DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/17/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-13, 15, 27-28, 31, 33-34, 36-43 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly cited portions of Mohammad Soleymani (Pub No 20220225292), further in view of Hanh (Pub No 20220272682), and Gulati (Pub No 20200084592).
Regarding claim 1,
Applicant argues that the prior art Gulati does not teach the hash function.
The examiner clarifies the combination of Mohammad and Gulati. Mohammad already teaches the destination ID however does not teach the acquiring the destination ID via hash function. Hence one of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the acquiring of the destination ID from the message as taught by Mohammad with the acquiring of the destination ID from the message via hashing as taught by Gulati using known methods of data retrieval.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11-13, 15, 27-28, 31, 33-34, 36-37, 39-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohammad (Pub No 20220225292), further in view of Hanh (Pub No 20220272682) and Gulati (Pub No 20200084592)
Regarding claim 1 and 27 and 42 and 43,
Mohammad teaches a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing code for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE), the code comprising instructions executable by at least one processor to cause the first UE to: (para [0024])
One or more processors; (processor para [0383])
at least one memory storing processor-executable code; and (memories para [0383])
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code; (processor para [0383])
Instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the first UE to:
receive, over a sidelink control channel and at a first time (see the first stage SCI 418 may indicate a time offset T-offset of T1 specifying a distance along the time domain between the first stage SCI 420 and the associated second stage SCI or data 420, see para [0261] and see fig. 13), a control message comprising first-stage sidelink control information that includes an indication of a first destination filter indicator associated with one or more intended receivers of a data message scheduled by the first-stage sidelink control information for a second time (interpreted as the first stage may be identified so as to identify in the further message, for example, a control channel, like the PSCCH, and/or a data channel, like the PSSCH, see para [0232]), the first-stage sidelink control information including a first portion of sidelink control information associated with scheduling the message(interpreted as the first stage or first part of a SCI may configure time and frequency resources for the second part or second stage of the SCI and/or for the data transmitting part, see para [0231] wherein the first destination filter indicator comprises a destination identifier with the one or more intended receivers or a source identifier associated with a second UE that transmits the first-stage sidelink control information; (interpreted as In accordance with yet further embodiments, one or more of the above-described formats may include a destination ID, like a UE ID, a group ID, or a broadcast ID, see para [0284])
receive, over a sidelink data channel, a first message comprising second-stage sidelink control information, wherein the first message is decoded based at least in part on whether the first destination filter indicator indicated in the first-stage sidelink control information of the control message matches a second destination filter indicator associated with the first UE, (interpreted as the first part of the sidelink control message includes a broadcast ID and a UE or group ID, see para [0151]). Also see when the UE or group ID match an ID of the UE, and is to expect, e.g., is to read or is to decode, a relevant second part of the sidelink control message, see para [0153]) and wherein the second-stage sidelink control information includes a second portion of the sidelink control information associated with scheduling the data message and a time and frequency resource assignment for the data message; and (interpreted as the UE is to determine from the UE or group ID whether the second part is relevant UE, e.g., when the UE or group ID match an ID of the UE, and is to expect, e.g., is to read or is to decode, a relevant second part of the sidelink control message, see Mohammad para [0364]. Also see first stage or first part of a SCI may configure time and frequency resources for the second part or second stage of the SCI and/or for the data transmitting part, see Mohammad para [0231])
receive, over the sidelink data channel and at the second time, the data message, wherein the data message is decoded based at least in part on the first destination filter indicator indicated in the first-stage sidelink control information of the control message and the second destination filter indication (interpreted as the second stage or second part of the SCI includes detailed information for decoding the data channel, for example the PSSCH that is decoded in case the SCI is actually intended for a UE that identified the first part of the SCI, see para [0058]. Also see the UEs for which the unicast communication or the groupcast communication is intended, i.e., a UE having a matching ID, see para [0356]).
Mohammad teaches the second part of the SCI includes detailed information however does not specifically teach time and frequency resource assignment for the data message.
Hanh teaches a time and frequency resource assignment in a second stage SCI message.; (interpreted as the receiving terminal(s) may be configured to obtain the 2nd-stage SCI(s) from the resources indicated by the 1st-stage SCI, and may identify information element(s) included in the 2nd-stage SCI(s). For example, the receiving terminal(s) may identify the resource allocation information of PSSCH(s) included in the 2nd-stage SCI(s), see para [0110]. Also see The time-frequency resources of the PSSCH , para [0147]. The data message is interpreted as the PSSCH)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Mohammad with using time and frequency resource assignment in the 2nd stage SCI message as taught by Hanh with the motivation being to allow the terminals to complete its SCI communications using the assigned time and frequencies.
