DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status:
Claims 8-11, 25-30 and 32-41 are pending.
Claims 1-7, 12-24 and 31 are cancelled.
Claims 38-41 are newly added.
Claims 8, 10, 25, 27, 32 and 34-36 are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11, 14, 25-26 and 29-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable TRACEY et al (US2018/0104726A1 previously cited) herein set forth as TRACEY, in view of Drexler et al (US2016/0089851A1 previously cited) herein set forth as Drexler, further in view Abe et al (US2007/0098900A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Abe.
Regarding claim 8, TRACEY discloses a method (method #100, fig.2A) of removing an outer coating (release layer #230, fig.6A) from a coated non-metallic composite part (processing tools #200, fig.6A-D and Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”), the method (method #100, fig.2A) comprising:
Applying (Referring Step#112 in fig.2A) a protective coating layer (protective layer #220, fig.6A-D) to a non-metallic composite part (base portion #210, fig.6A-D Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”), comprising co-curing (referring to method #100 Step #112 in fig.2A and Paragraph 0037 cited: “…processing tool 200 may be a mold used to form the composite part during its curing in an oven …”, therefore, the protective coating layer and the non-metallic composite part both cured together in the oven) both the protective coating layer (protective layer #220, fig.6A-D) and the non-metallic composite part (base portion #210, fig.6A-D Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”) and forming the coated non-metallic composite part (processing tools #200, fig.6A-D and Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”),
applying (Referring Step#112 in fig.2A) the outer coating (release layer #230, fig.6A-B) to the protective coating layer (protective layer #220, fig.6A-D) comprising forming the outer coating (release layer #230, fig.6A), and
exposing a portion of the outer coating (processing tools #200, fig.6A-D and Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”) to a laser (refer to method #100, step #120 “expose surface of tool to laser beam” and Step #122 “emit light” in fig.2A) to remove (referring fig. 6A-C) the portion of the outer coating (release layer #230, fig.6A-B) from the coated non-metallic composite part (processing tools #200, fig.6A-D and Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”) without damaging the coated non-metallic composite part (refer to 112b assumption above; base portion #210, fig.6A-D Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”), wherein the protective coating layer (protective layer #220, fig.6A-D) comprises a laser-sensitive material that selected from a reflective layer, an optical sensor layer or a layer having both reflective and optical sensor properties (refer to Paragraph 0028 cited: “…Protective optical layer 220 is operable to block a laser beam from reaching base portion 210 when processing tool 200 is being cleaned using laser ablation. This blocking function may be achieved by reflecting the laser beam. In this example, protective optical layer 220 may perform in accordance with one or more of the following options. First, the protective optical layer may be reflective to the laser beam. For example, the protective optical layer may comprise a reflective material, such as metal flakes or ceramic flakes (e.g., mica). More specifically, the reflective material may be selected from the group consisting of alumina flakes, stainless flakes, nickel flakes, and the like. Second, the protective optical layer may be absorptive to the laser beam. For example, the protective optical layer may comprise oxirane or, more specifically, oxirane, [[4-(1,1-dimethylethyl)phenoxy]methyl]- (available as CLEARWELD from J-B Weld Company in Sulphur Springs, Tex.). Third, the protective optical layer may diffract the laser beam. For example, the protective optical layer may comprise titania (titanium oxide)…” and Paragraph 0031 cited: “…In some embodiments, protective optical layer 220 is operable as an optical sensor. Specifically, protective optical layer 220 may be removed during cleaning. The light emitted by processing tool 200 or, more specifically, the light emitted by a portion of processing tool that is being ablating, may change when protective optical layer 220 is removed from this portion. The emitted light is captured by a sensor that directs the laser beam of the laser ablation system to a new portion of processing tool that still has protective optical layer 220…”), wherein the non-metallic composite part (processing tools #200, fig.6A-D and Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”) is on an aircraft (refer to fig.9) and the outer coating (processing tools #200, fig.6A-D and Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”) comprise the outer surface of the aircraft frame (#1118, fig.9).
Tracey does not explicitly disclose wherein the protective coating layer comprises: a laser- sensitive material blended into the protective coating layer; the outer coating comprises outer livery on the aircraft.
