DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on January 19, 2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 5-6, 9, 14, and 20 have been amended.
Claims 4, 7, 16-19 have been canceled.
Claims 23-27 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on January 19, 2026, have been fully considered, but they are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “the group of electronic devices.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 9, 12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0083956), hereinafter Shen; in view of Hruby (Pub. No. US 2018/0160455), hereinafter Hruby; and further in view of Xia (Pub. No. US 2017/0374552), hereinafter Xia.
Claim 1. Shen discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a display; a processor coupled to the display; and memory, coupled to the processor, configured to store program instructions (See Parag. [0054]; a kiosk device (electronic device) or similar terminal), wherein, when executed by the processor, the program instructions cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising:
receiving an access request (See Parag. [0054]; a request or demand for access to a network 110 is received from a user 105 … the request or demand can be transmitted in-person (e.g., by verbally requesting access) or via a kiosk device or similar terminal);
in response to receiving the access request, displaying, on the display, information that specifies an identifier of a network and a passphrase associated with the location of the electronic device, wherein the passphrase enables a second electronic device secure access to the network that is proximate to the location (See Parag. [0055]; in response to receiving the user's demand or request, the system activates an account (e.g., by updating a table to include information that allows the user to login with the password via the IP address, which could be performed by the access point 120) for the user 105, selects one of a plurality of IP addresses to be assigned to the user 105, and generates a random one-session-only password that enables access to the network 110 via the selected IP address. The password may then be provided to the user either directly or indirectly. See Parag. [0056]; in response to the user submitting the password, the user device 150 associated with the user 105 is connected to the network 110 via the IP address that was selected for the user 105. See Parag. [0028]; the system could directly provide the password to the user by transmitting the password to a user device being operated by the user or by displaying it on a kiosk or terminal that permits the user to submit a demand or request for accessing the network. See Parag. [0053]; enabling a user to securely access a network 110 … See also Parag. [0037]).
Shen doesn’t explicitly disclose after the access request is received, de-activating a previous passphrase associated with a location of the electronic device, wherein the location is a hotel room; and wherein the passphrase is selected from a predetermined list of passphrases.
However, Hruby discloses after the access request is received, de-activating a previous passphrase associated with a location of the electronic device, wherein the location is a hotel room (See Parag. [0105]; a guest in a hotel may be issued a user name and password for accessing hotel's wireless network. This user name and password issued by the hotel at check-in may also be configured by maintenance component 112 as the same authenticating parameters for accessing media content streaming gateway 122 associated with guest's room. Once user checks-out of the hotel, maintenance component 112 may be configured to remove the authentication parameters associated with that users from accessing media content streaming gateway 122. See Parag. [0111]; a network administrator may select field 503 to reset a password associated with a certain media content streaming devices in response to a hotel guest checking out of the hotel… See also Parag. [0091]; guests in a multi-room hotel may wish to access hotel's wireless network using their wireless devices. Guests attempting to access a wireless communication network in their hotel room within the hotel may have to establish a wireless network connection with one or more access points. Upon establishing the connection, guests may be asked to provide authenticating information to obtain access to the Internet, a media content streaming gateway, a media content streaming device, and/or other services and/or components. Guests may receive a user name, a password, and/or other authenticating information upon check-in at a hotel front desk… Upon authentication, guests may be able to access the Internet. Guests may be able to access media content streaming gateway 122, media content streaming device 124, and/or other devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Shen, to include after the access request is received, de-activating a previous passphrase associated with a location of the electronic device, wherein the location is a hotel room, as taught by Hruby. This would be convenient to control access of authenticated users to media content streaming devices in a multi-room environment (Hruby, Parag. [0003]).
