Detailed Office Action
Examiner’s Comment - Independent claims 1, 5, and 9
In this Office action, independent claims 1, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima et al. (2009/0190127; “Kojima”) in view of Hsieh, Yung-Chieh (2014/0209795; “Hsieh”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2. 5-6, and 9-10
Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima et al. (2009/0190127; “Kojima”) in view of Hsieh, Yung-Chieh (2014/0209795; “Hsieh”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kojima discloses in figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Kojima – Selected Text, embodiments of optical filter systems 100 comprising a first collimator 2, a second collimator 4 and a reflective optical filter 1.Kojima, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Kojima – Selected Text.
Kojima – Figure 1
Kojima – Selected Text
[0036] FIG. 1 is a schematic perspective view of a spectroscope 100 of a first embodiment. As shown in FIG. 1, the spectroscope 100 has a diffraction grating 1, a first collimator lens 2 (i.e., corresponding to one of the collimators of the present invention), a first slit 3, a second collimator lens 4 (corresponding to one of the collimators of the present invention), a second slit 5, and a light guide unit 6 (corresponding to the light guiding device of the present invention).
[0037] The diffraction grating 1 is a reflection plate which has a plurality of ruled parallel lines arranged at regular intervals, so as to spectroscopically disperse incident light and emit diffracted light of the dispersed light.
[0038] The diffraction grating 1 can be rotated by a driving mechanism (not shown) around a rotation axis at the center of the diffraction grating 1 in the direction (see "Y" in FIG. 1) parallel to the ruled lines, so that the apparent interval between the ruled lines with respect to the incident light is variable.
[0039] The first collimator lens 2 collimates the incident light, and launches the collimated light into the diffraction grating 1. The first collimator lens 2 also converges the return light from the diffraction grating 1, and emits the converged light. The first collimator lens 2 is provided between the output end X1 of an optical fiber X, from which measured light L1 is launched into the spectroscope 100, and the diffraction grating 1.
[0040] When the measured light L1 emitted from the output end X1 of the optical fiber X is launched into the first collimator lens 2, the first collimator lens 2 collimates the measured light L1, launches the collimated light into the diffraction grating 1, and converges the diffracted light L2 (i.e., return light), which is emitted from the diffraction grating 1, so as to emit the converged light toward the optical fiber X.
[0041] The optical fiber X is arranged at a predetermined position for the spectroscope 100. Additionally, in the spectroscope 100 of the present embodiment, a predetermined positional relationship is always secured between the output end X1 and the first collimator lens 2.
[0042] The first slit 3 is positioned at the focus of the first collimator lens 2, and transmits only light L3 which is included in the diffracted light L2 and has a predetermined wavelength.
[0043] The predetermined wavelength of light L3, which passes through the first slit 3, varies depending on the rotation angle of the diffraction grating 1.
[0044] Similar to the first collimator lens 2, the second collimator lens 4 collimates the incident light, directs the collimated light into the diffraction grating 1, converges the return light from the diffraction grating 1, and emits the converged light. The second collimator lens 4 is provided between the first slit 3 and the diffraction grating 1.
[0045] When the light L3 emitted from the first slit 3 is directed into the second collimator lens 4, the second collimator lens 4 collimates the light L3, directs the collimated light into the diffraction grating 1, and converges the diffracted light L4 (i.e., return light), which is emitted from the diffraction grating 1, so as to emit the converged light toward the first slit 3.
[0046] The second slit 5 is positioned at the focus of the second collimator lens 4, and transmits only light L5 which is included in the diffracted light L4 and has a predetermined wavelength.
[0047] Accordingly, the spectroscope 100 of the present embodiment has a first spectroscopic path 10 formed by the first collimator lens 2 and the first slit 3, where the measured light L1 incident from the optical fiber X is collimated and launched into the diffraction grating 1 by means of the first collimator lens 2, and the diffracted light L2 from the diffraction grating 1 is emitted through the first slit 3. In accordance with the first spectroscopic path 10, the measured light L1 is spectroscopically dispersed, and part of the measured light L1 passes through the first slit 3, so that the light L3, which is included in the measured light L1 and has a predetermined wavelength, is emitted.