Drexler discloses wherein the new outer coating comprises a livery for an aircraft (refer to paragraph 0034 cited: “…such as in the form of aircraft 12a, comprises one or more structural components 28, such as in the form of aircraft structural components 28a, that may be covered with one or more decorative laminates 10, as disclosed herein. The one or more structural components 28, such as in the form of aircraft structural components 28a, are preferably interior aircraft structural components that may be covered with one or more decorative laminates 10, for example, interior ceiling and sidewall decorative panels, cabin interior sidewall and ceiling panels, floor panels, stowage bins, lavatory and galley panels and structures, bulkhead partitions, cargo bin liners, window shades, insulation barriers, moisture barriers, composite noise panels, and other suitable aircraft structural components 28a…”).
Abe discloses a laser- sensitive material blended into the protective coating layer (refer to Paragraph 0007 cited: “…To enhance the laser beam-material interaction, energy absorbing compounds have been proposed either to be dispersed into the packaging material to be marked on, or to be mixed into a coating composition which in turn is coated on the surface of the material to be marked on …” and Paragraph 0094 cited: “…laser-sensitive recording material can include on or above the support, at least one additional layer such as a top coat and/or intermediate layer and an undercoating layer. The top coat and intermediate layers can function as protective coating layers to reduce or prevent mixing of the layers and/or to block a gas (such as oxygen) that can be harmful to the laser-sensitive recording layer…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified TRACEY’s method with the outer coating comprises outer livery on the aircraft, as taught by Drexler, in order to provide a protection for the non-metallic composite part, such that would increase desired performance and capability of the product.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified TRACEY’s method with a laser- sensitive material blended into the protective coating layer, as taught by Abe, in order to provide a more compacted composite part and fewer layers by combining two different layers into one.
Regarding claim 9, the modification of TRACEY, Drexier and Abe discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 8, the modification of TRACEY and Drexier already discloses in claim 8 rejection above, applying the laser to a portion of the outer coating to remove the portion.
TRACEY further discloses subsequently applying the laser (refer to method #100, step #120 “expose surface of tool to laser beam” and Step #122 “emit light” in fig.2A) to an additional portion (refer to Paragraph 0031 below especially “a new portion”) of the outer coating (release layer #230, fig.6A-B) to remove the additional portion (refer to Paragraph 0031 cited: “…The emitted light is captured by a sensor that directs the laser beam of the laser ablation system to a new portion of processing tool that still has protective optical layer 220 …”) without damaging the non-metallic composite part (processing tools #200, fig.6A-D and Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”).
Regarding claim 10, the modification of TRACEY and Drexler discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 8, TRACEY further discloses wherein upon exposure to the laser (refer to method #100, step #120 “expose surface of tool to laser beam” and Step #122 “emit light” in fig.2A), the laser-sensitive material (protective layer #220, fig.6A-D) undergoes one or more of changes in color, changes in fluorescence, and reflection of light (refer to Paragraph 0024 cited: “…This removal may alter the light emitted by the tool during laser ablation, which in turn may be detected by a sensor…”).
Regarding claim 11, the modification of TRACEY, Drexler and Abe discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 10, TRACEY further discloses monitoring one or more of the changes in color, changes in fluorescence, and reflection of light within a feedback loop that indicates removal of the outer coating (refer to Paragraph 0031 cited: “…The light emitted by processing tool 200 or, more specifically, the light emitted by a portion of processing tool that is being ablating, may change when protective optical layer 220 is removed from this portion. The emitted light is captured by a sensor that directs the laser beam of the laser ablation system to a new portion of processing tool that still has protective optical layer 220 …”).
Regarding claim 25, the modification of TRACEY, Drexler and Abe discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 8, TRACEY further discloses wherein the non-metallic composite part comprises carbon-reinforced polymers, glass fiber-reinforced polymers, or mixtures thereof (refer to Paragraph 0011 cited: “…The base portion of the processing tool may be fiber-reinforced polymer (FRP). More specifically, the base portion may be selected from the group consisting of bismaleimide carbon fiber reinforced polymer (CFRP), epoxy CFRP, benzoxazine FRP, and the like …”); and the protective coating layer comprises polyurea, fluorourethane, polyester, acrylic, polycarbonate, polysilazane, sol-gel coating, or epoxy (refer to Paragraph 0006 cited: “…The release layer may comprise a material selected from the group consisting of silicone (e.g., polysiloxanes) release agents, fluoropolymer resin, and polysilazane resin.…”).
Regarding claim 26, the modification of TRACEY and Drexler discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 8, TRACEY does not explicitly disclose prior to applying the protective coating layer, applying a surfacing film to the non-metallic composite part.
