FINAL ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s submittal made on 10/17/2025. Claims 1, 9 and 18 are amended. Claims 1-23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Examiner’s Remarks – 35 USC § 103
The applicant argues:
“Claim 1 recites, in part, "sending, to a user device, based on a request from the user
device to connect to a network using an unencrypted non-persistent random identifier, a network address." Claims 9 and 18 recite similar, though not identical, features. The Office Action asserts that Liu in view of McKibben teaches or suggests "sending, to a user device, based on a request from the user device to connect to a network using an unencrypted non-persistent random identifier, a network address" as claimed. Office Action, (pp. 3-5). Applicant respectfully disagrees.
Liu teaches "establishing a mapping between a short term identity for a STA [station] (e.g., an AID) that is transmitted over a wireless network in the clear and periodically changed, and a long term identity for the STA (e.g., a MAC address) that remains constant while the STA is associated with an AP and which is never transmitted over the wireless network [unencrypted]." Liu at 26; see also id. at 8, 21, and 41 (describing the same "mapping between a short term identity for a STA (e.g., an AID) that is transmitted over a wireless network 'in the clear' and periodically changed, and a long term identity for the STA). The Office Action attempts to map Liu's "short term identity" to the claimed "unencrypted non-persistent random identifier," but this mapping fails because Liu teaches that the "short term identity" is assigned by the corresponding access point (AP) after association.”.
The examiner notes that applicant’s above contention(s) cannot be substantiated by claims that Liu’s “short term identity” is assigned later rather than earlier. The examiner further notes that the current construction of applicant’s claim 1 does not restrict applicant’s “unencrypted non-persistent random identifier” to a particular assignment time as argued. Thus, it is immaterial of the assignment time as argued. Moreover, Liu states that the “short term identity”, like the “unencrypted non-persistent random identifier” is transmitted over a wireless network and it prevents the device from being track (i.e., Liu par. 0006 “the STA can periodically change its “short term identity” to prevent tracking of the STA.”). The examiner further draws attention to Liu’s par. 0026 where the following is disclosed: “[0026] Specifically, embodiments herein involve establishing a mapping between a “short term identity” for a STA (e.g., an AID) that is transmitted over a wireless network in the clear and periodically changed, and a long term identity for the STA (e.g., a MAC address) that remains constant while the STA is associated with an AP and which is never transmitted over the wireless network “in the clear.” Herein, “in the clear” means transmitted unencrypted over the wireless network. The examiner notes that Liu states that the “short term identity” is transmitted in a clear (i.e., unencrypted) manner. Liu additionally states that the “short term identity” periodically changes. Therefore, Liu’s “short term identity” is non-persistent. The examiner notes that Liu utilizes the “short term identity” in the same manner as the applicant utilizes its “unencrypted non-persistent random identifier”. Furthermore, the examiner notes that the applicant in paragraph 0005 of their original disclosure recites that the “unencrypted non-persistent random identifier” is the following: “The association between the random identifier and the persistent identifier enables the user device to access the identity-based services. The use of the random identifier mitigates and/or prevents any third party, such as a network hacker, an eavesdropper, and/or any other bad actors, from using network sniffing, log tracking, and/or the like to track the user device when connecting to various networks/network devices.”. As such, applicant’s “unencrypted non-persistent random identifier” and Liu’s “short term identity” are functionally and materially equivalent.
Notably, applicant’s specification states in par. 0035 the following: “[0035] The network device 104 may determine the device identifier 108 (e.g., the persistent identifier of the user device 102, etc.) from the decrypted information. The network device 104 may associate the random identifier received from the user device 102 with the device identifier 108. The network device 104 may include a database 107. The database 107 may store a mapping/association (e.g., an indication of a mapping/association, etc.) between the random identifier and the device identifier 108. The network device 104 may store the mapping/association between the random identifier and the device identifier 108 for a time period and/or duration.”. The examiner notes that paragraph 0035 of applicant’s original disclosure establishes that a pre-existing assignment captured in a stored database affords an association between the unencrypted non-persistent random identifier and the persistent identifier. The examiner contends that these particulars cannot be ignored (emphasis).
The applicant argues the following:
“The Office Action attempts to map Liu's "short term identity" to the claimed "unencrypted non-persistent random identifier," but this mapping fails because Liu teaches that the "short term identity" is assigned by the corresponding access point (AP) after association.”.