[0048] The spectroscope 100 of the present embodiment also has a second spectroscopic path 20 formed by the second collimator lens 4 and the second slit 5, where the light L3 incident from the first slit 3 is collimated and launched into the diffraction grating 1 by means of the second collimator lens 4, and the diffracted light L4 from the diffraction grating 1 is emitted through the second slit 5. In accordance with the second spectroscopic path 20, the light L3 is further spectroscopically dispersed, and part of the light L3 passes through the second slit 5, so that the light L5, which is included in the light L3 and has a predetermined wavelength, is emitted.
[0049] As described above, the spectroscope 100 of the present embodiment has a plurality of spectroscopic paths (the first spectroscopic path 10 and the second spectroscopic path 20) which each collimates incident light, directs the collimated light into the diffraction grating 1, and emits return light (the diffracted light L2 and L4) from the diffraction grating 1 via a slit (the first slit 3 and the second slit 5) provided in the spectroscope 100.
[0050] The light guide unit 6 has a function of guiding light between the first spectroscopic path 10 and the second spectroscopic path 20, and consists of a first reflection mirror 61 and a second reflection mirror 62. The first reflection mirror 61 is provided between the first collimator lens 2 and the first slit 3, and guides received light so that the light proceeds from the first collimator lens 2 to the first slit 3. The second reflection mirror 62 is provided between the first slit 3 and the second collimator lens 4, and guides received light so that the light proceeds from the first slit 3 to the second collimator lens 4.
[0051] More specifically, the first reflection mirror 61 guides the measured light L1, which has been transformed into the diffracted light L2 via the diffraction grating 1, so that the light proceeds from the first collimator lens 2 to the first slit 3. In addition, the second reflection mirror 62 guides the measured light L1, which has been transformed into the light L3 via the first slit 3, so that the light proceeds from the first slit 3 to the second collimator lens 4.
Further regarding independent claim 1, Hsieh discloses in figure 5, and related figures and text, embodiments of tunable beam input and output structures comprising beam expanding configurations 120 coupled to collimating structures 124 transmitting and receiving parallel beams to reflective surface 126; overall input and output embodiments include circulators 114. Hsieh, figures 5 and 6, and related figures and text, for example, Hsieh – Selected Text.
Hsieh - Figure 5
Hsieh – Selected Text
[0026] FIG. 5 shows a tunable etalon packaged in the collimated-beam space of a tunable SPNB filter, which has a single-fiber collimator. This design uses a reflection grating, but a transmission grating can also be used as discussed above. An input beam 110 comprising a spectrum of wavelengths is directed into input fiber 112 of circulator 114. Input fiber 112 can be referred to as an input port. Further, any means for injecting light into the system can be referred to as an input port. The beam passes is collimated by input/output collimator 116. The collimated beam passes through etalon 117 and then impinges onto a mirror 118 that is mounted on a rotation actuator. After beam 110 is reflected by mirror 118, it is magnified by beam expander 120, which comprises magnification optics 122 and 124, which are both positive lenses in this case. Beam 110 then propagates onto and is reflected by reflecting diffraction grating 126. Only a small portion of the wavelength spectrum of the reflected beam will be reflected back along the incoming path and then propagate to output fiber 130, which can be referred to as an output port. Any means for gathering light output from this system can be referred to as an output port.