In the similar field of protective layer for structure, Drexler discloses prior to applying the protective coating layer (protective layer #84, fig.4A and B), applying a surfacing film (#63, fig.4A and B) to the non-metallic composite part (#28, fig.4A and B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified TRACEY’s method with prior to applying the protective coating layer, applying a surfacing film to the non-metallic composite part, as taught by Drexler, in order to provide a protection for the non-metallic composite part, such that would increase desired performance and capability of the product.
Regarding claim 29, the modification of TRACEY, Drexler and Abe discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 8, TRACEY further discloses monitoring a wavelength of emitted light (refer to the “alter the light” in the citation below) while exposing the portion (refer to fig. 6A and 6B) of the outer coating to the laser (Refer to Paragraph 0024 cited: “…the protective optical layer may be removed during laser ablation. This removal may alter the light emitted by the tool during laser ablation, which in turn may be detected by a sensor …”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tracey’s method with prior to applying the protective coating layer, applying a surfacing film to the non-metallic composite part, as taught by Drexler, in order to provide other combination of layers for the non-metallic composite part, such that would increase desired performance and capability of the product.
Regarding claim 30, the modification of TRACEY, Drexler and Abe discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 29, TRACEY further discloses determining whether the portion of outer coating has been removed based on the wavelength of the emitted light (Refer to Paragraph 0024 cited: “…the protective optical layer may be removed during laser ablation. This removal may alter the light emitted by the tool during laser ablation, which in turn may be detected by a sensor …”, and fig.6A-D ).
Regarding claim 34, TRACEY discloses a method (method #100, fig.2A) of removing an outer coating (release layer #230, fig.6A) from a coated non-metallic composite part (processing tools #200, fig.6A-D and Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”), the method (method #100, fig.2A) comprising:
Applying (Referring Step#112 in fig.2A) a protective coating layer (protective layer #220, fig.6A-D) to a non-metallic surface of a non-metallic composite part (base portion #210, fig.6A-D Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”), comprising co-curing (referring to method #100 Step #112 in fig.2A and Paragraph 0037 cited: “…processing tool 200 may be a mold used to form the composite part during its curing in an oven …”, therefore, the protective coating layer and the non-metallic composite part both cured together in the oven) both the protective coating layer (protective layer #220, fig.6A-D) and the non-metallic composite part (base portion #210, fig.6A-D Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”) and forming the coated non-metallic composite part (processing tools #200, fig.6A-D and Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”),
applying (Referring Step#112 in fig.2A) the outer coating (release layer #230, fig.6A-B) to the protective coating layer (protective layer #220, fig.6A-D) comprising forming the outer coating, and
exposing a portion of the outer coating (processing tools #200, fig.6A-D and Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”) to a laser (refer to method #100, step #120 “expose surface of tool to laser beam” and Step #122 “emit light” in fig.2A) to remove (referring fig. 6A-C) the portion of the outer coating (release layer #230, fig.6A-B) from the non-metallic composite part (processing tools #200, fig.6A-D and Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”) without damaging the coated non-metallic composite part (refer to 112b assumption above; base portion #210, fig.6A-D Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”),
subsequently applying the laser (refer to method #100, step #120 “expose surface of tool to laser beam” and Step #122 “emit light” in fig.2A) to an additional portion (refer to Paragraph 0031 below especially “a new portion”) of the outer coating (release layer #230, fig.6A-B) to remove the additional portion (refer to Paragraph 0031 cited: “…The emitted light is captured by a sensor that directs the laser beam of the laser ablation system to a new portion of processing tool that still has protective optical layer 220 …”) without damaging the non-metallic composite part (processing tools #200, fig.6A-D and Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”).
wherein the new outer coating comprises a livery for an aircraft (refer to paragraph 0034 cited: “…such as in the form of aircraft 12a, comprises one or more structural components 28, such as in the form of aircraft structural components 28a, that may be covered with one or more decorative laminates 10, as disclosed herein. The one or more structural components 28, such as in the form of aircraft structural components 28a, are preferably interior aircraft structural components that may be covered with one or more decorative laminates 10, for example, interior ceiling and sidewall decorative panels, cabin interior sidewall and ceiling panels, floor panels, stowage bins, lavatory and galley panels and structures, bulkhead partitions, cargo bin liners, window shades, insulation barriers, moisture barriers, composite noise panels, and other suitable aircraft structural components 28a…”).