The examiner respectfully contends that nothing in the claim language of claim 1 as currently constructed explicitly restricts applicant’s “unencrypted non-persistent random identifier” to a particular assignment time as argued by the applicant. Again, the examiner notes that Liu’s “short term identity” is transmitted clear and is changed periodically making it non-persistent and random. This characteristics are consistent with the characteristics of applicant’s “unencrypted non-persistent random identifier”.
The applicant argues:
“Put differently, Liu does not teach or suggest that the "short term identity" (AID) is sent by a station/user device in an initial connection request. “
Somehow, without an explicit recitation in applicant’s claim 1, the applicant would like to establish that applicant’s “unencrypted non-persistent random identifier” is associated with an “initial connection request”. Notably, applicant’s specification states in par. 0035 the following: “[0035] The network device 104 may determine the device identifier 108 (e.g., the persistent identifier of the user device 102, etc.) from the decrypted information. The network device 104 may associate the random identifier received from the user device 102 with the device identifier 108. The network device 104 may include a database 107. The database 107 may store a mapping/association (e.g., an indication of a mapping/association, etc.) between the random identifier and the device identifier 108. The network device 104 may store the mapping/association between the random identifier and the device identifier 108 for a time period and/or duration.”. The examiner notes that paragraph 0035 of applicant’s original disclosure establishes that a pre-existing assignment captured in a stored database affords an association between the unencrypted non-persistent random identifier and the persistent identifier.
The applicant argues:
“Instead, for the initial connection, Liu uses the "long term identity for the STA (e.g., a MAC address)." See id. at 26. For example, Liu explains that users "connect to wireless networks using various wireless communication standards" and that "wireless communication standards such as IEEE 802.11 often use the electronic device's long term identity (e.g., the#4933-4726-6413 v5
electronic device's media access control (MAC) address)." Id. at 22. Thus, Liu fails to teach or suggest at least the aforementioned features of claim 1.”.
Again, applicant’s paragraph 0035, clearly indicates by way of a stored database that there is a pre-assignment between the unencrypted non-persistent random identifier and the persistent identifier. Meaning, regardless of a connection time, applicant’s “unencrypted non-persistent random identifier” is associated with a persistent identifier in some form or factor.
The applicant argues:
“Moreover, McKibben fails to cure Liu's deficiencies, because McKibben's system
requires a "real MAC address" when associating with an access point. For example, McKibben teaches receiving "an access request originating from a user device" and performing "an authentication process for connecting with the user device" followed by transmitting "a request message for a media access control (MAC) address of the user device" and receiving "a response message including the MAC address of the user device." See e.g., McKibben at 4. In other words, paragraph 4 of McKibben describes use of a "real" MAC address (i.e., persistent) when associating with an access point.”.
The examiner notes that applicant’s assessment noted in this instance of McKibben’s teachings is/are miss-represented. McKibben teaches in par. 0006 the following: “The access point includes at least processor in communication with at least one memory device. The access point is programmed to receive a first association request message originating from a user device including a first MAC address. The first MAC address is a randomized MAC address.”. Additionally, par. 0053 of McKibben states the following: “The access request can include a randomized MAC address”. As such, the examiner notes that the request will comprise a random (i.e., non-persistent) identifier.
The applicant argues:
“As another example, McKibben further describes a process where a "user device 105" sends an "association request using a random MAC address" to an "access point 110[,]" and a "Network server 115 determines that the MAC address is not registered" and "the access point 110 may transmit an 802.11 association response to the user device, where the association response includes information indicating that a real MAC address is required." Id. at 76. The "user device 105" then "transmits the 802.11 association request with the real MAC address[,]" which "the Network server 115 verifies[,]" and finally "the access point 110 transmits an 802.11 association response-association accepted message to the user device 105." Id. In other words, in McKibben the user device 115 is required to provide its real (persistent) MAC address when associating with the access point 110. By contrast, in claim 1, a non-persistent random identifier is used for associating a user device with a network/AP.”.