Xia discloses wherein the passphrase is selected from a predetermined list of passphrases (See Parag. [0063-0065]; multiple access codes may be obtained from the parsing of the password audio information due to different languages, accents, and/or intonations. An analysis of the different languages, accents, and/or intonations of the password audio information may be performed to obtain one or more access codes, which are included in a password list. In one embodiment, each obtained access code can associate with a probability index that is determined by a suitable algorithm. Multiple access codes can be ranked based on their associated probability indexes … Connecting to the selected WIFI hotspot based on the password list … after obtaining the password list including at least one access code, the smart device can connect the selected WIFI hotspot based on the password list. The smart device can attempt to connect the selected WIFI hotspot using an access code in the password list one by one following the rank. See Parag. [0008] [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Shen in view of Hruby, to include wherein the passphrase is selected from a predetermined list of passphrases, as taught by Xia. This would be convenient to resolve the existing complicated networking process for a smart home device, and limited application scenarios for the smart home device (Xia, Parag. [0005-0006]).
Claim 3. Shen in view of Hruby and Xia discloses the electronic device of claim 1,
Shen further discloses wherein the access request corresponds to activation of or a change in a state of: a physical user-interface device in the electronic device; or a virtual icon displayed in a user interface on the display (See Parag. [0054]; a request or demand for access to a network 110 is received from a user 105 … the request or demand can be transmitted in-person (e.g., by verbally requesting access) or via a kiosk device or similar terminal. See Parag. [0062]; The demand may be submitted in response to a user selecting a key or providing other input on a designated device (e.g., a user device, kiosk or a terminal)).
Claim 6. Shen in view of Hruby and Xia discloses the electronic device of claim 1,
Shen further discloses wherein the electronic device comprises an interface circuit configured to communicate with a third electronic device; and wherein the operations comprise, in response to the access request: providing a request, addressed to the third electronic device, for the passphrase, wherein the request includes access credentials for the network; and receiving, associated with the third electronic device, the passphrase (See Parag. [0055]; in response to receiving the user's demand or request, the system activates an account (e.g., by updating a table to include information that allows the user to login with the password via the IP address, which could be performed by the access point 120) for the user 105, selects one of a plurality of IP addresses to be assigned to the user 105, and generates a random one-session-only password that enables access to the network 110 via the selected IP address. The password may then be provided to the user either directly or indirectly).
Claim 9. Shen in view of Hruby and Xia the electronic device of claim 1,
Hruby further discloses wherein the electronic device comprises an interface circuit configured to communicate with a third electronic device; and wherein the de-activating comprises providing, addressed to the third electronic device, an instruction to de-activate the previous passphrase (See Parag. [0105]; a guest in a hotel may be issued a user name and password for accessing hotel's wireless network. This user name and password issued by the hotel at check-in may also be configured by maintenance component 112 as the same authenticating parameters for accessing media content streaming gateway 122 associated with guest's room. Once user checks-out of the hotel, maintenance component 112 may be configured to remove the authentication parameters associated with that users from accessing media content streaming gateway 122. See Parag. [0111]; a network administrator may select field 503 to reset a password associated with a certain media content streaming devices in response to a hotel guest checking out of the hotel…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Shen, to include de-activating a previous passphrase based on a received instruction, as taught by Hruby. This would be convenient to control access of authenticated users to media content streaming devices in a multi-room environment (Hruby, Parag. [0003]).
Claim 12. Shen in view of Hruby and Xia discloses the electronic device of claim 1,
Shen further discloses wherein the information is displayed until a subsequent access request is received (See Parag. [0050]; the system may be configured to display the password on a kiosk or a terminal. See also Parag. [0028-0030]; … the password provided to the user will be valid for only one session) .
Claim 14. Shen in view of Hruby and Xia discloses the electronic device of claim 1,
Shen further discloses wherein the second electronic device is associated with an individual or a group of individuals, and the passphrase is uniquely used by a group of electronic device associated with the individual or the group of individuals, where the second electronic device is part of the group of electronic devices (See Parag. [0028]; the system could directly provide the password to the user by transmitting the password to a user device being operated by the user or by displaying it on a kiosk or terminal that permits the user to submit a demand or request for accessing the network. See Parag. [0035]; User devices 150 may include, but are not limited to, laptops, personal computers, tablets, e-book readers, smart phones and any other electronic devices that have the ability to communicate via a wireless or wired network connection).