Tracey does not explicitly disclose a laser-sensitive material blended into the protective coating layer; the outer coating comprises outer livery on the aircraft.
Drexler discloses wherein the new outer coating comprises a livery for an aircraft (refer to paragraph 0034 cited: “…such as in the form of aircraft 12a, comprises one or more structural components 28, such as in the form of aircraft structural components 28a, that may be covered with one or more decorative laminates 10, as disclosed herein. The one or more structural components 28, such as in the form of aircraft structural components 28a, are preferably interior aircraft structural components that may be covered with one or more decorative laminates 10, for example, interior ceiling and sidewall decorative panels, cabin interior sidewall and ceiling panels, floor panels, stowage bins, lavatory and galley panels and structures, bulkhead partitions, cargo bin liners, window shades, insulation barriers, moisture barriers, composite noise panels, and other suitable aircraft structural components 28a…”).
Abe discloses a laser- sensitive material blended into the protective coating layer (refer to Paragraph 0007 cited: “…To enhance the laser beam-material interaction, energy absorbing compounds have been proposed either to be dispersed into the packaging material to be marked on, or to be mixed into a coating composition which in turn is coated on the surface of the material to be marked on …” and Paragraph 0094 cited: “…laser-sensitive recording material can include on or above the support, at least one additional layer such as a top coat and/or intermediate layer and an undercoating layer. The top coat and intermediate layers can function as protective coating layers to reduce or prevent mixing of the layers and/or to block a gas (such as oxygen) that can be harmful to the laser-sensitive recording layer…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified TRACEY’s method with the outer coating comprises outer livery on the aircraft, as taught by Drexler, in order to provide other combination of layers for the non-metallic composite part, such that would increase desired performance and capability of the product.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified TRACEY’s method with a laser- sensitive material blended into the protective coating layer, as taught by Abe, in order to provide a more compacted composite part and fewer layers by combining two different layers into one.
Regarding claim 35, the modification of TRACEY, Drexler and Abe discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 34, TRACEY does not explicitly disclose prior to applying the protective coating layer, applying a surfacing film to the non-metallic composite part.
Drexler further discloses prior to applying the protective coating layer (protective layer #84, fig.4A), applying a surfacing film to the non-metallic composite part (aircraft structural component #28, fig.4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified TRACEY’s method with prior to applying the protective coating layer, applying a surfacing film to the non-metallic composite part, as taught by Drexler, in order to provide other combination of layers for the non-metallic composite part, such that would increase desired performance and capability of the product.
Regarding claim 36, the modification of TRACEY, Drexler and Abe discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 34, TRACEY further discloses wherein upon exposure to the laser (refer to method #100, step #120 “expose surface of tool to laser beam” and Step #122 “emit light” in fig.2A), the laser-sensitive material (protective layer #220, fig.6A-D) undergoes one or more of changes in color, changes in fluorescence, and reflection of light (refer to Paragraph 0024 cited: “…This removal may alter the light emitted by the tool during laser ablation, which in turn may be detected by a sensor…”).
Regarding claim 37, the modification of TRACEY, Drexler and Abe discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 36, TRACEY further discloses monitoring one or more of the changes in color, changes in fluorescence, and reflection of light within a feedback loop that indicates removal of the outer coating (refer to Paragraph 0031 cited: “…The light emitted by processing tool 200 or, more specifically, the light emitted by a portion of processing tool that is being ablating, may change when protective optical layer 220 is removed from this portion. The emitted light is captured by a sensor that directs the laser beam of the laser ablation system to a new portion of processing tool that still has protective optical layer 220 …”).