Again, the examiner notes that applicant’s assessment of McKibben’s teachings is/are miss-represented. McKibben teaches in par. 0006 the following: “The access point includes at least processor in communication with at least one memory device. The access point is programmed to receive a first association request message originating from a user device including a first MAC address. The first MAC address is a randomized MAC address.”. Additionally, par. 0053 of McKibben states the following: “The access request can include a randomized MAC address”. As such, the examiner notes that the request will comprise a random (i.e., non-persistent) identifier.
The applicant argues:
“b. The asserted motivation for combining the references is not properly supported
The Supreme Court of the United States noted that the analysis supporting a rejection
under 35 U.S.C. §103 should be made explicit. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The Court quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that "rejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness." KSR, 550 U.S. at 398, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
In the present case, the Office Action acknowledges that Liu "does not expressly teach[] the user device to connect to the network[,]" and the Office Action relies on McKibben for allegedly teaching these features. See Office Action, (p. 5). The Office Action then asserts that "it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art [...] to implement the teachings of Liu with the teachings of McKibben by having their system comprise an enhanced access process" in order to "provide a simple and effective means to secure network access, wherein the enhanced access process helps facilitate robust network security and makes it easier to control device information." Id. Applicant respectfully submits that the rationale provided by the Office Action for combining the prior art references is not properly supported.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
The applicant argues:
“The Office Action does not define the supposed "enhanced access process" that Liu's system would gain by incorporating McKibben's teachings, nor does the Office Action explainhow the "enhanced access process helps facilitate robust network security and makes it easier to control device information." For example, the Office Action fails to provide any explanation regarding how (i.e., in what way) the "enhanced access process" would "mak[e] it easier to control device information." Instead, the Office Action provides a threadbare assertion of obviousness - indeed, a mere conclusory statement - that is entirely unsupported as required by KSR.
Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that the combination of Liu and McKibben is not properly supported by the Office Action. In other words, the Office Action fails to provide articulated reasoning for the combination, aside from an undefined "enhanced access process" that somehow, though also undefined, provides additional network security and device information control. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection be withdrawn.”.
See id at 50 (explaining that "the AP can assign the first short term identity to the STA based on a random value" and that "the STA's first short term identity can identify the STA in the wireless network of the AP"). Therefore, because Liu's "short term identity" (AID) is assigned by the AP after association with the network, versus being used for the initial connection request, Liu fails to teach or suggest "sending, to a user device, based on a request from the user device to connect to a network using an unencrypted non-persistent random identifier, a network address" as claimed.
Again, applicant’s current construction for claim 1 does not restrict the “unencrypted non-persistent random identifier” to an initial connection request as argued. Moreover, McKibben teaches in par. 006 the following: “The access point includes at least processor in communication with at least one memory device. The access point is programmed to receive a first association request message originating from a user device including a first MAC address. The first MAC address is a randomized MAC address.”. Additionally, par. 0053 of McKibben states the following: “The access request can include a randomized MAC address”.
The applicant argues:
“Instead, for the initial connection, Liu uses the "long term identity for the STA (e.g., a MAC address)." See id. at 26. For example, Liu explains that users "connect to wireless networks using various wireless communication standards" and that "wireless communication standards such as IEEE 802.11 often use the electronic device's long term identity (e.g., the#4933-4726-6413 v5 electronic device's media access control (MAC) address)." Id. at 22. Thus, Liu fails to teach or suggest at least the aforementioned features of claim 1.”.
Again, applicant’s current construction for claim 1 does not restrict the “unencrypted non-persistent random identifier” to an initial connection request as argued. Moreover, McKibben teaches in par. 006 the following: “The access point includes at least processor in communication with at least one memory device. The access point is programmed to receive a first association request message originating from a user device including a first MAC address. The first MAC address is a randomized MAC address.”. Additionally, par. 0053 of McKibben states the following: “The access request can include a randomized MAC address”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2021/0014679 and LIU hereinafter) in view of McKibben et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2021/0036988 and McKibben hereinafter).
