Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendments filed on June 6, 2025.
Claim 25 is cancelled.
Claims 16, 20-24, 26, 30, and 56-57 have been amended.
Claim 35, which remains withdrawn, has been similarly amended.
Thus, claims 16-24, 26, 30-32, 46-47, 54, and 56-59 are presently pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings were received on June 6, 2025. These drawings were reviewed and are acceptable. The prior objection to the drawings is withdrawn
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 16-24, 26, 30-32, 46-47, 54, and 56-59 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely solely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-19, 21, 26, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Langer US Publication No. 2019/0209090; hereinafter, Langer) in view of Kimchy (US Patent No. 8,036,731; hereinafter, Kimchy).
Regarding claim 16, Langer discloses an article (Langer; resident structure 102 in fig. 1B, 1C, 2H), comprising:
a central core (Langer; elastic core 130 in figs. 1B,1C, 2H),
a tissue-engaging surface (Langer; external surface of arms 120 in figs. 1B, 1C, 2H; para [0063]),
a plurality of arms (Langer; arms 120 in figs. 1B, 1C, 2H) connected to the central core (Langer; figs. 1B, 1C, 2H; para [0023, 0063, 0066, 0068, 0171], claim 10),
a drug releasing component (Langer; electronic component 110 in figs. 1B, 1C, 2H) associated with the tissue-engaging surface (Langer; para [0020, 0054, 0059-0062]; configured to release pharmaceutical agent).
Langer, however, does not disclose one or more radiation sensors on the plurality of arms, wherein the one or more radiation sensors are configured to detect ionizing radiation.
Kimchy teaches one or more radiation sensors (Kimchy; col. 13, lines 41-45) on the plurality of arms (Langer; arms 120 in figs. 1B, 1C, 2H), wherein the one or more radiation sensors are configured to detect ionizing radiation (Kimchy; col. 13, lines 41-45; capsule may include emitters and sensors that relate electromagnetic and x-ray radiation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor system of the gastric-resident article of Langer to include one or more radiation sensors configured to detect ionizing radiation as taught by Kimchy in order to monitor radiation exposure from outside sources and thereby expand its diagnostic and therapeutic capabilities.
Regarding claim 17, modified Langer discloses the article of claim 16 article (Langer; resident structure 102 in fig. 1B, 1C, 2H), further comprising an active pharmaceutical composition (Langer; para [0054, 0059, 0061-0062]).
Regarding claim 30, modified Langer discloses that the article of claim 17 is configured to deliver the active pharmaceutical composition (Langer; para [0054, 0059, 0061-0062]) agent using the drug releasing component (Langer; electronic component 110 in figs. 1B, 1C, 2H), but fails to disclose that the drug release takes place upon detection of radiation above a threshold level.
Kimchy teaches active pharmaceutical agent delivery upon detection of radiation above a threshold level (Kimchy; col. 24, lines 18-30; an ingestible device with a sensor and a drug-release module in which the controller compares sensed parameter to a threshold and actuates drug delivery upon exceeding threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control electronics of the gastric-resident article of Langer to implement the threshold-based sensor-triggered drug-release logic taught by Kimchy in order to configure the device so that upon detection of ionizing radiation above a predetermined threshold level, it automatically actuates the drug-releasing component to deliver a radioprotective pharmaceutical agent.
Regarding claim 18, modified Langer discloses the article of claim 16 (Langer; resident structure 102 in fig. 1B, 1C, 2H), having an expanded configuration (Langer; second configuration 100B in fig. 1A) and a retracted configuration (Langer; first configuration 100A in fig. 1A; both configurations also shown in figs 2B-2D, 2H; para [0046]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Langer discloses the article of claim 18, wherein in the retracted configuration (Langer; first configuration 100A in fig. 1A), the article may be ingested (Langer; figs. 2C-2E; para [0075])
Regarding claim 19, modified Langer discloses the article of claim 16, wherein the article further comprises one or more elastic components (Langer; para [0064, 0066]) connected to the plurality of arms (Langer; arms 120 in figs. 1B, 1C, 2H) and configured to bias the arms away from the central core (Langer; elastic core 130 in figs. 1B,1C, 2H), and one or more biasing components (Langer; portions of elastic arms and core system under compression in the folded configuration in figs. 1B, 1C, 2H; para [0064, 0066]) connected to the plurality of arms (Langer; arms 120 in figs. 1B, 1C, 2H) and configured to bias the arms towards the central core (Langer; elastic core 130 in figs. 1B,1C, 2H).
