DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant’s amendments filed 9/03/2025 to the claims are accepted and entered. In this amendment, claims 1, 5, and 10-11 have been amended; and claims 4 and 8 have been canceled.
Response to Argument
3. Applicant’s arguments filed 5/14/2025 regarding the prior art rejection have been fully considered. A new ground of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments, is presented below.
The followings are the responses to applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art Funabashi.
3.1. Applicant’s argument that Funabashi does not describe two different power tools, let alone an old power tool and a new power tool (Remark, p. 12).
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. It is noted a DC motor's discharge current depends on different motor types which are used in different power tools based on their specific performance characteristics. Funabashi does teach different power tools as addressed in the previous office action, the striking current meaning “discharge current” depending on the type of the DC motor, see [0135], [0145], in figure 10, different discharge current (curves A-F), i.e., a discharge current over 80 A (curve F) represents a type of power tools considered “a first power tool”. When a load is small and the tip tool is a wood drill and the discharge current slightly as indicated by the curve A less than 20 amps represents another type of power tool is considered “a second power tool”, see [0146].
In addition, Funabashi teaches different power tools as shown in figure 16, i.e., a cordless circular saw 601, and battery pack 10 is loaded posterior to the housing of the circular saw 601, see [0183], in figure 18, i.e., a cordless hammer-drill 701, and battery pack 10 is attached to the battery attaching part 714, see [0186], and in figure 19, i.e., a cordless jigsaw 801 and battery 10 is loaded at the rear of the handle part 804, see [0187], i.e., in [0110] discloses terminals 42 of battery 10 are prepared for 7 power tools meaning a various power tools are loaded into consideration. However, all of those terminals 42 are not used when the power tool is loaded, and only the necessary terminals 42 are connected, meaning only one power tool can be connected to terminal 42 of battery pack 10 at a time.
3.2. Further applicant’s arguments regarding the amended limitation that Funabashi describes that the magnitude of the current reflects the load handled by the tool during the loading phase after t2, rather than during the startup phase as presently recited. Finally, Funabashi determines the load based on the range of current magnitude, not the change in slope, and there is no process, teaching, or suggest of calculating or relying upon the slope in Funabashi (Remark, p. 12).
In response, the Examiner would like to clarify that Fig 10 of Funabashi shows a graph of current versus time indicating how the current magnitude changes overtime and the slope of this graph represents the rate of change of the current between two points, where the slope of the curve, i.e., curve F, is the slope of the line tangent to the curve between two points, i.e., points 453 and 461, represents the instantaneous rate of change of the discharge current is a slope represents the rate of change of the current, i.e. the curve at any point that tells how fast the current is increasing or decreasing. As it is known in the art, the slope of discharge current can be solved by the below formula:
. We can apply the values in Fig 10 to the above formula:
Curve F shows a first point 453 at initial current 20A and a second point 461 at final current 80A between a t3-t4 = 0.5 secs, see [0151], we have m = 80A – 20A / 0.5s = 120 A/s (amp/sec). Thus, the discharge current slope of 120 A/s would be considered a very rapid rising current that can be represented a portable heavy power tool and can be considered a new generation power tool, or a first power tool.
For a slope of curve E, at points 453 and 457, between discharge current of 20A-40A and t3-t4=0.5 sec, see [0151], thus, slope m = 40A - 20A/0.5sec = 40 A/s. Thus, this slope of 40A/s considered less than a preset slope threshold 120 A/s and would be considered can be used for a light-duty power tool, i.e., an old generation power tool or a second power tool which is compared to a new generation power tool.
Therefore, Funabashi does teach different types of power tools, i.e., run faster or at high power considered “a first power tool”, or “a new generation power tool” comparing to the first tool, that runs slower or at low power considered “a second power tool”, or “an old generation power tool”, as recited in claims 1, 5 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. The following is a quotation under AIA of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action.
5. Claims 1, 5, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over US 2005/0073283 of Carrier et al. “Carrier” (of record) in view of US 2013/0098646 of Funabashi et al “Funabashi” (of record).
