DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the Amendment filed on: 09/19/2025.
Claims 1, 5-6, 11, and 15-16 are pending for Examination.
Claims 1, 5, 11, and 15 have been amended.
Claims 2-4, 7-10, 12-14, and 17-20 have been cancelled to date.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 5-6, 11, and 15-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation – Alternative Claim Language
The claims of the instant application are given their Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification, as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. Accordingly, the BRI of an alternative claim limitation or term can be determined to be the least-limiting interpretation, consistent with the specification. In this context, the term “or” by plain meaning can be interpreted to alternatively be: one or the other (i.e., A or B), but not both (i.e., not A and B). The term “and/or” by plain meaning can be interpreted to be: “and” or alternatively “or,” but not both, as this would not make sense. In this context, the forward-slash “/” is equivalent to the alternative “or.” Likewise, the alternative terms “at least one of,” “one or more of,” and the like, followed by multiple alternative claim limitations can be reasonably interpreted to be only “one of” a group of alternative claim limitations.
Prior art disclosing any one of multiple alternative claim limitations discloses matter within the scope of the claimed invention. "When a claim covers several structures or compositions, either generically or as alternatives, the claim is deemed anticipated if any of the structures or compositions within the scope of the claim is known in the prior art." Brown v. 3M, 265 F.3d 1349, 1351, 60 USPQ2d 1375, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2001) (claim to a system for setting a computer clock to an offset time to address the Year 2000 (Y2K) problem, applicable to records with year date data in "at least one of two-digit, three-digit, or four-digit" representations, was held anticipated by a system that offsets year dates in only two-digit formats). See MPEP 2131.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable in view of US PG Publication 2022/0086899 A1, Shih et al. (hereinafter “Shih”).
With Respect to Claim 1, Shih teaches:
A method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system (para. [0054]; and UE 116/300 of Figs. 1 and 3), the method comprising:
receiving a system information block (SIB) including configuration information including an ra-searchspace (paras. [0273]-[0274], [0287]-[0289], [0039]-[0041], and [0342]; Fig. 24, block 2505 of Fig. 25, and block 2605 of Fig. 26, —a UE can receive various PDCCH ConfigCommon field parameters including the ra-searchspace parameter from a network BS via SIB);
identifying whether the configuration information includes an sdt-searchspace; (paras. [0342], [0359], [0382], [0396], and [0470] —a UE can determine if configuration information/parameters of an SIB includes search space information for small data transmission (SDT), during RA and/or after RA is completed);
initiating a random access (RA) procedure for a small data transmission (SDT), wherein the RA procedure for the SDT is either a 4-step RA procedure or a 2-step RA procedure; (paras. [0005], [0331]-[0334], [0470], and [0479]; block 2510 of Fig. 25, and block 2705 of Fig. 27 —a UE can initiate an RA procedure including SDT, which can be 2-step or 4-step RA procedure, after receiving SIB configuration);
based on a completion of the RA procedure, monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) addressed to a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) in the sdt-searchspace for a downlink reception or an uplink transmission until the SDT is terminated, in case that the sdt-searchspace is included in the configuration information (paras. [0136]-[0144], [0366], [0372], [0380]-[0381], [0383], [0396], and [0470]-[0472] —after the SDT of the RA, a C-RNTI associated with the RRCRelease can be reused and a CORESET search space can be restored to monitor the PDCCH, for a subsequent SDT, in a case where the SIB configuration is included a corresponding SDT search space); and
monitoring a PDCCH in the ra-searchspace, for the downlink reception or the uplink transmission, in case that the sdt-searchspace is not included in the configuration information (paras. [0343], [0345], and [0377] —an RA search space that is configured via SIB can be used for a SDT as well as a non-SDT transmission, during an RA procedure, in a case where an designated SDT search space is not otherwise included in an SIB configuration).
With Respect to Claim 6, Shih teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI is monitored for a subsequent downlink reception or a subsequent uplink transmission (paras. [0136]-[0144], [0366], [0372], [0380]-[0381], [0383], [0396], and [0470]-[0472] —a C-RNTI associated with the RRCRelease can be reused and a CORESET search space can be restored to monitor the PDCCH for a subsequent DL SDT —the alternative term “or” only requires examination on-the-merits of a single claimed alternative for the reasons explained above in the Claim Interpretation — Alternative Claim Language section).
With Respect to Claim 11, this claim recites similar features to independent Claim 1, except Claim 11 recites a terminal in a wireless communication system, comprising: a transceiver and a controller coupled to the transceiver (para. [0054]; and UE 116/300 w/processor 308 and transceiver 314 of Figs. 1 and 3). As such, Claim 11 is likewise rejected under §102 based on Shih for the same reasons explained above for Claim 1.
With Respect to Claim 16, this claim recites similar features to dependent Claim 6. As such, Claim 16 is likewise rejected under §102 based on Shih for the same reasons explained above for Claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih in view of US PG Pub. 2022/0078875 A1, Ou et al. (hereinafter “Ou”).
With Respect to Claim 5, Shih teaches the method of claim 1, including 2-step/4-step RA procedure(s).
However, Shih does not explicitly teach:
receiving a contention resolution identity; and
identifying a contention resolution based on the contention resolution identity being received, wherein the RA procedure is completed based on the contention resolution.
Ou does teach:
receiving a contention resolution identity (paras. [0195]-[0200] and [0233]-[0237]; and Figs. 10A-B and 11 —for a CBRA procedure a contention resolution ID, i.e., a C-RNTI, can be received by a UE); and
identifying a contention resolution based on the contention resolution identity being received, wherein the RA procedure is completed based on the contention resolution (paras. [0196]-[0200], [0233]-[0237], [0283], and [0308]; and Figs. 10A-B and 11 —a corresponding RA procedure can be determined to be complete based on a matching contention resolution ID being received).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shih’s 4-step RA procedure including SDT with a contention based RA (CBRA) procedure, as taught by Ou.
The motivation for doing so would have been to include contention resolution as part of a RA-based SDT procedure, as recognized by Ou (paras. [0196]-[0200], [0233]-[0237], [0283], and [0308]; and Figs. 10A-B and 11).
With Respect to Claim 15, this claim recites similar features to dependent Claim 5. As such, Claim 15 is likewise rejected under §103 based on Shih in view of Ou, for the same reasons explained above for Claim 5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Huy Vu can be reached at (571)272-3155. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Scott A. Schlack/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461