DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-11, 13 and 21-25 are pending. Claims 1, 8 and 23 are amended. Claims 2, 12 and 14-20 are canceled. Claims 24-25 are newly added.
Claims 4 and 21 are withdrawn, there being no linking or generic claim.
Claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13 and 22-25 are examined on their merits to the extent that the one or more photoreactive monomers is polyethylene glycol norbornene.
Previous Rejections
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn as are those rejections and/or objections expressly stated to be withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Rejections Withdrawn
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In light of the amendments to the claims the rejection of claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13 and 23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin US 2014/0112960 (4/24/2014) as evidenced by the specification and Lin et al. Thiol-norbornene photoclick hydrogels for tissue engineering applications, J Appl Polym Sci 2015 Feb 20; 132(8)(“J Appl”) is withdrawn
In light of the amendments to the claims the rejection of claim 22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin US 2014/0112960 (4/24/2014) as evidenced by the specification and Lin et al. Thiol-norbornene photoclick hydrogels for tissue engineering applications, J Appl Polym Sci 2015 Feb 20; 132(8)(“J Appl”) as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13 and 23 and further in view of Murphy et al. US 2015/0293073 (10/15/2015) is withdrawn.
Double Patenting
In light of the amendments to the claims the provisional rejection of claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13 and 22-23 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5, 9-10 and 25-30 of copending Application No. 18354636 in view of Lin US 2014/112960 (4/24/2014) and Murphy et al. US 2015/0293073 (10/15/2015) is withdrawn.
In light of the amendments to the claims the provisional rejection of claims 1, 3, 5-11 and 13 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 17990195 in view of Lin US 2014/112960 (4/24/2014) and Murphy et al. US 2015/0293073 (10/15/2015) is withdrawn.
New Grounds of Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. A Microfluidic-based cell encapsulation platform to achieve high long-term cell viability in photopolymerized PEGNB hydrogel microspheres, Journal of Materials Chemistry B, Vol 5, Issue I, 7 January 2017 in view of Lin US 2014/0112960 (4/24/2014) as evidenced by the specification and Lin et al. Thiol-norbornene photoclick hydrogels for tissue engineering applications, J Appl Polym Sci 2015 Feb 20; 132(8)(“J Appl”).
Jiang et al. (Jiang) is directed to cell encapsulation within photopolymerized polyethylene glycol-based hydrogel scaffolds and its demonstration that it is a robust strategy for cell delivery. (See Abstract).
Jiang teaches that recent microfluidic technologies have enabled the miniaturization of PEG hydrogels, thus enabling the making of miniaturized cell-laden vehicles. Polyethylene glycol norbornene (PEGNB) is shown to be formed by a step-growth photopolymerization and is not inhibited by oxygen. PEGNB has also been shown to be highly cytocompatible. Jiang shows microfluidic-based droplet fabrication that generates consistently cell-laden droplets. Microfluidically genearated PEGNB droplets are collected and photopolymerized under UV exposure in bulk water-in-oil emulsions. Jiang shows that its PEGNB microencapsulation platform using a microfluidic device is capable of generating cell-laden hydrogel microspheres at high rates with well-controlled size distributions and high long-term cell viability. (See Abstract on page 173).
Jiang teaches monomers that are polyethylene glycol norbornene. (See Abstract). Polyethylene glycol norbornene has a methylene functional group and is called for in instant claim 3. The mixture further comprises a population of cells. (See Abstract). Cells are called for in instant claim 1. Jiang teaches that its PEGNB microencapsulation platform is capable of generating cell-laden hydrogel microspheres, so spherical hydrogel droplets are generated as called for in instant claims 1 and 8.
The crosslinker is a di-thiol compound (See Hydrogel-forming solution on page 175). The cells are human lung adenoscarcinoma epithelial cells. (See Cell culture on page 175). Jiang teaches that the size of the microspheres are from 90 to 130 micrometers which is less than the about 500 micrometers or less called for in instant claims 1 and 8. (See
Jiang thus teaches an embodiment that is a composition that comprises a hydrogel which contains a polymer formed from the photoreactive monomer PEG norbornene and a dithiol linker as called for in instant claim 5.