As per Claim 1, Carrier teaches a battery pack system, comprising:
a first power tool, a second power tool (Fig 8 - “new tool” or a first power tool, “old tool” or a second power tool, see [0056], [0081]);
a battery pack comprising a battery set comprising at least one cell unit (Abstract, Fig 4B, battery pack 450, [0065]-[0066]) and connected to an output terminal wherein the output terminal is configured to selectively connect to one of the first power tool or the second power tool and the battery set is configured to output a power supply signal to the connected on of the first power tool or the second power tool through the output terminal (Fig 4A - output terminal 430 for identifying battery type when inserted into the charger “power supply”, [0063]);
a current detection circuit connected to the output terminal and configured to detect a discharge current of the battery set (Fig 4B -discharge control unit 460 considered “current detection circuit” connected to output terminals, i.e., current sensor 470 and 490 “power limiting device”, see [0068], [0105]);
a current adjustment circuit connected between the battery set and the output terminal and configured to adjust the discharge current of the battery set (Fig 4B shows a discharge control circuit 460 connected with an output terminal “power limiting device 490” to limit current in the battery pack 450 considered “current adjustment circuit”, see [0068]-[0070], i.e., limited to a max output current, see [0072], [0076], [0082]); and
control unit configured to determine which one of the first power tool or the second power tool is connected to the output terminal according to the which one of the first power tool or the second power tool is connected to the output terminal, the current adjustment circuit to adjust the discharge current (a discharge current control 460 to place restriction “adjustment” of the max power and current through battery 450, see [0070], [0069], [0105]. Figs 9A-9B show various circuits 950 connected to an old/new tool, where the impedance 975 of impedance various circuits 950 is similar to power limiting device 490 in Fig 4B, see [0087]-[0088]),
the control unit determines that a power toll connected to the battery pack is the second power toolFig 8 shows sensor 810 senses the type of tool upon engagement with battery connected with the power tool [0081], i.e., if the battery pack 450 connected to a new tool as in Fig 9A “low impedance” meaning it draws a higher power, i.e., the first power tool, can be set to “high impedance” meaning draws lesser power, i.e., the second power tool, see [0088]-[0089], i.e., to prevent over-discharge [0082]).
Carrier does not explicitly teach determining which one of the first power tool or a second power tool based on a rising slope of the discharge current within a preset time, wherein the control unit is configured to determine which one of the first power tool or a second power tool is connected to the output terminal based on a rising slope of the discharge current within a preset time, wherein when the rising slope is less than a preset slope threshold, the control unit determines that a power toll connected to the battery pack is the second power tool and reduces the discharge current to prevent the second power tool from entering a protection mode when started, and wherein the discharge current is a staring current.
Funabashi teaches determining which one of the first power tool or a second power tool based on a rising slope of the discharge current within a preset time, wherein the control unit is configured to determine which one of the first power tool or a second power tool is connected to the output terminal based on a rising slope of the discharge current within a preset time (Fig 10 shows a graphs of discharge current versus time that shows how the current magnitude changes overtime and the slope of this graph represents the instantaneous rate of change of the discharge current between two points and the curve at any point that tells how fast the current is increasing or decreasing, i.e., curve F between points 453 and 461 from discharge current 20A-80A within a preset time of t3-74 = 0.5 sec, see [0151]. As it is known in the art the slope of discharge current can be solved by the below formula:
and with the above values of curve F, we have m = 80A – 20A / 0.5s = 120 A/s (amp/sec). Thus, the rising slope 120 A/s of discharge current slope would be considered a very rapid rising current that represents a portable heavy power tool and can be considered a new generation power tool or first power tool);
wherein when the rising slope is less than a preset slope threshold, the control unit determines that a power toll connected to the battery pack is the second power tool and reduces the discharge current to prevent the second power tool from entering a protection mode when started (as addressed above in section 3.2, a slope of curve E, at points 453 and 457, between discharge current of 20A-40A and t3-t4=0.5 sec, see [0151], then m = 40A - 20A/0.5sec = 40 A/s. Thus, this slope of 40A/s considered less than a preset slope threshold of 120 A/s, and would be considered using for an old generation power tool or a second power tool which is compared to a new generation power tool), and
wherein the discharge current is a staring current (As it is known in the art, when a device detects a drop in discharge current to below a preset threshold, then reduces this current to find a second power tool, that reduced current is known as the starting current for the next power tool. The "starting current" refers to the initial surge of current a power tool draws when it begins to operate. For example, as shown in Fig 10, curve F shows discharge current drops “reduces” this current to find a second power tool as known as the starting current, i.e., at point 453, for the next power tool, i.e., curve E).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teaching of Carrier showing discharge current curves within a preset period time and to determine if a first power or second power tool as taught by Funabashi that would facilitate monitoring the discharge current from the battery cell, and be able to switching when the discharge current exceed a threshold (Funabashi, [0063]-[0067]).
