DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant's arguments and amendments filed on 25 February 2026 in which claims 1-3, 5-15, 17-32 are currently pending and claims 4, 16 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 13-15, 17-19, 25-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (PG Pub US 2022/0263641 A1) in view of Karjalainen et al. (PG Pub US 2021/0250797 A1) and Liou et al. (PG Pub US 2022/0061117 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 13, 25, 28, Xie discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), a method of wireless communication performed by a base station, a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication and a base station for wireless communication.
receiving an indication of one or more cross-link interference (CLI) measurement parameters (“A second network device sends a first message to a first network device, where the first message is used to indicate information about CLI measurement” [0097], “The information about the CLI measurement includes a quantity of resources of the CLI measurement” [0100], “The information about the CLI measurement includes configuration information (information element, IE) of a resource of the CLI measurement” [0106]); and
transmitting an CLI measurement report based at least in part on the one or more CLI measurement parameters (“The first network device may configure the CLI measurement for the terminal device based on the first message” [0110], “after the first network device receives the first message, the first network device may send a second message to the second network device” [0111]).
However, Xie does not explicitly disclose a layer 1 (L1) CLI, the L1 CLI measurement parameters corresponding to L1 CLI measurement of one or more receive beams of the UE, transmit a CLI measurement report, and the L1 CLI measurement report comprising an indication of one or more L1 CLI measurements corresponding to the one or more receive beams of the UE.
Nevertheless, Karjalainen discloses “antenna panel-wise UL-to-DL cross-link interference specific reporting according to configured cross-link measurement type may be defined for UEs and/or relay nodes. For example, when UL-to-DL cross-link measurement types are configured as full, such as where all interfering signals are known, the report may consist of K-largest in terms of L1-RSRPs associated with UL-to-DL cross-link interferences, and their resource indicators are reported per antenna panel” [0041], “the network entity may configure a flexible uplink-to-downlink (UL-to-DL) cross-link specific resource configuration for at least one antenna panel according to one or more interfering UL signal type characteristics. In step 603, the network entity may receive one or more cross-link interference measurements based upon the configured flexible UL-to-DL cross-link specific resource configuration” [0054], “the user equipment may receive a configuration for determining one or more antenna panel-wise cross-link interference measurements from a network entity configured to receive one or more downlink spatial directions. In step 703, the user equipment may calculate one or more interference estimates of UL interfering signals and related cross-link interference powers from the network entity” [0055].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a layer 1 (L1) CLI, the L1 CLI measurement parameters corresponding to L1 CLI measurement of one or more receive beams of the UE, transmit a CLI measurement report, and the L1 CLI measurement report comprising an indication of one or more L1 CLI measurements corresponding to one or more receive beams of the UE because “certain embodiments may allow a network to flexibly configure cross-link interference measurement windows defined in frequency and time for a UE. Based on the measurement window, the UE is able to measure accurately uplink-to-downlink (UL)-to-(DL) cross-link interference associated with any UL Rel-15 based reference signal resource in frequency and time domain. Furthermore, by using configurable cross-link interference measurement window, interference estimates can be computed even based on UL physical shared data channels (PUSCH)” [0027].
In addition, Xie, Karjalainen discloses everything claimed as applied above. However, Xie, Karjalainen does not explicitly disclose the one or more CLI measurement parameters comprise at least one of: a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set list (srs-ResourceSetList), or a CLI received signal strength indicator (RSSI) resource set list (cli- RSSI-ResourceSetList).
Nevertheless, Liou discloses “The IE SRS-Config is used to configure sounding reference signal transmissions or to configure sounding reference signal measurements for Cross Link Interference (CLI). The configuration defines a list of SRS-Resources and a list of SRS-ResourceSets. Each resource set defines a set of SRS-Resources. The network triggers the transmission of the set of SRS-Resources using a configured aperiodicSRS-ResourceTrigger (L1 DCI)” [0783].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the one or more CLI measurement parameters comprise at least one of: a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set list (srs-ResourceSetList), or a CLI received signal strength indicator (RSSI) resource set list (cli- RSSI-ResourceSetList) because “For channel state estimation purposes, the UE may be configured to transmit SRS that the gNB may use to estimate the UL channel state and use the estimate in link adaptation” [0331].
Regarding claims 2, 14, 26, 29, Xie, Karjalainen, Liou discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Xie discloses receiving the indication of the one or more L1 CLI measurement parameters in at least one of: an L1 channel state information (CSI) resource configuration (CSI-ResourceConfig) information element (IE), or an L1 CLI resource configuration (L1-CLI-ResourceConfig) (“The information about the CLI measurement includes configuration information (information element, IE) of a resource of the CLI measurement” [0106]).
Regarding claims 3, 15, Xie, Karjalainen, Liou discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Xie discloses transmitting a periodic L1 CLI measurement report (“the configuration information of the resource of the CLI measurement includes time domain configuration information of the resource, frequency domain configuration information of the resource, a periodicity of the resource, an identifier of the resource, and the like” [0107]).
