the first set of common resources to be a zero power (ZP) CLI SRS resource for measurement of the SRS by the second UE.
[0276] Further, the base station may transmit interference measurement resource (IMR)-related information to the victim UE (S1210). As an example, the IMR may include a ZP CSI-RS and/or an NZP CSI-RS.
[0277] The aggressor UE(s) may transmit the CLI-RS based on configuration information related to CLI-RS transmission (S1215). In this case, the CLI-RS may be transmitted by targeting the IMR resource configured to the victim UE or may be transmitted at the slot timing when the IMR is configured. For example, the aggressor UE(s) may transmit the CLI-RS (e.g., SRS) in the DL IMR RE pattern (e.g., pattern 2 or pattern 3 of proposal 1) for interference measurement of the victim UE. The CLI-RS transmitted by the aggressor UE may cause CLI to the victim UE.
[0278] The victim UE may measure the CLI based on information/using IMR (e.g., ZP/NZP CSI-RS)-related information received from the base station (S1220). In other words, the victim UE may perform interference measurement based on the IMR (e.g., ZP/NZP CSI-RS). The victim UE may measure the CLI using the CLI-RS transmitted by the aggressor UE. Further, the victim UE may calculate the CSI using the CLI.
Shim and Park are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the concept of using NZP to measure and ZP being used to transmit as taught by Park so as to aid in communication within the wireless network.
Shim further discloses: wherein an active bandwidth part (BWP) for communication is different than a BWP associated with the first set of common resources for the SRS for the cross-link interference measurement.
[0551] Referring to FIG. 26A, a UE that measures CLI performs the measurement on a DL BWP 26a-03, and a UE that transmits a UL signal (e.g., SRS) may perform transmission on a UL BWP 26a-02. As illustrated in FIG. 26A, when the DL BWP 26a-03 and the UL BWP 26a-02 do not match with each other, the UE may change (26a-05) a configured DL BWP and thus may measure an interference signal of a neighboring UE.
Note: The BWP is active, and due to mismatch, the UL BWP that contains SRS is different than the DL BWP.
Shim does not explicitly disclose: wherein the configuration of the first set of common resources further comprises a first indication of a minimum time gap between the communication in the active BWP and a SRS transmission or a SRS measurement in the BWP associated with the first set of common resources.
However, Zarifi discloses: wherein the configuration of the first set of common resources further comprises a first indication of a minimum time gap between the communication in the active BWP and a SRS transmission or a SRS measurement in the BWP associated with the first set of common resources.
[0152] Depending on UE capability, for example if both SRS and other scheduled or configured UL transmissions cannot be transmitted on different BWPs at the same time, a gap may need to be configured to allow transmission of the SRS on the first BWP while interrupting other scheduled or configured UL transmissions in the second BWP. Alternatively, some SRS transmission occasions may be interrupted on the first BWP to allow other UL transmissions on the second BWP at a given time.
[0153] When the priority of SRS transmission is higher than the priority of other scheduled or configured UL transmissions, which may include PUSCH and PUCCH, a gap may be used to interrupt the transmission of other scheduled or configured UL transmissions to transmit the SRS. When the gap is used, it may be defined by a repetition period and a gap length. The gap repetition period is equal to the periodicity of the configured SRS. The gap length is equal to the length of the SRS resources plus X symbols before and after the SRS resource transmission occasion, where X is an integer number. The gap may also be defined by a reference point in time. This reference point may be, for example, the center of the gap. In some embodiments, the center of the gap occasion in time can coincide with the center of the SRS resource transmission occasion.
Shim and Zarifi are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the concept of a time gap between a BWP and an SRS transmission as taught by Zarifi so as to aid in communication within the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 9,
Shim discloses: The apparatus of claim 1, the at least one processor coupled to the memory further configured to: transmit a second cell-level configuration of a second set of common resources for the SRS for the cross-link interference measurement, the second set of common resources being common to a second plurality of UEs
[0435] FIG. 22B is a diagram for describing a scenario for measuring and reporting CLI that can occur between UEs in a same cell. In more detail, a UE #1 22b-03, a UE #2 22b-02, and a UE #3 22b-01 which are connected to a gNB 22b-05 are considered. The afore-described UEs are all connected to the gNB 22b-05. Here, the gNB 22b-05 may configure, by a higher layer signal or a physical signal, the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 to transmit UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10 (e.g., SRS), and the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 may receive configuration or indication from the gNB 22b-05 and thus may transmit the UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10. The gNB 22b-05 may indicate the UE #3 22b-01 to measure the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 and then to report a measurement result of the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 to the gNB 22b-05. The UE #3 22b-01 may previously receive, from the gNB 22b-05 by a higher layer signal, a plurality of pieces of information such as information including at least a transport resource and a transmit time necessary for reporting of the measurement result.
receive from at least one UE in the second plurality of UEs an additional report of
an additional cross-link interference measured via the second set of common resources.
[0435] FIG. 22B is a diagram for describing a scenario for measuring and reporting CLI that can occur between UEs in a same cell. In more detail, a UE #1 22b-03, a UE #2 22b-02, and a UE #3 22b-01 which are connected to a gNB 22b-05 are considered. The afore-described UEs are all connected to the gNB 22b-05. Here, the gNB 22b-05 may configure, by a higher layer signal or a physical signal, the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 to transmit UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10 (e.g., SRS), and the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 may receive configuration or indication from the gNB 22b-05 and thus may transmit the UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10. The gNB 22b-05 may indicate the UE #3 22b-01 to measure the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 and then to report a measurement result of the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 to the gNB 22b-05. The UE #3 22b-01 may previously receive, from the gNB 22b-05 by a higher layer signal, a plurality of pieces of information such as information including at least a transport resource and a transmit time necessary for reporting of the measurement result.
Regarding Claim 11,
The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor.
A processor is inherent within a wireless communication network.
