DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/19/2025 with respect to claims 18 – 25, 27 – 30, and 32 - 40 and newly added claims 42 - 49 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Please refer to the following office action, which clearly sets forth the reasons for non-persuasiveness.
Applicant argues that Tremblay fails to teach the electricity must be applied to the distal-most element itself, i.e., to the material which is shaped to provide the optical function that comprises the lens itself and not to some other component or material which may be attached to or embedded in the heatable lens as a heater therefore.
Examiner notes nowhere in the independent claims does it say the electricity is applied to the material [of the lens] itself. In fact the claim recites i.e. “the distal-most element being exposed to an environment around the camera and being heatable upon application of electricity thereto, the distal-most element that is the heatable lens being shaped to provide an optical function for the compound lens”.
Additionally, the examiner has now cited paragraph 0048 of Tremblay to note the idea of “constructions of heater 120 may be utilized, such as small resistive cells adjacent to, touching, embedded within, or otherwise in thermal contact with the front lens element 130”. Hence the idea of electricity is applied to the material [of the lens] itself.
Note, paragraph 0048 of Tremblay along with the examiner remarks below teach the idea of the newly added claims 42 - 49.
Applicant argues that there is no motivation to combine KUYBEDA with Tremblay. Applicant argues that KUYBEDA teaches a window whereas Tremblay teaches a lens and is hence not combinable.
Examiner notes Tremblay teaches most of the limitations of the claims and examiner only uses the idea of multiple pads being connected to a material for heating. Examiner never uses the window of KUYBEDA to teach a limitation in the claims.
In response to Applicant's argument that KUYBEDA cannot be combined with Tremblay because they use different material, it has been held that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of one reference may be bodily incorporated into the other to produce the claimed subject matter but simply what the combination of references makes obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the pertinent art. In re Bozek, 163 USPQ 545 (CCPA 1969).
In response to Applicant's argument that KUYBEDA and Tremblay is non-analogous art, it has been held that the determination that a reference is from a non-analogous art is twofold. First, we decide if the reference is within the field of the inventor's endeavor. If it is not, we proceed to determine whether the reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was involved. In re Wood, 202 USPQ 171, 174. In this case, in at least paragraph 0002 KUYBEDA teaches that using the invention provides infrared camera assemblies for use in automotive safety and driving systems and/or anti-reflective coating allows for improved image capture, thereby improving the system of Tremblay by allowing for a safer and improved system.
In response to Applicant's argument that there is no suggestion to combine the references, the Examiner recognizes that references cannot be arbitrarily combined and that there must be some reason why one skilled in the art would be motivated to make the proposed combination of primary and secondary references. In re Nomiya, 184 USPQ 607 (CCPA 1975). However, there is no requirement that a motivation to make the modification be expressly articulated. The test for combining references is what the combination of disclosures taken as a whole would suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re McLaughlin, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971) references are evaluated by what they suggest to one versed in the art, rather than by their specific disclosures. In re Bozek, 163 USPQ 545 (CCPA 1969). In this case, in at least paragraph 0002 KUYBEDA teaches that using the invention provides infrared camera assemblies for use in automotive safety and driving systems and/or anti-reflective coating allows for improved image capture, thereby improving the system of Tremblay by allowing for a safer and improved system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18 – 25, 28, 32, 40, and 48 - 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tremblay (US PgPub No. 2016/0231527).
