Claims 1-20 are examined in this office action.
Claims 1 and 5 are currently amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Moberg (US Patent No. 6362591) in view of Talbot et al. (US Pub No. 20070159755 A1) and Zhou et al. (CN 104114206 A).
Regarding claim 1, Moberg in view of Talbot and Zhou disclose a method of controlling a portable infusion pump system (Moberg, “A method and apparatus for automatically detecting an occlusion or drive system failure in a medication infusion system …” – Abstract), comprising:
sensing that a drive system of a portable infusion pump system is damaged (Moberg, “… detecting an occlusion or drive system failure in a medication infusion system …” – Abstract) via a drive system detector (Moberg, “… occlusion detector …” – Para [3]) and in response to the sensing that the drive system detector indicates the drive system is damaged (Moberg, Is current > Baseline + K 508, Fig. 5), disabling the drive system housed in the portable infusion pump system (Moberg, Stop Pump 509, Fig. 5), such that damage to the drive system (Moberg, Is current > Baseline + K 508, Fig. 5) disrupts the connection (Moberg, Stop Pump 509, Fig. 5).
Moberg does not expressly disclose an electrically conductive element that extends along a piston rod of the drive system in the portable infusion pump system, wherein the electrically conductive element is coupled in a circuit of the drive system detector that connects the electrically conductive element to an electrical ground of the portable infusion pump system, such that damage to the drive system that severs the electrically conductive element along the piston rod disrupts the connection of the electrically conductive element to the electrical ground, and wherein the sensing comprises detecting the disruption of the connection to the electrical ground.
Talbot teaches that the electrically conductive element (point 1432, Fig. 14A) is coupled in a circuit (Fig. 14A) of the drive system detector that connects the electrically conductive element to an electrical ground (ground 1403, Fig. 14A) of the portable infusion system, such that damage to the drive system that severs the electrically conductive element disrupts the connection of the electrically conductive element to the electrical ground (“If this condition occurs, switching element 1430 cannot turn on and the drive circuit will be disabled in the forward direction.” – Para [0085]), wherein the sensing comprises detecting the disruption of the connection to the electrical ground ("… sensing element that is activated upon sensing the presence of … an electrical change …" - Para [0105]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Moberg to include that the electrically conductive element is coupled in a circuit of the drive system detector that connects the electrically conductive element to an electrical ground of the portable infusion system, wherein the sensing comprises detecting the disruption of the connection as taught by Talbot in order to open a switch (Talbot, Para [0105]).
Talbot does not expressly disclose an electrically conductive element that extends along a piston rod of the drive system in the portable infusion pump system, and that damage to the drive system severs the electrically conductive element along the piston rod.
Zhou teaches an electrically conductive element (resilient conductive contact piece 15, Fig. 3) that extends along a piston rod (injection push rod 14, Fig. 2) of the drive system in the portable infusion pump system, and that damage to the drive system severs the electrically conductive element (resilient conductive contact piece 15, Fig. 3) along the piston rod (injection push rod 14, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Moberg to include an electrically conductive element that extends along a piston rod of the drive system in the portable infusion pump system, and that damage to the drive system severs the electrically conductive element along the piston rod as taught by Zhou for back and forth movement of the drive device (Zhou, Abstract).
Examiner interprets that Moberg teaches stopping the pump in response to the detection of damage and that the stopping of the pump involves the severing of an electrical connection between a conductive element and ground as taught by Talbot and that in combination both of these references teach the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 2, Moberg in view of Talbot and Zhou discloses the method (Moberg, “A method and apparatus for automatically detecting an occlusion or drive system failure in a medication infusion system …” – Abstract) as recited above, further comprising
in response to the sensing that drive system detector indicates said drive system is damaged, emitting an audible alarm (Moberg, Should there be an occlusion … an audible, tactile, and/or display alarm typically is triggered." - Para [15]) ("Provide alarm indication" 510).
