DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on June 1st, 2026. Claim 2 has been canceled as such claims 1 and 3-20 are pending consideration in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 10, 11, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma (US 8485186) in view of Cramer (US 4335735).
Regarding claim 1, Sharma discloses
an oxygen control system (Fig. 1; oxygen system 100; Col. 3, Lines 52-61 and Col. 5, Lines 30-46) for an oxygen mask (Fig. 1; breathing apparatus 150; Col. 4, Lines 4-9), the system comprising:
a supply line (see modified Fig. 1 below) configured to provide a flow of a supply gas (Figs. 1 and 3; pressurized oxygen from portable oxygen bottle 110; Col. 5, Lines 32-39 and Col. 7, Lines 51-57);
a control device (Fig. 1; oxygen regulator 120 with setting dial 130, emergency shut-off lever 180, and no flow indicator 190; Col. 2, Lines 2-5; Col. 3, Lines 52-61 and Col. 5, Lines 30-46) comprising:
a chamber (Fig. 3; mixing chamber 342; Col. 7, Lines 18-21);
a first inlet (Fig. 3; inlet port 302; Col. 5, Lines 30-39) in fluid communication with the supply line (see modified Fig. 1 below; Fig. 3; line of oxygen bottle 110 is connected to regulator 140 and inlet port 302; Col. 5, Lines 30-39), wherein the first inlet (Fig. 3; inlet port 302; Col. 5, Lines 30-39) enables the flow of the supply gas (Fig. 3; supply of pressurized oxygen; Col. 5, Lines 30-39) into the chamber of the control device (Fig. 3; mixing chamber 342; Col. 7, Lines 18-21);
a second inlet (Fig. 3; air inlet 350; Col. 6, Lines 66-67 and Col. 7, Lines 1-5) enabling a flow of atmospheric air (Fig. 3; aircraft cabin air; Col. 6, Lines 66-67 and Col. 7, Lines 1-5) into the chamber of the control device (Fig. 3; mixing chamber 342; Col. 7, Lines 18-21) and an inlet controller (Fig. 3; cabin air valve 352; Col. 7, Lines 22-32) for selectively opening or closing (Fig. 3; closing air valve 352; Col. 9, Lines 29-39) the second inlet (Fig. 3; air inlet 350; Col. 6, Lines 66-67 and Col. 7, Lines 1-5),
wherein the inlet controller (Fig. 3; cabin air valve 352; Col. 7, Lines 22-32) is movable between an open configuration and a closed configuration (Fig. 3; air valve 352 is in an open configuration and can be moved to a closed configuration via emergency lever 180; Col. 9, Lines 29-39),
wherein atmospheric air (Fig. 3; aircraft cabin air; Col. 6, Lines 66-67 and Col. 7, Lines 1-5) is configured to mix with the supply gas (Fig. 3; supply of pressurized oxygen; Col. 5, Lines 30-39) within the chamber (Fig. 3; mixing chamber 342; Col. 7, Lines 18-21);
an outlet (Fig. 3; breathing outlet 304; Col. 5, Lines 30-39) in fluid communication with the first inlet (Fig. 3; inlet port 302; Col. 5, Lines 30-39; see direction of flow in Fig. 3) and the second inlet (Fig. 3; air inlet 350; Col. 6, Lines 66-67 and Col. 7, Lines 1-5; see direction of flow in Fig. 3) such that the flow of the supply gas (Fig. 3; supply of pressurized oxygen; Col. 5, Lines 30-39; flow of gas from oxygen container/bottle 110 goes through main valve to oxygen line 338 to mixing chamber 342) through the control device is from the first inlet (Fig. 3; inlet port 302; Col. 5, Lines 30-39; see direction/arrows of flow in Fig. 3), into the chamber (Fig. 3; mixing chamber 342; Col. 7, Lines 18-21), and to the outlet (Fig. 3; breathing outlet 304; Col. 5, Lines 30-39), and
the flow of atmospheric air (Fig. 3; aircraft cabin air; Col. 6, Lines 66-67 and Col. 7, Lines 1-5; flow of air from the aircraft cabin air inlet through the cabin air valve and further through the aneroid valve into the mixing chamber 342) through the control device is from the second inlet (Fig. 3; air inlet 350; Col. 6, Lines 66-67 and Col. 7, Lines 1-5; see direction/arrows of flow in Fig. 3), into the chamber (Fig. 3; mixing chamber 342; Col. 7, Lines 18-21), and to the outlet (Fig. 3; breathing outlet 304; Col. 5, Lines 30-39); and
a pressure regulator (Fig. 1; second aneroid valve 354 is responsive to the differential pressure as altitude increases; Col. 7, Lines 45-51 and Col. 9, Lines 3-5) comprising a single diaphragm (Fig. 3; valve member 354D; Col. 7, Lines 45-51), a single aneroid (Fig. 3; aneroid capsule 354C; Col. 7, Lines 45-51), and a pressure controller (Fig. 3; spring 354F; Col. 7, Lines 45-51), wherein the diaphragm (Fig. 3; valve member 354D; Col. 7, Lines 45-51) is movable within the control device (Fig. 1; oxygen regulator 120 with setting dial 130, emergency shut-off lever 180, and no flow indicator 190; Col. 2, Lines 2-5; Col. 3, Lines 52-61 and Col. 5, Lines 30-46), and wherein:
in a first mode of the pressure regulator (Fig. 3; when system is in the first altitude range; Col. 4, Lines 15-22 and Col. 8, Lines 1-24), a position of the diaphragm (Fig. 3; valve member 354D; Col. 7, Lines 45-51) is only controlled by the aneroid (Fig. 3; aneroid capsule 354C; Col. 7, Lines 45-51); and
in a second mode of the pressure regulator (Fig. 3; when system is above the second altitude range; Col. 4, Lines 15-22; Col. 8, Lines 1-24), the position of the diaphragm (Fig. 3; valve member 354D; Col. 7, Lines 45-51) within the control device is controlled by both the aneroid (Fig. 3; aneroid capsule 354C; Col. 7, Lines 45-51) and the pressure controller (Fig. 3; spring 354F; Col. 7, Lines 45-51), and
an outlet line (Fig. 1; supply pipe 160; Col. 4, Lines 4-9) connected to the outlet of the control device (Fig. 3; breathing outlet 304; Col. 5, Lines 30-39) and configured to supply the supply gas at the outlet pressure (Figs. 1 and 3; deliver flow rate of pressurized oxygen; Col. 4, Lines 4-11 and Col. 7, Lines 51-57).
