Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitelberg et al. (US 2008/0097462) in view of Chou et al. (US 2020/0015876).
Regarding claim 1, Mitelberg et al. disclose a detachment system comprising: a generally hollow distal tube (12; the tube is distal of something such as an operator and can therefore be described as a distal tube as claimed) defining a longitudinal axis and comprising a distal end (18), a first flexible portion (any portion of 12 proximal to section 16; noting that 12 must be flexible in order to traverse the neurovasculature - ¶[0026]), and a second flexible portion (16) comprising an interference spiral cut (¶[0027]; an “interference spiral cut” is not an art-recognized term used to describe the structure of a spring or coil; the cut of Mitelberg et al. can be described as causing interference with something) throughout and positioned between the first flexible portion and the distal end; and an engagement system (20/28) configured to engage an implantable medical device (24) to the distal end of the distal tube and configured to deploy the implantable medical device from the distal end of the distal tube (¶[0038]; [0042]), wherein the engagement system compresses the second flexible portion along the longitudinal axis to a greater extent than the first flexible portion when engaging the implantable medical device (¶[0035]); and wherein the second flexible portion is configured to extend along the longitudinal axis to a greater extent than the first flexible portion when the engagement system deploys the implantable medical device (¶[0044]); the second flexible portion being formed from different cut angles and spacing in the interference spiral cuts compared to the first portion (see different cut angles and spacing formed by opening 26; this limitation does not require the first flexible portion to comprise interference spiral cuts; only that it has some type of cut angles and spacing)
Mitelberg et al. fail to disclose that the second flexible portion comprises more than one interference spiral cut.
However, Chou et al. (reasonably pertinent to Applicant’s problem of providing a catheter with a compressible distal end) effectively teach that a compressible portion (114 or 160’) of a catheter having multiple coils (Figure 3D - e.g. middle right or bottom left embodiments) formed by cuts or interference spiral cuts (¶[0521]) can perform equivalent to the same compressible portion formed from a single coil (¶[0518]-[0530]). The multiple coils can also provide less coil expansion when compressed (¶[0530]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the second flexible portion of Mitelberg et al. with the multiple coils/multiple interference spiral cuts of Chou et al. as a simple substitution of one known element (single coil) for another (multiple coils) to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143 (I)(B)). Furthermore, the above modification would provide the second flexible portion with less expansion upon compression which one skilled in the art would recognize as being desirable when deploying the implant while in a narrow vessel.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Mitelberg et al. fail to disclose that both the first and second flexible portions comprise interference spiral cuts having a different pitch. Mitelberg et al. disclose that the system should be compressible to release an implantable device (¶[0044]). Chou et al. teach providing a tube with multiple compressible portions using any of various embodiments (¶[0530]; Figure 3D); some of which having interference spiral cuts of different pitch (e.g. Figure 3D bottom-middle and bottom-right) in order to customize the force required to compress the tube (¶[0530]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided multiple of the Chou et al. flexible portions with different pitches and different strengths on the tube of Mitelberg et al. to arrive at the claimed system in order to customize the amount of force required to compress the distal tube.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Mitelberg et al. fail to disclose that the distal tube measures the first and second lengths as claimed. However, Chou et al. teach compressing an intravascular catheter by the claimed amount (¶[0095]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the distal tube of Mitelberg et al. with the compression range of Chou et al. so that the first and second lengths are provided as a suitable prior art distance for compressing a catheter within the vasculature that can be accurately controlled by an operator.
Regarding claim 7, at least a difference of 0 mm between the first length and the final length could be achieved since the distal tube would be uncompressed when measuring both lengths.
Regarding claim 8, a force as claimed could be applied to the distal tube even if this is beyond the force required to fully compress the second flexible portion.
Regarding claim 10, the engagement system further comprises: a locking member (28 of Mitelberg et al.); and a loop wire (20 of Mitelberg et al.), wherein when the loop wire interacts with the locking member to engage the implantable medical device, a force on the loop wire moves the first and second flexible portions along a longitudinal axis (as modified in regard to claim 2) to the second length from the first length of the distal tube when the loop wire engages the implantable medical device (¶[0038], [0042], [0044]).
Regarding claims 11, 13, 15 and 16, Mitelberg et al. disclose a detachment system comprising: a generally hollow distal tube (12) comprising: a distal end (18); a compressible, flexible portion (16); and an engagement system configured to engage an implantable medical device at the distal end of the distal tube, the engagement system comprising: a locking member (28); and a loop wire (20a), wherein when the loop wire interacts with the locking member to engage the implantable medical device (24; Figure 10), a force on the loop wire moves the first and second flexible portions along a longitudinal axis from a first length to a second length of the distal tube when the loop wire engages the implantable medical device (¶[0038], [0042], [0044]).
Mitelberg et al. fail to disclose that the compressible, flexible portion comprises a first and second flexible portion having interference spiral cuts as claimed.
Chou et al. teach providing a tube with multiple compressible portions using any of various embodiments (¶[0530]; Figure 3D); some of which having interference spiral cuts of different pitch, cut angle and spacing (e.g. Figure 3D bottom-middle and bottom-right) in order to customize the force required to compress the tube (¶[0530]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided multiple of the Chou et al. flexible portions with different pitches and different strengths on the tube of Mitelberg et al. to arrive at the claimed system in order to customize the amount of force required to compress the distal tube. With this modification, the loop wire could move the second flexible portion along the longitudinal axis to a greater extent than the first flexible portion when engaging the implantable medical device if the second flexible portion is provided with the weaker compressible section of Chou et al.
Regarding claims 12 and 14, Mitelberg et al. fail to disclose that the distal tube measures the first and second lengths as claimed. However, Chou et al. teach compressing an intravascular catheter by the claimed amount (¶[0095]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the distal tube of Mitelberg et al. with the compression range of Chou et al. so that the first and second lengths are provided as a suitable prior art distance for compressing a catheter within the vasculature that can be accurately controlled by an operator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/THOMAS MCEVOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771