DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's response, filed 10/6/2025, has been fully considered. The following rejections and/or
objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being
applied to the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/09/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the final office action on 04/24/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
The instant application claims benefit of priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/010,252 filed on 6/10/2014. The claim to the benefit of priority is acknowledged. As such, the effective filing date of claims 9-10, 12-16, 19-21, 23-25, and 28-31 is 6/10/2014.
Claim Status
Claims 9-10, 12-16, 19-21, 23-25, and 28-31 are pending.
Claim 11, 17-18, 22, 26-27, and 32-40 are cancelled.
Claims 9-10, 12-16, 19-21, 23-25, and 28-31 are rejected.
Specification
Response to Arguments
In view of applicant’s arguments, previously recited objections to the specification are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Response to Amendment
In view of applicant’s amendments to the claims, previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn.
In view of applicant’s amendments to the claims, previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Response to Amendment
In view of applicant’s amendments to the claims, previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been reviewed, updated, and provided below.
Claims 9-10, 12-16, 19-21, 23-25 and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract ideas and natural phenomenon without significantly more. The claims recite a method for monitoring the presence or absence of axial spondyloarthritis activity in a subject using patient and population data to derive an MBDA score. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because while claims 9-16,19-25 and 28-31 attempt to integrate the exception into a practical application, said application is either generically recited computer elements that do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea, well-understood, routine and conventional activities, or it is merely an insignificant extra solution activity. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the computer elements only store and retrieve information in memory as well as perform basic calculations that are known to be well-understood, routine and conventional computer functions as recognized by the decisions listed in MEPEP § 2106.05(d).
Framework with which to Analyze Subject Matter Eligibility:
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a category of statutory subject matter (a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter)? [see MPEP § 2106.03]
Claims are directed to statutory subject matter, specifically methods (claims 9-16,19-25 and 28-31).
Step 2A Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., an abstract idea, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon? [see MPEP § 2106.04(a)]
The claims herein recite abstract ideas, mental processes and mathematical concepts.
With respect to the Step 2A Prong One evaluation, the instant claims are found herein to recite abstract ideas that fall into the grouping of mental processes and mathematical concepts.
Claim 9: Determining a plurality of MBDA scores for the individuals in a population, deriving an aggregate MBDA value for a population, and determining an MBDA score for a subject are all verbal articulations of mathematical processes which are abstract ideas, specifically mathematical concepts. Monitoring the presence or absence of axial spondyloarthritis, determining disease activity in a subject, and diagnosing axSpA in a subject are all processes of examining and comparing/contrasting information that can be done with a pen and paper or within a human mind and are therefore abstract ideas, specifically mental processes. Comparing the aggregate MBDA value to a subjects MBDA score is both a process of examining and comparing/contrasting information that can be done with a pen and paper or within a human mind and is therefore an abstract idea, specifically a mental process and a verbal articulation of mathematical processes which is an abstract idea, specifically a mathematical concept.
Claim 12: The MBDA score for a subject being predictive of a clinical assessment is a mental process.
Claim 13: The clinical assessment being selected from the specified group is merely limiting what the score is predictive for which is part of the abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claim 14: Determining a second MBDA score for a subject is a mathematical concept. A change in scores indicating axSpA activity or presence are mental processes. Comparing the first and second MBDA scores to determine a change is both a mental process and mathematical concept.
Claim 15: Preparing a report to be disseminated to the subject is merely a method of organizing human activity which can be done with pen and paper and the human mind, and is also merely an interaction between a lab tech and doctor, which is an abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claim 16: Determining a second MBDA score for a subject is a mathematical concept. Comparing the first and second MBDA scores is both a mental process and mathematical concept. Determining a treatment efficacy based upon the score comparison is a mental process.
Claim 19: A computer implemented method for scoring a sample and determining an MBDA score using an interpretation function are mathematical concepts. The MBDA score providing a classification, diagnosis or risk prediction is both a mental process and mathematical concept.
Claim 21: Determining a second MBDA score using an interpretation function is a mathematical concept. Comparing a first and second MBDA score to determine a change is both a mental process and mathematical concept. The change indicating a change in inflammatory disease activity or diagnosis is a mental process.
Claim 23: The MBDA score being predictive of a clinical assessment is a mental process.
Claim 24: The clinical assessment being selected from the specified group is merely limiting what the score is predictive for which is part of the abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claim 25: Preparing a report to be disseminated to the subject is merely a method of organizing human activity which can be done with pen and paper and the human mind, and is also merely an interaction between a lab tech and doctor, which is an abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claim 28: Selecting an axSpA treatment based upon the MBDA score is both a mental process and mathematical concept.
Claim 30: Determining a response to a treatment based upon the MBDA score is both a mental process and mathematical concept.
Claim 31: Determining an axSpA treatment based upon the MBDA score is both a mental process and mathematical concept.
Step 2A Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under prong one, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application? [see MPEP § 2106.04(d) and MPEP §
2106.05(a)-(c) & (e)-(h)]
Because the claims do recite judicial exceptions, direction under Step 2A Prong Two provides that the claims must be examined further to determine whether they integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
The following claims recite the following additional elements in the form of non-abstract elements:
Claim 9: The first dataset comprising quantitative data for at least three biomarkers, where the biomarkers are one of those specified in the group provided, is merely selecting a particular data source. Determining a first dataset associated with samples, determining a second dataset associated with a sample, obtaining samples, contacting samples with reagents, generating complexes, and detecting complexes are mere data gathering.
Claim 10: The biomarkers comprising one of those from the specified group is merely selecting a particular data source.
Claim 14: Receiving a third dataset is mere data gathering. The samples being obtained from the same subject at different times is merely selecting a particular data source.
Claim 16: The subject having received a treatment for axSpA, the second subject is of the same species as the first subject, and the second subject has received treatment for axSpA are all merely selecting a particular data source.
Claim 19: The first dataset comprising quantitative data for at least three biomarkers, where the biomarkers are one of those specified in the group provided, is merely selecting a particular data source. Receiving a first dataset associated with a sample, obtaining samples, contacting samples with reagents, generating complexes, and detecting complexes are mere data gathering.
Claim 20: The biomarkers comprising one of those from the specified group is merely selecting a particular data source.
Claim 21: Receiving a third dataset is mere data gathering. The samples being obtained from the same subject at different times is merely selecting a particular data source.
Claim 24: The clinical assessment being selected from the specified group is merely selecting a particular data source.
Claim 25: Preparing a report to be disseminated to the subject is mere data gathering.
Claim 29: Providing an axSpA therapy is generic and provides no meaningful limitations on the judicial exception and is therefore an insignificant extra-solution activity, specifically an insignificant application.
Step 2B: If the claims do not integrate the judicial exception, do the claims provide an inventive concept? [see MPEP § 2106.05]
Because the additional claim elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, the claims are further examined under Step 2B, which evaluates whether the additional elements, individually and in combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself by providing an inventive concept.