Regarding claim 38, TRACEY discloses a method (method #100, fig.2A) of removing an outer coating (release layer #230, fig.6A) from a coated non-metallic composite part (processing tools #200, fig.6A-D and Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”), the method (method #100, fig.2A) comprising:
Applying (Referring Step#112 in fig.2A) a protective coating layer (protective layer #220, fig.6A-D) to a non-metallic composite part (base portion #210, fig.6A-D Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”), comprising co-curing (referring to method #100 Step #112 in fig.2A and Paragraph 0037 cited: “…processing tool 200 may be a mold used to form the composite part during its curing in an oven …”, therefore, the protective coating layer and the non-metallic composite part both cured together in the oven) both the protective coating layer (protective layer #220, fig.6A-D) and the non-metallic composite part (base portion #210, fig.6A-D Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”) and forming the coated non-metallic composite part (processing tools #200, fig.6A-D and Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”),
applying (Referring Step#112 in fig.2A) the outer coating (release layer #230, fig.6A-B) to the protective coating layer (protective layer #220, fig.6A-D) comprising forming the outer coating (release layer #230, fig.6A),
exposing a portion of the outer coating (processing tools #200, fig.6A-D and Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”) to a laser (refer to method #100, step #120 “expose surface of tool to laser beam” and Step #122 “emit light” in fig.2A) to remove (referring fig. 6A-C) the portion of the outer coating (release layer #230, fig.6A-B) from the coated non-metallic composite part (processing tools #200, fig.6A-D and Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”) without damaging the coated non-metallic composite part (refer to 112b assumption above; base portion #210, fig.6A-D Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”), and
wherein upon exposure to the laser (refer to method #100, step #120 “expose surface of tool to laser beam” and Step #122 “emit light” in fig.2A), the laser-sensitive layer (protective layer #220, fig.6A-D) undergoes one or more of changes in color, changes in fluorescence, and reflection of light (refer to Paragraph 0024 cited: “…This removal may alter the light emitted by the tool during laser ablation, which in turn may be detected by a sensor…”),
wherein the new outer coating comprises a livery for an aircraft (refer to paragraph 0034 cited: “…such as in the form of aircraft 12a, comprises one or more structural components 28, such as in the form of aircraft structural components 28a, that may be covered with one or more decorative laminates 10, as disclosed herein. The one or more structural components 28, such as in the form of aircraft structural components 28a, are preferably interior aircraft structural components that may be covered with one or more decorative laminates 10, for example, interior ceiling and sidewall decorative panels, cabin interior sidewall and ceiling panels, floor panels, stowage bins, lavatory and galley panels and structures, bulkhead partitions, cargo bin liners, window shades, insulation barriers, moisture barriers, composite noise panels, and other suitable aircraft structural components 28a…”).
Tracey does not explicitly disclose wherein the protective coating layer comprises: a laser- sensitive material blended into the protective coating layer; the outer coating comprises outer livery on the aircraft.
Drexler discloses wherein the new outer coating comprises a livery for an aircraft (refer to paragraph 0034 cited: “…such as in the form of aircraft 12a, comprises one or more structural components 28, such as in the form of aircraft structural components 28a, that may be covered with one or more decorative laminates 10, as disclosed herein. The one or more structural components 28, such as in the form of aircraft structural components 28a, are preferably interior aircraft structural components that may be covered with one or more decorative laminates 10, for example, interior ceiling and sidewall decorative panels, cabin interior sidewall and ceiling panels, floor panels, stowage bins, lavatory and galley panels and structures, bulkhead partitions, cargo bin liners, window shades, insulation barriers, moisture barriers, composite noise panels, and other suitable aircraft structural components 28a…”).
Abe discloses a laser- sensitive material blended into the protective coating layer (refer to Paragraph 0007 cited: “…To enhance the laser beam-material interaction, energy absorbing compounds have been proposed either to be dispersed into the packaging material to be marked on, or to be mixed into a coating composition which in turn is coated on the surface of the material to be marked on …” and Paragraph 0094 cited: “…laser-sensitive recording material can include on or above the support, at least one additional layer such as a top coat and/or intermediate layer and an undercoating layer. The top coat and intermediate layers can function as protective coating layers to reduce or prevent mixing of the layers and/or to block a gas (such as oxygen) that can be harmful to the laser-sensitive recording layer…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified TRACEY’s method with the outer coating comprises outer livery on the aircraft, as taught by Drexler, in order to provide a protection for the non-metallic composite part, such that would increase desired performance and capability of the product.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified TRACEY’s method with a laser- sensitive material blended into the protective coating layer, as taught by Abe, in order to provide a more compacted composite part and fewer layers by combining two different layers into one.
Regarding claim 39, the modification of TRACEY and Drexler discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 38, TRACEY further discloses wherein upon exposure to the laser (refer to method #100, step #120 “expose surface of tool to laser beam” and Step #122 “emit light” in fig.2A), the laser-sensitive material (protective layer #220, fig.6A-D) undergoes one or more of changes in color, changes in fluorescence, and reflection of light (refer to Paragraph 0024 cited: “…This removal may alter the light emitted by the tool during laser ablation, which in turn may be detected by a sensor…”).