Regarding Claim 12,
Shim discloses: An apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising: memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to: receive, from a base station, cell-level signaling common to a first plurality of UEs in a same cell of the base station that includes the first UE, wherein the cell-level signaling configures the first plurality of UEs with a cell-level configuration indicating a set of common resources for sounding reference signals (SRSs) for cross-link interference (CLI) measurement between UEs in the first plurality of UEs
[0435] FIG. 22B is a diagram for describing a scenario for measuring and reporting CLI that can occur between UEs in a same cell. In more detail, a UE #1 22b-03, a UE #2 22b-02, and a UE #3 22b-01 which are connected to a gNB 22b-05 are considered. The afore-described UEs are all connected to the gNB 22b-05. Here, the gNB 22b-05 may configure, by a higher layer signal or a physical signal, the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 to transmit UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10 (e.g., SRS), and the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 may receive configuration or indication from the gNB 22b-05 and thus may transmit the UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10. The gNB 22b-05 may indicate the UE #3 22b-01 to measure the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 and then to report a measurement result of the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 to the gNB 22b-05. The UE #3 22b-01 may previously receive, from the gNB 22b-05 by a higher layer signal, a plurality of pieces of information such as information including at least a transport resource and a transmit time necessary for reporting of the measurement result.
Note: The “cell-level” configuration is all of the UEs communicating with the same base station, as demonstrated in Figure 22B. Here, the common resources are being interpreted as “pieces pf information including at least a transport resource”, which is by a higher layer signal, same as 22-b10 (SRS).
transmit a first SRS in the first resource to enable the CLI cross measurement at a second UE, wherein the first UE and the second UE are included in the first plurality of UEs
[0435] FIG. 22B is a diagram for describing a scenario for measuring and reporting CLI that can occur between UEs in a same cell. In more detail, a UE #1 22b-03, a UE #2 22b-02, and a UE #3 22b-01 which are connected to a gNB 22b-05 are considered. The afore-described UEs are all connected to the gNB 22b-05. Here, the gNB 22b-05 may configure, by a higher layer signal or a physical signal, the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 to transmit UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10 (e.g., SRS), and the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 may receive configuration or indication from the gNB 22b-05 and thus may transmit the UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10. The gNB 22b-05 may indicate the UE #3 22b-01 to measure the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 and then to report a measurement result of the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 to the gNB 22b-05. The UE #3 22b-01 may previously receive, from the gNB 22b-05 by a higher layer signal, a plurality of pieces of information such as information including at least a transport resource and a transmit time necessary for reporting of the measurement result.
Shim does not disclose identify, based on the cell-level configuration of the set of common resources, a first resource in the set of common resources as a non-zero power (NZP) CLI SRS resource for transmission of the SRS by the first UE and wherein the first resource in the set of common resources is indicated by the cell-level configuration of the set of common resources to be a zero power (ZP) CLI SRS resource for measurement of the SRS by the second UE.
However, Park disclose identify, based on the cell-level configuration of the set of common resources, a first resource in the set of common resources as a non-zero power (NZP) CLI SRS resource for transmission of the SRS by the first UE and wherein the first resource in the set of common resources is indicated by the cell-level configuration of the set of common resources to be a zero power (ZP) CLI SRS resource for measurement of the SRS by the second UE.
[0276] Further, the base station may transmit interference measurement resource (IMR)-related information to the victim UE (S1210). As an example, the IMR may include a ZP CSI-RS and/or an NZP CSI-RS.
[0277] The aggressor UE(s) may transmit the CLI-RS based on configuration information related to CLI-RS transmission (S1215). In this case, the CLI-RS may be transmitted by targeting the IMR resource configured to the victim UE or may be transmitted at the slot timing when the IMR is configured. For example, the aggressor UE(s) may transmit the CLI-RS (e.g., SRS) in the DL IMR RE pattern (e.g., pattern 2 or pattern 3 of proposal 1) for interference measurement of the victim UE. The CLI-RS transmitted by the aggressor UE may cause CLI to the victim UE.
[0278] The victim UE may measure the CLI based on information/using IMR (e.g., ZP/NZP CSI-RS)-related information received from the base station (S1220). In other words, the victim UE may perform interference measurement based on the IMR (e.g., ZP/NZP CSI-RS). The victim UE may measure the CLI using the CLI-RS transmitted by the aggressor UE. Further, the victim UE may calculate the CSI using the CLI.
Shim and Park are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the concept of using NZP to measure and ZP being used to transmit as taught by Park so as to aid in communication within the wireless network.
Shim further discloses: wherein an active bandwidth part (BWP) for communication is different than a BWP associated with the first set of common resources for the SRS for the cross-link interference measurement.
[0551] Referring to FIG. 26A, a UE that measures CLI performs the measurement on a DL BWP 26a-03, and a UE that transmits a UL signal (e.g., SRS) may perform transmission on a UL BWP 26a-02. As illustrated in FIG. 26A, when the DL BWP 26a-03 and the UL BWP 26a-02 do not match with each other, the UE may change (26a-05) a configured DL BWP and thus may measure an interference signal of a neighboring UE.
Note: The BWP is active, and due to mismatch, the UL BWP that contains SRS is different than the DL BWP.
Shim does not explicitly disclose: wherein the configuration of the first set of common resources further comprises a first indication of a minimum time gap between the communication in the active BWP and a SRS transmission or a SRS measurement in the BWP associated with the first set of common resources.
However, Zarifi discloses: wherein the configuration of the first set of common resources further comprises a first indication of a minimum time gap between the communication in the active BWP and a SRS transmission or a SRS measurement in the BWP associated with the first set of common resources.
[0152] Depending on UE capability, for example if both SRS and other scheduled or configured UL transmissions cannot be transmitted on different BWPs at the same time, a gap may need to be configured to allow transmission of the SRS on the first BWP while interrupting other scheduled or configured UL transmissions in the second BWP. Alternatively, some SRS transmission occasions may be interrupted on the first BWP to allow other UL transmissions on the second BWP at a given time.