[0027] FIG. 6 shows a tunable etalon packaged in the collimated-beam space of a tunable SPNB filter, which has a dual-fiber collimator. This design uses a reflection grating, but a transmission grating can also he used as discussed above. An input beam (110) comprising a spectrum of wavelengths is directed into input fiber 100 of dual-fiber collimator 102. Input fiber 100 can be referred to as an input port. Further, any means for injecting light into the system can be referred to as an input port. The beam is collimated and then passes through etalon 117 and then impinges onto a mirror 118 that is mounted on a rotation actuator. After beam 110 is reflected by mirror 118, it is magnified by beam expander 120, which comprises magnification optics 122 and 124, which are both positive lenses in this case. Beam 110 then propagates onto and is reflected by reflecting diffraction grating 126. Only a small portion of the wavelength spectrum of the reflected beam will reflected back to output fiber 101, which can be referred to as an output port. Any means for gathering light output from this system can be referred to as an output port.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kojima’s embodiments to disclose an optical signal being inputted through a first port of the first collimator and outputted through a second port of the first collimator, and then being filtered by the reflective optical filter, thereafter, the filtered optical signal being inputted through the second port of the first collimator and outputted through the first port of the first collimator; an optical signal being inputted through a first port of the second collimator and outputted through a second port of the second collimator, and then being filtered by the reflective optical filter, thereafter, the filtered optical signal being inputted through the second port of the second collimator and outputted through the first port of the second collimator; the optical signal outputted through the first port of the first collimator being inputted to the first port of the second collimator; Kojima, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Kojima – Selected Text; Hsieh, figures 5 and 6, and related figures and text, for example, Hsieh – Selected Text; because the resulting configuration and method would facilitate differentiating and outputting selective portions of a spectrum of input light. Hsieh – Selected Text.
Regarding claims 2, 5-6, and 9-10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kojima in view of Hsieh’s embodiments, as applied in the rejection of claim 1, to disclose:
2. The optical filter system of claim 1, wherein the optical filter system further comprises a four-port circulator; a first port of the circulator is configured to receive an optical signal; a second port of the circulator is connected to the first port of the first collimator, and is configured to input the optical signal received by the first port of the circulator to the first collimator and receive the optical signal outputted from the first collimator; a third port of the circulator is connected to the first port of the second collimator, and is configured to input the optical signal inputted to the second port of the circulator to the second collimator and receive the optical signal outputted from the second collimator; a fourth port of the circulator is configured to output the optical signal inputted to the third port. Kojima, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Kojima – Selected Text; Hsieh, figures 5 and 6, and related figures and text, for example, Hsieh – Selected Text.
5. An optical filter system, comprising a first collimator, a second collimator and a reflective optical filter; an optical signal being inputted through a first port of the first collimator and outputted through a second port of the first collimator, and then being filtered by the reflective optical filter, thereafter, the filtered optical signal being inputted through a second port of the second collimator and outputted through a first port of the second collimator; an optical signal being inputted through the first port of the second collimator and outputted through the second port of the second collimator, being filtered by the reflective optical filter, thereafter, the filtered optical signal being inputted through the second port of the first collimator and outputted through the first port of the first collimator; the optical signal outputted through the first port of the second collimator being inputted to the first port of the second collimator again. Kojima, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Kojima – Selected Text; Hsieh, figures 5 and 6, and related figures and text, for example, Hsieh – Selected Text.
6. The optical filter system of claim 5, wherein the optical filter system further comprises a three-port circulator; a first port of the circulator is configured to receive an optical signal; a second port of the circulator is connected to the first port of the first collimator, and is configured to input the optical signal received by the first port of the circulator to the first port of the first collimator and to receive the optical signal outputted by the first port of the first collimator; a third port of the circulator is configured to output the optical signal inputted to the second port of the circulator. Kojima, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Kojima – Selected Text; Hsieh, figures 5 and 6, and related figures and text, for example, Hsieh – Selected Text.
9. An optical filter system, comprising a first collimator, a second collimator, a third collimator and a reflective optical filter; an optical signal being inputted through a first port of the first collimator and outputted through a second port of the first collimator, being filtered by the reflective optical filter, thereafter, the filtered optical signal passing through the third collimator, being filtered by the reflective optical filter, and then being inputted through a second port the second collimator and outputted through a first port of the second collimator. Kojima, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Kojima – Selected Text; Hsieh, figures 5 and 6, and related figures and text, for example, Hsieh – Selected Text.
