DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because they do not apply to the new reference, Cherian, that is relied on in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-6, 8-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warner et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0176464 (hereinafter Warner), in view of Cherian et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0296885 (hereinafter Cherian).
Regarding claim 1, Warner discloses a participant of a communication system (disclosed is a mobile node that participates in a wireless communication system, according to [0009]),
wherein the participant is configured to transmit data uncoordinatedly with respect to other participants and/or a base station of the communication system (the mobile node transmits packets to the wireless communication system in an uncoordinated manner in relation to other mobile nodes [“other participants”], according to [0011], [0027], Fig. 1),
wherein the participant is configured to receive one or several support beacons from the base station of the communication system, wherein the one or several support beacons comprise synchronization information (the mobile node receives beacons from a base station, wherein the beacons comprise beacon data [“synchronization information”] that enable said mobile node to perform synchronization with respect to allocated time slots, according to [0027]-[0028]),
wherein the participant is configured to receive a point-to-multipoint data transfer of the base station on the basis of the synchronization information (a plurality of mobile nodes receive a base station broadcast [“point-to-multipoint data transfer”] via one of the aforementioned allocated time slots (that were specified in the beacon data, as outlined above), according to [0038]),
wherein the participant is configured to receive, temporally synchronized to an uplink data transfer, a downlink data transfer from the base station, wherein the downlink data transfer comprises signaling information, wherein the signaling information signals the transfer of the support beacon or of at least one of the several support beacons (uplink and downlink packet transmissions are temporally synchronized, according to [0027], Fig. 1, whereby the mobile node receives, via one of the allocated time slots, an indication of a new beacon time slot [“transfer of at least one of the several support beacons”], according to [0038]),
wherein the participant is configured to receive the one or at least one of the several support beacons on the basis of the signaling information (the mobile node switches to the new beacon time slot after receiving the indication of said new beacon time slot, according to [0038]).
Warner does not expressly disclose that the participant is configured to transmit asynchronously to the base station an uplink data transfer, wherein the downlink data transfer is temporally synchronized with respect to the asynchronous uplink data transfer.
Cherian discloses that the participant is configured to transmit asynchronously to the base station an uplink data transfer, wherein the downlink data transfer is temporally synchronized with respect to the asynchronous uplink data transfer (uplink traffic is transmitted asynchronously, according to [0076], whereby a downlink transmission is synchronized to the uplink transmission, according to [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Warner with Cherian such that the participant is configured to transmit asynchronously to the base station an uplink data transfer, wherein the downlink data transfer is temporally synchronized with respect to the asynchronous uplink data transfer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to conserve communication resources (Cherian: [0076]).
Regarding claim 10, recites a base station of a communication system (Warner discloses a base station that is part of a radio network, according to [0025]) that engages in communication with the participant of the communication system recited in claim 1, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Warner and Cherian discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Warner discloses the participant according claim 1, wherein the signaling information comprises information about at least one of: a point in time or time interval of the transfer of the one support beacon or of at least one of the several support beacons, a frequency channel or frequency interval of the transfer of the one support beacon or of at least one of the several support beacons, a time and/or frequency hopping pattern based on which the support beacons are transferred (the mobile node is informed of the new beacon time slot to switch to [“a point in time or time interval of the transfer of the one support beacon or of at least one of the several support beacons”], according to [0038]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Warner and Cherian discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Warner discloses the participant according to claim 1, wherein the synchronization information comprises information about at least one of: a point in time or time interval of the transfer of a further support beacon and/or of the point-to-multipoint data transfer, a frequency channel or frequency interval of the transfer of a further support beacon and/or of the point-to-multipoint data transfer, and a time and/or frequency hopping pattern on the basis of which the further support beacon and/or the point-to-multipoint data transfer is transferred (the beacon data comprises specifications of the allocated time slots for receiving packets from other base stations [“a point in time or time interval of the transfer of a further support beacon and/or of the point-to-multipoint data transfer”], according to [0027]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Warner and Cherian discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Warner discloses the participant according to claim 1, wherein the synchronization information comprises a synchronization sequence for synchronizing the participant to the respective support beacon, wherein the participant is configured to synchronize itself to the respective support beacon on the basis of the synchronization sequence (the mobile node synchronizes to the frequency