Response to Arguments
Claims 3, 11 and 17 are amended to include new limitations that are now addressed below, however, the amendment while changing the language of the claims relies on the same references previously presented. Applicant's arguments filed 01 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claims 3, 5-11, 13-18, and 20 are examined on the merits.
While Examiner recognizes that the devices have different intended uses and materials, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Examiner is not modifying the Becker device with the entire device of Goode, but noting that Goode teaches the use of different materials for the benefit of “improving ease of insertion and removal, preventing extrusion” ([0010-0011, [0013]). Goode discloses a medical tube relatively pertinent to problem posed by Applicant of implantation into anatomical structure to move material. Goode provides a conduit of a certain material to maintain an opening and achieve specific desirable characteristics. Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.07). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Becker to have a flexible material as in Goode to maintain an opening and achieve specific desirable characteristics which includes improving ease of insertion and removal and preventing extrusion. Further, it is also noted that the device does not claim the method nor the specific structure that is flexible i.e., the protrusions are claimed not requiring the flexible and only the body is being claimed as silicone.
Double Patenting
Claims 3, 5-11, 13-18, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 9308358. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are more specific and constitutes a species of the instant invention. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where a claim in an application under examination claims subject matter that is different, but not patentably distinct, from the subject matter claimed in a prior patent or a copending application. The claim under examination is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) if the claim under examination is anticipated by the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 1052, 29 USPQ2d 2010, 2015-16 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In this case:
Patented claim 19 recites all the limitations of pending claim 3.
Patented claim 19 recites all the limitations of pending claim 5.
Patented claim 19 recites all the limitations of pending claim 6.
Patented claim 19 recites all the limitations of pending claim 7.
Patented claim 2 recites all the limitations of pending claim 8.
Patented claim 10 recites all the limitations of pending claim 9.
Patented claim 12 recites all the limitations of pending claim 10.
Patented claim 19 recites all the limitations of pending claim 11.
Patented claim 19 recites all the limitations of pending claim 13.
Patented claim 19 recites all the limitations of pending claim 14.
Patented claim 10 recites all the limitations of pending claim 15.
Patented claim 12 recites all the limitations of pending claim 16.
Patented claim 19 recites all the limitations of pending claim 17.
Patented claim 18 recites all the limitations of pending claim 18.
Patented claim 10 recites all the limitations of pending claim 20.
The patented claims (species) anticipates instant invention (genus) (In re Goodman) since the entire reference claims falls within the scope of the examined claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 3, 5-11, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Becker (US 2008/0306428) in view of Goode (US 2004/0077989).
Regarding claim 3, Becker discloses an implant device (cannula 2, figure 1) for implantation through a surgically formed fistula between a location in the lacrimal apparatus in the orbit and a paranasal sinus to fluidly connect the lacrimal apparatus ([0078], figures 13-14) in the orbit to the paranasal sinus to provide access to the paranasal sinus, the implant device comprising:
a proximal end (10) opposite a distal end (9, figure 2);
a conduit (5) extending from adjacent the proximal end to adjacent the distal end, the conduit comprising at least one anchoring surface feature (20, [0056] feature has protrusions and recesses) being spaced apart from the proximal end of the implant device by at least 4mm ([0061], “In most instances, the axial length of the threaded section ranges between about 1 mm and about 30 mm, and most typically is about 5.5 mm”, with the entire section of the helical threaded portion 20 having axial length of close to 30mm at the other limit, it already meets the limitation that one of the anchoring surface features be at least 4mm away from the proximal end since the entire section can extend 30mm along the device and thus one of the protrusions 22 would naturally would be extending that distance away from the proximal end,
an internal passage (8, figure 2) extending between the proximal end and the distal end and through the conduit, the internal passage having a first end open at the proximal end and a second end open at the distal end (figure 3, [0056]);
wherein the implant device is configured to be implanted to fluidly connect the lacrimal apparatus to the paranasal sinus through the fistula to provide access through the internal passage to the paranasal sinus ([0078], further this limitation is a recitation of intended use in which the device of Becker can be configured to fluidically connect the paranasal sinus through the fistula as there is no structural differences in the features of Becker that would prevent it from doing so):
such that the proximal end is configured to be disposed with the first end of the internal passage opening in the lacrimal apparatus (10 is with the first end of the internal passage opening, figure 2-3 and figure 13-15), the distal end is configured to be disposed in the paranasal sinus with the second end of the internal passage opening in the paranasal sinus (figure 15 shows the passage opposite the orbit and near the nose, this limitation is a recitation of intended use in which the device of Becker can be configured to fluidically connect the paranasal sinus through the fistula as there is no structural differences in the features of Becker that would prevent it from doing so) and the conduit is configured to be disposed through the fistula with at least a portion of the implant device anchored to the tissue exposed within the fistula ([0080], threaded portion contacts part 97).