As per Claim 5, Carrier teaches a power tool and a battery pack (Abstract), comprising: the power tool; and the battery pack configured to provide a power source for the power tool (power tool uses battery as power supply/ power source [0008]); wherein the battery pack [0001]) comprises:
a battery set composed of at least one cell unit (Abstract, Fig 4B- battery pack 450, [0065]-[0066]) and connected to an output terminal, wherein the output terminal is configured to connect a power tool and the battery set is configured to output a power supply signal to the power tool through the output terminal (Fig 4A - output terminal 430 for identifying battery type when inserted into the charger “power supply”, [0063]);
a current detection circuit connected to the output terminal and configured to detect a discharge current of the battery set (Fig 4B - discharge control unit 460 considered “current detection circuit” connected to output terminals, i.e., current sensor 470 and 490 “power limiting device”, see [0068], [0105]); and
a current adjustment circuit connected between the battery set and the output terminal and configured to adjust the discharge current of the battery set, and the current adjustment circuit to adjust the discharge current (Fig 4B shows a discharge control circuit 460 connected with an output terminal “power limiting device 490” considered “current adjustment circuit”, see [0068]-[0070], i.e., limited to a max output current, see [0072], [0076], [0082]); and
the control unit determines that the power tool connected to the battery pack is the old generation power tool and reduces the discharge current to prevent the old generation power tool from entering a protection mode when started (Fig 8 shows sensor 810 senses the type of tool upon engagement with battery connected with the power tool [0081], i.e., if the battery pack 450 connected to a new tool as in Fig 9A “low impedance” meaning it draws a higher power, i.e., the first power tool, can be set to “high impedance” meaning draws lesser power, i.e., the second power tool, see [0088]-[0089], i.e., to prevent over-discharge [0082]).
Carrier does not explicitly teach determining that a type of the power tool is a new generation power tool or an old generation power tool based on a rising slope of the discharge current of the battery set within a first preset time, wherein when the rising slope is less than a preset slope threshold, and wherein the discharge current is a starting current.
Funabashi teaches determining that a type of the power tool is a new generation power tool or an old generation power tool based on a rising slope of the discharge current of the battery set within a first preset time (Fig 10 shows a graphs of discharge current versus time that shows how the current magnitude changes overtime and the slope of this graph represents the instantaneous rate of change of the discharge current between two points and the curve at any point that tells how fast the current is increasing or decreasing, i.e., curve F between points 453 and 461 from discharge current 20A-80A within a preset time of t3-74 = 0.5 sec, see [0151]. As it is known in the art the slope of discharge current can be solved by the below formula:
and with the above values of curve F, we have m = 80A – 20A / 0.5s = 120 A/s (amp/sec). Thus, the rising slope 120 A/s of discharge current slope would be considered a very rapid rising current that represents a portable heavy power tool and can be considered a new generation power tool);
wherein when the rising slope is less than a preset slope threshold (as addressed above in section 3.2, a slope of curve E, at points 453 and 457, between discharge current of 20A-40A and t3-t4=0.5 sec, see [0151], then m = 40A - 20A/0.5sec = 40 A/s. Thus, this slope 40A/s considered less than a preset slope threshold of 120 A/s which is considered “a preset slope threshold for curve F”, and slope 40 A/s would be considered using for an old generation power tool which is compared to a new generation power tool), and
wherein the discharge current is a staring current (As it is known in the art, when a device detects a drop in discharge current to below a preset threshold, then reduces this current to find a second power tool, that reduced current is known as the starting current for the next power tool. The "starting current" refers to the initial surge of current a power tool draws when it begins to operate. For example, as shown in Fig 10, curve F shows discharge current drops “reduces” this current to find a second power tool as known as the starting current, i.e., at point 453, for the next power tool, i.e., curve E).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teaching of Carrier showing discharge current curves within a preset period time and to determine if a first power or second power tool as taught by Funabashi that would facilitate monitoring the discharge current from the battery cell, and be able to switching when the discharge current exceed a threshold (Funabashi, [0063]-[0067]).
