DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is responsive to amendment filed on 04/16/2026. Claims 1, and 8 are amended. Claims 1-14 are pending examination.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,132,732. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to the same subject matter, perform similar method steps and a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be free to practice one of the claimed inventions without infringing upon the other inventions.
Application number: 17461903
1. A method comprising: generating a centralized storage mechanism for data of a mobile device; automatically recording activities of the mobile device in the centralized storage mechanism; recording an accessory that is associated with the activities; receiving, from an application on the mobile device, a service plan associated with the mobile device; creating a set of profiles associated with the mobile device, wherein the set of profiles includes the activities, accessory, and service plan; comparing the set of profiles to a set of peer profiles that are associated with a different mobile device to identify one or more activities, accessory, or service plan present in the set of peer profiles and absent from the set of profiles; transmitting an offer to the mobile device based on the comparing, the offer including the one or more activities, accessory, or service plan that is present in the set of peer profiles and absent from the set of profiles.
Patent number: 11,132,7321. A method comprising:
creating a catalog associated with a mobile device;
recording data associated with the mobile device and storing the data in the catalog, the data comprising data selected from the group consisting of activity data, data associated with accessories used with the mobile device, service plans or service modules data;
identifying a service plan if a profile of cataloged activities and a profile of cataloged accessories match a given peer and the profile of cataloged service plans or modules does not match the given peer;
identifying an accessory if the profile of cataloged activities and the profile of cataloged service plans or modules matches a given peer and the profile of cataloged accessories does not match the given peer;
and identifying an activity if the profile of cataloged accessories and the profile of cataloged service plans or modules matches a given peer and the profile of cataloged activities does not match the given peer
identifying the mobile device by determining one of a vendor identifier (VID) or a product identifier (PID), determining one or more drivers that have a driver VID or driver PTD associated with the VID or PID;
and loading selected functional elements associated with the mobile device and the one or more drivers in milliseconds;
creating a set of profiles associated with the mobile device based on the catalog and identified mobile device;
associating each profile of the set of profiles with a respective different type of the data;
comparing the set of profiles to one or more sets of peer profiles that are associated with a peer mobile device to determine if at least one new item can be offered to a user of the mobile device;
selecting a peer from a plurality of peers, wherein each peer is associated with the one or more sets of peer profiles based on the comparing wherein the peer has a set of peer profiles including a first peer profile matching a profile in the set of profiles and a second peer profile not matching any of the profiles in the set of profiles;
identifying one or more new items to offer to the user of the mobile device based on the second peer profile; and
transmitting an offer to the mobile device, the offer including the one or more new items.
8. An apparatus comprising: a processor; and a storage medium for tangibly storing thereon program logic for execution by the processor, the stored program logic comprising: generating a centralized storage mechanism for data of a mobile device; automatically recording activities of the mobile device in the centralized storage mechanism; recording an accessory that is associated with the activities; receiving, from an application on the mobile device, a service plan associated with the mobile device; creating a set of profiles associated with the mobile device, wherein the set of profiles includes the activities, accessory, and service plan; comparing the set of profiles to a set of peer profiles that are associated with a different mobile device to identify one or more activities, accessory, or service plan present in the set of peer profiles and absent from the set of profiles; transmitting an offer to the mobile device based on the comparing, the offer including the one or more activities, accessory, or service plan that is present in the set of peer profiles and absent from the set of profiles.
7. An apparatus comprising:
a processor; and
a storage medium for tangibly storing thereon program logic for execution by the processor, the stored program logic comprising:
logic for creating a catalog associated with a mobile device;
logic for recording data associated with the mobile device and storing the data in the catalog, the data comprising data selected from the group consisting of activity data, data associated with accessories used with the mobile device, service plans or service modules data;
logic for identifying a service plan if a profile of cataloged activities and the profile of cataloged accessories match a given peer and the profile of cataloged service plans or modules does not match the given peer;
logic for identifying an accessory if the profile of cataloged activities and the profile of cataloged service plans or modules matches a given peer and the profile of cataloged accessories does not match the given peer;
logic for identifying an activity if the profile of cataloged accessories and the profile of cataloged service plans or modules matches a given peer and the profile of cataloged activities does not match the given peer;
logic for identifying the mobile device by determining one of a vendor identifier (VID) or a product identifier (PID), determining one or more drivers that have a driver VID or driver PID associated with the VID or PID;
logic for loading selected functional elements associated with the mobile device and the one or more drivers in milliseconds;
logic for creating a set of profiles associated with the mobile device based on the catalog and identified mobile device;
logic for associating each profile of the set of profiles with a respective different type of the data;
logic for comparing the set of profiles to one or more sets of peer profiles that are associated with a peer mobile device to determine if at least one new item can be offered to a user of the mobile device;
logic for selecting a peer from a plurality of peers, wherein each peer is associated with the one or more sets of peer profiles based on the comparing wherein the peer has a set of peer profiles including a first peer profile matching a profile in the set of profiles and a second peer profile not matching any of the profiles in the set of profiles;
logic for identifying one or more new items to offer to the user of the mobile device based on the second peer profile; and
logic for transmitting an offer to the mobile device, the offer including the one or more new items.