As to claim 1, LIU teaches a method comprising:
sending, to a user device, based on a request from the user device to connect to a network using an unencrypted non-persistent random identifier, a network address (i.e., …teaches in par. 0026 the following: “Specifically, embodiments herein involve establishing a mapping between a short term identity for a STA (e.g., an AID) that is transmitted over a wireless network in the clear and periodically changed, and a long term identity for the STA (e.g., a MAC address) that remains constant while the STA is associated with an AP and which is never transmitted over the wireless network “in the clear.” Herein, “in the clear” means transmitted unencrypted over the wireless network.”),
receiving, based on the network address, encrypted information, wherein the encrypted information comprises a persistent identifier (i.e., …teaches in par. 0008 the following: “an AP can establish a security association with a STA and assign a short-term identity to the STA. The short term identity can be an AID assigned to the STA by the AP when the STA first established the security association with the AP. The AP can then receive a new long term identity from the STA. The new long term identity can be a MAC address. The AP can receive the new long term identity based on the security association. For example, the STA can transmit the new long term identity in encrypted form to the AP using a set of cryptographic keys installed by the security association. Both the AP and the STA can map the STA's new long term identity to its short term identity assigned by the AP);
determining, based on the encrypted information, that the persistent identifier is associated with the user device (i.e., …teaches in par. 0008 the following: “Both the AP and the STA can map the new long term identity for the STA to the new short term identity assigned to the STA, and the AP can include the STA's new short term identity in the transmitted frames to the STA”. …teaches in par. 0008 the following: “the STA can transmit the new long term identity in encrypted”. …teaches in par. 0050 the following: “The AP can assign the first short term identity to the STA based on a random value. The STA's first short term identity can identify the STA in the wireless network of the AP. The STA then maps its first short term identity to its first long term identity, and stores the mapping in a memory, such as memory 240.”.);
and causing, based on the unencrypted non-persistent random identifier and the persistent identifier (i.e., …teaches in par. 0008 the following: “Both the AP and the STA can map the new long term identity for the STA to the new short term identity assigned to the STA, and the AP can include the STA's new short term identity in the transmitted frames to the STA”. …teaches in par. 0008 the following: “the STA can transmit the new long term identity in encrypted”. …teaches in par. 0050 the following: “The AP can assign the first short term identity to the STA based on a random value. The STA's first short term identity can identify the STA in the wireless network of the AP. The STA then maps its first short term identity to its first long term identity, and stores the mapping in a memory, such as memory 240.”. …teaches in par. 0026 the following: “sending, to a user device, based on a request from the user device to connect to a network using an unencrypted non-persistent random identifier, a network address (i.e., …teaches in par. 0026 the following: “Specifically, embodiments herein involve establishing a mapping between a short term identity for a STA (e.g., an AID) that is transmitted over a wireless network in the clear and periodically changed, and a long term identity for the STA (e.g., a MAC address) that remains constant while the STA is associated with an AP and which is never transmitted over the wireless network “in the clear.” Herein, “in the clear” means transmitted unencrypted over the wireless network.”.).
LIU does not expressly teach:
the user device to connect to the network.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference McKibben.
McKibben teaches in par. 0052 the following: “The network server 135 or 140 transmits an access request success message if the determination is to grant the access request. The network server 135 or 140 transmits an access request failure message S325 if the determination is to deny the access request. The network server 135 or 140 terminates service for the user device 105 if the determination is to deny the access request.”. Teaches in par. 0061 the following: “The network server 135 or 140 determines whether to grant the access request based on results of at least one of the integrity check and the confidentiality check.”. Teaches in par. 0052 the following: “The network server 135 or 140 transmits an access request success message if the determination is to grant the access request.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of LLIU with the teachings of McKibben by having their system comprise an enhanced access process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to secure network access, wherein the enhanced access process helps facilitate robust network security and makes it easier to control device information.
As to claim 2, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 1 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 1, further comprising causing, based on the persistent identifier being sent to a service associated with the user device (i.e., …teaches in par. 0026 the following: “Specifically, embodiments herein involve establishing a mapping between a short term identity for a STA (e.g., an AID) that is transmitted over a wireless network in the clear and periodically changed, and a long term identity for the STA (e.g., a MAC address) that remains constant while the STA is associated with an AP and which is never transmitted over the wireless network “in the clear.” Herein, “in the clear” means transmitted unencrypted over the wireless network.”).
LIU does not expressly teach:
the user device to access to the service.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference McKibben.
