DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 5/8/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 18, and 24 have been amended, and claim 4 is cancelled. Thus, claims 1-3 and 6-24 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: referring to the valve connector housing further defining “an upper portion… and an lower portion” rather than “the upper portion… and the lower portion”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 11-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9259564 B2, henceforth written as Bagwell, in view of US 20210353855 A1, henceforth written as Suwito.
Regarding Claim 1,
Bagwell discloses:
An assembly for attachment to a gastrostomy feeding tube, the assembly comprising:
(enteral feeding assembly 110; fig 2)
a valve connector comprising: a valve connector housing comprising:
(feeding set connector 176; fig 3)
an upper portion; and
(portion of connector 176 superior to flange 180; fig 3)
a lower portion;
(flange 180 and the portion of connector 176 inferior to flange 180, the cuff 179; fig 3)
a conduit traversing the valve connector housing from an inlet to an outlet;
(conduit spanning ports 178 of connector 176; fig 7)
and a retaining element extending outwardly from the lower portion of the valve connector housing to a retaining element diameter;
(flange 180; fig 2-7)
and an anchor configured for attachment to the gastrostomy feeding tube,
(the claimed anchor comprises covers 170, base 114, inner mount 140, and mount 154)
the anchor comprising: an anchor housing configured to receive the lower portion of the valve connector,
(fig 3-4 demonstrating the claimed anchor receiving the claimed lower portion of connector 176 )
the anchor housing comprising: a gastrostomy feeding tube attachment feature for attaching the anchor to the gastrostomy feeding tube;
(distal end 132 connects to catheter 116; fig 3)
a locking piece disposed between the upper portion and the retaining element,
(mount covers 170; fig 2-5)
the locking piece defining a first valve connector retaining feature defining a first diameter that is less than the retaining element diameter so as to prevent the retaining element from vertically moving past the first valve connector retaining feature;
(inferior surface of edge 172 define an opening 174 and wall which prevent flange 180 from vertical movement upward past edge 172 in certain configurations; fig 2-5)
a base
(the claimed base comprises base 114, inner mount 140, and mount 154; fig 3)
defining a second valve connector retaining feature defining a second diameter that is less than the retaining element diameter so as to prevent the retaining element from vertically moving past the second valve connector retaining feature,
(the superior surface of mount 154 defining an opening 158 and surface on plate 156 which prevent flange 180 from vertical movement downward past opening 158; fig 3-4)
wherein when the base is in locking engagement with the locking piece in locked connection with the base about the valve connector, the locking piece and the base define a retaining space for the retaining element between the first valve connector retaining feature of the locking piece and the second valve connector retaining feature of the base, wherein, when the locking piece and the base are in the locking engagement with the locking piece in the locked connection with the base about the valve connector with the retaining space enclosed therebetween,
(fig 4 illustrates claimed locking engagement of the invention with flange 180 in the claimed retaining space)
the retaining space comprises additional -- space between the first valve connector retaining feature of the locking piece and the second valve connector retaining feature of the base relative to the retaining element of the valve connector to enable rotation -- movement of the retaining element and the valve connector relative to the anchor such that the conduit of the valve connector maintains fluid connection with the gastrostomy feeding tube during rotation.
(col 5 line 40-67; flange 180 is rotatable in the claimed retaining space while maintaining fluid connection)
Bagwell discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
the retaining space comprises additional vertical space between the first valve connector retaining feature of the locking piece and the second valve connector retaining feature of the base relative to the retaining element of the valve connector to enable -- vertical movement of the retaining element and the valve connector relative to the anchor
However Suwito teaches that in paragraph 30+39-45 connectors of fluid conveying systems may be formed from shape memory materials (e.g. thermoplastics, polyvinylcarbonates, or other acceptable materials ) such that there is an additional space between certain elements in an initially locked configuration, see fig 2-3+11-12. Further in paragraph 30+34-39, describing that when certain elements are exposed to heat, or other external stimuli, these elements may deform into that extra space and form a more secure second locked configuration, improving the bonded connection therebetween and providing secure leak free flow.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Suwito’s shape memory material teachings to the invention of Bagwell, such that Bagwell’s fluid path -including its valve connector and anchor- may be formed from a shape memory material and having additional space around their locking/sealing elements, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with locking/sealing elements forming a more secure leak free connection by being permitting expansion/contraction of the locking/sealing elements to external stimuli such as ambient temperature or temperature of a conveyed material, see paragraph 30+34-39+39-45 of Suwito.