As to the independent claims:
Limitations presented in claim 2 is an obvious variation of additional limitations presented in Patent No. 11,132,732 claim 1.
Instant claim 3 is fully disclosed in claim 2 of the Patent No. 11,132,732.
Instant claim 4 is fully disclosed in claim 5 of the Patent No. 11,132,732.
Instant claim 6 is fully disclosed in claim 14 of the Patent No. 11,132,732.
Limitations presented in claim 9 is an obvious variation of additional limitations presented in Patent No. 11,132,732 claim 7.
Instant claim 10 is fully disclosed in claim 8 of the Patent No. 11,132,732.
Instant claim 11 is fully disclosed in claim 12 of the Patent No. 11,132,732.Instant claim 14 is fully disclosed in claim 14 of the Patent No. 11,132,732.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the changes above in order to cover slightly broader limitations. Furthermore, the claimed elements perform the same function as before.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim(s) 1 is/are drawn to method (i.e., a process), claim(s) 8 is/are drawn to a system (i.e., a machine/manufacture). As such, claims 1, and 8 is/are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claims 1-14 are directed to recording activities of a mobile device, comparing plans from different set of peer profiles and transmitting an offer to a mobile device based on comparison. Specifically, claim(s) 1, and 8 recite(s) generating data; automatically recording activities; receiving a service plan; creating a set of profiles, wherein the set of profiles includes the activities, and service plan; comparing the set of profiles to a set of peer profiles that are to identify one or more activities, or service plan present in the set of peer profiles and absent from the set of profiles; transmitting an offer based on the comparing, the offer including the one or more activities, or service plan that is present in the set of peer profiles and absent from the set of profiles which is grouped within the Methods Of Organizing Human Activity and is similar to the concept of (commercial or legal interactions including agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations) grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 54 (January 7, 2019)). Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (See pages 7, 10, Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., US Supreme Court, No. 13-298, June 19, 2014; 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 53-54 (January 7, 2019)).
The Claim limitations are listed under Methods Of Organizing Human Activity, and grouped as following:
generating data; automatically recording activities; receiving a service plan; creating a set of profiles, wherein the set of profiles includes the activities, and service plan; which is similar to the concept of (advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations),
comparing the set of profiles to a set of peer profiles that are to identify one or more activities, or service plan present in the set of peer profiles and absent from the set of profiles; which is similar to the concept of (advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations),
transmitting an offer based on the comparing, the offer including the one or more activities, or service plan that is present in the set of peer profiles and absent from the set of profiles; which is similar to the concept of (advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 54-55 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as mobile device, storage mechanism, processor, apparatus, storage medium merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or generally link(s) the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Specifically, the mobile device, storage mechanism, processor, apparatus, storage medium perform(s) the steps or functions of generating data; automatically recording activities; receiving a service plan; creating a set of profiles, wherein the set of profiles includes the activities, and service plan; comparing the set of profiles to a set of peer profiles that are to identify one or more activities, or service plan present in the set of peer profiles and absent from the set of profiles; transmitting an offer based on the comparing, the offer including the one or more activities, or service plan that is present in the set of peer profiles and absent from the set of profiles. The use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (Vanda Memo), the claims do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), the claims do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 56 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of using a mobile device, storage mechanism, processor, apparatus, storage medium to perform the steps amounts to no more than using a computer or processor to automate and/or implement the abstract idea of recording activities of a mobile device, comparing plans from different set of peer profiles and transmitting an offer to a mobile device based on comparison. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, the mobile device, storage mechanism, processor, apparatus, storage medium perform(s) the steps or functions of generating data; automatically recording activities; receiving a service plan; creating a set of profiles, wherein the set of profiles includes the activities, and service plan; comparing the set of profiles to a set of peer profiles that are to identify one or more activities, or service plan present in the set of peer profiles and absent from the set of profiles; transmitting an offer based on the comparing, the offer including the one or more activities, or service plan that is present in the set of peer profiles and absent from the set of profiles. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of recording activities of a mobile device, comparing plans from different set of peer profiles and transmitting an offer to a mobile device based on comparison. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
As for dependent claims 2-7, and 9-14 further describe the abstract idea of recording activities of a mobile device, comparing plans from different set of peer profiles and transmitting an offer to a mobile device based on comparison. Claim(s) 2-4, 6-7, and 9-14 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 56 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of using a apparatus, mobile device to perform the steps amounts to no more than using a computer or processor to automate and/or implement the abstract idea of recording activities of a mobile device, comparing plans from different set of peer profiles and transmitting an offer to a mobile device based on comparison. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, the apparatus, mobile device perform(s) the steps or functions of identifying by determining one of a first vendor identifier (VID) or a first product identifier (PID), determining one or more drivers that have a first driver VID or first driver PID associated with the first VID or first PID; and identifying by determining one of a second vendor identifier (VID) or a second product identifier (PID), determining one or more drivers that have a second driver VID or second driver PID associated with the second VID or second PID; wherein the activities comprise data indicating one or more of cell changes, roaming table updates, installation and activation of software applications, installation and activation of plug-in software, and phone calls; wherein transmitting an offer comprises transmitting a pop-up or email to a user with the offer; determining that the one or more new items meets at least one criteria associated with a filter of the user. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of recording activities of a mobile device, comparing plans from different set of peer profiles and transmitting an offer to a mobile device based on comparison. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