PEG norbornene is a photoreactive monomer with a methylene group and PEG dithiol linker is a dithiol linker as called for in instant claims 8 and 1. PEG norbornene is an ultraviolet light photoreactive monomer as evidenced by J. Appl. (See Abstract “The gelation of thiol-norbornene hydrogels can be initiated by long-wave uv light or visible light without an additional coinitiator or comonomer”). An ultraviolet light photoreactive monomer is called for in instant claims 1, 7, 8, 9 and 11. Jiang thus teaches a composition comprising a ultraviolet light curable mixture capable of forming a biocompatible hydrogel, the mixture comprising one or more macromers each comprising a methylene functional group and one or more crosslinking agents.
Jiang teaches encapsulation of epithelial cells in a hydrogel formed of PEG norbornene and dithiol in water and oil. Jiang thus teaches a composition that contains a microcapsule that has a core containing a cell and polymeric shell in which the shell is made up of polymerized ultraviolet light photoreactive monomer (PEG norbornene) and a linker (dithiol) as called for in instant claim 1. The polymeric shell physically separates the cell from the external environment as called for in claim 23 because the cell is surrounded by the polymerized photoreactive monomer and a linker. This polymer is between the cell and any external environment because the microspheres are coated with the polymer.
Jiang shows microfluidic-based droplet fabrication that generates consistently cell-laden droplets. Microfluidically generated PEGNB droplets are collected and photopolymerized under UV exposure in bulk water-in-oil emulsions, so the microcapsule is formed by ultraviolet polymerization of a droplet comprising the cell, PEGNB and a dithiol linker as called for in instant claim 23. The microcapsule is formed in a microfluidic device as called for in instant claim 24. Oil is introduced to the microfluidic device and hydrogel mnicrospheres were made as called for in instant claim 25. (See Microfluidic cell encapsulation, Figure 1 and Vortex-based cell encapsulation on page 175).
Jiang et al. teaches dithiol linker but does not teach PEG dithiol linker. This deficiency is made up with the teachings of Lin.
Lin is directed to a compositions comprising a visible light-curable mixture capable of forming a biocompatible hydrogel and hydrogels prepared from the hydrogel precursor mixtures. (See Abstract). The hydrogels are generally formed under radical polymerization conditions. Type II initiators are activated with light and extra hydrogen atoms from reactive thiol groups. Lin teaches that in general photo-polymerization for hydrogel synthesis are initiated by either long wavelength ultraviolet light or alternatively using visible light. (See [0005]).
Lin teaches monomers that are polyethylene glycol norbornene. (See [0206], [0181], Example 180). The crosslinker is a polythiol compound (See Lin claim 10). Cells are human mouse insulinoma (MIN6) beta-cells spheroids (See [0072], figure 22(a), [0035], [0147], and examples). Crosslinking agents include PEG dithiol which has from 20 to about 1000 repeat units (See [0086-0089]). PEG dithiol is called for in instant claim 6. (See [0076-0077]). The PEG dithiol has a molecular weight in the range from about 5000 to 40000 Da. (See [0113]). From about 5000 to 40000 Da overlaps with the molecular weight of from about 500 Da to about 10,000 Da as called for in instant claim 7.
In Example at paragraph [211] Lin teaches MIN6 β-cell spheroids are stained with Eosin-Y and PEG-dithiol. The coating of PEGSH introduced sulfhydryl groups used for thiol-ene crosslinking near the cell surface. PEG-norbornene macromer was used. The thiol labeled spheroids are contacted with PEG-norbornene macromer and crosslinking agent to form thiol-ene gel coated spheroids (See [211-212]).
Lin thus teaches an embodiment that is a composition that comprises a hydrogel which contains a polymer formed from the photoreactive monomer PEG norbornene and a PEG dithiol linker.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date making the Jiang composition via microfluidic device of cell laden PEGNB hydrogel microspheres to use PEG dithiol as the dithiol in light of Lin’s teaching that PEG dithiol is an effective crosslinking dithiol to use with PEGNB.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success to use PEG dithiol linkers since dithiol linkers are already taught to be suitable linkers by Jiang.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. A Microfluidic-based cell encapsulation platform to achieve high long-term cell viability in photopolymerized PEGNB hydrogel microspheres, Journal of Materials Chemistry B, Vol 5, Issue I, 7 January 2017 in view of Lin US 2014/0112960 (4/24/2014) as evidenced by the specification and Lin et al. Thiol-norbornene photoclick hydrogels for tissue engineering applications, J Appl Polym Sci 2015 Feb 20; 132(8)(“J Appl”) as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13 and 23-25 and further in view of Murphy et al. US 2015/0293073 (10/15/2015).