10. The optical filter system of claim 9, wherein the third collimator comprises one collimator or multiple collimators connected in series. Kojima, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Kojima – Selected Text; Hsieh, figures 5 and 6, and related figures and text, for example, Hsieh – Selected Text.
because the resulting configurations and methods would facilitate differentiating and outputting selective portions of a spectrum of input light. Hsieh – Selected Text.
Claims 3, 7, and 11
Claims 3, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima et al. (2009/0190127; “Kojima”) in view of Hsieh, Yung-Chieh (2014/0209795; “Hsieh”), as applied in the rejection of claims 1-2, 5-7, and 9-10, and further in view of Berger et al. (2004/0125374; “Berger”).
Regarding claims 3, 7, and 11, Berger discloses in figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Berger – Selected Text, embodiments in which beam expanders predictably control the filtered spectral bandwidths. Berger – Selected Text.
Berger – Figure 1
Berger – Selected Text
[0036] In addition to polarizing the light incident upon the grating 46, it is often desirable to increase the width of the beam of light incident upon the grating. It is commonly appreciated that for grating-based devices that the number of illuminated lines on the grating 46 determines the wavelength resolution of the device. A larger beam width decreases the achievable spectral bandwidth. The number of illuminated lines on a grating 46 is proportional to the secant of the angle .theta. between the incident beam and the grating surface normal. In order to illuminate more lines on the grating 46, the tunable filter 40 includes at least one beam width adjuster and preferably first and second beam width adjusters or beam expanders 74 and 76. A first beam expander 74 can be positioned between the polarization recovery element 44 and the mirror 45. The first beam expander 74 receives the first beam, via the first path 48, and expands the diameter of the first beam so that as the beam is reflected by the mirror 45 into the second path 50 and onto the grating 46, so that more of the grooves in the grating 46 are illuminated. Alternatively and/or additionally, a second beam expander 76 may be positioned in the filter 40, for example along the second path 50 and between the mirror 45 and the grating 46, in order to further expand the first beam and thereby illuminate more grooves on the grating 46. Either or both beam expanders 74 and 76 may be used to expand the first beam such that more of the grooves in the grating 46 are illuminated and the filter spectral bandwidth is decreased.
[0037] Desirably, the beam expanders 74 and 76 expand the beam in a single direction perpendicular to the diffraction grating rulings, and perpendicular to the mirror rotation axis, by using suitable optical devices such as anamorphic prisms or cylindrical telescopes. The beam expanders 74 and 76 are preferably compatible with and may be used with other embodiments of the filter 40, and desirably are independent of the polarization recovery element 44 embodiment, if any, employed.
[0038] When using beam expanders 74 and 76, the grating incidence angle .theta. may be configured such that it is near the optimum angle of 68.degree. suggested by the chart of FIG. 2. The beam size may then be independently adjusted to provide the desired resolution. Adjustments to the beam size may be accomplished, for example, by changing the relative angles of the beam expanders 74 and 76 on the first and second paths 48 and 50, or using other well known optical techniques
[0039] When the input fiber 72 is a single input/output fiber, as is discussed in greater detail below, the spectral bandwidth of the tunable filter 40 is directly related to the resolution of the diffractive optical element 46. As such, the bandwidth of the tunable filter 40 may be changed by varying the number of illuminated lines on the diffraction grating 46. In other embodiments, such as a tunable receiver which generates at least one electrical signal based upon information signals contained within an optical signal, the width of the slit filter 64 or other spatial filtering device commonly determines the spectral bandwidth and the bandpass shape will be determined by the combined resolution of the tunable filter 40 and the adjustable spatial filter 60. The resolution of the tunable filter 40 can be adjusted by changing, that is expanding, the beam diameter in the direction perpendicular to the grating grooves. As such, it is to be appreciated that beam expanders 74 and 76 may also be utilized to further condition the input beam for tuning by the tunable filter 40.