Sharma is silent as to a flow of a supply gas at an input pressure; the flow of the supply gas at the input pressure; wherein the diaphragm is movable within the control device to control an outlet pressure at the outlet; wherein the outlet pressure is less than the input pressure; wherein an outlet pressure when the pressure regulator is in the first mode is less than an outlet pressure when the pressure regulator is in the second mode.
Cramer discloses an analogous oxygen regulator/aneroid system for an aviation system which closes the air inlet to provide undiluted oxygen as altitude increases (col. 6, lines 20-22) where
a flow of a supply gas at an input pressure (Figs. 1 and 6; “supply of oxygen at a predetermined positive gage pressure”; Col. 1, Lines 15-37 and Col. 3, Lines 6-8);
wherein the first inlet enables the flow of the supply gas at the input pressure (Figs. 1 and 6; “a first inlet port 14 normally connected to a supply of oxygen at a predetermined positive gage pressure”; Col. 3, Lines 6-8);
wherein the diaphragm is movable within the control device to control an outlet pressure at the outlet (Figs. 1 and 6; by expanding the aneroid capsule 110a (in oxygen regulator) with the spring, it increases pressure in the chamber; therefore, biasing the diaphragm 36 which increases the pressure the outlet pressure as altitude increases; col. 6, lines 18-43))
wherein the outlet pressure is less than the input pressure (Figs. 1 and 6; “the pressure in chamber 29 is somewhat higher than the outlet demand pressure”, positive pressure from inlet port flows into chamber 29; Col. 5, Lines 52-53)
wherein an outlet pressure (Fig. 6; outlet pressure starts close to ambient pressure; Col. 6, Lines 18-43) when the pressure regulator is in the first mode (Figs. 1 and 6; first range (lower altitude); Col. 6, Lines 18-43) is less than an outlet pressure (Fig. 6; outlet pressure increases as altitude increases; Col. 6, Lines 18-43) when the pressure regulator is in the second mode (Figs. 3 and 6; second range (higher altitude); Col. 6, Lines 18-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portable oxygen bottle and oxygen regulator of Sharma with the positive gage supply of oxygen and oxygen regulator of Cramer to prevent hypoxia by regulating the delivery pressure and dilution of air and oxygen; therefore, providing a pressurized oxygen atmosphere at the outlet (Cramer: Col. 1, Lines 11- 37 and Col. 6, Lines 51-58).
Regarding claim 3, Sharma further discloses
the system (Sharma: oxygen system) of claim 1,
wherein the control device (Fig. 1; oxygen regulator 120 with setting dial 130, emergency shut-off lever 180, and no flow indicator 190; Col. 2, Lines 2-5; Col. 3, Lines 52-61 and Col. 5, Lines 30-46) is operable in a first base mode, a second base mode, and an emergency mode,
wherein:
in the first base mode, the pressure regulator (Fig. 1; second aneroid valve 354 is responsive to the differential pressure as altitude increases; Col. 7, Lines 45-51 and Col. 9, Lines 3-5) is in the first mode (Fig. 3; when system is in the first altitude range; Col. 4, Lines 15-22 and Col. 8, Lines 1-24) and the inlet controller is in the open configuration (Fig. 3; cabin air valve 352; Col. 7, Lines 22-32 and Col. 9, Lines 29-44; air valve 352 opens and closes in response to the differential gas pressure);
in the second base mode, the pressure regulator (Fig. 1; second aneroid valve 354 is responsive to the differential pressure as altitude increases; Col. 7, Lines 45-51 and Col. 9, Lines 3-5) is in the first mode (Fig. 3; when system is in the first altitude range; Col. 4, Lines 15-22 and Col. 8, Lines 1-24) and the inlet controller is in the closed configuration (Fig. 3; cabin air valve 352; Col. 7, Lines 22-32 and Col. 9, Lines 29-44; air valve 352 opens and closes in response to the differential gas pressure; additionally, emergency lever can be used to move the air valve into a closed condition); and
in the emergency mode, the pressure regulator (Fig. 1; second aneroid valve 354 is responsive to the differential pressure as altitude increases; Col. 7, Lines 45-51 and Col. 9, Lines 3-5) is in the second mode (Fig. 3; when system is above the second altitude range; Col. 4, Lines 15-22; Col. 8, Lines 1-24) and the inlet controller is in the closed configuration (Fig. 3; cabin air valve 352; Col. 7, Lines 22-32 and Col. 9, Lines 29-44; air valve 352 opens and closes in response to the differential gas pressure; additionally, emergency lever 180 can be used to move the air valve 352 into a closed configuration).
Regarding claim 4, the modified device of Sharma further discloses
the system (Sharma: oxygen regulator; Cramer: positive pressure supply of oxygen) of claim 1,
wherein the supply line (Sharma: see modified Fig. 1 above in claim 1) further comprises a supply line connector (Sharma: Figs. 1 and 3; quarter turn switch regulator 140; Col. 3, Lines 64-67 and Col. 4, Lines 1-3),
wherein the supply line connector (Sharma: Figs. 1 and 3; switch regulator 140; Col. 3, Lines 64-67 and Col. 4, Lines 1-3) is configured to interface with a high pressure gas source (Sharma: Fig. 1; pressurized oxygen bottle 110; Col. 5, Lines 32-39; Cramer: Figs. 1 and 6; predetermined positive gage pressure; Col. 1, Lines 15-37 and Col. 3, Lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 6, Sharma further discloses
the system (Sharma: oxygen system 100) of claim 1,
wherein the supply gas (Figs. 1 and 3; pressurized oxygen from portable oxygen bottle 110; Col. 7, Lines 51-57) from the supply line comprises 100% oxygen (100% pressurized oxygen when stopping air cabin air flow meaning only oxygen from the oxygen bottle; Col. 11, Lines 43-51 and Lines 61-67).
