Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 14, 15, 17 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nae et al. (US 2019/0110911).
Regarding claim 1, Nae et al. disclose a stent (Figure 16A; Abstract), comprising: an elongate body comprising a structure set in an expanded configuration (Abstract), wherein, when in the expanded configuration, the elongate body comprises (see drawing below) a first flange (grey area), a second flange (analogous area to grey area in white), and a central portion (black area) therebetween formed from the elongate body in an expanded configuration, wherein ends of the elongate body are doubled back into the respective first and second flanges having a double walled structure protruding radially outward from the central portion (a triple walled structure encompasses a double walled structure), and wherein the first and second flanges extend to form saddle interaction regions that overlap (where ends 214 and 215 overlap), at least partially, with each other in a lateral direction in the central portion.
[AltContent: textbox (First Flange (grey))][AltContent: textbox (Central Portion (black))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Nae et al. fail to disclose that the structure is formed from braided wire. However Nae et al. disclose that the graft tube (216) partially forming the stent can be a mesh structure (¶[0055]). It is notoriously well-known in the art to form a mesh structure for a stent from braided filaments or wires (e.g. see ¶[0048] of US 2014/0228935).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the mesh of Nae et al. from braided wires or filaments in order to take advantage of this well-known means used to form a mesh.
Regarding claim 2, the elongate body is formed across an inner opening of the first and second flanges (evident from Figure 16A inasmuch as this limitation is met by Applicant’s Figure 4D).
Regarding claim 3, the stent comprises an unexpanded configuration when constrained by a delivery device prior to being deployed (¶[0085]).
Regarding claim 4, a diameter of the first flange, the second flange, or both is larger than a diameter of the elongate body (at the central portion) in the expanded configuration (evident from Figure 16A).
Regarding claim 5, at least one other one of the first or second flanges is doubled back entirely into the respective first or second flange such that the respective end of the stent comprise an aflush end face that is flush with the respective end of the stent (e.g. see flush terminal ends of the stent in Figure 20B).
Regarding claim 14, Nae et al. disclose a stent (Figure 16A; Abstract), comprising: a stent body having a constrained configuration and an expanded configuration (Abstract), the stent body comprising (see drawing above) a tubular structure including a first portion (grey area), a second portion (analogous area to grey area in white), and a central portion (black area) extending therebetween in the expanded configuration, wherein the stent body is set in the expanded configuration (Abstract), wherein one or both of the first portion and the second portion are doubled back toward the opposing portion to form, respectively, a first flange and second flange (the first and second portions are flanges), and wherein the first and second flanges extend to form saddle interaction regions that overlap, at least partially, with each other in a lateral direction (evident from drawing above and Figure 16A).
Nae et al. fail to disclose that the structure is formed from braided wire. However Nae et al. disclose that the graft tube (216) partially forming the stent can be a mesh structure (¶[0055]). It is notoriously well-known in the art to form a mesh structure for a stent from braided filaments or wires (e.g. see ¶[0048] of US 2014/0228935).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the mesh of Nae et al. from braided wires or filaments in order to take advantage of this well-known means used to form a mesh.
Regarding claim 15, the stent body is formed across an inner opening of the first and second flanges ((evident from Figure 16A inasmuch as this limitation is met by Applicant’s Figure 4D).
Regarding claim 17, at least one other one of the first or second flanges is doubled back entirely into the respective first or second flange such that the respective end of the stent comprise a flush end face that is flush with the respective end of the stent (e.g. see flush terminal ends of the stent in Figure 20B).
Regarding claim 19, the stent further comprises a coating (231 or adhesive ¶[0070]).
Regarding claim 20, the coating constrains at least one doubled back end of the tubular structure along a radially outward surface of the tubular structure (evident from Figure 22B).
Regarding claim 21, at least one of the first and second flanges comprises a protruding lip at a distal end (see lips formed by undulating end in Figure 23A).
Regarding claim 22, at least one of the first and second flanges comprises a protruding lip at a distal end of the double walled structure (see lips formed by undulating end in Figure 23A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/THOMAS MCEVOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771