Claim 15. Shen in view of Hruby and Xia discloses the electronic device of claim 1,
Shen further discloses wherein the location is associated with: a room, a building, a communication port, or a facility associated with the organization (See Parag. [0036]; the system may be utilized by a company or other entity (e.g., an educational, governmental or religious organization) to provide network access to unregistered users (e.g., users who do not have accounts or credentials for accessing the network via the system). For example, a coffee shop or retail store may offer the system to provide customers with network connectivity while they are sitting in the coffee shop or shopping at the retail location).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0083956), hereinafter Shen; in view of Hruby (Pub. No. US 2018/0160455), hereinafter Hruby; further in view of Xia (Pub. No. US 2017/0374552), hereinafter Xia; and further in view of Ranade et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0282951), hereinafter Ranade.
Claim 2. Shen in view of Hruby and Xia discloses the electronic device of claim 1,
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the passphrase comprises a dynamic pre- share key (DPSK).
However, Ranade discloses wherein the passphrase comprises a dynamic pre- share key (DPSK) (The art teaches in Parag. [0026] that a hotspot controller 150 may receive a request that a user device 110 be allowed to use the secured communication network 120B. Hotspot controller 150 dynamically generates a unique pre-shared key (dynamic pre- share key DPSK) for the requesting user device 110 and return the key to web portal server 140, which in turns generates a web page displaying the unique pre-shared key to the user device 110. User device 110 may then use the pre-shared key in a request to access secure communication network 120B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify network access configuration data, taught by the combination, to include a dynamic pre- share key DPSK, as taught by Ranade. This would be convenient to ensures that third-parties cannot eavesdrop on or otherwise access information belonging to another user accessing the network by way of device 110. Because each pre-shared key is unique, the encryption (and decryption) of information belonging to one particular user is different from that for any other user. Moreover, when the user leaves the hotspot, the unique pre-shared key assigned to that user/user device 110 does not need to be changed to maintain security for users remaining in the hotspot. (Ranade, Parag. [0031]).
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0083956), hereinafter Shen; in view of Hruby (Pub. No. US 2018/0160455), hereinafter Hruby; further in view of Xia (Pub. No. US 2017/0374552), hereinafter Xia; and further in view of Kushner et al. (Patent No. US 11,227,610), hereinafter Kushner.
Claim 5. Shen in view of Hruby and Xia discloses the electronic device of claim 1,
Shen further discloses wherein the electronic device comprises an interface circuit configured to communicate with a third electronic device (See Parag. [0054]; a request or demand for access to a network 110 is received from a user 105 … the request or demand can be transmitted in-person (e.g., by verbally requesting access) or via a kiosk device or similar terminal).
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the operations further comprises, after selecting the passphrase, providing, addressed to the third electronic device, an indication that the passphrase has been activated or is in use.
However, Kushner discloses wherein the operations further comprises, after selecting the passphrase, providing, addressed to the third electronic device, an indication that the passphrase has been activated or is in use (The art teaches in Col. 14 lines 51-57 that user 118 may not have prior knowledge of the particular passphrase of the plurality of possible passphrases. Passphrase selection unit 220 may be configured to send an indication of the passphrase to user 118. For example, passphrase selection unit 220 may be configured to send a signal to remote computer 120 to present the passphrase on output device 124 to user 118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify network access configuration data, taught by the combination, to include selecting the passphrase from a set of predetermined passphrases, as taught by Kushner. This would be convenient to prevent compromising the security of the user account (Kushner, Col. 1 lines 11-15).
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0083956), hereinafter Shen; in view of Hruby (Pub. No. US 2018/0160455), hereinafter Hruby; further in view of Xia (Pub. No. US 2017/0374552), hereinafter Xia; and further in view of Venable et al. (Patent. No. US 8,806,567), hereinafter Venable.