The claims do not recite additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims recite additional elements that are generic, conventional, nonspecific, well-understood, routine, conventional, or insignificant extra solution activities. These additional elements include:
The additional elements of the first dataset comprising quantitative data for at least three biomarkers, where the biomarkers are one of those specified in the group provided, the biomarkers comprising one of those from the specified group, samples comprising a plurality of analytes, contacting the samples with reagents, and the datasets comprising quantitative data for said biomarkers, the clinical assessment being selected from the specified group, samples being obtained from the same subject at different times, the subject having received a treatment for axSpA, the second subject is of the same species as the first subject, and the second subject has received treatment for axSpA, are all insignificant extra solution activities, specifically selecting a particular data source [see MPEP § 2106.5(g)]. Therefore, taken both individually and as a whole, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception by providing an inventive concept.
The additional elements of determining a first dataset associated with samples and determining a second dataset associated with a sample, obtaining samples from a population and a subject, detecting a plurality of complexes to obtain datasets, preparing a report to be disseminated to the subject, receiving a first dataset associated with a sample, receiving a third dataset, and providing an axSpA therapy (Conventional: Poddubnyy et al. 2013 – Review of Current Treatments for axSpA) are all insignificant extra solution activities, specifically mere data gathering and insignificant applications [see MPEP § 2106.5(g)]. Therefore, taken both individually and as a whole, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception by providing an inventive concept.
The additional element of generating a plurality of complexes between reagents and analytes are generic and nonspecific steps involved in assays that are well understood, routine and conventional within the art (Specification Paragraph [00155]) [see MPEP § 2106.5(d), 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(g)]. Therefore, taken both individually and as a whole, the additional element does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception by providing an inventive concept.
Therefore, claims 9-16,19-25 and 28-31, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole, are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/6/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the amended claims are not directed to abstract ideas because they recite steps of measurement of specific biomarkers (physical steps). However, Step 2A, Prong 1 is merely asking if the claim recites matter that is a judicial exception, MPEP 2106.04(II) Prong One asks does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? In Prong One examiners evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception, i.e. whether a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract idea is set forth or described in the claim. Within the present claim, the only steps featuring additional elements are those in which data is being gathered, the entirety of the claim as recited is directed to (a) the determination of MBDA scores as recited in lines 17-23, and (b) the diagnosis of the subject using said scores in lines 24-25.
Applicant asserts that the claims are directed to an improvement to a technical field, and that the claims require discrete physical steps including the measuring of biomarker levels. However, according to MPEP 2106.05(a) “It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement”, rather the improvement must come from the additional elements or the additional elements in combination with the judicial exception. Here applicant argues that the improvement comes from the determination and assessment of axSpA and corresponding therapies (Remarks pages 9-10), but these are merely process of thought, abstract ideas that amount to nothing more that mental processes. Additionally, the mere prescence of additional elements does not render the claim not directed to the judicial exception, rather the additional elements must be examined under Step 2A Prong 2 (is there a practical application) and subsequently Step 2B (are the elements conventional).
Applicant asserts here that there is a practical application backed up by the measuring of biomarker levels, however the use of additional elements does not preclude the direction of a claim from a judicial exception, rather MPEP 2106.04(II) states For a claim reciting a judicial exception to be eligible, the additional elements (if any) in the claim must "transform the nature of the claim" into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception. And in MPEP 2106.05(g) it states As explained by the Supreme Court, the addition of insignificant extra-solution activity does not amount to an inventive concept, particularly when the activity is well-understood or conventional, which in view of 2106.05(d)(II) The courts have recognized the following laboratory techniques as well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the life science arts when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity:… Determining the level of a biomarker in blood by any means, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; Cleveland Clinic Foundation v. True Health Diagnostics, LLC, 859 F.3d 1352, 1362, 123 USPQ2d 1081, 1088 (Fed. Cir. 2017), shows that the additional elements as recited do not provide an inventive step nor do they meaningfully transform the abstract ideas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Response to Amendment
In view of applicant’s amendments to the claims, previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been reviewed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 10/6/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 9-12, 14, and 19-23 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Response to Amendment
In view of applicant’s amendments to the claims, previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been reviewed, updated, and provided below.
Claims 9-10, 12, 14, 19-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Centola et al. (PloS One (2013) 1-13; previously cited), in view of Mackay et al. (Journal of autoimmunity (2009) 170-177; newly cited), and Inman et al. (Clinical & Experimental Rheumatology (2009) 26-32; newly cited).
Claim 9 is directed to a method for monitoring the presence/absence, activity, diagnosing, or predicting risk of progression of axial spondyloarthritis using a dataset of biomarkers from a population to determine a standard score, along with a dataset of biomarkers from an individual to compare said individual’s score with said standard to determine disease activity.
Claim 19 is directed to a computer implemented method for monitoring the presence/absence, activity, diagnosing, or predicting risk of progression of axial spondyloarthritis using a dataset of biomarkers from a population to determine a standard score, along with a dataset of biomarkers from an individual to compare said individual’s score with said standard to determine disease activity.