As per Claim 9, Carrier teaches a power supply method of a battery pack, wherein the battery pack comprises a battery set and an output terminal, the battery set is configured to supply power to a power tool through the output terminal (Abstract, Fig 4A - output terminal 430 for identifying battery type when inserted into the charger/battery pack as a power supply, see [0063]), and the method comprises:
detecting, by a current detection circuit of the battery pack a discharge current of the battery set (Fig 4B -discharge control unit 460 considered “current detection circuit” connected to output terminals, i.e., current sensors 470 and 490 “power limiting device”, see [0068], [0105]);
outputting, by the control unit of the battery pack, a control signal based on the type of the power tool (the battery pack 450 connected to a new power tool and outputs a “low impedance” represents “high power” considered “new generation power tool” , see [0081], [0088]); and
adjusting, by a current adjustment circuit of the battery pack, the discharge current in response to the control signal (Fig 4B shows a discharge control circuit 460 connected with an output terminal “power limiting device 490” considered “current adjustment circuit”, see [0068]-[0070], i.e., limited to a max output current, see [0072], [0076], [0082]).
Carrier does not explicitly teach determining, by a control unit of the battery pack that a type of the power tool is a new generation power tool or an old generation power tool based on the rising slope of the discharge current.
Funabashi teaches determining, by a control unit of the battery pack that a type of the power tool is a new generation power tool or an old generation power tool based on the rising slope of the discharge current (Fig 10 shows a graphs of discharge current versus time that shows how the current magnitude changes overtime and the slope of this graph represents the instantaneous rate of change of the discharge current between two points and the curve at any point that tells how fast the current is increasing or decreasing, i.e., curve F between points 453 and 461 from discharge current 20A-80A within a preset time of t3-74 = 0.5 sec, see [0151]. As it is known in the art the slope of discharge current can be solved by the below formula:
and with the above values of curve F, we have m = 80A – 20A / 0.5s = 120 A/s (amp/sec). Thus, the rising slope 120 A/s of discharge current slope would be considered a very rapid rising current that represents a portable heavy power tool and can be considered a new generation power tool);
wherein when the rising slope is less than a preset slope threshold (as addressed above in section 3.2, a slope of curve E, at points 453 and 457, between discharge current of 20A-40A and t3-t4=0.5 sec, see [0151], then m = 40A - 20A/0.5sec = 40 A/s. Thus, this slope of 40A/s considered less than a preset slope threshold of 120 A/s, and would be considered using for an old generation power tool which is compared to a new generation power tool), and
wherein the discharge current is a staring current (As it is known in the art, when a device detects a drop in discharge current to below a preset threshold, then reduces this current to find a second power tool, that reduced current is known as the starting current for the next power tool. The "starting current" refers to the initial surge of current a power tool draws when it begins to operate. For example, as shown in Fig 10, curve F shows discharge current drops “reduces” this current to find a second power tool as known as the starting current, i.e., at point 453, for the next power tool, i.e., curve E).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teaching of Carrier showing discharge current curves within a preset period time and to determine if a first power or second power tool as taught by Funabashi that would facilitate monitoring the discharge current from the battery cell, and be able to switching when the discharge current exceed a threshold (Funabashi, [0063]-[0067]).
As per Claim 10, Carrier in view of Funabashi teaches the power supply method of a battery pack of claim 9, wherein determining, by the control unit of the battery pack, the type of the power tool based on a rising slope of the discharge current comprises:
determining, by the control unit of the battery pack, the rising slope of the discharge current as addressed in claim 9 above. Carrier does not explicitly teach in a case where the rising slope of the discharge current is greater than or equal to a preset slope threshold, determining, by the control unit of the battery pack, the power tool to be the new generation power tool; and in a case where the rising slope of the discharge current is less than the preset slope threshold, determining, by the control unit of the battery pack, the power tool to be the old generation power tool.