As for dependent claim 5, it provides an additional element that does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it amounts to significant extra solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g). See reference number US20160134997A1: (“the mobile phone is capable of conducting data interactions with such accessories as Bluetooth earphone via the server and the wearable intelligent device, while the wearable intelligent device is capable of conducting data interactions with a computer via the server and the mobile phone. For example, the user is still able to use a Bluetooth earphone”) (0073).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baluja et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170103322) in view of Marti et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20160091871).
As to Claim 1, Baluja teaches a method comprising:generating a centralized storage mechanism for data of a mobile device; (0108: retrieving subscription information for the target profile and subscription information for the profile of interest from a data store (e.g., a database or from a remote server) at operation 515. Subscription information may include a history or log of subscriber activity for a profile.),automatically recording activities of the mobile device in the centralized storage mechanism; (0108: retrieving subscription information for the target profile and subscription information for the profile of interest from a data store (e.g., a database or from a remote server) at operation 515. Subscription information may include a history or log of subscriber activity for a profile.),receiving, from an application on the mobile device (0021: client device 105 may also include a social network application 110, such as a web browser or a dedicated program (e.g., an “app” for a mobile device)) a service plan associated with the mobile device; (0067: the system may retrieve subscription information for the target profile and subscription information for the profile of interest. The subscription information for the profiles may be stored in a database on one or more of the social network servers 120 of FIG. 1 or on another server.),creating a set of profiles associated with the mobile device, wherein the set of profiles includes the activities (0108: Subscription information may include a history or log of subscriber activity for a profile), and service plan; (0067: the system may retrieve subscription information for the target profile and subscription information for the profile of interest. The subscription information for the profiles may be stored in a database on one or more of the social network servers 120 of FIG. 1 or on another server.),comparing the set of profiles to a set of peer profiles that are associated with a different mobile device to identify one or more activities, accessory, or service plan present in the set of peer profiles and absent from the set of profiles; (0004: comparing the subscription rate information for the first profile with the subscription rate information for the second profile, calculating, using a processor, a similarity score based on the comparison, and providing, to a user of the social network, a recommendation to subscribe to the first profile based on the similarity score.), (0005: identifying a group of subscribers that are subscribed to a profile of interest, selecting a target profile, wherein the at least one subscriber in the set of subscribers is also subscribed to the target profile, retrieving subscription rate information for the profile of interest and subscription rate information for the target profile, comparing the subscription rate information for the profile of interest with the subscription rate information for the target profile, and providing, to a user of the social network, a recommendation to subscribe to the profile of interest based on the comparing.), and (0104: comparing of subscription rates for profiles and providing recommendations to users based on the comparisons), (0024: transmitting those recommendations to the client devices 105.), (0042: Accordingly, of the 100 subscribers of profile A, the expected number of subscribers of profile B is 56. The system may compare the number of subscribers in the group that are also subscribed to profile B (40) with an expected number of subscribers for profile B (56) and determine that the actual number (40) does not exceed the expected number (56). Based on the comparison, the system may identify at least one target profile. For example, the subscribers of profile A seem less interested in subscribing to profile B than compared to the average interest of the population as a whole. Therefore, subscribers of profile B are bad targets to send recommendations to subscribe to profile A.), and (0043: In contrast, based on similar comparisons, subscribers of profile D and/or profile E are good targets to send recommendations to subscribe to profile A since their actual numbers exceed their expected numbers. More specifically, the expected number of subscribers of profile D for 100 members of the social network is 10 (10% of 100). However, for the 100 subscribers of profile A, there are 20 subscribers of profile D. We see that the actual number of subscribers of profile A that are also subscribers of profile D (20) exceeds the expected number of subscribers of profile D (10). Accordingly profile A is a good target to recommend to subscribers of profile D.), (Examiner notes: comparing profiles of peer profiles with different client devices found in Fig. 1 client device 1 and client device 2 and comparing profiles found in 0004 comparing the subscription rate information for the first profile with the subscription rate information for the second profile, which identify service plan which can be the subscription rate),transmitting an offer to the mobile device based on the comparing, the offer including the one or more activities, accessory, or service plan that is present in the set of peer profiles and absent from the set of profiles; (0063: the user is subscribed to a target profile that has a subscription rate that is very different than the subscription rate for the profile of interest, the user's recommendation score for the profile of interest may remain unchanged, be decreased, or be increased by an amount less than if the subscription rates were similar.), and (0024: transmitting those recommendations to the client devices 105.), (Examiner notes:transmitting recommendation to client devices that has subscription rate that is very different than the subscription rate for the profile of interest).