Examiner notes as a result of the modification made above, there is additional space, such as vertical space, around the locking/sealing elements of Bagwell’s invention, such as flange 180 when between opening 180 and opening 158, and thus the modified invention of Bagwell in view of Suwito forms the claimed invention. Thus prior to exposure of this external stimuli and after the initial locking configuration illustrated in fig 4 of Bagwell, this additional space permits axial/vertical translation of flange 180 within the claimed retaining space of Bagwell.
Regarding claim 2, Bagwell in view of Suwito discloses:
The assembly of claim 1, wherein the valve connector housing further defines an upper portion having an upper diameter, and a lower portion having a lower diameter, wherein the upper diameter is larger than the lower diameter.
Bagwell: (fig 3+7 demonstrating connector 176 tapers to a diameter below flange 180, smaller than a diameter of connector 176 above flange 180)
Regarding claim 3, Bagwell in view of Suwito discloses:
The assembly of claim 2, wherein the retaining element extends radially outward from the lower portion of the valve connector housing.
Bagwell: (fig 3+7)
Regarding claim 11, Bagwell in view of Suwito discloses:
The assembly of claim 1, wherein the inlet comprises an engagement member configured to receive a feeding tube to enable fluid communication between the feeding tube and the conduit.
Bagwell: (port 178 of connector 175 has a member for engaging with feeding catheter portion 194; fig 2+7)
Regarding claim 12, Bagwell in view of Suwito discloses:
The assembly of claim 1, wherein the valve connector is 360 degree rotatable within the anchor.
Bagwell: (col 5 line 40-67, col 7 line 19-31, and col 7 line 46-54; flange 180 may be rotated in either direction 180 degrees, therein 360 degrees rotatable
Regarding claim 13, Bagwell in view of Suwito discloses:
The assembly of claim 1, wherein the valve connector is a reflux valve.
Bagwell: (connector 176 mates with diaphragm 150 and valve 146 to selectively prevent reflux or backflow in certain mated conditions of these elements such that connector 176 may be considered an element of a reflux valve; fig 3-4)
Regarding claim 14, Bagwell in view of Suwito teaches:
The assembly of claim 1, wherein the assembly is made from a thermoplastic.
Suwito: (paragraph 39-42; shape memory material may be a thermoplastic such as TVU or TPE)
Regarding claim 15, Bagwell in view of Suwito teaches:
The assembly of claim 1, wherein the assembly is made from polycarbonate.
Suwito: (paragraph 39-42; shape memory material may be a polycarbonate such as PVC)
Regarding claim 16, Bagwell in view of Suwito discloses:
The assembly of claim 1, wherein the valve connector is configured to enable administration of a bolus feed.
Bagwell: (connector 176 has a lumen and therein is enabled to administer bolus feed; fig 3)
Regarding claim 17, Bagwell in view of Suwito discloses:
The assembly of claim 1, wherein the valve connector is configured to enable administration of a continuous feed.