[0153] When the priority of SRS transmission is higher than the priority of other scheduled or configured UL transmissions, which may include PUSCH and PUCCH, a gap may be used to interrupt the transmission of other scheduled or configured UL transmissions to transmit the SRS. When the gap is used, it may be defined by a repetition period and a gap length. The gap repetition period is equal to the periodicity of the configured SRS. The gap length is equal to the length of the SRS resources plus X symbols before and after the SRS resource transmission occasion, where X is an integer number. The gap may also be defined by a reference point in time. This reference point may be, for example, the center of the gap. In some embodiments, the center of the gap occasion in time can coincide with the center of the SRS resource transmission occasion.
Shim and Zarifi are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the concept of a time gap between a BWP and an SRS transmission as taught by Zarifi so as to aid in communication within the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 11.
Regarding Claim 21,
Shim discloses: An apparatus for wireless communication at a second user equipment (UE), comprising: memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to: receive, from a base station, cell-level signaling common to a first plurality of UEs in a same cell of the base station that includes the first UE, wherein the cell-level signaling configures the first plurality of UEs with a cell-level configuration indicating a set of common resources for sounding reference signals (SRSs) for cross-link interference (CLI) measurement between UEs in the first plurality of UEs
[0435] FIG. 22B is a diagram for describing a scenario for measuring and reporting CLI that can occur between UEs in a same cell. In more detail, a UE #1 22b-03, a UE #2 22b-02, and a UE #3 22b-01 which are connected to a gNB 22b-05 are considered. The afore-described UEs are all connected to the gNB 22b-05. Here, the gNB 22b-05 may configure, by a higher layer signal or a physical signal, the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 to transmit UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10 (e.g., SRS), and the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 may receive configuration or indication from the gNB 22b-05 and thus may transmit the UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10. The gNB 22b-05 may indicate the UE #3 22b-01 to measure the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 and then to report a measurement result of the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 to the gNB 22b-05. The UE #3 22b-01 may previously receive, from the gNB 22b-05 by a higher layer signal, a plurality of pieces of information such as information including at least a transport resource and a transmit time necessary for reporting of the measurement result.
Note: The “cell-level” configuration is all of the UEs communicating with the same base station, as demonstrated in Figure 22B. Here, the common resources are being interpreted as “pieces pf information including at least a transport resource”, which is by a higher layer signal, same as 22-b10 (SRS).
measure a CLI from a SRS transmission received from a first UE via the first resource, wherein the first UE and the second UE are included in the first plurality of UEs
[0435] FIG. 22B is a diagram for describing a scenario for measuring and reporting CLI that can occur between UEs in a same cell. In more detail, a UE #1 22b-03, a UE #2 22b-02, and a UE #3 22b-01 which are connected to a gNB 22b-05 are considered. The afore-described UEs are all connected to the gNB 22b-05. Here, the gNB 22b-05 may configure, by a higher layer signal or a physical signal, the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 to transmit UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10 (e.g., SRS), and the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 may receive configuration or indication from the gNB 22b-05 and thus may transmit the UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10. The gNB 22b-05 may indicate the UE #3 22b-01 to measure the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 and then to report a measurement result of the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 to the gNB 22b-05. The UE #3 22b-01 may previously receive, from the gNB 22b-05 by a higher layer signal, a plurality of pieces of information such as information including at least a transport resource and a transmit time necessary for reporting of the measurement result.
Shim does not disclose identify, based on the cell-level configuration of the set of common resources, a first resource in the set of common resources as a non-zero power (NZP) CLI SRS resource for transmission of the SRS by the first UE and wherein the first resource in the set of common resources is indicated by the cell-level configuration of the set of common resources to be a zero power (ZP) CLI SRS resource for measurement of the SRS by the second UE.
However, Park disclose identify, based on the cell-level configuration of the set of common resources, a first resource in the set of common resources as a non-zero power (NZP) CLI SRS resource for transmission of the SRS by the first UE and wherein the first resource in the set of common resources is indicated by the cell-level configuration of the set of common resources to be a zero power (ZP) CLI SRS resource for measurement of the SRS by the second UE.
[0276] Further, the base station may transmit interference measurement resource (IMR)-related information to the victim UE (S1210). As an example, the IMR may include a ZP CSI-RS and/or an NZP CSI-RS.
[0277] The aggressor UE(s) may transmit the CLI-RS based on configuration information related to CLI-RS transmission (S1215). In this case, the CLI-RS may be transmitted by targeting the IMR resource configured to the victim UE or may be transmitted at the slot timing when the IMR is configured. For example, the aggressor UE(s) may transmit the CLI-RS (e.g., SRS) in the DL IMR RE pattern (e.g., pattern 2 or pattern 3 of proposal 1) for interference measurement of the victim UE. The CLI-RS transmitted by the aggressor UE may cause CLI to the victim UE.
[0278] The victim UE may measure the CLI based on information/using IMR (e.g., ZP/NZP CSI-RS)-related information received from the base station (S1220). In other words, the victim UE may perform interference measurement based on the IMR (e.g., ZP/NZP CSI-RS). The victim UE may measure the CLI using the CLI-RS transmitted by the aggressor UE. Further, the victim UE may calculate the CSI using the CLI.
Shim and Park are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the concept of using NZP to measure and ZP being used to transmit as taught by Park so as to aid in communication within the wireless network.
Shim discloses: and transmit, to the base station, a report of the measured CLI
[0435] FIG. 22B is a diagram for describing a scenario for measuring and reporting CLI that can occur between UEs in a same cell. The gNB 22b-05 may indicate the UE #3 22b-01 to measure the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 and then to report a measurement result of the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 to the gNB 22b-05.
Shim further discloses: wherein an active bandwidth part (BWP) for communication is different than a BWP associated with the first set of common resources for the SRS for the cross-link interference measurement.
[0551] Referring to FIG. 26A, a UE that measures CLI performs the measurement on a DL BWP 26a-03, and a UE that transmits a UL signal (e.g., SRS) may perform transmission on a UL BWP 26a-02. As illustrated in FIG. 26A, when the DL BWP 26a-03 and the UL BWP 26a-02 do not match with each other, the UE may change (26a-05) a configured DL BWP and thus may measure an interference signal of a neighboring UE.