[0040] Additionally, it is to be appreciated that when a pair of beam expanders are utilized, the magnitude of the change in resolution with filter wavelength can be minimized. This variation is caused by mirror-angle dependent changes in the input beam diameter at the grating surface. In particular, if .DELTA..sub.g is equal to the change in grating incidence angle, defined as the angle between the grating normal and the input beam, required to tune the filter between wavelengths .lambda..sub.o and .lambda., the beam radius at the grating 46 is equal to:….
[0081] As discussed throughout the above description, the tunable filter 40 provides certain advantageous features and functions. The first of these advantageous features is the capability of a diffractive tunable filter to tune across large wavelength ranges such as the full C- and/or L-bands. While tuning across such wide wavelength ranges, the tunable filter 40 also supports simply adjustable transmission spectral bandwidths. Such adjustments being possible via the use of spatial slit filters, beam expanders and/or other components. …
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kojima in view of Hsieh’s embodiments, as applied in the rejection of claims 1-2, 5-6, and 9-10, to disclose:
3. The optical filter system of claim 1, wherein the reflective optical filter comprises a tunable reflection device, a beam expander, a diffraction grating, and a mirror device; the optical signal entered the tunable reflection device is reflected by the tunable reflection device to the beam expander for beam expansion, is inputted to the diffraction grating for diffraction, and is finally reflected by the mirror device; the diffraction grating is a transmission diffraction grating which is configured to deflect different wavelengths of the transmitted optical signal at different angles, and then a part of the wavelength spectrum is reflected back along an input path through the mirror device. Berger, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Berger – Selected Text; Kojima, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Kojima – Selected Text; Hsieh, figures 5 and 6, and related figures and text, for example, Hsieh – Selected Text.
7. The optical filter system of claim 5, wherein the reflective optical filter comprises a tunable reflection device, a beam expander, a diffraction grating and a mirror device; the optical signal entered the tunable reflection device is reflected by the tunable reflection device to the beam expander for beam expansion, is inputted to the diffraction grating for diffraction, and is finally reflected by the mirror device; the diffraction grating is a transmission diffraction grating which is configured to deflect different wavelengths of the transmitted optical signal at different angles, and then a part of the wavelength spectrum is reflected back along an input path through the mirror device. Berger, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Berger – Selected Text; Kojima, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Kojima – Selected Text; Hsieh, figures 5 and 6, and related figures and text, for example, Hsieh – Selected Text.
11. The optical filter system of claim 9, wherein the reflective optical filter comprises a tunable reflection device, a beam expander, a diffraction grating and a mirror device; the optical signal entered the tunable reflection device is reflected by the tunable reflection device to the beam expander for beam expansion, is inputted to the diffraction grating for diffraction, and is finally reflected by the mirror device; the diffraction grating is a transmission diffraction grating which is configured to deflect different wavelengths of the transmitted optical signal at different angles, and then a part of the wavelength spectrum is reflected back along an input path through the mirror device. Berger, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Berger – Selected Text; Kojima, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Kojima – Selected Text; Hsieh, figures 5 and 6, and related figures and text, for example, Hsieh – Selected Text.
because the resulting configurations and methods would facilitate using beam expanders to predictably control the bandwidths of filtered spectra; Berger – Selected Text; while differentiating and outputting selective portions of input light spectra. Hsieh – Selected Text.
Claims 4, 8, and 12-14
Claims 4, 8, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima et al. (2009/0190127; “Kojima”) in view of Hsieh, Yung-Chieh (2014/0209795; “Hsieh”), as applied in the rejection of claims 1-2, 5-7, and 9-10, and further in view of Nasilowski et al. (WO 2018106134 A1; “Nasilowski”)
Regarding claims 4, 8, and 12-14, Nasilowski discloses in figures 1-3, 5, 7, 9, and 11-12, and related figures and text, for example, Nasilowski – Selected Text, embodiments of circulators 3 feeding and receiving light beams from multiple optical cores arranged in parallel as multicore fibers 6. Nasilowski, figures 1-3, 5, 7, 9, and 11-12, and related figures and text, for example, Nasilowski – Selected Text.