Bagwell: (connector 176 has a lumen and therein is enabled to administer bolus feed; fig 3)
Regarding Claim 18,
Bagwell discloses:
A device enabling rotation of a supply tube of a medical device, the device comprising:
(enteral feeding assembly 110; fig 2)
a connector comprising: a connector housing comprising:
(feeding set connector 176; fig 3)
an upper portion; and
(portion of connector 176 superior to flange 180; fig 3)
a lower portion;
(flange 180 and the portion of connector 176 inferior to flange 180, the cuff 179; fig 3)
a conduit traversing the connector housing from an inlet to an outlet;
(conduit spanning ports 178 of connector 176; fig 7)
and a retaining element extending outwardly from the lower portion of the connector housing to a retaining element diameter;
(flange 180; fig 2-7)
and an anchor configured for attachment to the medical device,
(the claimed anchor comprises covers 170, base 114, inner mount 140, and mount 154)
the anchor comprising: an anchor housing configured to receive the lower portion of the connector housing,
(fig 3-4 demonstrating the claimed anchor receiving the claimed lower portion of connector 176 )
the anchor housing comprising: a locking piece disposed between the upper portion and the retaining element,
(mount covers 170; fig 2-5)
the locking piece defining a first connector retaining feature defining a first diameter that is less than the retaining element diameter so as to prevent the retaining element from vertically moving past the first valve connector retaining feature; and
(inferior surface of edge 172 define an opening 174 and wall which prevent flange 180 from vertical movement upward past edge 172 in certain configurations; fig 2-5)
a base
(the claimed base comprises base 114, inner mount 140, and mount 154; fig 3)
defining a second connector retaining feature defining a second diameter that is less than the retaining element diameter so as to prevent the retaining element from vertically moving past the second valve connector retaining feature,
(the superior surface of mount 154 defining an opening 158 and surface on plate 156 which prevent flange 180 from vertical movement downward past opening 158; fig 3-4)
wherein when the base is in locking engagement with the locking piece, the first connector retaining feature and the second connector retaining feature define a retaining space wherein, when the anchor housing receives the portion of the connector housing and the base is in the locking engagement with the locking piece in locked connection with the base about the valve connector, and the retaining element of the connector is disposed in the retaining space,
(fig 4 illustrates claimed locking engagement of the invention with flange 180 in the claimed retaining space)
the retaining space comprises additional -- space between the first valve connector retaining feature of the locking piece and the second valve connector retaining feature of the base relative to the retaining element of the valve connector to enable rotation -- movement of the retaining element and the valve connector relative to the anchor while maintaining the locking engagement such that the conduit of the valve connector maintains fluid connection with the gastrostomy feeding tube during rotation.
(col 5 line 40-67; flange 180 is rotatable in the claimed retaining space while maintaining fluid connection)
Bagwell discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
the retaining space comprises additional vertical space between the first valve connector retaining feature of the locking piece and the second valve connector retaining feature of the base relative to the retaining element of the valve connector to enable -- vertical movement of the retaining element and the valve connector relative to the anchor
However Suwito teaches that in paragraph 30+39-45 connectors of fluid conveying systems may be formed from shape memory materials (e.g. thermoplastics, polyvinylcarbonates, or other acceptable materials ) such that there is an additional space between certain elements in an initially locked configuration, see fig 2-3+11-12. Further in paragraph 30+34-39, describing that when certain elements are exposed to heat, or other external stimuli, these elements may deform into that extra space and form a more secure second locked configuration, improving the bonded connection therebetween and providing secure leak free flow.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Suwito’s shape memory material teachings to the invention of Bagwell, such that Bagwell’s fluid path -including its valve connector and anchor- may be formed from a shape memory material and having additional space around their locking/sealing elements, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with locking/sealing elements forming a more secure leak free connection by being permitting expansion/contraction of the locking/sealing elements to external stimuli such as ambient temperature or temperature of a conveyed material, see paragraph 30+34-39+39-45 of Suwito.
Examiner notes as a result of the modification made above, there is additional space, such as vertical space, around the locking/sealing elements of Bagwell’s invention, such as flange 180 when between opening 180 and opening 158, and thus the modified invention of Bagwell in view of Suwito forms the claimed invention. Thus prior to exposure of this external stimuli and after the initial locking configuration illustrated in fig 4 of Bagwell, this additional space permits axial/vertical translation of flange 180 within the claimed retaining space of Bagwell.
Regarding claim 19, Bagwell in view of Suwito discloses:
The device of claim 18, wherein the medical device is an interventional or invasive device.
Bagwell: (col 6 line 37-67; invention is intended to dispense feeding solution into a patient's anatomy, therein is interventional and invasive)
Regarding claim 20, Bagwell in view of Suwito discloses:
The device of claim 18, wherein the medical device is a gastrostomy feeding tube.
