DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings were received on 09/02/2021. These drawings are acceptable.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted 01/24/2023 and 09/02/2021 have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/14/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding the rejection of claims under 35 USC 112, the amendments have been reviewed and the rejection made in the previous office action has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103, the remarks are directed to amendments that were not previously examined by the examiner. See rejection in the current office action that addresses the amended claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 10-12, 14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 20250217446, hereinafter ‘Xu’) in view of Song et al. (US 20210284184, hereinafter ‘Song’) in further view of Berry (US 20200364507) and Zhou (NPL: Understanding the Convolutional Neural Networks with Gradient Descent and Backpropagation).
Regarding independent claim 1, Xu teaches a method for training a machine learning model, comprising: obtaining, by a computing device, a training dataset comprising a collection of training examples, each training example comprising at least one data point; (in Fig.1 and Fig. 11D; And in [0059] In at least one embodiment, parameters used to train neural networks can be efficiently determined by first constructing a proxy dataset, which is representative of a full training dataset yet relatively much smaller in size. Proxy dataset may also be referred to herein as proxy data, a portion of training data, or a subset of training data [obtaining, by a computing device, a training dataset comprising a collection of training examples, each training example comprising at least one data point]. In at least one embodiment, parameters used to train neural networks can be estimated using proxy dataset and one or more proxy models, which are essentially smaller networks, yet representative of a larger/complete network structure. In at least one embodiment, utilizing both proxy dataset and proxy networks, computational burden of AutoML can be drastically reduced (e.g., from a few days to a few hours) and yet be able to estimate parameters that can lead to improved performance…)
determining, by the computing device, for each training example of the training dataset, a derivative vector of a loss function with respect to one or more parameters of the machine learning model for the training example and an importance score of each training example relative to other training examples in the collection of training examples; (in [0066] FIG. 2 illustrates an example framework 200 for selecting a subset of training data to train a neural network based on uniqueness of training data [determining, by the computing device, for each training example of the training dataset, a derivative vector of a loss function with respect to one or more parameters of the machine learning model for the training example and an importance of each training example relative to other training examples in the collection of training examples], according to at least one embodiment. Top row of framework 200 indicates methods (e.g., using all data or a random subset of data) that can be used to perform parameter estimation. In at least one embodiment, a processor comprising one or more circuits performs bottom row of framework 200 to train one or more neural networks based on uniqueness of data. In at least one embodiment, a processor comprising one or more circuits performs bottom row of framework 200 to estimate parameters to train one or more neural networks based on uniqueness of data (e.g., similarities among input training data)…. And in [0060] In at least one embodiment, a processor comprises one or more circuits to perform parameter estimation to train a neural network based on uniqueness of training data (e.g., similarities among training data)... In at least one embodiment, uniqueness of data is determined based, at least in part, on similarities among various data in training data. In at least one embodiment, similarities are determined by first identifying a region of interest in a training image from training data. In at least one embodiment, said region of interest is compared with corresponding regions of interest in other training images from training data. In at least one embodiment, a score [and an importance of each training example relative to other training examples in the collection of training examples] (e.g., an importance score, similarity score, indicator) indicating uniqueness is generated based on said comparison…; And in [0096] ... In at least one embodiment, errors are then propagated back through untrained neural network 906 [determining, by the computing device, for each training example of the training dataset, a derivative vector of a loss function with respect to one or more parameters of the machine learning model for the training example and an importance of each training example relative to other training examples in the collection of training examples]. In at least one embodiment, training framework 904 adjusts weights that control untrained neural network 906. In at least one embodiment, training framework 904 includes tools to monitor how well untrained neural network 906 is converging towards a model, such as trained neural network 908, suitable to generating correct answers, such as in result 914, based on input data such as a new dataset 912. In at least one embodiment, training framework 904 trains [determining, by the computing device, for each training example of the training dataset, a derivative vector of a loss function with respect to one or more parameters of the machine learning model for the training example] untrained neural network 906 repeatedly while adjust weights to refine an output of untrained neural network 906 using a loss function and adjustment algorithm, such as stochastic gradient descent [a derivative vector of a loss function with respect to one or more parameters of the machine learning model for the training example and an importance score of each training example relative to other training examples in the collection of training examples]. In at least one embodiment, training framework 904 trains untrained neural network 906 until untrained neural network 906 achieves a desired accuracy. In at least one embodiment, trained neural network 908 can then be deployed to implement any number of machine learning operations.
defining, by the computing device, a plurality of training subsets from the collection of training examples based on at least one of a norm of the derivative vectors of the loss functions or the importance score of each training example relative to other training examples, wherein total a total number of training examples in at least one training subset is different from that of another training subset, each training subset includes multiple training examples; (in [0079] In at least one embodiment, a system performing at least a part of process 700 includes executable code to identify 702 an object from one or more training images used to train one or more neural networks. In at least one embodiment, hyper-parameters can be estimated for training a neural network by using a subset [wherein total a total number of training examples in at least one training subset is different from that of another training subset, each training subset includes multiple training examples] of the training images that more accurately reflects a full dataset of training images [defining, by the computing device, a plurality of training subsets from the collection of training examples based on at least one of a norm of the derivative vectors of the loss functions or the importance score of each training example relative to other training examples]. In at least one embodiment, a system performing at least a part of process 700 includes executable code to first find a region of interest in each training image, such as a bounding box around a particular object to be recognized by a neural network being trained. And in [0064] In at least one embodiment, GPU 106 processes training data 102 (comprising training images) to estimate parameters (e.g., hyper-parameters, values) that are used to control how a neural network is to be trained. In at least one embodiment, GPU processes training data 102 to estimate parameters prior to a neural network to be trained 116 uses training data for training… In at least one embodiment, GPU 106 determines a region of interest in each training image and calculates a score 108.… In at least one embodiment, said score and training image would then be stored with a lower ranking than other scores in said list. In at least one embodiment, if a region of interest is more dissimilar to other regions of interest of in corresponding images [wherein total number of training examples in at least one training subset is different from that of another training subset, each training subset includes multiple training examples based on examples in corresponding region of interests], a higher importance score will be assigned because dissimilar images are not redundant to other images. Storing scores in a list based on comparisons between regions of interests and ranking scores higher based on dissimilarity between corresponding regions of interests is one example embodiment; however, other ways to store and rank scores (e.g., ranking scores that have greater similarity higher instead of lower) can also be utilized… [0067] In at least one embodiment, a proxy data selection strategy is performed. In at least one embodiment, to select proxy data, dataset D containing a set of data points {x.sub.1, x.sub.2, . . . x.sub.n} is determined, where x.sub.i is a single data sample [defining, by the computing device, a plurality of training subsets from the collection of training examples based on at least one of ].]. Data points may also be referred to herein as a region of interest in a training image…. )
and executing, by the computing device, at least two epochs of training of the machine learning model using, for each epoch of training, one training subset among the plurality of training subsets, (in [0081] In at least one embodiment, a system performing at least a part of process 700 includes executable code to identify 710 and select a subset of training images (e.g., proxy data) based on similarity scores from said list. In at least one embedment, said subset is used to calculate hyper-parameters for training a neural network [executing, by the computing device, at least two epochs of training of the machine learning model using, for each epoch of training, one training subset among the plurality of training subsets]. be. In at least one embodiment, a system performing at least a part of process 700 includes executable code to use 712 an alternate neural network (e.g., proxy network that represents a smaller network than said one or more neural networks to be trained) to estimate one or more hyper-parameters usable to train said one or more neural networks based on identified subset of training images [one training subset among the plurality of training subsets]... [0117] In at least one embodiment, one or more systems depicted in FIG. 8 are utilized to implement a framework for training one or more neural networks based on uniqueness of training data. In at least one embodiment, one or more systems depicted in FIG. 8 are utilized to perform various processes such as those described in connection with FIGS. 1-7. In at least one embodiment, one or more systems depicted in FIG. 8 are utilized to use a subset of training data, such as training images, based on uniqueness of training data to estimate parameters as part of one or more training process of a neural network model.)