Regarding claims 5, 17, Xie, Karjalainen, Liou discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Karjalainen discloses the SRS resource set list indicates an SRS resource for CLI measurement; and wherein the one or more L1 CLI measurement parameters comprise at least one of: quasi-co-location (QCL) information associated with a receive beam for CLI measurement using the SRS resource, or a panel identifier associated with the receive beam for CLI measurement using the SRS resource (“for cross-link interference measurements, the network may configure CSI-IM resource to have different spatial Quasi-co-location (QCL) assumptions, including QCL-type D with respect to CSI-RS resource for channel measurements. In addition, spatially QCLed resources with CSI-IM to be configured may include DMRS for physical dedicated control channel (PDCCH), synchronization signal block (SSB) resource, and/or CSI-RS resources for frequency time-tracking, beam management, and mobility” [0033], “Based on UL-to-DL measurement type, UL-to-DL cross-link interference may be estimated for both CSI-IM and DMRS resources. The UE may combine by averaging cross-link interference measurements L1-RSRP and L1-RSSI according to UL-to-DL measurement types for each type separately. Cross-link interference reporting follows the above described antenna-panel-wise UL-to-DL cross-link interference reporting method. Group triggering may cause at least one UE group in at least one interfering cell to transmit the predetermined signals at predefined time instant(s), such as slot T. Triggering may be based on reception of PDCCH with group-specific RNTI. Some embodiments may include techniques to facilitate cross-link measurements. For example, UE grouping may allow one or more UEs to be configured to transmit one or more predefined signals, such as SRS, using one or more predefined resources” [0045]).
Regarding claims 6, 18, Xie, Karjalainen, Liou discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Karjalainen discloses the CLI RSSI resource set list indicates an RSSI resource for CLI measurement; and wherein the one or more L1 CLI measurement parameters comprise at least one of: quasi-co-location (QCL) information associated with a receive beam for CLI measurement using the RSSI resource, or a panel identifier associated with the receive beam for CLI measurement using the RSSI resource (“for cross-link interference measurements, the network may configure CSI-IM resource to have different spatial Quasi-co-location (QCL) assumptions, including QCL-type D with respect to CSI-RS resource for channel measurements. In addition, spatially QCLed resources with CSI-IM to be configured may include DMRS for physical dedicated control channel (PDCCH), synchronization signal block (SSB) resource, and/or CSI-RS resources for frequency time-tracking, beam management, and mobility” [0033], “Based on UL-to-DL measurement type, UL-to-DL cross-link interference may be estimated for both CSI-IM and DMRS resources. The UE may combine by averaging cross-link interference measurements L1-RSRP and L1-RSSI according to UL-to-DL measurement types for each type separately. Cross-link interference reporting follows the above described antenna-panel-wise UL-to-DL cross-link interference reporting method. Group triggering may cause at least one UE group in at least one interfering cell to transmit the predetermined signals at predefined time instant(s), such as slot T. Triggering may be based on reception of PDCCH with group-specific RNTI. Some embodiments may include techniques to facilitate cross-link measurements. For example, UE grouping may allow one or more UEs to be configured to transmit one or more predefined signals, such as SRS, using one or more predefined resources” [0045]).
Regarding claims 7, 19, 27, 30, Xie, Karjalainen, Liou discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Xie discloses the one or more L1 CLI measurement parameters comprise at least one of: an L1 CLI SRS reference signal received power (CLI-SRS-RSRP) measurement parameter, or an L1 CLI received signal strength indicator (CLI-RSSI) measurement parameter; and wherein receiving the indication of the one or more L1 CLI measurement parameters comprises receiving the indication of the one or more L1 CLI measurement parameters in at least one of: an L1 channel state information (CSI) report configuration (CSI-ReportConfig) information element (IE), or an L1 CLI report configuration (L1-CLI-ReportConfig) IE (“The CLI measurement may be classified into the following two types based on different types of reference signals (namely, resources) of the CLI measurement. (1) CLI sounding reference signal reference signal received power (SRS-RSRP) measurement: In this type of CLI measurement, a reference signal is an SRS resource. The terminal device measures an SRS resource sent by one or more terminal devices (namely, aggressor terminal devices) that cause interference, to obtain an RSRP result of each SRS resource. That is, the terminal device may separately obtain an interference strength of each interference source through measurement. (2) CLI RSSI measurement: In this type of CLI measurement, a reference signal is an RSSI resource. The terminal device measures a total received power value on a configured RSSI resource. The network device determines, by using the total received power value obtained through the measurement of the terminal device, an overall interference status of the terminal device” [0092], “The information about the CLI measurement includes configuration information (information element, IE) of a resource of the CLI measurement” [0106]).