Nasilowski – Figures 1-3, 5, 7, 9, and 11-12
Nasilowski – Selected Text
Fig. 1 presents a beneficial embodiment of the invention in example 1, where the following elements are visible: light source 1, detector 2, optical fiber circulator 3, single- core input fibers 4, multicore fiber 6, coupler 7 made on a multicore fiber 6, single-core fiber section 8 of d in total length, connected to one of the cores of a multicore fiber 6.
Fig. 2 presents a close-up on a beneficial embodiment of the coupler 7, made by tapering a multicore fiber, where fiber 6 of initial diameter dl is tapered to diameter d2, whereas the proper tapering has the total length of c, and the transitional zones of the tapering - the falling and rising zone have total lengths of bl and b2. The length of the optical fiber outside the tapering equals, respectively, al and a2, counting from the light feed side and the side, on which the signal is reflected.
Fig. 3 presents the section of optical fiber 6, applicable to example 1, where microstructural elements - cores 9.1., 9.2 and holes 10 are lined at distances equaling Λ in casing 11.
After passing through the coupler, the light is further propagated in particular cores and, reflecting off the measured layers and the connected glass pin, returns on the same path, through the multicore fiber, to the detectors….
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kojima in view of Hsieh’s embodiments, as applied in the rejection of claims 1-2, 5-6, and 9-10, to disclose:
4. The optical filter system of claim 1, wherein the first collimator and the second collimator are integrated into a dual-fiber collimator comprising two parallel optical fibers. Nasilowski, figures 1-3, 5, 7, 9, and 11-12, and related figures and text, for example, Nasilowski – Selected Text; Kojima, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Kojima – Selected Text; Hsieh, figures 5 and 6, and related figures and text, for example, Hsieh – Selected Text.
8. The optical filter system of claim 5, wherein the first collimator and the second collimator are integrated into a dual-fiber collimator comprising two parallel optical fibers. Nasilowski, figures 1-3, 5, 7, 9, and 11-12, and related figures and text, for example, Nasilowski – Selected Text; Kojima, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Kojima – Selected Text; Hsieh, figures 5 and 6, and related figures and text, for example, Hsieh – Selected Text.
12. The optical filter system of claim 9, wherein the first collimator and the second collimator are integrated into a dual-fiber collimator comprising two parallel optical fibers. Nasilowski, figures 1-3, 5, 7, 9, and 11-12, and related figures and text, for example, Nasilowski – Selected Text; Kojima, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Kojima – Selected Text; Hsieh, figures 5 and 6, and related figures and text, for example, Hsieh – Selected Text.
13. The optical filter system of claim 9, wherein the first collimator, the second collimator and the third collimator are integrated into a four-fiber collimator comprising four parallel optical fibers, and first ports of two optical fibers in the four-fiber collimator are connected together. Nasilowski, figures 1-3, 5, 7, 9, and 11-12, and related figures and text, for example, Nasilowski – Selected Text; Kojima, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Kojima – Selected Text; Hsieh, figures 5 and 6, and related figures and text, for example, Hsieh – Selected Text.
14. The optical filter system of claim 9, wherein the first collimator, the second collimator and the third collimator are integrated into an multi-fiber collimator having M*N parallel optical fibers, with M and N being integers greater than or equal to 2. Nasilowski, figures 1-3, 5, 7, 9, and 11-12, and related figures and text, for example, Nasilowski – Selected Text; Kojima, figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Kojima – Selected Text; Hsieh, figures 5 and 6, and related figures and text, for example, Hsieh – Selected Text.
because the resulting configurations and methods would facilitate using beam expanders to predictably control the optical pathlengths of filtered spectra; Nasilowski – Selected Text; while differentiating and outputting selective portions of input light spectra. Hsieh – Selected Text.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER RADKOWSKI whose telephone number is (571)270-1613. The examiner can normally be reached on M-Th 9-5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas Hollweg, can be reached on (571) 270-1739. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/PETER RADKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874