Funabashi teaches in a case where the rising slope of the discharge current is greater than or equal to a preset slope threshold, determining, by the control unit of the battery pack, the power tool to be the new generation power tool (as addressed in section 3.2 above, the slope 120 A/s of curve F is greater than the slope 40 A/s of curve E, where slope 40 A/s considered a “preset slope threshold for curve F”, and slope of 120 A/s represents a high power tool can be used for a new generation power tool); and
in a case where the rising slope of the discharge current is less than the preset slope threshold, determining, by the control unit of the battery pack, the power tool to be the old generation power tool (similarly, the slope 40 A/s of curve E less than slope 120 A/s of curve F and slope 120 A/s considered “a preset threshold for curve E”. Slope 40 A/s represents a low power tool can be used for an old generation power tool comparing to the new generation power tool).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teaching of Carrier showing discharge current curves within a preset period time and to determine if a first power or second power tool as taught by Funabashi that would facilitate monitoring the discharge current from the battery cell, and be able to switching when the discharge current exceed a threshold (Funabashi, [0063]-[0067]).
6. Claims 2-3, 6-7, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Carrier in view of Funabashi and further US 10,374,445 of Wang et al. “Wang” (of record).
As per Claims 2 and 6, Carrier in view of Funabashi teaches the battery pack system and power tool of claims 1 and 5, Carrier further teaches wherein the current adjustment circuit comprises a first driver circuit and a first switch, the first switch is connected in series between the battery set and the output terminal, a control terminal of the first switch is connected to an output terminal of the first driver circuit and an input terminal of the first driver circuit is connected to the control unit (Fig 9A shows a control circuit 930 of a new tool considered “a first driver circuit”, a semiconductor device 920 having three terminals considered “a first switch”. Fig 9A shows the first switch 920 connected in series between battery and output terminal and input terminal, see [0085]).
Funabashi further teaches to control a time for which the first switch is on according to a control signal output by the control unit (a controller includes a timer, [0020], Fig 11 cont. shows a time set for discharge current).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teaching of Carrier showing the control output signal is on as taught by Funabashi that would facilitate monitoring the discharge current from the battery cell, and be able to switching when the discharge current exceed a threshold (Funabashi, [0063]-[0067]).
Carrier in view of Funabashi does not explicitly teach a switch tube.
Wang teaches a switch tube (a FET tube Q1, col 2 lines 60-62, col 4 line 65 to col 5 line 16). It is noted a vacuum tube is an electronic device that uses a vacuum to control electric current flow. It is noted the vacuum insulates the tube and protects it from electric currents. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teachings of Carrier and Funabashi having field effect transistor “FET” as switch tube as taught by Wang that would use a vacuum tube in FET to control electric current flow into it.
As per Claims 3 and 7, Carrier in view of Funabashi teaches the battery pack system and power tool of claims 1 and 5, Carrier further teaches wherein the current adjustment circuit comprises a driver circuit, a switch, the switch tube is connected in series between the battery set and the output terminal, a control terminal of the switch is connected to an output terminal to the driver circuit and an input terminal of the driver circuit is connected to the control unit (Fig 9A shows a control circuit 930 of a new tool considered “a first driver circuit”, a semiconductor device 920 having three terminals considered “a first switch”. Fig 9A shows the first switch 920 connected in series between battery and output terminal and input terminal, see [0085]),
an adjustment resistor (Fig 18 – POT 1810 “potentiometer” considered “an adjustment resistor”, see [0121], “potentiometer” is a type of variable resistor produces variable resistance signals, see [0125]), the adjustment resistor is connected in parallel with the switch (Fig 18 shows POT 1810 in parallel with FET switch 1820).
Funabashi further teaches the driver circuit is configured to control the switch to be turned on or off according to a control signal output by the control unit (control on/off operation of the switching element, see Abstract, [0036], [0139], [0137]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teaching of Carrier showing the control switch is able to turn on/off as taught by Funabashi that would facilitate monitoring the discharge current from the battery cell, and be able to switching when the discharge current exceed a threshold (Funabashi, [0063]-[0067]).
Carrier in view of Funabashi does not explicitly teach a switch tube.
Wang teaches a switch tube (a FET tube Q1, col 2 lines 60-62, col 4 line 65 to col 5 line 16). It is noted a vacuum tube is an electronic device that uses a vacuum to control electric current flow. It is noted the vacuum insulates the tube and protects it from electric currents. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teachings of Carrier and Funabashi having field effect transistor “FET” as switch tube as taught by Wang that would use a vacuum tube in FET to control electric current flow into it.
