DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 14, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 5-20, and 22-24 remain pending in the application. Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from consideration. Claims 2-4 and 21 have been cancelled. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed October 21, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7-8, 11-12, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toro et al. (US 20160151561) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20120238991) in further view of Kneip et al. (USPN 8330579) further in view of Lurvey et al. (US 20060224128).
Regarding claim 1, Toro discloses a pump cassette (cassette 100) for fluid delivery, the pump cassette comprising:
a housing (cassette body 110) dimensioned to engage with an infusion pump (infusion pump system 10; Figure 1A; “FIG. 1A illustrates an example of an infusion pump system. In accordance with certain embodiments, infusion pump system 10 may include one or more cassette recesses and disposable IV pump cassettes (e.g., cassette recesses 200, 400, 600 and cassettes 100, 300, and 500). For example, cassette recess 200 may be configured to receive cassette 100 and provide various mechanical couplings and operational interfaces (e.g., fittings, motor, gearing, driveshaft, sensors, etc.)” [0065]);
a fluid path within the housing (“membrane 117 can be a compliant material co-molded to the frame portion 116 and sealingly engaged with base portion 119 for defining a fluid pathway through cassette body 110 from inlet 112 to outlet 114.” [0086]), the fluid path configured to receive fluid from a fluid source and to deliver the fluid to tubing of an infusion line (“syringe or other fluid source 52 may be fluidly connected to inlet 112 of cassette 100, and outlet 114 of cassette 100 may be fluidly connected to a patient 54 as shown in the examples of FIGS. 1A and 1B.” [0067]); and
a flow stop valve (flow stop valve 164 controlled by slider 170) configurable to stop the fluid from flowing from the pump cassette to the tubing of the infusion line (“When the slider 170 is positioned in the first position, the portion of interface-facing slider section 176 contacts and activates flow stop valve 164 such that fluid flow is occluded at that position of the fluid pathway proximal to outlet 114 cassette body 110.” [0111]).
Toro fails to explicitly disclose a radio frequency identification tag embedded in the flow stop valve, the radio frequency identification tag being surrounded by molding material of the flow stop valve, the radio frequency identification tag comprising an antenna, wherein the antenna of the radio frequency identification tag is configured to align with an antenna of a radio frequency identification reader when the pump cassette is loaded in the infusion pump and the housing of the pump cassette is engaged with the infusion pump.
Zhang discloses a pump cassette for fluid delivery (Figure 1c), the pump cassette comprising a fluid path (via flexible tube 21); a flow stop valve (pump activated pinch clamp 20) configurable to stop the fluid from flowing (“pump activated pinch clamp 20, 20' for allowing or preventing flow of a fluid in flexible tube 21” [0044]); and a radio frequency identification tag (information containing structure 246; “information containing structure 246, such as a bar code or a memory containing device, such as an RFID tag or a USB device, is attached to the pump activated pinch clamp” [0072]) attached to the flow stop valve (Figure 1d).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pump cassette of Toro to include a radio frequency identification tag attached to the flow stop valve based on the teachings of Zhang to provide an identifier specific for the pump cassette that allows the infusion pump to automatically set pump parameters, such as dosage and dosage rate, based on the specific pump cassette attached (Zhang [0072]).
Modified Toro in view of Zhang fails to explicitly disclose the radio frequency identification tag embedded in the flow stop valve, the radio frequency identification tag being surrounded by molding material of the flow stop valve, the radio frequency identification tag comprising an antenna, wherein the antenna of the radio frequency identification tag is configured to align with an antenna of a radio frequency identification reader when the pump cassette is loaded in the infusion pump and the housing of the pump cassette is engaged with the infusion pump.