generating, by the machine learning model, a plurality of feature embeddings using the one training subset, and reducing, by the computing device, distance between feature embeddings to train the machine learning model (in [0079] In at least one embodiment, a system performing at least a part of process 700 includes executable code to identify 702 an object from one or more training images used to train one or more neural networks. In at least one embodiment, hyper-parameters can be estimated for training a neural network by using a subset of the training images that more accurately reflects a full dataset of training images [generating, by the machine learning model, a plurality of feature embeddings using the one training subset. …]…. In at least one embodiment, a system performing at least a part of process 700 includes executable code to compare 704, for each image, a region of interest with a corresponding region of interest of every other interest. In at least one embodiment, object in region of interest is compared with objects in corresponding regions of interest among said one or more training images; …[0096] ... In at least one embodiment, untrained neural network 906 is trained in a supervised manner and processes inputs from training dataset 902 and compares resulting outputs against a set of expected or desired outputs. In at least one embodiment, errors are then propagated back through untrained neural network 906…. And in [0127] In at least one embodiment, one or more systems depicted in FIG. 11A are utilized to implement a framework for training one or more neural networks based on uniqueness of training data. In at least one embodiment, one or more systems depicted in FIG. 11A are utilized to perform various processes such as those described in connection with FIGS. 1-7. In at least one embodiment, one or more systems depicted in FIG. 11A are utilized to use a subset of training data, such as training images, based on uniqueness of training data to estimate parameters as part of one or more training process of a neural network model [generating, by the machine learning model, a plurality of feature embeddings using the one training subset, and reducing, by the computing device, distance between feature embeddings to train the machine learning model]. )
and outputting, by the computing device, the machine learning model as a trained model to be employed in a vehicle. (in [0220] In at least one embodiment, server(s) 1178 may be used to train machine learning models (e.g., neural networks) based at least in part on training data. In at least one embodiment, training data may be generated by vehicles, and/or may be generated in a simulation (e.g., using a game engine). In at least one embodiment, any amount of training data is tagged (e.g., where associated neural network benefits from supervised learning) and/or undergoes other pre-processing. In at least one embodiment, any amount of training data is not tagged and/or pre-processed (e.g., where associated neural network does not require supervised learning). In at least one embodiment, once machine learning models are trained, machine learning models may be used by vehicles [and outputting, by the computing device, the machine learning model as a trained model to be employed in a vehicle.] (e.g., transmitted to vehicles over network(s) 1190), and/or machine learning models may be used by server(s) 1178 to remotely monitor vehicles.)
While Xu teaches training a neural network on a subset of data based on a feature selection process, Xu does not expressly teach the iterative training process claimed in the limitation using, for each epoch of training, one training subset among the plurality of training subsets, wherein the derivative vector is initialized for a first epoch of the at least two epochs, and the training subset is employed for each epoch is a different training subset, and for each epoch of training:
Song does expressly teach the iterative training process claimed in the limitation using, for each epoch of training, one training subset among the plurality of training subsets, wherein the derivative vector is initialized for a first epoch of the at least two epochs, and the training subset is employed for each epoch is a different training subset, and for each epoch of training: (in [0120] In one example, the machine learning model is a neural network model and the system trains the neural network model over multiple training iterations. At each training iteration [using, for each epoch of training, one training subset among the plurality of training subsets, wherein the derivative vector is initialized for a first epoch of the at least two epochs, and the training subset is employed for each epoch is a different training subset, and for each epoch of training], the system selects a current mini-batch of one or more training examples from the candidate training data [one training subset among the plurality of training subsets], and then determines an “augmented” mini-batch of training examples by transforming the training inputs in the current mini-batch of training examples [and the training subset is employed for each epoch is a different training subset, and for each epoch of training] using the current point cloud augmentation policy. Optionally, the system may adjust the target outputs in the current mini-batch of training examples to account for the transformations applied to the training inputs (as described earlier). The system processes the transformed training inputs in accordance with the current parameter values of the machine learning model to generate corresponding outputs. The system then determines gradients of an objective function that measures a similarity between [reducing, by the computing device, distance between feature embeddings to train the machine learning model]: (i) the outputs generated by the machine learning model, and (ii) the target outputs specified by the training examples, and uses the gradients to adjust the current values of the machine learning model parameters [generating, by the machine learning model, a plurality of feature embeddings using the one training subset and reducing, by the computing device, distance between feature embeddings to train the machine learning model]. The system may determine the gradients using, e.g., a backpropagation procedure [wherein the derivative vector is initialized for a first epoch of the at least two epochs], and the system may use the gradients to adjust the current values of the machine learning model parameters using any appropriate gradient descent optimization procedure, e.g., an RMSprop or Adam procedure…; And in [0096] The iterative training process optimizes the model parameters 225A-N for the population of candidate machine learning models 204A-N. In some implementations, the iterative training process optimizes the model parameters 225A-N for the population of candidate machine learning models 204A-N in an iterative manner by using a gradient-based optimization technique (e.g., stochastic gradient descent [wherein the derivative vector is initialized for a first epoch of the at least two epochs] on some objective function). )
Song and Xu are analogous art because both involve developing information retrieval and modeling techniques using machine learning systems and algorithms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the prior art for processing and retrieving information for training a machine learning model having a plurality of model parameters to perform a particular neural network task using training data subsets, as disclosed by Song with the method of developing information retrieval and modeling techniques using machine learning systems and algorithms as disclosed by Xu.