Claim 11. Shen in view of Hruby and Xia discloses the electronic device of claim 1,
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the network comprises a wireless local area network (WLAN) and the identifier comprises a service set identifier (SSID) of the network
However, Venable discloses wherein the network comprises a wireless local area network (WLAN) and the identifier comprises a service set identifier (SSID) of the network (See Col. 4, lines 52-59; network 140 may include one or more networks of any type. For example, network 140 may include a local area network (LAN), a wide area network (WAN), a metropolitan area network (MAN), … , a wireless network, an intranet, the Internet, an optical fiber (or fiber optic)-based network, or a combination of networks. See Col. 4, lines 4-7; encoded identifier 130 may include a mechanism that may encode network access configuration data. The network access configuration data may include, for example, a SSID of network 140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by the combination, to include wherein the network comprises a wireless local area network (WLAN) and the identifier comprises a service set identifier (SSID) of the network, as taught by Venable. This would be convenient for the user device to access the network (Venable, Col. 3 lines 1-13).
Claim 13. Shen in view of Hruby and Xia discloses the electronic device of claim 1,
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the information comprises a two- dimensional (2D) quick response (QR) code, a barcode, a matrix barcode or another type of graphical pattern.
However, Venable discloses wherein the information comprises a two- dimensional (2D) quick response (QR) code, a barcode, a matrix barcode or another type of graphical pattern (The art teaches in Col. 7, lines 62-66 that the encoded identifier 130 may correspond to QR code 130. QR code 130 may include a matrix barcode (a two-dimensional barcode) that may be read by QR scanners, mobile phones with cameras, smart phones with cameras (e.g., mobile device 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by the combination, to include wherein the information comprises a two- dimensional (2D) quick response (QR) code, a barcode, a matrix barcode or another type of graphical pattern, as taught by Venable. This would be convenient for the user device to access the network without requiring the user to input network guest credentials or to configure software (Venable, Col. 3 lines 1-13).
Claims 20 and 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0083956), hereinafter Shen; in view of Hruby (Pub. No. US 2018/0160455), hereinafter Hruby.
Claim 20. Shen discloses a method for selectively enabling secure access to a network, comprising:
by an electronic device (See Parag. [0054]; a kiosk device (electronic device) or similar terminal):
receiving an access request, wherein the access request corresponds to activation of or a change in a state of: a physical user-interface device in the electronic device or a virtual icon displayed in a user interface on the display (See Parag. [0054]; a request or demand for access to a network 110 is received from a user 105 … the request or demand can be transmitted in-person (e.g., by verbally requesting access) or via a kiosk device or similar terminal. See Parag. [0062]; The demand may be submitted in response to a user selecting a key or providing other input on a designated device (e.g., a user device, kiosk or a terminal)); and
in response to receiving the access request, displaying, on a display of the electronic device, information that specifies an identifier of the network and a passphrase associated with the location of the electronic device, wherein the passphrase enables a second electronic device secure access to the network (See Parag. [0055]; in response to receiving the user's demand or request, the system activates an account (e.g., by updating a table to include information that allows the user to login with the password via the IP address, which could be performed by the access point 120) for the user 105, selects one of a plurality of IP addresses to be assigned to the user 105, and generates a random one-session-only password that enables access to the network 110 via the selected IP address. The password may then be provided to the user either directly or indirectly. See Parag. [0056]; in response to the user submitting the password, the user device 150 associated with the user 105 is connected to the network 110 via the IP address that was selected for the user 105. See Parag. [0028]; the system could directly provide the password to the user by transmitting the password to a user device being operated by the user or by displaying it on a kiosk or terminal that permits the user to submit a demand or request for accessing the network. See also Parag. [0037]).
Shen doesn’t explicitly disclose the electronic device installed in a hotel room; and after the access request is received, de-activating a previous passphrase associated with a location of the electronic device.