As per Claim 11, Carrier in view of Funabashi teaches the power supply method of a battery pack of claim 9, Carrier further teaches wherein the current adjustment circuit of the battery pack comprises a first driver circuit and a first switch, the first switch is connected in series between the battery set and the output terminal, a control terminal of the first switch tube is connected to an output terminal of the first driver circuit, an input terminal of the first driver circuit of the battery pack is connected to the control unit of the battery pack (Fig 9A shows a control circuit 930 of a new tool considered “a first driver circuit”, a semiconductor device 920 having three terminals considered “a first switch”, the first switch 920 connected in series between battery and output terminal and input terminal, see [0085]-[0086]), wherein outputting, by the control unit of the battery pack, the control signal based on the type of the power tool (Fig 7 shows battery can be used with a new/old power tool operable at high/low currents. Sensor 810 in Fig 8 senses the type of tool “old/new” upon engaging with battery pack, see [0080]-[0081]. The sensed signal used by discharge control circuit 460 of battery pack 450, [0082]),
in a case where the power tool is the new generation power tool, outputting, by
the control unit of the battery pack, a first control signal (if pack 450 is operatively connected to the first power tool considered “a new generation power tool”, the discharge control circuit 460 of pack 450 receives a signal, i.e., current limit for the first power tool, [0069], [0068], [0070]), comprises:
driving, by the first driver circuit, the first switch to be turned on in response
to the first control signal and according to a maximum duty cycle (Fig 9A shows a semiconductor device 920 having three terminals considered “a first switch” as a discharge FET which is set to turn on/off at a given current, see [0099]-[0100], i.e., the FET 1320 is on at 100% full cycle, see [0108]); and
in a case where the power tool is the old generation power tool, outputting, by the
control unit of the battery pack, a second control signal (when attached to an existing old tool, the battery remains low impedance mode with FET is on state, and during start up condition the currents get too high - meaning control signal received a discharge current, see [0106]) comprises:
driving, by the first driver circuit, the first switch to be turned on in response to the second control signal and according to a preset duty cycle (Fig 9B shows a semiconductor device 920 having three terminals considered “a second switch” as a discharge FET which is set to turn on/off at a given current, see [0099]-[0100], i.e., the discharge FET is “on”, the lowered duty cycle considered “a preset duty cycle” would remain until the current drops below a pre-defined [0107]); and
wherein adjusting, by the current adjustment circuit of the battery pack, the discharge current in response to the control signal (Fig 4B shows a discharge control circuit 460 connected with an output terminal “power limiting device 490” considered “current adjustment circuit”, see [0068]-[0070], i.e., limited to a max output current, see [0072], [0076], [0082]); and
determining that the power tool connected to the battery pack is the old generation power tool and reducing the discharge current to prevent the old generation power tool from entering a protection mode when started (Fig 8 shows sensor 810 senses the type of tool upon engagement with battery connected with the power tool [0081], i.e., if the battery pack 450 connected to a new tool as in Fig 9A “low impedance” meaning it draws a higher power, i.e., the first power tool, can be set to “high impedance” meaning draws lesser power, i.e., the second power tool, see [0088]-[0089], i.e., to prevent over-discharge [0082]).
Carrier does not explicitly teach a switch tube; when the rising slope is less than a preset slope threshold determining that the power tool is the old generation power tool
and wherein the discharge current is a starting current.
Funabashi teaches when the rising slope is less than a preset slope threshold determining that the power tool is the old generation power tool (as addressed above in section 3.2, a slope of curve E, at points 453 and 457, between discharge current of 20A-40A and t3-t4=0.5 sec, see [0151], then m = 40A - 20A/0.5sec = 40 A/s. Thus, this slope 40A/s considered less than a preset slope threshold of 120 A/s which is considered “a preset slope threshold for curve F”, and slope 40 A/s would be considered using for an old generation power tool which is compared to a new generation power tool), and wherein the discharge current is a staring current (As it is known in the art, when a device detects a drop in discharge current to below a preset threshold, then reduces this current to find a second power tool, that reduced current is known as the starting current for the next power tool. The "starting current" refers to the initial surge of current a power tool draws when it begins to operate. For example, as shown in Fig 10, curve F shows discharge current drops “reduces” this current to find a second power tool as known as the starting current, i.e., at point 453, for the next power tool, i.e., curve E). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teaching of Carrier showing discharge current curves within a preset period time and to determine if a first or second generation power tool as taught by Funabashi that would facilitate monitoring the discharge current from the battery cell, and be able to switching when the discharge current exceed a threshold (Funabashi, [0063]-[0067]).