Centola et al. teaches in the abstract “Biomarkers with qualifying assays were prioritized in a series of studies based on their correlations to RA clinical disease activity and their contributions to multivariate models. Prioritized biomarkers were used to train an algorithm to measure disease activity” and “Biomarker-based scores were significantly correlated with DAS28-CRP and could discriminate patients with low vs. moderate/high clinical disease activity. Such scores were also able to track changes in DAS28-CRP and were significantly associated with both joint inflammation measured by ultrasound and damage progression measured by radiography”, reading on a method for monitoring the presence or absence of axial spondyloarthritis (axSpA) disease activity in a subject, for diagnosing axSpA in a subject, or for predicting risk of progressive damage. Centola et al. teaches on page 2, column 1, paragraph 4 “Protein biomarkers can provide complementary, objective, and reliable measurements reflecting underlying pathophysiological processes”, on page 2, column 2, paragraph 4 ” Biomarkers were assayed from stored serum samples obtained from patients from multiple clinical studies/cohorts”, on page 6, column 2, paragraph 1 “four lower-ranking biomarkers were selected due to their representation of key biological functions or pathways in RA, especially those implicated by other prioritized biomarkers: VCAM1 was included as complementary to ICAM1 (adhesion molecules), IL1b was included for its relation to IL1Ra (IL-1 pathway), MMP1 was included for its similarity to MMP3 (both MMPs) and CCL22 (MDC) was included to represent monocyte/macrophage biology”, and page 8, column 1, paragraph 6 “The final algorithm was a 12-biomarker model for the multi biomarker disease activity (MBDA) score. In this algorithm, 11 biomarkers (tumor necrosis factor receptor I (TNF-RI), interleukin 6 (IL-6), vascular cell adhesion molecule 1 (VCAM-1), epidermal growth factor (EGF), VEGF-A, cartilage glycoprotein 39 (YKL40), matrix metalloproteinase 1 (MMP1), MMP3, serum amyloid A (SAA), leptin, and resistin) are used for prediction of the TJC28, SJC28 and PGA, with different biomarkers and weightings used to predict each component”, reading on wherein the at least three biomarkers selected from a group comprising calprotectin (dimer of S100A8 and S100A9 protein subunits; RP-8/14); chitinase 3-like 1 (cartilage glycoprotein-39) (CHI3L1, or YKL-40); C-reactive protein, pentraxin-related (CRP); epidermal growth factor (beta-urogastrone) (EGF); intercellular adhesion molecule 1 (ICAM1); interleukin 6 (IL6); interleukin 8 (IL8); interleukin 1, beta (IL1B); interleukin 6 receptor (IL6R); leptin (LEP); Macrophage-derived chemokine (MDC); matrix metallopeptidase 1 (interstitial collagenase) (MMP1); matrix metallopeptidase 3 (stromelysin 1, progelatinase) (MMP3); resistin (RETN); serum amyloid Al (SAA1); tumor necrosis factor receptor superfamily, member lA (TNFRSFIA or TNF-R1); vascular cell adhesion molecule 1 (VCAM1); and vascular endothelial growth factor A (VEGFA). Additionally, this reads on determining a second dataset associated with a sample from said subject wherein said second dataset comprises the selected biomarkers; determining a MBDA score for said subject. It would be inherent to the process that any quantitative measure of disease for predicting progression or tracking changes in disease activity, as Centola et al. teaches on page 8, column 1, paragraph 1 “we were able to evaluate whether the biomarker based disease activity scores could also track changes in clinical disease activity. Indeed, changes in the biomarker-based scores were significantly correlated to changes”, would therefore necessitate the calculation of a population ground truth, or score to compare a diseased state to. Therefore, this would also read on determining a first dataset associated with samples from a population of individuals wherein said population is negative for axSpA, determining a plurality of MBDA scores for the individuals in said population based on the first dataset and deriving an aggregate MBDA value for said population. Centola et al. teaches on page 6, column 1, paragraph 1 “A total of 130 candidate biomarkers were selected based on comprehensive literature review, previous experiments, the availability of immunoassay components, and evaluation of measurability in serum” and on page 4, column 2 paragraph 1 “For the Oklahoma cohort samples, anti-CCP was measured using a commercially available ELISA kit (Quanta Lite CCP 3.1 IgG/IgA Kit, INOVA Diagnostics Inc., San Diego, CA) and RF was measured with the EL-RF/3 kit… All assays were run in 96-well plates with 8 point standard curves (7 standards and a blank). Both standards and patient samples were run in duplicate in adjacent wells on the same plate in all studies. A single lot of each assay reagent was used in each study wherever possible to minimize plate to plate variation. Pools of commercially available human sera (Bioreclamation Inc., Nassau, NY) from rheumatoid arthritis patients, osteoarthritis patients, systemic lupus erythematosus patients and unaffected controls were run as process controls on each plate”, reading on wherein said datasets are obtained by a method comprising: obtaining said samples from said population and said sample from said subject, wherein said samples comprise a plurality of analytes; contacting said samples with reagents; generating a plurality of complexes between said reagents with said plurality of analytes; and detecting said plurality of complexes to obtain said datasets wherein said datasets comprise quantitative data for said biomarkers.
Mackay et al. teaches in the abstract “The concept that autoimmune diseases are characterized by shared (common) threads is well illustrated by their propensity to co-associate in a patient or direct relatives, as coexistences or overlaps. Recognized are two major autoimmune clusters, ‘‘thyrogastric’’ (mostly organ-specific) and ‘‘lupus-associated’’ (mostly multisystem). Additionally, some autoimmune diseases distribute within either cluster and a few appear not to associate. Also, within each cluster there are overlaps constituting virtually a distinct syndrome. These patterns of coexistence/overlaps depend predominantly on genetic determinants as judged by data accruing from numerous highly powered genome-wide association studies. Gene polymorphisms thus revealed include those that may determine tissue targeting particularly HLA alleles (and others), the (numerous) genes that influence orderly progression (or tolerogenesis) among immune responses from innate immunity to effector processes, genes that influence pathways of apoptosis, and genes that influence vulnerability of target organs to immune-mediated damage”.
Inman et al. teaches in the abstract “Ankylosing spondylitis (AS) and rheumatoid arthritis (RA) are immune-mediated inflammatory joint diseases with the potential for significant target organ damage. Genetic factors play an important role in defining disease susceptibility. Both diseases are mediated in part by TNF, since anti-TNF therapies have proved effective in both AS and RA”, and on page 30, column 2, paragraph 2 “Because of the clinical interrelationships between ReA and AS, it has been proposed that AS may represent a chronic form of ReA, in which it may be difficult identifying the triggering pathogen if that event occurred in the remote past”.
It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Centola et al. for the method of claim 9, to use on axial spondylarthritis, as while the diseases may have different names both are forms of arthritis which have etiologies within the HLA gene network and are both autoimmune, inflammatory diseases. Additionally, previous research has show links between the diseases within the autoimmune category suggesting similar treatments and/or etiologies (See Mackay et al. 2009 and Inman et al. 2009). One would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that both are autoimmune diseases, forms of rheumatoid arthritis, and genetically similar in their etiologies suggesting similarities in MBDA profiles and possible treatments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to have modified the teachings of Centola et al. and to have been successful.
Claim 10 is directed to the method of claim 9 but further requires that the biomarkers be comprised from the group specified.
Claim 20 is directed to the method of claim 19 but further requires that the biomarkers be comprised from the group specified.
Centola et al. teaches on page 8, column 1, paragraph 6 “The final algorithm was a 12-biomarker model for the multi biomarker disease activity (MBDA) score. In this algorithm, 11 biomarkers (tumor necrosis factor receptor I (TNF-RI), interleukin 6 (IL-6), vascular cell adhesion molecule 1 (VCAM-1), epidermal growth factor (EGF), VEGF-A, cartilage glycoprotein 39 (YKL40), matrix metalloproteinase 1 (MMP1), MMP3, serum amyloid A (SAA), leptin, and resistin) are used for prediction of the TJC28, SJC28 and PGA, with different biomarkers and weightings used to predict each component”, reading on wherein the biomarkers comprise VCAM-1, EGF, VEGF-A, IL-6, TNF-R1, MMP-1, MMP-3, YKL-40, Leptin, Resistin, SAA, and CRP.
Claim 12 is directed to the method of claim 9 but further specifies that the score be predictive of a clinical assessment.
Claim 23 is directed to the method of claim 19 but further specifies that the score be predictive of a clinical assessment.
Centola et al. teaches in the abstract “Biomarkers with qualifying assays were prioritized in a series of studies based on their correlations to RA clinical disease activity” and “We followed a stepwise approach to develop a quantitative serum-based measure of RA disease activity, based on 12-biomarkers, which was consistently associated with clinical disease activity levels”, reading on wherein said MBDA score for the subject is predictive of a clinical assessment.
Claim 14 is directed to the method of claim 9 but further specifies that a third dataset be taken from a second sample of the subject at a different time so as to compute a change of scores over time and thus disease activity over time.
