DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application 17/457,835 filed on December 6th, 2021.
Claim Status
This office action is based upon claims received on 01/09/2026, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
Claim 18 – 29, and 31 – 32 are newly canceled.
Claims 1, 3 – 16, 30, and 33 – 44 are pending.
Claims 1, 3 – 16, 30, and 33 – 44 are rejected.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant's remarks, see page 10 of the Remarks, filed 01/09/2026, with respect to the rejections of independent claims 1, 15, 16, and 30, and their dependent claims, with the exception of canceled claims 2, 17 – 29, and 31 – 32, under applied prior art references of record in the office action dated October 20, 2025, particularly as regards the previously filed claim 32 that is now an amended limitation in claim 1, and the cited sections of the applied prior art references of record, have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Martin et al. [US 20190261309 A1]. Therefore, the rejection has been revised as set forth below according to the amended claims. See office action below.
All remaining arguments presented by Applicant not specifically addressed herein and directed to various dependent claims are found unpersuasive for the same reasons as stated herein, with regard to independent claims. The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The amended limitation “…comprising cause the first UE to” on line 2 appears to be misplaced. The amended limitation on line 2 may be better placed when amended to come after the limitation “and configured to…” on line 4 of the same claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 14 – 16, 30, 38, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeira et al. [US 20120178485 A1] hereinafter Zeira, and further in view of Cai et al. [US 20200092845 A1] hereinafter Cai, Tsai et al. [US 20240015766 A1] hereinafter Tsai, Li et al. [US 20200374921 A1] hereinafter Li, and Martin et al., [US 20190261309 A1] hereinafter Martin.
Regarding claim 1, Zeira teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a second user equipment (UE) (Zeira: Fig. 1B, ¶ 34; WTRU 102 (the paging WTRU)), comprising:
memory (Zeira: Fig. 1B, ¶ 34; memory 130 or memory 132); and
one or more processors (Zeira: Fig. 1B, ¶ 34; processor 118) coupled to the memory and configured to (Zeira: Fig. 1B, ¶ 35; wherein the processor 118 is coupled to memory 130 and memory 132 and configured to perform functionality that enables the WTRU 102 to operate in a wireless environment) cause the second UE to;
receive, from a base station (Zeira: Fig. 1A, ¶ 36; wherein the transmit/receive element 122 of the WTRU 102 is configured to transmit signals, or to receive signals from a base station (e.g., base station 114a shown in Fig. 1A)), a paging relay request message including a paging message for a first UE (Zeira: Fig. 2, ¶ 68 - ¶ 69; wherein, in step 210 and 215 combined, the WTRU (the second UE) receives a message that indicates to the WTRU to act as a paging WTRU (i.e., a paging relay request message), and a paging message, wherein if the paging message indicates a previously assigned WTRU ID, the paging WTRU (the second UE) transmits a paging message to the paged WTRU (i.e., the paged WTRU is the first UE)), the paging relay request message requesting the second UE (Zeira: Fig. 1B, ¶ 34; WTRU 102 (the paging WTRU)) to transmit the paging message to the first UE (Zeira: Fig. 2, ¶ 68 - ¶ 69; wherein, in step 220, the paging WTRU (the second UE) checks the paging message for the assigned WTRU ID which indicates a single WTRU to page (i.e., the WTRU ID corresponding to the first UE)); and
transmit the paging message to the first UE based on the received paging relay request message (Zeira: Fig. 2, ¶ 69; wherein, in step 230, the paging WTRU (the second UE), after verifying, in step 220, the assigned WTRU ID, transmits the paging message to the WTRU (the first UE)).
Zeira does not specifically disclose transmit first sidelink control information (SCI), wherein the first SCI indicates time-frequency resources allocated for second SCI and the paging message, and wherein the second SCI is different from the paging message; and transmit, in the time-frequency resources indicated in the first SCI, the paging message to the first UE through one or more sidelink channels,… wherein the paging message is associated with a list of identities and the paging message comprises a respective paging record associated with each respective identity in the list of identities and a respective paging type associated with each respective identity in the list of identities, wherein a respective paging record list that includes the respective paging records is a respective full paging record based on the list of identities being unknown to the second UE.
Referring to the invention of Cai, Cai teaches transmit first sidelink control information (SCI), a second SCI and resources allocated for the paging message (Cai: ¶ 282; wherein a plurality of types of SCI may be transmitted. Thus, sending, by the first terminal (the second UE), a control signaling to the second terminal (the first UE) (i.e., the first SCI), another SCI (which comprises a third information, and this third information is a resource required for decoding the paging message) from the plurality of SCIs (i.e., a second SCI), and a third SCI from the plurality of SCIs, used to page another UE (i.e., a paging message)), and wherein the second SCI is different from the paging message (Cai: ¶ 282; wherein the second terminal (the first UE) needs to determine a type of SCI received in order to correctly parse information included in the SCI. Therefore, the SCIs are different, the SCI comprising a third information (i.e., the second SCI) is different from the third SCI used to page another UE (i.e., the paging message)); and transmit, in time-frequency resources indicated in the first SCI, the paging message to the first UE (Cai: ¶ 282; wherein SCI is used to indicate information such as resource corresponding to the SCI, and the SCI used to page another UE (i.e., the paging message) is transmitted to the other UE) through one or more sidelink channels (Cai: ¶ 282; in view of the transmission being between a first and a second terminal, thus the transmission is a sidelink transmission which happens through one or more sidelink channels such as the PSCCH), wherein the paging message is associated with a list of identities and a respective paging type associated with each respective identity in the list of identities (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein R represents a reserved bit, a remote UE local ID 1 to a remote UE local ID n correspond to first identifiers of n remote UEs, and N.sub.1 to Nn respectively indicate whether the network side device normally or abnormally pages the n remote UEs, or indicate whether the network side device pages the n remote UEs by using S-TMSIs or IMSIs (i.e., the paging type is that a network side device pages the second terminal by using an S-temporary mobile subscriber identity S-TMSI or an international mobile subscriber identity IMSI, or that a network side device normally pages or abnormally pages the second terminal (Cai: ¶ 11). Therefore, the N1 to Nn are the paging types, carried in a reserved bit R which is a bit from the bits in the first byte)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink channels teachings of Zeira, to include the plurality of SCI, sidelink channel, and paging type teachings of the Cai invention in order to reduce signaling overheads of a paging message, thereby reducing power consumption of a terminal (Cai: ¶ 5).
Zeira in view of Cai does not specifically disclose that the paging message comprises a respective paging record associated with each respective identity in the list of identities.
Referring to the invention of Li, Li teaches that a paging message comprises a respective paging record associated with each respective identity in the list of identities (Li: ¶ 113; wherein one paging message may include a plurality of paging records (Paging Record), and each paging record is intended for a different terminal device and carries identity (Identity, ID) information of the terminal device. Therefore, each paging record is associated with each respective identity in the list of identities (i.e., the IDs of the terminal devices) that are available in the plurality of paging records comprised within the paging message).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the exemplary paging records teachings of the Li invention into the paging message teachings of the combined Zeira and Cai inventions in order to reduce transmission delay and signaling overheads (Li: ¶ 6).
Zeira in view of Cai and Li does not specifically disclose wherein the first SCI indicates time-frequency resources allocated for second SCI.
Referring to the invention of Tsai, Tsai teaches wherein the first SCI indicates time-frequency resources allocated for second SCI (Tsai: Fig. 3, Fig. 4, ¶ 54, ¶ 60; wherein the first SCI provides resource allocation information that indicated one or more time slots allocated for one or more second SCIs to be transmitted by the peer-Tx UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the exemplary sidelink resources teachings of the Tsai invention into the SCI teachings of the combined Zeira, Cai, and Li inventions in order to reduce sidelink resources conflicts which may occur when communication between a peer-transmitting UE (peer-Tx UE) and a peer-receiving UE (peer-Rx UE) experiences interference from the other Tx UEs (Tsai: ¶ 4).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, and Tsai does not explicitly disclose wherein a respective paging record list that includes the respective paging records is a respective full paging record based on the list of identities being unknown to the second UE.