Kneip teaches a pump cassette (disposable set 30) comprising a radiofrequency identification tag (RFID 210) embedded in a component of the pump cassette (“RFID tag 210 could be… embedded into handle 204 or other desirable portion of RFID housing 200.” [Col 8, lines 19-21]), the radio frequency identification tag being surrounded by molding material (“Referring to FIG. 4, an embodiment of RFID housing 200 having RFID tag 210 is illustrated. RFID housing 200, includes a body 202 and handle 204. Suitable materials for body 202 and handle 204 include plastic, such as injection molded ABS, Delrin.RTM., Noryl.RTM., polycarbonate or other suitable medical grade plastic.” [Col 7, lines 60-65]) of the component (“RFID tag 210 could be… embedded into handle 204 or other desirable portion of RFID housing 200. With RFID tag 210 embedded into RFID housing 200, housing 200 can be sterilized via steam or ethylene oxide ("EtO") gas sterilization, for example. Embedding RFID tag 210 into body 202 or otherwise encapsulating RFID tag 210 also helps to protect RFID tag 210.” [Col 8, lines 19-25]; Figure 4 showing the RFID tag 210 surrounded by the molding material of the body 202).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the pump cassette of Toro in view of Zhang to include the radio frequency identification tag, as provided by Zhang, is embedded in and surrounded by molding material of the flow stop valve of the pump cassette based on the teachings of Kneip to protect the radiofrequency identification tag and allow the pump cassette to be steam or gas sterilized (Kneip [Col 8, lines 19-25]).
Modified Toro fails to explicitly teach the radio frequency identification tag comprising an antenna, wherein the antenna of the radio frequency identification tag is configured to align with an antenna of a radio frequency identification reader when the pump cassette is loaded in the infusion pump and the housing of the pump cassette is engaged with the infusion pump.
Lurvey teaches a pump cassette (infusion set 12) comprising: a housing (structure of infusion set 12) dimensioned to engage with an infusion pump (infusion device 14; “Infusion device 14 further includes a port 15 for receiving slide clamp 26.” [0056]; Figure 1); a fluid path (along infusate tube 24) within the housing (Figure 1), a flow stop valve (slide clamp 26), and a radio frequency identification tag (RFID tag 96) embedded in the flow stop valve (“The chipless RFID tag may include antennae printed on a surface of the slide clamp or embedded in the slide clamp interior.” [0099]; Figure 14), the radio frequency identification tag comprising an antenna (“RFID tag 96 may include an antenna, circuitry for processing RF signals, a microprocessor, memory, and, optionally, a power supply.” [0099]), wherein the antenna is configured to align with an antenna of a radio frequency identification reader (“the RF detector is an RF interrogator 102 as shown in FIG. 14. RF interrogator 102 typically includes an antenna, a transceiver for transmitting an interrogation signal to and receiving a response signal from the RFID tag, and a decoder for reading the encoded information in the signal from the RFID tag.” [0102]) when the pump cassette is loaded in the infusion pump and the housing of the pump cassette is engaged with the infusion pump (“detection device 16 may be a component of infusion device 14 as shown in phantom in FIG. 1. In this arrangement, detection device 16 is preferably located proximate to port 15 and adapted to detect signaling component 38 when slide clamp 26 is secured in port 15” [0114]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the pump cassette of Toro to include that the radio frequency identification tag, provided by Zhang, comprises an antenna that is configured to align with an antenna of a radio frequency identification reader when the pump cassette is loaded in the infusion pump and the housing of the pump cassette is engaged with the infusion pump based on the teachings of Lurvey to allow the radio frequency identification tag of the pump cassette to communicate with the infusion pump when the cassette is loaded into the infusion pump (Lurvey [0114], Figures 1 and 14).
Regarding claim 5, modified Toro teaches the pump cassette of Claim 1.
Modified Toro fails to explicitly teach wherein the radio frequency identification tag stores an identifier uniquely identifying the pump cassette.