Regarding claim 3, Moberg in view of Talbot and Zhou discloses the method (Moberg, “A method and apparatus for automatically detecting an occlusion or drive system failure in a medication infusion system …” – Abstract) as recited above, further comprising
in response to the sensing that the drive system detector indicates said drive system is damaged (Moberg, Should there be an occlusion … an audible, tactile, and/or display alarm typically is triggered." - Para [15]), displaying one or more alert text messages on a user interface display of the portable infusion pump system (Moberg, display panel 115, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Moberg in view of Talbot and Zhou discloses the method (Moberg, “A method and apparatus for automatically detecting an occlusion or drive system failure in a medication infusion system …” – Abstract) as recited above, further comprising
in response to the sensing that the drive system detector indicates said drive system is damaged, activating a light source of the portable infusion pump system (Moberg, Should there be an occlusion … an audible, tactile, and/or display alarm typically is triggered." - Para [15]) that is different from the user interface display.
Moberg does not expressly a light source of the portable infusion pump system that is different from the user interface display.
Amirouche teaches a light source of the portable infusion pump system that is different from the user interface display (“… pump cartridge unit 100 may include a speaker and/or other indicator (e.g., a light emitting diode …” – Para [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing claimed invention, to modify the method of Moberg to include a light source of the portable infusion pump system that is different from the user interface display as taught by Amirouche in order to prompt a user (Amirouche, Para [0060]).
Regarding claim 5, Moberg in view of Talbot and Zhou discloses a method (Moberg,
“A method and apparatus for automatically detecting an occlusion or drive
system failure in a medication infusion system …” – Abstract) of controlling a portable infusion pump system, comprising:
sensing that a drive system of a portable infusion pump system is damaged (Moberg, "… detecting an occlusion or drive system failure in a medication infusion system …" - Abstract) via a drive system detector (Moberg, “… occlusion detector …” – Para [3]); and
in response to the sensing that the drive system detector indicates the drive system is damaged (Moberg, "… if the measured motor current is some amount greater than a known, average baseline motor current, … then it is determined that an occlusion condition has likely occurred." - Para [23]), disabling the drive system housed in the portable infusion pump system (Moberg, Stop Pump 509, Fig. 5);
wherein the sensing that the drive system of the portable infusion pump system is damaged via the drive system detector, comprises:
receiving an electrical signal (Moberg, "Measure Current" 507, Fig. 5) indicating an electrical connection, wherein receiving the electrical signal indicates the drive system is damaged (Moberg, "… if the measured motor current is some amount greater than a known, average baseline motor current, … then it is determined that an occlusion condition has likely occurred." - Para [23])
Moberg does not expressly disclose an electrically conductive element that extends along a piston rod of the drive system in the portable infusion pump system and an electrical connection with the electrically conductive element of the drive system detector has been interrupted.
Talbot teaches an electrical connection with the electrically conductive element of the drive system detector has been interrupted (“If this condition occurs, switching element 1430 cannot turn on and the drive circuit will be disabled in the forward direction.” – Para [0085])
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Moberg to include an electrical connection with the electrically conductive element of the drive system detector has been interrupted as taught by Talbot in order to open a switch (Talbot, Para [0105]).
Talbot does not expressly disclose an electrically conductive element that extends along a piston rod of the drive system in the portable infusion pump system.
Zhou teaches an electrically conductive element (resilient conductive contact piece 15, Fig. 3) that extends along a piston rod (injection push rod 14, Fig. 2 ) of the drive system in the portable infusion pump system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Moberg to include an electrically conductive element that extends along a piston rod of the drive system in the portable infusion pump system as taught by Zhou for back and forth movement of the drive device (Zhou, Abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Moberg in view of Talbot and Zhou discloses the method (Moberg, “A method and apparatus for automatically detecting an occlusion or drive system failure in a medication infusion system …” – Abstract) as recited above, wherein the sensing that the drive system of the portable infusion pump system is damaged via the drive system detector, comprises:
periodically measuring across the electrically conductive element of the drive system detector for a voltage value (Moberg, "The occlusion detector measures increased reservoir pressure indirectly by monitoring one or more motor parameters, such as voltage …" - Para [13]), wherein the voltage value indicates a change of a voltage or an electrical impedance of the electrically conductive element, and the drive system is damaged ("If for example, there was a failure … the measured current would be high (above predetermined threshold settings) … This would be an indication of a drive system fault." - Para [24 ("Although the foregoing description involved the measurement of motor current, other motor parameters … can be measured. Such parameters may include motor voltage …" - Para [31]).