Referring to the invention of Martin, Martin teaches wherein a respective paging record list that includes the respective paging records is a respective full paging record based on the list of identities being unknown to the second UE (Martin: ¶ 47, ¶ 66; wherein the paging record list comprises identifiers that may be used in a paging message and can for example contain a list of IMSI or TMSI for identifying the remote UE, … other types of identifiers for addressing the remote UEs via a relay may be used, for example in the event that it would be preferable for the relay not to be aware of the IMSI or TMSI for the remote UE. … In case this is not possible or not desired (e.g. due to security, not sharing the device ID) then the relay UE or base station might generate a temporary UE-ID to provide to the remote UE. This temporary ID could be used both in the paging record list, as well as for calculation of paging occasion).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the hidden UE ID of the remote UE teachings of Martin into the combined teachings of Zeira, Cai, Li, and Tsai, in order to increase privacy, reduce signaling load, enhance scalability, support anonymized paging, and increase operational flexibility.
Regarding claim 8, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, and Martin teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more sidelink channels comprise a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (Cai: ¶ 272 or ¶ 282; PSCCH) and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Cai: ¶ 282; PSSCH), and wherein the second SCI comprises information for decoding the paging message (Cai: ¶ 282; wherein the first terminal (the second UE) sends a third information to the second terminal (the first UE) by using control signaling (i.e., second SCI) and the third information is used to determine (i.e., decode) the types of SCIs transmitted (which include the SCI used for paging (i.e., the paging message))) and a paging type separate from the information for decoding the paging message (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein N.sub.1 to Nn respectively indicate the paging type, carried in a reserved bit R, and separate from the information for decoding the paging message carried in the 1st to 6th bits of the first byte), wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the second UE to transmit the second SCI and the paging message within the PSSCH (Cai: Fig. 6, ¶ 282; wherein SCI is used to indicate information such as resource of a PSSCH corresponding to the SCI, and the SCI is used to page another UE/the second terminal (the first UE) in the first message. i.e., the first message (which comprises the third SCI used to page another UE (the paging message)), is transmitted using the resources (time-frequency resources) indicated by the SCI which is sent in the PSCCH to the second terminal (the first UE). Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art that since the second UE sends a plurality of SCIs to the first UE, the second UE will send the second SCI (used to decode the paging message), along with the paging message, using the PSSCH resources, in order for the first terminal to be able to decode the SCIs it receives and to determine in S105 that the first UE is paged).
Regarding claim 14, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, and Martin teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising at least one of an antenna (Zeira: Fig. 1B, ¶ 34; transmit/receive element 122) or a transceiver (Zeira: Fig. 1B, ¶ 34; transceiver 120) coupled to the one or more processors (Zeira: Fig. 1B, ¶ 35; wherein the processor 118 may be coupled to the transceiver 120, which may be coupled to the transmit/receive element 122) wherein the one or more sidelink channels comprise a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (Cai: ¶ 272 or ¶ 282; PSCCH) and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Cai: ¶ 282; PSSCH), and wherein to transmit the paging message to the first UE, the one or more processors are configured to cause the second UE to:
transmit the second SCI in the PSSCH in the time-frequency resources indicated through the transmitted first SCI (Cai: Fig. 6, ¶ 282; wherein SCI is used to indicate information such as resource of a PSSCH corresponding to the SCI, and the SCI is used to page another UE/the second terminal (the first UE) in the first message. i.e., the first message (which comprises the third SCI used to page another UE (the paging message)), is transmitted using the resources (time-frequency resources) indicated by the SCI which is sent in the PSCCH to the second terminal (the first UE), the second SCI indicating a paging type including at least one of a system information (SI) modification (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein in the first byte of the subheader, the first bit to the sixth bit contain system information modification and other indication information, and wherein the system information modification and other indication information in the first byte are associated with the paging type) or an earthquake and tsunami warning system (ETWS) / commercial mobile alert system (CMAS) notification (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein in the first byte of the subheader, the second bit contains an earthquake and tsunami warning system (Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System, ETWS), and the third bit contains a commercial mobile alert service (Commercial Mobile Alert Service, CMAS) and wherein the indication information bits in the first byte are associated with the paging type). Thus, since the second SCI is used to decode the paging message, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the second SCI to indicate a paging type which includes at least one of the SI, ETWS, or the CMAS notification).
Regarding claim 15, Zeira teaches a method of wireless communication at a second user equipment (UE) (Zeira: Fig. 1B, ¶ 34; WTRU 102 (the paging WTRU)), comprising:
receiving, from a base station (Zeira: Fig. 1A, ¶ 36; wherein the transmit/receive element 122 of the WTRU 102 is configured to transmit signals, or to receive signals from a base station (e.g., base station 114a shown in Fig. 1A)), a paging relay request message including a paging message for a first UE (Zeira: Fig. 2, ¶ 68 - ¶ 69; wherein, in step 210 and 215 combined, the WTRU (the second UE) receives a message that indicates to the WTRU to act as a paging WTRU (i.e., a paging relay request message), and a paging message, wherein if the paging message indicates a previously assigned WTRU ID, the paging WTRU (the second UE) transmits a paging message to the paged WTRU (i.e., the paged WTRU is the first UE)), the paging relay request message requesting the second UE (Zeira: Fig. 1B, ¶ 34; WTRU 102 (the paging WTRU)) to transmit the paging message to the first UE (Zeira: Fig. 2, ¶ 68 - ¶ 69; wherein, in step 220, the paging WTRU (the second UE) checks the paging message for the assigned WTRU ID which indicates a single WTRU to page (i.e., the WTRU ID corresponding to the first UE)); and
transmitting the paging message to the first UE based on the received paging relay request message (Zeira: Fig. 2, ¶ 69; wherein, in step 230, the paging WTRU (the second UE), after verifying, in step 220, the assigned WTRU ID, transmits the paging message to the WTRU (the first UE)).
Zeira does not specifically disclose transmit first sidelink control information (SCI), wherein the first SCI indicates time-frequency resources allocated for second SCI and the paging message, and wherein the second SCI is different from the paging message; and transmit, in the time-frequency resources indicated in the first SCI, the paging message to the first UE through one or more sidelink channels,… wherein the paging message is associated with a list of identities and the paging message comprises a respective paging record associated with each respective identity in the list of identities and a respective paging type associated with each respective identity in the list of identities, wherein a respective paging record list that includes the respective paging records is a respective full paging record based on the list of identities being unknown to the second UE
Referring to the invention of Cai, Cai teaches transmit first sidelink control information (SCI), a second SCI and resources allocated for the paging message (Cai: ¶ 282; wherein a plurality of types of SCI may be transmitted. Thus, sending, by the first terminal (the second UE), a control signaling to the second terminal (the first UE) (i.e., the first SCI), another SCI (which comprises a third information, and this third information is a resource required for decoding the paging message) from the plurality of SCIs (i.e., a second SCI), and a third SCI from the plurality of SCIs, used to page another UE (i.e., a paging message)), and wherein the second SCI is different from the paging message (Cai: ¶ 282; wherein the second terminal (the first UE) needs to determine a type of SCI received in order to correctly parse information included in the SCI. Therefore, the SCIs are different, the SCI comprising a third information (i.e., the second SCI) is different from the third SCI used to page another UE (i.e., the paging message)); and transmit, in time-frequency resources indicated in the first SCI, the paging message to the first UE (Cai: ¶ 282; wherein SCI is used to indicate information such as resource corresponding to the SCI, and the SCI used to page another UE (i.e., the paging message) is transmitted to the other UE) through one or more sidelink channels (Cai: ¶ 282; in view of the transmission being between a first and a second terminal, thus the transmission is a sidelink transmission which happens through one or more sidelink channels such as the PSCCH), wherein the paging message is associated with a list of identities and a respective paging type associated with each respective identity in the list of identities (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein R represents a reserved bit, a remote UE local ID 1 to a remote UE local ID n correspond to first identifiers of n remote UEs, and N.sub.1 to Nn respectively indicate whether the network side device normally or abnormally pages the n remote UEs, or indicate whether the network side device pages the n remote UEs by using S-TMSIs or IMSIs (i.e., the paging type is that a network side device pages the second terminal by using an S-temporary mobile subscriber identity S-TMSI or an international mobile subscriber identity IMSI, or that a network side device normally pages or abnormally pages the second terminal (Cai: ¶ 11). Therefore, the N1 to Nn are the paging types, carried in a reserved bit R which is a bit from the bits in the first byte)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink channels teachings of Zeira, to include the plurality of SCI, sidelink channel, and paging type teachings of the Cai invention in order to reduce signaling overheads of a paging message, thereby reducing power consumption of a terminal (Cai: ¶ 5).