Baluja does not teach recording an accessory that is associated with the activities;
comparing the set of profiles for accessory.
However Marti teaches recording an accessory that is associated with the activities; (0080: a user can interact with accessories 606, e.g., using mobile controller device 610. Routine module 616 can collect and store accessory interaction data, e.g., using activity determining subsystem 504 of FIG. 5; the accessory interaction data can be collected and stored in addition to or instead of other types of activity data. The accessory interaction data can include, e.g., which accessory 606 the user interacted with, what (if any) accessory operations the user invoked, information about where accessory 606 is located within automated environment 602, and time of the interaction.),comparing the set of profiles for accessory (0080: a user can interact with accessories 606, e.g., using mobile controller device 610. Routine module 616 can collect and store accessory interaction data, e.g., using activity determining subsystem 504 of FIG. 5; the accessory interaction data can be collected and stored in addition to or instead of other types of activity data. The accessory interaction data can include, e.g., which accessory 606 the user interacted with, what (if any) accessory operations the user invoked, information about where accessory 606 is located within automated environment 602, and time of the interaction.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baluja to include recording an accessory that is associated with the activities and comparing the set of profiles for accessory of Marti. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that recording an accessory that is associated with the activities and comparing the set of profiles for accessory would provide plans that are not subscribed by all profiles which would encourage other profiles to subscribe with more plans and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 4, Baluja and Marti teach the method of claim 1.
Baluja further teaches wherein transmitting an offer to the mobile device comprises transmitting a pop-up or email to a user with the offer; (0022: recommendations or suggestions may be provided to the user as a pop up notification on a display device for the user, provided in a message sent to the user's email account or other messaging account, or provided in some other form.).
As to Claim 5, Baluja and Marti teach the method of claim 1.
Marti further teaches wherein the accessory comprises one of a Bluetooth accessory or a headset; (0022: For example, some wireless transports such as Bluetooth® transports (e.g., Bluetooth Classic, Bluetooth LE, and other transports conforming to standards promulgated by Bluetooth SIG, Inc., headquartered in Kirkland, Wash.).
As to Claim 6, Baluja and Marti teach the method of claim 1.
Baluja further teaches wherein the different mobile device comprises a plurality of mobile devices associated with different users; (0018: The network environment includes one or more client devices 105), and (Fig. 1: 105 client devices).