Regarding claim 18, Tremblay teaches a camera (figure 1 item 100 and paragraph 0024; infrared imaging device or infrared camera) comprising a light sensor (figure 2 item 216 also paragraph 0039 – 0042; the focal plane array 216 may comprise one or more infrared detectors configured as infrared sensors for capturing infrared image data (e.g., still image data and/or video data) representative of an image) and a compound lens that supplies light to the light sensor (figure 2 items 212 and 130), the compound lens further comprising a distal-most element with respect to the light sensor that is a lens (figure 2 item 130) that is transparent to at least one wavelength of light sensable by the light sensor (paragraphs 0026 and 0043; paragraph 0026 teaches the front lens element 130 makes up a lens element of the imager assembly, and may be constructed of a material, such as germanium, such that the index of refraction for the front lens element 130 varies with temperature and paragraph 0043 teaches infrared radiation detected by the focal plane array 216 may be passed to the focal plane array 216 through one or more lens elements), the distal-most element being exposed to an environment around the camera (paragraph 0026; the front lens element 130 exposed to the external environment) and being heatable upon application of electricity thereto (figure 2 item 120 for heating item 130 wherein the heater 120 may be constructed of a resistive heating element; also paragraph 0048), the distal-most element that is the heatable lens being shaped to provide an optical function for the compound lens (paragraph 0026; The front lens element 130 may therefore correspond to a zoom lens and be included as a part of a zoom system so that focus of the thermal radiation passing through the front lens element 130 is important for the focus of the resulting thermal image data and to prevent degradation of the thermal radiation); wherein the optical function is bending of light (paragraph 0026; The front lens element 130 may therefore correspond to a zoom lens and be included as a part of a zoom system so that focus of the thermal radiation passing through the front lens element 130 is important for the focus of the resulting thermal image data and to prevent degradation of the thermal radiation); and wherein the heatable lens is transparent to long wavelength infrared light (paragraphs 00025 – 0026 and 0040; infrared imaging system wherein the front lens element 130 may therefore correspond to a zoom lens and be included as a part of a zoom system so that focus of the thermal radiation passing through the front lens element 130 is important for the focus of the resulting thermal image data).
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 18, Tremblay teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tremblay teaches wherein the light sensor is an infrared sensor (paragraphs 00025 – 0026 and 0040; infrared imaging system wherein focal plane array 216, which may include a plurality of infrared detectors implemented in an array or other fashion on a substrate configured to accept the focal plane array 216. The infrared detectors may be configured to detect incoming infrared radiation).
Regarding claim 20, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 18, Tremblay teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tremblay teaches at least one other sensor coupled to the distal-most element to detect its present condition (figure 2 item 222 sending signal to and from item 228, paragraphs 0046 and 0070 - 0071; figure 11); and a controller coupled to the other sensor, the controller adapted to control application of electricity to the distal-most element based upon the detected present condition of the distal most element (figure 2 item 222 sending signal to and from controller item 228, paragraphs 0046 and 0070 - 0071; figure 11; wherein the heater item 120 in figures 1 – 2 and 9A – 10B are heated to heat item 130 via power source as discussed for example in paragraphs 0046 – 0075).
Regarding claim 21, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 20, Tremblay teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tremblay teaches wherein the present condition is one of the group consisting of: the presence of matter disposed on at least one surface of the distal most element and the absence of matter disposed on at least one surface of the distal most element (paragraphs 0005 - 0006, 0033, 0036 and 0048, 0050, 0062 - 0063, and 0072, de-fogging and de-icing; also the sensing component 158 may provide information regarding environmental conditions, such as outside temperature, lighting conditions (e.g., day, night, dusk, and/or dawn), humidity level, specific weather conditions (e.g., sun, rain, and/or snow), distance (e.g., laser rangefinder), ambient temperature readings, wind chill or other temperature factors, and/or whether a tunnel or other type of enclosure has been entered or exited; also figure 2 item 222 sends temperature reading for controlling the heater).