Bagwell: (col 6 line 37-67; catheter 116 dispenses feeding solution to a patient)
Regarding claim 21, Bagwell in view of Suwito discloses:
The device of claim 18, wherein the medical device is a ventricular assist device.
Examiner notes that the claimed medical device is associated to the rest of the invention only with functional language of "enabling rotation of", "configured for", "for attaching", "configuration with", and "maintain connection with". Accordingly the aforementioned claim language implies a functional language and the prior art must at least be capable of performing the recited functions of enabling rotation of/connection to a medical device of the designated type
Bagwell: (col 6 line 37-67; catheter 116 and assembly 110 may invasively convey fluid to a patient, therein the invention therein the invention is functionally capable of enabling the rotation of and attachment thereto of another tubular catheter such as the claimed medical device type)
Regarding claim 22, Bagwell in view of Suwito discloses:
The device of claim 18, where in the medical device is a catheter.
Bagwell: (catheter 116; fig 3)
Regarding claim 23, Bagwell in view of Suwito discloses:
The device of claim 18, herein the medical device is a venous access port.
Examiner notes that the claimed medical device is associated to the rest of the invention only with functional language of "enabling rotation of", "configured for", "for attaching", "configuration with", and "maintain connection with". Accordingly the aforementioned claim language implies a functional language and the prior art must at least be capable of performing the recited functions of enabling rotation of/connection to a medical device of the designated type
Bagwell: (col 6 line 37-67; catheter 116 and assembly 110 may invasively convey fluid to a patient, therein the invention therein the invention is functionally capable of enabling the rotation of and attachment thereto of another tubular catheter such as the claimed medical device type)
Regarding Claim 24,
Bagwell discloses:
A method of installing an assembly for a medical device,
(enteral feeding assembly 110; fig 2)
the method comprising: inserting the medical device through an incision, wherein a first portion of the medical device is on an internal side of the incision and a second portion of the medical device is on an external side of the incision,
(col 1 line 11-36; catheter 116, part of assembly 110, spans a stoma -or incision- of a patient, and therein has a first portion within a patient on one side of the stoma/incision and another second portion outside of the patient on another side of the stoma/incision)
wherein the medical device comprises an opening;
(catheter 116 has an opening (not enumerated/illustrated) for dispensing fluid)
attaching an outlet of a connector to the opening of the medical device,
(connector 176 as an outlet at port 178 fluidically coupled to the opening of catheter 116 for dispensing fluid; fig 3)
the connector comprising: a connector housing comprising: an upper portion; and
(portion of connector 176 superior to flange 180; fig 3)
a lower portion;
(flange 180 and the portion of connector 176 inferior to flange 180, the cuff 179; fig 3)
a conduit traversing the connector housing from an inlet to an outlet;
(conduit spanning ports 178 of connector 176; fig 7)
and a retaining element extending outwardly from the lower portion of the connector housing-to a retaining element diameter;
(flange 180; fig 2-7)
and attaching an anchor to the medical device about the connector,
(the claimed anchor comprises covers 170, base 114, inner mount 140, and mount 154)
wherein the anchor comprises: an anchor housing configured to receive the lower portion of the connector housing,
(fig 3-4 demonstrating the claimed anchor receiving the claimed lower portion of connector 176 )
the anchor housing comprising: a locking piece
(mount covers 170; fig 2-5)
disposed between the upper portion and the retaining element, the locking piece, the locking piece a first connector retaining feature; and
(inferior surface of edge 172 define an opening 174 and wall which prevent flange 180 from vertical movement upward past edge 172 in certain configurations; fig 2-5)
a base
(the claimed base comprises base 114, inner mount 140, and mount 154; fig 3)
defining a second connector retaining feature defining a second diameter that is less than the retaining element diameter so as to prevent the retaining element from vertically moving past the second valve connector retaining feature,
(the superior surface of mount 154 defining an opening 158 and surface on plate 156 which prevent flange 180 from vertical movement downward past opening 158; fig 3-4)