Moberg does not expressly disclose the electrically conductive element of the drive system detector.
Zhou teaches the electrically conductive element of the drive system detector (resilient conductive contact piece 15, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Moberg to include the electrically conductive element of the drive system detector as taught by Zhou for back and forth movement of the drive device (Zhou, Abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Moberg in view of Talbot and Zhou discloses the method (Moberg, “A method and apparatus for automatically detecting an occlusion or drive system failure in a medication infusion system …” – Abstract) as recited above, further comprising
determining that the voltage is substantially greater than a ground voltage (Moberg, "Is Current>Baseline +K?" 508, Fig. 5) (Moberg, "Although the foregoing description involved the measurement of motor current, other motor parameters … can be measured. Such parameters may include motor voltage …" - Para [31]).
Regarding claim 9, Moberg in view of Talbot and Zhou discloses the method (Moberg, “A method and apparatus for automatically detecting an occlusion or drive system failure in a medication infusion system …” – Abstract)as recited above, further comprising
measuring an electrical characteristic (Moberg, Measure Current 507, Fig. 5).
Moberg does not expressly disclose the electrically conductive element mounted to the piston rod.
Zhou teaches the electrically conductive element (resilient conductive contact piece 15, Fig. 3) mounted to the piston rod (injection push rod 14, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Moberg to include the electrically conductive element mounted to the piston rod as taught by Zhou for back and forth movement of the drive device (Zhou, Abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Moberg in view of Talbot and Zhou discloses the method (Moberg, “A method and apparatus for automatically detecting an occlusion or drive system failure in a medication infusion system …” – Abstract)as recited above, further comprising
indicating, by the drive system detector, damage to one or more components of the drive system when the electrical characteristic is substantially greater than zero (Moberg, Is Current > Baseline +K 508, Fig. 5) (Moberg“… if the measured motor current is some amount greater than a known, average baseline motor current … then it is determined that an occlusion condition has likely occurred.” – Para [23]).
Examiner interprets the sum of the Baseline and K to be greater than zero.
Claim 8 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Moberg (US Patent No. 6362591) in view of Talbot et al. (US Pub No. 20070159755 A1) and Zhou et al. (CN 1041114206 A) and in further view of Alderete, Jr. et al. (US Pub No. 20120259282 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Moberg in view of Talbot, Zhou, and Alderete discloses the method (Moberg, “A method and apparatus for automatically detecting an occlusion or drive system failure in a medication infusion system …” – Abstract)as recited above, further comprising
Moberg does not expressly disclose bypassing further sensing when the drive system detector indicates the drive system is damaged immediately upon connection of a pump device including the drive system to a controller device.
Alderete teaches bypassing further sensing when the drive system detector indicates the drive system is damaged ("… in response to the detecting, determines whether the fluid reservoir is in need of depressurization. When the fluid reservoir is in need of depressurization, the drive motor assembly is rewound to depressurize the fluid reservoir." - Para [0022]) immediately upon connection of a pump device including the drive system to a controller device ("The method detects insertion of the fluid reservoir into the housing …" - Para [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Moberg to include bypassing further sensing when the drive system detector indicates the drive system is damaged immediately upon connection of a pump device including the drive system to a controller device as taught by Alderete for delivering fluid to a user (Alderete, Jr., Para [0022]).
Claim 11-13, 15-16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Moberg (US Patent No. 6362591) in view of Zhou et al. (CN 1041114206 A).