McKibben teaches in par. 0052 the following: “The network server 135 or 140 transmits an access request success message if the determination is to grant the access request. The network server 135 or 140 transmits an access request failure message S325 if the determination is to deny the access request. The network server 135 or 140 terminates service for the user device 105 if the determination is to deny the access request.”. Teaches in par. 0061 the following: “The network server 135 or 140 determines whether to grant the access request based on results of at least one of the integrity check and the confidentiality check.”. Teaches in par. 0052 the following: “The network server 135 or 140 transmits an access request success message if the determination is to grant the access request.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of LLIU with the teachings of McKibben by having their system comprise an enhanced access process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to secure network access, wherein the enhanced access process helps facilitate robust network security and makes it easier to control device information.
As to claim 3, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 1 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 2, wherein the service comprises at least one of: a subscription service, a parental control service, an information tracking service, a private network service, or an auto-login service (i.e., …teaches in par. 0022 the following: “Users often use their electronic devices (e.g., mobile phones, laptops, smart watches, and various other electronic devices as would be appreciated by a person of ordinary skill in the art) to connect to wireless networks provided at public places such as coffee shops, departments stores, and airports. Users connect to these wireless networks using various wireless communication standards.”).
As to claim 4, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 1 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the user device comprises at least one of: a mobile device, a smart device, or a content player (i.e., …teaches in par. 0022 the following: “Users often use their electronic devices (e.g., mobile phones, laptops, smart watches, and various other electronic devices as would be appreciated by a person of ordinary skill in the art) to connect to wireless networks provided at public places such as coffee shops, departments stores, and airports. Users connect to these wireless networks using various wireless communication standards.”).
As to claim 5, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 1 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the unencrypted non-persistent random identifier comprises at least one of: a random Media Access Control (MAC) address, a random International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), or a random International Mobile Station Equipment Identity (IMEI) (i.e., …teaches in par. 0038 the following: “MAC address to a random value…” …teaches in par. 0026 the following: “sending, to a user device, based on a request from the user device to connect to a network using an unencrypted non-persistent random identifier, a network address (i.e., …teaches in par. 0026 the following: “Specifically, embodiments herein involve establishing a mapping between a short term identity for a STA (e.g., an AID) that is transmitted over a wireless network in the clear and periodically changed, and a long term identity for the STA (e.g., a MAC address) that remains constant while the STA is associated with an AP and which is never transmitted over the wireless network “in the clear.” Herein, “in the clear” means transmitted unencrypted over the wireless network.”).
As to claim 6, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 1 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the persistent identifier comprises at least one of: a Media Access Control (MAC) address, an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), or an International Mobile Station Equipment Identity (IMEI) (i.e., …teaches in par. 0021 the following: “a long term identity for the STA (e.g., a media access control (MAC) address) that remains constant while the STA is associated with an access point (AP) and which is never transmitted over the wireless network “in the clear.”).
As to claim 7, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 1 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 1, wherein receiving the encrypted information comprises receiving the encrypted information via at least one of: Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS), Extensible Authentication Protocol - Transport Layer Security (EAP-TLS), or a version of Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA) (i.e., …teaches in par. 0067 the following: “Extensible Authentication Protocol over LAN Key Confirmation Key (EAPOL-KCK) and an EAPOL Key Encryption Key (EAPOL-KEK). ”).
As to claim 8, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 1 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 1, wherein causing the user device to connect to the network comprises:
decrypting the encrypted information (i.e., …teaches as part of his claim 18 limitation the following: “decrypt the long short term identity for the station using a decryption key associated with the first security association.”);
determining an association between the unencrypted non-persistent random identifier and the persistent identifier (i.e., …teaches in par. 0026 the following: “sending, to a user device, based on a request from the user device to connect to a network using an unencrypted non-persistent random identifier, a network address (i.e., …teaches in par. 0026 the following: “Specifically, embodiments herein involve establishing a mapping between a short term identity for a STA (e.g., an AID) that is transmitted over a wireless network in the clear and periodically changed, and a long term identity for the STA (e.g., a MAC address) that remains constant while the STA is associated with an AP and which is never transmitted over the wireless network “in the clear.” Herein, “in the clear” means transmitted unencrypted over the wireless network.”);
and granting, based on the association between the unencrypted non-persistent random identifier and the persistent identifier (i.e., …teaches in par. 0008 the following: “Both the AP and the STA can map the new long term identity for the STA to the new short term identity assigned to the STA, and the AP can include the STA's new short term identity in the transmitted frames to the STA” …teaches inpar. 0050 the following: “The AP can assign the first short term identity to the STA based on a random value. The STA's first short term identity can identify the STA in the wireless network of the AP. The STA then maps its first short term identity to its first long term identity, and stores the mapping in a memory, such as memory 240.”).