Claim 21 is directed to the method of claim 19 but further specifies that a third dataset be taken from a second sample of the subject at a different time so as to compute a change of scores over time and thus disease activity over time.
Centola et al. teaches on page 8, column 1, paragraph 3 “we optimized the individual biomarker assays to function in a multiplex environment with precision across time, instruments, operators, and reagent lots”, and on page 7, column 2, paragraph 1 “For example, biomarker-based scores calculated at baseline and year 1 had a Spearman correlation with 12 month change in total Sharp score (baseline to year 1, year 1 to year 2, respectively) of 0.52 (P,0.001, Figure 2b) compared to a correlation of 0.43 (P= 0.006) between the DAS28-CRP and changes in total Sharp Score. Biomarker-based disease activity scores and subsequent 12-month change in Sharp score were also correlated when calculated separately for the two years of the study (baseline scores vs. first year change correlation = 0.44, P =0.05; year 1 scores vs. second year change correlation = 0.61, P= 0.005)”, reading on receiving a third dataset associated with a second sample obtained from said subject, wherein said sample obtained from said subject and said second sample are obtained from said subject at different times; determining a second MBDA score for said subject from said third dataset; and comparing said MBDA score and said second MBDA score for said subject to determine a change in said MBDA scores, wherein said change indicates a change in axSpA activity in said subject, or the presence of axSpA in the subject.
Claims 13, 15, 16, 24, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Centola et al. (PloS One (2013) 1-13; previously cited), Mackay et al. (Journal of autoimmunity (2009) 170-177; newly cited), and Inman et al. (Clinical & Experimental Rheumatology (2009) 26-32; newly cited) in view of Poddubnyy et al. (Annals of the Rheumatic Diseases (2014) 2137-2143; previously cited).
Claim 13 is directed to the method of claim 9 but further specifies that the clinical assessment be selected from the group specified.
Claim 24 is directed to the method of claim 19 but further specifies that the clinical assessment be selected from the group specified.
Centola et al. teaches the method of claims 9-12, 14, and 19-23 as described above.
Centola et al. does not teach the clinical assessment being selected from the group of assessments provided.
Poddubnyy et al. teaches the use of the modified Stoke Ankylosing Spodylitis Spinal Score in the abstract “Spinal radiographs obtained at baseline and after 2 years of follow-up were scored independently by two trained readers in a concealed and randomly selected order according to the modified Stoke Ankylosing Spondylitis Spine Score (mSASSS) scoring system and for the presence of syndesmophytes”, reading on wherein said clinical assessment is selected from the group consisting of Ankylosing Spondylitis Disease Activity Score (ASDAS), the Stoke Ankylosing Spondylitis Spinal Score (SASSS); the modified Stoke Ankylosing Spondylitis Spinal Score (mSASSS); Ankylosing Spondylitis Quality of Life Scale (ASQOL); Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Disease Activity Index (BASDAI), Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Functional Index (BASFI), Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Global Score (BAS-G), Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Metrology Index (BASMI), Dougados Functional Index (DFI), Health Assessment Questionnaire for the Spondyloarthropathies (HAQ-S), Revised Leeds Disability Questionnaire (RLDQ), and MRI.
It would have been obvious at the time of invention to modify the teachings of Centola et al. for the method of claims 9 and 19 with the use of mSASSS as described in Poddubnyy et al. as the later points out on page 1, column 1, paragraph 1 “Radiographic spinal progression is considered as a relevant outcome in patients with ankylosing spondylitis (AS) and axial spondyloarthritis (axSpA) in general. Available data indicate a clear (although non-linear) association between radiographic damage in the spine (as measured by the modified Stoke AS Spine Score (mSASSS)) and impairedspinal mobility, as well as with the reduction of physical function”. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that Centola et al. is teaching a method for general arthritis, whereas Poddubnyy et al. is specifically looking at axSpA and points out the utility of such measures as outlined previously. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of each and to be successful.
Claim 15 is directed to the method of claim 9 but further specifies that a report be prepared to be disseminated to the subject or caregiver to make decisions based upon the findings.
Claim 25 is directed to the method of claim 19 but further specifies that a report be prepared to be disseminated to the subject or caregiver to make decisions based upon the findings.
Centola et al. teaches the method of claims 9-12, 14, and 19-23 as described above.
Centola et al. does not teach the preparation of a report to be disseminated to the subject or caregiver.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the generating of a report as Centola et al. is using clinically derived biomarkers to predict disease progression and severity. As previously discussed, Centola et al. teaches in the abstract “Biomarkers with qualifying assays were prioritized in a series of studies based on their correlations to RA clinical disease activity” and “We followed a stepwise approach to develop a quantitative serum-based measure of RA disease activity, based on 12-biomarkers, which was consistently associated with clinical disease activity levels”, which reads on wherein said MBDA score for the subject is predictive of a clinical assessment, and the reporting of a clinical assessment or a score which is predictive of such an assessment, is prima facie obvious.
Claims 16, and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Centola et al. (PloS One (2013) 1-13; previously cited), Mackay et al. (Journal of autoimmunity (2009) 170-177: newly cited), and Inman et al. (Clinical & Experimental Rheumatology (2009) 26-32; newly cited) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Li et al. (Current medical research and opinion (2013) 85-92; newly cited).
Claim 16 is directed to the method of claim 9 but further specifies that the sample come from a subject who has been treated for axSpA and a score be determined to use to determine treatment efficacy via comparison with those who have not been treated.
Centola et al. teaches the method of claims 9-12, 14, and 19-23 as described above.
Centola et al. does not teach comparing the scores of an individual that received treatment to determine a treatment efficacy.
Li et al. teaches in the abstract “To assess how use of a multi-biomarker disease activity (MBDA) blood test for rheumatoid arthritis (RA) affects treatment decisions made by health care providers (HCPs) in clinical practice. At routine office visits, 101 patients with RA were assessed by their HCPs (N¼6), and they provided blood samples for MBDA testing. HCPs completed surveys before and after viewing the MBDA test result, recording dosage and frequency for all planned RA medications and physician global assessment of disease activity. Frequency and types of change in treatment plan that resulted from viewing the MBDA test result were determined. Prior to HCP review of the MBDA test, disease modifying anti-rheumatic drug (DMARD) use by the 101 patients included methotrexate in 62% of patients; hydroxychloroquine 29%; TNF inhibitor 42%; non-TNF inhibitor biologic agent 19%; and other drugs at lower frequencies. Review of MBDA test results changed HCP treatment decisions in 38 cases (38%), of which 18 involved starting, discontinuing or switching a biologic or non-biologic DMARD. Other changes involved drug dosage, frequency or route of administration. The total frequency of use of the major classes of drug therapy changed by55%. Treatment plans changed 63% of the time when the MBDA test result was perceived as being not consistent or somewhat consistent with the HCP assessment of disease activity. The addition of the MBDA test to clinical assessment led to meaningful changes in the treatment plans of 38% of RA patients being cared for by HCPs in office practice. Even though treatment was potentially improved, the overall quantity of drug use was minimally affected”, reading on determining a second MBDA score for a second subject wherein said second subject is of the same species as said first subject and wherein said second subject has received treatment for axSpA; comparing said MBDA score of said subject to said second MBDA score; and determining a treatment efficacy for said first subject based on said score comparison.