Zeira in view of Cai does not specifically disclose that the paging message comprises a respective paging record associated with each respective identity in the list of identities.
Referring to the invention of Li, Li teaches that a paging message comprises a respective paging record associated with each respective identity in the list of identities (Li: ¶ 113; wherein one paging message may include a plurality of paging records (Paging Record), and each paging record is intended for a different terminal device and carries identity (Identity, ID) information of the terminal device. Therefore, each paging record is associated with each respective identity in the list of identities (i.e., the IDs of the terminal devices) that are available in the plurality of paging records comprised within the paging message).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the exemplary paging records teachings of the Li invention into the paging message teachings of the combined Zeira and Cai inventions in order to reduce transmission delay and signaling overheads (Li: ¶ 6).
Zeira in view of Cai and Li does not specifically disclose wherein the first SCI indicates time-frequency resources allocated for second SCI.
Referring to the invention of Tsai, Tsai teaches wherein the first SCI indicates time-frequency resources allocated for second SCI (Tsai: Fig. 3, Fig. 4, ¶ 54, ¶ 60; wherein the first SCI provides resource allocation information that indicated one or more time slots allocated for one or more second SCIs to be transmitted by the peer-Tx UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the exemplary sidelink resources teachings of the Tsai invention into the SCI teachings of the combined Zeira, Cai, and Li inventions in order to reduce sidelink resources conflicts which may occur when communication between a peer-transmitting UE (peer-Tx UE) and a peer-receiving UE (peer-Rx UE) experiences interference from the other Tx UEs (Tsai: ¶ 4).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, and Tsai does not explicitly disclose wherein a respective paging record list that includes the respective paging records is a respective full paging record based on the list of identities being unknown to the second UE.
Referring to the invention of Martin, Martin teaches wherein a respective paging record list that includes the respective paging records is a respective full paging record based on the list of identities being unknown to the second UE (Martin: ¶ 47, ¶ 66; wherein the paging record list comprises identifiers that may be used in a paging message and can for example contain a list of IMSI or TMSI for identifying the remote UE, … other types of identifiers for addressing the remote UEs via a relay may be used, for example in the event that it would be preferable for the relay not to be aware of the IMSI or TMSI for the remote UE. … In case this is not possible or not desired (e.g. due to security, not sharing the device ID) then the relay UE or base station might generate a temporary UE-ID to provide to the remote UE. This temporary ID could be used both in the paging record list, as well as for calculation of paging occasion).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the hidden UE ID of the remote UE teachings of Martin into the combined teachings of Zeira, Cai, Li, and Tsai, in order to increase privacy, reduce signaling load, enhance scalability, support anonymized paging, and increase operational flexibility.
Regarding claim 16, Zeira teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (Zeira: Fig. 1B, ¶ 34; WTRU 102 (the paged WTRU)), comprising cause the first UE to:
memory (Zeira: Fig. 1B, ¶ 34; memory 130 or memory 132); and
one or more processors (Zeira: Fig. 1B, ¶ 34; processor 118) coupled to the memory and configured to (Zeira: Fig. 1B, ¶ 35; wherein the processor 118 is coupled to memory 130 and memory 132 and configured to perform functionality that enables the WTRU 102 to operate in a wireless environment);
receive, from the second UE (Zeira: Fig. 1B, ¶ 34; WTRU 102 (the paging WTRU)), the paging message (Zeira: Fig. 2, ¶ 69; wherein, in step 230, the paging WTRU (the second UE), after verifying, in step 220, the assigned WTRU ID, transmits the paging message to the WTRU (the first UE)); and
decode the received paging message (Zeira: Fig. 2 ¶ 67; wherein the paged WTRU has maintained or re-acquired downlink (DL) synchronization, and has updated its system information sufficiently to decode paging messages or waveforms).
Zeira does not specifically disclose receive, from a second UE, a first sidelink control information (SCI), wherein the first SCI indicates time-frequency resources allocated for second SCI and a paging message, the second SCI being different from the paging message; and receive from the second UE, the paging message in the time-frequency resources indicated in the first SCI through one or more sidelink channels, wherein the paging message is associated with a list of identities and the paging message comprises a respective paging record associated with each respective identity in the list of identities, and a respective paging type associated with each respective identity in the list of identities; and wherein a respective paging record list that includes the respective paging records is a respective full paging record based on the list of identities being unknown to the second UE
Referring to the invention of Cai, Cai teaches receive, from a second UE, a first sidelink control information (SCI), a second SCI and resources allocated for the paging message (Cai: ¶ 282; wherein a plurality of types of SCI may be transmitted. Thus, sending, by the first terminal (the second UE), a control signaling to the second terminal (the first UE) (i.e., the first SCI), another SCI (which comprises a third information, and this third information is a resource required for decoding the paging message) from the plurality of SCIs (i.e., a second SCI), and a third SCI from the plurality of SCIs, used to page another UE (i.e., a paging message)), the second SCI being different from the paging message (Cai: ¶ 282; wherein the second terminal (the first UE) needs to determine a type of SCI received in order to correctly parse information included in the SCI. Therefore, the SCIs are different, the SCI comprising a third information (i.e., the second SCI) is different from the third SCI used to page another UE (i.e., the paging message));
receive, from the second UE, the paging message in the time-frequency resources indicated in the first SCI (Cai: ¶ 282; wherein SCI is used to indicate information such as resource corresponding to the SCI, and the SCI used to page another UE (i.e., the paging message) is transmitted to the other UE) through one or more sidelink channels (Cai: ¶ 282; in view of the transmission being between a first and a second terminal, thus the transmission is a sidelink transmission which happens through one or more sidelink channels such as the PSCCH), wherein the paging message is associated with a list of identities and a respective paging type associated with each respective identity in the list of identities (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein R represents a reserved bit, a remote UE local ID 1 to a remote UE local ID n correspond to first identifiers of n remote UEs, and N.sub.1 to Nn respectively indicate whether the network side device normally or abnormally pages the n remote UEs, or indicate whether the network side device pages the n remote UEs by using S-TMSIs or IMSIs (i.e., the paging type is that a network side device pages the second terminal by using an S-temporary mobile subscriber identity S-TMSI or an international mobile subscriber identity IMSI, or that a network side device normally pages or abnormally pages the second terminal (Cai: ¶ 11). Therefore, the N1 to Nn are the paging types, carried in a reserved bit R which is a bit from the bits in the first byte)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink channels teachings of Zeira, to include the plurality of SCI and sidelink channel teachings of the Cai invention in order to reduce signaling overheads of a paging message, thereby reducing power consumption of a terminal (Cai: ¶ 5).
Zeira in view of Cai does not specifically disclose that the paging message comprises a respective paging record associated with each respective identity in the list of identities.
Referring to the invention of Li, Li teaches that a paging message comprises a respective paging record associated with each respective identity in the list of identities (Li: ¶ 113; wherein one paging message may include a plurality of paging records (Paging Record), and each paging record is intended for a different terminal device and carries identity (Identity, ID) information of the terminal device. Therefore, each paging record is associated with each respective identity in the list of identities (i.e., the IDs of the terminal devices) that are available in the plurality of paging records comprised within the paging message).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the exemplary paging records teachings of the Li invention into the paging message teachings of the combined Zeira and Cai inventions in order to reduce transmission delay and signaling overheads (Li: ¶ 6).
Zeira in view of Cai and Li does not specifically disclose wherein the first SCI indicates time-frequency resources allocated for second SCI.
