DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 7/8/2026. Claims 1-8,10-14, 16, and 18-23 are presently pending and presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/8/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to arguments
Applicant amended claims 1,10,11,13,16, and 19, cancelled claims 9 and 17 and added claims 21-23 which changes the scope of the claims and as such a new grounds of rejection is issued.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 and 13 Applicant asserts:
Fauteux, Lee, and Pham, taken alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest the charging hub of independent claim 1. Specifically, Fauteux, Lee, and Pham do not teach or suggest a charging hub including a housing with a body having a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and a base extending from the first end, where the base defines a lower surface that is recessed relative to the first end and includes a recess, and where a battery receptacle is positioned on the base and partially defined by the recess.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 and 13 Applicant asserts:
Respectfully, Lee does not disclose a housing including a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and a base extending from the first end, where the base defines a lower surface that is recessed relative to the first end and includes a recess, and where a battery receptacle is positioned on the base and partially defined by the recess
And further asserts:
Pham does not cure the deficiencies of Fauteux and Lee, as Pham also fails to teach a housing including a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and a base extending from the first end, where the base defines a lower surface that is recessed relative to the first end and includes a recess, and where a battery receptacle is positioned on the base and partially defined by the recess.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and points to the rejection of claims 1 and 13 where the Examiner uses the combined teachings of Fauteux, Lee, and Pham and Tarter and Lee to teach claim language:
“a housing including a body (Fig. 7 of Fauteux housing including base and receptacle 22), having a first end (Fig. 7 of Fauteux. base), a second end opposite the first end (top of housing below the handle), and a base extending from the first end Fig. 7 of Fauteux. base), the base defining a lower surface Fig. 7 of Fauteux) that is recessed relative to the first end and including a recess and a battery receptacle positioned on the base and partially defined by the recess (313 Fig. 3b of Lee Position of output port 213/313 identified as “base” [0049] [0053][0063]); and a battery pack removably coupled to the housing at the battery receptacle (306,Fig. 3b and [0067] of Lee)”.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 and 13 Applicant asserts:
Tarter and Lee taken alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest the charging hub of independent claim 1.
An further asserts:
Respectfully, as discussed above, Lee does not disclose a housing including a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and a base extending from the first end, where the base defines a lower surface that is recessed relative to the first end and includes a recess, and where a battery receptacle is positioned on the base and partially defined by the recess As shown above in FIGS. 2 and 3, Lee discloses a port 213, 313 in a wall of the housing 207, 307 of the power supply, but does not disclose that the wall is recessed relative to a first end of the housing 207.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and points to the rejection of claims 1 and 13 where the Examiner uses the combined teachings of Fauteux, Lee, and Pham and Tarter and Lee to teach claim language:
“a housing including a body having a first end (Fig. 2 of Tarter base of lantern), a second end opposite the first end (Fig. 2 of Tarter top surface of lantern), and a base extending from the first end (Fig. 2 of Tarter) the base defining a lower surface (Fig. 2 of Tarter) that is recessed relative to the first end and including a recess and a battery receptacle positioned on the base and partially defined by the recess (313 Fig. 3b of Lee Position of output port 213/313 identified as “base” [0049] [0053][0063]); and a battery pack removably coupled to the housing at the battery receptacle (306,Fig. 3b and [0067] of Lee)”.
And further asserts:
In view of the foregoing, Fauteux, Lee, Pham, and Jakl, alone or in combination, fail to disclose or render obvious the subject matter of claim 13.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and points to the rejection of claims 1 and 13 where the Examiner states that it would be obvious to combine the teachings of Fauteux, Tarter, Lee, Pham, and Jakl,for the reasons set for the below.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 16 Applicant asserts:
In total, Applicant respectfully contends that Lu does not teach or suggest the method of independent claim 16.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and points to the rejection of claim 16 where the Examiner uses the combined teachings of Fauteux, Lee, Pham and Lu to teach the claim language of claim 16 as specified below.
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Examiner Notes on claim interpretation
Based on [0037] and Fig. 6 of the specification, Examiner interprets a “satellite device” as a portable “battery operated” electronic device.
.Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites “the method of claim 17” which depends from a canceled claim. Examiner will interpret as “the method of claim 16”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2,4, 6,8,10-12, and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fauteux (EP 3327888) in view of Lee (EP 3402036) in view of Pham (US 20140117922).
Fig. 3 and 7 of Fauteaux
As to claim 1, Fauteux discloses a charging hub (Fig. 3 and 7 above) comprising:
a housing including a body (Fig. 7 housing including base and receptacle 22), having a first end (Fig. 7 above. base), a second end opposite the first end (top of housing below the handle), and a base extending from the first end Fig. 7 above. base), the base defining a lower surface Fig. 7 above) a plurality of satellite device receptacles positioned on the body (Fig. 7 charging cradle 22), the plurality of satellite device receptacles configured to removably couple a plurality of satellite devices to the body ([0007]…removably-affixing the electric battery to the charging cradle. Fig. 3 electric battery pack 64)), each satellite device having a rechargeable battery (Fig. 3 and [0014] electric battery 64 is a rechargeable electric battery), each receptacle having an electrical connector configured to charge the rechargeable batteries of the plurality of satellite devices ([0016] Fig. 2 electrical contact 54 which connects to a corresponding battery electrical contact on the battery to charge the electrical battery).
Fauteux does not disclose/teach the base defining a lower surface that is recessed relative to the first end and including a recess nor teaches a battery receptacle positioned on the base and partially defined by the recess; and a battery pack removably coupled to the housing at the battery receptacle.
Lee teaches base defining a lower surface that is recessed relative to the first end and including a recess and a battery receptacle positioned on the base and partially defined by the recess (313 Fig. 3b above Position of output port 213/313 identified as “base” [0049] [0053][0063]); and a battery pack removably coupled to the housing at the battery receptacle (306,Fig. 3b and [0067]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging hub of Fauteux to include the base defining a lower surface that is recessed relative to the first end and including a recess, a battery receptacle positioned on the base and partially defined by the recess and a battery pack removably coupled to the housing at the battery receptacle, in order to provide external power to the charging hub without a cord or a wall outlet, thereby making it portable.
Fauteux in view of Lee is not specifically clear that the battery pack is operable to provide DC power to the electrical connectors and recharge the rechargeable batteries of the plurality of satellite devices.
Pham teaches the battery pack (202, Fig. 2) is operable to provide DC power to the electrical connectors (outputs 210 and 212) and recharge the rechargeable batteries of the plurality of devices ([0036] battery 202 is electrically connected to the power tool adapter and charger 200. DC Output 206 voltages are fed as inputs to multiple USB Outputs 210 and DC power outputs 212 having n-pin connector, mini-DIN, lugs, sockets, pins and tabs, for supplying voltages such as 5V-28V).
Since Fauteux teaches the electrical contacts are used to charge the battery packs of the plurality of satellite devices ([0016][0056]) and Pham teaches providing DC power to the electrical connectors (outputs 210 and 212), one of ordinary skill in the art can see that the combined teachings of Fauteaux and Pham teaches the DC power provided to the electrical connectors will recharge the batteries of Fauteaux’s devices.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging hub of Fauteux in view of Lee to wherein the battery pack is operable to provide DC power to the electrical connectors and recharge the rechargeable batteries of the plurality of satellite devices, in order to recharge the plurality of satellite devices without a cord or a wall outlet, thereby making it portable.
As to claim 2, Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham teaches the charging hub of claim 1, wherein the plurality of satellite device receptacles is configured to physically support the plurality of satellite devices ([0016] of Fauteux The charging cradle, 22, secures the battery to prevent it from moving during charging).
As to claim 4, Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham teaches the charging hub of claim 1, wherein the body includes a handle extending from a top of the body opposite the base (Fig. 7 handle 40 of Fauteux).
As to claim 6, Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham teaches the charging hub of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of satellite device receptacles is formed as a recess set into an outer wall of the body (Fig. 7 of Fauteux).
As to claim 8, Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham teaches the charging hub of claim 1.
Fauteux in view of Lee does not disclose/teach wherein each electrical connector is a USB port.
Pham teaches wherein each electrical connector is a USB port (Fig. 2 USB ports 210).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrical connector of Fauteaux to be a USB port, as taught by Pham in order to charge other devices thereby increasing the versatility of the charger.
