DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to the claims filed on November 21, 2025, has been entered. Claims 10, 14, 16 – 19 and 21 are currently amended. Claims 3 – 4 and 7 are canceled. Claims 1 – 2, 5 – 6, 8 – 23 are pending and under examination. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and found unpersuasive. Therefore, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 previously presented in the Non-Final Office action are hereby reinstated in their entirety. The rejections to the currently amended claims 16 – 19 and 21, are updated to address the amendment. However, the gest of said rejections remains the same and no new prior art is presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 – 20, and 22 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In this case, as previously indicated claim 15 recites the operating appliance includes (among other things), a switch, the switch having a gate couple to the data interface. However, there is no explicit disclosure of a switch or a gate and/or a switch having a gate couple to any structure in Applicant’s specification. There is only mention of a switching-mode power-supply in Applicant’s ¶[0011] of the published patent application (US 20220063146 A1), “In a preferred configuration, the operating appliance of each UV light source has an input-side rectifier that is connected to the power supply line, and an inverter that is connected to the rectifier and actuated by a microcontroller, said inverter being connected on the output side to the UV light source. In this configuration, the operating appliance has a structure similar to that of a switched-mode power supply.”
Applicant’s argument in the Remarks (pages 6 – 7) filed on November 21, 2025, seems to suggest that the disclosure intrinsically discloses a gate in the context of an inverter with field-effect transistors (i.e., “Specification, [0022]-[0023]. Applicant's Specification states with respect to Figures 2 and 3 that "an inverter 18 [] realized by an H-bridge circuit with four field-effect transistors." Id., [0029]. One skilled in the art would understand field-effect transistors and other transistors as devices that are operable to switch electrical signals and power in circuits. For example, field-effect transistors include a source, a drain, and a gate.”). However, this is not found persuasive as to claims 15 – 20, and 22 – 23, since none of the claim limitations either require the new recited transistors to be field-effect transistors, or discloses the transistors in context of an inverter (e.g., although the amendment to the claims 16 – 19 now recites “the switch is a transistor”, these limitations are not in the context of an inverter “realized by an H-Bridge circuit with four field-effect transistors”, so as to provide support for the disclosure intrinsically disclosing a gate, as implied by Applicant’s argument).
Amended Claim 21, overcomes the 112(a) rejection, as it is amended to recite the switch being a transistor, and the operating appliance further including an inverter comprising the transistor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 5 – 6, 10 – 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noll (WO 2007057162 A1, of record), in view of Schempf et al. (WO 0061988 A2, of record), and further in view of Ozasa et al. (US 2004/0000880 A1, of record).
Regarding claim 1. Noll teaches a curing apparatus (radiation source 13; FIG. 1, Noll lines 140-144) having at least one UV module (modules 13a, FIG. 1), wherein the UV module (13a) has at least one UV light source (“At least one lamp 14”, Noll lines 149-151) for irradiating an inner wall of a pipe (Noll lines 138-144),
wherein the UV module (13a) that has been introduced into the pipe (see FIG. 1) is connected by means of a cable (18a, 18b; Noll lines 160-163) of the curing apparatus to a control device (30; see FIG. 1, Noll lines 195-202) of the curing apparatus situated outside the pipe (see FIG. 1),
wherein each UV module has at least one operating appliance (circuit arrangement 20, FIG. 2, lines 160-163; Noll further discloses it is known to use operating appliances such as ballast for igniting the lamps, Noll lines 120-126, and “two or more ballasts can be connected individually or in parallel to the UV fluorescent lamp in order to compensate for age-related changes in the radiation spectrum with different radiation powers to be able to operate”, Noll lines 52-58), is connected to the cable (18a, 18b) and directly to the UV light source (14),
wherein the control device (30) actuates the operating appliance (20) by way of the cable for the purpose of operating the UV light source (Noll lines 194-202)
wherein the operating appliance (20) having a power supply circuit which controls or regulates an operating current of the UV light source (Noll lines 160-163, and 83-191),
wherein the cable comprises two or more wires as a power supply line (18a, 18b), so that the UV light sources can be individually controlled and monitored (Noll lines 195-202),
wherein the operating appliance (20) is situated within the UV module, that is connected to the cable and directly to the UV light source, is or regulates an operating current of the UV light source (Noll lines 183-191).
