DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendments filed on 10/4/2024. Claims 21 and 28-32 are amended. Claim 33 is canceled. Claims 21-32 are pending and addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 10/4/2024, with respect to claim 21 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new interpretations of the prior art of record being used in the current rejection. Applicant’s arguments are only directed to the amended claims, therefore the arguments are addressed in the body of the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 21, the claim recited the limitation “a second commissure” in line 12. It is not clear to the examiner if the second commissure in line 12 is the same as or different from the second commissure previously recited in lines 7-8. Therefore, the scope of the claim in unclear. For examination purposes, the limitation of “a second commissure” in line 12 will be interpreted as “the second commissure”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 22-32 are rejected due to being dependent on the rejected claim as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chau (US Pub No. 2014/0067054).
Regarding claim 21 as best understood, Chau discloses (Figures 3-8) a valve prosthesis (20), comprising a generally tubular body (Figures 6-8) adapted for placement proximate a mitral annulus (Figure 3) (Paragraph 0080), the tubular body having: a) a supra annular frame portion (top portion of the tubular body) that includes (i) a left atrial posterior loop (see annotated figure below) that is configured to rest above the mitral annulus in the left atrium (Figure 3), the left atrial posterior loop extending from a first end (see annotated figure below) at a location corresponding to a first commissure of a patient’s mitral annulus along a pathway corresponding a location of a posterior portion of the patient’s mitral annulus to a second end (see annotated figure below) at a location corresponding to a second commissure of the patient’s mitral annulus [The first end of the posterior loop corresponds or has a close similarity to a location of the first commissure of a patient’s mitral annulus since the valve prosthesis can be manipulated in any direction to get the first end of the posterior loop to correspond or have a close similarity to a location of the first commissure. Also, the second end of the posterior loop corresponds or has a close similarity to a location of the second commissure of a patient’s mitral annulus since the valve prosthesis can be manipulated in any direction to get the second end of the posterior loop to correspond or have a close similarity to a location of the second commissure. The examiner wants to note that the term “corresponding” is broad and the claim does not specifically state that the valve prosthesis needs to be in an implanted state within the heart for the first and seconds ends of the posterior loop to correspond to the different anatomical locations of the heart] (ii) an anterior left atrial loop (see annotated figure below) configured to expand into the left atrium above the mitral annulus (Figure 3), the anterior left atrial loop extending from a first end (see annotated figure below) at a location corresponding to the first commissure of the patient’s mitral annulus along a pathway corresponding to an anterior region of the patient’s atrium to a second end (see annotated figure below) in a location corresponding to the second commissure of the patient’s mitral annulus [The first end of the anterior loop corresponds or has a close similarity to a location of the first commissure of a patient’s mitral annulus since the valve prosthesis can be manipulated in any direction to get the first end of the anterior loop to correspond or have a close similarity to a location of the first commissure. Also, the second end of the anterior loop corresponds or has a close similarity to a location of the second commissure of a patient’s mitral annulus since the valve prosthesis can be manipulated in any direction to get the second end of the anterior loop to correspond or have a close similarity to a location of the second commissure. The examiner wants to note that the term “corresponding” is broad and the claim does not specifically state that the valve prosthesis needs to be in an implanted state within the heart for the first and seconds ends of the anterior loop to correspond to the different anatomical locations of the heart]; and b) a sub annular frame portion (bottom portion of the tubular body) configured to extend downwardly from the supra annular frame portion through a main opening of a patient’s mitral valve into a posterior region of a native left ventricle of the patient (Figure 3) (Paragraphs 0079-0080), the sub annular frame portion being configured to not extend into the patient’s left ventricle in the region of an anterior native mitral valve leaflet (6) of the patient when deployed such that the sub annular frame portion does not interfere with the opening and closing of the native anterior mitral valve leaflet (Figure 3) (Paragraphs 0079-0080), the sub annular frame portion being configured to form a surface that replaces a native posterior mitral valve leaflet (8) of the patient to coapt with the native anterior mitral valve leaflet (6) of the
patient to permit the mitral valve to open and close (Figure 3) (Paragraphs 0079-0080).