Regarding claim 10, Sharma discloses
an oxygen control system (Fig. 1; oxygen system 100; Col. 3, Lines 52-61 and Col. 5, Lines 30-46) for an oxygen mask (Fig. 1; breathing apparatus 150; Col. 4, Lines 4-9),
the system comprising a control device (Fig. 1; oxygen regulator 120 with setting dial 130, emergency shut-off lever 180, and no flow indicator 190; Col. 2, Lines 2-5; Col. 3, Lines 52-61 and Col. 5, Lines 30-46),
the control device comprising:
a chamber (Fig. 3; mixing chamber 342; Col. 7, Lines 18-21);
a first inlet (Fig. 3; inlet port 302; Col. 5, Lines 30-39) enabling a flow of a supply gas (Fig. 3; supply of pressurized oxygen; Col. 5, Lines 30-39) from a gas source (Fig. 3; pressurized oxygen bottle 110; Col. 5, Lines 30-39) into the chamber of the control device (Fig. 3; mixing chamber 342; Col. 7, Lines 18-21);
a second inlet (Fig. 3; air inlet 350; Col. 6, Lines 66-67 and Col. 7, Lines 1-5) enabling a flow of atmospheric air (Fig. 3; aircraft cabin air; Col. 6, Lines 66-67 and Col. 7, Lines 1-5) into the chamber of the control device (Fig. 3; mixing chamber 342; Col. 7, Lines 18-21) and such that the atmospheric air (Fig. 3; aircraft cabin air; Col. 6, Lines 66-67 and Col. 7, Lines 1-5) mixes with the supply gas (Fig. 3; supply of pressurized oxygen; Col. 5, Lines 30-39) within the chamber (Fig. 3; mixing chamber 342; Col. 7, Lines 18-21);
an inlet controller (Fig. 3; cabin air valve 352; Col. 7, Lines 22-32) configured to control the flow of atmospheric air (Fig. 3; aircraft cabin air; Col. 6, Lines 66-67 and Col. 7, Lines 1-5) through the second inlet (Fig. 3; air inlet 350; Col. 6, Lines 66-67 and Col. 7, Lines 1-5) and into the control device (Fig. 1; oxygen regulator 120 with setting dial 130, emergency shut-off lever 180, and no flow indicator 190; Col. 2, Lines 2-5; Col. 3, Lines 52-61 and Col. 5, Lines 30-46),
wherein the inlet controller (Fig. 3; cabin air valve 352; Col. 7, Lines 22-32) is movable between an open position and a closed position (Fig. 3; air valve 352 is in an open configuration and can be moved to a closed configuration via emergency lever 180; Col. 9, Lines 29-39);
an outlet (Fig. 3; breathing outlet 304; Col. 5, Lines 30-39) in fluid communication with the first inlet (Fig. 3; inlet port 302; Col. 5, Lines 30-39; see direction of flow in Fig. 3) and the second inlet (Fig. 3; air inlet 350; Col. 6, Lines 66-67 and Col. 7, Lines 1-5; see direction of flow in Fig. 3) such that the flow of the supply gas (Fig. 3; supply of pressurized oxygen; Col. 5, Lines 30-39; flow of gas from oxygen container 110 goes through main valve to oxygen line 338 to mixing chamber 342) through the control device is through the first inlet (Fig. 3; inlet port 302; Col. 5, Lines 30-39; see direction/arrows of flow in Fig. 3), into the chamber (Fig. 3; mixing chamber 342; Col. 7, Lines 18-21), and to the outlet (Fig. 3; breathing outlet 304; Col. 5, Lines 30-39), and
such that a flow of atmospheric air (Fig. 3; aircraft cabin air; Col. 6, Lines 66-67 and Col. 7, Lines 1-5; flow of air from the aircraft cabin air inlet through the cabin air valve and further through the aneroid valve into the mixing chamber 342) through the control device is through the second inlet (Fig. 3; air inlet 350; Col. 6, Lines 66-67 and Col. 7, Lines 1-5; see direction/arrows of flow in Fig. 3), into the chamber (Fig. 3; mixing chamber 342; Col. 7, Lines 18-21), and to the outlet (Fig. 3; breathing outlet 304; Col. 5, Lines 30-39); and
a pressure regulator (Fig. 1; second aneroid valve 354; Col. 7, Lines 45-51 and Col. 9, Lines 3-5), wherein the pressure regulator (Fig. 1; second aneroid valve 354 is responsive to the differential pressure as altitude increases; Col. 7, Lines 45-51 and Col. 9, Lines 3-5) comprises a single diaphragm (Fig. 3; valve member 354D; Col. 7, Lines 45-51), a single aneroid (Fig. 3; aneroid capsule 354C; Col. 7, Lines 45-51), and a pressure controller (Fig. 3; spring 354F; Col. 7, Lines 45-51),
wherein:
in a first mode of the pressure regulator (Fig. 3; when system is in the first altitude range; Col. 4, Lines 15-22 and Col. 8, Lines 1-24), the diaphragm (Fig. 3; valve member 354D; Col. 7, Lines 45-51) is movable within the control device (Fig. 1; oxygen regulator 120 with setting dial 130, emergency shut-off lever 180, and no flow indicator 190; Col. 2, Lines 2-5; Col. 3, Lines 52-61 and Col. 5, Lines 30-46) by the aneroid (Fig. 3; aneroid capsule 354C; Col. 7, Lines 45-51) and the diaphragm (Fig. 3; valve member 354D; Col. 7, Lines 45-51) and the aneroid (Fig. 3; aneroid capsule 354C; Col. 7, Lines 45-51) are at a first position within the control device (Fig. 1; aneroid valve 354 is open at ground level; Col. 7, Lines 45-51); and
in a second mode of the pressure regulator (Fig. 3; when system is in the first altitude range; Col. 4, Lines 15-22 and Col. 8, Lines 1-24), the pressure controller (Fig. 3; spring 354F; Col. 7, Lines 45-51) positions the diaphragm (Fig. 3; valve member 354D; Col. 7, Lines 45-51) and the aneroid (Fig. 3; aneroid capsule 354C; Col. 7, Lines 45-51) further into the control device compared to the first position (Fig. 3; spring allows aneroid to expand further and biases the valve member towards the valve seat; Col. 7, Lines 18-51),
wherein the control device (Fig. 1; oxygen regulator 120 with setting dial 130, emergency shut-off lever 180, and no flow indicator 190; Col. 2, Lines 2-5; Col. 3, Lines 52-61 and Col. 5, Lines 30-46) is operable in a first base mode, a second base mode, and an emergency mode,
wherein:
in the first base mode, the pressure regulator (Fig. 1; second aneroid valve 354; Col. 7, Lines 45-51 and Col. 9, Lines 3-5) is in the first mode (Fig. 3; when system is in the first altitude range; Col. 4, Lines 15-22 and Col. 8, Lines 1-24) and the inlet controller is in the open configuration (Fig. 3; cabin air valve 352; Col. 7, Lines 22-32 and Col. 9, Lines 29-44; air valve 352 opens and closes in response to the differential gas pressure);
in the second base mode, the pressure regulator (Fig. 1; second aneroid valve 354; Col. 7, Lines 45-51 and Col. 9, Lines 3-5) is in the first mode (Fig. 3; when system is in the first altitude range; Col. 4, Lines 15-22 and Col. 8, Lines 1-24) and the inlet controller is in the closed configuration (Fig. 3; cabin air valve 352; Col. 7, Lines 22-32 and Col. 9, Lines 29-44; air valve 352 opens and closes in response to the differential gas pressure; additionally, emergency lever can be used to move the air valve into a closed condition); and
in the emergency mode, the pressure regulator (Fig. 1; second aneroid valve 354; Col. 7, Lines 45-51 and Col. 9, Lines 3-5) is in the second mode (Fig. 3; when system is above the second altitude range; Col. 4, Lines 15-22; Col. 8, Lines 1-24) and the inlet controller is in the closed configuration (Fig. 3; cabin air valve 352; Col. 7, Lines 22-32 and Col. 9, Lines 29-44; air valve 352 opens and closes in response to the differential gas pressure; additionally, emergency lever 180 can be used to move the air valve 352 into a closed condition).