Zhang discloses a pump cassette for fluid delivery (Figure 1c), the pump cassette comprising a radio frequency identification tag (information containing structure 246; “information containing structure 246, such as a bar code or a memory containing device, such as an RFID tag or a USB device, is attached to the pump activated pinch clamp” [0072]) attached to the flow stop valve (Figure 1d), wherein the radio frequency identification tag stores an identifier uniquely identifying the pump cassette (“The pharmacist can provide the bar code or memory containing device with information about the patient and about the container that the tubing and the pump activated pinch clamp are connected to. The information may include drug name, dose, dose rate, name of patient, patient ID number, and other pharmacist notes…A reader mounted on the pump may be connected to read this information from the memory containing device…a microprocessor in the pump is connected to use the information received by the reader to automatically set pump parameters, including dose and dose rate.” [0072]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the pump cassette of Toro to include the radio frequency identification tag, as provided by Zhang, stores an identifier uniquely identifying the pump cassette based on the teachings of Zhang to provide an identifier specific for the pump cassette that allows the infusion pump to automatically set pump parameters, such as dosage and dosage rate, based on the specific pump cassette attached (Zhang [0072]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Toro teaches the pump cassette of Claim 1.
Modified Toro fails to explicitly teach wherein the radio frequency identification tag stores cassette usage information.
Zhang discloses a pump cassette for fluid delivery (Figure 1c), the pump cassette comprising a radio frequency identification tag (information containing structure 246; “information containing structure 246, such as a bar code or a memory containing device, such as an RFID tag or a USB device, is attached to the pump activated pinch clamp” [0072]) attached to the flow stop valve (Figure 1d), wherein the radio frequency identification tag stores cassette usage information (“The pharmacist can provide the bar code or memory containing device with information about the patient and about the container that the tubing and the pump activated pinch clamp are connected to. The information may include drug name, dose, dose rate, name of patient, patient ID number, and other pharmacist notes…A reader mounted on the pump may be connected to read this information from the memory containing device…a microprocessor in the pump is connected to use the information received by the reader to automatically set pump parameters, including dose and dose rate.” [0072]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the pump cassette of Toro to include the radio frequency identification tag, as provided by Zhang, stores cassette usage information based on the teachings of Zhang to provide an identifier specific for the pump cassette that allows the infusion pump to automatically set pump parameters, such as dosage and dosage rate, based on the specific pump cassette attached (Zhang [0072]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Toro teaches the pump cassette of Claim 1.
Modified Toro fails to explicitly teach the radio frequency identification tag stores information identifying one or more pump cassette parameters.
Zhang discloses a pump cassette for fluid delivery (Figure 1c), the pump cassette comprising a radio frequency identification tag (information containing structure 246; “information containing structure 246, such as a bar code or a memory containing device, such as an RFID tag or a USB device, is attached to the pump activated pinch clamp” [0072]) attached to the flow stop valve (Figure 1d), wherein the radio frequency identification tag stores information identifying one or more pump cassette parameters (“The pharmacist can provide the bar code or memory containing device with information about the patient and about the container that the tubing and the pump activated pinch clamp are connected to. The information may include drug name, dose, dose rate, name of patient, patient ID number, and other pharmacist notes…A reader mounted on the pump may be connected to read this information from the memory containing device…a microprocessor in the pump is connected to use the information received by the reader to automatically set pump parameters, including dose and dose rate.” [0072]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the pump cassette of Toro to include the radio frequency identification tag, as provided by Zhang, stores information identifying one or more pump cassette parameters based on the teachings of Zhang to provide an identifier specific for the pump cassette that allows the infusion pump to automatically set pump parameters, such as dosage and dosage rate, based on the specific pump cassette attached (Zhang [0072]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Toro teaches the pump cassette of Claim 1, wherein the fluid path (“membrane 117 can be a compliant material co-molded to the frame portion 116 and sealingly engaged with base portion 119 for defining a fluid pathway through cassette body 110 from inlet 112 to outlet 114.” [0086]) is U-shaped (Figure 3A, U-shaped at least at middle of membrane 117 between upstream pressure dome 132 and downstream pressure dome 134).
Regarding claim 12, modified Toro teaches the pump cassette of Claim 1, wherein the pump cassette (cassette 100) is configured to deliver a set volume of the fluid with each pumping cycle (“piston 145 resides and moves within a rigid bore and allows a seal that permits fluid to be drawn into the pump chamber via pump chamber opening/access 125 on the fill cycle and expelled on the delivery cycle.” [0092]; “piston pump techniques can provide repeatedly precise positive displacement of fluid in the pump chamber.” [0097]).