Regarding claim 23, wherein the surface includes a fabric (28) operably coupled to the sub annular frame portion (Figures 6-8) (Paragraph 0084).
Regarding claim 27, wherein the sub annular frame portion includes a generally circumferential wall (Figure 8) configured to traverse a posterior wall of the left ventricle at a location posterior of commissures of the patient’s mitral valve [Fully configured in doing this since Chau discloses all of the structural elements in the same arrangement as claimed].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22, 25, 26, 28 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chau (US Pub No. 2014/0067054) as applied to claim 21 above.
Regarding claims 22, 25 and 26, Chau discloses the invention of claim 21 above except for wherein the surface includes biological cells residing on prosthetic material, wherein the surface includes living tissue operably coupled to the sub annular frame portion and wherein the surface includes pericardial tissue operably coupled to the sub annular frame portion.
Chau’s alternative embodiment teaches (Figures 35-36) valve prosthetic devices (460, 470) that includes surfaces (462, 472) that comprise biological cells residing on prosthetic material (pericardial tissue) (Paragraph 0115), wherein the surfaces includes living tissue (pericardial tissue) (Paragraph 0115) and wherein the surface includes pericardial tissue (Paragraph 0115). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Chau to have the surface to include biological cells residing on prosthetic material, wherein the surface includes living tissue operably coupled to the sub annular frame portion and wherein the surface includes pericardial tissue operably coupled to the sub annular frame portion as taught by Chau’s alternative embodiment, in order to provide a material which is stiff enough to reduce the chance of leaflet prolapse, and flexible enough to increase the extend of leaflet coaptation (Paragraph 0115).
Regarding claims 28, 31 and 32, Chau discloses the invention of claim 21 above including a surface (28) extending from a first lateral portion of the prosthesis to an opposing, second lateral portion of the prosthesis (Figure 8) but fails to disclose surface prevent prolapse of an anterior native leaflet during systole, wherein the surface includes biological tissue and wherein the at least transverse support includes pericardial tissue.
Chau’s alternative embodiment teaches (Figures 35-36) valve prosthetic devices (460, 470) that includes a surface (462, 472) that prevent prolapse of an anterior native leaflet during systole (Paragraph 0115), wherein the surface includes biological tissue (pericardial tissue) (Paragraph 0115) and wherein the surface includes pericardial tissue (Paragraph 0115). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Chau to have the surface to prevent prolapse of an anterior native leaflet during systole, wherein the surface includes biological tissue and wherein the surface includes pericardial tissue as taught by Chau’s alternative embodiment, in order to provide a material which is stiff enough to reduce the chance of leaflet prolapse, and flexible enough to increase the extend of leaflet coaptation (Paragraph 0115).
Claims 24, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chau (US Pub No. 2014/0067054) as applied to claims 23 and 28 above, and further in view of Hill (US Pub No. 2010/0036479).
Regarding claim 24, Chau discloses the invention of claim 23 above except for wherein the fabric includes at least one of expanded PTFE, Dacron, and polyester material.
Hill, in the same field of endeavor, teaches (Figure 5) a valve prosthetic device (30) that includes a fabric of polyester material (Paragraph 0055). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Chau to have the fabric to include a polyester material as taught by Hill, in order to provide a material that includes a medium for tissue ingrowth, and the ability for the fabric to stretch to conform to a curved surface (Hill, Paragraph 0055).
Regarding claims 29 and 30, Chau discloses the invention of claim 28 above except for wherein the surface includes polyester material or an expanded PTFE material.
Hill, in the same field of endeavor, teaches (Figure 5) a valve prosthetic device (30) that includes a surfaace (34) that includes a polyester material or an expanded PTFE material (Paragraph 0055). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Chau to have the surface to include a polyester material or an expanded PTFE material as taught by Hill, in order to provide a material that includes a medium for tissue ingrowth, and the ability for the fabric to stretch to conform to a curved surface (Hill, Paragraph 0055).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAJID JAMIALAHMADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771