Noll does not disclose the curing apparatus:
wherein the operating appliance is situated within the UV module;
wherein the cable comprises two or more further wires as a data line, and wherein bidirectional communication between the control device and the operating appliance takes place via the data line, so that the UV light sources can be individually controlled and monitored, and
characterized in that the operating appliance has an input-side rectifier that is connected to the power supply line, an inverter that is connected to the rectifier and actuated by a microcontroller, and an output side of the inverter being connected to the UV light source.
As to the limitations i and ii: Schempf et al. teaches a multi-module pipe inspection and repair device 10, Schempf et al. discloses that the modularity of the device 10 interconnected with a coiled tubing 22 by a base module 12 (“base module 12 includes circuit boards 42 which may house power conversion, communications, signal conditioning and control electronics”- lines 430-438) and allows it to be used with sensors already in existence and allows for the addition of other tooling and/or inspection technologies and systems (Abstract, lines 235-261), wherein a cable comprises power supply lines as well as two or more wires as a data line (coiled tubing 22 with internal tether; Schempf et al. lines 239-244, lines 307-323; “conductors contained within the tubing 22”, “coaxial cable 204 and bundled and shielded wire 206”- lines 333-338; “RS-232”- lines 726-727), and
wherein bidirectional communication between the control device and the operating appliance takes place via the data line (e.g., see Schempf et al. lines 673-690; lines 723-735, lines 730-735, lines 862-891), the device comprising a robot controller board 226 controls the device 10 and a user interface board 228 controls a control panel 230, which is connected to the lights and controls 222 (Schempf et al. lines 352-363),
Schempf et al. further discloses the use of power regulation modules in the base module 12 to regulate the various voltages required by any other component of the modules (Schempf et al. lines 748-753).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the operating appliance in at least one of the UV modules in the curing apparatus of Noll so that the operating appliance is situated within the UV module, for the purpose of e.g., individual power regulation for varying power requirements of the module components, as taught by Schempf et al. lines 748-753, since Schempf et al. teaches that circuit boards which may house power conversion, communications, signal conditioning and control electronics can be situated within a module (Schempf et al. lines 430-438), since it has been held that making in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in multiple pieces involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (V) (B):
In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 133 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965); In re Lockhart, 90 USPQ 214. The use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the prior art would be obvious. It has been held to be within the general skill of one working in the art to make plural parts unitary or integral.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify in the same way the at least one of the UV module in the curing apparatus of Noll with a base module 12 comprising circuit boards 42 which may house power conversion, communications, signal conditioning and control electronics and a coiled tubing 22 comprising power supply as well as bidirectional communication via a data line, as suggested and taught by the prior art of Schempf et al., for the purpose of e.g., providing the curing apparatus’ UV module with circuits boards capable of power conversion, communications, signal conditioning and electronics control, as taught by Schempf et al. lines 430-438, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, e.g., a curing apparatus comprising at least one UV module capable of bidirectional communication with a control unit, so that the UV light sources can be individually controlled and monitored. See MPEP 2143 (I) (Rationale C).
As to the limitation iii: Ozasa et al. teaches a lighting method and apparatus for a high-pressure discharge lamp (analogous to the claimed “UV light source”), and a high-pressure discharge lamp apparatus [0003], each capable of preventing excessive burden on the lighting apparatus even when the high-pressure discharge lamp is operated at a lower power than its rated power [0007], and used in a curing apparatus for a UV curable resin [0016], the apparatus may be provided with an attachment unit to which the lamp is attached, or without an attachment unit so that the lamp is directly connected to a lighting apparatus [0016],
the apparatus comprising an operating appliance (ballast 300), characterized in that the operating appliance (300) has an input-side rectifier (301) that is connected to the power supply line (see FIG. 4), an inverter (303) that is connected to the rectifier (301) and actuated by a microcontroller (305; see [0041]-[0045]), and an output side of the inverter (303) being connected to the UV light source (100) (see FIG. 4 and [0040]-[0041]),
Ozasa et al. discloses the circuit comprises a current detector 306 and voltage detector 307 in communication with the microcontroller 305, and discloses operating power control of the lamp by the microcontroller [0042]- [0043].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the operating appliance in at least one of the UV modules of the curing apparatus of Noll/Schempf with an operating appliance having an input-side rectifier that is connected to the power supply line, an inverter that is connected to the rectifier and actuated by a microcontroller, and an output side of the inverter being connected to the UV light source, as suggested and taught by Ozasa et al., for the purpose of preventing excessive burden on the lighting apparatus even when the high-pressure discharge lamp is operated at a lower power than its rated power, as taught by Ozasa et al. [0007]. See MPEP 2143 (I) (Rationale G).