LIU does not expressly teach:
network access to the user device.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference McKibben.
McKibben teaches in par. 0052 the following: “The network server 135 or 140 transmits an access request success message if the determination is to grant the access request. The network server 135 or 140 transmits an access request failure message S325 if the determination is to deny the access request. The network server 135 or 140 terminates service for the user device 105 if the determination is to deny the access request.”. Teaches in par. 0061 the following: “The network server 135 or 140 determines whether to grant the access request based on results of at least one of the integrity check and the confidentiality check.”. Teaches in par. 0052 the following: “The network server 135 or 140 transmits an access request success message if the determination is to grant the access request.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of LLIU with the teachings of McKibben by having their system comprise an enhanced access process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to secure network access, wherein the enhanced access process helps facilitate robust network security and makes it easier to control device information.
As to claim 9, LIU teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a user device, based on a request to connect to a network using an unencrypted non-persistent random identifier associated with the user device, a network address (i.e., …teaches in par. 0026 the following: “Specifically, embodiments herein involve establishing a mapping between a short term identity for a STA (e.g., an AID) that is transmitted over a wireless network in the clear and periodically changed, and a long term identity for the STA (e.g., a MAC address) that remains constant while the STA is associated with an AP and which is never transmitted over the wireless network “in the clear.” Herein, “in the clear” means transmitted unencrypted over the wireless network.”);
sending to a network device, based on the network address, encrypted information, wherein the encrypted information comprises a persistent identifier associated with the user device (i.e., …teaches in par. 0008 the following: “an AP can establish a security association with a STA and assign a short-term identity to the STA. The short term identity can be an AID assigned to the STA by the AP when the STA first established the security association with the AP. The AP can then receive a new long term identity from the STA. The new long term identity can be a MAC address. The AP can receive the new long term identity based on the security association. For example, the STA can transmit the new long term identity in encrypted form to the AP using a set of cryptographic keys installed by the security association. Both the AP and the STA can map the STA's new long term identity to its short term identity assigned by the AP),
wherein the network device is configured to decrypt the encrypted information (i.e., …teaches as part of his claim 18 limitation the following: “decrypt the long short term identity for the station using a decryption key associated with the first security association.”);
and connecting, based on the unencrypted non-persistent random identifier (i.e., …teaches in par. 0008 the following: “Both the AP and the STA can map the new long term identity for the STA to the new short term identity assigned to the STA, and the AP can include the STA's new short term identity in the transmitted frames to the STA” …teaches in par. 0050 the following: “The AP can assign the first short term identity to the STA based on a random value. The STA's first short term identity can identify the STA in the wireless network of the AP. The STA then maps its first short term identity to its first long term identity, and stores the mapping in a memory, such as memory 240.”).
LIU does not expressly teach:
connecting to the network.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference McKibben.
McKibben teaches in par. 0052 the following: “The network server 135 or 140 transmits an access request success message if the determination is to grant the access request. The network server 135 or 140 transmits an access request failure message S325 if the determination is to deny the access request. The network server 135 or 140 terminates service for the user device 105 if the determination is to deny the access request.”. Teaches in par. 0061 the following: “The network server 135 or 140 determines whether to grant the access request based on results of at least one of the integrity check and the confidentiality check.”. Teaches in par. 0052 the following: “The network server 135 or 140 transmits an access request success message if the determination is to grant the access request.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of LLIU with the teachings of McKibben by having their system comprise an enhanced access process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to secure network access, wherein the enhanced access process helps facilitate robust network security and makes it easier to control device information.
As to claim 10, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 9 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 9, further comprising sending to a service associated with the user device, the persistent identifier (i.e., …teaches in par. 0021 the following: “a STA establishing a mapping between a short term identity for the STA (e.g., an AID) that is transmitted over a wireless network “in the clear” and periodically changed, and a long term identity for the STA (e.g., a media access control (MAC) address) that remains constant while the STA is associated with an access point (AP) and which is never transmitted over the wireless network “in the clear.”).