The teachings of Jiang in view of Lin are described supra. Jiang in view of Lin does not teach lithium phenyl-2,4,6-trimethylbenzoylphosphinate. This deficiency is remedied by the teachings of Murphy et al.
Murphy et al. (Murphy) is directed to methods for forming patterned hydrogel arrays. (See Abstract). Murphy teaches that the patterned hydrogel arrays support the culture of a range of cell types. (See Abstract).
Murphy teaches that while biomaterial arrays such as self-assembled monolayers (“SAMs”) provide an excellent model substrate for investigating the effects of an immobilized ligand on cell behavior, preparing SAM array platforms using less labor intensive methods are needed to make SAM array use more widespread. (See [0011]).
Murphy teaches that suitable multifunctional polymer crosslinkers for use in the hydrogel precursor solution are known by those skilled in the art and polyethylene glycol dithiol is a particularly suitable polymer crosslinker. (See [0058]). Murphy teaches that the hydrogel precursor solution can further include an initiator. An initiator can induce polymerization and/or decrease the polymerization rate. (See [0059]). Murphy teaches that a particularly suitable photoinitiator is lithium phenyl-2,4,6-trimethylbenzoylphosphinate. (See [0059]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date making the Jiang in view of Lin composition of microfluidic device generated PEG norbornene and a PEG dithiol microsphere encapsulated lung epithelial cells to use lithium phenyl-2,4,6-trimethylbenzoylphosphinate as an initiator in order to have the ability to induce polymerization and decrease the polymerization rate as taught by Murphy.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13 and 22-225 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of Patent No. 12582676 in view of Lin US 2014/112960 (4/24/2014), Murphy et al. US 2015/0293073 (10/15/2015) and Jiang et al. A Microfluidic-based cell encapsulation platform to achieve high long-term cell viability in photopolymerized PEGNB hydrogel microspheres, Journal of Materials Chemistry B, Vol 5, Issue I, 7 January 2017.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims overlap in scope.
The instant application claims a composition, comprising: cells dispersed in or encapsulated within a hydrogel comprising a polymer made from a photoreactive monomer that is PEG-norbornene and a PEG-dithiol linker.
US Patent No. 12,582,676 (‘676) claims cells dispersed in or encapsulated within a hydrogel comprising a polymer made from a photoreactive monomer that is PEG-norbornene and a linker.
While ‘676 claims a linker, ‘676 does not expressly claim PEG diothiol linker or lithium phenyl-2,4,6-trimethylbenzoylphosphinate. ‘676 does not teach a microfluidic device to make the microcapsule wherein the microcapsule is formed by the introduction of oil. However, these deficiencies are cured by Lin, Murphy and Jiang.
The teachings of Lin are described above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of copending ‘636 and Lin and utilize PEG dithiol as the crosslinker. One skilled in the art would have been motivated PEG dithiol as it is a crosslinker known to be used with PEG norbornene as taught by Lin. Since copending ‘636 claims a linker which can be utilized with PEG norbornene there is a reasonable expectation of success.
The teachings of Murphy are described above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of copending ‘636 and Murphy and add lithium phenyl-2,4,6-trimethylbenzoylphosphinate as an initiator in order to have the ability to induce polymerization and decrease the polymerization rate as taught by Murphy.
The teachings of Jiang are described supra. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘676 and use a microfluidic device in which the microcapsule is made via the introduction of oil in light of Jiang’s teachings that its method of using a microfluidic device is capable of generating cell-laden hydrogel microspheres at high rates with well-controlled size distributions and high long-term cell viability.
Claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13 and 22-23 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1-6 of US Patent No. 12582676 in view of Lin US 2014/112960 (4/24/2014), Murphy et al. US 2015/0293073 (10/15/2015) and
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between application or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned copending U.S. Patent No. 12582676, discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualified as prior art under 35 U.S. C, 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owner or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 101(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(v)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 USC 102(c) and 37 CFRR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the invention were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 USC 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternative, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13 and 22-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 17990195 in view of Lin US 2014/112960 (4/24/2014), Murphy et al. US 2015/0293073 (10/15/2015) and Jiang et al. A Microfluidic-based cell encapsulation platform to achieve high long-term cell viability in photopolymerized PEGNB hydrogel microspheres, Journal of Materials Chemistry B, Vol 5, Issue I, 7 January 2017.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims overlap in scope.
The instant application claims a composition, comprising: cells dispersed in or encapsulated within a hydrogel comprising a polymer made from a photoreactive monomer that is PEG-norbornene and a PEG-dithiol linker.
Copending ‘195 claims cells dispersed in or encapsulated within a hydrogel comprising a polymer made from a photoreactive monomer that is PEG-norbornene and a linker.
While copending ‘195 claims a linker, copending ‘195 does not expressly claim PEG diothiol linker or lithium phenyl-2,4,6-trimethylbenzoylphosphinate. ‘195 does not teach a microfluidic device to make the microcapsule wherein the microcapsule is formed by the introduction of oil. However, these deficiencies are cured by Lin, Murphy and Jiang.
The teachings of Lin are described above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of copending ‘195 and Lin and utilize PEG dithiol as the crosslinker. One skilled in the art would have been motivated PEG dithiol as it is a crosslinker known to be used with PEG norbornene as taught by Lin. Since copending ‘636 claims a linker which can be utilized with PEG norbornene there is a reasonable expectation of success.
The teachings of Murphy are described above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of copending ‘195 and Murphy and add lithium phenyl-2,4,6-trimethylbenzoylphosphinate as an initiator in order to have the ability to induce polymerization and decrease the polymerization rate as taught by Murphy.
The teachings of Jiang are described supra. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘195 and use a microfluidic device in which the microcapsule is made via the introduction of oil in light of Jiang’s teachings that its method of using a microfluidic device is capable of generating cell-laden hydrogel microspheres at high rates with well-controlled size distributions and high long-term cell viability.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ remarks filed May 27, 2026 have been fully considered and are found to be persuasive in view of the amendments to the claims.
Applicants note the amendment to the claims.
II. Claim Rejections under 35 USC Sec. 103
Applicants argue that Lin does not teach or suggest a microcapsule comprising a core and a polymeric shell enclosing the core, the core comprising a cell. Applicants assert that Lin’s single layer and multilayer hydrogels are not described as core-shell microcapsules. Lin describes dual layer microgels in which a core microgel is formed and subsequently coated with an interfacial gel layer. Applicants assert that the core in Lin is a microgel, not a cell. Lin requires reacting the cells with PEGSH and then reacting the PEG-SH-cell with macromer and crosslinking agent
Applicants argue that Lin’s coated spheroid embodiment is materially different from amended claim 1 because amended claim 1 is not merely directed to a hydrogel-coated cell or spheroid but is directed to a microcapsule comprising a spherical polymerized hydrogel body having a diameter of 500 micrometers or less with a core comprising a cell.
Response
In light of the amendments to the claims, Applicants’ arguments that Lin’s coated spheroid embodiment is materially different from amended claim 1 because amended claim 1 is not merely directed to a hydrogel-coated cell or spheroid but is directed to a microcapsule comprising a spherical polymerized hydrogel body having a diameter of 500 micrometers or less with a core comprising a cell.
The remainder of Applicants arguments are moot in view of the new rejection applied above.
III. Obviousness Type Double Patenting Rejections
With respect to the obviousness type double patenting rejections, Applicants reiterate their arguments with respect to obviousness and state that the claims are not patentably distinct because amended claims 1 and 8 now recite spherical polymerized hydrogel droplets having cells encapsulated within the polymerized hydrogel body.
Response
In light of the amendments to the claims the obviousness-type double patenting rejection have been withdrawn above and new obviousness-type double patenting rejections have been applied above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SARAH CHICKOS/
Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/DAVID J BLANCHARD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1619