Referring to the invention of Tsai, Tsai teaches wherein the first SCI indicates time-frequency resources allocated for second SCI (Tsai: Fig. 3, Fig. 4, ¶ 54, ¶ 60; wherein the first SCI provides resource allocation information that indicated one or more time slots allocated for one or more second SCIs to be transmitted by the peer-Tx UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the exemplary sidelink resources teachings of the Tsai invention into the SCI teachings of the combined Zeira, Cai, and Li inventions in order to reduce sidelink resources conflicts which may occur when communication between a peer-transmitting UE (peer-Tx UE) and a peer-receiving UE (peer-Rx UE) experiences interference from the other Tx UEs (Tsai: ¶ 4).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, and Tsai does not explicitly disclose wherein a respective paging record list that includes the respective paging records is a respective full paging record based on the list of identities being unknown to the second UE.
Referring to the invention of Martin, Martin teaches wherein a respective paging record list that includes the respective paging records is a respective full paging record based on the list of identities being unknown to the second UE (Martin: ¶ 47, ¶ 66; wherein the paging record list comprises identifiers that may be used in a paging message and can for example contain a list of IMSI or TMSI for identifying the remote UE, … other types of identifiers for addressing the remote UEs via a relay may be used, for example in the event that it would be preferable for the relay not to be aware of the IMSI or TMSI for the remote UE. … In case this is not possible or not desired (e.g. due to security, not sharing the device ID) then the relay UE or base station might generate a temporary UE-ID to provide to the remote UE. This temporary ID could be used both in the paging record list, as well as for calculation of paging occasion).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the hidden UE ID of the remote UE teachings of Martin into the combined teachings of Zeira, Cai, Li, and Tsai, in order to increase privacy, reduce signaling load, enhance scalability, support anonymized paging, and increase operational flexibility.
Regarding claim 30, Zeira teaches a method of wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (Zeira: Fig. 1B, ¶ 34; WTRU 102 (the paged WTRU)), comprising:
receiving, from the second UE (Zeira: Fig. 1B, ¶ 34; WTRU 102 (the paging WTRU)), the paging message (Zeira: Fig. 2, ¶ 69; wherein, in step 230, the paging WTRU (the second UE), after verifying, in step 220, the assigned WTRU ID, transmits the paging message to the WTRU (the first UE)); and
decoding the received paging message (Zeira: Fig. 2 ¶ 67; wherein the paged WTRU has maintained or re-acquired downlink (DL) synchronization, and has updated its system information sufficiently to decode paging messages or waveforms).
Zeira does not specifically disclose receiving, from a second UE, a first sidelink control information (SCI), wherein the first SCI indicates time-frequency resources allocated for second SCI and a paging message, the second SCI being different from the paging message; and receiving from the second UE, the paging message in the time-frequency resources indicated in the first SCI through one or more sidelink channels, wherein the paging message is associated with a list of identities and the paging message comprises a respective paging record associated with each respective identity in the list of identities, and a respective paging type associated with each respective identity in the list of identities; and wherein a respective paging record list that includes the respective paging records is a respective full paging record based on the list of identities being unknown to the second UE
Referring to the invention of Cai, Cai teaches receiving, from a second UE, a first sidelink control information (SCI), a second SCI and resources allocated for the paging message (Cai: ¶ 282; wherein a plurality of types of SCI may be transmitted. Thus, sending, by the first terminal (the second UE), a control signaling to the second terminal (the first UE) (i.e., the first SCI), another SCI (which comprises a third information, and this third information is a resource required for decoding the paging message) from the plurality of SCIs (i.e., a second SCI), and a third SCI from the plurality of SCIs, used to page another UE (i.e., a paging message)), the second SCI being different from the paging message (Cai: ¶ 282; wherein the second terminal (the first UE) needs to determine a type of SCI received in order to correctly parse information included in the SCI. Therefore, the SCIs are different, the SCI comprising a third information (i.e., the second SCI) is different from the third SCI used to page another UE (i.e., the paging message));
receiving, from the second UE, the paging message in the time-frequency resources indicated in the first SCI (Cai: ¶ 282; wherein SCI is used to indicate information such as resource corresponding to the SCI, and the SCI used to page another UE (i.e., the paging message) is transmitted to the other UE) through one or more sidelink channels (Cai: ¶ 282; in view of the transmission being between a first and a second terminal, thus the transmission is a sidelink transmission which happens through one or more sidelink channels such as the PSCCH), wherein the paging message is associated with a list of identities and a respective paging type associated with each respective identity in the list of identities (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein R represents a reserved bit, a remote UE local ID 1 to a remote UE local ID n correspond to first identifiers of n remote UEs, and N.sub.1 to Nn respectively indicate whether the network side device normally or abnormally pages the n remote UEs, or indicate whether the network side device pages the n remote UEs by using S-TMSIs or IMSIs (i.e., the paging type is that a network side device pages the second terminal by using an S-temporary mobile subscriber identity S-TMSI or an international mobile subscriber identity IMSI, or that a network side device normally pages or abnormally pages the second terminal (Cai: ¶ 11). Therefore, the N1 to Nn are the paging types, carried in a reserved bit R which is a bit from the bits in the first byte)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink channels teachings of Zeira, to include the plurality of SCI and sidelink channel teachings of the Cai invention in order to reduce signaling overheads of a paging message, thereby reducing power consumption of a terminal (Cai: ¶ 5).
Zeira in view of Cai does not specifically disclose that the paging message comprises a respective paging record associated with each respective identity in the list of identities.
Referring to the invention of Li, Li teaches that a paging message comprises a respective paging record associated with each respective identity in the list of identities (Li: ¶ 113; wherein one paging message may include a plurality of paging records (Paging Record), and each paging record is intended for a different terminal device and carries identity (Identity, ID) information of the terminal device. Therefore, each paging record is associated with each respective identity in the list of identities (i.e., the IDs of the terminal devices) that are available in the plurality of paging records comprised within the paging message).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the exemplary paging records teachings of the Li invention into the paging message teachings of the combined Zeira and Cai inventions in order to reduce transmission delay and signaling overheads (Li: ¶ 6).
Zeira in view of Cai and Li does not specifically disclose wherein the first SCI indicates time-frequency resources allocated for second SCI.
Referring to the invention of Tsai, Tsai teaches wherein the first SCI indicates time-frequency resources allocated for second SCI (Tsai: Fig. 3, Fig. 4, ¶ 54, ¶ 60; wherein the first SCI provides resource allocation information that indicated one or more time slots allocated for one or more second SCIs to be transmitted by the peer-Tx UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the exemplary sidelink resources teachings of the Tsai invention into the SCI teachings of the combined Zeira, Cai, and Li inventions in order to reduce sidelink resources conflicts which may occur when communication between a peer-transmitting UE (peer-Tx UE) and a peer-receiving UE (peer-Rx UE) experiences interference from the other Tx UEs (Tsai: ¶ 4).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, and Tsai does not explicitly disclose wherein a respective paging record list that includes the respective paging records is a respective full paging record based on the list of identities being unknown to the second UE.
Referring to the invention of Martin, Martin teaches wherein a respective paging record list that includes the respective paging records is a respective full paging record based on the list of identities being unknown to the second UE (Martin: ¶ 47, ¶ 66; wherein the paging record list comprises identifiers that may be used in a paging message and can for example contain a list of IMSI or TMSI for identifying the remote UE, … other types of identifiers for addressing the remote UEs via a relay may be used, for example in the event that it would be preferable for the relay not to be aware of the IMSI or TMSI for the remote UE. … In case this is not possible or not desired (e.g. due to security, not sharing the device ID) then the relay UE or base station might generate a temporary UE-ID to provide to the remote UE. This temporary ID could be used both in the paging record list, as well as for calculation of paging occasion).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the hidden UE ID of the remote UE teachings of Martin into the combined teachings of Zeira, Cai, Li, and Tsai, in order to increase privacy, reduce signaling load, enhance scalability, support anonymized paging, and increase operational flexibility.