Regarding claim 26, modified Langer discloses the article of claim 16, but fails to disclose that the ionizing radiation comprises alpha, beta, gamma, neutron, proton, and/or heavy ion radiation.
Kimchy teaches that the ionizing radiation comprises alpha, beta, gamma, neutron, proton, and/or heavy ion radiation (Kimchy; nuclear-radiation detector, arranged for detecting gamma and beta radiation; col. 20, lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ionizing radiation detected by the radiation sensor in the gastric-resident article of Langer to include beta and gamma radiation as taught by Kimchy in order to specify known type of ionizing radiation that such sensors are routinely designed to detect.
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langer in view of Kimchy, as applied to claim 16 and 17 above, and in further view of Gazdzinski (US Publication No. 2001/0051766; hereinafter, Gazdzinski).
Regarding claim 22, modified Langer discloses the article of claim, but fails to disclose that the active pharmaceutical composition (Langer; para [0054, 0059, 0061-0062]) comprises a counter-radiation agent.
Gazdzinski teaches an active pharmaceutical composition that comprises a counter-radiation agent (Gazdzinski; para [0051-0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pharmaceutical agent contained in the drug-releasing component of the gastric-resident article of Langer to be a counter-radiation agent as taught by Gazdzinski in order to provide localized delivery of a therapeutic agent capable of mitigating or treating radiation-induced injury within the gastrointestinal tract.
Regarding claim 23, modified Langer discloses the article of claim 17, wherein the active pharmaceutical composition (Langer; para [0054, 0059, 0061-0062]) is a counter-radiation agent (Gazdzinkski; para [0051-0052]).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langer in view of Kimchy, as applied to claims 16 and 17 above, in view of Abbate (US Patent No. 10,357,640; hereinafter, Abbate).
Regarding claim 24, modified Langer discloses the article of claim 17, wherein the active pharmaceutical composition (Langer; para [0054, 0059, 0061-0062]), but fails to disclose that it comprises an iodine, a chelating agent, and/or a reactive oxygen species scavenger.
Abbate teaches an active pharmaceutical composition that comprises an iodine salt (Abbate; iodine or iodine derivatives; col. 21, lines 4-5), a chelating agent (Abbate; chelated compounds; col. 21, lines 8-10), and/or a reactive oxygen species scavenger (Abbate; col. 24 line 64 - col. 25, line 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the active pharmaceutical composition in the drug-releasing component of the gastric-resident article of Langer to comprise an iodine salt, a chelating agent, and/or a reactive oxygen species scavenger as taught by Abbate in order to provide radioprotective therapy that both blocks uptake or enhances removal of radioactive species and scavenges radiation-induced reactive oxygen species.
Claims 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langer in view of Kimchy, as applied to claim 16 and 18 above, in view of Shin (US Patent No. 11,511,093; hereinafter, Shin).
Regarding claim 20, modified Langer discloses the article of claim 18, wherein the article further comprises a plurality of arms (Langer; arms 120 in figs. 1B, 1C, 2H) at a distal end of the arm connector with two configurations of the article, the expanded configuration (Langer; second configuration 100B in fig. 1A) and the retracted configuration (Langer; first configuration 100A in fig. 1A; both configurations also shown in figs 2B-2D, 2H; para [0046]).
Langer does not, however, disclose that the article comprises a rigid body, an arm connector coupled to the rigid body at a proximal end of the arm connector and coupled to an arm of the plurality of arms at a distal end of the arm connector; and an electro-mechanical actuator configured to translate the rigid body in a direction parallel to a central axis; wherein translation of the rigid body in the direction parallel to the central axis changes the configuration.