As to claim 10, Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham teaches the charging hub of claim 1, wherein the battery receptacle includes a channel formed in the lower surface of the base within the recess. (Fig. 2b and 3b of Lee DC port 213/313).
As to claim 11, Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham teaches the charging hub of claim 1, wherein the battery pack is a power tool battery pack having electrical contacts ([0062] of Lee…one or more DC power packs 306 are suitable for use in battery driven or cordless DC power tools. As such the DC power packs 206 has electrical contacts).
Fauteux in view of Lee does not disclose/teach the battery pack having a latch operable to engage mechanical mounting features of the battery pack receptacle to releasably secure the power tool battery pack to the housing.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery pack of Fauteux in view of Lee to have a latch operable engage mechanical mounting features of the battery pack receptacle to releasably secure the power tool battery pack to the housing in order to prevent the battery pack from disengaging from the charger further prevent damage from the battery pack.
As to claim 12, Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham teaches the charging hub of claim 1, wherein the plurality of satellite device receptacles includes four satellite device receptacles (Fig. 3 and 7 of Fauteux).
As to claim 22, Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham teaches the charging hub of claim 1, wherein the battery pack includes a battery pack base that is received within the recess (Fig. 3b of Lee) and projects from the first end of the base such that the battery pack base supports the charging hub on a support surface (Fig. 3b of Lee the battery pack 306 has the ability to support the device 300 when inserted into the receptacle 313).
As to claim 23, Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham teaches the charging hub of claim 1, wherein the battery pack includes a battery pack base that is received within the recess (Fig. 3b of Lee pack 306 and recess 313) and has a bottom that is flush with or recessed relative to the first end of the base (Fig. 3b of Lee above).
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fauteux (EP 3327888) in view of Lee (EP 3402036) in view of Pham (US 20140117922) in view of Zhu (US 20190103805).
As to claim 3, Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham teaches the charging hub of claim 2.
Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham does not disclose/teach wherein each of the plurality of satellite device receptacles includes a rail configured to slidingly engage each of the plurality of satellite devices.
Zhu teaches wherein each of the plurality of satellite device receptacles includes a rail configured to slidingly engage each of the plurality of satellite devices. (Fig. 1 [0075] The battery pack interfaces 18 of the adaptor 10 further includes a coupling structure 185, which enables the battery pack to be removably coupled to the adaptor. Specifically, the coupling structure 185 may include two guiding rails 185a and 185b, which guide the battery pack 30 to be slidably and removably coupled to the adaptor 10.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the satellite device receptacles of Fauteux to wherein each of the plurality of satellite device receptacles includes a rail configured to slidingly engage each of the plurality of satellite devices, as taught by Zhu in order to properly align the electrical contacts of the satellite device with the electrical contacts of the charging hub, further preventing short circuits or damage to any devices.
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fauteux (EP 3327888) in view of Lee EP 3402036 in view of Pham (US 20140117922) in view of Goei (US 20150022001).
As to claim 7, Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham teaches the charging hub of claim 6, wherein the electrical connector is positioned on a lower surface of the recess (Fig. 7 of Fauteux).
Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham does not disclose/teach wherein each receptacle includes a pair of rails on sidewalls of the recess.
Goei teaches wherein each receptacle includes a pair of rails on sidewalls of the recess ([0029] The battery packs 102 slide into the rack 502 on rails 504 locates on each side 506 of the rack 502 ).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the satellite device receptacles of Fauteux to wherein each receptacle includes a pair of rails on sidewalls of the recess, in order to properly align the electrical contacts of the satellite device with the electrical contacts of the charging hub, further preventing short circuits or damage to any devices.
Claims 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fauteux (EP 3327888) in view of Lee EP 3402036 in view of Pham (US 20140117922) in view of Jakl (US 20200350789).
As to claim 13, Fauteux discloses a charging hub (Fig. 3 and 7 above) and satellite device kit (battery devices 20, Fig. 3) comprising:
the base defining a lower surface Fig. 7 above)
a charging hub including a first end (Fig. 7 above. base), a second end opposite the first end (top of housing below the handle), and a base extending from the first end Fig. 7 above. base), and having a lower surface Fig. 7 above), a plurality of receptacles positioned between the base and the second end (Fig. 7 charging cradle 22), the charging hub configured to receive power from a power supply ([0032] electric battery charger 10 draws its power from a power source which can be AC or DC power).