Sharma is silent as to a first inlet enabling a flow of a supply gas from a high pressure gas source; the pressure regulator controlling an outlet pressure at the outlet; wherein an outlet pressure of gas exiting the outlet when the pressure regulator is in the first mode is less than an outlet pressure of gas existing the outlet when the pressure regulator is in the second mode.
Cramer discloses an analogous oxygen regulator/aneroid system for an aviation system which closes the air inlet to provide undiluted oxygen as altitude increases (col. 6, lines 20-22) where
a first inlet enabling a flow of a supply gas from a high pressure gas source (Figs. 1 and 6; “a first inlet port 14 normally connected to a supply of oxygen at a predetermined positive gage pressure”; Col. 3, Lines 6-8)
the pressure regulator controlling an outlet pressure at the outlet (Figs. 1 and 6; the oxygen regulator has an aneroid system where by expanding the aneroid capsule 110a (in oxygen regulator) with the spring, it increases pressure in the chamber; therefore, biasing the diaphragm 36 which increases the pressure the outlet pressure as altitude increases; col. 6, lines 18-43)
wherein an outlet pressure of gas exiting the outlet (Fig. 6; outlet pressure starts close to ambient pressure; Col. 6, Lines 18-43) when the pressure regulator is in the first mode (Figs. 1 and 6; first range (lower altitude); Col. 6, Lines 18-43) is less than an outlet pressure of gas existing the outlet (Fig. 6; outlet pressure increases as altitude increases; Col. 6, Lines 18-43) when the pressure regulator is in the second mode (Figs. 3 and 6; second range (higher altitude); Col. 6, Lines 18-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portable oxygen bottle and oxygen regulator of Sharma with the positive gage supply of oxygen and oxygen regulator of Cramer to prevent hypoxia by regulating the delivery pressure and dilution of air and oxygen; therefore, providing a pressurized oxygen atmosphere at the outlet (Cramer: Col. 1, Lines 11- 37 and Col. 6, Lines 51-58).
Regarding claim 11, the modified device of Sharma further discloses
the system (Sharma: oxygen system; Cramer: positive pressure supply of oxygen) of claim 10, further comprising
a supply line (Sharma: see modified Fig. 1 below) connected to the first inlet (Sharma: Fig. 3; inlet port 302; Col. 5, Lines 30-39) and
configured to provide the supply gas at an input pressure (Cramer: Figs. 1 and 6; “a first inlet port 14 normally connected to a supply of oxygen at a predetermined positive gage pressure”; Col. 3, Lines 6-8),
wherein the input pressure is greater than the outlet pressure of gas exiting the outlet (Cramer: Figs. 1 and 6; when valve 60 is open, pressure at outlet 18 is close to ambient pressure; supply gas from inlet is at a predetermined positive pressure therefore making the input pressure greater than the outlet pressure) when the pressure regulator is in the first mode (Sharma: Fig. 3; when system is in the first altitude range; Col. 4, Lines 15-22 and Col. 8, Lines 1-24) and the outlet pressure exiting the outlet (Cramer: Figs. 1 and 6; “the pressure in chamber 29 is somewhat higher than the outlet demand pressure”, positive pressure from inlet port flows into chamber 29; Col. 5, Lines 52-53) when the pressure regulator is in the second mode (Sharma: Fig. 3; when system is above the second altitude range; Col. 4, Lines 15-22; Col. 8, Lines 1-24).
Additionally, gas flows from inlet to outlet, a known result of the Second Law of Thermodynamics is that gas flows from an area of higher pressure to an area of lower pressure, thus when gas flows in the modified device of Sharma from the oxygen bottle to the outlet and supply line, the outlet pressure is less than the input pressure (see Tassios, D.P. (1993). The Second Law of Thermodynamics. In: Applied Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics. Springer, Berlin, Heidelberg. doi.org/10.1007/978 3 662 01645 9_3).
Regarding claim 13, Sharma further discloses
the system (Sharma: oxygen system 100) of claim 10,
wherein the inlet controller (Fig. 3; cabin air valve 352; Col. 7, Lines 22-32) comprises a cover (Fig. 3; valve member 352A (end part of valve 354) covers opening by valve seat 352B; Col. 7, Lines 18-32) rotatably supported on the control device (see modified Fig. 3 below; emergency lever 180 of the control device is turned/rotated (arrows in Fig. 3) to bias the valve member 352A, covering the opening by valve seat 352B).
Regarding claim 14, Sharma further discloses
the system (Sharma: oxygen system 100) of claim 10,
wherein aneroid is a bellows-style aneroid (Fig. 3; aneroid capsule 354C; Col. 7, Lines 45-51; see Fig. 3, the aneroid capsule is bellow-shaped/style).
Regarding claim 15, Sharma further discloses
the system (oxygen system 100) of claim 10,
wherein the inlet controller (Fig. 3; cabin air valve 352; Col. 7, Lines 22-32) comprises a first visual indicator (Figs. 1 and 3; emergency lever 180 is rotated to closed the air valve 352; Col. 9, Lines 20-44; the emergency lever being rotated to close the air valve is a visual indicator that the valve is closed), and wherein the pressure regulator (Fig. 1; second aneroid valve 354; Col. 9, lines 45-53) comprises a second visual indicator (Figs. 1 and 3; no flow indicator 190; Col. 9, lines 45-53).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma (US 8485186) in view of Cramer (US 4335735) and further in view of Elliott (US 20150196784).