Regarding claim 40, the modification of TRACEY, Drexier and Abe discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 38, the modification of TRACEY and Drexier already discloses in claim 38 rejection above, applying the laser to a portion of the outer coating to remove the portion.
TRACEY further discloses subsequently applying the laser (refer to method #100, step #120 “expose surface of tool to laser beam” and Step #122 “emit light” in fig.2A) to an additional portion (refer to Paragraph 0031 below especially “a new portion”) of the outer coating (release layer #230, fig.6A-B) to remove the additional portion (refer to Paragraph 0031 cited: “…The emitted light is captured by a sensor that directs the laser beam of the laser ablation system to a new portion of processing tool that still has protective optical layer 220 …”) without damaging the non-metallic composite part (processing tools #200, fig.6A-D and Paragraph 0032 cited: “…Base portion 210 may be non-metal or, more specific, composite or 3D printed plastic…”).
Regarding claim 41, the modification of TRACEY, Drexier and Abe discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 38, Tracey further discloses applying a new outer coating (refer fig. 6c and 6D) removing the portion of the outer coating (refer to fig. 6A and 6B).
Claims 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TRACEY et al (US2018/0104726A1 previously cited) herein set forth as TRACEY, in view of Drexler et al (US2016/0089851A1 previously cited) herein set forth as Drexler, further in view Abe et al (US207/0098900A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Abe, and further in view of Conneely et al (US2010/0301013A1 previously cited) herein set forth as Conneely.
Regarding claim 32, the modification of TRACEY, Drexler and Abe discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 24, TRACEY further discloses monitoring removal of the portion of the outer coating (release layer #230, fig.6A-B) using a sensor (sensor #272, fig. 6A-B).
However, TRACEY, Drexler or Abe does not specifically disclose that the sensor can be a camera.
Conneely teaches the use of camera for monitoring laser ablation (refer to Paragraph 0038 cited: “…The step of monitoring may comprise providing an image of the laser material interaction zone to determine when sufficient liquid has been generated. The step of providing an image may be achieved using a microscope, spectrometer and/or a camera…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified TRACEY’s sensor with the use of a camera, as taught by Conneely, in order to provide an image of the laser process, such that would have a more accurate monitoring, better observation history and records to further study possible issues later or happened.
Regarding claim 33, the modification of TRACEY, Drexler, Abe and Conneely discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 8, TRACEY further discloses measuring the protective coating layer (release layer #230, fig.6A-B) using a sensor (sensor #272, fig. 6A-B) during exposure of the portion of the outer coating to the laser (refer to fig. 6A and 6B).
TRACEY, Abe or Drexler does not explicitly disclose measuring in in-situ and the use of camera.
Conneely discloses measuring the protective coating layer in-situ (refer to fig.8 show that the workpiece is in-situ); the use of camera for monitoring laser ablation (refer to Paragraph 0038 cited: “…The step of monitoring may comprise providing an image of the laser material interaction zone to determine when sufficient liquid has been generated. The step of providing an image may be achieved using a microscope, spectrometer and/or a camera…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified TRACEY’s method with measuring in in-situ and the use of camera, as taught by Conneely, in order to provide a stable and better image of the process, such that would have a more accurate monitoring, better observation history and records to further study possible issues later or happened.
Response to Amendment
With respect to the Rejection 112b: the applicant’s amendment/argument filed on April 15th 2026 that overcame the Rejection 112b in the previous office action.
With respect to the Rejection 112d: the applicant’s amendment/argument filed on April 15th 2026 that overcame the Rejection 112d in the previous office action.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed April 15th 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as the following reasons:
The applicants argue: the new amended limitation “…a laser-sensitive material blended into the protective coating layer...” (summarized), Page 10.
The examiner's response: applicant’s arguments above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection with the newly cited secondary prior art Abe et al (US207/0098900A1).
The applicants argue: Regarding the argument about outer livery (summarized), Page 11.
The examiner's response: applicant’s arguments above have been considered:
It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitation from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993) (refer to MPEP 2145. VI). In this case, the term of “outer livery” has a much broader claim scope than what argued by the applicant, the “outer” term does not only imply that such “outer” is outside of the airplane only, such that the outer livery is the outer surface of a livery, and livery is merely a decorative dress (refer to NPL about Merriam-Webster dictionary and website definition, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/livery), such that an interior of the airplane can also have livery too, and the livery also has an outer layer.
Conclusion
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 August 30th 2026
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761