Regarding claim 11, Moberg in view of Zhou discloses a portable infusion pump system (Moberg, "… infusion pump systems …" - Para [3]), comprising:
a controller device (Moberg, controller 113, Fig. 2) including a drive system detector (Moberg,"… occlusion detector …" - Para [3]); and
a pump device (Moberg, infusion pump 101, Fig. 1) including a drive system (Moberg, drive motor 111, Fig. 2) having a piston rod (Moberg, piston 109, Fig. 2) wherein the drive system detector is operable to:
sense that the drive system is damaged based (Moberg, "… detecting an occlusion or drive system failure in a medication infusion system …" - Abstract) on the presence of a voltage value or an impedance (Moberg, "Measure Current" 507, Fig. 5) (Moberg, "Although the foregoing description involved the measurement of motor current, other motor parameters … can be measured. Such parameters may include motor voltage …" - Para [31])
determine the measured impedance or the voltage value exceed a threshold value (Moberg, "Is current > Baseline +K" 508, Fig. 5) (Moberg, "Although the foregoing description involved the measurement of motor current, other motor parameters … can be measured. Such parameters may include motor voltage …" - Para [31]); and
in response to the determination the measured impedance or the voltage value exceed the threshold value sensing that the drive system detector indicates the drive system is damaged, disable the drive system from dispensing a medicine (Moberg, "If for example, there was a failure … the measured current would be high (above predetermined threshold settings) … This would be an indication of a drive system fault." - Para [24]) (Moberg, "Stop Pump" 509, Fig. 5).
Moberg does not expressly disclose an electrically conductive element that extends along the piston rod, wherein the electrically conductive element is coupled to the drive system detector, wherein the electrically conductive element is coupled to the drive system detector, wherein the drive system detector is operable to sense … a voltage or an impedance measured across the electrically conductive element.
Zhou teaches an electrically conductive element (resilient conductive contact piece 15, Fig. 3) that extends along the piston rod (injection push rod 14, Fig. 2 ), wherein the electrically conductive element is coupled to the drive system detector, wherein the drive system detector is operable to sense … a voltage or an impedance measured across the electrically conductive element (resilient conductive contact piece 15, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Moberg to include an electrically conductive element that extends along the piston rod, wherein the electrically conductive element is coupled to the drive system detector, wherein the electrically conductive element is coupled to the drive system detector, wherein the drive system detector is operable to sense … a voltage or an impedance measured across the electrically conductive element as taught by Zhou for back and forth movement of the drive device (Zhou, Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Moberg in view of Zhou discloses the system (Moberg, "… infusion pump systems …" - Para [3]) as recited above, wherein the controller is operable to:
in response to the sensing that drive system detector indicates said drive system is damaged, emit an audible alarm (Moberg, Should there be an occlusion … an audible, tactile, and/or display alarm typically is triggered." - Para [15]) ("Provide alarm indication" 510).
Regarding claim 13, Moberg in view of Zhou discloses the system (Moberg, "… infusion pump systems …" - Para [3]) as recited above, wherein the controller operable to:
in response to the sensing that the drive system detector indicates said drive system is damaged (Moberg, Should there be an occlusion … an audible, tactile, and/or display alarm typically is triggered." - Para [15]), display one or more alert text messages ("Provide Alarm Indication" 510, Fig. 5) on a user interface display of the portable infusion pump system (display panel 115, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Moberg in view of Zhou and Amirouche discloses the system (Moberg, "… infusion pump systems …" - Para [3]) as recited above, wherein the controller operable to:
receive an electrical signal (Moberg, "Measure Current" 507, Fig. 5) indicating an electrical connection with the electrically conductive element of the drive system detector has been interrupted (Moberg, "Is Current > Baseline +K?" 508, Fig. 5), wherein receiving the electrical signal indicates the drive system is damaged (Moberg, "… if the measured motor current is some about greater than a known, average baseline motor current, … then it is determined that an occlusion condition has likely occurred." - Para [23]).
Regarding claim 16, Moberg in view of Zhou and Amirouche discloses the system (Moberg, "… infusion pump systems …" - Para [3]) as recited above, wherein when the controller is sensing that the drive system of the portable infusion pump system is damaged via the drive system detector, the controller is operable to:
periodically measure across the drive system detector for a voltage value (Moberg, "The occlusion detector measures increased reservoir pressure indirectly by monitoring one or more motor parameters, such as voltage …" - Para [13]), wherein the voltage value indicates a change of a voltage or an electrical impedance of the electrically conductive element, and the drive system is damaged (Moberg, "If for example, there was a failure … the measured current would be high (above predetermined threshold settings) … This would be an indication of a drive system fault." - Para [24]) (Moberg, "Although the foregoing description involved the measurement of motor current, other motor parameters … can be measured. Such parameters may include motor voltage …" - Para [31]).
