Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 5-7, and 9-17 are currently pending. Claims 1-2, 5-7, and 9-10 are under examination and claims 11-17 stand withdrawn pursuant to 37 C.F.R. 1.142(b).
WITHDRAWN OBJECTIONS and/or REJECTIONS
Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments filed October 15, 2025, with respect to:
Rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) (see Remarks on pg. 6 spanning pg. 7),
Rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 over Sampson or NCI (see pg. 7 through the first ¶ on pg. 9), and
Rejection of claims 1-7 on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting over U.S. Patent No. 11,147,862 (see pg. 9).
have been fully considered and are persuasive. The aforementioned grounds of rejection have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant's arguments filed October 15, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that amendments to claim 1 and 5 overcome the indefinite rejection (see Remarks on pg. 6 in the first full ¶).
However, new issues of indefinite arise. Claim 5 now recites “the tumor-specific or tumor-associated antigen” and claim 1 now recites a “the tumor-specific or tumor-associated antigen” in relation to both the immunogenic agent and the therapeutic agent. It is unclear which “tumor-specific or tumor-associated antigen” to which claim 5 refers. Some skilled artisan would argue that since claim 5 distinguished the “tumor-specific or tumor-associated antigen” as different form the antigen of the immunogenic agent, the referenced “tumor-specific or tumor-associated antigen” is the one to which the therapeutic agent binds. Other skilled artisan would argue that claim 5 encompasses the scope of referring to either the immunogenic agents or therapeutic agent, e.g. claim 5 is interpreted as further limiting the immunogenic agent to further comprising an additional tumor-specific or tumor-associated antigen that is different from the first.
For the purpose of applying art, claim 5 is interpreted with the scope of “wherein the tumor-specific or tumor-associated antigen bound by the antibody or antigen binding fragment of the therapeutic agent is different from the tumor-specific or tumor-associated antigen of the immunogenic agent.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Slaney et al. Clin Cancer Res. May 15, 2017. 23(10):2478-2490, cited herewith; as evidenced by Yong et al. PLoS One. 2015. 10(10):e0140543, cited herewith and Marincola et al. J Immunother Emphasis Tumor Immunol: Abstract. 1996 19(3):192-205, cited herewith.
Slaney teaches treating a liver tumor by administering an anti-HER2 CAR T cells expressing a pMEL TCR specific for gp100 (CARaMEL T cells), i.e. a therapeutic agent comprising an antibody fragment that specifically binds to a tumor-associated antigen, in combination with a vaccine comprising a vaccinia virus comprising gp100, i.e. an immunogenic agent comprising a tumor-associated antigen (see pg. 2479 in the last ¶ of the second col. through pg. 2480 in the penultimate ¶ of the first col.).
Slaney does not expressly recite that the anti-HER2 CAR comprises an antibody fragment targeting HER2, but cites Yong as providing the structure of the CAR (see pg. 2479 in the last ¶ of the second col.). Yong, in Fig. 1 on pg. 4, evidences that the anti-HER2 CAR comprises an anti-HER2 scFv, thus the “antibody fragment” limitation as recited in instant claim 1 is inherent to the structure of the anti-HER2 CAR taught by Slaney. Additionally, while Slaney does not explicitly state that gp100 is a tumor-associated antigen, gp100 is inherently a melanoma associated antigen (see Abstract of Marincola).
The gp100-bearing vaccinia virus elicits an immune response by activating CARaMEL T cell expansion, cytokine secretion, and tumor cell lysis (see pg. 2481 in the second ¶ of the first col.). Following proliferation in the periphery, CARaMEL T cells were able to infiltrate tumors (see pg. 2482 in the first full ¶ of the second col.), demonstrating that access to the respective tumor results from the immune response of the CARaMEL T cells to the gp100 vaccinia virus vaccine. Therefore, Slaney’s administration of the combined CAR T cells and vaccine to a subject with a liver tumor teaches all elements of instant claims 1, 2, 5, 7, and 9.
Regarding instant claim 6, Slaney teaches that the CARaMEL cells were splenocytes which comprises both CD8 and CD4 T cells, (see pg. 2481 in the last ¶ of the first col. spanning the second col.), and that persistent CARaMEL T cells expressed a memory T-cell phenotype (see pg. 2484 in the first full ¶ of the first col.). Thus, Slaney teaches that immune response of the CAR T cells to the vaccine produces CD4 memory T cells.
Regarding instant claim 10, brain metastasis of HER2 positive cancer falls under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “a neurological disorder,” and therefore HER2 is an antigen associated with a neurological disorder. Thus, the anti-HER2 CAR T cells taught by Slaney teaches that the antibody fragment of the therapeutic agents binds an antigen associated with a neurological disorder.
Double Patenting
10. Claims 1, 6-7, and 9-10 stand provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 17/782,338 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Applicant's arguments filed October 15, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pg. 10 in the first full ¶, Applicant requests that the double patenting rejections be held in abeyance.
Applicant’s request that the provisional double patenting rejection over Application No. 17/782,338, be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated is acknowledged, but cannot be granted. Obviousness type double patenting rejections, whether provisional or not, cannot be held in abeyance. A double patenting rejection can be overcome, e.g., by a convincing rebuttal of the merits of the rejection, by amending the claims such that they are no longer anticipated and/or rendered obvious by the reference claims or by filing a proper terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.K.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1644
/ANNE M. GUSSOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1683