Fauteaux further discloses a first satellite device removably coupled to one of the plurality of receptacles (The electric battery 20 [0007]…removably-affixing the electric battery to the charging cradle), the first satellite device having a first rechargeable battery configured to be charged when the first satellite device is coupled to the one of the plurality of receptacles ([0016] The charging cradle 22 contains a cradle electrical contact (see Fig. 2 at 54) which connects to a corresponding battery electrical contact on the battery to charge the electrical battery), the first satellite device operable to perform a first function ([0014]-[0015] smart electric battery).
Fauteaux further discloses a second satellite device removably coupled to another of the plurality of receptacles (The electric battery 20 [0007]), the second satellite device having a second rechargeable battery configured to be charged when the second satellite device is coupled to the another of the plurality of receptacles ([0016]).
Fauteux does not specifically disclose the base having a lower surface that is recessed relative to the first end and the charging hub including a battery receptacle positioned in the lower surface and configured to removably receive a battery pack, the charging hub configured to receive power from the battery pack.
Lee teaches the base having a lower surface that is recessed relative to the first end (Fig. 3b above. Position of output port 213/313 identified as “base” [0049] [0053][0063]), the charging hub including a battery receptacle positioned in the lower surface and configured to removably receive a battery pack (313 Fig. 3b), the charging hub configured to receive power from the battery pack (Fig. 3a).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging hub of Fauteux to include a battery receptacle configured to removably receive a battery pack, the charging hub configured to receive power from the battery pack, in order to provide external power to the charging hub thereby making it portable while providing power to the charging hub without a cord or a wall outlet.
Fauteux further does not disclose the first satellite device configured to be charged by DC power from the battery pack when the first satellite device is coupled to the one of the plurality of receptacles and the second satellite device configured to be charged by DC power from the battery pack when the second satellite device is coupled to the another of the plurality of receptacles.
Pham teaches first device configured to be charged by DC power from the battery pack when the first device is coupled to the one of the plurality of receptacles and the second device configured to be charged by DC power from the battery pack when the second device is coupled to the another of the plurality of receptacles ([0036] battery 202 is electrically connected to the power tool adapter and charger 200. DC Output 206 voltages are fed as inputs to multiple USB Outputs 210 and DC power outputs 212 having n-pin connector, mini-DIN, lugs, sockets, pins and tabs, for supplying voltages such as 5V-28V).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging hub of Fauteux to include the first satellite device configured to be charged by DC power from the battery pack when the first satellite device is coupled to the one of the plurality of receptacles and the second satellite device configured to be charged by DC power from the battery pack when the second satellite device is coupled to the another of the plurality of receptacles in order to recharge the plurality of satellite devices without a cord or a wall outlet, thereby making it portable.
Fauteux does not specifically disclose the second satellite device operable to perform a second function that is different from the first function.
Jakl teaches the second satellite device operable to perform a second function that is different from the first function (Fig. 2 where charging system 200 showing different satellite devices 210, 216, 218, 220, 222 such as two-way radio, remote or earpiece RSMs, handheld devices, body cameras, gas sensors, mission critical handheld devices, gun holster sensors, handcuff holster sensors, and batteries [0026] . As such the varying satellite devices are operable to perform a different function from each other)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the satellite devices of Fauteux wherein the second satellite device operable to perform a second function that is different from the first function in order to accommodate various radio products and various battery types providing the advantage of commonality for the manufacturer and the user.
As to claim 14, Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham in view of Jakl teaches the kit of claim 13, wherein the first satellite device is one selected from a group consisting of a light, a speaker, a fan, a stud finder, a laser level, a power bank, a two-way radio, a radio (two - radios [0026] of Jakl), a combination light and speaker, and a flashlight, wherein the second satellite device is another selected from the group consisting of a light, a speaker, a fan, a stud finder, a laser level, a power bank, a two-way radio, a radio, a combination light and speaker, and a flashlight (remote speaker microphones (RSM’s) [0026] of Jakl).