Regarding claim 38, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, and Martin teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the one or more sidelink channels comprise a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (Cai: ¶ 272 or ¶ 282; PSCCH) and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Cai: ¶ 282; PSSCH), and wherein the second SCI comprises information for decoding the paging message (Cai: ¶ 282; wherein the first terminal (the second UE) sends a third information to the second terminal (the first UE) by using control signaling (i.e., second SCI) and the third information is used to determine (i.e., decode) the types of SCIs transmitted (which include the SCI used for paging (i.e., the paging message))) and a paging type separate from the information for decoding the paging message (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein N.sub.1 to Nn respectively indicate the paging type, carried in a reserved bit R, and separate from the information for decoding the paging message carried in the 1st to 6th bits of the first byte), wherein the method comprises transmitting the second SCI and the paging message within the PSSCH (Cai: Fig. 6, ¶ 282; wherein SCI is used to indicate information such as resource of a PSSCH corresponding to the SCI, and the SCI is used to page another UE/the second terminal (the first UE) in the first message. i.e., the first message (which comprises the third SCI used to page another UE (the paging message)), is transmitted using the resources (time-frequency resources) indicated by the SCI which is sent in the PSCCH to the second terminal (the first UE). Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art that since the second UE sends a plurality of SCIs to the first UE, the second UE will send the second SCI (used to decode the paging message), along with the paging message, using the PSSCH resources, in order for the first terminal to be able to decode the SCIs it receives and to determine in S105 that the first UE is paged).
Regarding claim 44, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, and Martin teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the one or more sidelink channels comprise a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (Cai: ¶ 272 or ¶ 282; PSCCH) and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Cai: ¶ 282; PSSCH), and wherein the method transmits the paging message to the first UE by:
transmitting the second SCI in the PSSCH in the time-frequency resources indicated through the transmitted first SCI (Cai: Fig. 6, ¶ 282; wherein SCI is used to indicate information such as resource of a PSSCH corresponding to the SCI, and the SCI is used to page another UE/the second terminal (the first UE) in the first message. i.e., the first message (which comprises the third SCI used to page another UE (the paging message)), is transmitted using the resources (time-frequency resources) indicated by the SCI which is sent in the PSCCH to the second terminal (the first UE), the second SCI indicating a paging type including at least one of a system information (SI) modification (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein in the first byte of the subheader, the first bit to the sixth bit contain system information modification and other indication information, and wherein the system information modification and other indication information in the first byte are associated with the paging type) or an earthquake and tsunami warning system (ETWS) / commercial mobile alert system (CMAS) notification (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein in the first byte of the subheader, the second bit contains an earthquake and tsunami warning system (Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System, ETWS), and the third bit contains a commercial mobile alert service (Commercial Mobile Alert Service, CMAS) and wherein the indication information bits in the first byte are associated with the paging type). Thus, since the second SCI is used to decode the paging message, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the second SCI to indicate a paging type which includes at least one of the SI, ETWS, or the CMAS notification).
Claims 3, 6 – 7, 9, 12 – 13, 33, 36 – 37, 39, and 42 – 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeira et al., in view of Cai et al., Li et al., Tsai et al., and Martin et al., as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Yang et al. [US PG PUB 20180270303] hereinafter Yang, and Chopra et al. [US PG PUB 20160380893] hereinafter Chopra.
Regarding claim 3, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, and Martin teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the paging message comprises a header (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; in view of sending the first message by using the MAC CE wherein the MAC CE corresponds to a subheader, and the subheader includes fields);
the header includes a destination ID identifying the first UE (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein the second byte contains the first identifier of the second terminal (the first UE)).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, and Martin do not specifically teach the header includes a source identifier (ID) identifying the second UE and a frame type identifying that the paging message is for paging.
Referring to the invention of Yang, Yang teaches the header (Yang: Fig. 8, ¶ 80; paging frame Mac header 805) includes a source identifier (ID) identifying the second UE (Yang: Fig. 8, ¶ 80; Address 2 (TA) field 826, which is also referred to as the transmitter address field) and a frame type identifying that the paging message is for paging (Yang: Table 1, OUI Type; Identifying that the type of the Vendor- Specific Public Action frame is Paging frame. i.e., the frame type identifies that the frame is for paging (for sending a paging message)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined inventions of Zeira, Cai, Li, Tsai, and Martin, to include the Paging Frame teachings of the Yang invention in order to enable a reduction in wake time of receiving stations waiting for transmissions thereby extending the battery life of such stations and also to reduce channel contention in transmitting stations, which results in less wake time for the transmitting stations, as well as reduction in network resource consumption (Yang: ¶ 13 and 14).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, and Yang do not explicitly disclose wherein the header includes the source ID at a beginning of the header, the destination ID in a middle of the header, and the frame type at an end of the header.
Referring to the invention of Chopra, Chopra teaches wherein the header includes the source ID at a beginning of the header, the destination ID in a middle of the header, and the frame type at an end of the header (Chopra: Fig. 5, ¶ 41; wherein layer-2 header 510 includes source MAC address 512 (i.e., at a beginning of the header), destination MAC address 514 (i.e., in a middle of the header) and frame type 516 (i.e., at an end of the header)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Layer-2 Header teachings of the Chopra invention into the combined frame header teachings of the Zeira, Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, and Yang invention in order to benefit from its ability to provide fast, efficient data transfer within a local network by utilizing MAC addresses to identify devices directly, resulting in quick switching decisions and minimal processing overhead.
Regarding claim 6, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the paging message further includes, for each identity in the list of identities, a respective additional message indicating new system information (SI) (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein in the first byte of the subheader, the first bit to the sixth bit contain system information modification and other indication information (see Alternate Figure 8 (an alternate example or possible implementation of Cai’s Figure 8) below showing a possible implementation where the additional message is represented in a respective (to the list of identities) format, wherein it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the additional messages be respective to the identifier of the terminal and the paging type, because the information is required to properly decode the paging message when received by the terminal device, and also because, since the paging type is shown as respective to the identities in column R (even though R is also shown as a bit in the first byte), therefore, the additional message can also be represented as a column showing the respective relationship between the additional message and the identities)), the paging type being associated with a system information modification (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein the system information modification and other indication information in the first byte are associated with the paging type (i.e., column R and column Additional message are also associated because they are both respective to the list of identities)).
Regarding claim 7, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the paging message further includes, for each identity in the list of identities, a respective additional message (see Alternate Figure 8 (of Cai Fig. 8, ¶ 197) in the rejection of claim 6 above) indicating an earthquake and tsunami warning system (ETWS) / commercial mobile alert system (CMAS) message(Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein in the first byte of the subheader, the second bit contains an earthquake and tsunami warning system (Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System, ETWS), and the third bit contains a commercial mobile alert service (Commercial Mobile Alert Service, CMAS)), the paging type being associated with an ETWS/CMAS notification (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein the indication information bits in the first byte are associated with the paging type).
Regarding claim 9, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, and Martin teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein:
the paging message comprises a header (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; in view of sending the first message by using the MAC CE wherein the MAC CE corresponds to a subheader, and the subheader includes fields);
the header includes a destination ID identifying the first UE (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein the second byte contains the first identifier of the second terminal (the first UE)).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, and Martin do not specifically teach the header includes a source identifier (ID) identifying the second UE and a frame type identifying that the paging message is for paging.
Referring to the invention of Yang, Yang teaches the header (Yang: Fig. 8, ¶ 80; paging frame Mac header 805) includes a source identifier (ID) identifying the second UE (Yang: Fig. 8, ¶ 80; Address 2 (TA) field 826, which is also referred to as the transmitter address field) and a frame type identifying that the paging message is for paging (Yang: Table 1, OUI Type; Identifying that the type of the Vendor- Specific Public Action frame is Paging frame. i.e., the frame type identifies that the frame is for paging (for sending a paging message)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined inventions of Zeira, Cai, Li, Tsai, and Martin, to include the Paging Frame teachings of the Yang invention in order to enable a reduction in wake time of receiving stations waiting for transmissions thereby extending the battery life of such stations and also to reduce channel contention in transmitting stations, which results in less wake time for the transmitting stations, as well as reduction in network resource consumption (Yang: ¶ 13 and 14).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, and Yang do not explicitly disclose wherein the header includes the source ID at a beginning of the header, the destination ID in a middle of the header, and the frame type at an end of the header.