Shin teaches: a rigid body (Shin; capsule body 1 in fig. 1);
an arm connector (Shin; moving arm part 4 with arm support 5 in figs. 1-2) coupled to the rigid body (Shin; capsule body 1 in fig. 1) at a proximal end of the arm connector and coupled to an arm (Shin; arms 3 in figs. 1-2) of the plurality of arms (Langer; arms 120 in figs. 1B, 1C, 2H) at a distal end of the arm connector; and
an electro-mechanical actuator (Shin; elastic body 6 in fig. 2, 4) configured to translate the rigid body (Shin; capsule body 1 in fig. 1) in a direction parallel to a central axis (Shin; col. 6, line 61 – col. 7, line 4);
wherein translation of the rigid body (Shin; capsule body 1 in fig. 1) in the direction parallel to the central axis (Shin; col. 6, line 61 – col. 7, line 4) changes the configuration (Shin; figs. 2-6; col. 7, lines 30-59) of the article between the expanded configuration (Langer; second configuration 100B in fig. 1A) and the retracted configuration (Langer; first configuration 100A in fig. 1A; both configurations also shown in figs 2B-2D, 2H; para [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arm-support and configuration-changing structure of the gastric-resident article of Langer to incorporate a rigid body coupled to the arms via arm connectors and an electro-mechanical actuator that translates the rigid body parallel to the central axis as taught by Shin in order to provide controllable, repeatable actuation between the expanded and retracted configurations of the article.
Claim 31are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langer in view of Kimchy, as applied to claims 16 above, and in further view of Burnett (US Patent No. 9,498,366; hereinafter, Burnett),
Regarding claim 31, modified Langer discloses the article of claim 16 comprises a drug releasing component (Langer; electronic component 110 in figs. 1B, 1C, 2H), but fails to disclose that the drug releasing component is a needle.
Burnett teaches a drug releasing component that comprises a needle (Burnett; col. 18, lines 1-3); probes for insertion into the surrounding tissue; Burnett’s probes function as needles that penetrate tissue to deliver a drug).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drug-releasing component associated with the tissue-engaging surface of the gastric-resident article of Langer to comprise one or more needles or microneedles as taught by Burnett in order to deliver the active pharmaceutical composition across the engaged tissue by trans-tissue injection.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langer in view of Kimchy, as applied to claims 16 above, in view of Abramson (Abramson et al., “An ingestible Self-Orienting System for Oral Delivery of Macromolecules,” Science 363, 611-615, (2019), DOI: 10.1126/science.aau2277; hereinafter, Abramson).
Regarding claim 32, modified Langer discloses the article of claim 16, but fails to disclose that the article is self-righting.
Abramson teaches an ingestible capsule whose geometry and internal mass distribution cause it to self-orient/self-right so that its injection mechanism consistently faces the gastric mucosa after swallowing (FIG. S16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the geometry and mass distribution of the gastric-resident article of Langer to incorporate the self-orienting, self-righting design principles taught by Abramson in order to ensure that the article passively returns to a preferred orientation within the stomach and reliably presents its tissue-engaging and drug-releasing components to the gastric mucosa.
Claims 46-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langer in view of Gazdzinski.
Regarding claim 46, Langer discloses an article, comprising: a central core (Langer; elastic core 130 in figs. 1B,1C, 2H),
a tissue-engaging surface (Langer; external surface of arms 120 in figs. 1B, 1C, 2H; para [0063]),
a plurality of arms (Langer; arms 120 in figs. 1B, 1C, 2H) connected to the central core (Langer; figs. 1B, 1C, 2H; para [0023, 0063, 0066, 0068, 0171], claim 10),
a plurality of arms (Langer; arms 120 in figs. 1B, 1C, 2H), and
a drug releasing component (Langer; electronic component 110 in figs. 1B, 1C, 2H) associated with the tissue-engaging surface (Langer; para [0020, 0054, 0059-0062]; resident structure configured to release pharmaceutical agent).
Langer, however, fails to disclose one or more chemical sensors on the plurality of arms, wherein the one or more sensors are configured to detect a toxic chemical.
Gazdzinski teaches one or more chemical sensors (Gazdzinkski; sensor arrays 3202 in fig. 32; para [0070]) on the plurality of arms (Langer; arms 120 in figs. 1B, 1C, 2H), wherein the one or more sensors are configured to detect a toxic chemical (Gazdzinkski; para [0070, 0411]; sensing arrays detect antigens via molecular receptor sites 3210 in fig. 32; these antigens include toxic chemical agents).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gastric-resident article of Langer to employ, on the arms, chemical sensor arrays configured to detect toxic chemicals as taught by Gazdzinski in order to provide the article with the capability to sense hazardous chemical agents in the gastrointestinal environment and respond therapeutically.
Regarding claim 47, modified Langer discloses the article of claim 46, further comprising an active pharmaceutical composition (Langer; fig. 2H; drug delivery modules; para [0046]).