Regarding claim 22, Tremblay teaches a method (paragraph 0008) for operating a camera (figure 1 item 100 and paragraph 0024; infrared imaging device or infrared camera) comprising a light sensor (figure 2 item 216 also paragraph 0039 – 0042; the focal plane array 216 may comprise one or more infrared detectors configured as infrared sensors for capturing infrared image data (e.g., still image data and/or video data) representative of an image) and a compound lens that supplies light to the light sensor (figure 2 items 212 and 130), the compound lens further comprising a distal-most element with respect to the sensor that is a lens (figure 2 item 130) that is transparent to at least one wavelength of light sensable by the light sensor (paragraphs 0026 and 0043; paragraph 0026 teaches the front lens element 130 makes up a lens element of the imager assembly, and may be constructed of a material, such as germanium, such that the index of refraction for the front lens element 130 varies with temperature and paragraph 0043 teaches infrared radiation detected by the focal plane array 216 may be passed to the focal plane array 216 through one or more lens elements), the distal-most element being exposed to an environment around the camera (paragraph 0026; the front lens element 130 exposed to the external environment) and being heatable upon application of electricity thereto (figure 2 item 120 for heating item 130 wherein the heater 120 may be constructed of a resistive heating element; also paragraph 0048), the distal-most element that is the heatable lens being shaped to provide an optical function for the compound lens (paragraph 0026; The front lens element 130 may therefore correspond to a zoom lens and be included as a part of a zoom system so that focus of the thermal radiation passing through the front lens element 130 is important for the focus of the resulting thermal image data and to prevent degradation of the thermal radiation), the method comprising: detecting a present condition of the distal most element (paragraph 0026; The front lens element 130 may therefore correspond to a zoom lens and be included as a part of a zoom system so that focus of the thermal radiation passing through the front lens element 130 is important for the focus of the resulting thermal image data and to prevent degradation of the thermal radiation); and controlling application of electricity to control heating of the distal most element in response to the detected present condition of the distal most element (figure 2 item 120 for heating item 130 wherein the heater 120 may be constructed of a resistive heating element wherein heater 120 may be supplied power through an power source connected to the heater 120, which may be controlled by controller 228; also paragraph 0048; wherein the preset condition is the front lens element 130 may therefore correspond to a zoom lens and be included as a part of a zoom system so that focus of the thermal radiation passing through the front lens element 130 is important for the focus of the resulting thermal image data and to prevent degradation of the thermal radiation paragraph 0026); wherein the optical function is bending of light (paragraph 0026; The front lens element 130 may therefore correspond to a zoom lens and be included as a part of a zoom system so that focus of the thermal radiation passing through the front lens element 130 is important for the focus of the resulting thermal image data and to prevent degradation of the thermal radiation) and wherein the heatable lens is transparent to long wavelength infrared light (paragraphs 00025 – 0026 and 0040; infrared imaging system wherein the front lens element 130 may therefore correspond to a zoom lens and be included as a part of a zoom system so that focus of the thermal radiation passing through the front lens element 130 is important for the focus of the resulting thermal image data).
Regarding claim 23, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 22, Tremblay teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tremblay teaches wherein the light sensor is an infrared sensor (paragraphs 00025 – 0026 and 0040; infrared imaging system wherein focal plane array 216, which may include a plurality of infrared detectors implemented in an array or other fashion on a substrate configured to accept the focal plane array 216. The infrared detectors may be configured to detect incoming infrared radiation).
Regarding claim 24, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 22, Tremblay teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tremblay teaches wherein the present condition is one of the group consisting of: the presence of matter disposed on at least one surface of the distal most element and the absence of matter disposed on at least one surface of the distal most element (paragraphs 0005 - 0006, 0033, 0036 and 0048, 0050, 0062 - 0063, and 0072, de-fogging and de-icing; also the sensing component 158 may provide information regarding environmental conditions, such as outside temperature, lighting conditions (e.g., day, night, dusk, and/or dawn), humidity level, specific weather conditions (e.g., sun, rain, and/or snow), distance (e.g., laser rangefinder), ambient temperature readings, wind chill or other temperature factors, and/or whether a tunnel or other type of enclosure has been entered or exited; also figure 2 item 222 sends temperature reading for controlling the heater).
Regarding claim 25, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 18, Tremblay teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tremblay teaches wherein the bending of light provides a focusing function (paragraph 0026; The front lens element 130 may therefore correspond to a zoom lens and be included as a part of a zoom system so that focus of the thermal radiation passing through the front lens element 130 is important for the focus of the resulting thermal image data and to prevent degradation of the thermal radiation; additionally, paragraph 0043 describes the front lens element 130, the additional lens elements 212, and the rear lens element 214 may each provide various optical features, which may be utilized to provide zoom features, focus correction, and/or other features inherent to optical lenses).
Regarding claim 28, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 18, Tremblay teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tremblay teaches wherein the shape of the heatable lens is such that the heatable lens is at least partly convex (figures 1 – 2 and 8 item 130).
Regarding claim 32, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 20, Tremblay teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tremblay teaches wherein the heatable lens is formed of a germanium (paragraphs 0026, 0045, and 0060; heatable optical element is formed of a material comprising germanium).