As to claim 11, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 9 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 9, wherein the user device comprises at least one of: a mobile device, a smart device, or a content player (i.e., …teaches in par. 0022 the following: “Users often use their electronic devices (e.g., mobile phones, laptops, smart watches, and various other electronic devices as would be appreciated by a person of ordinary skill in the art) to connect to wireless networks provided at public places such as coffee shops, departments stores, and airports. Users connect to these wireless networks using various wireless communication standards.”).
As to claim 12, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 9 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 9, wherein the unencrypted non-persistent random identifier comprises at least one of: a random Media Access Control (MAC) address, a random International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), or a random International Mobile Station Equipment Identity (IMEI) (i.e., …teaches in par. 0038 the following: “MAC address to a random value…).
As to claim 13, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 9 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 9, wherein the network device comprises at least one of: an access point or a gateway device (i.e., …teaches in par. 0021 the following: “an access point (AP)”).
As to claim 14, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 9 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 9, wherein the persistent identifier comprises at least one of: a Media Access Control (MAC) address, an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), or an International Mobile Station Equipment Identity (IMEI) (i.e., …teaches in par. 0021 the following: “a long term identity for the STA (e.g., a media access control (MAC) address) that remains constant while the STA is associated with an access point (AP) and which is never transmitted over the wireless network “in the clear.”).
As to claim 15, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 9 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 9, wherein the encrypted information further comprises public key information, wherein the network device is configured to decrypt the encrypted information based on the public key information (i.e., …teaches as part of his claim 18 limitation the following: “decrypt the long short term identity for the station using a decryption key associated with the first security association.”).
As to claim 16, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 9 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 10, wherein sending the persistent identifier causes the user device to have access to the service (i.e., …teaches in par. 0008 the following: “Both the AP and the STA can map the new long term identity for the STA to the new short term identity assigned to the STA, and the AP can include the STA's new short term identity in the transmitted frames to the STA” …teaches inpar. 0050 the following: “The AP can assign the first short term identity to the STA based on a random value. The STA's first short term identity can identify the STA in the wireless network of the AP. The STA then maps its first short term identity to its first long term identity, and stores the mapping in a memory, such as memory 240.”).
As to claim 17, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 9 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 10, wherein the service comprises at least one of: a subscription service, a parental control service, an information tracking service, a private network service, or an auto-login service (i.e., …teaches in par. 0022 the following: “Users often use their electronic devices (e.g., mobile phones, laptops, smart watches, and various other electronic devices as would be appreciated by a person of ordinary skill in the art) to connect to wireless networks provided at public places such as coffee shops, departments stores, and airports. Users connect to these wireless networks using various wireless communication standards.”).
As to claim 18, LIU teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a network device, a request from a user device to connect to a service associated with the user device (i.e., …teaches in par. 0026 the following: “Specifically, embodiments herein involve establishing a mapping between a short term identity for a STA (e.g., an AID) that is transmitted over a wireless network in the clear and periodically changed, and a long term identity for the STA (e.g., a MAC address) that remains constant while the STA is associated with an AP and which is never transmitted over the wireless network “in the clear.” Herein, “in the clear” means transmitted unencrypted over the wireless network.”),
wherein the request comprises an unencrypted non-persistent random identifier associated with the user device (i.e., …teaches in par. 0026 the following: “Specifically, embodiments herein involve establishing a mapping between a short term identity for a STA (e.g., an AID) that is transmitted over a wireless network in the clear and periodically changed, and a long term identity for the STA (e.g., a MAC address) that remains constant while the STA is associated with an AP and which is never transmitted over the wireless network “in the clear.” Herein, “in the clear” means transmitted unencrypted over the wireless network.”);
determining that the unencrypted non-persistent random identifier is associated with a persistent identifier associated with the user device (i.e., …teaches in par. 0008 the following: “Both the AP and the STA can map the new long term identity for the STA to the new short term identity assigned to the STA, and the AP can include the STA's new short term identity in the transmitted frames to the STA” …teaches in par. 0050 the following: “The AP can assign the first short term identity to the STA based on a random value. The STA's first short term identity can identify the STA in the wireless network of the AP. The STA then maps its first short term identity to its first long term identity, and stores the mapping in a memory, such as memory 240.”.);
and causing, based on the persistent identifier being sent to the service (i.e., …teaches in par. 0026 the following: “Specifically, embodiments herein involve establishing a mapping between a short term identity for a STA (e.g., an AID) that is transmitted over a wireless network in the clear and periodically changed, and a long term identity for the STA (e.g., a MAC address) that remains constant while the STA is associated with an AP and which is never transmitted over the wireless network “in the clear.” Herein, “in the clear” means transmitted unencrypted over the wireless network.”).