hopping sequence of the base station beacon, according to [0012], [0026], [0035]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Warner and Cherian discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Warner discloses the participant according to claim 1, wherein the participant is configured to receive the several support beacons so as to synchronize itself and/or maintain itself synchronized to the point-to-multipoint data transfer of the base station on the basis of the synchronization information comprised by the support beacons (the mobile node synchronizes to a plurality of beacons, according to [0035]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Warner and Cherian discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Warner discloses the participant according to claim 1, wherein the several support beacons are transferred in regular intervals or in intervals that are regular on average, wherein the participant knows the intervals between the transfers of the support beacons, or wherein the several support beacons are transferred at specified points in time and/or with specified time intervals and/or in specified frequency channels and/or in specified frequency channel intervals and/or according to a specified time hopping pattern and/or according to a specified frequency hopping pattern; or wherein at least one of the support beacons comprises information about a transfer of a subsequent support beacon, wherein the participant is configured to receive the subsequent support beacon on the basis of the information about the transfer of the subsequent support beacon; or wherein a point in time and/or a frequency channel of the transfer of at least one of the support beacons is derived from information transferred with a preceding support beacon, wherein the participant is configured to derive the point in time and/or the frequency channel of the transfer of the at least one support beacon from the information transferred with the preceding support beacon so as to receive the at least one support beacon; or wherein points in time and/or frequency channels, or a time hopping pattern and/or a frequency hopping pattern of the transfer of the several support beacons are determined on the basis of a calculation rule, wherein the signaling information and/or the synchronization information of at least one of the support beacons comprises information about a current state of the calculation rule, wherein the participant is configured to determine the points in time and/or the frequency channels, and/or the time hopping pattern and/or the frequency hopping pattern of the transfer of the several support beacons on the basis of the calculation rule and the current state of the calculation rule so as to receive the several support beacons (123_1-123_m) (a base station periodically transmits beacons and the mobile node is time synchronized to said base station [“wherein the several support beacons are transferred in regular intervals or in intervals that are regular on average, wherein the participant knows the intervals between the transfers of the support beacons”], according to [0010], [0035]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Warner and Cherian discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Warner discloses the participant according to claim 1, wherein the support beacon or at least one of several support beacons comprises information about the point-to-multipoint data transfer, wherein the participant is configured to receive the point-to-multipoint data transfer on the basis of the information about the point-to-multipoint data transfer (mobile nodes are informed of the new beacon time slot to which they should switch to receive a transmission from a new master base station, according to [0038]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Warner and Cherian discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Warner discloses the participant according to claim 1, wherein the support beacon or at least one of the several support beacons comprises point-to-multipoint data transfer allocation information, wherein one of several point-to-multipoint data transfers of the base station is allocated for reception to the participant on the basis of the point-to-multipoint data transfer allocation information (a beacon of a new master base station is used to inform mobile nodes of the new beacon time slot that said mobile nodes should switch to, according to [0038]).
Claims 11-15 and 17-18 do not differ substantively from claims 2-6 and 8-9, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same grounds as claims 2-6 and 8-9, respectively.
6. Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warner in view of Cherian as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, further in view of Worrall et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0142856 (hereinafter Worrall).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Warner and Cherian discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Neither Warner nor Cherian expressly discloses that payload data of the point-to-multipoint data transfer are divided into a plurality of payload data parts, wherein at least one part of the payload data parts is respectively transferred together with a support beacon.
Worrall discloses that payload data of the point-to-multipoint data transfer are divided into a plurality of payload data parts, wherein at least one part of the payload data parts is respectively transferred together with a support beacon (a beacon includes a preamble and a payload, whereby said payload is divided into a plurality of different data portions, according to [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Warner as modified by Cherian with Worrall such that payload data of the point-to-multipoint data transfer are divided into a plurality of payload data parts, wherein at least one part of the payload data parts is respectively transferred together with a support beacon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate customizable Bluetooth advertisements (Worrall: [0047]).
Claim 16 does not differ substantively from claim 7, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 7.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW W GENACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645