Regarding claim 5, the modified device of Sharma discloses
the system (Sharma: oxygen regulator; Cramer: positive pressure supply of oxygen) of claim 1,
Sharma does not disclose wherein the supply line further comprises a visual flow indicator.
Elliott discloses a flow indicator for a breathing apparatus
wherein the supply line (Paragraphs 0016-0017, 0028, claims 6-7) further comprises a visual flow indicator (Figs. 4a-4b; flow indicator 30; Abstract, Lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the supply line of the oxygen bottle of the modified device of Sharma with the flow indicator of Elliott to the supply line of the modified device of Sharma to provide a vital and reliable device to indicate; that does not require outside power supplies; that indicates flow in low-light; that is reliable in emergency conditions; that is not purely mechanical thus avoiding common mechanical jamming or breaking (Elliott: Paragraph 0003); that is low-weight (Elliott: Paragraph 0007).
Claims 7-9 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma (US 8485186) in view of Cramer (US 4335735) and further in view of Hebrank (US 20070163588).
Regarding claim 7, the modified device of Sharma discloses
the system (Sharma: oxygen regulator) of claim 1,
Sharma does not disclose further comprising a filter adaptor connected to the outlet line opposite from the control device, wherein the filter adaptor is configured to cover a filter body of a chemical, biological, radiological, or nuclear (CBRN) filter.
Hebrank discloses a respirator system where
a filter adaptor (see modified Fig. 19 below) connected to the outlet line opposite from the control device (Fig. 2A; the filter adaptor is configured to fit into the aperture of another device or additional outlet line and is thus adapted for connecting to an outlet line opposite a control device; Paragraph 92; modified Fig. 19 below),
wherein the filter adaptor (see modified Fig. 19 below) is configured to cover a filter body of a chemical, biological, radiological, or nuclear (CBRN) filter (Fig. 19; the filter in the adaptor is configured to protect against viruses and/or bacteria, which are biological, as well as SO2, NO2, and ozone which are chemical; Paragraphs 0042, 0045, and 0112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the supply pipe of the modified device of Sharma with the filter/filter adapter of Hebrank to supply an ample amount of filtered air to the user while being constructed in such a way that the size, weight, and cost of the system makes it suitable for routine use and effectively removing particles greater than 60 nanometer while still allowing high airflows required for human respiration (Hebrank: Paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 8, the modified device of Sharma further discloses
the system (Sharma: oxygen system: Hebrank: filter/filter adapter) of claim 7,
wherein the filter adaptor comprises an adaptor inlet and an adaptor outlet (Hebrank: see modified Fig. 19 above in claim 7),
wherein the adaptor inlet is connected to the outlet line (Hebrank: see modified Fig. 19 above in claim 7), and wherein the adaptor outlet comprises at least two tangs configured to selectively retain the filter on the filter adaptor (Hebrank: see modified Fig. 19 above in claim 7; two clips or hooks 1930 (tangs) that selective hold or release the filter cartridge; Paragraph 0112).
Regarding claim 9, the modified device of Sharma further discloses
the system (Sharma: oxygen system; Hebrank: filter/filter adapter) of claim 7,
wherein the filter adaptor (Hebrank: see modified Fig. 19 above in claim 7) is connectable to an oxygen mask (Hebrank: “instead of being mounted in or partially in the housing, the filter can be mounted in the hose or in or on the face mask”; Paragraphs 0072, 0084, 0105, and 0108).
Regarding claim 12, Sharma discloses
the system (oxygen system 100) of claim 10, further comprising:
an outlet line (Fig. 1; supply pipe 160; Col. 4, Lines 4-9) connected to the outlet (Fig. 3; breathing outlet 304; Col. 5, Lines 30-39);
Sharma does not disclose a filter adaptor connected to the outlet line, wherein the filter adaptor is configured to cover a filter body of a chemical, biological, radiological, or nuclear (CBRN) filter.
a filter adaptor connected to the outlet line (see modified Fig. 19 below; connected to hose; Paragraphs 0072, 0084, 0105, and 0108), wherein the filter adaptor is configured to cover a filter body of a chemical, biological, radiological, or nuclear (CBRN) filter (Fig. 19; the filter in the adaptor is configured to protect against viruses and/or bacteria, which are biological, as well as SO2, NO2, and ozone which are chemical; Paragraphs 0042, 0045, and 0112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the supply pipe of the modified device of Sharma with the filter/filter adapter of Hebrank to supply an ample amount of filtered air to the user while being constructed in such a way that the size, weight, and cost of the system makes it suitable for routine use and effectively removing particles greater than 60 nanometer while still allowing high airflows required for human respiration (Hebrank: Paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 16, Sharma discloses
an oxygen control system (Fig. 1; oxygen system 100; Col. 3, Lines 52-61 and Col. 5, Lines 30-46) for an oxygen mask (Fig. 1; breathing apparatus 150; Col. 4, Lines 4-9), the system comprising:
a control device (Fig. 1; oxygen regulator 120 with setting dial 130, emergency shut-off lever 180, and no flow indicator 190; Col. 2, Lines 2-5; Col. 3, Lines 52-61 and Col. 5, Lines 30-46) comprising:
a chamber (Fig. 3; mixing chamber 342; Col. 7, Lines 18-21);
a first inlet (Fig. 3; inlet port 302; Col. 5, Lines 30-39) enabling a flow of supply gas (Fig. 3; supply of pressurized oxygen; Col. 5, Lines 30-39) into the chamber of the control device (Fig. 3; mixing chamber 342; Col. 7, Lines 18-21);
a second inlet (Fig. 3; air inlet 350; Col. 6, Lines 66-67 and Col. 7, Lines 1-5) enabling a flow of atmospheric air (Fig. 3; aircraft cabin air; Col. 6, Lines 66-67 and Col. 7, Lines 1-5) into the chamber (Fig. 3; mixing chamber 342; Col. 7, Lines 18-21) of the control device (Fig. 3; mixing chamber 342; Col. 7, Lines 18-21);