Claims 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarter (US 20110012518) in view of Lee EP 3402036.
As to claim 1, Tarter discloses a charging hub (lantern 20, Fig. 1 [0018][0042]) comprising:
a housing including a body having a first end (Fig. 2 base of lantern), a second end opposite the first end (Fig. 2 top surface of lantern), and a base extending from the first end (Fig. 2), the base defining a lower surface (Fig. 2 of Tarter), a plurality of satellite device receptacles positioned on the body (Docking bay 34 [0023]), the plurality of satellite device receptacles configured to removably couple a plurality of satellite devices to the body ([0005] … area lights are removably connectable to the docking station), each satellite device having a rechargeable battery (the power source of the area light 24 which is a battery [0030]), each receptacle having an electrical connector configured to charge the rechargeable batteries of the plurality of satellite devices ([0042] If an area light 24 is no longer needed in a particular area, it can be returned to the docking station 22 where it can be powered by the docking station power source and/or the power source of the docking station can recharge the power source of the area light 24. When an area light 24 is returned to the docking station 22, docking station contacts 42, 44, 46 (i.e. electrical contact 36) are electrically connected to corresponding area light contacts 60, 64, 66 and the power source of the docking station 22 charges the power source of the area light 24).
Tarter does not disclose/teach the base defining a lower surface that is recessed relative to the first end and including a recess nor teaches a battery receptacle positioned on the base and partially defined by the recess; and a battery pack removably coupled to the housing at the battery receptacle.
Lee teaches base defining a lower surface that is recessed relative to the first end and including a recess and a battery receptacle positioned on the base and partially defined by the recess (313 Fig. 3b above Position of output port 213/313 identified as “base” [0049] [0053][0063]); and a battery pack removably coupled to the housing at the battery receptacle (306,Fig. 3b and [0067]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging hub of Tarter to include the base defining a lower surface that is recessed relative to the first end and including a recess, a battery receptacle positioned on the base and partially defined by the recess and a battery pack removably coupled to the housing at the battery receptacle, in order to provide external power to the charging hub, thereby making it portable while providing power to the charging hub without a cord or a wall outlet.
Tarter in view of Lee is not specifically clear that the battery pack operable to provide DC power to the electrical connectors and recharge the rechargeable batteries of the plurality of satellite devices.
Pham teaches the battery pack (202, Fig. 2) is operable to provide DC power to the electrical connectors (outputs 210 and 212) and recharge the rechargeable batteries of the plurality of devices ([0036] battery 202 is electrically connected to the power tool adapter and charger 200. DC Output 206 voltages are fed as inputs to multiple USB Outputs 210 and DC power outputs 212 having n-pin connector, mini-DIN, lugs, sockets, pins and tabs, for supplying voltages such as 5V-28V).
Since Tarter teaches the electrical contacts are used to charge the battery packs of the plurality of satellite devices ([0042]) and Pham teaches providing DC power to the electrical connectors (outputs 210 and 212), one of ordinary skill in the art can see that the combined teachings of Tarter and Pham teaches the DC power provided to the electrical connectors will recharge the batteries of Tarter’s devices.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging hub of Tarter in view of Lee to wherein the battery pack is operable to provide DC power to the electrical connectors and recharge the rechargeable batteries of the plurality of satellite devices, in order to recharge the plurality of satellite devices without a cord or a wall outlet, thereby making it portable.
As to claim 5, Tarter and Lee in view of Pham teaches the charging hub of claim 1.
Although Tarter teaches the plurality of satellite device encircles a center axis a central axis extending through the body, Tarter is not clear as to whether the plurality of satellite device receptacles are evenly spaced around the central axis extending through the body.
However it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to evenly space the plurality of satellite device receptacles around the central axis extending through the body in order to balance the weights of the battery packs around the handle.
Claims 16 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fauteux (EP 3327888) in view of Lee (EP 3402036) in view of Pham (US 20140117922) in view of Lu (CN 109080460).