Claim 57 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Langer in view of Gadzinski, as applied in claims 46 and 47 above, in view of Kimchy.
Regarding claim 57, modified Langer discloses the article of claim 47, wherein the article is configured to deliver the active pharmaceutical composition (Langer; Langer; fig. 2H; drug delivery modules; para [0046]) agent using the drug releasing component (Langer; electronic component 110 in figs. 1B, 1C, 2H).
Langer, however, fails to disclose delivery of an active pharmaceutical composition upon detection of a toxin.
Kimchy teaches delivery of an active pharmaceutical composition upon detection of a toxin (Kimchy; col. 24, lines 18-30; an ingestible device with a sensor and a drug-release module in which the controller compares sensed parameter to a threshold and actuates drug delivery upon exceeding threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gastric-resident article of Langer to implement the sensor-triggered drug-release logic taught by Kimchy in order to configure the device such that upon detection of a toxic chemical above a predetermined level by the chemical sensor the article automatically actuates the drug-releasing component to deliver the active pharmaceutical composition.
Claim 54 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langer in view of Gadzinski, as applied in claims 46 above, and in further view of Harmon (US Patent No. 6,821,738; hereinafter, Harmon).
Regarding claim 54, modified Langer discloses the article of claim 46, but fails to disclose that the chemical sensor is configured to detect a nerve agent.
Harmon teaches that the chemical sensor is configured to detect a nerve agent (Harmon; col 4, lines 62-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chemical sensor on the arms of the gastric-resident article of Langer so that the sensor is configured to detect nerve agents as taught by Harmon in order to provide the article with the capability to specifically sense exposure to nerve agents rather than only generic toxic chemicals.
Claim 56 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langer in view of Gadzinski, as applied in claims 46 above, and in further view Munro (Munro, N. B., Watson, A. P., Ambrose, K. R., & Griffin, G. D. (1990). Treating exposure to chemical warfare agents: implications for health care providers and community emergency planning. Environmental health perspectives, 89, 205–215. https://doi.org/10.1289/ehp.9089205; hereinafter, Munro).
Regarding claim 56, modified Langer discloses the article of claim 46, wherein the article comprises an active pharmaceutical agent (Langer; fig. 2H; drug delivery modules; para [0046]) appropriate for treating symptoms associated with exposure to a nerve agent (Harmon; col 4, lines 62-65), but Langer fails to disclose that the active pharmaceutical agent comprises atropine.
Munro teaches that atropine is a primary antidote for symptoms of exposure to chemical warfare nerve agents, and is administered to treat the characteristic effects of such exposure (Page 207, 2nd column, 3rd and 4th paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the active pharmaceutical agent contained in the drug-releasing component of the nerve-agent-sensing gastric-resident article of Langer so that the agent comprises atropine as taught by Munro in order to ensure that the device delivers appropriate therapy when nerve-agent exposure is detected.
Claim 58 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langer in view of Gadzinski, as applied in claims 46 above, in view of Burnett.
Regarding claim 58, modified Langer discloses the article of claim 46, wherein the drug releasing component (Langer; electronic component 110 in figs. 1B, 1C, 2H), but fails to disclose that the drug releasing component is a needle.
Burnett teaches a drug releasing component that comprises a needle (Burnett; col. 18, lines 1-3); probes for insertion into the surrounding tissue; Burnett’s probes function as needles that penetrate tissue to deliver a drug).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drug-releasing component associated with the tissue-engaging surface of the gastric-resident article of Langer to comprise one or more needles or microneedles as taught by Burnett in order to deliver the active pharmaceutical composition across the engaged tissue by trans-tissue injection.
Claim 59 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langer in view of Gadzinski, as applied in claims 46 above, in view of Abramson.
Regarding claim 59, modified Langer discloses the article of claim 46, but fails to disclose that the article is self-righting.
Abramson teaches an ingestible capsule whose geometry and internal mass distribution cause it to self-orient/self-right so that its injection mechanism consistently faces the gastric mucosa after swallowing (FIG. S16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the geometry and mass distribution of the gastric-resident article of Langer to incorporate the self-orienting, self-righting design principles taught by Abramson in order to ensure that the article passively returns to a preferred orientation within the stomach and reliably presents its tissue-engaging and drug-releasing components to the gastric mucosa.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARIAH K WHITROCK/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783