Note: The BWP is active, and due to mismatch, the UL BWP that contains SRS is different than the DL BWP.
Shim does not explicitly disclose: wherein the configuration of the first set of common resources further comprises a first indication of a minimum time gap between the communication in the active BWP and a SRS transmission or a SRS measurement in the BWP associated with the first set of common resources.
However, Zarifi discloses: wherein the configuration of the first set of common resources further comprises a first indication of a minimum time gap between the communication in the active BWP and a SRS transmission or a SRS measurement in the BWP associated with the first set of common resources.
[0152] Depending on UE capability, for example if both SRS and other scheduled or configured UL transmissions cannot be transmitted on different BWPs at the same time, a gap may need to be configured to allow transmission of the SRS on the first BWP while interrupting other scheduled or configured UL transmissions in the second BWP. Alternatively, some SRS transmission occasions may be interrupted on the first BWP to allow other UL transmissions on the second BWP at a given time.
[0153] When the priority of SRS transmission is higher than the priority of other scheduled or configured UL transmissions, which may include PUSCH and PUCCH, a gap may be used to interrupt the transmission of other scheduled or configured UL transmissions to transmit the SRS. When the gap is used, it may be defined by a repetition period and a gap length. The gap repetition period is equal to the periodicity of the configured SRS. The gap length is equal to the length of the SRS resources plus X symbols before and after the SRS resource transmission occasion, where X is an integer number. The gap may also be defined by a reference point in time. This reference point may be, for example, the center of the gap. In some embodiments, the center of the gap occasion in time can coincide with the center of the SRS resource transmission occasion.
Shim and Zarifi are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the concept of a time gap between a BWP and an SRS transmission as taught by Zarifi so as to aid in communication within the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 28,
Claim 28 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 9, but from the perspective of the UE.
Regarding Claim 29,
Claim 29 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 11.
Regarding Claim 30,
Claim 30 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Shim discloses: A method for wireless communication at a base station comprising: transmitting, for a plurality of user equipments (UEs) associated with a same cell of the base station, cell-level signaling common to the plurality of UEs that configures the first plurality of UEs with a cell-level configuration of a first set of common resources for sounding reference signals (SRS) for cross-link interference (CLI) measurement, wherein the first set of common resources is common to the plurality of UEs
[0435] FIG. 22B is a diagram for describing a scenario for measuring and reporting CLI that can occur between UEs in a same cell. In more detail, a UE #1 22b-03, a UE #2 22b-02, and a UE #3 22b-01 which are connected to a gNB 22b-05 are considered. The afore-described UEs are all connected to the gNB 22b-05. Here, the gNB 22b-05 may configure, by a higher layer signal or a physical signal, the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 to transmit UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10 (e.g., SRS), and the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 may receive configuration or indication from the gNB 22b-05 and thus may transmit the UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10. The gNB 22b-05 may indicate the UE #3 22b-01 to measure the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 and then to report a measurement result of the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 to the gNB 22b-05. The UE #3 22b-01 may previously receive, from the gNB 22b-05 by a higher layer signal, a plurality of pieces of information such as information including at least a transport resource and a transmit time necessary for reporting of the measurement result.
Note: The “cell-level” configuration is all of the UEs communicating with the same base station, as demonstrated in Figure 22B. Here, the common resources are being interpreted as “pieces pf information including at least a transport resource”, which is by a higher layer signal, same as 22-b10 (SRS).
receiving, from a second UE in the first plurality of UEs, a report of a CLI associated with a first UE in the first plurality of UEs and measured by the second UE, via
a first resource in the first set of common resources
[0435] FIG. 22B is a diagram for describing a scenario for measuring and reporting CLI that can occur between UEs in a same cell. In more detail, a UE #1 22b-03, a UE #2 22b-02, and a UE #3 22b-01 which are connected to a gNB 22b-05 are considered. The afore-described UEs are all connected to the gNB 22b-05. Here, the gNB 22b-05 may configure, by a higher layer signal or a physical signal, the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 to transmit UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10 (e.g., SRS), and the UE #1 22b-03 and the UE #2 22b-02 may receive configuration or indication from the gNB 22b-05 and thus may transmit the UL signals 22b-15 and 22b-10. The gNB 22b-05 may indicate the UE #3 22b-01 to measure the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 and then to report a measurement result of the UL signal 22b-15 and/or 22b-10 to the gNB 22b-05. The UE #3 22b-01 may previously receive, from the gNB 22b-05 by a higher layer signal, a plurality of pieces of information such as information including at least a transport resource and a transmit time necessary for reporting of the measurement result.
Note: Here, UE#3 (the “second UE”) is tasked with measuring the UL signals 22b-10 and 22b-15 which are interconnected with the other UEs which contain CLI.
Shim does not disclose wherein the first resource in the first set of common resources is indicated by the cell-level configuration of the first set of common resources to be a non-zero power (NZP) CLI SRS resource for transmission of the SRS by the first UE and the first resource is indicated by the cell-level configuration of the first set of common resources to be a zero power (ZP) CLI SRS resource for measurement of the SRS by the second UE.
However, Park discloses wherein the first resource in the first set of common resources is indicated by the cell-level configuration of the first set of common resources to be a non-zero power (NZP) CLI SRS resource for transmission of the SRS by the first UE and the first resource is indicated by the cell-level configuration of the first set of common resources to be a zero power (ZP) CLI SRS resource for measurement of the SRS by the second UE.
[0276] Further, the base station may transmit interference measurement resource (IMR)-related information to the victim UE (S1210). As an example, the IMR may include a ZP CSI-RS and/or an NZP CSI-RS.