One of ordinary skill in the arts would have been motivated to combine the disclosed methods disclosed by Song and Xu for the benefit of developing and implementing progressive population-based training that allows the system to make more efficient use of computational resources, e.g., memory, wall clock time, or both during training, (Song, 0073).
While Xu and Song teaches the process for training a neural network using backpropagation, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the process of training and adjusting the parameters of a neural network during training involves measuring and reducing a distance among similar feature embeddings.
Berry does expressly teaches training and adjusting the parameters of a neural network during training involves measuring and reducing a distance among similar feature embeddings, in [0044] In one embodiment, the training module 203 incrementally adjusts the model parameters until the model maximizes the distances between dissimilar objects and/or minimizes distances between similar objects [generating, by the machine learning model, a plurality of feature embeddings …, and reducing, by the computing device, distance between feature embeddings to train the machine learning model] using the loss function (e.g., achieves a target maximum and/or minimum distance separation for objects). In other words, a “trained” embedding neural network 109 is a machine learning model with parameters (e.g., coefficients, weights, etc.) adjusted to make predictions of the embedding layer 107 with maximum distances between dissimilar objects and/or minimum distances between similar objects with respect to the ground truth data. In step 305, the layer module 205 then uses the trained embedding neural network 109 to predict the embedding layer 107 based on specified parameters such as but not limited to embedding layer size (e.g., number of dimensions), loss function, metric for loss function, and/or the like. The resulting embedding layer 107 would then represent the semantic relationships or distances among the map features of the geographic database 103
Berry, Song and Xu are analogous art because both involve developing information retrieval and modeling techniques using machine learning systems and algorithms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the prior art for processing and retrieving information for training a machine learning model based on processing exacted data features, as disclosed by Berry with the method of developing information retrieval and modeling techniques using machine learning systems and algorithms as collectively disclosed by Song and Xu.
One of ordinary skill in the arts would have been motivated to combine the disclosed methods disclosed by Berry, Song and Xu for the benefit of providing map embedding analytics for neural networks to improve, for instance, map feature classification or determining semantic relationships between the map features (e.g., like the path by which a user can navigate from a parking lot to a store front), and/or the like (Berry, 0002 & 0031-0032).
Examiner notes that when training neural network it is well-known that training methods includes computing a derivative vector as part of the gradient and backpropagation operations claimed where the gradient operations initialize a starting vector.
Zhou expressly teaches in Sec. 3: In mathematics, gradient is a vector, referring to the direction with largest changing value at one point. The method Gradient Descent used in machine learning is to define the distinction between two values to train the neural networks. The gradient descent method is based on the following process: 1) First, assign the value of θ, this value can either be random or an all-zero vector [wherein the derivative vector is initialized for a first epoch of the at least two epochs]. 2) Second, change the value of θ so that J (θ) decreases in the direction in which the gradient decreases [wherein the derivative vector is initialized for a first epoch of the at least two epochs].
Figure 1 is a diagram showing the relationship between the parameter θ and the error function J (θ). The red part is where J (θ) has a relatively high value. We need to be able to make the value of J (θ) as low as possible, where the dark blue part is. Θ0 and θ1 represent two dimensions of the θ vector. The first step of gradient descent is to initiate the value of θ, assuming that the initial value given to the graph is the cross at the graph. Then we adjust θ in accordance with the direction of the gradient, it will make J (θ) shifts toward a lower direction, as shown in the figure, the algorithm will stop by θ dropping to an extreme point [wherein the derivative vector is initialized for a first epoch of the at least two epochs]. Gradient reduction process is stated as follows:…
Zhou, Berry, Song and Xu are analogous art because both involve developing information retrieval and modeling techniques using machine learning systems and algorithms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the prior art for summarizing processing and retrieving information as a general introduction to how Gradient Descent and Backpropagation work, as disclosed by Zhou with the method of developing information retrieval and modeling techniques using machine learning systems and algorithms as collectively disclosed by Berry, Song and Xu.
One of ordinary skill in the arts would have been motivated to combine the disclosed methods disclosed by Zhou, Berry, Song and Xu as noted above. Doing so allows for enabling image recognition using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs) , in (Zhou, abstract). CNN is one of the most common algorithms in image recognition, wherein the greatest features of CNNs are the weight sharing and dimension reduction, in (Zhou, abstract).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Xu in combination with Song, Berry, and Zhou teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising using the trained model to control operations of a mobile platform, as the vehicle. (in [0220] In at least one embodiment, server(s) 1178 may be used to train machine learning models (e.g., neural networks) based at least in part on training data. In at least one embodiment, training data may be generated by vehicles, and/or may be generated in a simulation (e.g., using a game engine). In at least one embodiment, any amount of training data is tagged (e.g., where associated neural network benefits from supervised learning) and/or undergoes other pre-processing. In at least one embodiment, any amount of training data is not tagged and/or pre-processed (e.g., where associated neural network does not require supervised learning). In at least one embodiment, once machine learning models are trained, machine learning models may be used by vehicles [further comprising using the trained model to control operations of a mobile platform, as the vehicle] (e.g., transmitted to vehicles over network(s) 1190), and/or machine learning models may be used by server(s) 1178 to remotely monitor vehicles.; And in [0455] In at least one embodiment, one or more PPUs 3300 are configured to accelerate High Performance Computing (“HPC”), data center, and machine learning applications. In at least one embodiment, PPU 3300 is configured to accelerate deep learning systems and applications including following non-limiting examples: autonomous vehicle platforms,...)
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Xu in combination with Song, Berry, and Zhou teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one data point is obtained from an image generated by a camera. (in [0198] In at least one embodiment, vehicle 1100 may further include any number of camera types, including stereo camera(s) 1168, wide-view camera(s) 1170, infrared camera(s) 1172, surround camera(s) 1174, long-range camera(s) 1198, mid-range camera(s) 1176, and/or other camera types. In at least one embodiment, cameras may be used to capture image data around an entire periphery of vehicle 1100…)
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Xu in combination with Song, Berry, and Zhou teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein each said training example further comprises a true value for a property to be predicted by the machine learning model. (in [0075] FIG. 6 illustrates an example of a process 600 for training a neural network based on uniqueness of the training data, according to at least one embodiment…. In at least one embodiment, process 600 is performed by one or more circuits to identify one or more images used to train one or more neural networks based, at least in part, on one or more labels of one or more objects within said one or more images [wherein each said training example further comprises a true value for a property to be predicted by the machine learning model].… )
Additionally Song teaches , in [0021] By training the machine learning models in a manner that optimizes model parameters and data augmentation policy parameters jointly, a system disclosed in this specification can train the machine learning model to generate outputs, e.g., perception outputs such as object detection or classification outputs [wherein each said training example further comprises a true value for a property to be predicted by the machine learning model], that are more accurate than those generated by models trained using conventional techniques, e.g., using manually designed data augmentation policies… Compared with other conventional approaches, the system can thus make more efficient use of computational resources, e.g., memory, wall clock time, or both during training. The system can also train the machine learning model using orders of magnitude smaller amount of labeled data [wherein each said training example further comprises a true value for a property to be predicted by the machine learning model]…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Song and Xu for the same reasons disclosed above.