It would have been obvious at the time of first filing to modify the teachings of Centola et al. for the method of claim 9 with the teachings of Li et al. for the use of a multi-biomarker disease activity score (MBDA) to identify, select, and monitor the results of a treatment for a disease which the biomarkers characterize, specifically as the latter reference did just that and found meaningful changes in 38% of patients examined. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that both papers focus on the use of biomarker scores (MBDA’s) for autoimmune diseases, which share substantial genetic etiologies, and the development of a score has already been shown to be of use in treatment identification, selection, and examination. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to have modified the teachings of each and to have been successful.
Claim 28 is directed to the method of claim 9 but further specifies selecting a treatment based on the MBDA score.
Centola et al. teaches the method of claim 9 as described above.
Li et al. teaches in the abstract “To assess how use of a multi-biomarker disease activity (MBDA) blood test for rheumatoid arthritis (RA) affects treatment decisions made by health care providers (HCPs) in clinical practice. At routine office visits, 101 patients with RA were assessed by their HCPs (N¼6), and they provided blood samples for MBDA testing. HCPs completed surveys before and after viewing the MBDA test result, recording dosage and frequency for all planned RA medications and physician global assessment of disease activity. Frequency and types of change in treatment plan that resulted from viewing the MBDA test result were determined. Prior to HCP review of the MBDA test, disease modifying anti-rheumatic drug (DMARD) use by the 101 patients included methotrexate in 62% of patients; hydroxychloroquine 29%; TNF inhibitor 42%; non-TNF inhibitor biologic agent 19%; and other drugs at lower frequencies. Review of MBDA test results changed HCP treatment decisions in 38 cases (38%), of which 18 involved starting, discontinuing or switching a biologic or non-biologic DMARD. Other changes involved drug dosage, frequency or route of administration. The total frequency of use of the major classes of drug therapy changed by55%. Treatment plans changed 63% of the time when the MBDA test result was perceived as being not consistent or somewhat consistent with the HCP assessment of disease activity. The addition of the MBDA test to clinical assessment led to meaningful changes in the treatment plans of 38% of RA patients being cared for by HCPs in office practice. Even though treatment was potentially improved, the overall quantity of drug use was minimally affected”, reading on selecting an axSpA therapeutic regimen based on said MBDA score.
Claim 29 is directed to the method of claim 28 and thus claim 9, but further specifies providing the treatment selected.
Centola et al. teaches the method of claim 9 as described above.
Li et al. teaches in the abstract “To assess how use of a multi-biomarker disease activity (MBDA) blood test for rheumatoid arthritis (RA) affects treatment decisions made by health care providers (HCPs) in clinical practice. At routine office visits, 101 patients with RA were assessed by their HCPs (N¼6), and they provided blood samples for MBDA testing. HCPs completed surveys before and after viewing the MBDA test result, recording dosage and frequency for all planned RA medications and physician global assessment of disease activity. Frequency and types of change in treatment plan that resulted from viewing the MBDA test result were determined. Prior to HCP review of the MBDA test, disease modifying anti-rheumatic drug (DMARD) use by the 101 patients included methotrexate in 62% of patients; hydroxychloroquine 29%; TNF inhibitor 42%; non-TNF inhibitor biologic agent 19%; and other drugs at lower frequencies. Review of MBDA test results changed HCP treatment decisions in 38 cases (38%), of which 18 involved starting, discontinuing or switching a biologic or non-biologic DMARD. Other changes involved drug dosage, frequency or route of administration. The total frequency of use of the major classes of drug therapy changed by55%. Treatment plans changed 63% of the time when the MBDA test result was perceived as being not consistent or somewhat consistent with the HCP assessment of disease activity. The addition of the MBDA test to clinical assessment led to meaningful changes in the treatment plans of 38% of RA patients being cared for by HCPs in office practice. Even though treatment was potentially improved, the overall quantity of drug use was minimally affected”, reading on providing said axSpA therapeutic regimen.
Claim 30 is directed to the method of claim 28 and thus claim 9, but further specifies determining a response to the treatment selected.
Centola et al. teaches the method of claim 9 as described above.
Li et al. teaches in the abstract “To assess how use of a multi-biomarker disease activity (MBDA) blood test for rheumatoid arthritis (RA) affects treatment decisions made by health care providers (HCPs) in clinical practice. At routine office visits, 101 patients with RA were assessed by their HCPs (N¼6), and they provided blood samples for MBDA testing. HCPs completed surveys before and after viewing the MBDA test result, recording dosage and frequency for all planned RA medications and physician global assessment of disease activity. Frequency and types of change in treatment plan that resulted from viewing the MBDA test result were determined. Prior to HCP review of the MBDA test, disease modifying anti-rheumatic drug (DMARD) use by the 101 patients included methotrexate in 62% of patients; hydroxychloroquine 29%; TNF inhibitor 42%; non-TNF inhibitor biologic agent 19%; and other drugs at lower frequencies. Review of MBDA test results changed HCP treatment decisions in 38 cases (38%), of which 18 involved starting, discontinuing or switching a biologic or non-biologic DMARD. Other changes involved drug dosage, frequency or route of administration. The total frequency of use of the major classes of drug therapy changed by55%. Treatment plans changed 63% of the time when the MBDA test result was perceived as being not consistent or somewhat consistent with the HCP assessment of disease activity. The addition of the MBDA test to clinical assessment led to meaningful changes in the treatment plans of 38% of RA patients being cared for by HCPs in office practice. Even though treatment was potentially improved, the overall quantity of drug use was minimally affected”, reading on determining a response to the treatment based on said MBDA score.
Claim 31 is directed to the method of claim 28 and thus claim 9, but further specifies determining a treatment based on the MBDA score.
Centola et al. teaches the method of claim 9 as described above.
Li et al. teaches in the abstract “To assess how use of a multi-biomarker disease activity (MBDA) blood test for rheumatoid arthritis (RA) affects treatment decisions made by health care providers (HCPs) in clinical practice. At routine office visits, 101 patients with RA were assessed by their HCPs (N¼6), and they provided blood samples for MBDA testing. HCPs completed surveys before and after viewing the MBDA test result, recording dosage and frequency for all planned RA medications and physician global assessment of disease activity. Frequency and types of change in treatment plan that resulted from viewing the MBDA test result were determined. Prior to HCP review of the MBDA test, disease modifying anti-rheumatic drug (DMARD) use by the 101 patients included methotrexate in 62% of patients; hydroxychloroquine 29%; TNF inhibitor 42%; non-TNF inhibitor biologic agent 19%; and other drugs at lower frequencies. Review of MBDA test results changed HCP treatment decisions in 38 cases (38%), of which 18 involved starting, discontinuing or switching a biologic or non-biologic DMARD. Other changes involved drug dosage, frequency or route of administration. The total frequency of use of the major classes of drug therapy changed by55%. Treatment plans changed 63% of the time when the MBDA test result was perceived as being not consistent or somewhat consistent with the HCP assessment of disease activity. The addition of the MBDA test to clinical assessment led to meaningful changes in the treatment plans of 38% of RA patients being cared for by HCPs in office practice. Even though treatment was potentially improved, the overall quantity of drug use was minimally affected”, reading on determining an axSpA treatment course based on said MBDA score.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/6/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that there is no reasonable justification in the combination of references. However, examiner directs applicant to referenced citations MacKay et al. and Inman et al. which establish links between autoimmune diseases and specifically axial spondylarthritis and rheumatoid arthritis, respectively. Additionally, both autoimmune diseases are forms of arthritis with etiologies known at the time to exist within the HLA domain of the X-chromosome. To a person skilled in the art while the direct use of specific treatments for one might, and I stress here might, not be obvious, the use of similar methods in diagnosis and treatment selection would be as suggested by MacKay et al. and Inman et al. within their abstracts.