[0277] The aggressor UE(s) may transmit the CLI-RS based on configuration information related to CLI-RS transmission (S1215). In this case, the CLI-RS may be transmitted by targeting the IMR resource configured to the victim UE or may be transmitted at the slot timing when the IMR is configured. For example, the aggressor UE(s) may transmit the CLI-RS (e.g., SRS) in the DL IMR RE pattern (e.g., pattern 2 or pattern 3 of proposal 1) for interference measurement of the victim UE. The CLI-RS transmitted by the aggressor UE may cause CLI to the victim UE.
[0278] The victim UE may measure the CLI based on information/using IMR (e.g., ZP/NZP CSI-RS)-related information received from the base station (S1220). In other words, the victim UE may perform interference measurement based on the IMR (e.g., ZP/NZP CSI-RS). The victim UE may measure the CLI using the CLI-RS transmitted by the aggressor UE. Further, the victim UE may calculate the CSI using the CLI.
Shim and Park are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the concept of using NZP to measure and ZP being used to transmit as taught by Park so as to aid in communication within the wireless network.
Shim further discloses: wherein an active bandwidth part (BWP) for communication is different than a BWP associated with the first set of common resources for the SRS for the cross-link interference measurement.
[0551] Referring to FIG. 26A, a UE that measures CLI performs the measurement on a DL BWP 26a-03, and a UE that transmits a UL signal (e.g., SRS) may perform transmission on a UL BWP 26a-02. As illustrated in FIG. 26A, when the DL BWP 26a-03 and the UL BWP 26a-02 do not match with each other, the UE may change (26a-05) a configured DL BWP and thus may measure an interference signal of a neighboring UE.
Note: The BWP is active, and due to mismatch, the UL BWP that contains SRS is different than the DL BWP.
Shim does not explicitly disclose: wherein the configuration of the first set of common resources further comprises a first indication of a minimum time gap between the communication in the active BWP and a SRS transmission or a SRS measurement in the BWP associated with the first set of common resources.
However, Zarifi discloses: wherein the configuration of the first set of common resources further comprises a first indication of a minimum time gap between the communication in the active BWP and a SRS transmission or a SRS measurement in the BWP associated with the first set of common resources.
[0152] Depending on UE capability, for example if both SRS and other scheduled or configured UL transmissions cannot be transmitted on different BWPs at the same time, a gap may need to be configured to allow transmission of the SRS on the first BWP while interrupting other scheduled or configured UL transmissions in the second BWP. Alternatively, some SRS transmission occasions may be interrupted on the first BWP to allow other UL transmissions on the second BWP at a given time.
[0153] When the priority of SRS transmission is higher than the priority of other scheduled or configured UL transmissions, which may include PUSCH and PUCCH, a gap may be used to interrupt the transmission of other scheduled or configured UL transmissions to transmit the SRS. When the gap is used, it may be defined by a repetition period and a gap length. The gap repetition period is equal to the periodicity of the configured SRS. The gap length is equal to the length of the SRS resources plus X symbols before and after the SRS resource transmission occasion, where X is an integer number. The gap may also be defined by a reference point in time. This reference point may be, for example, the center of the gap. In some embodiments, the center of the gap occasion in time can coincide with the center of the SRS resource transmission occasion.
Shim and Zarifi are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the concept of a time gap between a BWP and an SRS transmission as taught by Zarifi so as to aid in communication within the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 31,
Shim does not disclose the following limitations of claim 31: The method of claim 30, wherein the first resource in the set of common resources is indicated to be the NZP CLI SRS resource for the transmission of the SRS by the first UE and is indicated to be the ZP CLI SRS resource for the measurement of the SRS by the second UE by: transmitting, to the first UE, a first indication that the first resource is the NZP CLI SRS resource for the first UE; and transmitting, to the second UE, a second indication that the first resource is the ZP CLI SRS resource for the second UE.
However, Park discloses: The method of claim 30, wherein the first resource in the set of common resources is indicated to be the NZP CLI SRS resource for the transmission of the SRS by the first UE and is indicated to be the ZP CLI SRS resource for the measurement of the SRS by the second UE by: transmitting, to the first UE, a second indication that the first resource is the NZP CLI SRS resource for the first UE; and transmitting, to the second UE, a third indication that the first resource is the ZP CLI SRS resource for the second UE.
[0276] Further, the base station may transmit interference measurement resource (IMR)-related information to the victim UE (S1210). As an example, the IMR may include a ZP CSI-RS and/or an NZP CSI-RS.
[0277] The aggressor UE(s) may transmit the CLI-RS based on configuration information related to CLI-RS transmission (S1215). In this case, the CLI-RS may be transmitted by targeting the IMR resource configured to the victim UE or may be transmitted at the slot timing when the IMR is configured. For example, the aggressor UE(s) may transmit the CLI-RS (e.g., SRS) in the DL IMR RE pattern (e.g., pattern 2 or pattern 3 of proposal 1) for interference measurement of the victim UE. The CLI-RS transmitted by the aggressor UE may cause CLI to the victim UE.
[0278] The victim UE may measure the CLI based on information/using IMR (e.g., ZP/NZP CSI-RS)-related information received from the base station (S1220). In other words, the victim UE may perform interference measurement based on the IMR (e.g., ZP/NZP CSI-RS). The victim UE may measure the CLI using the CLI-RS transmitted by the aggressor UE. Further, the victim UE may calculate the CSI using the CLI.
Shim and Park are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the concept of NZP and ZP indicators as taught by Park so as to aid in communication within the wireless network.
Claims 2, 13, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shim in view of Park and Zarifi, held further in view of Futaki and Kayashi (US. Pat. Pub. 2022/0287102), herein referred to as “Futaki”.
Regarding Claim 2,
Shim in view of Park and Zarifi does not explicitly disclose the following limitations of claim 2: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the cell-level configuration is a cell level radio resource control (RRC) configuration that indicates a sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of the first set of common resources for the first plurality of UEs and a reference frequency associated with the first set of common resources, wherein the SCS of the first set of common resources are not dependent on the active BWP.