As to Claim 8, Baluja teaches an apparatus comprising:a processor; and (0023: processor),a storage medium for tangibly storing thereon program logic for execution by the processor, the stored program logic comprising: (0023: memory),generating a centralized storage mechanism for data of a mobile device; (0108: retrieving subscription information for the target profile and subscription information for the profile of interest from a data store (e.g., a database or from a remote server) at operation 515. Subscription information may include a history or log of subscriber activity for a profile.),recording activities of the mobile device; (0108: retrieving subscription information for the target profile and subscription information for the profile of interest from a data store (e.g., a database or from a remote server) at operation 515. Subscription information may include a history or log of subscriber activity for a profile.),receiving, from an application on the mobile device (0021: client device 105 may also include a social network application 110, such as a web browser or a dedicated program (e.g., an “app” for a mobile device)) a service plan associated with the mobile device; (0067: the system may retrieve subscription information for the target profile and subscription information for the profile of interest. The subscription information for the profiles may be stored in a database on one or more of the social network servers 120 of FIG. 1 or on another server.),creating a set of profiles associated with the mobile device, wherein the set of profiles includes the activities (0108: Subscription information may include a history or log of subscriber activity for a profile), and service plan; (0067: the system may retrieve subscription information for the target profile and subscription information for the profile of interest. The subscription information for the profiles may be stored in a database on one or more of the social network servers 120 of FIG. 1 or on another server.),comparing the set of profiles to a set of peer profiles that are associated with a different mobile device; determining one or more activities, accessory, or service plan is different in the set of peer profiles as compared with the set of profiles; and (0004: comparing the subscription rate information for the first profile with the subscription rate information for the second profile, calculating, using a processor, a similarity score based on the comparison, and providing, to a user of the social network, a recommendation to subscribe to the first profile based on the similarity score.), (0005: identifying a group of subscribers that are subscribed to a profile of interest, selecting a target profile, wherein the at least one subscriber in the set of subscribers is also subscribed to the target profile, retrieving subscription rate information for the profile of interest and subscription rate information for the target profile, comparing the subscription rate information for the profile of interest with the subscription rate information for the target profile, and providing, to a user of the social network, a recommendation to subscribe to the profile of interest based on the comparing.), and (0104: comparing of subscription rates for profiles and providing recommendations to users based on the comparisons), (0024: transmitting those recommendations to the client devices 105.), (0042: Accordingly, of the 100 subscribers of profile A, the expected number of subscribers of profile B is 56. The system may compare the number of subscribers in the group that are also subscribed to profile B (40) with an expected number of subscribers for profile B (56) and determine that the actual number (40) does not exceed the expected number (56). Based on the comparison, the system may identify at least one target profile. For example, the subscribers of profile A seem less interested in subscribing to profile B than compared to the average interest of the population as a whole. Therefore, subscribers of profile B are bad targets to send recommendations to subscribe to profile A.), and (0043: In contrast, based on similar comparisons, subscribers of profile D and/or profile E are good targets to send recommendations to subscribe to profile A since their actual numbers exceed their expected numbers. More specifically, the expected number of subscribers of profile D for 100 members of the social network is 10 (10% of 100). However, for the 100 subscribers of profile A, there are 20 subscribers of profile D. We see that the actual number of subscribers of profile A that are also subscribers of profile D (20) exceeds the expected number of subscribers of profile D (10). Accordingly profile A is a good target to recommend to subscribers of profile D.), (Examiner notes: comparing profiles of peer profiles with different client devices found in Fig. 1 client device 1 and client device 2 and comparing profiles found in 0004 comparing the subscription rate information for the first profile with the subscription rate information for the second profile, which identify service plan which can be the subscription rate),transmitting an offer to the mobile device, the offer including the one or more activities, accessory, or service plan that is different; (0063: the user is subscribed to a target profile that has a subscription rate that is very different than the subscription rate for the profile of interest, the user's recommendation score for the profile of interest may remain unchanged, be decreased, or be increased by an amount less than if the subscription rates were similar.), and (0024: transmitting those recommendations to the client devices 105.), (Examiner notes:transmitting recommendation to client devices that has subscription rate that is very different than the subscription rate for the profile of interest).
Baluja does not teach recording an accessory that is associated with the activities;
comparing set of profiles for accessory.
However Marti teaches recording an accessory that is associated with the activities; (0080: a user can interact with accessories 606, e.g., using mobile controller device 610. Routine module 616 can collect and store accessory interaction data, e.g., using activity determining subsystem 504 of FIG. 5; the accessory interaction data can be collected and stored in addition to or instead of other types of activity data. The accessory interaction data can include, e.g., which accessory 606 the user interacted with, what (if any) accessory operations the user invoked, information about where accessory 606 is located within automated environment 602, and time of the interaction.),comparing the set of profiles for accessory (0080: a user can interact with accessories 606, e.g., using mobile controller device 610. Routine module 616 can collect and store accessory interaction data, e.g., using activity determining subsystem 504 of FIG. 5; the accessory interaction data can be collected and stored in addition to or instead of other types of activity data. The accessory interaction data can include, e.g., which accessory 606 the user interacted with, what (if any) accessory operations the user invoked, information about where accessory 606 is located within automated environment 602, and time of the interaction.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baluja to include recording an accessory that is associated with the activities; and comparing set of profiles for accessory of Marti. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that recording an accessory that is associated with the activities; and comparing set of profiles for accessory would provide plans that are not subscribed by all profiles which would encourage other profiles to subscribe with more plans and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 11, Baluja and Marti teach the apparatus of claim 8.
Baluja further teaches wherein the logic for transmitting an offer to the mobile device comprises transmitting a pop-up or email to a user with the offer; (0022: recommendations or suggestions may be provided to the user as a pop up notification on a display device for the user, provided in a message sent to the user's email account or other messaging account, or provided in some other form.).
As to Claim 12, Baluja and Marti teach the apparatus of claim 8.