Referring to the invention of Chopra, Chopra teaches wherein the header includes the source ID at a beginning of the header, the destination ID in a middle of the header, and the frame type at an end of the header (Chopra: Fig. 5, ¶ 41; wherein layer-2 header 510 includes source MAC address 512 (i.e., at a beginning of the header), destination MAC address 514 (i.e., in a middle of the header) and frame type 516 (i.e., at an end of the header)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Layer-2 Header teachings of the Chopra invention into the combined frame header teachings of the Zeira, Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, and Yang invention in order to benefit from its ability to provide fast, efficient data transfer within a local network by utilizing MAC addresses to identify devices directly, resulting in quick switching decisions and minimal processing overhead.
Regarding claim 12, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the paging message further includes, for each identity in the list of identities, a respective additional message (see Alternate Figure 8 (of Cai Fig. 8, ¶ 197) in the rejection of claim 6 above) indicating new system information (SI), (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein in the first byte of the subheader, the first bit to the sixth bit contain system information modification and other indication information), the new SI being associated with the paging type of a system information modification (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein the system information modification and other indication information in the first byte are associated with the paging type).
Regarding claim 13, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the paging message further includes, for each identity in the list of identities, a respective additional message (see Alternate Figure 8 (of Cai Fig. 8, ¶ 197) in the rejection of claim 6 above) indicating an earthquake and tsunami warning system (ETWS) / commercial mobile alert system (CMAS) message(Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein in the first byte of the subheader, the second bit contains an earthquake and tsunami warning system (Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System, ETWS), and the third bit contains a commercial mobile alert service (Commercial Mobile Alert Service, CMAS)), the ETWS/CMAS message being associated with the paging type of an ETWS/CMAS notification (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein the indication information bits in the first byte are associated with the paging type).
Regarding claim 33, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, and Martin teaches the method of claim 15, wherein:
the paging message comprises a header (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; in view of sending the first message by using the MAC CE wherein the MAC CE corresponds to a subheader, and the subheader includes fields);
the header includes a destination ID identifying the first UE (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein the second byte contains the first identifier of the second terminal (the first UE)).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, and Martin do not specifically teach the header includes a source identifier (ID) identifying the second UE and a frame type identifying that the paging message is for paging.
Referring to the invention of Yang, Yang teaches the header (Yang: Fig. 8, ¶ 80; paging frame Mac header 805) includes a source identifier (ID) identifying the second UE (Yang: Fig. 8, ¶ 80; Address 2 (TA) field 826, which is also referred to as the transmitter address field) and a frame type identifying that the paging message is for paging (Yang: Table 1, OUI Type; Identifying that the type of the Vendor- Specific Public Action frame is Paging frame. i.e., the frame type identifies that the frame is for paging (for sending a paging message)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined inventions of Zeira, Cai, Li, Tsai, and Martin, to include the Paging Frame teachings of the Yang invention in order to enable a reduction in wake time of receiving stations waiting for transmissions thereby extending the battery life of such stations and also to reduce channel contention in transmitting stations, which results in less wake time for the transmitting stations, as well as reduction in network resource consumption (Yang: ¶ 13 and 14).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, and Yang do not explicitly disclose wherein the header includes the source ID at a beginning of the header, the destination ID in a middle of the header, and the frame type at an end of the header.
Referring to the invention of Chopra, Chopra teaches wherein the header includes the source ID at a beginning of the header, the destination ID in a middle of the header, and the frame type at an end of the header (Chopra: Fig. 5, ¶ 41; wherein layer-2 header 510 includes source MAC address 512 (i.e., at a beginning of the header), destination MAC address 514 (i.e., in a middle of the header) and frame type 516 (i.e., at an end of the header)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Layer-2 Header teachings of the Chopra invention into the combined frame header teachings of the Zeira, Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, and Yang invention in order to benefit from its ability to provide fast, efficient data transfer within a local network by utilizing MAC addresses to identify devices directly, resulting in quick switching decisions and minimal processing overhead.
Regarding claim 36, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra teaches the method of claim 33, wherein the paging message further includes, for each identity in the list of identities, a respective additional message indicating new system information (SI) (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein in the first byte of the subheader, the first bit to the sixth bit contain system information modification and other indication information (see Alternate Figure 8 (an alternate example or possible implementation of Cai’s Figure 8) below showing a possible implementation where the additional message is represented in a respective (to the list of identities) format, wherein it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the additional messages be respective to the identifier of the terminal and the paging type, because the information is required to properly decode the paging message when received by the terminal device, and also because, since the paging type is shown as respective to the identities in column R (even though R is also shown as a bit in the first byte), therefore, the additional message can also be represented as a column showing the respective relationship between the additional message and the identities)), the paging type being associated with a system information modification (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein the system information modification and other indication information in the first byte are associated with the paging type (i.e., column R and column Additional message are also associated because they are both respective to the list of identities)).
Regarding claim 37, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra teaches the method of claim 33, wherein the paging message further includes, for each identity in the list of identities, a respective additional message (see Alternate Figure 8 (of Cai Fig. 8, ¶ 197) in the rejection of claim 6 above) indicating an earthquake and tsunami warning system (ETWS) / commercial mobile alert system (CMAS) message(Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein in the first byte of the subheader, the second bit contains an earthquake and tsunami warning system (Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System, ETWS), and the third bit contains a commercial mobile alert service (Commercial Mobile Alert Service, CMAS)), the paging type being associated with an ETWS/CMAS notification (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein the indication information bits in the first byte are associated with the paging type).
Regarding claim 39, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, and Martin teaches the method of claim 38, wherein:
the paging message comprises a header (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; in view of sending the first message by using the MAC CE wherein the MAC CE corresponds to a subheader, and the subheader includes fields);
the header includes a destination ID identifying the first UE (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein the second byte contains the first identifier of the second terminal (the first UE)).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, and Martin do not specifically teach the header includes a source identifier (ID) identifying the second UE and a frame type identifying that the paging message is for paging.
Referring to the invention of Yang, Yang teaches the header (Yang: Fig. 8, ¶ 80; paging frame Mac header 805) includes a source identifier (ID) identifying the second UE (Yang: Fig. 8, ¶ 80; Address 2 (TA) field 826, which is also referred to as the transmitter address field) and a frame type identifying that the paging message is for paging (Yang: Table 1, OUI Type; Identifying that the type of the Vendor- Specific Public Action frame is Paging frame. i.e., the frame type identifies that the frame is for paging (for sending a paging message)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined inventions of Zeira, Cai, Li, Tsai, and Martin, to include the Paging Frame teachings of the Yang invention in order to enable a reduction in wake time of receiving stations waiting for transmissions thereby extending the battery life of such stations and also to reduce channel contention in transmitting stations, which results in less wake time for the transmitting stations, as well as reduction in network resource consumption (Yang: ¶ 13 and 14).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, and Yang do not explicitly disclose wherein the header includes the source ID at a beginning of the header, the destination ID in a middle of the header, and the frame type at an end of the header.
Referring to the invention of Chopra, Chopra teaches wherein the header includes the source ID at a beginning of the header, the destination ID in a middle of the header, and the frame type at an end of the header (Chopra: Fig. 5, ¶ 41; wherein layer-2 header 510 includes source MAC address 512 (i.e., at a beginning of the header), destination MAC address 514 (i.e., in a middle of the header) and frame type 516 (i.e., at an end of the header)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Layer-2 Header teachings of the Chopra invention into the combined frame header teachings of the Zeira, Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, and Yang invention in order to benefit from its ability to provide fast, efficient data transfer within a local network by utilizing MAC addresses to identify devices directly, resulting in quick switching decisions and minimal processing overhead.
Regarding claim 42, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the paging message further includes, for each identity in the list of identities, a respective additional message (see Alternate Figure 8 (of Cai Fig. 8, ¶ 197) in the rejection of claim 6 above) indicating new system information (SI), (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein in the first byte of the subheader, the first bit to the sixth bit contain system information modification and other indication information), the new SI being associated with the paging type of a system information modification (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein the system information modification and other indication information in the first byte are associated with the paging type).