Regarding claim 24, modified Toro teaches the pump cassette of Claim 1.
Modified Toro fails to explicitly teach the radio frequency identification tag stores control information related to an infusion set that includes the pump cassette and the tubing of the infusion line.
Zhang discloses a pump cassette for fluid delivery (Figure 1c), the pump cassette comprising a radio frequency identification tag (information containing structure 246; “information containing structure 246, such as a bar code or a memory containing device, such as an RFID tag or a USB device, is attached to the pump activated pinch clamp” [0072]) attached to the flow stop valve (Figure 1d), wherein the radio frequency identification tag stores control information related to an infusion set that includes the pump cassette and the tubing of the infusion line (“The pharmacist can provide the bar code or memory containing device with information about the patient and about the container that the tubing and the pump activated pinch clamp are connected to. The information may include drug name, dose, dose rate, name of patient, patient ID number, and other pharmacist notes…A reader mounted on the pump may be connected to read this information from the memory containing device…a microprocessor in the pump is connected to use the information received by the reader to automatically set pump parameters, including dose and dose rate.” [0072]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the pump cassette of Toro to include the radio frequency identification tag, as provided by Zhang, stores control information related to an infusion set that includes the pump cassette and the tubing of the infusion line based on the teachings of Zhang to provide an identifier specific for the pump cassette that allows the infusion pump to automatically set pump parameters, such as dosage and dosage rate, based on the specific pump cassette attached (Zhang [0072]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toro et al. (US 20160151561) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20120238991) in further view of Kneip et al. (USPN 8330579) further in view of Lurvey et al. (US 20060224128) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Tieck et al. (US 20160015957).
Regarding claim 6, modified Toro teaches the pump cassette of Claim 1.
Modified Toro fails to explicitly teach the radio frequency identification tag stores pairing information for wireless communication with a light set.
Tieck teaches a pump cassette (connection interface 40) comprising a radiofrequency identification tag (element 42; “element 42 represents one or more RFID tags carried by the cap 4” [0598]) on a component (cap 4) of the pump cassette (Figure 1); wherein the radio frequency identification tag stores pairing information for wireless communication with a light set (“the RF detectable feature 42 includes a passive (or active) RFID chip or other RF detectable feature that is provided with a serial number or other code (unique or not unique among other reservoirs 1). In such embodiments, when the reservoir 1 (or base/reservoir/cap unit) is initially installed in the infusion pump device 30 (or other suitable delivery device), or at a particular time after installation, electronics (such as electronics 60 in FIG. 5) reads the serial number or code…the processing electronics may be configured to perform a predefined action in response to a determination that the serial number or code read from the reservoir 1 matches a pre-stored serial number or code (for a previously-used reservoir 1), including…providing an alarm or control signals” [0639]; “The alarm display device may include any suitable indicator such as, but is not limited to one or more of: a light emitting device, LED, LCD” [0505]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the pump cassette of Toro to include that the radio frequency identification tag, as provided by Zhang, stores pairing information for wireless communication with a light set based on the teachings of Tieck to visually alert the user that cassette has been previously used (Tieck [0505], [0639]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toro et al. (US 20160151561) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20120238991) in further view of Kneip et al. (USPN 8330579) further in view of Lurvey et al. (US 20060224128) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pastrone et al. (USPN 5431627).
Regarding claim 9, modified Toro teaches the pump cassette of Claim 1, wherein the fluid path comprises a pumping chamber (“the pump chamber may be defined by a portion of the piston guide 143 or casing distal from the pump drive interface 142 that is adjacent to and fluidly coupled with a tract or section of the fluid pathway between inlet-side valve 122 and outlet-side valve 124.” [0092]).
Modified Toro fails to explicitly teach the fluid path comprises an air trap.