Double Patenting
Claims 9-10, 12-16, 19-21, 23-25 and 28-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11493512 in view of Li et al. (Current medical research and opinion (2013) 85-92; newly cited).
It would have been obvious at the time of first filing to modify the teachings of U.S. Patent No. 11493512 for the method of claim 9 with the teachings of Li et al. for the use of a multi-biomarker disease activity score (MBDA) to identify, select, and monitor the results of a treatment for a disease which the biomarkers characterize, specifically as the latter reference did just that and found meaningful changes in 38% of patients examined. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that both papers focus on the use of biomarker scores (MBDA’s) for autoimmune diseases, which share substantial genetic etiologies, and the development of a score has already been shown to be of use in treatment identification, selection, and examination. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to have modified the teachings of each and to have been successful.
Instant Application: 17/464,061
U.S. Patent No. 11493512
Claims 9 and 19: A method for monitoring the presence or absence of axial spondyloarthritis (axSpA) disease activity in a subject, for diagnosing axSpA in a subject,or for predicting risk of progressive damage, the method comprising:determining a first dataset associated with samples from a population of individuals wherein said population is negative for axSpA, wherein said first dataset comprises quantitative data for at least three biomarkers, wherein the at least three biomarkers are selected from a group comprising calprotectin (dimer of S100A8 and S100A9 protein subunits; MRP- 8/14); chitinase 3-like 1 (cartilage glycoprotein-39) (CHI3L1, or YKL-40); C-reactive protein, pentraxin-related (CRP); epidermal growth factor (beta-urogastrone) (EGF);intercellular adhesion molecule 1 (ICAM1); interleukin 6 (IL6); interleukin 8 (IL8);interleukin 1, beta (IL1B); interleukin 6 receptor (IL6R); leptin (LEP); Macrophage- derived chemokine (MDC); matrix metallopeptidase 1 (interstitial collagenase) (MMP1);matrix metallopeptidase 3 (stromelysin 1, progelatinase) (MMP3); resistin (RETN);serum amyloid Al (SAA1); tumor necrosis factor receptor superfamily, member 1A (TNFRSF1A or TNF-R1); vascular cell adhesion molecule 1 (VCAM1); and vascular endothelial growth factor A (VEGFA);determining a plurality of MBDA scores for the individuals in said population based on the first dataset; deriving an aggregate MBDA value for said population; determining a second dataset associated with a sample from said subject wherein said second dataset comprises the selected biomarkers; determining a MBDA score for said subject;comparing the aggregate MBDA value to the MBDA score for the subject; and determining disease activity of axSpA in the subject, or diagnosing axSpA in the subject, based at least in part on said comparison; wherein said datasets are obtained by a method comprising (i) obtaining said samples from said population and said sample from said subject, wherein said samples comprise a plurality of analytes; (ii) contacting said samples with reagents: (iii) generating a plurality of complexes between said reagents with said plurality of analytes; and (iv) detecting said plurality of complexes to obtain said datasets wherein said datasets comprise quantitative data for said biomarkers.
Claim 1: A method for treating axial spondyloarthritis (axSpA) disease activity in a subject, the method comprising: providing a test sample comprising bodily fluid taken from the subject; determining in the sample concentrations of biomarkers comprising chitinase 3-like 1 (cartilage glycoprotein-39) (CHI3L1, or YKL-40); C-reactive protein, pentraxin-related (CRP); epidermal growth factor (beta-urogastrone) (EGF); interleukin 6 (IL6); leptin (LEP); matrix metallopeptidase 1 (interstitial collagenase) (MMP1); matrix metallopeptidase 3 (stromelysin 1, progelatinase) (MMP3); resistin (RETN); serum amyloid A1 (SAA1); tumor necrosis factor receptor superfamily, member 1A (TNFRSF1A or TNF-R1); vascular cell adhesion molecule 1 (VCAM1); and vascular endothelial growth factor A (VEGFA); determining from the sample biomarker concentrations of chitinase 3-like 1 (cartilage glycoprotein-39) (CHI3L1, or YKL-40); C-reactive protein, pentraxin-related (CRP); epidermal growth factor (beta-urogastrone) (EGF); interleukin 6 (IL6); leptin (LEP); matrix metallopeptidase 1 (interstitial collagenase) (MMP1); matrix metallopeptidase 3 (stromelysin 1, progelatinase) (MMP3); resistin (RETN); serum amyloid A1 (SAA1); tumor necrosis factor receptor superfamily, member 1A (TNFRSF1A or TNF-R1); vascular cell adhesion molecule 1 (VCAM1); and vascular endothelial growth factor A (VEGFA) a biomarker axSpA disease activity score with one or more statistical tools to provide an interpretation function; classifying disease activity of axSpA in the subject based on the axSpA disease activity score, wherein the classification indicates a need for a therapy for axSpA; and administering a therapy for axSpA to the subject in need thereof comprising one or more of DMARD therapy, bariatric surgery, and administration of a therapeutic compound.
Li et al. teaches in the abstract “To assess how use of a multi-biomarker disease activity (MBDA) blood test for rheumatoid arthritis (RA) affects treatment decisions made by health care providers (HCPs) in clinical practice. At routine office visits, 101 patients with RA were assessed by their HCPs (N¼6), and they provided blood samples for MBDA testing. HCPs completed surveys before and after viewing the MBDA test result, recording dosage and frequency for all planned RA medications and physician global assessment of disease activity. Frequency and types of change in treatment plan that resulted from viewing the MBDA test result were determined. Prior to HCP review of the MBDA test, disease modifying anti-rheumatic drug (DMARD) use by the 101 patients included methotrexate in 62% of patients; hydroxychloroquine 29%; TNF inhibitor 42%; non-TNF inhibitor biologic agent 19%; and other drugs at lower frequencies. Review of MBDA test results changed HCP treatment decisions in 38 cases (38%), of which 18 involved starting, discontinuing or switching a biologic or non-biologic DMARD. Other changes involved drug dosage, frequency or route of administration. The total frequency of use of the major classes of drug therapy changed by55%. Treatment plans changed 63% of the time when the MBDA test result was perceived as being not consistent or somewhat consistent with the HCP assessment of disease activity. The addition of the MBDA test to clinical assessment led to meaningful changes in the treatment plans of 38% of RA patients being cared for by HCPs in office practice. Even though treatment was potentially improved, the overall quantity of drug use was minimally affected”
Claims 10 and 20: The method of claim 9 wherein the biomarkers comprise VCAM-1, EGF,VEGF-A, IL-6, TNF-R1, MMP-1, MMP-3, YKL-40, Leptin, Resistin, SAA, and CRP.