Moberg does not expressly disclose measuring across the electrically conductive element.
Zhou teaches measuring across the electrically conductive element (resilient conductive contact piece 15, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Moberg to include measuring across the electrically conductive element as taught by Zhou for back and forth movement of the drive device (Zhou, Abstract).
Regarding claim 19, Moberg in view of Zhou discloses the system(Moberg, "… infusion pump systems …" - Para [3]) as recited above, wherein the controller operable to:
measure an electrical characteristic (Moberg, "Measure Current" 507, Fig. 5) of the electrically conductive element mounted to the piston rod.
Moberg does not expressly disclose that the electrically conductive element mounted to the piston rod.
Zhou does not expressly disclose that the electrically conductive element (resilient conductive contact piece 15, Fig. 3) mounted to the piston rod (injection push rod 14, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Moberg to include that the electrically conductive element mounted to the piston rod as taught by Zhou for back and forth movement of the drive device (Zhou, Abstract).
Regarding claim 20, Moberg in view of Zhou discloses the system (Moberg, "… infusion pump systems …" - Para [3]) as recited above, wherein the controller operable to:
indicate damage to one or more components of the drive system when the electrical characteristic is substantially greater than zero (Moberg, Is Current > Baseline +K 508, Fig. 5) (Moberg“… if the measured motor current is some amount greater than a known, average baseline motor current … then it is determined that an occlusion condition has likely occurred.” – Para [23]).
Examiner interprets the sum of the Baseline and K to be greater than zero.
Claim 14 and 17 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Moberg (US Patent No. 6362591) in view of Zhou et al. (CN 1041114206 A) and Amirouche et al. (US Pub No. 20140194812 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Moberg in view of Zhou and Amirouche discloses the system (Moberg, "… infusion pump systems …" - Para [3]) as recited above, wherein the controller operable to:
in response to the sensing that the drive system detector indicates said drive system is damaged, activating a light source of the portable infusion pump system (Moberg, Should there be an occlusion … an audible, tactile, and/or display alarm typically is triggered." - Para [15]) that is different from the user interface display.
Moberg does not expressly a light source of the portable infusion pump system that is different from the user interface display.
Amirouche teaches a light source of the portable infusion pump system that is different from the user interface display (“… pump cartridge unit 100 may include a speaker and/or other indicator (e.g., a light emitting diode …” – Para [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing claimed invention, to modify the method of Moberg to include a light source of the portable infusion pump system that is different from the user interface display as taught by Amirouche in order to prompt a user (Amirouche, Para [0060]).
Regarding claim 17, Moberg in view of Zhou and Amirouche discloses the system (Moberg, "… infusion pump systems …" - Para [3]) as recited above, wherein the controller operable to:
determine that the voltage value is substantially greater than a ground voltage (Moberg, "Is Current>Baseline +K?" 508, Fig. 5) (Moberg, "Although the foregoing description involved the measurement of motor current, other motor parameters … can be measured. Such parameters may include motor voltage …" - Para [31]).
Claim 18 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Moberg (US Patent No. 6362591) in view of Zhou et al. (CN 1041114206 A) and Alderete, Jr. et al. (US Pub No. 20120259282 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Moberg in view of Zhou and Alderete discloses the system(Moberg, "… infusion pump systems …" - Para [3]) as recited above, wherein the controller operable to:
Moberg does not expressly disclose bypass further sensing when the drive system detector indicates the drive system is damaged immediately upon connection of a pump device including the drive system to a controller device.
Alderete teaches bypass further sensing when the drive system detector indicates the drive system is damaged ("… in response to the detecting, determines whether the fluid reservoir is in need of depressurization. When the fluid reservoir is in need of depressurization, the drive motor assembly is rewound to depressurize the fluid reservoir." - Para [0022]) immediately upon connection of a pump device including the drive system to a controller device ("The method detects insertion of the fluid reservoir into the housing …" - Para [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Moberg to include bypass further sensing when the drive system detector indicates the drive system is damaged immediately upon connection of a pump device including the drive system to a controller device as taught by Alderete for delivering fluid to a user (Alderete, Jr., Para [0022]).
Conclusion
/ESHA PRAKASH KASHYAP/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783