Regarding claims 10-12 and 14, the limitations are similar to those in claims 1-3 and 5 respectively and are thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the limitations are simar to those in claims 1 and 2 respectively and are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 1-3, 5, 10-12, 14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 20250217446, hereinafter ‘Xu’) in view of Song et al. (US 20210284184, hereinafter ‘Song’) in further view of Appalaraju et al. (US 10467526, hereinafter ‘Appa’) and Zhou (NPL: Understanding the Convolutional Neural Networks with Gradient Descent and Backpropagation).
Regarding independent claim 1, Xu teaches a method for training a machine learning model, comprising: obtaining, by a computing device, a training dataset comprising a collection of training examples, each training example comprising at least one data point; (in Fig.1 and Fig. 11D; And in [0059] In at least one embodiment, parameters used to train neural networks can be efficiently determined by first constructing a proxy dataset, which is representative of a full training dataset yet relatively much smaller in size. Proxy dataset may also be referred to herein as proxy data, a portion of training data, or a subset of training data [obtaining, by a computing device, a training dataset comprising a collection of training examples, each training example comprising at least one data point]. In at least one embodiment, parameters used to train neural networks can be estimated using proxy dataset and one or more proxy models, which are essentially smaller networks, yet representative of a larger/complete network structure. In at least one embodiment, utilizing both proxy dataset and proxy networks, computational burden of AutoML can be drastically reduced (e.g., from a few days to a few hours) and yet be able to estimate parameters that can lead to improved performance…)
determining, by the computing device, for each training example of the training dataset, a derivative vector of a loss function with respect to one or more parameters of the machine learning model for the training example and an importance score of each training example relative to other training examples in the collection of training examples; (in [0066] FIG. 2 illustrates an example framework 200 for selecting a subset of training data to train a neural network based on uniqueness of training data [determining, by the computing device, for each training example of the training dataset, a derivative vector of a loss function with respect to one or more parameters of the machine learning model for the training example and an importance of each training example relative to other training examples in the collection of training examples], according to at least one embodiment. Top row of framework 200 indicates methods (e.g., using all data or a random subset of data) that can be used to perform parameter estimation. In at least one embodiment, a processor comprising one or more circuits performs bottom row of framework 200 to train one or more neural networks based on uniqueness of data. In at least one embodiment, a processor comprising one or more circuits performs bottom row of framework 200 to estimate parameters to train one or more neural networks based on uniqueness of data (e.g., similarities among input training data)…. And in [0060] In at least one embodiment, a processor comprises one or more circuits to perform parameter estimation to train a neural network based on uniqueness of training data (e.g., similarities among training data)... In at least one embodiment, uniqueness of data is determined based, at least in part, on similarities among various data in training data. In at least one embodiment, similarities are determined by first identifying a region of interest in a training image from training data. In at least one embodiment, said region of interest is compared with corresponding regions of interest in other training images from training data. In at least one embodiment, a score [and an importance of each training example relative to other training examples in the collection of training examples] (e.g., an importance score, similarity score, indicator) indicating uniqueness is generated based on said comparison…; And in [0096] ... In at least one embodiment, errors are then propagated back through untrained neural network 906 [determining, by the computing device, for each training example of the training dataset, a derivative vector of a loss function with respect to one or more parameters of the machine learning model for the training example and an importance of each training example relative to other training examples in the collection of training examples]. In at least one embodiment, training framework 904 adjusts weights that control untrained neural network 906. In at least one embodiment, training framework 904 includes tools to monitor how well untrained neural network 906 is converging towards a model, such as trained neural network 908, suitable to generating correct answers, such as in result 914, based on input data such as a new dataset 912. In at least one embodiment, training framework 904 trains [determining, by the computing device, for each training example of the training dataset, a derivative vector of a loss function with respect to one or more parameters of the machine learning model for the training example] untrained neural network 906 repeatedly while adjust weights to refine an output of untrained neural network 906 using a loss function and adjustment algorithm, such as stochastic gradient descent [a derivative vector of a loss function with respect to one or more parameters of the machine learning model for the training example and an importance score of each training example relative to other training examples in the collection of training examples]. In at least one embodiment, training framework 904 trains untrained neural network 906 until untrained neural network 906 achieves a desired accuracy. In at least one embodiment, trained neural network 908 can then be deployed to implement any number of machine learning operations.