However, Mohammad in view of Hanh do not teach hash function.
Gulati teaches wherein the first destination filter indicator comprises a hash function of a destination identifier or a source identifier (interpreted as the link ID may comprise a hash function of the source ID and destination ID, e.g., for NACK based multicast communication. Furthermore, the link ID design enables receiving UE to filter the messages at a MAC layer. For example, the receiving UE may filter out messages for which the receiving UE is not a part of the intended group, see para [0072]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the identifiers as taught by Mohammad in view of Hanh with the hash function of identifiers as taught by Gulati with the motivation being to hash bits to determine the contents of the bits.
Regarding claim 2 and 28,
Mohammad teaches The first UE of claim 1, wherein the first destination filter indicator and the second destination filter indicator are a same destination filter indicator, and the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: decode the data message scheduled by the first-stage sidelink control information based at least in part on the first destination filter indicator and the second destination filter indicator being the same destination filter indicator. (Interpreted as the UE is to determine from the UE or group ID whether the second part is relevant UE, e.g., when the UE or group ID match an ID of the UE, and is to expect, e.g., is to read or is to decode, a relevant second part of the sidelink control message, see Mohammad para [0364]. Also see first stage or first part of a SCI may configure time and frequency resources for the second part or second stage of the SCI and/or for the data transmitting part, see Mohammad para [0231]. Also see The SCI in LTE contains information about the time-frequency resources to be used for a data transmission, also referred to as a PSSCH transmission, see para [0048]).
Regarding claim 3 and 31,
Mohammad teaches The first UE of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: determine that the first destination filter indicator and the second destination filter indicator are the same destination filter indicator based at least in part on decoding the first-stage sidelink control information, (interpreted as the UE is to determine from the UE or group ID whether the second part is relevant UE, e.g., when the UE or group ID match an ID of the UE, and is to expect, e.g., is to read or is to decode, a relevant second part of the sidelink control message, see Mohammad para [0364]).
Regarding claim 5 and 33,
Mohammad teaches the first UE of claim 1, wherein the first destination filter indicator and the second destination filter indicator are different destination filter indicators, and the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: refrain from decoding the data message based at least in part on the first destination filter indicator and the second destination filter indicator being different destination filter indicators. (interpreted as [0158] the UE is not to expect, e.g., is not to read or is not to decode, the second part of the sidelink control message in case a descrambling yields one or more of: [0159] a broadcast ID indicating a non-broadcast type of communication, and the UE ID or a group ID does not match an ID of the UE, or [0160] a UE ID or a group ID does not match an ID of the UE, see Mohammad para [0158-160]. Also see The SCI in LTE contains information about the time-frequency resources to be used for a data transmission, also referred to as a PSSCH transmission, see para [0048]).
Regarding claim 6 and 34,
Mohammad teaches the first UE of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: determine that the first destination filter indicator is different from the second destination filter indicator based at least in part on decoding the first-stage sidelink control information. (interpreted as [0158] the UE is not to expect, e.g., is not to read or is not to decode, the second part of the sidelink control message in case a descrambling yields one or more of: [0159] a broadcast ID indicating a non-broadcast type of communication, and the UE ID or a group ID does not match an ID of the UE, or [0160] a UE ID or a group ID does not match an ID of the UE, see Mohammad para [0158-160]).
Regarding claim 8 and 36,
Mohammad teaches the first UE of claim 1, wherein the second-stage sidelink control information further includes the destination identifier associated with the one or more intended receivers. (Interpreted as the UE is to determine from the UE or group ID whether the second part is relevant UE, e.g., when the UE or group ID match an ID of the UE, and is to expect, e.g., is to read or is to decode, a relevant second part of the sidelink control message, see Mohammad para [0364]. Also see first stage or first part of a SCI may configure time and frequency resources for the second part or second stage of the SCI and/or for the data transmitting part, see Mohammad para [0231])
However, Mohammad does not teach hash function of the destination identifier
Gulati teaches hash function of the destination identifier (interpreted as the link ID may comprise a hash function of the source ID and destination ID, e.g., for NACK based multicast communication. Furthermore, the link ID design enables receiving UE to filter the messages at a MAC layer, see para [0072])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the identifiers as taught by Mohammad in view of Hanh with the hash function of identifiers as taught by Gulati with the motivation being to verify data integrity by using the hash function.