an inlet controller (Fig. 3; cabin air valve 352; Col. 7, Lines 22-32) configured to control the flow of atmospheric air (Fig. 3; opening and closing air valve 352; Col. 9, Lines 29-39) through the second inlet and into the control device (Fig. 3; air inlet 350; Col. 6, Lines 66-67 and Col. 7, Lines 1-5),
wherein the inlet controller (Fig. 3; cabin air valve 352; Col. 7, Lines 22-32) is movable between an open position and a closed position (Fig. 3; air valve 352 is in an open configuration and can be moved to a closed configuration via emergency lever 180; Col. 9, Lines 29-39), and
wherein the atmospheric air (Fig. 3; aircraft cabin air; Col. 6, Lines 66-67 and Col. 7, Lines 1-5) is configured to mix with the supply gas (Fig. 3; supply of pressurized oxygen; Col. 5, Lines 30-39) within the chamber (Fig. 3; mixing chamber 342; Col. 7, Lines 18-21);
an outlet (Fig. 3; breathing outlet 304; Col. 5, Lines 30-39); and
a pressure regulator, wherein the pressure regulator (Fig. 1; second aneroid valve 354 is responsive to the differential pressure as altitude increases; Col. 7, Lines 45-51 and Col. 9, Lines 3-5) comprising a single diaphragm (Fig. 3; valve member 354D; Col. 7, Lines 45-51), a single aneroid (Fig. 3; aneroid capsule 354C; Col. 7, Lines 45-51), and a pressure controller (Fig. 3; spring 354F; Col. 7, Lines 45-51),
wherein:
in a first mode, the diaphragm is movable within the control device (Fig. 3; valve member 354D; Col. 7, Lines 45-51) by the aneroid (Fig. 3; aneroid capsule 354C; Col. 7, Lines 45-51) and the aneroid are at a first position within the control device (Fig. 3; aneroid valve 354 is open at ground level; Col. 7, Lines 45-51); and
in a second mode, the pressure controller (Fig. 3; spring 354F; Col. 7, Lines 45-51) positions the diaphragm (Fig. 3; valve member 354D; Col. 7, Lines 45-51) and aneroid (Fig. 3; aneroid capsule 354C; Col. 7, Lines 45-51) further into the control device compared to the first position (Fig. 3; spring allows aneroid to expand further and biases the valve member towards the valve seat; Col. 7, Lines 18-51),
an outlet line (Fig. 1; supply pipe 160; Col. 4, Lines 4-9) connected to the outlet of the control device (Fig. 3; breathing outlet 304; Col. 5, Lines 30-39); and
Sharma is silent as to a flow of supply gas at an input pressure; the pressure regulator controlling an outlet pressure at the outlet, wherein an outlet pressure of gas exiting the outlet when the pressure regulator is in the first mode is less than an outlet pressure exiting the outlet when the pressure regulator is in the second mode; and Sharma does not disclose a filter adaptor connected to the outlet line, wherein the filter adaptor is configured to cover a filter body of a chemical, biological, radiological, or nuclear (CBRN) filter.
Cramer discloses an analogous oxygen regulator/aneroid system for an aviation system which closes the air inlet to provide undiluted oxygen as altitude increases (col. 6, lines 20-22) where
a first inlet enabling a flow of supply gas at an input pressure (Figs. 1 and 6; “supply of oxygen at a predetermined positive gage pressure”; Col. 1, Lines 15-37 and Col. 3, Lines 6-8);
the pressure regulator controlling an outlet pressure at the outlet (Figs. 1 and 6; the oxygen regulator has an aneroid system where by expanding the aneroid capsule 110a (in oxygen regulator) with the spring, it increases pressure in the chamber; therefore, biasing the diaphragm 36 which increases the pressure the outlet pressure as altitude increases; col. 6, lines 18-43)
wherein an outlet pressure of gas exiting the outlet (Fig. 6; outlet pressure starts close to ambient pressure; Col. 6, Lines 18-43) when the pressure regulator is in the first mode ((Figs. 1 and 6; first range (lower altitude); Col. 6, Lines 18-43) is less than an outlet pressure (Fig. 6; outlet pressure increases as altitude increases; Col. 6, Lines 18-43) exiting the outlet when the pressure regulator is in the second mode (Figs. 3 and 6; second range (higher altitude); Col. 6, Lines 18-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portable oxygen bottle and oxygen regulator of Sharma with the positive gage supply of oxygen and oxygen regulator of Cramer to prevent hypoxia by regulating the delivery pressure and dilution of air and oxygen; therefore, providing a pressurized oxygen atmosphere at the outlet (Cramer: Col. 1, Lines 11- 37 and Col. 6, Lines 51-58).
The modified device of Sharma does not disclose a filter adaptor connected to the outlet line, wherein the filter adaptor is configured to cover a filter body of a chemical, biological, radiological, or nuclear (CBRN) filter
Hebrank discloses a respirator system where
a filter adaptor (see modified Fig. 19 below) connected to the outlet line (see modified Fig. 19 below; connected to hose; Paragraphs 0072, 0084, 0105, and 0108), wherein the filter adaptor is configured to cover a filter body of a chemical, biological, radiological, or nuclear (CBRN) filter (Fig. 19; the filter in the adaptor is configured to protect against viruses and/or bacteria, which are biological, as well as SO2, NO2, and ozone which are chemical; Paragraphs 0042, 0045, and 0112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the supply pipe of the modified device of Sharma with the filter/filter adapter of Hebrank to supply an ample amount of filtered air to the user while being constructed in such a way that the size, weight, and cost of the system makes it suitable for routine use and effectively removing particles greater than 60 nanometer while still allowing high airflows required for human respiration (Hebrank: Paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 17, the modified device of Sharma further discloses
the system (Sharma: oxygen system; Cramer; positive pressurized supply of oxygen) of claim 16, further comprising
a supply line (Sharma: see modified Fig. 1 below) connectable to a high pressure gas source (Sharma: Fig. 1; pressurized oxygen bottle 110; Col. 5, Lines 32-39; Cramer: Figs. 1 and 6; predetermined positive gage pressure; Col. 1, Lines 15-37 and Col. 3, Lines 6-8) and configured to supply the flow of supply gas (Sharma: Fig. 3; supply of pressurized oxygen; Col. 5, Lines 30-39) from the high pressure gas source (Sharma: Fig. 1; pressurized oxygen bottle 110; Col. 5, Lines 32-39; Cramer: Figs. 1 and 6; predetermined positive gage pressure; Col. 1, Lines 15-37 and Col. 3, Lines 6-8),
wherein the supply line (Sharma: see modified Fig. 1 below) is connected to the first inlet (Sharma: Fig. 3; inlet port 302; Col. 5, Lines 30-39).