Regarding claim 40, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 22, Tremblay teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tremblay teaches wherein the bending of light provides a focusing function (paragraph 0026; The front lens element 130 may therefore correspond to a zoom lens and be included as a part of a zoom system so that focus of the thermal radiation passing through the front lens element 130 is important for the focus of the resulting thermal image data and to prevent degradation of the thermal radiation; additionally, paragraph 0043 describes the front lens element 130, the additional lens elements 212, and the rear lens element 214 may each provide various optical features, which may be utilized to provide zoom features, focus correction, and/or other features inherent to optical lenses).
Regarding claim 48, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 22, Tremblay teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, Tremblay teaches wherein the electricity applied flows from one end of the heatable lens through material of the heatable lens that is shaped to provide the optical function for the compound lens to an opposite end of the heatable lens (paragraph 0048; heater 120 may be utilized, such as small resistive cells adjacent to, touching, embedded within, or otherwise in thermal contact with the front lens element 130; hence when embedded within, the electricity applied flows throughout material of the heatable lens providing provide de-icing and de-fogging).
Regarding claim 49, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 22, Tremblay in view of KUYBEDA teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, Tremblay teaches wherein the electricity applied causes the heatable lens to heat itself up by resistive heating (figure 2 item 120 for heating item 130 wherein the heater 120 may be constructed of a resistive heating element; also paragraphs 0048 and 0065).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tremblay (US PgPub No. 2016/0231527) in view of HONJO (US PgPub No. 2014/0375872).
Regarding claim 27, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 18, Tremblay teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, Tremblay teaches a lens is a heatable lens (figure 2 item 120 for heating item 130 wherein the heater 120 may be constructed of a resistive heating element; also paragraph 0048).
However, Tremblay fails to clearly teach wherein the shape of the lens is such that the lens is at least partly concave. HONJO, on the other hand teaches wherein the shape of the lens is such that the lens is at least partly concave.
More specifically, HONJO teaches wherein the shape of the lens is such that the lens is at least partly concave (paragraph 0274 also figure 1 item 111 is the front element in the system can be concave).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of HONJO with the teachings of Tremblay because in at least paragraph 0145 HONJO teaches that the system provides improving the focusing accuracy with respect to a moving subject additionally in at least paragraph 0273 and 0291 HONJO teaches he accuracy in predicting the track of the subject for the moving subject AF is further improved, thereby improving the focusing performance of Tremblay.
Claims 29 – 30, 33 – 39, and 42 - 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tremblay (US PgPub No. 2016/0231527) in view of KUYBEDA (US PgPub No. 2019/0158765).
Regarding claim 29, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 18, Tremblay teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, Tremblay fails to clearly teach wherein the heatable lens is formed of a material having a resistivity of between 3 ohms cm and 40 ohms cm, inclusive. KUYBEDA, on the other hand teaches wherein the heatable lens is formed of a material having a resistivity of between 3 ohms cm and 40 ohms cm, inclusive.
More specifically, KUYBEDA teaches wherein the heatable lens is formed of a material having a resistivity of between 3 ohms cm and 40 ohms cm, inclusive (paragraph 0054).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of KUYBEDA with the teachings of Tremblay because in at least paragraph 0002 KUYBEDA teaches that using the invention provides infrared camera assemblies for use in automotive safety and driving systems, and/or the claimed resistance will result in a system with improved operation, thereby improving the system of Tremblay by allowing for a safer system.
Regarding claim 30, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 18, Tremblay teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, Tremblay fails to clearly teach wherein the heatable lens is formed of a low conductivity material. KUYBEDA, on the other hand teaches wherein the heatable lens is formed of a low conductivity material.
More specifically, KUYBEDA teaches wherein the heatable lens is formed of a low conductivity material (paragraph 0055; lens is formed of a low conductivity material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of KUYBEDA with the teachings of Tremblay because in at least paragraph 0002 KUYBEDA teaches that using the invention provides infrared camera assemblies for use in automotive safety and driving systems and/or the claimed resistance will result in a system with improved operation, thereby improving the system of Tremblay by allowing for a safer system.