Pastrone teaches a pump cassette (cassette 30) for fluid delivery comprising a fluid path (Figure 2B) comprising an air trap (air trap 31).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the pump cassette of Toro to include that the fluid path comprises an air trap based on the teachings of Pastrone to monitor and prevent air bubbles from entering the fluid outlet (Pastrone [Col 6, lines 45-68]; Figure 2).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toro et al. (US 20160151561) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20120238991) in further view of Kneip et al. (USPN 8330579) further in view of Lurvey et al. (US 20060224128) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Day et al. (US 20160256622).
Regarding claim 10, modified Toro teaches the pump cassette of Claim 1.
Modified Toro fails to explicitly teach the pump cassette is configured to independently control pumping for a primary infusion and a secondary infusion.
Day teaches a pump cassette (“As seen in FIG. 6, the cassette kit includes a cassette” [0126]) for fluid delivery, wherein the pump cassette is configured to independently control pumping for a primary infusion (via primary line; “As seen in FIG. 6, the cassette kit includes a cassette connected to a convertible piercing pin with drip chamber via a primary line” [0126]) and a secondary infusion (via secondary line; “The cassette in FIG. 6 also includes a secondary inlet port at which a secondary line may be connected.” [0126]; “multi-channel infusion devices may include both a primary and a secondary line. A caregiver may program the infusion device to deliver a primary infusion via either the primary or the secondary line. When an infusion device has been programmed with a primary infusion, the caregiver may program the other line (either the primary line or the secondary line) to deliver a secondary infusion. The secondary infusion may be a concurrent infusion or a piggyback infusion. A concurrent infusion refers to simultaneous delivery from two delivery sources and independent infusion rates. Piggyback infusion refers to infusion that will stop infusion on one line, complete infusion on another line, and then restart infusion on the stopped line.” [0109]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pump cassette of Toro to be configured to independently control pumping for a primary infusion and a secondary infusion based on the teachings of Day to allow for the delivery of multiple fluids to the patient either simultaneously or sequentially in order to provide the necessary care (Day [0109]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toro et al. (US 20160151561) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20120238991), Kneip et al. (USPN 8330579), Lurvey et al. (US 20060224128), and Pastrone et al. (USPN 5431627) as applied in claim 9 above, and further in view of Day et al. (US 20160256622).
Regarding claim 22, modified Toro teaches the pump cassette of Claim 9, wherein the fluid path (“membrane 117 can be a compliant material co-molded to the frame portion 116 and sealingly engaged with base portion 119 for defining a fluid pathway through cassette body 110 from inlet 112 to outlet 114.” [0086]) is U-shaped (Figure 3A, U-shaped at least at middle of membrane 117 between upstream pressure dome 132 and downstream pressure dome 134).
Modified Toro fails to explicitly teach a primary port and a secondary port, and wherein the pump cassette is configured to independently control pumping to the primary port and the secondary port.
Day teaches a pump cassette (“As seen in FIG. 6, the cassette kit includes a cassette” [0126]) for fluid delivery, wherein the pump cassette comprises a primary port (via primary line; “As seen in FIG. 6, the cassette kit includes a cassette connected to a convertible piercing pin with drip chamber via a primary line” [0126]) and a secondary port (“The cassette in FIG. 6 also includes a secondary inlet port at which a secondary line may be connected.” [0126]), and wherein the pump cassette is configured to independently control pumping to the primary port and the secondary port (“multi-channel infusion devices may include both a primary and a secondary line. A caregiver may program the infusion device to deliver a primary infusion via either the primary or the secondary line. When an infusion device has been programmed with a primary infusion, the caregiver may program the other line (either the primary line or the secondary line) to deliver a secondary infusion. The secondary infusion may be a concurrent infusion or a piggyback infusion. A concurrent infusion refers to simultaneous delivery from two delivery sources and independent infusion rates. Piggyback infusion refers to infusion that will stop infusion on one line, complete infusion on another line, and then restart infusion on the stopped line.” [0109]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pump cassette of Toro include a primary port and a secondary port, and wherein the pump cassette is configured to independently control pumping to the primary port and the secondary port based on the teachings of Day to allow for the delivery of multiple fluids to the patient either simultaneously or sequentially in order to provide the necessary care (Day [0109]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toro et al. (US 20160151561) in view of Pastrone et al. (USPN 5431627) in further view of Zhang et al. (US 20120238991) in further view of Kneip et al. (USPN 8330579) and in further in view of Lurvey et al. (US 20060224128).