As to Claim 16, Fauteux discloses a method of charging a satellite device with a charging hub (Fig. 3 and 7 above), the satellite device including a rechargeable battery (battery devices 20, Fig. 3), the charging hub including a housing, the method comprising:
coupling the satellite device to the charging hub such that the charging hub physically supports a housing of the satellite device on the housing of the charging hub (Fig. 3 and 7) and an electrical connector of the satellite device is in electrical communication with a port of the charging hub ([0016] The charging cradle 22 contains a cradle electrical contact (see Fig. 2 at 54) which connects to a corresponding battery electrical contact on the battery to charge the electrical battery);
Fauteux does not disclose/teach the housing having a receptacle, and a battery pack removably coupled to the housing.
Lee teaches the housing having a receptacle (313 Fig. 3b), and a battery pack removably coupled to the housing (306,Fig. 3b and [0067]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the housing of Fauteux to have a receptacle, and a battery pack removably coupled to the housing, in order to provide external power to the charging hub without a cord or a wall outlet, thereby making it portable.
Fauteux in view of Lee further does not disclose/teach the method comprising: coupling the satellite device to the receptacle of the charging hub (Examiner interprets as “electrically coupling” the satellite device to the receptacle of the charging hub);
Pham teaches coupling the satellite device to the receptacle of the charging hub, and charging a rechargeable battery of the satellite device with DC power from the battery pack connected to the charging hub ([0036] and Fig. 2 battery 202 is electrically connected to the power tool adapter and charger 200. DC Output 206 voltages are fed as inputs to multiple USB Outputs 210 and DC power outputs 212 having n-pin connector, mini-DIN, lugs, sockets, pins and tabs, for supplying voltages such as 5V-28V).
Since Fauteux teaches the electrical contacts are used to charge the battery packs of the plurality of satellite devices ([0016][0056]) and Pham teaches providing DC power to the electrical connectors (outputs 210 and 212), one of ordinary skill in the art can see that the combined teachings of Fauteaux and Pham teaches the DC power provided to the electrical connectors will recharge Fauteux’s batteries of the plurality of devices.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify method of Fauteux in view of Lee to couple the satellite device to the receptacle of the charging hub, and charge a rechargeable battery of the satellite device with DC power from the battery pack connected to the charging hub in order to recharge the plurality of satellite devices without a cord or a wall outlet, thereby making it portable.
Although Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham teaches charging a rechargeable battery of the satellite device with DC power from the battery pack connected to the charging hub ([0036] and Fig. 2 of Pham as described above).
Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham further does not disclose/teach the method comprising: monitoring via a monitoring circuit positioned within the housing of the satellite device, a voltage of the satellite device, sending a wakeup signal from the satellite device to the charging hub when the voltage falls below a predetermined threshold; and in response to the wakeup signal, charging, via a charging circuit positioned within the housing of the charging hub a rechargeable battery of the satellite device with DC power from the battery pack connected to the charging hub.
Lu teaches monitoring, via a monitoring circuit ([0027] low-voltage battery management system) a voltage of the device, sending a wakeup signal from the device to the charging device when the voltage falls below a predetermined threshold and in response to the wakeup signal charging a rechargeable battery of the device with DC power via a charging circuit positioned within the housing of the DC power source connected to the charging device (When the low-voltage battery management system detects that the voltage of the low-voltage battery is less than the preset charging start voltage, the vehicle control unit VCU is woken up so that the VCU wakes up the DC power supply to the DC power supply DC-DC device so that DC-DC device starts charging the low-voltage battery. See also [0076] Step 307 of Fig. 3 : The VCU completes high voltage power-up and starts to output a wake-up voltage signal to the DC-DC device through a hard line to wake up the DC-DC device. The DC-DC device starts to charge the 12V battery through the hard line (i.e. charging circuit within the DC-DC device charges the battery)).
Lu does not explicitly state that the monitoring circuit ([0027] low-voltage battery management system) is positioned within the housing of a device. However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position the monitoring circuit within the device so that the battery voltage can be communicated to any external battery monitoring system making it flexible.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Fauteux, Lee and Pham to have the satellite device send the wakeup signal to the charging device in view of Lu’s teaching of monitoring, via a monitoring circuit positioned within the housing of a device, a voltage of the satellite device, sending a wakeup signal from the satellite device to the charging hub when the voltage falls below a predetermined threshold and in response to the wakeup signal charging, via a charging circuit positioned within the housing of the device, a rechargeable battery of the satellite device with DC power from the battery pack connected to the charging hub.