Marti further teaches wherein the accessory comprises one of a Bluetooth accessory or a headset; (0022: For example, some wireless transports such as Bluetooth® transports (e.g., Bluetooth Classic, Bluetooth LE, and other transports conforming to standards promulgated by Bluetooth SIG, Inc., headquartered in Kirkland, Wash.).
As to Claim 13, Baluja and Marti teach the apparatus of claim 8.
Baluja further teaches wherein the different mobile device comprises a plurality of mobile devices associated with different users; (0018: The network environment includes one or more client devices 105), and (Fig. 1: 105 client devices).
B. Claim(s) 2, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baluja et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170103322) in view of Marti et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20160091871) in view of Ratnakar, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20120190350).
As per claims 2 and 9, Baluja and Marti specifically dot discloses, identifying the mobile device by determining one of a first vendor identifier (VID) or a first product identifier (PID), determining one or more drivers that have a first driver VID or first driver PID associated with the first VID or first PID; and identifying the different mobile device by determining one of a second vendor identifier (VID) or a second product identifier (PID), determining one or more drivers that have a second driver VID or second driver PID associated with the second VID or second PID, however Ratnakar discloses, identifying the mobile device by determining one of a first vendor identifier (VID) or a first product identifier (PID), determining one or more drivers that have a first driver VID or first driver PID associated with the first VID or first PID; and identifying the different mobile device by determining one of a second vendor identifier (VID) or a second product identifier (PID), determining one or more drivers that have a second driver VID or second driver PID associated with the second VID or second PID (“The server application communicates one or more vendor messages to the mobile device. Mobile user has an option to accept or reject the vendor message. When mobile user accepts a vendor message; the mobile device ID (and preferably the vendor message ID) is communicated to the server application. The server application then logs the accepted vendor message ID and the corresponding vendor ID into the mobile user account in the application server; and server application also logs the mobile device ID and vendor message ID into corresponding vendor's account”) (0046).
C. Claim(s) 3, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baluja et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170103322) in view of Marti et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20160091871) in view of Elkarat et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20040192306).
As to Claim 3, Baluja and Marti teach the method of claim 1.
Baluja and Marti do not teach wherein the activities of the mobile device comprise data indicating one or more of cell changes, roaming table updates, installation and activation of software applications, installation and activation of plug-in software, and phone calls.
However Elkarat teaches wherein the activities of the mobile device comprise data indicating one or more of cell changes, roaming table updates, installation and activation of software applications, installation and activation of plug-in software, and phone calls; (0059: connection control signaling comprises data regarding roaming activity of said mobile unit in any one of a plurality of roaming environments, each roaming environment comprising a plurality of available roaming networks to which said mobile unit is able to make a roaming connection, and wherein said update information comprises updated preference data ranking said available roaming networks in an order of selection preference.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the activities of the mobile device comprise data indicating one or more of cell changes, roaming table updates, installation and activation of software applications, installation and activation of plug-in software, and phone calls. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the activities of the mobile device comprise data indicating one or more of cell changes, roaming table updates, installation and activation of software applications, installation and activation of plug-in software, and phone calls would provide more data that would help in better determination of what offer provide to the users and that would be an interest to the user which would encourage other profiles to subscribe with more plans and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 10, Baluja and Marti teach the apparatus of claim 8.
Baluja and Marti do not teach wherein the activities of the mobile device comprise data indicating one or more of cell changes, roaming table updates, installation and activation of software applications, installation and activation of plug-in software, and phone calls.
However Elkarat teaches wherein the activities of the mobile device comprise data indicating one or more of cell changes, roaming table updates, installation and activation of software applications, installation and activation of plug-in software, and phone calls; (0059: connection control signaling comprises data regarding roaming activity of said mobile unit in any one of a plurality of roaming environments, each roaming environment comprising a plurality of available roaming networks to which said mobile unit is able to make a roaming connection, and wherein said update information comprises updated preference data ranking said available roaming networks in an order of selection preference.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the activities of the mobile device comprise data indicating one or more of cell changes, roaming table updates, installation and activation of software applications, installation and activation of plug-in software, and phone calls. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the activities of the mobile device comprise data indicating one or more of cell changes, roaming table updates, installation and activation of software applications, installation and activation of plug-in software, and phone calls would provide more data that would help in better determination of what offer provide to the users and that would be an interest to the user which would encourage other profiles to subscribe with more plans and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
D. Claim(s) 7, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baluja et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170103322) in view of Marti et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20160091871) in view of Poon et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20040192306).
As to Claim 7, Baluja and Marti teach the method of claim 1.
Baluja and Marti do not teach determining that the one or more new items meets at least one criteria associated with a filter of the user.