LIU does not expressly teach:
the user device to have access to the service.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference McKibben.
McKibben teaches in par. 0052 the following: “The network server 135 or 140 transmits an access request success message if the determination is to grant the access request. The network server 135 or 140 transmits an access request failure message S325 if the determination is to deny the access request. The network server 135 or 140 terminates service for the user device 105 if the determination is to deny the access request.”. Teaches in par. 0061 the following: “The network server 135 or 140 determines whether to grant the access request based on results of at least one of the integrity check and the confidentiality check.”. Teaches in par. 0052 the following: “The network server 135 or 140 transmits an access request success message if the determination is to grant the access request.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of LLIU with the teachings of McKibben by having their system comprise an enhanced access process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to secure network access, wherein the enhanced access process helps facilitate robust network security and makes it easier to control device information.
As to claim 19, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 18 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 18, wherein the user device comprises at least one of: a mobile device, a smart device, or a content player (i.e., …teaches in par. 0022 the following: “Users often use their electronic devices (e.g., mobile phones, laptops, smart watches, and various other electronic devices as would be appreciated by a person of ordinary skill in the art) to connect to wireless networks provided at public places such as coffee shops, departments stores, and airports. Users connect to these wireless networks using various wireless communication standards.”).
As to claim 20, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 18 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 18, wherein the unencrypted non-persistent random identifier comprises at least one of: a random Media Access Control (MAC) address, a random International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), or a random International Mobile Station Equipment Identity (IMEI) (i.e., …teaches in par. 0038 the following: “MAC address to a random value….
As to claim 21, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 18 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 18, wherein the persistent identifier comprises at least one of: a Media Access Control (MAC) address, an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), or an International Mobile Station Equipment Identity (IMEI) (i.e., …teaches in par. 0021 the following: “a long term identity for the STA (e.g., a media access control (MAC) address) that remains constant while the STA is associated with an access point (AP) and which is never transmitted over the wireless network “in the clear.”).
As to claim 22, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 18 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 18, wherein determining that the unencrypted non-persistent random identifier is associated with the persistent identifier comprises determining:
sending, to a database, a query comprising the unencrypted non-persistent random identifier (i.e., …teaches in par. 0008 the following: “Both the AP and the STA can map the new long term identity for the STA to the new short term identity assigned to the STA, and the AP can include the STA's new short term identity in the transmitted frames to the STA” …teaches in par. 0050 the following: “The AP can assign the first short term identity to the STA based on a random value. The STA's first short term identity can identify the STA in the wireless network of the AP. The STA then maps its first short term identity to its first long term identity, and stores the mapping in a memory, such as memory 240.”.);
and determining, based on the query, that the unencrypted non-persistent random identifier is associated with the persistent identifier (i.e., …teaches in par. 0008 the following: “Both the AP and the STA can map the new long term identity for the STA to the new short term identity assigned to the STA, and the AP can include the STA's new short term identity in the transmitted frames to the STA” …teaches in par. 0050 the following: “The AP can assign the first short term identity to the STA based on a random value. The STA's first short term identity can identify the STA in the wireless network of the AP. The STA then maps its first short term identity to its first long term identity, and stores the mapping in a memory, such as memory 240.”).
As to claim 23, the system of LIU and McKibben as applied to claim 18 above teaches the use of identifiers, specifically LIU teaches a method of claim 18, wherein the service comprises at least one of: a subscription service, a parental control service, an information tracking service, a private network service, or an auto-login service (i.e., …teaches in par. 0022 the following: “Users often use their electronic devices (e.g., mobile phones, laptops, smart watches, and various other electronic devices as would be appreciated by a person of ordinary skill in the art) to connect to wireless networks provided at public places such as coffee shops, departments stores, and airports. Users connect to these wireless networks using various wireless communication standards.”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/BRYAN F WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 2497