However, Hruby discloses an electronic device installed in a hotel room; and after the access request is received, de-activating a previous passphrase associated with a location of the electronic device (See Parag. [0105]; a guest in a hotel may be issued a user name and password for accessing hotel's wireless network. This user name and password issued by the hotel at check-in may also be configured by maintenance component 112 as the same authenticating parameters for accessing media content streaming gateway 122 associated with guest's room. Once user checks-out of the hotel, maintenance component 112 may be configured to remove the authentication parameters associated with that users from accessing media content streaming gateway 122. See Parag. [0111]; a network administrator may select field 503 to reset a password associated with a certain media content streaming devices in response to a hotel guest checking out of the hotel… See also Parag. [0091]; guests in a multi-room hotel may wish to access hotel's wireless network using their wireless devices. Guests attempting to access a wireless communication network in their hotel room within the hotel may have to establish a wireless network connection with one or more access points. Upon establishing the connection, guests may be asked to provide authenticating information to obtain access to the Internet, a media content streaming gateway, a media content streaming device, and/or other services and/or components. Guests may receive a user name, a password, and/or other authenticating information upon check-in at a hotel front desk… Upon authentication, guests may be able to access the Internet. Guests may be able to access media content streaming gateway 122, media content streaming device 124, and/or other devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Shen, to include an electronic device installed in a hotel room; and after the access request is received, de-activating a previous passphrase associated with a location of the electronic device, as taught by Hruby. This would be convenient to control access of authenticated users to media content streaming devices in a multi-room environment (Hruby, Parag. [0003]).
Claim 23. Shen in view of Hruby discloses the electronic device of claim 20,
Shen further discloses wherein the second electronic device is associated with a group of individuals, and the passphrase is uniquely used by a group of electronic device associated with the group of individuals, where the second electronic device is part of the group of electronic devices (See Parag. [0028]; the system could directly provide the password to the user by transmitting the password to a user device being operated by the user or by displaying it on a kiosk or terminal that permits the user to submit a demand or request for accessing the network. See Parag. [0035]; User devices 150 may include, but are not limited to, laptops, personal computers, tablets, e-book readers, smart phones and any other electronic devices that have the ability to communicate via a wireless or wired network connection).
Claim 24. Shen in view of Hruby discloses the electronic device of claim 20,
Hruby further discloses wherein de-activating the previous passphrase associated with the location comprises the electronic device providing to a third electronic device an instruction to de-activate the passphrase (See Parag. [0105]; a guest in a hotel may be issued a user name and password for accessing hotel's wireless network. This user name and password issued by the hotel at check-in may also be configured by maintenance component 112 as the same authenticating parameters for accessing media content streaming gateway 122 associated with guest's room. Once user checks-out of the hotel, maintenance component 112 may be configured to remove the authentication parameters associated with that users from accessing media content streaming gateway 122. See Parag. [0111]; a network administrator may select field 503 to reset a password associated with a certain media content streaming devices in response to a hotel guest checking out of the hotel…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Shen, to include de-activating a previous passphrase based on a received instruction, as taught by Hruby. This would be convenient to control access of authenticated users to media content streaming devices in a multi-room environment (Hruby, Parag. [0003]).
Claim 25. Shen in view of Hruby discloses the electronic device of claim 20,
Hruby further discloses wherein the deactivation is based at least in part on a received instruction that indicates the previous passphrase should be de- activated, and wherein the instruction is associated with a change in an occupant of the hotel room (See Parag. [0105]; a guest in a hotel may be issued a user name and password for accessing hotel's wireless network. This user name and password issued by the hotel at check-in may also be configured by maintenance component 112 as the same authenticating parameters for accessing media content streaming gateway 122 associated with guest's room. Once user checks-out of the hotel, maintenance component 112 may be configured to remove the authentication parameters associated with that users from accessing media content streaming gateway 122. See Parag. [0111]; a network administrator may select field 503 to reset a password associated with a certain media content streaming devices in response to a hotel guest checking out of the hotel…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Shen, to include de-activating a previous passphrase based on a received instruction, as taught by Hruby. This would be convenient to control access of authenticated users to media content streaming devices in a multi-room environment (Hruby, Parag. [0003]).