Regarding claim 33, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 32, Tremblay teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, Tremblay fails to clearly teach wherein the germanium is doped, wherein a type of the doping of the germanium is one the group consisting of: N-type doping and P-type doping. KUYBEDA, on the other hand teaches wherein the germanium is doped, wherein a type of the doping of the germanium is one the group consisting of: N-type doping and P-type doping.
More specifically, KUYBEDA teaches wherein the germanium is doped, wherein a type of the doping of the germanium is one the group consisting of: N-type doping and P-type doping (paragraph 0053; N-type Germanium (GE)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of KUYBEDA with the teachings of Tremblay because in at least paragraph 0002 KUYBEDA teaches that using the invention provides infrared camera assemblies for use in automotive safety and driving systems and/or using germanium will result in a system with improved electron mobility thereby improving the system of V Tremblay by allowing for a safer and improved system.
Regarding claim 34, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 18, Tremblay teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, Tremblay fail to clearly teach comprising at least one set of two conductive pads adapted to apply electricity to the heatable lens. KUYBEDA, on the other hand teaches comprising at least one set of two conductive pads adapted to apply electricity to the heatable lens.
More specifically, KUYBEDA teaches comprising at least one set of two conductive pads adapted to apply electricity to the heatable lens (paragraphs 0052 – 0053 and 0055 – 0057; two conductive pads).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of KUYBEDA with the teachings of Tremblay because in at least paragraph 0002 KUYBEDA teaches that using the invention provides infrared camera assemblies for use in automotive safety and driving systems and/or using two pads for improved electrical signal application thereby improving the system of Tremblay by allowing for a safer system.
Regarding claim 35, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 34, Tremblay in view of KUYBEDA teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, KUYBEDA teaches wherein each of the two conductive pads are located along an outer edge of the heatable lens (paragraphs 0052 – 0053 and 0055 – 0057 and figure 4 items 420-1 and 420-2; two conductive pads).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of KUYBEDA with the teachings of Tremblay because in at least paragraph 0002 KUYBEDA teaches that using the invention provides infrared camera assemblies for use in automotive safety and driving systems and/or using two pads for improved electrical signal application thereby improving the system of Tremblay by allowing for a safer system.
Regarding claim 36, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 34, Tremblay in view of KUYBEDA teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, KUYBEDA teaches wherein each of the two conductive pads are located along an outer edge of the heatable optical element wherein each of the two conductive pads are adapted to be coupled to at least one source of electricity (paragraph 0053; conductive pads are adapted to be coupled to at least one source of electricity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of KUYBEDA with the teachings of Tremblay because in at least paragraph 0002 KUYBEDA teaches that using the invention provides infrared camera assemblies for use in automotive safety and driving systems and/or using two pads for improved electrical signal application thereby improving the system of Tremblay by allowing for a safer system.
Regarding claim 37, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 34, Tremblay in view of KUYBEDA teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, KUYBEDA teaches wherein each of the two conductive pads are made of a material different than a material from which the heatable lens is made (paragraph 0055; two conductive pads are made of a material different than a material from which the heatable lens is made).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of KUYBEDA with the teachings of Tremblay because in at least paragraph 0002 KUYBEDA teaches that using the invention provides infrared camera assemblies for use in automotive safety and driving systems and/or using two pads for improved electrical signal application thereby improving the system of Tremblay by allowing for a safer system.
Regarding claim 38, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 38, Tremblay teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, Tremblay teaches heatable lens (figure 2 item 120 for heating item 130 wherein the heater 120 may be constructed of a resistive heating element; also paragraph 0048).
However, Tremblay fails to clearly teach wherein at least one surface of the lens is coated with at least one coating layer. KUYBEDA, on the other hand teaches wherein at least one surface of the lens is coated with at least one coating layer.
More specifically, KUYBEDA teaches wherein at least one surface of the lens is coated with at least one coating layer (paragraphs 0032 and 0058; anti-reflective coating).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of KUYBEDA with the teachings of Tremblay because in at least paragraph 0002 KUYBEDA teaches that using the invention provides infrared camera assemblies for use in automotive safety and driving systems and/or anti-reflective coating allows for improved image capture, thereby improving the system of Tremblay by allowing for a safer and improved system.