However Poon teaches determining that the one or more new items meets at least one criteria associated with a filter of the user; (“the subscriber session is redirected to a portal with specific offers. The subscriber can select a top-up offer and be allowed to continue passing traffic at the original Quality of Service (QoS). The subscriber can also pay for a higher speed (e.g., "throttle up") if the subscriber is accessing a selected service (e.g., an online video) or wants more bandwidth to download a specified song or other type of file”) (0119, Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include determining that the one or more new items meets at least one criteria associated with a filter of the user. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that determining that the one or more new items meets at least one criteria associated with a filter of the user would provide an item that the user would be an interest to the user which would encourage other profiles to subscribe with more plans and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 14, Baluja and Marti teach the apparatus of claim 8.
Baluja and Marti do not teach wherein the stored program logic further comprises determining that the one or more new items meets at least one criteria associated with a filter of the user.
However Poon teaches wherein the stored program logic further comprises determining that the one or more new items meets at least one criteria associated with a filter of the user; (“the subscriber session is redirected to a portal with specific offers. The subscriber can select a top-up offer and be allowed to continue passing traffic at the original Quality of Service (QoS). The subscriber can also pay for a higher speed (e.g., "throttle up") if the subscriber is accessing a selected service (e.g., an online video) or wants more bandwidth to download a specified song or other type of file”) (0119, Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the stored program logic further comprises determining that the one or more new items meets at least one criteria associated with a filter of the user. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the stored program logic further comprises determining that the one or more new items meets at least one criteria associated with a filter of the user would provide an item that the user would be an interest to the user which would encourage other profiles to subscribe with more plans and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
NPL Reference
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The NPL “Track daily activity with Apple Watch” describes “The Activity app on your Apple Watch helps you keep track of your movement throughout the day and encourages you to meet your fitness goals. The app tracks how often you stand, how much you move, and how many minutes of exercise you do. Three rings in different colors summarize your progress. The goal is to sit less, move more, and get some exercise by completing each ring every day. The Fitness app on your iPhone keeps a record of your activity. If you’ve tracked at least 6 months of activity, it displays daily trend data for active calories, exercise minutes, stand hours, stand minutes, walk distance, cardio fitness, walking pace, and more. In the Fitness app on iPhone, tap Summary, then scroll to Trends to see how you’re doing compared with your average activity. Siri: On supported models, ask Siri something like, “How are my Activity Rings?” (Not available in all languages or regions.) See Keep track of your health and fitness with Siri. Note: Your Apple Watch is not a medical device. For important information about using the wellness apps safely, see Important safety information for Apple Watch.”.
Pertinent Art
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Reference#8984296 teaches similar invention which describes accessing, from the device driver and responsive to a peripheral device being coupled to the computer system, predetermined authentication information stored in the device driver, wherein the predetermined authentication information comprises an authentication policy defined by a driver developer source and a signature provided by the driver developer source, said device driver validated and signed by each of the driver developer source and an operating system validator; decrypting the signature to obtain a first message digest value, the first message digest value generated by the driver developer source using a first vendor identifier and a first product identifier provided by a vendor and a first device driver parameter provided by the driver developer source, the first device driver parameter including at least one of a first driver code image, a first driver path name, and a first driver filename; generating, by the device driver, a second message digest value according to said authentication policy using a second vendor identifier, a second product identifier received from the peripheral device coupled to the computer system, and a second device driver parameter including at least one of a second driver code image, a second driver path name, and a second driver filename; comparing said first and second message digest values; and loading said device driver in response to a match of said first and second message digest values, and otherwise terminating execution of said device driver, wherein the match ensures that the first vendor identifier and first product identifier provided by the vendor and the first device driver parameter provided by the driver developer source are the same as the second vendor identifier, the second product identifier, and the second device driver parameter received from the peripheral device.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed 04/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A. Applicant argues that the claims are not directed to a judicial exception under Step 2A Prong One. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As for Step 2A Prong One, of the Abstract idea is directed towards the abstract idea of recording activities of a mobile device, comparing plans from different set of peer profiles and transmitting an offer to a mobile device based on comparison which is grouped within the Methods Of Organizing Human Activity and is similar to the concept of (commercial or legal interactions including agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations) grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 54 (January 7, 2019)). Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (See pages 7, 10, Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., US Supreme Court, No. 13-298, June 19, 2014; 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 53-54 (January 7, 2019)), (MPEP § 2106.04).
As to the McRo case argument: The McRo case does not suggests that a claim is necessarily directed to patent eligible subject matter if it includes a combination of elements that amount to “ a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome defined by the claimed invention, as opposed to merely claiming the idea of a solution or outcome, instead the court merely suggest that a combination of elements that amount to a particular solution to a problem or particular wat to achieve a desired outcome defined by the claimed invention, as opposed to merely claiming the idea of a solution or outcome may indicate or support the conclusion that a claim is directed to an improvement in computer related technology, However the instant claims (regardless of whenever or not the recite particular solution to a problem) are not directed to an improvement in computer-related technology. They are also not directed to a particular solution to a problem.