Claim 26. Shen in view of Hruby discloses the electronic device of claim 20,
Hruby further discloses wherein the deactivation is based at least in part on a received access code that indicates the previous passphrase should be de- activated, and wherein the access code is associated with a change in an occupant of the hotel room (See Parag. [0105]; a guest in a hotel may be issued a user name and password for accessing hotel's wireless network. This user name and password issued by the hotel at check-in may also be configured by maintenance component 112 as the same authenticating parameters for accessing media content streaming gateway 122 associated with guest's room. Once user checks-out of the hotel, maintenance component 112 may be configured to remove the authentication parameters associated with that users from accessing media content streaming gateway 122. See Parag. [0111]; a network administrator may select field 503 to reset a password associated with a certain media content streaming devices in response to a hotel guest checking out of the hotel…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Shen, to include de-activating a previous passphrase based on a received instruction, as taught by Hruby. This would be convenient to control access of authenticated users to media content streaming devices in a multi-room environment (Hruby, Parag. [0003]).
Claim 27. Shen discloses a method for selectively enabling secure access to a network, comprising:
by an electronic device (See Parag. [0054]; a kiosk device (electronic device) or similar terminal):
receiving an access request (See Parag. [0054]; a request or demand for access to a network 110 is received from a user 105 … the request or demand can be transmitted in-person (e.g., by verbally requesting access) or via a kiosk device or similar terminal); and
in response to receiving the access request, displaying, on a display of the electronic device, information that specifies an identifier of the network and a passphrase associated with the location of the electronic device, wherein the passphrase enables a second electronic device secure access to the network (See Parag. [0055]; in response to receiving the user's demand or request, the system activates an account (e.g., by updating a table to include information that allows the user to login with the password via the IP address, which could be performed by the access point 120) for the user 105, selects one of a plurality of IP addresses to be assigned to the user 105, and generates a random one-session-only password that enables access to the network 110 via the selected IP address. The password may then be provided to the user either directly or indirectly. See Parag. [0056]; in response to the user submitting the password, the user device 150 associated with the user 105 is connected to the network 110 via the IP address that was selected for the user 105. See Parag. [0028]; the system could directly provide the password to the user by transmitting the password to a user device being operated by the user or by displaying it on a kiosk or terminal that permits the user to submit a demand or request for accessing the network. See Parag. [0053]; enabling a user to securely access a network 110 … See also Parag. [0037]).,
wherein the information is displayed until a subsequent access request is received (See Parag. [0050]; the system may be configured to display the password on a kiosk or a terminal. See also Parag. [0028-0030]; … the password provided to the user will be valid for only one session).
Shen doesn’t explicitly disclose after the access request is received, de-activating a previous passphrase associated with a location of the electronic device.
However, Hruby discloses after the access request is received, de-activating a previous passphrase associated with a location of the electronic device (See Parag. [0105]; a guest in a hotel may be issued a user name and password for accessing hotel's wireless network. This user name and password issued by the hotel at check-in may also be configured by maintenance component 112 as the same authenticating parameters for accessing media content streaming gateway 122 associated with guest's room. Once user checks-out of the hotel, maintenance component 112 may be configured to remove the authentication parameters associated with that users from accessing media content streaming gateway 122. See Parag. [0111]; a network administrator may select field 503 to reset a password associated with a certain media content streaming devices in response to a hotel guest checking out of the hotel… See also Parag. [0091]; guests in a multi-room hotel may wish to access hotel's wireless network using their wireless devices. Guests attempting to access a wireless communication network in their hotel room within the hotel may have to establish a wireless network connection with one or more access points. Upon establishing the connection, guests may be asked to provide authenticating information to obtain access to the Internet, a media content streaming gateway, a media content streaming device, and/or other services and/or components. Guests may receive a user name, a password, and/or other authenticating information upon check-in at a hotel front desk… Upon authentication, guests may be able to access the Internet. Guests may be able to access media content streaming gateway 122, media content streaming device 124, and/or other devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Shen, to include after the access request is received, de-activating a previous passphrase associated with a location of the electronic device, wherein the location is a hotel room, as taught by Hruby. This would be convenient to control access of authenticated users to media content streaming devices in a multi-room environment (Hruby, Parag. [0003]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0083956), hereinafter Shen; in view of Hruby (Pub. No. US 2018/0160455), hereinafter Hruby; and further in view of Ranade et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0282951), hereinafter Ranade.