wherein, when the base is in locking engagement with the locking piece, the first connector retaining feature and the second connector retaining feature define a retaining space, wherein, when the anchor housing receives the portion of the connector housing and the base is in the locking engagement with the locking piece in locked connection with the base about the connector, and the retaining element is disposed in the retaining space,
(fig 4 illustrates claimed locking engagement of the invention with flange 180 in the claimed retaining space)
the retaining space comprises additional --- space between the first valve connector retaining feature of the locking piece and the second valve connector retaining feature of the base relative to the retaining element of the connector to enable rotation -- movement of the retaining element and the connector relative to the anchor while maintaining the locking engagement such that the conduit of the connector maintains fluid connection with the medical device during rotation
(col 5 line 40-67; flange 180 is rotatable in the claimed retaining space while maintaining fluid connection)
Bagwell discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
the retaining space comprises additional vertical space between the first valve connector retaining feature of the locking piece and the second valve connector retaining feature of the base relative to the retaining element of the valve connector to enable -- vertical movement of the retaining element and the valve connector relative to the anchor
However Suwito teaches that in paragraph 30+39-45 connectors of fluid conveying systems may be formed from shape memory materials (e.g. thermoplastics, polyvinylcarbonates, or other acceptable materials ) such that there is an additional space between certain elements in an initially locked configuration, see fig 2-3+11-12. Further in paragraph 30+34-39, describing that when certain elements are exposed to heat, or other external stimuli, these elements may deform into that extra space and form a more secure second locked configuration, improving the bonded connection therebetween and providing secure leak free flow.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Suwito’s shape memory material teachings to the invention of Bagwell, such that Bagwell’s fluid path -including its valve connector and anchor- may be formed from a shape memory material and having additional space around their locking/sealing elements, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with locking/sealing elements forming a more secure leak free connection by being permitting expansion/contraction of the locking/sealing elements to external stimuli such as ambient temperature or temperature of a conveyed material, see paragraph 30+34-39+39-45 of Suwito.
Examiner notes as a result of the modification made above, there is additional space, such as vertical space, around the locking/sealing elements of Bagwell’s invention, such as flange 180 when between opening 180 and opening 158, and thus the modified invention of Bagwell in view of Suwito forms the claimed invention. Thus prior to exposure of this external stimuli and after the initial locking configuration illustrated in fig 4 of Bagwell, this additional space permits axial/vertical translation of flange 180 within the claimed retaining space of Bagwell.
Claim(s) 6, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bagwell in view of Suwito as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 5047021 A, henceforth written as Utterberg.
Regarding Claim 6,
Bagwell in view of Suwito discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the following limitations of the present claim:
The assembly of claim 1, wherein the base comprises [a locking mechanism]; and wherein the locking piece comprises [a mating mechanism for mating with a locking mechanism], wherein [the locking piece is received by the base].
Bagwell: (col 4 line 60 to col 5 line 5 and col 7 line 61 to col 8 line 40; covers 170 may be mounted mount 154 via intermediary pins, adhesion, or being formed of one piece and press fit into place)
However, Bagwell in view of Suwito is silent regarding:
wherein the base comprises at least one thread protruding from and extending partially about an outer circumference of the base; and wherein the locking piece comprises at least one channel configured to receive the at least one thread, wherein the at least one channel extends at least partially about the outer circumference of an inner surface of the locking piece
However, Utterberg teaches a fluid connector comprising:
wherein the base comprises at least one thread protruding from and extending partially about an outer circumference of the base;
(lugs 15 extending from outer circumference of luer lock 5; fig 6-7)
and wherein the locking piece comprises at least one channel configured to receive the at least one thread, wherein the at least one channel extends at least partially about the outer circumference of an inner surface of the locking piece.