11493512: Specification Paragraph [0006], “In an embodiment, a method for monitoring the presence or absence of axial spondyloarthritis (axSpA) disease activity in a subject, for diagnosing axSpA in a subject, or for predicting risk of progressive damage, is provided. The method comprises providing a test sample comprising a sample of bodily fluid taken from the subject, and determining sample concentrations for three or more biomarkers selected from a group comprising calprotectin (dimer of S100A8 and S100A9 protein subunits; MRP-8/14); chitinase 3-like 1 (cartilage glycoprotein-39) (CHI3L1, or YKL-40); C-reactive protein, pentraxin-related (CRP); epidermal growth factor (beta-urogastrone) (EGF); intercellular adhesion molecule 1 (ICAM1); interleukin 6 (IL6); interleukin 8 (IL8); interleukin 1, beta (IL1B); interleukin 6 receptor (IL6R); leptin (LEP); Macrophage-derived chemokine (MDC); matrix metallopeptidase 1 (interstitial collagenase) (MMP1); matrix metallopeptidase 3 (stromelysin 1, progelatinase) (MMP3); resistin (RETN); serum amyloid A1 (SAA1); tumor necrosis factor receptor superfamily, member 1A (TNFRSF1A or TNF-R1); vascular cell adhesion molecule 1 (VCAM1); and vascular endothelial growth factor A (VEGFA). The method further comprises determining whether the sample concentration for each biomarker is statistically significantly greater than minimum diagnostic concentration of corresponding control biomarkers that are indicative of axSpA, and classifying disease activity of axSpA in the subject, or diagnosing axSpA in the subject, based at least in part on the determination of whether the sample concentrations for the biomarkers from the subject are statistically significantly greater than minimum diagnostic concentrations indicative of axSpA. In an embodiment, the biomarkers comprise VCAM-1, EGF, VEGF-A, IL-6, TNF-R1, MMP-1, MMP-3, YKL-40, Leptin, Resistin, SAA, and CRP. In an embodiment, the sample concentrations for the subject are predictive a clinical assessment. In an embodiment, the clinical assessment is selected from the group consisting of Ankylosing Spondylitis Disease Activity Score (ASDAS), the Stoke Ankylosing Spondylitis Spinal Score (SASSS); the modified Stoke Ankylosing Spondylitis Spinal Score (mSASSS); Ankylosing Spondylitis Quality of Life Scale (ASQOL); Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Disease Activity Index (BASDAI), Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Functional Index (BASFI), Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Global Score (BAS-G), Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Metrology Index (BASMI), Dougados Functional Index (DFI), Health Assessment Questionnaire for the Spondyloarthropathies (HAQ-S), Revised Leeds Disability Questionnaire (RLDQ), and MRI. In an embodiment, the subject has received a treatment for axSpA, and determining efficacy of the treatment based on a statistically significant difference between the sample concentrations from the subject and the sample concentrations of the control. In an embodiment, a report is prepared in a format that is capable of being disseminated to the subject or a caregiver of the subject that provides information allowing the subject or caregiver to make decisions based on the diagnosis. In an embodiment, the axSpA is nr-axSpA (non-radiographic axial spondyloarthritis) or ankylosing spondylitis (AS). In an embodiment, the progressive damage is damage to a spine or sacroiliac joint.”
Claims 12 and 23: The method of claim 9 wherein said MBDA score for the subject is predictive of a clinical assessment.
11493512: Specification Paragraph [0007], “In another embodiment, a method for monitoring the presence or absence of axSpA disease activity in a subject, for diagnosing axSpA in a subject, or for predicting risk of progressive damage is provided. The method comprises determining a first dataset associated with samples from a population of individuals wherein said population is negative for axSpA, wherein said first dataset comprises quantitative data for three or more biomarkers selected from a group comprising calprotectin (dimer of S100A8 and S100A9 protein subunits; MRP-8/14); chitinase 3-like 1 (cartilage glycoprotein-39) (CHI3L1, or YKL-40); C-reactive protein, pentraxin-related (CRP); epidermal growth factor (beta-urogastrone) (EGF); intercellular adhesion molecule 1 (ICAM1); interleukin 6 (IL6); interleukin 8 (IL8); interleukin 1, beta (IL1B); interleukin 6 receptor (IL6R); leptin (LEP); Macrophage-derived chemokine (MDC); matrix metallopeptidase 1 (interstitial collagenase) (MMP1); matrix metallopeptidase 3 (stromelysin 1, progelatinase) (MMP3); resistin (RETN); serum amyloid A1 (SAA1); tumor necrosis factor receptor superfamily, member 1A (TNFRSF1A or TNF-R1); vascular cell adhesion molecule 1 (VCAM1); and vascular endothelial growth factor A (VEGFA); determining a plurality of MBDA scores for the individuals in said population based on the first dataset. The method further comprises deriving an aggregate MBDA value for said population, determining a second dataset associate with a sample from said subject wherein said second dataset comprises the selected biomarkers, determining a MBDA score for said subject, comparing the aggregate MBDA value to the MBDA score for the subject, and determining disease activity of axSpA in the subject, or diagnosing axSpA in the subject, based at least in part on said comparison. In an embodiment, the biomarkers comprise VCAM-1, EGF, VEGF-A, IL-6, TNF-R1, MMP-1, MMP-3, YKL-40, Leptin, Resistin, SAA, and CRP. In an embodiment, the datasets are obtained by a method comprising obtaining said samples from said population and said sample from said subject wherein said samples comprise a plurality of analytes, contacting said samples with reagents, generating a plurality of complexes between said reagents with said plurality of analytes, and detecting said plurality of complexes to obtain said datasets wherein said datasets comprise quantitative data for said biomarkers. In an embodiment, the MBDA score for the subject is predictive of a clinical assessment.”
Claims 13 and 24: The method of claim 12 wherein said clinical assessment is selected from the group consisting of Ankylosing Spondylitis Disease Activity Score (ASDAS), the Stoke Ankylosing Spondylitis Spinal Score (SASSS); the modified Stoke Ankylosing Spondylitis Spinal Score (mSASSS); Ankylosing Spondylitis Quality of Life Scale (ASQOL); Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Disease Activity Index (BASDAI), Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Functional Index (BASFI), Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Global Score (BAS-G), Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Metrology Index (BASMI), Dougados Functional Index (DFI), Health Assessment Questionnaire for the Spondyloarthropathies (HAQ-S), Revised Leeds Disability Questionnaire (RLDQ), and MRI.