Becker does not disclose a silicone body constructed of a silicone polymeric material having a durometer (Shore A) in a range of from 50 to 100;
Goode discloses a medical tube relatively pertinent to problem posed by Applicant of implantation into anatomical structure to move material. Goode teaches a silicone body (12) constructed of a silicone material having a durometer (Shore A) in a range of from 50 to 100 ([0011], [0027], silicone of the materials used).
Goode provides a conduit of a certain material to maintain an opening and achieve specific desirable characteristics ([0010-0011, [0013]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Becker to have a flexible material as in Goode to maintain an opening and achieve specific desirable characteristics.
Regarding claim 5, Becker discloses wherein a length of the device longitudinally along the device between the proximal end and the distal end is in a range of from 2 millimeters to 50 millimeters ([0057]).
Regarding claim 6, Becker discloses wherein a width of the internal passage is transverse to the length in a range of from 0.25 millimeter to 5 millimeters ([0058]).
Regarding claim 7, Becker discloses at least one anchoring surface feature includes protrusions and recesses (20, [0056] feature has protrusions and recesses).
Regarding claim 8, Becker further discloses wherein the protrusion areas have a height relative to the recess areas of at least or equal to 0.75 millimeter (para. 0061 describes the inside diameter of the threaded section 20 being between about 0.005 inch and about 0.89 inch, while the outside diameter of the threaded section is between about 0.01 inch and about 0.5 inch; therefore the relative height can be at least 0.75 mm).
Regarding claim 9, Becker further discloses wherein the protrusions comprise at least three spaced circumferential ridges (figure 2, the each individual ring that circles around the circumference is a ridge) with each ridge extending around the circumference of the conduit and spaced away from each of the other ridges (the each individual ring that circles around the circumference is a ridge and are spaced from other ridges via the troughs).
Regarding claim 10, Becker further discloses a head (13) at the proximal end, the internal passage extending through the head (figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, Becker discloses an implant device (cannula 2, figure 1) for implantation through a surgically formed fistula between a location in the lacrimal apparatus in the orbit and a paranasal sinus to fluidly connect the lacrimal apparatus ([0078], figures 13-14) in the orbit to the paranasal sinus to provide access to the paranasal sinus, the implant device comprising:
a proximal end (10) opposite a distal end (9, figure 2);
a conduit (5) extending from adjacent the proximal end to adjacent the distal end, the conduit comprising at least one anchoring surface feature (20, [0056] feature has protrusions and recesses), being spaced apart from the proximal end of the implant device by at least 4mm ([0061], “In most instances, the axial length of the threaded section ranges between about 1 mm and about 30 mm, and most typically is about 5.5 mm”, with the entire section of the helical threaded portion 20 having axial length of close to 30mm at the other limit, it already meets the limitation that one of the anchoring surface features be at least 4mm away from the proximal end since the entire section can extend 30mm along the device and thus one of the protrusions 22 would naturally would be extending that distance away from the proximal end,
an internal passage (8, figure 2) extending between the proximal end and the distal end and through the conduit, the internal passage having a first end open at the proximal end and a second end open at the distal end (figure 3, [0056]);
wherein the implant device is configured to be implanted to fluidly connect the lacrimal apparatus to the paranasal sinus through the fistula to provide access through the internal passage to the paranasal sinus ([0078], further this limitation is a recitation of intended use in which the device of Becker can be configured to fluidically connect the paranasal sinus through the fistula as there is no structural differences in the features of Becker that would prevent it from doing so):
such that the proximal end is configured to be disposed with the first end of the internal passage opening in the lacrimal apparatus (10 is with the first end of the internal passage opening, figure 2-3 and figure 13-15), the distal end is configured to be disposed in the paranasal sinus with the second end of the internal passage opening in the paranasal sinus (figure 15 shows the passage opposite the orbit and near the nose, this limitation is a recitation of intended use in which the device of Becker can be configured to fluidically connect the paranasal sinus through the fistula as there is no structural differences in the features of Becker that would prevent it from doing so) and the conduit is configured to be disposed through the fistula with at least a portion of the implant device anchored to the tissue exposed within the fistula ([0080], threaded portion contacts part 97).
Becker does not disclose a silicone body constructed of a silicone polymeric material having a durometer (Shore A) in a range of from 50 to 100;
Goode discloses a medical tube relatively pertinent to problem posed by Applicant of implantation into anatomical structure to move material. Goode teaches a silicone body (12) constructed of a silicone material having a durometer (Shore A) in a range of from 50 to 100 ([0011], [0027], silicone of the materials used).
Goode provides a conduit of a certain material to maintain an opening and achieve specific desirable characteristics ([0010-0011, [0013]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Becker to have a flexible material as in Goode to maintain an opening and achieve specific desirable characteristics.