However, Futaki discloses: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the cell-level configuration is a cell level radio resource control (RRC) configuration that indicates a sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of the first set of common resources for the first plurality of UEs and a reference frequency associated with the first set of common resources, wherein the SCS of the first set of common resources are not dependent on the active BWP.
[0156] In addition to or instead of the second initial BWP configuration in the above embodiments, the RAN node (e.g., the gNB 1) may configure, to the second type of UE, a second channel bandwidth different from a first channel bandwidth set for the first type of UE. The second channel bandwidth may be narrower than or equal to the first channel bandwidth. The notification of the second channel bandwidth may be based on reference information different from that used for the notification of the first channel bandwidth. The reference information may indicate mapping among frequency band, subcarrier spacing (SCS), the channel bandwidth. More specifically, the channel bandwidth may be represented by a list of DL (or UL) channel bandwidths for respective subcarrier spacings (SCS) (e.g., downlinkChannelBW-PerSCS-List (or uplinkChannelBW-PerSCS-List)). This list may be a list of DL (or UL) channel bandwidth information (SCS-SpecificCarrier) for respective subcarrier spacings (SCS). The channel bandwidth information may include subcarrier spacing (SCS), carrier bandwidth, and carrier offset (offsetToCarrier). The carrier bandwidth may be information in a predetermined physical resource unit (e.g., Physical Resource Block (PRB)). The carrier offset may be an offset value from a predetermined frequency reference point (e.g., Point A). The second channel bandwidth may be configured (i.e., transmitted) to the second type of UE, for example, via an RRC Setup message in an RRC (connection) setup procedure, or via an RRC Reconfiguration message subsequent to this procedure. More specifically, the second channel bandwidth may be contained in a ServingCellConfig information element (IE) as new information (e.g., field, parameter).
Note: Figure 1 has a plurality of UEs within the same cell. “Instead of the second initial BWP” in indicative of the fact that the resources are not necessarily dependent on the active BWP.
Shim in view of Park, Zarifi, and Futaki are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim in view of Park and Zarifi to include the concept of sub-carrier spacing and a reference frequency as taught by Futaki so as to aid in communication within the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2, but from the perspective of the UE.
Regarding Claim 22,
Claim 22 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2, but from the perspective of the UE.
Claims 3, 8, 10, 14, 19, 23, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shim in view of Park, Zarifi, and Futaki, held further in view of Liou (US. Pat. Pub. 2022/0046635).
Regarding Claim 3,
Shim in view of Park, Zarifi, and Futaki does not explicitly disclose the following limitations of claim 3: The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the cell-level configuration includes one of: a set of fields in an information element associated with the SRS for the CLI measurement, the set of fields comprising a reference SCS field and a reference frequency field, a second indication of the SCS of the first set of common resources and of a frequency shift associated with the reference frequency, or a third indication of a reference BWP for derivation of the SCS and the reference frequency.
However, Liou discloses: The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the cell-level configuration includes one of: a set of fields in an information element associated with the SRS for the CLI measurement, the set of fields comprising a reference SCS field and a reference frequency field, a second indication of the SCS of the first set of common resources and of a frequency shift associated with the reference frequency, or a third indication of a reference BWP for derivation of the SCS and the reference frequency.
[0316] FIGS. 12A-12G are diagrams illustrating a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) Configuration (SRS-Config) IE 1200A-1200G, according to an example implementation of the present application. In some implementations, SRS-Config IE 1200A-1200G may be employed to configure SRS transmissions or to configure SRS measurements for Cross Link Interference (CLI). The configuration may define a list of SRS-Resources and a list of SRS-ResourceSets. Each resource set defines a set of SRS-Resources, as indicated in SRS-Config IE 1200A-1200G. The network may trigger the transmission of the set of SRS-Resources using a configured aperiodicSRS-ResourceTrigger field (e.g., Layer-1 DCI), as shown in FIG. 12B.
Please refer to Fig. 12G, where the source code has a reference frequency field and sub-carrier spacing field.
Shim in view of Park, Zarifi, Futaki, and Liou are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R1-1715422 in view of Zhang, Park, R1-2001231, Zarifi, and Futaki to include the concept of having an SRS information element containing various fields as taught by Liou so as to aid in communication within the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 8,
Shim in view of Park, Zarifi, and Futaki does not explicitly disclose the following limitations of claim 8: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the cell-level configuration of the first set of common resources includes an indication of a set of common power control parameters associated with the first set of common resources.
However, Liou discloses: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the cell-level configuration of the first set of common resources includes an indication of a set of common power control parameters associated with the first set of common resources.
[0426] In the embodiments described above, a spatial relation for transmitting a UL resource (e.g., a PUCCH resource) may be referred to or replaced with or may comprise at least one of the following: a UL beam, a UL TCI, a set of one or more UL power control parameters, a spatial transmission filter, a transmission precoder, spatial parameters, and/or spatial relationship.
Shim in view of Park, Zarifi, Futaki, and Liou are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim in view of Park, Zarifi, and Futaki to include the concept of power control parameters as taught by Liou so as to aid in communication within the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 10,
Shim in view of Park, Zarifi, and Futaki does not explicitly disclose the following limitations of claim 10. The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the first plurality of UEs are associated with one of a first zone or a first synchronization signal block (SSB) index and the second plurality of UEs are associated with one of a second zone or a second SSB index.
However, Liou discloses: The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the first plurality of UEs are associated with one of a first zone or a first synchronization signal block (SSB) index and the second plurality of UEs are associated with one of a second zone or a second SSB index.
[0102] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating a time-frequency structure of a Synchronization Signal (and Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH)) Block (SSB) 300, according to an example implementation of the present application. The SSB may include a Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS) 302 and a Secondary Synchronization Signal (SSS) 304
Shim in view of Park, Zarifi, Futaki, and Liou are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim in view of Park, Zarifi, and Futaki to include the concept of a SSB as taught by Liou so as to aid in communication within the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 14,
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3, but from the perspective of the UE.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 8, but from the perspective of the UE.