Regarding claim 43, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the paging message further includes, for each identity in the list of identities, a respective additional message (see Alternate Figure 8 (of Cai Fig. 8, ¶ 197) in the rejection of claim 6 above) indicating an earthquake and tsunami warning system (ETWS) / commercial mobile alert system (CMAS) message(Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein in the first byte of the subheader, the second bit contains an earthquake and tsunami warning system (Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System, ETWS), and the third bit contains a commercial mobile alert service (Commercial Mobile Alert Service, CMAS)), the ETWS/CMAS message being associated with the paging type of an ETWS/CMAS notification (Cai: Fig. 8, ¶ 197; wherein the indication information bits in the first byte are associated with the paging type).
Claims 4 – 5, 10 – 11, 34 – 35, and 40 – 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeira et al., in view of Cai et al., Li et al., Tsai et al., Martin et al., Yang et al., and Chopra et al., as applied to claims 3, 9, 33, and 39 above, and further in view of Karampatsis et al. [US PG PUB 20200187152] hereinafter Karampatsis.
Regarding claim 4, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the paging message further includes, for each identity in the list of identities, a respective additional message (see Alternate Figure 8 (of Cai Fig. 8, ¶ 197) in the rejection of claim 6 above) indicating physical random access channel (PRACH) resources for random access (Zeira: Fig. 5 step 585, ¶ 100; wherein the paging WTRU 520 transmits a WTRU-Specific SA-preamble in message 585 to the paged WTRU 530 in response to the Access signal 570 (a ranging preamble), sent from the paged WTRU 530 to the paging WTRU 520. i.e., the SA-preambles are PRACH resources used in the paging process which has a paging type), and wherein the source ID is a first layer-2 ID, and the destination ID is a second layer-2 ID (Chopra: Fig. 5, ¶ 41; wherein the header is a layer-2 header 510, therefore the source ID is a layer-2 ID (i.e., a first layer-2 ID) and the destination ID is a layer-2 ID (i.e., a second layer-2 ID)).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra do not explicitly teach the paging type being associated with triggering a radio resource control (RRC) setup through a Uu interface.
Referring to the invention of Karampatsis, Karampatsis teaches the paging type being associated with triggering a radio resource control (RRC) setup through a Uu interface (Karampatsis: Fig. 2B, ¶ 55; wherein the remote UE 205 has a Uu PDCP layer 260 and a Uu RRC layer 262. The eNB 215 has corresponding Uu PDCP and Uu RRC layers 260, 262 that establish a RRC connection between the remote UE 205 and the eNB 215).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paging procedure of the combined Zeira, Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, and Yang invention to include the paging over sidelink channels teachings of the Karampatsis invention in order for the paging UE to avoid needing to monitor paging occasions belonging to the paged UE while the paged UE is in an idle state, or needing to know the DRX cycles of the paged UE nor the IMSI or other permanent identity of the paged UE (Karampatsis: ¶ 101).
Regarding claim 5, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the paging message further includes, for each identity in the list of identities, a respective additional message (see Alternate Figure 8 (of Cai Fig. 8, ¶ 197) in the rejection of claim 6 above) indicating sidelink resources for a unicast connection setup (Zeira: Fig. 5, ¶ 95 - ¶ 97; wherein Fig. 5 shows a paging example for a unicast connection, and the paging WTRU 520 receives the paging message form the BS 510, then transmits to the paged WTRU 530, a paging Indicator IE which is embedded in an NCI message and the NCI message indicates the resources needed (and in this message a separate paging indicator message (PIM) is found)).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra do not explicitly teach the paging type being associated with triggering a radio resource control (RRC) setup through a PC5 interface.
Referring to the invention of Karampatsis, Karampatsis teaches the paging type being associated with triggering a radio resource control (RRC) setup through a PC5 interface (Karampatsis: Fig. 2B ¶ 52 and ¶ 55; wherein the remote UE 205 has a PC5 physical layer 252 (depicted “PHY (PC5)”), a PC5 MAC layer 254 (depicted as “MAC (PC5)”), and a PC5 RLC layer 256 (depicted as “RLC (PC5)”) and the relay UE 210 has corresponding layers used to communicate with the remote UE 205 (e.g., using PC5). The relay UE 210 translates the PC5 layers to Uu layers (used for RRC connections) and vice versa to relay communication between the remote UE 205 and the eNB 215).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paging procedure of the combined Zeira, Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra invention to include the paging over sidelink channels teachings of the Karampatsis invention in order for the paging UE to avoid needing to monitor paging occasions belonging to the paged UE while the paged UE is in an idle state, or needing to know the DRX cycles of the paged UE nor the IMSI or other permanent identity of the paged UE (Karampatsis: ¶ 101).
Regarding claim 10, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the paging message further includes, for each identity in the list of identities, a respective additional message (see Alternate Figure 8 (of Cai Fig. 8, ¶ 197) in the rejection of claim 6 above) indicating physical random access channel (PRACH) resources for random access, the PRACH resources for the random access being associated with the paging type (Zeira: Fig. 5 step 585, ¶ 100; wherein the paging WTRU 520 transmits a WTRU-Specific SA-preamble in message 585 to the paged WTRU 530 in response to the Access signal 570 (a ranging preamble), sent from the paged WTRU 530 to the paging WTRU 520. i.e., the SA-preambles are PRACH resources used in the paging process which has a paging type), and wherein the source ID is a first layer-2 ID, and the destination ID is a second layer-2 ID (Chopra: Fig. 5, ¶ 41; wherein the header is a layer-2 header 510, therefore the source ID is a layer-2 ID (i.e., a first layer-2 ID) and the destination ID is a layer-2 ID (i.e., a second layer-2 ID)).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra do not explicitly teach of triggering a radio resource control (RRC) setup through a Uu interface.
Referring to the invention of Karampatsis, Karampatsis teaches of triggering a radio resource control (RRC) setup through a Uu interface (Karampatsis: Fig. 2B, ¶ 55; wherein the remote UE 205 has a Uu PDCP layer 260 and a Uu RRC layer 262. The eNB 215 has corresponding Uu PDCP and Uu RRC layers 260, 262 that establish a RRC connection between the remote UE 205 and the eNB 215).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paging procedure of the combined Zeira, Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra invention to include the paging over sidelink channels teachings of the Karampatsis invention in order for the paging UE to avoid needing to monitor paging occasions belonging to the paged UE while the paged UE is in an idle state, or needing to know the DRX cycles of the paged UE nor the IMSI or other permanent identity of the paged UE (Karampatsis: ¶ 101).
Regarding claim 11, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the paging message further includes, for each identity in the list of identities, a respective additional message (see Alternate Figure 8 (of Cai Fig. 8, ¶ 197) in the rejection of claim 6 above) indicating sidelink resources for a unicast connection setup, the sidelink resources for the unicast connection setup being associated with the paging type (Zeira: Fig. 5, ¶ 95 - ¶ 97; wherein Fig. 5 shows a paging example for a unicast connection, and the paging WTRU 520 receives the paging message form the BS 510, then transmits to the paged WTRU 530, a paging Indicator IE which is embedded in an NCI message and the NCI message indicates the resources needed (and in this message a separate paging indicator message (PIM) is found). i.e., the unicast connection setup with sidelink resources is used in a paging process which has its paging type).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra do not explicitly teach of triggering a radio resource control (RRC) setup through a PC5 interface.