The artisan would have been motivated to modify Fateaux, Lee and Pham with the teachings from Lu in order to avoid the battery over-discharge as taught by Lu (Abstract and [0008]), and to extend the satellite devices charging time by preserving power from the battery pack connected to the charging hub. It is noted that Lu is analogous art because Lu seeks to solve the problem of a device being charged sending a wakeup signal to its charger and in response, the charger charges the device.
As to Claim 19, Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham in view of Lu teaches the method of claim 16.
Fauteux in view of Lee does not disclose/teach wherein the electrical connector is a USB connector and wherein coupling the satellite device to the receptacle of the charging hub includes plugging the USB connector into the port of the satellite device
Pham teaches wherein the electrical connector is a USB connector (Fig. 2 of Pham USB ports 210), and wherein coupling the satellite device to the receptacle of the charging hub includes plugging the USB connector into the port of the satellite device (Fig. 2 of Pham USB ports 210).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the compartment of Fauteaux to include wherein coupling the satellite device to the receptacle of the charging hub includes plugging a USB port into the satellite device, in order to charge other devices thereby increasing the versatility of the charger.
As to Claim 20, Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham in view of Lu teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the housing of the charging hub has a plurality of receptacles (Fig. 7 charging cradles 22), and further comprising coupling a plurality of satellite devices to the plurality of receptacles of the charging hub to simultaneously support the plurality of satellite devices on the charging hub (Fig. 3 showing a plurality of satellite devices coupled to the plurality of receptacles of the charging hub to simultaneously support the plurality of satellite devices on the charging hub).
Claim 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fauteux (EP 3327888) in view of Lee (EP 3402036) in view of Pham (US 20140117922) in view of Lu (CN 109080460) in view of Zhu (US 20190103805).
As to Claim 18, Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham in view of Lu teaches the method of claim 17 (interpreted as “the method of claim 16” See 112 second rejection above).
Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham in view of Lu does not disclose/teach wherein coupling the satellite device to the receptacle of the charging hub includes sliding the satellite device along a rail positioned in the receptacle.
Zhu teaches wherein coupling the satellite device to the receptacle of the charging hub includes sliding the satellite device along a rail positioned in the receptacle. (Fig. 1, 4 [0075] The battery pack interfaces 18 of the adaptor 10 further includes a coupling structure 185, which enables the battery pack to be removably coupled to the adaptor. Specifically, the coupling structure 185 may include two guiding rails 185a and 185b, which guide the battery pack 30 to be slidably and removably coupled to the adaptor 10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the satellite device receptacles of Fauteux to wherein coupling the satellite device to the receptacle of the charging hub includes sliding the satellite device along a rail positioned in the receptacle, as taught by Zhu in order to properly align the electrical contacts of the satellite device with the electrical contacts of the charging hub, further preventing short circuits or damage to any devices.
As to Claim 21, Fauteux in view of Lee in view of Pham in view of Lu teaches method of claim 16, wherein sending a wakeup signal from the satellite device to the charging hub when the voltage falls below a predetermined threshold includes sending the wakeup signal to the charging hub through the electrical connector (Abstract and [0076] Step 307 of Fig. 3 of Lu: The VCU completes high voltage power-up and starts to output a wake-up voltage signal to the DC-DC device through a hard line to wake up the DC-DC device).
Conclusion
Wang (US 20230011671) is cited for [0112] In the case where the main storage battery is normal, when the first power supply state signal indicates that the output voltage of the main storage battery is lower than the preset voltage threshold, and the power supply system satisfies the charging condition, that is, in the case where the DCDC is normal and there is no high voltage security problem, and there is no security failure, the power domain controller sends a charging request to the DCDC through data wires so as to wake up the DCDC, and then the high voltage power supply box charges the main storage battery through DCDC. However, Wang is filed after the effective filing date.
Chen (US 20230382328) is cited for a power replenishment wake-up strategy provided in the disclosure can make it possible to couple all of a plurality of trigger conditions, such as a state of charge, a voltage, and a sleep time, for sending a power replenishment wake-up signal, thereby ensuring that a low-voltage battery is kept at a good charge level in several ways. However Chen is filed after the effective filing date.
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859