(twist ring 320 has threads 326, therein a channel, extending about the circumference of ring 320's inner surface and receives lugs 15; fig 6-7)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the axial translation coupling disclosed by Bagwell for the rotative coupling taught by Utterberg, such that Bagwell’s locking piece comprises Utterberg’s channels and Bagwell’s base comprises Utterberg’s threads to connect in the manner demonstrated by Utterberg, as they are art recognized equivalents known for the same purpose of mating fluid conveying connectors together, see MPEP 2144.06(II).
Regarding claim 8, Bagwell in view of Suwito and Utterberg teaches:
The assembly of claim 6, wherein the at least one channel angularly descends about the circumference of the locking piece.
Utterberg: (fig 5 demonstrates that threads 36 angularly descends along the flow axis 315 about the circumference of ring 320)
Regarding claim 10, Bagwell in view of Suwito and Utterberg teaches:
The assembly of claim 6, wherein the locking piece is rotatable by 90 degrees in a first direction to secure the locking piece to the base, and rotatable 90 degrees in a second direction opposite the first direction to release the locking piece from securement with the base.
Examiner notes that claim language of “rotatable” implies a functional language and the prior art must at least be capable of performing the recited function of being rotated by 90 degrees in one direction to secure the locking piece and base, and rotated 90 degrees in an opposing direction to disconnect the locking piece from the base.
Utterberg: (luer lock 5 mates to ring 320 by a number of rotations, such that when the lugs 15 are first disposed at a quarter rotation into threads 326, a clockwise quarter rotation, therein 90 degrees, of ring 320 would act to secure the claimed locking piece and claimed base together, however a subsequent quarter rotation of ring 320 in a counter-clockwise direction would work to decouple lugs 15 of the claimed base from the threads 326 of the claimed locking piece)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bagwell in view of Suwito and Utterberg as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of US 20160325087 A1, henceforth written as Lapp.
Regarding Claim 7,
Bagwell in view of Suwito and Utterberg discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However, Bagwell in view of Suwito and Utterberg is silent regarding:
The assembly of claim 6, wherein the at least one thread comprises a protrusion and the at least one channel comprises a divot to receive the protrusion.
However, Lapp teaches a screw lock connector
wherein the at least one thread comprises a protrusion
(paragraph 69; outside thread 120 has first formation 140; fig 3)
and the at least one channel comprises a divot to receive the protrusion.
(paragraph 69; union nut 230 has second formation 240; fig 3)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the protrusion mating with divot teachings of Lapp to the threaded engagement in the modified invention of Bagwell in view of Suwito and Utterberg in order to arrive at an invention which can advantageously inform the user, through the user's senses, of threaded engagement of the connector by the interaction of the claimed protrusion and claimed divot, see paragraph 50+69 of Lapp
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bagwell in view of Suwito and Utterberg as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of US 20130046287 A1, henceforth written as Davis.
Regarding Claim 9,
Bagwell in view of Suwito and Utterberg discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the follow limitations of the present claim:
The assembly of claim 6, wherein the at least one thread is a first thread and a second thread, wherein the second thread is disposed opposite the first thread;
Utterberg: (lugs 15 on luer lock 5, illustrated in fig 6-7 as being disposed on opposite sides thereof)
and wherein the at least one channel is a first channel --
Utterberg: (threads 326; fig 5-7)
However, Bagwell in view of Suwito and Utterberg is silent regarding:
wherein the at least one channel is a first channel and a second channel, wherein the second channel is disposed opposite the first channel.
However, Davis teaches a screw lock connector
wherein the at least one thread is a first thread and a second thread, wherein the second thread is disposed opposite the first thread;
(fig 1 demonstrating projections 120 are disposed opposite each other)
and wherein the at least one channel is a first channel and a second channel, wherein the second channel is disposed opposite the first channel.
(paragraph 27; threads 158 160 are disposed in a double helix pattern opposite of each other)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to duplicate the claimed channel of Utterberg and arranging the duplicate channel in the manner taught by Davis, therein arriving at the claimed invention, as such a modification involving duplication of parts only involves routine skill in the art, see MPEP 2144.04 (VI), and further would advantageously arrive at an invention with redundant threading means for engaging two components together, improving the security of the engagement process.
Conclusion
/FORREST B DIPERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783