Regarding claim 23, Toro discloses a pump cassette (cassette 100) for fluid delivery, the pump cassette comprising:
a housing (cassette body 110) dimensioned to engage with an infusion pump (infusion pump system 10; Figure 1A; “FIG. 1A illustrates an example of an infusion pump system. In accordance with certain embodiments, infusion pump system 10 may include one or more cassette recesses and disposable IV pump cassettes (e.g., cassette recesses 200, 400, 600 and cassettes 100, 300, and 500). For example, cassette recess 200 may be configured to receive cassette 100 and provide various mechanical couplings and operational interfaces (e.g., fittings, motor, gearing, driveshaft, sensors, etc.)” [0065]);
a fluid path within the housing (“membrane 117 can be a compliant material co-molded to the frame portion 116 and sealingly engaged with base portion 119 for defining a fluid pathway through cassette body 110 from inlet 112 to outlet 114.” [0086]), the fluid path comprising a pumping chamber (“the pump chamber may be defined by a portion of the piston guide 143 or casing distal from the pump drive interface 142 that is adjacent to and fluidly coupled with a tract or section of the fluid pathway between inlet-side valve 122 and outlet-side valve 124.” [0092]), the fluid path configured to receive fluid from a fluid source and to deliver the fluid to tubing of an infusion line (“syringe or other fluid source 52 may be fluidly connected to inlet 112 of cassette 100, and outlet 114 of cassette 100 may be fluidly connected to a patient 54 as shown in the examples of FIGS. 1A and 1B.” [0067]); and
a flow stop valve (flow stop valve 164 controlled by slider 170) configurable to stop the fluid from flowing from the pump cassette to the tubing of the infusion line (“When the slider 170 is positioned in the first position, the portion of interface-facing slider section 176 contacts and activates flow stop valve 164 such that fluid flow is occluded at that position of the fluid pathway proximal to outlet 114 cassette body 110.” [0111]).
Toro fails to explicitly disclose the fluid path comprising an air trap; and a radio frequency identification tag embedded in the flow stop valve, the radio frequency identification tag being surrounded by molding material of the flow stop valve, wherein an antenna of the radio frequency identification tag is configured to align with an antenna of a radio frequency identification reader when the pump cassette is loaded in the infusion pump.
Pastrone teaches a pump cassette (cassette 30) for fluid delivery comprising a fluid path (Figure 2B) comprising an air trap (air trap 31).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pump cassette of Toro to include that the fluid path comprises an air trap based on the teachings of Pastrone to monitor and prevent air bubbles from entering the fluid outlet (Pastrone [Col 6, lines 45-68]; Figure 2).
Toro fails to explicitly disclose a radio frequency identification tag embedded in the flow stop valve, the radio frequency identification tag being surrounded by molding material of the flow stop valve, wherein an antenna of the radio frequency identification tag is configured to align with an antenna of a radio frequency identification reader when the pump cassette is loaded in the infusion pump.
Zhang discloses a pump cassette for fluid delivery (Figure 1c), the pump cassette comprising a fluid path (via flexible tube 21); a flow stop valve (pump activated pinch clamp 20) configurable to stop the fluid from flowing (“pump activated pinch clamp 20, 20' for allowing or preventing flow of a fluid in flexible tube 21” [0044]); and a radio frequency identification tag (information containing structure 246; “information containing structure 246, such as a bar code or a memory containing device, such as an RFID tag or a USB device, is attached to the pump activated pinch clamp” [0072]) attached to the flow stop valve (Figure 1d).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pump cassette of Toro to include a radio frequency identification tag attached to the flow stop valve based on the teachings of Zhang to provide an identifier specific for the pump cassette that allows the infusion pump to automatically set pump parameters, such as dosage and dosage rate, based on the specific pump cassette attached (Zhang [0072]).