Regarding claim 39, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 38, Tremblay in view of KUYBEDA teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, KUYBEDA teaches wherein each of the at least one coating layer comprises one of the group consisting of: a high durability coating and an anti-reflective coating (paragraphs 0032 and 0058; anti-reflective coating).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of KUYBEDA with the teachings of Tremblay because in at least paragraph 0002 KUYBEDA teaches that using the invention provides infrared camera assemblies for use in automotive safety and driving systems and/or anti-reflective coating allows for improved image capture, thereby improving the system of Tremblay by allowing for a safer and improved system.
Regarding claim 42, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 34, Tremblay in view of KUYBEDA teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, KUYBEDA teaches wherein the electricity applied flows from one of the two conductive pads through the heatable lens itself to the other of the of the two conductive pads (paragraphs 0052 – 0057; two conductive pads, such that electricity conducted through the transparent member 410).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of KUYBEDA with the teachings of Tremblay because in at least paragraph 0002 KUYBEDA teaches that using the invention provides infrared camera assemblies for use in automotive safety and driving systems and/or using two pads for improved electrical signal application thereby improving the system of Tremblay by allowing for a safer system.
Regarding claim 43, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 42, Tremblay in view of KUYBEDA teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, Tremblay teaches wherein the electricity applied flows through material of the heatable lens that is shaped to provide the optical function for the compound lens (paragraph 0048; heater 120 may be utilized, such as small resistive cells adjacent to, touching, embedded within, or otherwise in thermal contact with the front lens element 130; hence when embedded within, the electricity applied flows through material of the heatable lens).
Regarding claim 44, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 34, Tremblay in view of KUYBEDA teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, Tremblay teaches wherein the electricity applied flows from one end of the heatable lens through material of the heatable lens that is shaped to provide the optical function for the compound lens to an opposite end of the heatable lens (paragraph 0048; heater 120 may be utilized, such as small resistive cells adjacent to, touching, embedded within, or otherwise in thermal contact with the front lens element 130; hence when embedded within, the electricity applied flows throughout material of the heatable lens providing provide de-icing and de-fogging).
Regarding claim 45, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 34, Tremblay in view of KUYBEDA teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, Tremblay teaches wherein the electricity applied causes the heatable lens to heat itself up by resistive heating (figure 2 item 120 for heating item 130 wherein the heater 120 may be constructed of a resistive heating element; also paragraphs 0048 and 0065).
Regarding claim 46, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 22, Tremblay teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, Tremblay teaches heatable lens (figure 2 item 120 for heating item 130 wherein the heater 120 may be constructed of a resistive heating element; also paragraph 0048).
However, Tremblay fails to clearly teach wherein the electricity is applied to the heatable lens via at least one set of two conductive pads and where the electricity applied flows from one of the two conductive pads through the heatable lens itself to the other of the of the two conductive pads. KUYBEDA, on the other hand teaches wherein the electricity is applied to the heatable lens via at least one set of two conductive pads and where the electricity applied flows from one of the two conductive pads through the heatable lens itself to the other of the of the two conductive pads.
More specifically, KUYBEDA teaches wherein the electricity is applied to the heatable lens via at least one set of two conductive pads and where the electricity applied flows from one of the two conductive pads through the heatable lens itself to the other of the of the two conductive pads (paragraphs 0052 – 0057; two conductive pads, such that electricity conducted through the transparent member 410).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of KUYBEDA with the teachings of Tremblay because in at least paragraph 0002 KUYBEDA teaches that using the invention provides infrared camera assemblies for use in automotive safety and driving systems and/or using two pads for improved electrical signal application thereby improving the system of Tremblay by allowing for a safer system.
Regarding claim 47, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 46, Tremblay in view of KUYBEDA teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, Tremblay teaches wherein the electricity applied flows through material of the heatable lens that is shaped to provide the optical function for the compound lens (paragraph 0048; heater 120 may be utilized, such as small resistive cells adjacent to, touching, embedded within, or otherwise in thermal contact with the front lens element 130; hence when embedded within, the electricity applied flows through material of the heatable lens).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KUPERMAN (US PgPub No. 2019/0186998) teaches a camera system with lens and heater.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
01/05/2026