defining, by the computing device, a plurality of training subsets from the collection of training examples based on at least one of a norm of the derivative vectors of the loss functions or the importance score of each training example relative to other training examples, wherein total a total number of training examples in at least one training subset is different from that of another training subset, each training subset includes multiple training examples; (in [0079] In at least one embodiment, a system performing at least a part of process 700 includes executable code to identify 702 an object from one or more training images used to train one or more neural networks. In at least one embodiment, hyper-parameters can be estimated for training a neural network by using a subset [wherein total a total number of training examples in at least one training subset is different from that of another training subset, each training subset includes multiple training examples] of the training images that more accurately reflects a full dataset of training images [defining, by the computing device, a plurality of training subsets from the collection of training examples based on at least one of a norm of the derivative vectors of the loss functions or the importance score of each training example relative to other training examples]. In at least one embodiment, a system performing at least a part of process 700 includes executable code to first find a region of interest in each training image, such as a bounding box around a particular object to be recognized by a neural network being trained. And in [0064] In at least one embodiment, GPU 106 processes training data 102 (comprising training images) to estimate parameters (e.g., hyper-parameters, values) that are used to control how a neural network is to be trained. In at least one embodiment, GPU processes training data 102 to estimate parameters prior to a neural network to be trained 116 uses training data for training… In at least one embodiment, GPU 106 determines a region of interest in each training image and calculates a score 108.… In at least one embodiment, said score and training image would then be stored with a lower ranking than other scores in said list. In at least one embodiment, if a region of interest is more dissimilar to other regions of interest of in corresponding images [wherein total number of training examples in at least one training subset is different from that of another training subset, each training subset includes multiple training examples based on examples in corresponding region of interests], a higher importance score will be assigned because dissimilar images are not redundant to other images. Storing scores in a list based on comparisons between regions of interests and ranking scores higher based on dissimilarity between corresponding regions of interests is one example embodiment; however, other ways to store and rank scores (e.g., ranking scores that have greater similarity higher instead of lower) can also be utilized… [0067] In at least one embodiment, a proxy data selection strategy is performed. In at least one embodiment, to select proxy data, dataset D containing a set of data points {x.sub.1, x.sub.2, . . . x.sub.n} is determined, where x.sub.i is a single data sample [defining, by the computing device, a plurality of training subsets from the collection of training examples based on at least one of ].]. Data points may also be referred to herein as a region of interest in a training image…. )
and executing, by the computing device, at least two epochs of training of the machine learning model using, for each epoch of training, one training subset among the plurality of training subsets, (in [0081] In at least one embodiment, a system performing at least a part of process 700 includes executable code to identify 710 and select a subset of training images (e.g., proxy data) based on similarity scores from said list. In at least one embedment, said subset is used to calculate hyper-parameters for training a neural network [executing, by the computing device, at least two epochs of training of the machine learning model using, for each epoch of training, one training subset among the plurality of training subsets]. be. In at least one embodiment, a system performing at least a part of process 700 includes executable code to use 712 an alternate neural network (e.g., proxy network that represents a smaller network than said one or more neural networks to be trained) to estimate one or more hyper-parameters usable to train said one or more neural networks based on identified subset of training images [one training subset among the plurality of training subsets]... [0117] In at least one embodiment, one or more systems depicted in FIG. 8 are utilized to implement a framework for training one or more neural networks based on uniqueness of training data. In at least one embodiment, one or more systems depicted in FIG. 8 are utilized to perform various processes such as those described in connection with FIGS. 1-7. In at least one embodiment, one or more systems depicted in FIG. 8 are utilized to use a subset of training data, such as training images, based on uniqueness of training data to estimate parameters as part of one or more training process of a neural network model.)
generating, by the machine learning model, a plurality of feature embeddings using the one training subset, and reducing, by the computing device, distance between feature embeddings to train the machine learning model (in [0079] In at least one embodiment, a system performing at least a part of process 700 includes executable code to identify 702 an object from one or more training images used to train one or more neural networks. In at least one embodiment, hyper-parameters can be estimated for training a neural network by using a subset of the training images that more accurately reflects a full dataset of training images [generating, by the machine learning model, a plurality of feature embeddings using the one training subset. …]…. In at least one embodiment, a system performing at least a part of process 700 includes executable code to compare 704, for each image, a region of interest with a corresponding region of interest of every other interest. In at least one embodiment, object in region of interest is compared with objects in corresponding regions of interest among said one or more training images; …[0096] ... In at least one embodiment, untrained neural network 906 is trained in a supervised manner and processes inputs from training dataset 902 and compares resulting outputs against a set of expected or desired outputs. In at least one embodiment, errors are then propagated back through untrained neural network 906…. And in [0127] In at least one embodiment, one or more systems depicted in FIG. 11A are utilized to implement a framework for training one or more neural networks based on uniqueness of training data. In at least one embodiment, one or more systems depicted in FIG. 11A are utilized to perform various processes such as those described in connection with FIGS. 1-7. In at least one embodiment, one or more systems depicted in FIG. 11A are utilized to use a subset of training data, such as training images, based on uniqueness of training data to estimate parameters as part of one or more training process of a neural network model [generating, by the machine learning model, a plurality of feature embeddings using the one training subset, and reducing, by the computing device, distance between feature embeddings to train the machine learning model]. )
and outputting, by the computing device, the machine learning model as a trained model to be employed in a vehicle. (in [0220] In at least one embodiment, server(s) 1178 may be used to train machine learning models (e.g., neural networks) based at least in part on training data. In at least one embodiment, training data may be generated by vehicles, and/or may be generated in a simulation (e.g., using a game engine). In at least one embodiment, any amount of training data is tagged (e.g., where associated neural network benefits from supervised learning) and/or undergoes other pre-processing. In at least one embodiment, any amount of training data is not tagged and/or pre-processed (e.g., where associated neural network does not require supervised learning). In at least one embodiment, once machine learning models are trained, machine learning models may be used by vehicles [and outputting, by the computing device, the machine learning model as a trained model to be employed in a vehicle.] (e.g., transmitted to vehicles over network(s) 1190), and/or machine learning models may be used by server(s) 1178 to remotely monitor vehicles.)
While Xu teaches training a neural network on a subset of data based on a feature selection process, Xu does not expressly teach the iterative training process claimed in the limitation using, for each epoch of training, one training subset among the plurality of training subsets, wherein the derivative vector is initialized for a first epoch of the at least two epochs, and the training subset is employed for each epoch is a different training subset, and for each epoch of training:
Song does expressly teach the iterative training process claimed in the limitation using, for each epoch of training, one training subset among the plurality of training subsets, wherein the derivative vector is initialized for a first epoch of the at least two epochs, and the training subset is employed for each epoch is a different training subset, and for each epoch of training: (in [0120] In one example, the machine learning model is a neural network model and the system trains the neural network model over multiple training iterations. At each training iteration [using, for each epoch of training, one training subset among the plurality of training subsets, wherein the derivative vector is initialized for a first epoch of the at least two epochs, and the training subset is employed for each epoch is a different training subset, and for each epoch of training], the system selects a current mini-batch of one or more training examples from the candidate training data [one training subset among the plurality of training subsets], and then determines an “augmented” mini-batch of training examples by transforming the training inputs in the current mini-batch of training examples [and the training subset is employed for each epoch is a different training subset, and for each epoch of training] using the current point cloud augmentation policy. Optionally, the system may adjust the target outputs in the current mini-batch of training examples to account for the transformations applied to the training inputs (as described earlier). The system processes the transformed training inputs in accordance with the current parameter values of the machine learning model to generate corresponding outputs. The system then determines gradients of an objective function that measures a similarity between [reducing, by the computing device, distance between feature embeddings to train the machine learning model]: (i) the outputs generated by the machine learning model, and (ii) the target outputs specified by the training examples, and uses the gradients to adjust the current values of the machine learning model parameters [generating, by the machine learning model, a plurality of feature embeddings using the one training subset and reducing, by the computing device, distance between feature embeddings to train the machine learning model]. The system may determine the gradients using, e.g., a backpropagation procedure [wherein the derivative vector is initialized for a first epoch of the at least two epochs], and the system may use the gradients to adjust the current values of the machine learning model parameters using any appropriate gradient descent optimization procedure, e.g., an RMSprop or Adam procedure…; And in [0096] The iterative training process optimizes the model parameters 225A-N for the population of candidate machine learning models 204A-N. In some implementations, the iterative training process optimizes the model parameters 225A-N for the population of candidate machine learning models 204A-N in an iterative manner by using a gradient-based optimization technique (e.g., stochastic gradient descent [wherein the derivative vector is initialized for a first epoch of the at least two epochs] on some objective function). )
Song and Xu are analogous art because both involve developing information retrieval and modeling techniques using machine learning systems and algorithms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the prior art for processing and retrieving information for training a machine learning model having a plurality of model parameters to perform a particular neural network task using training data subsets, as disclosed by Song with the method of developing information retrieval and modeling techniques using machine learning systems and algorithms as disclosed by Xu.