Modified Toro in view of Zhang fails to explicitly disclose the radio frequency identification tag embedded in the flow stop valve, the radio frequency identification tag being surrounded by molding material of the flow stop valve, wherein an antenna of the radio frequency identification tag is configured to align with an antenna of a radio frequency identification reader when the pump cassette is loaded in the infusion pump.
Kneip teaches a pump cassette (disposable set 30) comprising a radiofrequency identification tag (RFID 210) embedded in a component of the pump cassette (“RFID tag 210 could be… embedded into handle 204 or other desirable portion of RFID housing 200.” [Col 8, lines 19-21]), the radio frequency identification tag being surrounded by molding material (“Referring to FIG. 4, an embodiment of RFID housing 200 having RFID tag 210 is illustrated. RFID housing 200, includes a body 202 and handle 204. Suitable materials for body 202 and handle 204 include plastic, such as injection molded ABS, Delrin.RTM., Noryl.RTM., polycarbonate or other suitable medical grade plastic.” [Col 7, lines 60-65]) of the component (“RFID tag 210 could be… embedded into handle 204 or other desirable portion of RFID housing 200. With RFID tag 210 embedded into RFID housing 200, housing 200 can be sterilized via steam or ethylene oxide ("EtO") gas sterilization, for example. Embedding RFID tag 210 into body 202 or otherwise encapsulating RFID tag 210 also helps to protect RFID tag 210.” [Col 8, lines 19-25]; Figure 4 showing the RFID tag 210 surrounded by the molding material of the body 202).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the pump cassette of Toro in view of Zhang to include the radio frequency identification tag, as provided by Zhang, is embedded in and surrounded by molding material of the flow stop valve of the pump cassette based on the teachings of Kneip to protect the radiofrequency identification tag and allow the pump cassette to be steam or gas sterilized (Kneip [Col 8, lines 19-25]).
Modified Toro fails to explicitly teach wherein an antenna of the radio frequency identification tag is configured to align with an antenna of a radio frequency identification reader when the pump cassette is loaded in the infusion pump.
Lurvey teaches a pump cassette (infusion set 12) comprising: a fluid path (along infusate tube 24), a flow stop valve (slide clamp 26), and a radio frequency identification tag (RFID tag 96) embedded in the flow stop valve (“The chipless RFID tag may include antennae printed on a surface of the slide clamp or embedded in the slide clamp interior.” [0099]; Figure 14), radio frequency identification tag comprising an antenna (“RFID tag 96 may include an antenna, circuitry for processing RF signals, a microprocessor, memory, and, optionally, a power supply.” [0099]) configured to align with an antenna of a radio frequency identification reader (“the RF detector is an RF interrogator 102 as shown in FIG. 14. RF interrogator 102 typically includes an antenna, a transceiver for transmitting an interrogation signal to and receiving a response signal from the RFID tag, and a decoder for reading the encoded information in the signal from the RFID tag.” [0102]) when the pump cassette is loaded in the infusion pump (“detection device 16 may be a component of infusion device 14 as shown in phantom in FIG. 1. In this arrangement, detection device 16 is preferably located proximate to port 15 and adapted to detect signaling component 38 when slide clamp 26 is secured in port 15” [0114]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the pump cassette of Toro to include an antenna of the radio frequency identification tag, provided by Zhang, is configured to align with an antenna of a radio frequency identification reader when the pump cassette is loaded in the infusion pump based on the teachings of Lurvey to allow the radio frequency identification tag of the pump cassette to communicate with the infusion pump when the cassette is loaded into the infusion pump (Lurvey [0114], Figures 1 and 14).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that “Zhang provides no apparent reason to have modified Toro to include a radio frequency identification tag embedded in molding material of a flow stop valve” (Remarks, page 9-10), it is first noted that Zhang was relied upon for a teaching that it would have been obvious to modify the flow stop valve of Toro to include a radio frequency identification tag as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Zhang was not relied upon for a teaching that it would have been obvious for the RFID tag to be embedded in molding material. Though Zhang discloses “a pinch clap 20” rather than explicitly disclosing a “flow stop valve” as claimed, Zhang also disclose that this pinch clamp is part of a pump cassette and functions as a flow stop valve that is configured to stop fluid from flowing from the pump cassette to tubing of the infusion line (“pump activated pinch clamp 20, 20' for allowing or preventing flow of a fluid in flexible tube 21” [0044]). Based on this disclosure of Zhang, it is maintained that one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the pump cassette of Toro to include a radio frequency identification tag attached to the flow stop valve based on the teachings of Zhang to provide an identifier specific for the pump cassette that allows the infusion pump to automatically set pump parameters, such as dosage and dosage rate, based on the specific pump cassette attached (Zhang [0072]).