Carrier in view of Funabashi does not explicitly teach a switch tube. Wang teaches a switch tube (a FET tube Q1, col 2 lines 60-62, col 4 line 65 to col 5 line 16). It is noted a vacuum tube is an electronic device that uses a vacuum to control electric current flow and the vacuum insulates the tube and protects it from electric currents. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teachings of Carrier and Funabashi having field effect transistor “FET” as switch tube as taught by Wang that would use a vacuum tube in FET to control electric current flow into it.
As per Claim 12, Carrier in view of Funabashi and Wang teaches the power supply method of a battery pack of claim 9, Carrier further teaches wherein the current adjustment circuit of the battery pack comprises a second driver circuit, a second switch, wherein the second switch is connected in series between the battery set and the output terminal, a control terminal of the second switch is connected to an output terminal of the second driver circuit, and an input terminal of the second driver circuit is connected to the control unit of the battery pack (Fig 9B shows a control circuit 930 of an old tool considered “a second driver circuit”, a semiconductor device 920 having three terminals considered “a first switch”, the first switch 920 connected in series between battery and output terminal and input terminal, see [0085], [0087]), and
an adjustment resistor (Figs 18, POT “potentiometer” 1820 considered “an adjustment resistor”, see [0121], “potentiometer” is a type of variable resistor produces variable resistance signals, see [0125]), the adjustment resistor is connected in parallel with the second switch (Fig 18 shows POT 1810 in parallel with switch FET 1820), wherein outputting, by the control unit of the battery pack, the control signal based on the type of the power tool (Fig 7 shows battery can be used with a new/old power tool operable at high/low currents. Sensor 810 in Fig 8 senses the type of tool “old/new” upon engaging with battery pack, see [0080]-[0081]. The sensed signal used by discharge control circuit 460 of battery pack 450, [0082]), comprises:
in a case where the power tool is the new generation power tool, outputting, by the control unit of the battery pack, a third control signal (if pack 450 is operatively connected to the first power tool “new generation power tool”, the discharge control circuit 460 of pack 450 receives a signal, i.e., current limit for the first power tool, [0069], [0068], [0070]), comprises:
driving, by the second driver circuit, the second switch to be turned on in response to the third control signal (Fig 13D shows FET 1325 “second switch”, FETs 1320 and 1325 revert to on/off, thus, when second switch 1325 is on meaning the discharge FET 1325 is received “a third control signal”, see [0104], see also [0099]-[0100]); and
in a case where the power tool is the old generation power tool, outputting, by the control unit of the battery pack, a fourth control signal (when attached to an existing old tool, the battery remains low impedance mode with FET is on state, and during start up condition the currents get too high - meaning control signal received a discharge current FET 1325 considered “a fourth control signal”),
wherein adjusting, by a current adjustment circuit of the battery pack, the discharge current in response to the control signal (Fig 4B shows a discharge control circuit 460 connected with an output terminal “power limiting device 490” considered “current adjustment circuit”, see [0068]-[0070], i.e., limited to a max output current, see [0072], [0076], [0082]), comprises:
turning, by the second driver circuit, the second switch tube off in response to the fourth control signal (reducing the PWM duty cycle, see [0106], where FETs 1320 and 1325 are reverted to on/off state, see [0104]),
Carrier in view of Funabashi does not explicitly teach a switch tube. Wang teaches a switch tube (a FET tube Q1, col 2 lines 60-62, col 4 line 65 to col 5 line 16). It is noted a vacuum tube is an electronic device that uses a vacuum to control electric current flow and the vacuum insulates the tube and protects it from electric currents.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teachings of Carrier and Funabashi having field effect transistor “FET” as switch tube as taught by Wang that would use a vacuum tube in FET to control electric current flow into it.