Regarding claim 18, the modified device of Sharma further discloses
the system (Sharma: oxygen system; Cramer; positive pressurized supply of oxygen) of claim 17,
wherein the input pressure in the supply line is greater than the outlet pressure of gas exiting the outlet (Cramer: Figs. 1 and 6; when valve 60 is open, pressure at outlet 18 is close to ambient pressure; supply gas from inlet is at a predetermined positive pressure therefore making the input pressure greater than the outlet pressure) when the pressure regulator is in the first mode (Sharma: Fig. 3; when system is in the first altitude range; Col. 4, Lines 15-22 and Col. 8, Lines 1-24) and the outlet pressure (Cramer: Figs. 1 and 6; “the pressure in chamber 29 is somewhat higher than the outlet demand pressure”, positive pressure from inlet port flows into chamber 29; Col. 5, Lines 52-5) exiting the outlet when the pressure regulator is in the second mode (Sharma: Fig. 3; when system is above the second altitude range; Col. 4, Lines 15-22; Col. 8, Lines 1-24).
Additionally, gas flows from inlet to outlet, a known result of the Second Law of Thermodynamics is that gas flows from an area of higher pressure to an area of lower pressure, thus when gas flows in the modified device of Sharma from the oxygen bottle to the outlet and supply line, the outlet pressure is less than the input pressure (see Tassios, D.P. (1993). The Second Law of Thermodynamics. In: Applied Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics. Springer, Berlin, Heidelberg. doi.org/10.1007/978 3 662 01645 9_3).
Regarding claim 19, Sharma further discloses
the system (Sharma: oxygen system) of claim 16,
wherein the control device (Fig. 1; oxygen regulator 120 with setting dial 130, emergency shut-off lever 180, and no flow indicator 190; Col. 2, Lines 2-5; Col. 3, Lines 52-61 and Col. 5, Lines 30-46) is operable in a first base mode, a second base mode, and an emergency mode,
wherein:
in the first base mode, the pressure regulator (Fig. 1; second aneroid valve 354; Col. 7, Lines 45-51 and Col. 9, Lines 3-5) is in the first mode (Fig. 3; when system is in the first altitude range; Col. 4, Lines 15-22 and Col. 8, Lines 1-24) and the inlet controller is in the open position (Fig. 3; cabin air valve 352; Col. 7, Lines 22-32 and Col. 9, Lines 29-44; air valve 352 opens and closes in response to the differential gas pressure);
in the second base mode, the pressure regulator (Fig. 1; second aneroid valve 354; Col. 7, Lines 45-51 and Col. 9, Lines 3-5) is in the first mode (Fig. 3; when system is in the first altitude range; Col. 4, Lines 15-22 and Col. 8, Lines 1-24) and the inlet controller is in the closed position (Fig. 3; cabin air valve 352; Col. 7, Lines 22-32 and Col. 9, Lines 29-44; air valve 352 opens and closes in response to the differential gas pressure; additionally, emergency lever can be used to move the air valve into a closed condition); and
in the emergency mode, the pressure regulator (Fig. 1; second aneroid valve 354; Col. 7, Lines 45-51 and Col. 9, Lines 3-5) is in the second mode (Fig. 3; when system is above the second altitude range; Col. 4, Lines 15-22; Col. 8, Lines 1-24) and the inlet controller is in the closed position (Fig. 3; cabin air valve 352; Col. 7, Lines 22-32 and Col. 9, Lines 29-44; air valve 352 opens and closes in response to the differential gas pressure; additionally, emergency lever 180 can be used to move the air valve 352 into a closed condition).
Regarding claim 20, the modified device of Sharma further discloses
the system (Sharma: oxygen system 100; Hebrank: filter/filter adapter) of claim 16,
wherein the filter adaptor comprises an adaptor inlet and an adaptor outlet (Hebrank: see modified Fig. 19 above in claim 16),
wherein the adaptor inlet is connected to the outlet line (Hebrank: see modified Fig. 19 above in claim 16), and
wherein the adaptor outlet comprises at least two tangs configured to selectively retain the filter on the filter adaptor (Hebrank: see modified Fig. 19 above in claim 16; two clips or hooks 1930 (tangs) that selective hold or release the filter cartridge; Paragraph 0112).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danon (US 5348001) in view of Sharma (US 8485186).
Regarding claim 1, Danon discloses
An oxygen control system for delivering oxygen to a user (figs. 1-8; an oxygen breathing control which delivers oxygen upon user's demand at a slight positive pressure; col. 3, lines 39-50; outlet connector 2 is configured to be used with oxygen breathing hoses; col. 3, lines 55-62), the system comprising:
a supply line configured to provide a flow of a supply gas at an input pressure (figs. 2-4; oxygen is supplied to the valve module 4 at a pressure as nominal as 50 psig; col. 4, lines 22-44);
a control device (figs. 1-8; oxygen breathing control device 1; col. 3, lines 39-50) comprising:
a chamber (fig. 4; outlet chamber 31; col. 6, lines 9-16; col. 8, lines 16-42 );
a first inlet in fluid communication with the supply line (figs. 2-5; control comprises an inlet valve module 4 which receives an inlet flow of oxygen (see fig. 5); col. 5, lines 1-13),
wherein the first inlet enables the flow of the supply gas at the input pressure into the chamber of the control device (figs. 2-5; control comprises an inlet valve module 4 which enables an inlet pressure of 1-125 psig (nominally 50 psig) to be applied to the first stage regulation module 73” and be delivered to the outlet chamber 31(see fig. 5); col. 5, lines 1-13);
a second inlet enabling a flow of atmospheric air into the chamber of the control device (fig. 4; inlet adapter assembly module 8; col. 10, lines 54-67 and col. 11, lines 1-18) and an inlet controller for selectively opening or closing the second inlet (fig. 4; cap assembly 9 which is used with inlet adapter assembly module 8 that provides a flow of ambient air to the control when uncapped (open) and blocks it when capped (closed); col. 10, lines 25-30 and 54-67 and col. 11, lines 1-18),
wherein the inlet controller is movable between an open configuration and a closed configuration (fig. 4; cap assembly 9 which is used with inlet adapter assembly module 8 that provides a flow of ambient air to the control when uncapped (open) and blocks it when capped (closed); col. 10, lines 25-30 and 54-67 and col. 11, lines 1-18; cap is removable),
an outlet (fig. 4; The outlet connector 2 mates with a conventional 3-pin bayonet connector used with oxygen breathing hoses; col. 3, lines 55-62) in fluid communication with the first inlet and the second inlet (see figs. 4 and 5; outlet connector 2 is connected to outlet chamber 31 which is connected to the inlet valve module 4 and the inlet adapter assembly module 8) such that the flow of the supply gas through the control device is from the first inlet, into the chamber, and to the outlet (see fig. 5; inlet flow goes through inlet valve module 4 to outlet chamber 31; see fig. 4; outlet chamber 31 is connected with outlet connector 2 to be used with oxygen breathing hoses; col. 3, lines 55-62), and the flow of atmospheric air through the control device is from the second inlet, into the chamber, and to the outlet (see fig. 4; inlet adapter assembly module 8 is connecter to outlet chamber 31 is connected with outlet connector 2 to be used with oxygen breathing hoses; col. 3, lines 55-62, inlet adapter assembly module 8 when uncovered provides a flow of ambient air to the control; col. 10, lines 25-30 and 54-67 and col. 11, lines 1-18); and