11493512: Specification Paragraph [0007], “In an embodiment, the clinical assessment is selected from the group consisting of Ankylosing Spondylitis Disease Activity Score (ASDAS), the Stoke Ankylosing Spondylitis Spinal Score (SASSS); the modified Stoke Ankylosing Spondylitis Spinal Score (mSASSS); Ankylosing Spondylitis Quality of Life Scale (ASQOL); Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Disease Activity Index (BASDAI), Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Functional Index (BASFI), Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Global Score (BAS-G), Bath Ankylosing Spondylitis Metrology Index (BASMI), Dougados Functional Index (DFI), Health Assessment Questionnaire for the Spondyloarthropathies (HAQ-S), Revised Leeds Disability Questionnaire (RLDQ), and MRI. In an embodiment, the method further comprises receiving a third dataset associated with a second sample obtained from said subject, wherein said sample obtained from said subject and said second sample are obtained from said subject at different times, determining a second MBDA score for said subject from said third dataset, and comparing said MBDA score and said second MBDA score for said subject to determine a change in said MBDA scores, wherein said change indicates a change in axSpA activity in said subject, or the presence of axSpA in the subject. In an embodiment a report is prepared in a format that is capable of being disseminated to the subject or a caregiver of the subject that provides information allowing the subject or caregiver to make decisions based on the diagnosis. In an embodiment, the subject has received a treatment for axSpA, and the method further comprises determining a second MBDA score for a second subject wherein said second subject is of the same species as said first subject and wherein said second subject has received treatment for axSpA, comparing said MBDA score of said subject to said second MBDA score, and determining a treatment efficacy for said first subject based on said score comparison. In an embodiment, the axSpA is nr-axSpA or AS. In an embodiment, the progressive damage is damage to a spine or sacroiliac joint.”
Claims 14 and 21: The method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving a third dataset associated with a second sample obtained from said subject, wherein said sample obtained from said subject and said second sample are obtained from said subject at different times; determining a second MBDA score for said subject from said third dataset; and comparing said MBDA score and said second MBDA score for said subject to determine a change in said MBDA scores, wherein said change indicates a change in axSpA activity in said subject, or the presence of axSpA in the subject.
11493512: Specification Paragraph [0008], “In another embodiment, a computer-implemented method for scoring a sample is provided. The method comprises receiving a first dataset associated with a first sample obtained from a first subject, wherein said first dataset comprises quantitative data for three or more biomarkers selected from a group comprising calprotectin (dimer of S100A8 and S100A9 protein subunits; MRP-8/14); chitinase 3-like 1 (cartilage glycoprotein-39) (CHI3L1, or YKL-40); C-reactive protein, pentraxin-related (CRP); epidermal growth factor (beta-urogastrone) (EGF); intercellular adhesion molecule 1 (ICAM1); interleukin 6 (IL6); interleukin 8 (IL8); interleukin 1, beta (IL1B); interleukin 6 receptor (IL6R); leptin (LEP); Macrophage-derived chemokine (MDC); matrix metallopeptidase 1 (interstitial collagenase) (MMP1); matrix metallopeptidase 3 (stromelysin 1, progelatinase) (MMP3); resistin (RETN); serum amyloid A1 (SAA1); tumor necrosis factor receptor superfamily, member 1A (TNFRSF1A or TNF-R1); vascular cell adhesion molecule 1 (VCAM1); and vascular endothelial growth factor A (VEGFA), and determining, by a computer processor, a first MBDA score from said first dataset using an interpretation function, wherein said first MBDA score provides a classification of disease activity of axSpA in the subject, a diagnosis of axSpA in the subject, or a prediction of risk of progressive damage. In an embodiment, the biomarkers comprise VCAM-1, EGF, VEGF-A, IL-6, TNF-R1, MMP-1, MMP-3, YKL-40, Leptin, Resistin, SAA, and CRP. In an embodiment, the method further comprises receiving a second dataset associated with a second sample obtained from said first subject, wherein said first sample and said second sample are obtained from said first subject at different times, determining a second MBDA score from said second dataset using said interpretation function, and comparing said first MBDA score and said second MBDA score to determine a change in said MBDA scores, wherein said change indicates a change in said inflammatory disease activity in said first subject, or a diagnosis of axSpA in the subject.”
Claims 15 and 25: The method of claim 9 wherein a report is prepared in a format that is capable of being disseminated to the subject or a caregiver of the subject that provides information allowing the subject or caregiver to make decisions based on the diagnosis.
11493512: Specification Paragraph [0008], “In an embodiment, a report is prepared in a format that is capable of being disseminated to the subject or a caregiver of the subject that provides information allowing the subject or caregiver to make decisions based on the diagnosis. In an embodiment, the axSpA is nr-axSpA or AS. In an embodiment, the progressive damage is damage to a spine or sacroiliac joint.”
Claim 16: The method of claim 9 wherein said subject has received a treatment for axSpA, and further comprising the steps of:determining a second MBDA score for a second subject wherein said second subject is of the same species as said first subject and wherein said second subject has received treatment for axSpA; comparing said MBDA score of said subject to said second MBDA score; and determining a treatment efficacy for said first subject based on said score comparison.
11493512: Specification Paragraph [0075], “These properties of the disclosed biomarkers can be used for several purposes. On a subject-specific basis, they provide a context for understanding the relative level of disease activity. The rating of disease activity can be used, e.g., to guide the clinician in determining treatment, in setting a treatment course, and/or to inform the clinician that the subject is in remission. Moreover, it provides a means to more accurately assess and document the qualitative level of disease activity in a subject. It is also useful from the perspective of assessing clinical differences among populations of subjects within a practice. For example, this tool can be used to assess the relative efficacy of different treatment modalities.”
Claim 28: The method of claim 9,further comprising selecting an axSpA therapeutic regimen based on said MBDA score.
11493512: Specification Paragraph [0077], “The MBDA score can be used for several purposes. On a subject-specific basis, it provides a context for understanding the relative level of disease activity. The MBDA rating of disease activity can be used, e.g., to guide the clinician in determining treatment, in setting a treatment course, and/or to inform the clinician that the subject is in remission. Moreover, it provides a means to more accurately assess and document the qualitative level of disease activity in a subject. It is also useful from the perspective of assessing clinical differences among populations of subjects within a practice. For example, this tool can be used to assess the relative efficacy of different treatment modalities. Moreover, it is also useful from the perspective of assessing clinical differences among different practices. This would allow physicians to determine what global level of disease control is achieved by their colleagues, and/or for healthcare management groups to compare their results among different practices for both cost and comparative effectiveness. Because the MBDA score demonstrates strong association with established disease activity assessments, the MBDA score can provide a quantitative measure for monitoring the extent of subject disease activity, and response to treatment.”
Claim 29: The method of claim 28 further comprising providing said axSpA therapeutic regimen.
Claim 30: The method of claim 28, further comprising determining a response to the treatment based on said MBDA score.
Claim 31: The method of claim 28, further comprising determining an axSpA treatment course based on said MBDA score.
Conclusion
/K.N.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1687
/OLIVIA M. WISE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1685