One of ordinary skill in the arts would have been motivated to combine the disclosed methods disclosed by Song and Xu for the benefit of developing and implementing progressive population based training that allows the system to make more efficient use of computational resources, e.g., memory, wall clock time, or both during training, (Song, 0073).
While Xu and Song teaches the process for training a neural network using backpropagation, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the process of training and adjusting the parameters of a neural network during training involves measuring and reducing a distance among similar feature embeddings.
Appa does expressly teaches training and adjusting the parameters of a neural network during training involves measuring and reducing a distance among similar feature embeddings, in 11:18-31: In equation (1), Y is the image pair label, set to 0 for positive or similar pairs, and set to 1 for negative or dissimilar pairs (note that the opposite labels, 1 for positive and 0 for negative, may be employed in some embodiments, and the corresponding summation terms of equation (1) may be modified accordingly). D(O.sub.i, O.sub.j) represents a distance metric (e.g., Euclidean, Manhattan or cosine distance) between two output vectors O.sub.i and O.sub.j, and m is a margin hyperparameter of the model [generating, by the machine learning model, a plurality of feature embeddings using the one training subset, and reducing, by the computing device, distance between feature embeddings to train the machine learning model]. When a positive input pair is processed, Y is zero, so the second additive term involving the maximum is also zero, and the loss becomes the distance between the embeddings of two similar images. As such, the model learns to reduce the distance between similar images [reducing, by the computing device, distance between feature embeddings to train the machine learning model], which is a desirable result…; And in 3:42-4:3: … Accordingly, in various embodiments, a number of techniques may be used to optimize the selection and ordering of training input examples to be provided to the model. Such techniques may be based at least in part on the concept of curriculum learning, according to which (at a high level) the degree of difficulty with respect to the prediction or result being generated for a given training example is gradually increased during the course of training. As discussed below in further detail, curriculum learning-inspired techniques may be implemented at several different levels of granularity in some embodiments—e.g., at both intra-epoch granularity (when selecting and ordering training examples of a mini-batch) as well as inter-epoch granularity (using parameters which depend on the number of epochs that have been completed to perform weighted sampling of image pairs) [generating, by the machine learning model, a plurality of feature embeddings using the one training subset,…]…
Additionally, Appa teaches in 20:50-21:16: A subsequent version of the model may then be trained using the optimized training image pairs (element 916). In at least some embodiments, after each iteration of training or after each mini-batch, the model may be checkpointed or saved, and such saved versions may be used to select image pairs for further iterations [executing, by the computing device, at least two epochs of training of the machine learning model using, for each epoch of training, one training subset among the plurality of training subsets, … generating, by the machine learning model, a plurality of feature embeddings using the one training subset,..]. Note that model versions need not necessarily be saved after each min-batch or after each epoch in some embodiments, instead, for example, model versions may be saved after some number of mini-batches or epochs. In such embodiments, several sets of optimized training image pairs may be generated using the same saved version of the model, and then used for training respective newer versions of the model. If, after a given iteration or mini-batch, the model has converged or reached a desired quality of results, as determined in operations corresponding to element 919, the fully-trained version of the model may be saved. The trained model may then be deployed to a run-time execution environment (element 922)… If the model has not converged (as also detected in operations corresponding to element 919), the operations corresponding to elements 910, 913, 916 and 919 for the next round of training image pair selection followed by model training may be performed in the depicted embodiment [executing, by the computing device, at least two epochs of training of the machine learning model using, for each epoch of training, one training subset among the plurality of training subsets, … generating, by the machine learning model, a plurality of feature embeddings using the one training subset,..]…
Appa, Song and Xu are analogous art because both involve developing information retrieval and modeling techniques using machine learning systems and algorithms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the prior art for processing and retrieving information for training an artificial intelligence system, as disclosed by Appa with the method of developing information retrieval and modeling techniques using machine learning systems and algorithms as collectively disclosed by Song and Xu.
One of ordinary skill in the arts would have been motivated to combine the disclosed methods disclosed by Appa, Song and Xu for the benefit of improving the quality of selected training image subset for iterative training of machine learning models (Appa, Abstract and 14:4-30).
Examiner notes that when training neural network it is well-known that training methods includes computing a derivative vector as part of the gradient and backpropagation operations claimed where the gradient operations initialize a starting vector.
Zhou expressly teaches in Sec. 3: In mathematics, gradient is a vector, referring to the direction with largest changing value at one point. The method Gradient Descent used in machine learning is to define the distinction between two values to train the neural networks. The gradient descent method is based on the following process: 1) First, assign the value of θ, this value can either be random or an all-zero vector [wherein the derivative vector is initialized for a first epoch of the at least two epochs]. 2) Second, change the value of θ so that J (θ) decreases in the direction in which the gradient decreases [wherein the derivative vector is initialized for a first epoch of the at least two epochs].
Figure 1 is a diagram showing the relationship between the parameter θ and the error function J (θ). The red part is where J (θ) has a relatively high value. We need to be able to make the value of J (θ) as low as possible, where the dark blue part is. Θ0 and θ1 represent two dimensions of the θ vector. The first step of gradient descent is to initiate the value of θ, assuming that the initial value given to the graph is the cross at the graph. Then we adjust θ in accordance with the direction of the gradient, it will make J (θ) shifts toward a lower direction, as shown in the figure, the algorithm will stop by θ dropping to an extreme point [wherein the derivative vector is initialized for a first epoch of the at least two epochs]. Gradient reduction process is stated as follows:…
Zhou, Appa, Song and Xu are analogous art because both involve developing information retrieval and modeling techniques using machine learning systems and algorithms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the prior art for summarizing processing and retrieving information as a general introduction to how Gradient Descent and Backpropagation work, as disclosed by Zhou with the method of developing information retrieval and modeling techniques using machine learning systems and algorithms as collectively disclosed by Appa, Song and Xu.
