DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6,8-10,13-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the direction" in Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the housing" in Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 10, 13 - 17 and 20 - 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pagan (U.S. Patent # 3726531) in view of Delaby et al. (U.S. PG Pub # 20190323554) and in further view of Binder (U.S. Patent # 10125872) and Suebert (U.S. Patent # 3415581).
Regarding claim 1, Pagan discloses an annular seal stack assembly (seal assembly as shown in examiner annotated fig 2 below), comprising: at least one second annular seal (as shown in examiner annotated fig 2 below) and an inner sealing leg extending at an angle from the body (as shown in examiner annotated fig 2 below), and wherein the inner sealing leg forms a second cavity in the body ( second cavity is the cavity between the body and the inner sealing leg of the second annular seal as shown in examiner annotated fig 2 below), wherein an axial end of the inner sealing leg forms a radially innermost portion of the second annular seal (as shown in examiner annotated fig 2 below).
Pagan does not disclose
a plurality of third annular seals axially abutting one another, each seal of the plurality of third annular seals comprising a metal support ring, wherein the metal support ring is in direct contact with a neighboring third annular seal of the plurality of third annular seals.
However, Delaby teaches
a plurality of third annular seals axially abutting one another (27, 28 axially abutting, fig 2), each seal of the plurality of third annular seals comprising a metal support ring (27 has metal support ring 38, and 28 has metal support ring 39, fig 2), wherein the metal support ring is in direct contact with a base of a neighboring third annular seal of the plurality of third annular seals (39 contacts the base of neighboring third annular seal 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the third annular seal of Pagan to have a plurality as in Delaby with a reasonable expectation of success so that the plurality of third annular seals provide dynamic sealing function with the shaft (Delaby Para 0055).
The combination of Pagan and Delaby discloses wherein at least one seal of the plurality of third annular seals is disposed axially adjacent to the spacer (as shown in examiner annotated Pagan fig 2 below), wherein at least one seal of the plurality of third annular seals comprises a base, an inner sealing leg, and an outer sealing leg (as shown in examiner annotated Pagan fig 2 below), wherein the inner sealing leg of the second annular seal and the inner sealing leg of at least one seal of the plurality of third annular seals both protrude in a first axial direction (as shown in examiner annotated Pagan fig 2 below).
Pagan does not disclose a sealing ring disposed in a cavity formed in the body and on an opposing side of the body from the sealing leg.
However, Binder teaches a sealing ring disposed in a cavity formed in the body (64 in cavity of ring 66 as seen in examiner annotated fig 3 below) and on an opposing side of the body from the sealing leg (64 on opposite side from the sealing leg and flange of 66, as seen in examiner annotated fig 3 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the sealing ring of Binder in the body of the second annular seal of Pagan with a reasonable expectation of success to center the seal body with respect to the seal gland (Binder Col 7 Lines 49 – 51).
Pagan does not disclose a solid spacer disposed axially adjacent to the at least one second annular seal.
However, Suebert teaches a solid spacer (26 is solid, fig 1) disposed axially adjacent to the at least one second annular seal (26 axially adjacent to 15, fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to replace the spacer of Pagan with that of Suebert with a reasonable expectation of success so that the spacer is solid and provides stability to the seal assembly.
Regarding claim 2, Pagan discloses an annular seal stack assembly, comprising: at least one second annular seal (as shown in examiner annotated fig 2 above) comprising a body and an inner sealing leg extending at an angle from the body (as shown in examiner annotated fig 2 above), wherein the inner sealing leg forms a second cavity in the body ( second cavity is the cavity between the body and the inner sealing leg of the second annular seal as shown in examiner annotated fig 2 above), wherein an axial end of the inner sealing leg forms a radially innermost portion of the second annular seal (as shown in examiner annotated fig 2 above), wherein the second annular seal is disposed towards a lower end of the stack (as shown in examiner annotated fig 2 above).
Pagan does not disclose
a plurality of third annular seals axially abutting one another, each seal of the plurality of third annular seals comprising a metal support ring, wherein the metal support ring is in direct contact with a neighboring third annular seal of the plurality of third annular seals.
However, Delaby teaches
a plurality of third annular seals axially abutting one another (27, 28 axially abutting, fig 2), each seal of the plurality of third annular seals comprising a metal support ring (27 has metal support ring 38, and 28 has metal support ring 39, fig 2), wherein the metal support ring is in direct contact with a base of a neighboring third annular seal of the plurality of third annular seals (39 contacts the base of neighboring third annular seal 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the third annular seal of Pagan to have a plurality as in Delaby so that the plurality of third annular seals provide dynamic sealing function with the shaft (Delaby Para 0055).
