DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a hot air supplier configured to supply hot air to the drum in claim 1.
hot air supplier [Wingdings font/0xE0] heat exchanger or heat pump (paras. 155, 186)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 20200010998 A1) in view of Vaidyanathan (US 20050011233 A1), and Hong (US 20060123853 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jang discloses a laundry treating apparatus comprising:
a drum (drum/washing tub) having a laundry inlet (the inlet is not explicitly disclosed but the drum must inherently have one) and configured to accommodate laundry through the laundry inlet (para. 41);
a motor configured to rotate the drum (paras. 40, 41); and
a decelerator (Fig. 5, 20) that comprises a decelerator housing (Fig. 6: outer surfaces of the decelerator 20, including coupling housing 21 and shaft receiver 232a) and that is (i) disposed between the motor and the drum and (ii) configured to change a rotational speed of the motor (para. 40),
wherein the decelerator housing comprises a fastening part (either the lever 300 or the teeth 214 can be considered the fastening part) to which the motor is coupled (paras. 45, 70),
wherein, based on the motor being coupled to the fastening part, the motor is fixed to the decelerator (the lever 300 directly fixes the stator of the motor to the decelerator; also, the rotor teeth 46 of the motor interlocks with the teeth 214, thereby fixing the two in the circumferential and radial directions), and
wherein the motor remains fixed to the decelerator regardless of a change in an operating mode (see Comment 1 below).
Comment 1. Both the motor and decelerator are fixed to the shaft 11 (at all times), which means they are both fixed relative to each other, especially in the radial direction. Although there is some limited movement of the decelerator relative to the motor in the longitudinal direction of the shaft, the decelerator is still fixed within the motor.
Jang fails to explicitly disclose:
a hot air supplier configured to supply hot air to the drum; and
wherein the decelerator is configured to change a torque of the motor.
Hong teaches a washing machined combined with a dryer having a hot air supplier (Fig. 2, heater 242) configured to supply hot air to the drum (200). It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Jang to be a combined washer and dryer having a hot air supplier configured to supply hot air to the drum. The modification provides increased convenience for the user since the user does not have to transfer clothes from one machine to another. A combined washer-dryer also saves space.
Vaidyanthan teaches a decelerator transforming high-RPM low torque of the motor into low-RPM high torque of the drum (para. 23). It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Jang wherein the decelerator is configured to change a torque of the motor. The motivation to combine is so that drum can be operated at a low-RPM high torque mode without the motor burning out. If the decelerator could not convert the high-speed of the motor into a low speed- high torque, then the motor would quickly overheat and be destroyed. Moreover, the drum would be more responsive with more torque, resulting in better agitation/cleaning of the clothes.
Regarding claim 2, Jang discloses wherein the motor includes:
a stator (Fig. 5, 30) configured to generate a rotating magnetic field;
a rotor (40) configured to be rotated by the rotating magnetic field; and
a driving shaft (Fig. 15, 112+432) coupled (indirectly or directly coupled) to the rotor and inserted into the decelerator,
wherein the stator is coupled to the fastening part to thereby fix a position of the driving shaft disposed in the decelerator (the stator is coupled to a lever unit 300, and the lever unit is coupled to the decelerator 20, to fix a position of the decelerator along the shaft; para. 45).
Regarding claim 3, Jang discloses wherein the stator is coupled and fixed to the fastening part to fix the position of the driving shaft disposed in the decelerator and maintain a distance between the stator and the rotor (the lever spaces the rotor from the stator since the rotor and decelerator are fixed together, as explained in the rejection of claim 1, and the decelerator is spaced apart from the stator via the lever; see paras. 58, 70).
Regarding claim 4, Jang discloses wherein the decelerator housing accommodates the driving shaft therein and rotatably supports the driving shaft (Fig. 15);
wherein the decelerator includes:
a gearbox (Fig. 8, 233) disposed inside the decelerator housing and engaged with the driving shaft, the gearbox configured to change a rotational speed of the driving shaft (para. 40); and
a rotation shaft (Fig. 5, shaft 11, not including the driving shaft portion) extending from the gearbox and being coupled to the drum (para. 46).
Regarding claim 5, Jang discloses wherein the decelerator housing supports the rotation shaft and maintains alignment between the rotation shaft and the driving shaft (Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 6, Jang discloses wherein the decelerator housing includes a shaft support (Fig. 15, 232a) extending in a longitudinal direction of the rotation shaft and rotatably supporting the rotation shaft to thereby restrict distortion of the rotation shaft.
Regarding claim 7, Jang discloses wherein the motor includes:
a stator (Fig. 5, 30) coupled to the fastening part (see rejection of claim 2) and configured to generate a rotating magnetic field;
a rotor (40) configured to be rotated by the rotating magnetic field; and
a driving shaft (Fig. 15, 112+432) coupled to the rotor and inserted into the decelerator, wherein the stator and the driving shaft are configured to tilt together with the decelerator or vibrate together with the decelerator (if the appliance is tilted then all the components would be tilted along with it).
Regarding claim 8, Jang discloses wherein the decelerator housing accommodates the driving shaft therein and rotatably supports the driving shaft (Fig. 15);
wherein the decelerator includes:
a gearbox (Fig. 8, 233) disposed inside the decelerator housing and engaged with the driving shaft, the gearbox configured to change a rotational speed of the driving shaft (para. 40); and
a rotation shaft (Fig. 5, shaft 11, not including the driving shaft portion) extending from the gearbox and being coupled to the drum (para. 46), wherein the rotation shaft and the driving shaft are configured to tilt together with the decelerator housing or vibrate together with the decelerator housing (if the appliance is tilted then all the components would be tilted along with it).
Regarding claim 9, Jang discloses wherein the motor includes:
a stator (Fig. 5, 30) coupled to the fastening part (see rejection of claim 2) and configured to generate a rotating magnetic field;
a rotor (40) configured to be rotated by the rotating magnetic field; and
a driving shaft (Fig. 15, 112+432) coupled to the rotor and inserted into the decelerator,
wherein the stator accommodates at least a portion of the decelerator therein and is coupled to the decelerator (Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 10, Jang discloses wherein at least a portion of the driving shaft is disposed inside the stator (Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 11, Jang discloses wherein a portion of the decelerator is disposed inside the rotor (Fig. 15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Claim Interpretation
Although the hot air supplier limitation does not use the word “means,” it is nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
35 USC 103 Rejections
Applicant asserts the following on page(s) 8 of the 4/14/2026 Remarks:
Examiner’s response:
The term “fixed” is examined to mean that movement (in some direction) is restricted, for example, in a limited range. Both the motor and decelerator are fixed to the shaft 11 (at all times), which means they are both fixed relative to each other, especially in the radial direction. Although there is some limited movement of the decelerator relative to the motor in the longitudinal direction of the shaft, the decelerator is still fixed within the motor.
Conclusion
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762