Referring to the invention of Karampatsis, Karampatsis teaches of triggering a radio resource control (RRC) setup through a PC5 interface (Karampatsis: Fig. 2B ¶ 52 and ¶ 55; wherein the remote UE 205 has a PC5 physical layer 252 (depicted “PHY (PC5)”), a PC5 MAC layer 254 (depicted as “MAC (PC5)”), and a PC5 RLC layer 256 (depicted as “RLC (PC5)”) and the relay UE 210 has corresponding layers used to communicate with the remote UE 205 (e.g., using PC5). The relay UE 210 translates the PC5 layers to Uu layers (used for RRC connections) and vice versa to relay communication between the remote UE 205 and the eNB 215).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paging procedure of the combined Zeira, Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra invention to include the paging over sidelink channels teachings of the Karampatsis invention in order for the paging UE to avoid needing to monitor paging occasions belonging to the paged UE while the paged UE is in an idle state, or needing to know the DRX cycles of the paged UE nor the IMSI or other permanent identity of the paged UE (Karampatsis: ¶ 101).
Regarding claim 34, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra teaches the method of claim 33, wherein the paging message further includes, for each identity in the list of identities, a respective additional message (see Alternate Figure 8 (of Cai Fig. 8, ¶ 197) in the rejection of claim 6 above) indicating physical random access channel (PRACH) resources for random access (Zeira: Fig. 5 step 585, ¶ 100; wherein the paging WTRU 520 transmits a WTRU-Specific SA-preamble in message 585 to the paged WTRU 530 in response to the Access signal 570 (a ranging preamble), sent from the paged WTRU 530 to the paging WTRU 520. i.e., the SA-preambles are PRACH resources used in the paging process which has a paging type), and wherein the source ID is a first layer-2 ID, and the destination ID is a second layer-2 ID (Chopra: Fig. 5, ¶ 41; wherein the header is a layer-2 header 510, therefore the source ID is a layer-2 ID (i.e., a first layer-2 ID) and the destination ID is a layer-2 ID (i.e., a second layer-2 ID)).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra do not explicitly teach the paging type being associated with triggering a radio resource control (RRC) setup through a Uu interface.
Referring to the invention of Karampatsis, Karampatsis teaches the paging type being associated with triggering a radio resource control (RRC) setup through a Uu interface (Karampatsis: Fig. 2B, ¶ 55; wherein the remote UE 205 has a Uu PDCP layer 260 and a Uu RRC layer 262. The eNB 215 has corresponding Uu PDCP and Uu RRC layers 260, 262 that establish a RRC connection between the remote UE 205 and the eNB 215).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paging procedure of the combined Zeira, Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, and Yang invention to include the paging over sidelink channels teachings of the Karampatsis invention in order for the paging UE to avoid needing to monitor paging occasions belonging to the paged UE while the paged UE is in an idle state, or needing to know the DRX cycles of the paged UE nor the IMSI or other permanent identity of the paged UE (Karampatsis: ¶ 101).
Regarding claim 35, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra teaches the method of claim 33, wherein the paging message further includes, for each identity in the list of identities, a respective additional message (see Alternate Figure 8 (of Cai Fig. 8, ¶ 197) in the rejection of claim 6 above) indicating sidelink resources for a unicast connection setup (Zeira: Fig. 5, ¶ 95 - ¶ 97; wherein Fig. 5 shows a paging example for a unicast connection, and the paging WTRU 520 receives the paging message form the BS 510, then transmits to the paged WTRU 530, a paging Indicator IE which is embedded in an NCI message and the NCI message indicates the resources needed (and in this message a separate paging indicator message (PIM) is found)).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra do not explicitly teach the paging type being associated with triggering a radio resource control (RRC) setup through a PC5 interface.
Referring to the invention of Karampatsis, Karampatsis teaches the paging type being associated with triggering a radio resource control (RRC) setup through a PC5 interface (Karampatsis: Fig. 2B ¶ 52 and ¶ 55; wherein the remote UE 205 has a PC5 physical layer 252 (depicted “PHY (PC5)”), a PC5 MAC layer 254 (depicted as “MAC (PC5)”), and a PC5 RLC layer 256 (depicted as “RLC (PC5)”) and the relay UE 210 has corresponding layers used to communicate with the remote UE 205 (e.g., using PC5). The relay UE 210 translates the PC5 layers to Uu layers (used for RRC connections) and vice versa to relay communication between the remote UE 205 and the eNB 215).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paging procedure of the combined Zeira, Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra invention to include the paging over sidelink channels teachings of the Karampatsis invention in order for the paging UE to avoid needing to monitor paging occasions belonging to the paged UE while the paged UE is in an idle state, or needing to know the DRX cycles of the paged UE nor the IMSI or other permanent identity of the paged UE (Karampatsis: ¶ 101).
Regarding claim 40, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the paging message further includes, for each identity in the list of identities, a respective additional message (see Alternate Figure 8 (of Cai Fig. 8, ¶ 197) in the rejection of claim 6 above) indicating physical random access channel (PRACH) resources for random access, the PRACH resources for the random access being associated with the paging type (Zeira: Fig. 5 step 585, ¶ 100; wherein the paging WTRU 520 transmits a WTRU-Specific SA-preamble in message 585 to the paged WTRU 530 in response to the Access signal 570 (a ranging preamble), sent from the paged WTRU 530 to the paging WTRU 520. i.e., the SA-preambles are PRACH resources used in the paging process which has a paging type), and wherein the source ID is a first layer-2 ID, and the destination ID is a second layer-2 ID (Chopra: Fig. 5, ¶ 41; wherein the header is a layer-2 header 510, therefore the source ID is a layer-2 ID (i.e., a first layer-2 ID) and the destination ID is a layer-2 ID (i.e., a second layer-2 ID)).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra do not explicitly teach of triggering a radio resource control (RRC) setup through a Uu interface.
Referring to the invention of Karampatsis, Karampatsis teaches of triggering a radio resource control (RRC) setup through a Uu interface (Karampatsis: Fig. 2B, ¶ 55; wherein the remote UE 205 has a Uu PDCP layer 260 and a Uu RRC layer 262. The eNB 215 has corresponding Uu PDCP and Uu RRC layers 260, 262 that establish a RRC connection between the remote UE 205 and the eNB 215).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paging procedure of the combined Zeira, Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra invention to include the paging over sidelink channels teachings of the Karampatsis invention in order for the paging UE to avoid needing to monitor paging occasions belonging to the paged UE while the paged UE is in an idle state, or needing to know the DRX cycles of the paged UE nor the IMSI or other permanent identity of the paged UE (Karampatsis: ¶ 101).
Regarding claim 41, Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the paging message further includes, for each identity in the list of identities, a respective additional message (see Alternate Figure 8 (of Cai Fig. 8, ¶ 197) in the rejection of claim 6 above) indicating sidelink resources for a unicast connection setup, the sidelink resources for the unicast connection setup being associated with the paging type (Zeira: Fig. 5, ¶ 95 - ¶ 97; wherein Fig. 5 shows a paging example for a unicast connection, and the paging WTRU 520 receives the paging message form the BS 510, then transmits to the paged WTRU 530, a paging Indicator IE which is embedded in an NCI message and the NCI message indicates the resources needed (and in this message a separate paging indicator message (PIM) is found). i.e., the unicast connection setup with sidelink resources is used in a paging process which has its paging type).
Zeira in view of Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra do not explicitly teach of triggering a radio resource control (RRC) setup through a PC5 interface.
Referring to the invention of Karampatsis, Karampatsis teaches of triggering a radio resource control (RRC) setup through a PC5 interface (Karampatsis: Fig. 2B ¶ 52 and ¶ 55; wherein the remote UE 205 has a PC5 physical layer 252 (depicted “PHY (PC5)”), a PC5 MAC layer 254 (depicted as “MAC (PC5)”), and a PC5 RLC layer 256 (depicted as “RLC (PC5)”) and the relay UE 210 has corresponding layers used to communicate with the remote UE 205 (e.g., using PC5). The relay UE 210 translates the PC5 layers to Uu layers (used for RRC connections) and vice versa to relay communication between the remote UE 205 and the eNB 215).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paging procedure of the combined Zeira, Cai, Li, Tsai, Martin, Yang, and Chopra invention to include the paging over sidelink channels teachings of the Karampatsis invention in order for the paging UE to avoid needing to monitor paging occasions belonging to the paged UE while the paged UE is in an idle state, or needing to know the DRX cycles of the paged UE nor the IMSI or other permanent identity of the paged UE (Karampatsis: ¶ 101).
Conclusion
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414