Furthermore, in McRO the Courts concluded that the claimed invention was not directed to an abstract idea under prong one of Alice. The Court concluded the subject claims did not recite an abstract idea because the computer animation improved the prior art through the use of rules, rather than artists, to set morph weights and transitions between phonemes. Id. at 1308. Thus, the claimed invention in McRO allowed for computer performance of animation steps that previously had to be performed by human animators. Id. at 1313. Notably, the Court in McRO determined that the process required by the claims was not a process previously used by human animators. Id. at 1314. Therefore, the claims in McRO used "limited rules in a process specifically designed to achieve an improved technological result" over "existing, manual 3-D animation techniques." Id. at 1316.
Contrary to McRO, the instant claimed invention is directed towards an abstract idea - see the detailed 35 USC 101 analysis above- and the claims do not recite a computer-automated process that uses rules for animators unlike those previously employed by humans or a simlar type of improvement. Rather, the present claims recite certain methods of organizing human activity (i.e., an abstract idea as discussed supra).
As to the Core wireless argument: the instant claimed invention and Core Wireless have different claim sets and different fact patterns, and therefore the two are not analogous. Furthermore, in Core Wireless the Courts determined that the claimed invention was directed to an improved user interface, rather than an abstract idea. The Courts pointed to the Specification, noting that it teaches problems associated with prior art interfaces, especially with respect to displaying information on devices with small screens. The Core Wireless claimed invention improves the displaying of data on devices with small screens. Since the claimed invention is not directed to an abstract idea, as concluded by the Courts, the claim is not abstract, and therefore part two of the Alice test needs not be carried out because the invention was deemed eligible. Contrary to Core Wireless, the instant claimed invention is directed towards an abstract idea without significantly more - see Office Action above for the detailed, reasoned 35 USC 101 analysis. There is no technical evidence/technical support in the Applicant’s Specification that the instant claimed invention, when implemented, improves the functioning of the computing device itself, or that it improves another technology/technical field.
B. Applicant argues that the claims are not directed to a judicial exception under Step 2A Prong Two. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As for Step 2A Prong Two, the claim limitations do not include additional elements in the claim that apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, and the claim is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception and the claim limitation simply describe the abstract idea. The limitation directed to recording activities of a mobile device, comparing plans from different set of peer profiles and transmitting an offer to a mobile device based on comparison does not add technical improvement to the abstract idea. The recitations to “mobile device, storage mechanism, processor, apparatus, storage medium” perform(s) the steps or functions of generating data; automatically recording activities; receiving a service plan; creating a set of profiles, wherein the set of profiles includes the activities, and service plan; comparing the set of profiles to a set of peer profiles that are to identify one or more activities, or service plan present in the set of peer profiles and absent from the set of profiles; transmitting an offer based on the comparing, the offer including the one or more activities, or service plan that is present in the set of peer profiles and absent from the set of profiles. The use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (Vanda Memo), the claims do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), the claims do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
C. Applicant argues that the claims are not directed to a judicial exception under Step 2B.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As for Step 2B, The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 56 (January 7, 2019)), the limitation directed to recording activities of a mobile device, comparing plans from different set of peer profiles and transmitting an offer to a mobile device based on comparison does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. Furthermore, using well-known computer functions to execute an abstract idea does not constitute significantly more. The recitations to “v” are generically recited computer structure. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of recording activities of a mobile device, comparing plans from different set of peer profiles and transmitting an offer to a mobile device based on comparison. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
As to the BASCOM argument: in BASCOM, the court agreed that the concept of filtering content was an abstract idea; however, the claims were found to be significantly more since they did not merely recite the abstract idea along with the requirement to perform it on the Internet, or on a set of generic computer components. The inventive concept was found in the non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of known, conventional pieces, because although, filtering content on the Internet was already a known concept, the patent described how its particular arrangement of elements was a technical improvement over prior art ways of filtering content. The instant claims provide the abstract idea of recording activities of a mobile device, comparing plans from different set of peer profiles and transmitting an offer to a mobile device based on comparison and merely use a computing device to implement the abstract idea.
Thus, like BASCOM, Applicant’s claims are directed to an abstract concept but unlike BASCOM, they do not improve any technology neither are they unconventional. (See the above rejection for 35 USC 101 analysis above).
D. With regards to applicant's arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C 103 arguments has been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Primary reference was changed and secondary reference replaced the primary reference. (See mapping above).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/TAREK ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621B