Regarding claims 31, 32, Xie, Karjalainen, Liou discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Xie discloses receive the L1 CLI measurement report comprises transmitting a periodic L1 CLI measurement report (“the configuration information of the resource of the CLI measurement includes time domain configuration information of the resource, frequency domain configuration information of the resource, a periodicity of the resource, an identifier of the resource, and the like” [0107]).
Claims 8-12, 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie, Karjalainen, Liou in view of Park et al. (PG Pub US 2022/0386156 A1).
Regarding claims 8, 20, Xie, Karjalainen, Liou discloses everything claimed as applied above. However, Xie, Karjalainen, Liou does not explicitly disclose receiving the indication of the one or more L1 CLI measurement parameters in an L1 CLI aperiodic trigger state list.
Nevertheless, Park discloses “CLI-AperiodicTriggerStateList) information element (IE) in a downlink control information (DCI) communication (“the base station may trigger aperiodic SRS transmission to the terminal through DCI. The base station may indicate one of aperiodic SRS resource triggers (aperiodicSRS-ResourceTrigger) through an SRS request field of DCI” [0242].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive the indication of the one or more L1 CLI measurement parameters in an L1 CLI aperiodic trigger state list because “when cross-link interference measurement and reporting are performed in a wireless communication system, time/frequency resource information of a reference signal or channel used in measurement of cross-link interference may be shared between transmitting and receiving ends to thereby increase the accuracy of the measurement of cross-link interference” [0008].
Regarding claims 9, 21, Xie, Karjalainen, Liou, Park discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Park discloses the L1 CLI aperiodic trigger state list IE indicates one or more trigger states for transmitting the L1 CLI measurement report; wherein the method further comprises receiving an indication of a value associated with a trigger state of the one or more trigger states, wherein the trigger state is linked to an L1 channel state information report configuration identifier (CSI-ReportConfigId) associated with at least one of a CLI-SRS resource set or a CLI received signal strength indicator (CLI-RSSI) resource set; and wherein transmitting the L1 CLI measurement report comprises transmitting an aperiodic L1 CLI measurement report based at least in part on the indication of the value associated with the trigger state (“the base station may trigger aperiodic SRS transmission to the terminal through DCI. The base station may indicate one of aperiodic SRS resource triggers (aperiodicSRS-ResourceTrigger) through an SRS request field of DCI. The terminal may transmit the SRS resource referenced by the triggered SRS resource set” [0242], “When the time domain transmission configuration is configured as ‘aperiodic’, an aperiodic SRS resource trigger list and slot offset information may be provided, and associated CSI-RS information may be provided according to a usage of the SRS resource set” [0235]).
Regarding claims 10, 22, Xie, Karjalainen, Liou discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Park discloses receiving the indication of the one or more L1 CLI measurement parameters in an L1 CLI semi-persistent on physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) trigger state list (CLI-SemiPersistentOnPUSCH-TriggerStateList) information element (IE) (“In the case of CSI transmission, a PUCCH resource for transmitting a periodic CSI report or a semi-persistent CSI report through PUCCH may be configured in the pucch-CSI-ResourceList parameter” [0188], “Configured grant Type 1 PUSCH transmission may not involve reception of UL grant in DCI, but may be semi-statically configured through reception of configuredGrantConfig including the rrc-ConfiguredUplinkGrant of Table 33 through higher layer signaling” [0247]).
Regarding claims 11, 23, Xie, Karjalainen, Park, Liou discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Park discloses the L1 CLI semi-persistent on PUSCH trigger state list IE indicates one or more trigger states for transmitting the L1 CLI measurement report; wherein the method further comprises receiving an indication of a trigger state of the one or more trigger states; and wherein transmitting the L1 CLI measurement report comprises transmitting a semi-persistent L1 CLI measurement report based at least in part on the indication of the trigger state (“Non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission may be dynamically scheduled through DCI format 0_0 or 0_1, and may operate semi-statically by a configured grant” [0255], “the base station may trigger aperiodic SRS transmission to the terminal through DCI. The base station may indicate one of aperiodic SRS resource triggers (aperiodicSRS-ResourceTrigger) through an SRS request field of DCI” [0242]).
Regarding claims 12, 24, Xie, Karjalainen, Park, Liou discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Park discloses receiving a medium access control control channel (MAC-CE) indicating activation of semi-persistent L1 CLI measurement reporting (“The base station may activate, deactivate, or trigger SRS transmission to the terminal through higher layer signaling including RRC signaling or MAC CE signaling, or L1 signaling (e.g., DCI)” [0240], “The base station may indicate to activate the SRS resource set through MAC CE signaling, and the terminal may transmit the SRS resource referenced by the activated SRS resource set. The SRS resource set activated through MAC CE signaling may be limited to the SRS resource set in which the resourceType is configured as semi-persistent” [0241]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
CHRISTINE DUONG FUQUA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/CHRISTINE T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 03/16/2026