Regarding claim 13, Becker discloses at least one anchoring surface feature includes protrusions and recesses (20, [0056] feature has protrusions and recesses).
Regarding claim 14, Becker further discloses wherein the protrusion areas have a height relative to the recess areas of at least or equal to 0.75 millimeter (para. 0061 describes the inside diameter of the threaded section 20 being between about 0.005 inch and about 0.89 inch, while the outside diameter of the threaded section is between about 0.01 inch and about 0.5 inch; therefore the relative height can be at least 0.75 mm).
Regarding claim 15, Becker further discloses wherein the protrusions comprise at least three spaced circumferential ridges (figure 2, the each individual ring that circles around the circumference is a ridge) with each ridge extending around the circumference of the conduit and spaced away from each of the other ridges (the each individual ring that circles around the circumference is a ridge and are spaced from other ridges via the troughs).
Regarding claim 16, Becker further discloses a head (13) at the proximal end, the internal passage extending through the head (figure 3).
Regarding claim 17, Becker discloses an implant device (cannula 2, figure 1) for implantation through a surgically formed fistula between a location in the lacrimal apparatus in the orbit and a paranasal sinus to fluidly connect the lacrimal apparatus ([0078], figures 13-14) in the orbit to the paranasal sinus to provide access to the paranasal sinus, the implant device comprising:
a proximal end (10) opposite a distal end (9, figure 2);
a conduit (5) extending from adjacent the proximal end to adjacent the distal end, the conduit comprising at least one anchoring protrusion (20, [0056]), being spaced apart from the proximal end of the implant device by at least 4mm ([0061], “In most instances, the axial length of the threaded section ranges between about 1 mm and about 30 mm, and most typically is about 5.5 mm”, with the entire section of the helical threaded portion 20 having axial length of close to 30mm at the other limit, it already meets the limitation that one of the anchoring surface features be at least 4mm away from the proximal end since the entire section can extend 30mm along the device and thus one of the protrusions 22 would naturally would be extending that distance away from the proximal end, the conduit constructed of a polymeric material ([0056], PMMA)
an internal passage (8, figure 2) extending between the proximal end and the distal end and through the conduit, the internal passage having a first end open at the proximal end and a second end open at the distal end (figure 3, [0056]);
wherein the implant device is configured to be implanted to fluidly connect the lacrimal apparatus to the paranasal sinus through the fistula to provide access through the internal passage to the paranasal sinus ([0078], further this limitation is a recitation of intended use in which the device of Becker can be configured to fluidically connect the paranasal sinus through the fistula as there is no structural differences in the features of Becker that would prevent it from doing so):
such that the proximal end is configured to be disposed with the first end of the internal passage opening in the lacrimal apparatus (10 is with the first end of the internal passage opening, figure 2-3 and figure 13-15), the distal end is configured to be disposed in the paranasal sinus with the second end of the internal passage opening in the paranasal sinus (figure 15 shows the passage opposite the orbit and near the nose, this limitation is a recitation of intended use in which the device of Becker can be configured to fluidically connect the paranasal sinus through the fistula as there is no structural differences in the features of Becker that would prevent it from doing so) and the conduit is configured to be disposed through the fistula with at least a portion of the implant device anchored to the tissue exposed within the fistula ([0080], threaded portion contacts part 97).
Goode does not teach a silicone body constructed of a silicone polymeric material having a durometer in a range of 50 to 100 and a silicone anchor protrusion.
Goode teaches a silicone body (12) constructed of silicone and shore hardness of 50-100 ([0011], [0027]) and a silicone anchor protrusion (14, [0011], [0027]).
Goode provides a conduit of a certain material to maintain an opening and achieve specific desirable characteristics ([0010-11]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Becker to have a flexible material as in Goode to maintain an opening and achieve specific desirable characteristics.
Regarding claims 18, Becker does not disclose the polymeric material of the conduit having a durometer in a range of 50 to 100.
Goode discloses a medical tube relatively pertinent to problem posed by Applicant of implantation into anatomical structure to move material. Goode teaches a conduit (12) constructed of silicone and shore hardness of 50-100 ([0011], [0027]).
Goode provides a conduit of a certain material to maintain an opening and achieve specific desirable characteristics ([0010-11]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Becker to have a flexible material as in Goode to maintain an opening and achieve specific desirable characteristics.
Regarding claim 20, Becker further discloses wherein the anchor protrusions comprise a circumferential ridges (figure 2, the each individual ring that circles around the circumference is a ridge) extending around the circumference of the conduit and spaced away from any other ridges (the each individual ring that circles around the circumference is a ridge and are spaced from other ridges via the troughs).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAI H WENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781