As per Claim 13, Carrier in view of Funabashi and Wang teaches the power supply method of a battery pack of claim 12, Carrier further teaches wherein after turning, by the second driver circuit, the second switch off (i.e., Fig 13D having “first/second switch 1320 and 1325 revert to on/off state, see [0104]). Funabashi teaches outputting, by the control unit, a fifth control signal to the second driver circuit in a second preset time after the control unit outputs the fourth control signal (outputs a high signal considered “a fifth control signal”, [0194]. Set a t2 timer considered “a preset time”, i.e., a second time period is elapsed, see Figs 9-10, [0068]); and driving, by the second driver circuit, the second switch to be turned on in response to the fifth control signal (FET 51/121 off to interrupt the discharge considered in response to “a fifth control signal”, [0051], e.g., FET 132 turns on to set a voltage to 0, [0194], [0172]-[0173]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teaching of Carrier showing discharge current curves within a preset period time and to determine the output signal as taught by Funabashi that would facilitate monitoring the discharge current from the battery cell, and be able to switching in response to the output of discharge current (Funabashi, [0172]-[0173]).
Carrier and Funabashi do not explicitly teach a switch tube.
Wang teaches a switch tube (a FET tube Q1, col 2 lines 60-62, col 4 line 65 to col 5 line 16. It is noted a vacuum tube is an electronic device that uses a vacuum to control electric current flow and the vacuum insulates the tube and protects it from electric currents). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teachings of Carrier and Funabashi having field effect transistor “FET” as switch tube as taught by Wang that would use a vacuum tube in FET to control electric current flow into it.
As per Claim 14, Carrier in view of Funabashi and Wang teaches the power supply method of a battery pack of claim 12, Carrier does not explicitly teach wherein after the power tool is started, the method further comprises: acquiring, by the control unit of the battery pack, the discharge current of the battery set through the current detection circuit; in a case where the discharge current is less than a preset current threshold, turning, by the control unit of the battery pack, the second switch off at preset intervals for a discharge current through the adjustment resistor to be detected; determining, by the control unit of the battery pack the type of the power tool based on the discharge current through the adjustment resistor; and turning the second switch on or off according to the type of power tool. Funabashi teaches after the power tool is started (see [0127], [0136], [0146]), the method further comprises: acquiring, by the control unit of the battery pack, the discharge current of the battery set through the current detection circuit (Fig 9 shows a discharge current, e.g., over 20 A, [0136]-[0138]); in a case where the discharge current is less than a preset current threshold (i.e., Fig 10 shows discharge current curve A less than 20A, [0133], [0143]), turning, by the control unit of the battery pack, the second switch off at preset intervals for a discharge current (as stated above, FET 132 off “low power” then FET 51/121 on “high power” at t1-13 in Figs 9 and 11) through the adjustment resistor to be detected (see [0116]);
determining, by the control unit of the battery pack (Fig 14: microcomputer 360 “control unit”, [0190]), the type of the power tool based on the discharge current (i.e., a high power tool discharges a large power, see [0007], [0053], [0068]) through the adjustment resistor, see [0116]; and turning the second switch on or off according to the type of power tool (FET 132 turns on and when FET 51/121 off, see [0194], [0172]-[0173]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teaching of Carrier showing a discharge current curves within a preset period time with a control adjustment circuit to determine the type of power tool as taught by Funabashi that would facilitate monitoring the discharge current from the battery cell, and determine a type of power tool and using a control adjustment to adjust the discharge current, and be able to switching when the discharge current exceed a threshold (Funabashi, [0063]-[0067]).
Carrier and Funabashi do not explicitly teach a switch tube.
Wang teaches a switch tube (a FET tube Q1, col 2 lines 60-62, col 4 line 65 to col 5 line 16). It is noted a vacuum tube is an electronic device that uses a vacuum to control electric current flow and the vacuum insulates the tube and protects it from electric currents. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teachings of Carrier and Funabashi having field effect transistor “FET” as switch tube as taught by Wang that would use a vacuum tube in FET to control electric current flow into it.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground of rejection presented in this Office action. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to LYNDA DINH whose telephone number is (571) 270-
7150. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 10AM-6PM ET.
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Arleen M Vazquez can be reached on 571-272-2619. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppairmy.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LYNDA DINH/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/LINA CORDERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857