Regarding the argument Kneip, in combination with Toro and Zhang, does not teach or suggest embedding the RFID in the flow stop valve, the RFID being surrounded by molding material of the flow stop valve (Remarks, page 10), the examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed above, Kneip teaches a pump cassette (30) comprising a radiofrequency identification tag (210) embedded in a component of the pump cassette ([Col 8, lines 19-21]), the radio frequency identification tag being surrounded by molding material of the component ([Col 7, lines 60-65]; [Col 8, lines 19-25]; Figure 4). It is acknowledged that Kneip does not explicitly disclose that the component that the RFID tag is embedded in is a flow stop valve. However, Zhang already discloses that an RFID tag can be attached to a flow stop valve, and Kneip discloses that it is beneficial to have the RFID tag embedded to protect the RFID tag. Based on these disclosures, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to further modify the pump cassette of Toro in view of Zhang to include the radio frequency identification tag, as provided by Zhang, is embedded in and surrounded by molding material of the flow stop valve of the pump cassette based on the teachings of Kneip to protect the radiofrequency identification tag and allow the pump cassette to be steam or gas sterilized (Kneip [Col 8, lines 19-25]).
Regarding the argument that “the cited disclosure of Lurvey relates to a slide clamp that has a distinctly different structure than the cited flow stop of Toro” and “Lurvey does not appear to disclose a pump cassette with a housing that engages with an infusion pump, where there is a fluid path within the housing” and therefore “Lurvey provides no apparent reason to have modified Toro's flow stop valve to include an embedded radio frequency identification tag” (Remarks, page 10-11 and similarly argued with respect to claim 23 on page 11-12), the examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed above with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 23, Lurvey discloses a pump cassette (12) comprising: a housing (structure of 12) dimensioned to engage with an infusion pump (14; [0056]; Figure 1); a fluid path (along 24), a flow stop valve (26), and a radio frequency identification tag (96) embedded in the flow stop valve ([0099]; Figure 14) and comprising an antenna ([0099]) configured to align with an antenna of a radio frequency identification reader ([0102]) when the pump cassette is loaded in the infusion pump and the housing of the pump cassette is engaged with the infusion pump ([0114]). Similar to the disclosure of Zhang discussed above, it is acknowledged that the slide clamp 26 of Lurvey is structurally different than the flow stop valve disclosed by Toro. However, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the slide clamp 26 functions as a flow stop valve that is configured to stop fluid from flowing from the pump cassette to tubing of the infusion line (“Infusion set 12 further includes slide clamp 26 having an aperture 32 adapted to receive infusate tube 24. Aperture 32 includes a wide portion 34 and a narrow portion 36. One of ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that…infusate is prevented from flowing through infusate tube 24 when infusate tube 24 is received in narrow portion 36.” [0059]), and therefore the teachings of Lurvey with respect to the slide clamp 26, such as the RFID tag with an antenna, could be applied to the flow stop valve of Toro. Based on this, it is maintained that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the pump cassette of Toro to include that the radio frequency identification tag, provided by Zhang, comprises an antenna that is configured to align with an antenna of a radio frequency identification reader when the pump cassette is loaded in the infusion pump and the housing of the pump cassette is engaged with the infusion pump based on the teachings of Lurvey to allow the radio frequency identification tag of the pump cassette to communicate with the infusion pump when the cassette is loaded into the infusion pump (Lurvey [0114], Figures 1 and 14).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEAH J SWANSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783