Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the combination Oh, Horowitz, and Wang fails to render obvious the slice address is included in a slice_address syntax element in the slice header and a subpicture identifier (ID) indicating the subpicture containing the slice is included in a slice_subpic_id syntax element in the slice header.
Examiner disagrees, while Oh appears to be silent about obtain a slice address that is a subpicture level slice index of the slice when the slice is a rectangular slice, wherein the slice address is included in a slice_address syntax element in the slice header and a subpicture identifier (ID) indicating the subpicture containing the slice is included in a slice_subpic_id syntax element in the slice header, Oh teaches it would be obvious to obtain a slice address that is a subpicture level slice index of the slice when the slice is a rectangular slice, wherein the slice address is included in a slice_address syntax element in the slice header and a subpicture identifier (ID) indicating the subpicture containing the slice is included in a slice_subpic_id syntax element in the slice header (0189: an MCTS may include at least one tile, and a tile may represent a rectangular area being configured of coding tree blocks (CTBs) of a 2D picture; 0223; Figs. 14-9; 0264; also since a tile is a rectangular area of coding tree blocks/units which could also be a definition of a rectangular slice and tiles and slices are often given similar functions within encoding/decoding as evidenced by applicants disclosure, Fig. 5D and related description 0105 of PGPUB As shown, slice 515 (or a tile 517 of a slice 515) of a picture 500 may contain one or more CTUs 519; 0221; 0226; 0231: MCTSs corresponding to the areas, an MCTS index may be signaled; 0234: In order to configure an outBitstream image, the receiving device may need to re-designate a slice segment address of a slice header. In this case, the receiving device may rearrange MCTSs by an order of b, a, d, c and positions (or arranges) MCTSs in a raster scan order according to a width given in pic_width_in_luma_samples. In this case, an output picture (sub-picture) may be configured; 0246; 0278: the slice header may include slice segment address information)
“[0226] Meanwhile, a replacement PPS may be configured for the above-described output picture (sub-picture), and, for each of the remaining VCL NAL units within the outBitstream, a slice segment header may be corrected as described below. A value of a slice_pic_parameter_set_id within the slice segment header may be configured to be equal to a value of a pps_pic_parameter_set_id. Herein, the slice_pic_parameter_set_id is included in the slice segment header and indicates an ID of a PPS that is related to the corresponding slice segment. The pps_pic_parameter_set_id is included in the replacement PPS and indicates an ID of the replacement PPS.”
Shows how a sub-picture slice id syntax in the header would be obvious
“0234: In order to configure an outBitstream image, the receiving device may need to re-designate a slice segment address of a slice header. In this case, the receiving device may rearrange MCTSs by an order of b, a, d, c and positions (or arranges) MCTSs in a raster scan order according to a width given in pic_width_in_luma_samples. In this case, an output picture (sub-picture) may be configured,”
Shows how a sub-picture slice address syntax in the header would be obvious
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 6-8 13-16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. US 2020/0186833 in view of Horowitz US 2012/0163453 and further in view of Wang WO 2014/051893
Oh discloses:
15. and under similar/complementary rationales 1. And 8. A decoder comprising: a receiver configured to receive a bitstream comprising a subpicture containing a slice, wherein the bitstream further comprises a slice header associated with the slice (Fig. 6: receiver; Fig. 8: 800 receiving the bitstream; 0221-2); and a processor coupled to the receiver (Fig. 6: reception processor), the processor configured to: and decode the slice of the subpicture based on the slice address (0222).
While Oh appears to be silent about obtain a slice address that is a subpicture level slice index of the slice when the slice is a rectangular slice, wherein the slice address is included in a slice_address syntax element in the slice header and a subpicture identifier (ID) indicating the subpicture containing the slice is included in a slice_subpic_id syntax element in the slice header, Oh teaches it would be obvious to obtain a slice address that is a subpicture level slice index of the slice when the slice is a rectangular slice, wherein the slice address is included in a slice_address syntax element in the slice header and a subpicture identifier (ID) indicating the subpicture containing the slice is included in a slice_subpic_id syntax element in the slice header (0189: an MCTS may include at least one tile, and a tile may represent a rectangular area being configured of coding tree blocks (CTBs) of a 2D picture; 0223; Figs. 14-9; 0264; also since a tile is a rectangular area of coding tree blocks/units which could also be a definition of a rectangular slice and tiles and slices are often given similar functions within encoding/decoding as evidenced by applicants disclosure, Fig. 5D and related description 0105 of PGPUB As shown, slice 515 (or a tile 517 of a slice 515) of a picture 500 may contain one or more CTUs 519; 0221; 0226; 0231: MCTSs corresponding to the areas, an MCTS index may be signaled; 0234: In order to configure an outBitstream image, the receiving device may need to re-designate a slice segment address of a slice header. In this case, the receiving device may rearrange MCTSs by an order of b, a, d, c and positions (or arranges) MCTSs in a raster scan order according to a width given in pic_width_in_luma_samples. In this case, an output picture (sub-picture) may be configured; 0246; 0278: the slice header may include slice segment address information)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to relate the areas a, b, c, d and the areas e, f are spatially spaced apart on the 2D picture, the areas may cover their neighboring areas on a 3D spherical surface or 360 (Oh 0238 Figs. 14, 16).
Horowitz teaches the subpicture is a rectangular region capable of containing two or more slices within a picture (0026)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to effectively produce rectangular slices (Horowitz 0026).
Wang teaches deriving a subpicture index based on the subpicture ID (0155-0164: “the video coder may code the unique identifier for each decoding unit as an index of the decoding unit into the list of all decoding units in the access unit in decoding order…” “operation on the sub-picture level is allowed for access unit “)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to let the video encoder signal identifiers for the decoding units (Wang 0155).
16. 2. The decoder of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain the subpicture ID of the subpicture containing the slice (0226); and position the slice in the subpicture based on the slice address and subpicture ID (Fig. 18: output picture; 0264).
20. 6. 13. The decoder of claim 16, wherein the bitstream further comprises a sequence parameter set (SPS), wherein the SPS contains a description of the subpicture, and wherein the subpicture ID references the description of the subpicture (0221; 0226; 0231; 0234; 0278; tables 2-3; 0246).
7. and 14. The method of claim 6, wherein the description of the subpicture includes a width of the subpicture in units of coding tree blocks (CTBs), a height of the subpicture in units of CTBs, and an offset of the subpicture specified as a vertical position of a top left coding tree unit (CTU) of the subpicture and a horizontal position of the top left CTU of the subpicture (tables 2-3).
Claim(s) 4, 11, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh and Horowitz and Wang in view of Aono et al. WO 2019/078169
18. 4. 11. The decoder of claim 15,
Oh does not explicitly disclose the following, however Aono teaches wherein the slice is a rectangular region when a rectslice flag is equal to one (Fig. 7 rectangular slice flag).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to a flag indicating whether the shape of a slice is rectangular or not is decoded, and in the case when the flag indicates the slice shape to be rectangular, the position and size of the rectangular slice is not changed over a period during which the same SPS is being referenced. In addition, the rectangular slice is independently decoded without reference to information of other slices. (Aono Abstract)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH W BECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2483