Claim 21. Shen in view of Hruby discloses the method of claim 20,
Shen in view of Hruby doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the passphrase comprises a dynamic pre- share key (DPSK).
However, Ranade discloses wherein the passphrase comprises a dynamic pre- share key (DPSK) (The art teaches in Parag. [0026] that a hotspot controller 150 may receive a request that a user device 110 be allowed to use the secured communication network 120B. Hotspot controller 150 dynamically generates a unique pre-shared key (dynamic pre- share key DPSK) for the requesting user device 110 and return the key to web portal server 140, which in turns generates a web page displaying the unique pre-shared key to the user device 110. User device 110 may then use the pre-shared key in a request to access secure communication network 120B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify network access configuration data, taught by Shen in view of Hruby, to include a dynamic pre- share key DPSK, as taught by Ranade. This would be convenient to ensures that third-parties cannot eavesdrop on or otherwise access information belonging to another user accessing the network by way of device 110. Because each pre-shared key is unique, the encryption (and decryption) of information belonging to one particular user is different from that for any other user. Moreover, when the user leaves the hotspot, the unique pre-shared key assigned to that user/user device 110 does not need to be changed to maintain security for users remaining in the hotspot. (Ranade, Parag. [0031]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0083956), hereinafter Shen; in view of Hruby (Pub. No. US 2018/0160455), hereinafter Hruby; and further in view of Xia (Pub. No. US 2017/0374552), hereinafter Xia.
Claim 22. Shen in view of Hruby discloses the method of claim 20,
Shen in view of Hruby doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the method comprises, in response to the access request, selecting the passphrase from a set of predetermined pass phrases.
However, Xia discloses wherein the method comprises, in response to the access request, selecting the passphrase from a set of predetermined pass phrases (See Parag. [0063-0065]; multiple access codes may be obtained from the parsing of the password audio information due to different languages, accents, and/or intonations. An analysis of the different languages, accents, and/or intonations of the password audio information may be performed to obtain one or more access codes, which are included in a password list. In one embodiment, each obtained access code can associate with a probability index that is determined by a suitable algorithm. Multiple access codes can be ranked based on their associated probability indexes … Connecting to the selected WIFI hotspot based on the password list … after obtaining the password list including at least one access code, the smart device can connect the selected WIFI hotspot based on the password list. The smart device can attempt to connect the selected WIFI hotspot using an access code in the password list one by one following the rank. See Parag. [0008] [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Shen in view of Hruby, to include wherein the passphrase is selected from a predetermined list of passphrases, as taught by Xia. This would be convenient to resolve the existing complicated networking process for a smart home device, and limited application scenarios for the smart home device (Xia, Parag. [0005-0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-form 892).
The following Patent is cited to further show the state of the art at the time of Applicant’s invention with respect to secure authentication or validation using dynamically generated passphrases.
Hamzeh et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0246277); “Systems and Methods for Virtual Personal WIFI Network;”
Teaches A wireless communication network includes a plurality of first electronic devices configured for wireless communication, at least one second electronic device configured for wireless communication, and at least one access point configured to wirelessly receive client data from, and transmit network data to, the plurality of first electronic devices and the at least one second electronic device. The wireless communication network further includes a virtual private wireless communication sub-network that includes the plurality of first electronic devices and excludes the at least one second electronic device. The virtual private wireless communication sub-network is configured to enable each of the plurality of first electronic devices to automatically connect with the wireless communication network. (See Abstract).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GHIZLANE MAAZOUZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2499
/PHILIP J CHEA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2499