The combination of Pagan and Delaby discloses
wherein at least one seal of the plurality of third annular seals is disposed at the lower end of the seal stack assembly (third annular seal at the left side of seal stack as shown in examiner annotated Pagan fig 2 above), wherein at least one seal of the plurality of third annular seal comprises a base, an inner sealing leg, and an outer sealing leg (as shown in examiner annotated Pagan fig 2 above), wherein the inner sealing leg of the second annular seal and the inner sealing leg of each of the third annular seal both protrude in a first axial direction (as shown in examiner annotated Pagan fig 2 above).
Pagan does not disclose a sealing ring disposed in a cavity formed in the body and on an opposing side of the body from the sealing leg.
However, Binder teaches a sealing ring disposed in a cavity formed in the body (64 in cavity of ring 66, fig 3) and on an opposing side of the body from the sealing leg (64 on opposite side from the sealing leg and flange of 66, fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the sealing ring of Binder in the body of the second annular seal of Pagan to center the seal body with respect to the seal gland (Binder Col 7 Lines 49 – 51).
Pagan does not disclose a solid spacer disposed towards a lower end of the seal stack with respect to the at least one second annular seal.
However, Suebert teaches a solid spacer (21 is solid) disposed towards a lower end of the seal stack with respect to the at least one second annular seal (spacer 21 towards lower end of seal stack).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to replace the spacer of Pagan with that of Suebert with a reasonable expectation of success so that the spacer is solid and provides stability to the seal assembly.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Pagan, Delaby, Binder and Suebert discloses the seal stack assembly, wherein the seal stack assembly is configured to provide a seal between a housing and a shaft of an assembly (intended use limitation, Pagan seal between housing and shaft).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Pagan, Delaby, Binder and Suebert discloses the seal stack assembly, wherein a cavity is formed between the housing and the shaft of the assembly (Pagan cavity between housing and shaft).
Regarding claim 5, Pagan discloses an assembly (as shown in examiner annotated Pagan fig 2 above), comprising: a housing (Pagan 9, fig 1 same as fig 2); a shaft (Pagan 1) disposed within the housing (Pagan 9); a cavity formed between the housing and the shaft (Pagan cavity between 9 and 1); and an annular seal stack assembly disposed in the cavity (Pagan seal assembly in the cavity as shown in examiner annotated fig 2 above) and annularly about the shaft (as shown in examiner annotated Pagan fig 2 above), wherein the annular seal stack is configured to provide a seal between the housing and the shaft (as shown in examiner annotated Pagan fig 2 above), the seal stack assembly comprising: at least one second annular seal (as shown in examiner annotated Pagan fig 2 above) comprising a body and an inner sealing leg extending at an angle from the body (as shown in examiner annotated Pagan fig 2 above);
wherein the inner sealing leg forms a second cavity in the body ( second cavity is the cavity between the body and the inner sealing leg of the second annular seal as shown in examiner annotated fig 2 above), wherein an axial end of the inner sealing leg forms a radially innermost portion of the second annular seal (as shown in examiner annotated fig 2 above),
Pagan does not disclose
a plurality of third annular seals axially abutting one another, each seal of the plurality of third annular seals comprising a metal support ring, wherein the metal support ring is in direct contact with at least two of the base, the inner sealing leg, or the outer sealing leg of a neighboring third annular seal of the plurality of third annular seals.
However, Delaby teaches
a plurality of third annular seals axially abutting one another (27, 28 axially abutting, fig 2), each seal of the plurality of third annular seals comprising a metal support ring (27 has metal support ring 38, and 28 has metal support ring 39, fig 2), wherein the metal support ring is in direct contact with at least two of the base, the inner sealing leg, or the outer sealing leg of a neighboring third annular seal of the plurality of third annular seals (39 contacts inner sealing leg and base of neighboring third annular seal 28, fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the third annular seal of Pagan to have a plurality as in Delaby so that the plurality of third annular seals provide dynamic sealing function with the shaft (Delaby Para 0055).
Pagan does not disclose a sealing ring disposed in a cavity formed in the body and on an opposing side of the body from the sealing leg.
However, Binder teaches a sealing ring disposed in a cavity formed in the body (64 in cavity of ring 66, fig 3) and on an opposing side of the body from the sealing leg (64 on opposite side from the sealing leg and flange of 66, fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the sealing ring of Binder in the body of the second annular seal of Pagan to center the seal body with respect to the seal gland (Binder Col 7 Lines 49 – 51).
Pagan does not disclose a solid spacer disposed axially adjacent to the at least one second annular seal.
However, Suebert teaches a solid spacer (26 is solid, fig 1) disposed axially adjacent to the at least one second annular seal (26 axially adjacent to 15, fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to replace the spacer of Pagan with that of Suebert with a reasonable expectation of success so that the spacer is solid and provides stability to the seal assembly.
