DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Thompson (2,873,582 (reissued as Re. 24,693)) in view of Larson et al. (4,233,025).
Regarding claims 1, 2 Thompson discloses a siphoning device (figures 1-5) suited for removing fluid/blood from a surgical site, comprising: a sterile tubing (e.g. fig 1, loop 10) having a first open end (e.g. 10a), a second open end (e.g. 10b), and a central portion between the first open end and the second open end forming a continuous loop (fig. 1); the tubing between the first open end and the central portion of the continuous loop is flexible (e.g. col. 1 lines 51-60) and the tubing between the second open end and the central portion of the continuous loop is flexible (e.g. col. 1 lines 51-60) wherein a section of the central portion is sized so as capable to permit the section of the central portion to extend across an airway of a person's throat (fig. 4) at a back of the person's mouth and is conformable to the person’s mouth to maintain a position in mouth due to its flexibility properties; at least one or more sets of a plurality of holes punctuating a circumference of the section of the central portion (e.g. 19, 20), the one or more sets of holes being distributed along a longitudinal direction of the tubing, a vacuum system (e.g. evacuator) coupled to each of the first open end and the second open end of the tubing, the vacuum system being configured to create a negative pressure in the tubing by removing air from the device via the first open end and the second open end, causing any fluids in the sterile absorbent sponge to be evacuated into the one or more sets of the plurality of holes of the tubing into the vacuum system,
but fail to disclose a sterile absorbent sponge of at least 2 cm in diameter adapted to block the back of the person's throat encompassing the one or more sets of the plurality of holes; wherein, the sterile absorbent sponge is flexible, permits air to pass through the airway of the person's throat, and is permeable to bodily fluids; at least three sets of the plurality of holes are distributed along a longitudinal direction of the tubing and each set of the plurality of holes is covered by a discrete section of the sterile absorbent sponge, the sterile absorbent sponge is substantially cylindrical in shape and formed from at least one of a cellulose, foam, melamine, animal, and layered fabric material.
Larson discloses a sterile absorbent cellulose covering that is permeable to fluid and encompassing a set of a plurality of hole of a fluid suction device (Fig. 1 element 10), at least three sets of the plurality of holes are distributed along a longitudinal direction of the tubing and each set of the plurality of holes is covered by a discrete section of the sterile absorbent sponge (fig.1 ), the sterile absorbent sponge is substantially cylindrical (fig. 1) in shape and formed from at least one of a cellulose, foam, melamine, animal, and layered fabric material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the absorbent coverings as taught by Larson into the siphoning device as taught by Thompson for the purpose of providing greater patient comfort and gentle suction as taught by Larson (column 1 line 64-column 2 line 5). Thompson/Larson discloses the invention substantially as claimed but does not disclose the diameter of the sterile covering and tubing diameter; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have diameter in a desired size based on the intended use (e.g. to be used around teeth or throat) since it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routing skills in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Thompson et al. (7,300,401) in view of Larson et al. (4,233,025) and further in view of Bergheim et al. (US 2012/0237893 A1).
Thompson/Larson discloses the invention as claimed exepct the sponge is PVA sponge as claimed; however, Bergheim discloses a device for endodontic treatment (title and abstract) which has a sterile absorbent sponge made of poly-vinyl alcohol for restriction of fluid flow away from a treatment site (paragraph [0175] lines 1-16).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the absorbent covering further being a sponge made of polyvinyl alcohol as taught by Bergheim into the siphoning device as taught by Thompson/Larson for the purpose of providing an absorbent material that can deform to the contours of a treatment site as taught by Bergheim (paragraph [0175] lines 14-16).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Thompson et al. (7,300,401) in view of Larson et al. (4,233,025) and further in view of McGuire et al. (5,203,699).
Thompson/Larson discloses structure substantially identical to the instant application as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose where the coupler is fitted over two sections of the tubing and moveable over the two sections of the tubing to allow the loop to be increased or reduced in size.
McGuire discloses a siphoning device suited for automatically removing fluid/blood from a surgical site in the mouth (title, abstract, Fig. 6), with a length of sterile flexible tubing able to be configured into a loop (Fig. 6 elements 60 and 61), further having a coupler fitted over two sections of tubing (Fig. 6 elements 65), moveable over the two sections of the tubing (column 7 lines 10-19). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the movable coupler over two end sections as taught by McGuire into the coupler connecting to the two ends of the loop as taught by Thompson/Larson for the purpose of providing control over the lengths of the different ends of the tube and control the slack of the suction tube within the mouth of the patient as taught by McGuire (column 7 lines 10-19).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Thompson et al. (7,300,401) in view of Larson et al. (4,233,025) in view of McGuire e al. (5,203,699) and further in view of Maycher et al. (2012/0237894).
Thompson/Larson//McGuire discloses structure substantially identical to the instant application as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose where the coupler further includes a control valve to control the amount of vacuum pressure.
Maycher discloses a siphoning device and methods suited for automatically removing fluid/blood from a site in the mouth (title and Fig. 1), with a control valve that controls the vacuum pressure (Fig. 2 element 40). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the control valve as taught by Maycher into the coupler connecting to the two ends of the loop as taught by Thompson/Larson//McGuire for the purpose of providing the patient with a manner to control the amount of vacuum at the patient’s desired level as taught by Maycher (paragraph [0032] lines 16-20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to the argument regarding diameter of the sponge, it is noted that, as addressed above in the office action, the sponge can be made of any size depending on the intended use of the siphoning device. The prior arts show all the claimed structures.
In response to the argument regarding sponge comprised of PVA, it is noted that Bergheim disclose PVA for dental procedures, it is conformable and suitable absorbent material.
In response to the argument regarding intended use limitation (e.g. capable to permit…throat), it is noted that, the claim is drawn to an apparatus, the statement of intended use and other functional statements, they do not impose any structural limitations on the claims distinguishable over the prior art which is capable of being used as claimed if one so desires to do so. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In response to the argument regarding Larson reference, it is noted that Larson teaches hollow absorbent cylindrical roll as cited above. The modified combination would result in the roll being contoured around the evacuator of Thomson.
Based on the response above, the Examiner maintains the rejection as proper rejection. The Examiner suggests claiming particular structure of the device in order to overcome the rejection.
Conclusion
/YOGESH P PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772