a pressure regulator comprising a single diaphragm, a single aneroid, and a pressure controller (figs. 3, 6, and 7; servo regulator module 6 and aneroid module 7 are interconnected together to control function of the flow regulation; col. 7, lines 51-53, col. 7, lines 65-68 and col. 8, lines 1-8; servo regulator module 6 comprises diaphragm assembly 41; col. 6, lines 62-68 and col. 7, lines 1-2; and aneroid module 7 comprises aneroid 51 and compression spring 56; col. 7, lines 54-58),
wherein the diaphragm is movable within the control device to control an outlet pressure at the outlet (figs. 3, 6, 7; the pilot diaphragm 46 of the diaphragm assembly 41 moves up and down depending on pressure within the outlet chamber 31 where aneroid module 7 controls the target pressure based on the altitude; col. 7, lines 9-11 , col. 9, lines 21-37; col. 8, lines 43-55),
wherein the outlet pressure is less than the input pressure (“an inlet pressure of 1-125 psig (nominally 50 psig) is applied to the first stage regulation module 73” and “delivers an outlet pressure of 20" H.sub.2 O from a nominal input pressure of 50 psig (ratio of 1:70)”; col. 4, lines 55-58 and col. 8, lines 60-66), and wherein:
in a first mode of the pressure regulator (fig. 7; servo module 6 and aneroid module 7 at 34,000 ft.; col. 8, lines 43-55 and col. 9, lines 53-68), a position of the diaphragm is only controlled by the aneroid (figs. 3, 6, and 7; aneroid 51 expands until it make contact with the tapered bleed stem 55 at 34,000 ft which override the normal function of regulation (diaphragm assembly 41) controlled by the breather; col. 7, lines 65-68 and col. 8, lines 1-8; col. 8, lines 43-55 col. 9, lines 53-68; therefore, position of the diaphragm is forced downwards to start opening the main valve to supply more oxygen to the user; col. 7, lines 51-68 and col. 8, lines 1-31); and
in a second mode of the pressure regulator (fig. 7; servo module 6 and aneroid module 7 at altitudes above 34,000 ft.), the position of the diaphragm within the control device is controlled by both the aneroid and the pressure controller (figs. 3, 6, and 7; aneroid 51 expands further, pushing the compressed spring 56 of the tapered bleed stem 55 inside the flow hole 62 which increases the bleed rate , proportionally decreasing the pressure in the inlet valve control chamber which therefore opens the inlet valve to allow increasing oxygen pressure into the outlet chamber 31; col. 7, lines 51-68 and col. 8, lines 1-31; therefore, position of the diaphragm is forced further downwards, opening the main valve to supply more oxygen to the user ),
wherein the outlet pressure when the pressure regulator is in the first mode is less than the outlet pressure when the pressure regulator is in the second mode (see fig. 7 which shows the relationship of altitude with establishing a target pressure using the aneroid module, col. 8, lines 43-45, where pressure at 34,000 ft is less than pressure at 45000 ft); and
an outlet line connected to the outlet of the control device (fig. 4; The outlet connector 2 mates with a conventional 3-pin bayonet connector used with oxygen breathing hoses; col. 3, lines 55-62) and configured to supply the supply gas at the outlet pressure (fig. 4; oxygen breathing control starts to automatically deliver positive pressure oxygen flow, where At 34,000 feet control breathing pressure is approximately 1.5" H.sub.2 O, and at 45,000 feet pressure is approximately 20" H.sub.2 O; col. 9, lines 62-68).
While Danon does not explicitly state wherein atmospheric air is configured to mix with the supply gas within the chamber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that since the oxygen inlet flow goes through inlet valve module 4 to outlet chamber 31 and the inlet adapter assembly module 8 which allows for ambient air flow into outlet chamber 31 (see fig. 4) that if the inlet adapter assembly was uncapped during inhalation, then at least a portion of the ambient air would be able to flow through the outlet chamber 31 and mix with the oxygen supply due to the negative pressure.
Further, while Danon also does not explicitly state that the oxygen control system is an oxygen control system for an oxygen mask.
However, Sharma discloses an analogous oxygen system for aviation system where
the oxygen control system (Fig. 1; oxygen system 100; Col. 3, Lines 52-61 and Col. 5, Lines 30-46) is for an oxygen mask (Fig. 1; breathing apparatus 150; Col. 4, Lines 4-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the oxygen breathing hose of Danon with the supply pipe and breathing apparatus of Sharma to yield the predictable result of being able to deliver a flow rate of pressurized oxygen to the user (Sharma: Col. 4, Lines 4-11 and Col. 7, Lines 51-57).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 9-10 of the remarks, Applicant argues that none of the cited references teach or suggest an oxygen control system comprising a pressure regulator with a single diaphragm and a single aneroid as amended in claims 1, 10, and 16 as the prior art, such as Sharma and Cramer, discloses oxygen regulators with multiple aneroid elements that are necessary for functioning. In other words, the systems using multiple aneroid elements cannot be consolidated into a singular arrangement without sacrificing the stated functions. However, the oxygen regulator is not being claimed as the pressure regulator, but rather the second aneroid valve which comprises a single diaphragm, aneroid capsule, and spring. Further, the claim does not recite that there is only a single aneroid/diaphragm nor consisting, but rather recites “comprises” with “a single” aneroid/diaphragm. Therefore, the term comprises allows for additional pressure regulators, aneroids, and diaphragms to be used. Regardless, another prior art, Danon discloses an analogous oxygen regulation control device with a single aneroid/diaphragm system (see 103 rejection of claim 1 using Danon above).
For these reasons, the arguments regarding the oxygen regulator system comprising a pressure regulator with a single diaphragm and a single aneroid are deemed unpersuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bachelard (US 8261743) – a breathing apparatus for an aircrew member with an embodiment that uses a single aneroid for air dilution
/S.R.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/VICTORIA MURPHY/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785