The combination of Pagan, Delaby, Binder and Suebert discloses
wherein at least one seal of the plurality of third annular seals is disposed axially adjacent to the spacer (Pagan third annular seals axially adjacent to Suebert spacer), wherein each of the third annular seals comprises a base, an inner sealing leg, and an outer sealing leg, wherein the inner sealing leg of the second annular seal and the inner sealing leg of at least one seal of the plurality of third annular seals both protrude in a first axial direction (as shown in examiner annotated Pagan fig 2 above).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Pagan, Delaby, Binder and Suebert discloses the assembly, wherein the cavity comprises a first portion (Pagan portion of cavity with second annular seal) and a second portion (Pagan portion of cavity with third annular seal).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Pagan, Delaby, Binder and Suebert discloses the seal stack assembly, further comprising: an energizing spring (Pagan 33) in contact with the inner sealing leg of at least one of the plurality of third annular seals (Pagan 33 contacts inner sealing leg of third annular seal as shown in examiner annotated Pagan fig 2 above).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Pagan, Delaby, Binder and Suebert discloses the seal stack assembly, wherein the second annular seal is disposed in the first portion of the cavity of the assembly (as shown in examiner annotated Pagan fig 2 above).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Pagan, Delaby, Binder and Suebert discloses the seal stack assembly, wherein the second annular seal is oriented in the cavity such that the inner sealing leg extends from the body inwardly at an angle towards the shaft and in the direction of the spacer (as shown in examiner annotated Pagan fig 2 above).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Pagan, Delaby, Binder and Suebert discloses the seal stack assembly, wherein the second annular seal is oriented such that the sealing ring is in contact with and forms an annular seal with the housing of the assembly (second annular seal in contact with housing 9 as shown in examiner annotated Pagan fig 2 above).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Pagan, Delaby, Binder and Suebert discloses the seal stack assembly, wherein the sealing ring comprises an O-ring, an energizing spring, or a spring energized seal (Pagan spring 33 in the second annular seal).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Pagan, Delaby, Binder and Suebert discloses the seal stack assembly.
Pagan does not disclose wherein the seal stack assembly comprises a plurality of second annular seals.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to comprise a plurality of second annular seals, as it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, to provide better sealing against the shaft. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. See also, MPEP § 2144.05 which states: In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Pagan, Delaby, Binder and Suebert discloses the seal stack assembly, wherein the second annular seal comprises a main body portion comprising the body, the inner sealing leg (as shown in examiner annotated Pagan fig 2 above), and are formed from a thermoset, thermoplastic, or a combination thereof (Pagan Col 2, lines 33 – 37).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Pagan, Delaby, Binder and Suebert discloses the seal stack assembly, wherein the spacer comprises a substantially uniform inner diameter and a substantially uniform outer diameter, a plurality of annular seals, other annular components, or a combination thereof (spacer is a hollow component with uniform inner and outer diameters as shown in examiner annotated Pagan fig 2 above).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Pagan, Delaby, Binder and Suebert discloses the seal stack assembly, wherein the metal support ring on at least one seal of the plurality of third annular seals is in contact with the base, of at least one neighboring seal of the plurality of third annular seals (Delaby 39 contacts base 28b, fig 2).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Pagan, Delaby, Binder and Suebert discloses the seal stack assembly, wherein the seal stack assembly operates below about 15 degrees Celsius (Pagan seal configured to operating below about 5 degrees Celsius).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Pagan, Delaby, Binder and Suebert discloses the seal stack assembly, wherein the seal stack assembly operates below about -150 degrees Celsius (Pagan seal configured to operating below about -150 degrees Celsius).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Pagan, Delaby, Binder and Suebert discloses the seal stack assembly, wherein the seal stack assembly operates below about -240 degrees Celsius (Pagan seal configured to operating below about -240 degrees Celsius).
Claims 18 - 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pagan in view of Delaby and Binder and Suebert and in further view of Schroeder (U.S. PG Pub # 20020153664).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Pagan, Delaby, Binder and Suebert discloses the seal stack assembly.
Pagan does not disclose the energizing spring is in contact with the metal support ring.
However, Schroeder teaches the energizing spring is in contact with the metal support ring (114 between inner leg and 118, fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the support ring and spring of Schroeder in the body of the third annular seal of Pagan so that the spring provides force to the sealing lip and support ring provides retention of the spring within the seal.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Pagan, Delaby, Binder, Suebert and Schroeder discloses the seal stack assembly, wherein the metal support ring comprises a substantially L-shaped, a substantially U-shaped, or a substantially rectangular component (Schroeder 118 is substantially L-shaped, fig 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/L. SUSMITHA KONERU/Examiner, Art Unit 3675