Regarding Claim 23,
Claim 23 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3, but from the perspective of the UE.
Regarding Claim 27,
Claim 27 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 8, but from the perspective of the UE.
Claims 6, 17, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shim in view of Park and Zarifi, held further in view of Cui et. al. (WO 2018/081597 A1), herein referred to as “Cui”.
Regarding Claim 6,
Shim in view of Park and Zarifi does not explicitly disclose the following limitations of claim 6: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the cell-level configuration of the first set of common resources further comprises: a second indication for the first plurality of UEs to skip one of a common-SRS operation or an UL transmission when the common-SRS operation and the UL transmission are associated with sets of resources that are separated by less than the minimum time gap, wherein the common-SRS operation comprises one of a common SRS transmission or a common-SRS measurement.
However, Cui discloses: The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the cell-level configuration of the first set of common resources further comprises: a second indication for the first plurality of UEs to skip one of a common-SRS operation or an UL transmission when the common-SRS operation and the UL transmission are associated with sets of resources that are separated by less than the minimum time gap, wherein the common-SRS operation comprises one of a common SRS transmission or a common-SRS measurement.
[00113] The UE may skip part, or all of, the autonomous gap-based measurement if the SRS transmission collides with the autonomous gap-based measurement in the time domain. Thus, for example, if the SRS transmission overlaps fully with the autonomous gap-based measurement, the UE may skip the autonomous gap-based measurement in its entirety, while if the SRS transmission overlaps only partially with the autonomous gap-based measurement, the UE may skip only the overlapping portion of the autonomous gap-based measurement and perform the autonomous gap-based measurement in the remaining time.
Shim in view of Park, Zarifi, and Cui are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim in view of Park and Zarifi to include the concept of skipping a transmission based on a time gap as taught by Cui so as to aid in communication within the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6, but from the perspective of the UE.
Regarding Claim 25,
Shim in view of Park and Zarifi does not explicitly disclose the following limitations of claim 25: The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the cell-level configuration of the set of common resources further comprises: a second indication for the second UE to skip the cross-link interference measurement in the BWP or an UL transmission when the cross-link interference measurement and the UL transmission are associated with sets of resources that are separated by less than the minimum time gap.
However, Cui discloses: The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the cell-level configuration of the set of common resources further comprises: a second indication for the second UE to skip the cross-link interference measurement in the BWP or an UL transmission when the cross-link interference measurement and the UL transmission are associated with sets of resources that are separated by less than the minimum time gap.
[00113] The UE may skip part, or all of, the autonomous gap-based measurement if the SRS transmission collides with the autonomous gap-based measurement in the time domain. Thus, for example, if the SRS transmission overlaps fully with the autonomous gap-based measurement, the UE may skip the autonomous gap-based measurement in its entirety, while if the SRS transmission overlaps only partially with the autonomous gap-based measurement, the UE may skip only the overlapping portion of the autonomous gap-based measurement and perform the autonomous gap-based measurement in the remaining time.
Shim in view of Park, Zarifi, and Cui are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim in view of Park and Zarifi to include the concept of skipping a transmission based on a time gap as taught by Cui so as to aid in communication within the wireless network.
Claims 7, 18, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over R1-1715422 in view of Zhang, Park, R1-2001231, and Zarifi, held further in view of Tang et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0250949), herein referred to as “Tang”.
Regarding Claim 7,
Shim in view of Park and Zarifi does not explicitly disclose the following limitations of claim 7: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the cell-level configuration of the first set of common resources indicates a spatial relation for the first set of common resources based on a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship to a reference signal for a cell or that is common to the first UE and the second UE.
However, Tang discloses: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the cell-level configuration of the first set of common resources indicates a spatial relation for the first set of common resources based on a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship to a reference signal for a cell or that is common to the first UE and the second UE.
[0005] Two signals transmitted from the same antenna and the same beam experience the same radio channel. If two signals transmitted from different antennas or beams experience radio channels having common properties, then the two signals are said to be spatially quasi-co-located (QCLed). In 5G NR, each BS beam broadcasts minimum amount of cell-specific and beam-specific information via synchronization signal (SS) blocks (SSB). Additionally, spatial relation among SSB and other reference signals (RSs) is signaled by the network to UE to indicate the QCL-type for uplink channels. The network can indicate to UE the target spatial relation to UE to change the QCL-type by radio resource control (RRC) configuration, media access control (MAC)-control element (CE) activation, and downlink control information (DCI) indication.
Shim in view of Park, Zarifi, and Tang are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim in view of Park and Zarifi to include the concept of having a QCL relationship as taught by Tang so as to aid in communication within the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 18,
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7, but from the perspective of the UE.
Regarding Claim 26,
Claim 26 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7, but from the perspective of the UE.
Claims 32-34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shim in view of Park and Zarifi, held further in view of Papasakellariou (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2018/0070369).
Regarding Claim 32,
Shim in view of Park and Zarifi does not disclose the following limitations of claim 32: The method of claim 30, wherein the first resource in the first set of common resources is indicated by the cell-level configuration to be the NZP CLI SRS resource for the transmission of the SRS by the first UE based on a first UE-specific value associated with the first UE and wherein the first resource in the first set of common resources is indicated by the cell-level configuration to be the ZP CLI SRS resource for the measurement of the SRS by the second UE based on a second UE-specific value associated with the second UE.
However, Papasakellariou discloses: The method of claim 30, wherein the first resource in the first set of common resources is indicated by the cell-level configuration to be the NZP CLI SRS resource for the transmission of the SRS by the first UE based on a first UE-specific value associated with the first UE and wherein the first resource in the first set of common resources is indicated by the cell-level configuration to be the ZP CLI SRS resource for the measurement of the SRS by the second UE based on a second UE-specific value associated with the second UE.
Note: Park is relied on to teach NZP/ZP CLI SRS as indicated in the previous claims.