One of ordinary skill in the arts would have been motivated to combine the disclosed methods disclosed by Zhou, Appa, Song and Xu as noted above. Doing so allows for enabling image recognition using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs) , in (Zhou, abstract). CNN is one of the most common algorithms in image recognition, wherein the greatest features of CNNs are the weight sharing and dimension reduction, in (Zhou, abstract).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Xu in combination with Song, Appa and Zhou teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising using the trained model to control operations of a mobile platform, as the vehicle. (in [0220] In at least one embodiment, server(s) 1178 may be used to train machine learning models (e.g., neural networks) based at least in part on training data. In at least one embodiment, training data may be generated by vehicles, and/or may be generated in a simulation (e.g., using a game engine). In at least one embodiment, any amount of training data is tagged (e.g., where associated neural network benefits from supervised learning) and/or undergoes other pre-processing. In at least one embodiment, any amount of training data is not tagged and/or pre-processed (e.g., where associated neural network does not require supervised learning). In at least one embodiment, once machine learning models are trained, machine learning models may be used by vehicles [further comprising using the trained model to control operations of a mobile platform, as the vehicle] (e.g., transmitted to vehicles over network(s) 1190), and/or machine learning models may be used by server(s) 1178 to remotely monitor vehicles.; And in [0455] In at least one embodiment, one or more PPUs 3300 are configured to accelerate High Performance Computing (“HPC”), data center, and machine learning applications. In at least one embodiment, PPU 3300 is configured to accelerate deep learning systems and applications including following non-limiting examples: autonomous vehicle platforms,...)
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Xu in combination with Song, Appa and Zhou teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one data point is obtained from an image generated by a camera. (in [0198] In at least one embodiment, vehicle 1100 may further include any number of camera types, including stereo camera(s) 1168, wide-view camera(s) 1170, infrared camera(s) 1172, surround camera(s) 1174, long-range camera(s) 1198, mid-range camera(s) 1176, and/or other camera types. In at least one embodiment, cameras may be used to capture image data around an entire periphery of vehicle 1100…)
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Xu in combination with Song, Appa and Zhou teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein each said training example further comprises a true value for a property to be predicted by the machine learning model. (in [0075] FIG. 6 illustrates an example of a process 600 for training a neural network based on uniqueness of the training data, according to at least one embodiment…. In at least one embodiment, process 600 is performed by one or more circuits to identify one or more images used to train one or more neural networks based, at least in part, on one or more labels of one or more objects within said one or more images [wherein each said training example further comprises a true value for a property to be predicted by the machine learning model].… )
Additionally Song teaches , in [0021] By training the machine learning models in a manner that optimizes model parameters and data augmentation policy parameters jointly, a system disclosed in this specification can train the machine learning model to generate outputs, e.g., perception outputs such as object detection or classification outputs [wherein each said training example further comprises a true value for a property to be predicted by the machine learning model], that are more accurate than those generated by models trained using conventional techniques, e.g., using manually designed data augmentation policies… Compared with other conventional approaches, the system can thus make more efficient use of computational resources, e.g., memory, wall clock time, or both during training. The system can also train the machine learning model using orders of magnitude smaller amount of labeled data [wherein each said training example further comprises a true value for a property to be predicted by the machine learning model]…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Song and Xu for the same reasons disclosed above.
Regarding claims 10-12 and 14, the limitations are similar to those in claims 1-3 and 5 respectively and are thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the limitations are simar to those in claims 1 and 2 respectively and are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 4, 9, 13, 18, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 20250217446, hereinafter ‘Xu’) in view of Song et al. (US 20210284184, hereinafter ‘Song’) in further view of Berry (US 20200364507), in further view of Zhou and Baker (US 20200134451, hereinafter ‘Ba’).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Xu in combination with Song, Berry and Zhou teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising determining. (in [0086] In at least one embodiment, inference and/or training logic 815 may include, without limitation, a code and/or data storage 805 to store backward and/or output weight and/or input/output data corresponding to neurons or layers of a neural network trained and/or used for inferencing in aspects of one or more embodiments. In at least one embodiment, code and/or data storage 805 stores weight parameters and/or input/output data of each layer of a neural network trained or used in conjunction with one or more embodiments during backward propagation [further comprising determiningdefined based on the ] of input/output data and/or weight parameters during training and/or inferencing using aspects of one or more embodiments….)
While Xu teaches defining the training data set as training parameters for training the neural network using backpropagation.
Xu, Song, Berry and Zhou do not expressly disclose the use of a normalization processing for processing training parameters.
Baker does expressly teach the use of a normalization processing for processing training parameters, [0016] The present disclosure describes a system and method for improving the performance and robustness of a neural network after that network has already been trained to convergence at or near a minimum in its error cost function. Neural networks are typically trained by an iterative process such as stochastic gradient descent [further comprising determining norms of the derivative vectors, wherein the plurality of training subsets are defined based on the norms of the derivative vectors]. In stochastic gradient descent, the gradient is estimated on small batches of data called “minibatches.” … [0020] FIG. 1 is a logic flow diagram of a process for splitting data for training a split network according to the direction of the gradient, in accordance with one or more aspects of the present disclosure… The base network can be trained to convergence via any means known in the art for training machine learning systems, such as by stochastic gradient descent with the partial derivatives computed by back propagation and with updates computed in minibatches … TABLE-US-00001 Pseudocode of stochastic gradient descent with gradient normalization and learning coach control … [0024] Once a node or set of nodes has been selected, the selected data examples are clustered into two or more clusters… As another example, the vector could be the gradient with respect to the outgoing arcs or the incoming arcs for one or more selected nodes. For example, the vector for clustering can be a vector created by first computing a gradient vector [further comprising determining norms of the derivative vectors, wherein the plurality of training subsets are defined based on the norms of the derivative vectors] for all the arcs leaving each selected node and then forming a longer vector by concatenating the vectors created for each of the selected nodes. In another illustrative embodiment, clustering is done separately for each selected node. [0025] In an illustrative embodiment, the vectors are normalized [further comprising determining norms of the derivative vectors, wherein the plurality of training subsets are defined based on the norms of the derivative vectors] to have unit length, because the direction of the gradient determines the subsequent further training to a larger degree than the length of the vector.
Ba, Zhou, Berry, Song and Xu are analogous art because both involve developing information retrieval and modeling techniques using machine learning systems and algorithms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the prior art for processing and retrieving information for training a neural network using means known in the art for training machine learning systems, as disclosed by Ba with the method of developing information retrieval and modeling techniques using machine learning systems and algorithms as collectively disclosed by Zhou, Berry, Song and Xu.