Regarding claim 9 and 37,
Mohammad teaches the first UE of claim 8, wherein the hash function of the destination identifier when combined with the first destination filter indicator associated with the first-stage sidelink control information uniquely identifies the one or more intended receivers. (interpreted as to enable a UE to derive from a first stage SCI its relevance for the UE, i.e., the relevance of an associated second stage SCI, a unique identification may be employed, for example, as described with reference to the third aspect, a cast type may be derived from a DMRS associated with the first stage SCI, see Mohammad para [0350]).
However, Mohammad does not teach hash function of the destination identifier
Gulati teaches hash function of the destination identifier (interpreted as the link ID may comprise a hash function of the source ID and destination ID, e.g., for NACK based multicast communication. Furthermore, the link ID design enables receiving UE to filter the messages at a MAC layer, see para [0072])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the identifiers as taught by Mohammad in view of Hanh with the hash function of identifiers as taught by Gulati with the motivation being to verify data integrity by using the hash function.
Regarding claim 10 and 38,
Mohammad teaches the first UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: decode the second-stage sidelink control information based at least in part on the first destination filter indicator and the second destination filter indicator being a same destination filter indicator. (interpreted as the first part of the sidelink control message includes a broadcast ID and a UE or group ID, see para [0151]). Also see when the UE or group ID match an ID of the UE, and is to expect, e.g., is to read or is to decode, a relevant second part of the sidelink control message, see para [0153])
Regarding claim 11 and 39,
Mohammad teaches the first UE of claim 1, wherein the instructions to receive the first- stage sidelink control information that is based at least in part on the first destination filter indicator are executable by the processor to cause the first UE to: receive an indication of the first destination filter indicator via a quantity of bits in the first-stage sidelink control information. (interpreted as [0054] a group destination ID, for example, 8 bits, indicating the group of UEs for which the SL communication is intended, [0055] a timing advance indicator, for example, an 11-bit indicator, see Mohammad para [0055])
Regarding claim 12 and 40,
Mohammad teaches the first UE of claim 11, wherein the quantity of bits comprise destination identifier associated with the one or more intended receivers. (interpreted as [0054] a group destination ID, for example, 8 bits, indicating the group of UEs for which the SL communication is intended, [0055] a timing advance indicator, for example, an 11-bit indicator, see Mohammad para [0055])
However, Mohammad does not teach hash function of the destination identifier
Gulati teaches hash function of the destination identifier (interpreted as the link ID may comprise a hash function of the source ID and destination ID, e.g., for NACK based multicast communication. Furthermore, the link ID design enables receiving UE to filter the messages at a MAC layer, see para [0072])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the destination ID taught by Mohammad with the hash function as taught by Gulati for the benefit of encoding data packets to provide more secure transmissions.
Regarding claim 13 and 41,
Mohammad teaches The first UE of claim 11, wherein the quantity of bits comprise the source identifier associated with a second UE that transmits the first-stage sidelink control information (interpreted as UE is to determine whether the sidelink control message is intended for the UE from a source ID in the first part of the sidelink control message, the source ID being a source ID of an originator of a unicast communication or of an originator of the groupcast communication, see para [0170]. a group destination ID, for example, 8 bits, indicating the group of UEs for which the SL communication is intended, [0055] a timing advance indicator, for example, an 11-bit indicator, see Mohammad para [0055]).
However, Mohammad does not teach hash function of the source identifier.
Gulati teaches hash function of the source identifier (interpreted as the link ID may comprise a hash function of the source ID and destination ID, e.g., for NACK based multicast communication. Furthermore, the link ID design enables receiving UE to filter the messages at a MAC layer, see para [0072])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the destination ID taught by Mohammad with the hash function as taught by Gulati for the benefit of encoding data packets to provide more secure transmissions.
Regarding claim 15,
Mohammad teaches the first UE of claim 1, wherein the second UE and the first UE communicate in accordance with a sidelink resource allocation Mode 1. (interpreted as This configuration is also referred to as a mode 1 configuration in NR V2X or as a mode 3 configuration in LTE V2X, see Mohammad para [0014]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461