[0143] For LTE signaling that is not present but is configured by an eNB through SI signaling, corresponding configurations need to also be provided to a gNB and to NR UEs by the gNB through respective SI signaling or higher layer UE-specific signaling. Such configurations include: an UL carrier BW (UE-common configuration); an UL/DL configuration in case of a TDD system (UE-common configuration); an MBSFN SF configuration and a ABS configuration (UE-common configuration); CSI-RS configuration, including NZP CSI-RS and ZP CSI-RS (UE-common or UE-specific configuration); SRS configuration (for maximum transmission BW and SFs per frame-UE-common configuration); PRACH configuration (for transmission BW and SFs per frame-UE-common configuration); RBs and SFs per frame for EPDCCH, MPDCCH, PUCCH, and SPS transmissions (UE-specific configuration).
Shim in view of Park, Zarifi, and Papasakellariou are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim in view of Zhang, Park, and Zarifi to include the concept of having NZP and ZP resources indicated based on a first and second UE specific value as taught by Papasakellariou so as to aid in communication within the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 33,
Shim in view of Park and Zarifi does not disclose the following limitations of claim 33: The apparatus of claim 12, wherein to identify the first resource in the set of common resources as the NZP CLI SRS resource for transmission of the SRS by the first UE, the at least one processor is configured to identify the first resource as the NZP CLI SRS resource for transmission of the SRS by the first UE based on a UE-specific values known at the first UE.
However, Papasakellariou discloses: The apparatus of claim 12, wherein to identify the first resource in the set of common resources as the NZP CLI SRS resource for transmission of the SRS by the first UE, the at least one processor is configured to identify the first resource as the NZP CLI SRS resource for transmission of the SRS by the first UE based on a UE-specific values known at the first UE.
Note: Park is relied on to teach NZP/ZP CLI SRS as indicated in the previous claims.
[0143] For LTE signaling that is not present but is configured by an eNB through SI signaling, corresponding configurations need to also be provided to a gNB and to NR UEs by the gNB through respective SI signaling or higher layer UE-specific signaling. Such configurations include: an UL carrier BW (UE-common configuration); an UL/DL configuration in case of a TDD system (UE-common configuration); an MBSFN SF configuration and a ABS configuration (UE-common configuration); CSI-RS configuration, including NZP CSI-RS and ZP CSI-RS (UE-common or UE-specific configuration); SRS configuration (for maximum transmission BW and SFs per frame-UE-common configuration); PRACH configuration (for transmission BW and SFs per frame-UE-common configuration); RBs and SFs per frame for EPDCCH, MPDCCH, PUCCH, and SPS transmissions (UE-specific configuration).
Shim in view of Park, Zarifi, and Papasakellariou are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim in view of Park and Zarifi to include the concept of having NZP and ZP resources indicated based on a first UE specific value as taught by Papasakellariou so as to aid in communication within the wireless network.
Regarding Claim 34,
Shim in view of Park and Zarifi does not disclose the following limitations of claim 34: The apparatus of claim 21, wherein to identify the first resource in the set of common resources as the NZP CLI SRS resource for transmission of the SRS by the second UE, the at least one processor is configured to identify the first resource as the NZP CLI SRS resource for transmission of the SRS by the second UE based on a UE-specific values known at the second UE.
However, Papasakellariou discloses: The apparatus of claim 21, wherein to identify the first resource in the set of common resources as the NZP CLI SRS resource for transmission of the SRS by the second UE, the at least one processor is configured to identify the first resource as the NZP CLI SRS resource for transmission of the SRS by the second UE based on a UE-specific values known at the second UE.
Note: Park is relied on to teach NZP/ZP CLI SRS as indicated in the previous claims.
[0143] For LTE signaling that is not present but is configured by an eNB through SI signaling, corresponding configurations need to also be provided to a gNB and to NR UEs by the gNB through respective SI signaling or higher layer UE-specific signaling. Such configurations include: an UL carrier BW (UE-common configuration); an UL/DL configuration in case of a TDD system (UE-common configuration); an MBSFN SF configuration and a ABS configuration (UE-common configuration); CSI-RS configuration, including NZP CSI-RS and ZP CSI-RS (UE-common or UE-specific configuration); SRS configuration (for maximum transmission BW and SFs per frame-UE-common configuration); PRACH configuration (for transmission BW and SFs per frame-UE-common configuration); RBs and SFs per frame for EPDCCH, MPDCCH, PUCCH, and SPS transmissions (UE-specific configuration).
Shim in view of Park, Zarifi, and Papasakellariou are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim in view of Park and Zarifi to include the concept of having NZP and ZP resources indicated based on a second UE specific value as taught by Papasakellariou so as to aid in communication within the wireless network.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response filed on July 30, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-3,6-14,17-23 and 25-34 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to independent claims 1, 12, 21, and 30, have
been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues to the Shim reference that only describes UE-specific configurations instead of cell-level signaling. Id. at 14. Examiner respectfully disagrees. With Figure 22B of the Shim reference, along with the citation, the amended claim is clearly read on, as shown in pertinent part:
[0435] In more detail, a UE #1 22b-03, a UE #2 22b-02, and a UE #3 22b-01 which are connected to a gNB 22b-05 are considered. The afore-described UEs are all connected to the gNB 22b-05.
Since the UEs in Figure 22B are connected to the same gNB/base station, that would indeed represent “a cell-level configuration” since all devices share communication with the gNB, and therefore these devices would share the common resources as claimed.
Applicant further alleges that the “cell-level” interpretation is unreasonable to both Shim and Park references (see generally pages 15-16 of Applicant’s Remarks). Examiner refutes this assertion for two reasons. First, as it stands, “cell-level” is interpreted broadly since it is not defined in the claim language. Second, and as shown in Applicant’s Remarks on page 15, it appears that Applicant is reading the specification into the claims. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “receivable by each UE in the cell” and “used in common by multiple UEs” as stated on page 15 of the Remarks) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). And, as demonstrated above with the citation, these signals are shared between the gNB and the UEs since they are all connected. Examiner suggests to further define terms within the claim to further advance prosecution.
Conclusion
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411