One of ordinary skill in the arts would have been motivated to combine the disclosed methods disclosed by Ba, Zhou, Berry, Song and Xu allows for enabling method that selectively changes the structure of a trained neural network to create a new network or ensemble with a lower error cost and with greater robustness using stochastic gradient descent computed by backpropagation, (Ba, 0019-0020).
Regarding claims 13 and 21, the claims are similar to claim 4 and rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated and Xu in combination with Song, Berry, Zhou, and Ba teaches the method according to claim 4, further comprising ranking the plurality of training examples in accordance with the norms of the derivative vectors of the loss function, wherein the plurality of training subsets are defined based on the ranking of the norms of the derivative vectors. (in [0086] In at least one embodiment, inference and/or training logic 815 may include, without limitation, a code and/or data storage 805 to store backward and/or output weight and/or input/output data corresponding to neurons or layers of a neural network trained and/or used for inferencing in aspects of one or more embodiments. In at least one embodiment, code and/or data storage 805 stores weight parameters and/or input/output data of each layer of a neural network trained or used in conjunction with one or more embodiments during backward propagation [ranking the plurality of training examples in accordance with the norms of the derivative vectors of the loss function, wherein the plurality of training subsets are defined based on the ranking of the norms of the derivative vectors] of input/output data and/or weight parameters during training and/or inferencing using aspects of one or more embodiments….; And in [0077] In at least one embodiment, a system performing at least a part of process 600 includes executable code to select 604 a portion of training data to train one or more neural networks based on uniqueness of training data… In at least one embodiment, as described above, a similarity score uses a mutual information equation (shown as Eq. 1 above) that calculates scores for how similar one object in an image is to said object in another image. In at least one embodiment, similarity scores are stored in a list. In at least one embodiment, portion of training data is selected based on said list [wherein the plurality of training subsets are defined based on the ranking of the norms of the derivative vectors]…)
While Xu teaches defining the training data set as training parameters for training the neural network using backpropagation.
Xu, Song, Berry and Zhou do not expressly disclose the use of a normalization processing for processing training parameters.
Ba does expressly disclose ranking features for feature selection activity, in [0023] Various embodiments can utilize any one of these norms or a combination thereof as the criterion for ranking the nodes for selection [further comprising ranking the plurality of training examples in accordance with the norms of the derivative vectors of the loss function, wherein the plurality of training subsets are defined based on the ranking of the norms of the derivative vectors]. In one embodiment, all of the nodes in the network are ranked according to the chosen technique and the nodes with the highest norms or all those with norms over a particular threshold value are selected. In another embodiment, only nodes in a single layer are evaluated, ranked, and selected at a time, since the further training of nodes in one layer will affect the partial derivatives of nodes and arcs in other layers…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Xu, Song, Berry, Zhou and Ba for the same reasons disclosed above.
Regarding claims 18 and 22, the claims are similar to claim 9 and rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hertzmann et al. (NPL: Gradient Descent ): teaches in chapter 9 that Gradient descent is iterative, where in an initial estimate w1 of the unknown parameter vector is obtained and from this initial estimate, the direction of steepest descent is computed.
Xie et al. (US 20210158073): teaches in [0025] After the features and other data 212 have been linked, these can be batched and transmitted to the training system 216 which can use this in conjunction with external (or internal) labels and models to determine which of the features input are the optimal…. To identify the optimal features to use a feature selection score may be determined and used in the identification. Note that other techniques may be used, and a feature selection score is, but an exemplary technique presented. Further to the feature selection score, a ranking strategy or other method may be applied to select those features with the higher or targeted scores. Additionally or alternatively, the feature orchestrator 206 and/or the request can include the ranking strategy [ranking the plurality of training examples in accordance with the norms of the derivative vectors of the loss function, wherein the plurality of training subsets are defined based on the ranking of the norms of the derivative vectors] (e.g. sorting, normalization and weighting, Eucledian distance) to be used and/or features from which to select, which in turn provide an output indicating the best feature processes to use. As the features and corresponding feature processes 204 are identified, the end-to-end auto-determining feature system may be re-processed (or as another request comes in of a same type) features re-analyzed until the model performance converges.
Baker et al. (US 20220058467): teaches in [0052] The initial network obtained by computer system may be initialized with random connection weights in an initialization process that is well known to those skilled in the art of training neural networks. Alternately, the initial neural network may be pre-trained (e.g., an initial training that takes place prior to the training process shown in FIG. 1). In the pre-training, the initial neural network may be partially trained or may have been trained to convergence by a learning process such as gradient descent or stochastic gradient descent. In this disclosure, the terms “gradient descent” and “stochastic gradient descent” are used interchangeably and each may refer to either minibatch based updates of the learned parameters or to full epoch updates… [0221] In stochastic gradient descent training, the step size in each iterative update of each learned parameters is proportional to the learning rate times the estimate of the negative derivative of the error loss function with respect to the learned parameter. If the step size is small enough, the update results in a decrease in the error loss function…
Prakash et al. (US 6778698): teaches a gradient is a vector derivative, in 8:64-9:3.
Zhou (US 20180329798): teaches in [0004] A core approach of machine learning is to find the minimum of a loss function. A loss function is a function for measuring loss or error. For example, with respect to website search, if the loss function is smaller, it means the probability that a user clicks on a found webpage is higher. Gradient descent (a gradient is a vector, a derivative of a loss function with respect to the weights) is a widely used method for finding the minimum of a loss function in machine learning.
Cheng et al. (US 20210142210) teaches in [0057] Feature embedding generally refers to translating a data set into a dimensional space of reduced dimensionality so as to increase, or maximize, distances between data points (such as individual images) which need to be distinguished in computing a task for a particular function, and decrease, or minimize, distances between data points which need to be matched, clustered, or otherwise found similar in computing a task for a particular function. For example, functions for expressing distance between two data points may be any function which expresses Euclidean distance, such as L2-norm; Manhattan distance; any function which expresses cosine distance, such as the negative of cosine similarity; or any other suitable distance function as known to persons skilled in the art. According to example embodiments of the present disclosure, a distance function evaluating two data points x and y may be written as D(x, y).
Wekel et al. (US 20220277193): teaches using Deep Neural Networks (DNNs) to perform LiDAR and camera perception. Classes of such DNNs include DNNs that perform panoptic segmentation of camera images in perspective view, and DNNs that perform top-down or “Bird's Eye View” (BEV) object detection from LiDAR point clouds for use as autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle perception networks.
/OLUWATOSIN ALABI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2129