Regarding claim 2. Noll/Schempf/Ozasa teaches the curing apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the operating appliance has an ignition device (Noll lines 120-132; e.g., Ozasa et al. 304 [0041]) for igniting the UV light source that is embodied as a discharge lamp (Noll lines 23-51, 75-88).
Regarding claim 5. Noll/Schempf/Ozasa teaches the curing apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein two or more operating appliances are connected in parallel with the wires of the power supply line and the wires of the data line (Noll discloses connecting the operating appliances in parallel, see Noll lines 160-172; further, Noll discloses that it is known that two or more ballasts can be connected individually or in parallel to the UV fluorescent lamp in order to compensate for age-related changes in the radiation spectrum with different radiation powers to be able to operate, Noll lines 52-58).
Regarding claim 6. Noll/Schempf/Ozasa teaches the curing apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the operating appliance has an RS 485 serial data interface (Schempf et al. lines 726-727), which uses the wires of the data line for data transfer between the operating appliance and the control device (see Schempf et al. lines 673-690; lines 723-735, lines 730-735, lines 862-891).
Regarding claim 10. Noll/Schempf/Ozasa teaches the curing apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the operating appliance has a current measuring device (Ozasa et al. 306) that is connected to, or integrated in, the microcontroller, the current measuring device to measure a current flowing through the UV light source (see Ozasa et al. [0042]- [0043]).
Regarding claim 11. Noll/Schempf/Ozasa teaches the curing apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the cable is embodied as a pull cable, by means of which a plurality of similar UV modules that are strung in succession and coupled to one another are movable through the pipe (see any of Noll FIG. 1; Schempf et al. FIGs. 1, 5, 5G).
Claim(s) 8 – 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noll (WO 2007057162 A1), in view of Schempf et al. (WO 0061988 A2), and Ozasa et al. (US 2004/0000880 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hesterman et al. (US Pat. No. 5,877,592; of record).
Regarding claim 8. Noll/Schempf/Ozasa teaches the curing apparatus as claimed in claim 1, except for explicitly disclosing, wherein an output side of the inverter is coupled to a voltage overshoot circuit, by way of an impulse discharge of a capacitor via an additional winding of a choke connected on the output side of the inverter, the voltage overshoot circuit to produce an ignition voltage that has overshot an operating voltage of the UV light source at the UV light source.
Nonetheless, it is noted that the final operation of the claimed voltage overshoot circuit is similar to Ozasa et al. High-Voltage Generator circuit 304 (FIG. 4l [0041]).
Hesterman, directed to electronic ballasts (operating appliances) that provide a technique known as programmed starting, that utilize dual-mode inverters to achieve filament preheating (Col. 1, lines 5 – 9), discloses a programmed start ballast circuit having a parallel-resonant inverter that receives power from a DC power supply and provides high-frequency power to operate one or more fluorescent lamps, this parallel-resonant inverter has a DC choke inductor, a resonating inductance, a resonating capacitance, and first and second sets of main switching transistors, each of which contains at least one transistor, the DC choke inductor has at least one main winding and at least two additional windings that are used to provide filament heating (Col. 3, lines 13 – 30), and that the DC power supply is typically a rectifier circuit having either active or passive power factor correction (PFC) (Col. 4, ll. 40 – 45), a voltage overshoot circuit (L, C) (see Hesterman’s Col. 7, lines 14 – 27), the latter producing at the input of the UV light source an ignition voltage that has overshot an operating voltage of the UV light source (see Hesterman’s Col. 7, line 19 – 23), depending on the frequency of the output voltage of the inverter (see Hesterman’s Col. 7, line 41 – 44). Hesterman discloses that the programmed starting, improves lamp life by using said soft starting methods (Col. 1, lines 38 – 40, and Col. 2, lines 27 – 41).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify in the same manner the operating appliance in at least one of the UV modules of the curing apparatus of Noll/Schempf/Ozasa wherein an output side of the inverter is coupled to a voltage overshoot circuit, by way of an impulse discharge of a capacitor via an additional winding of a choke connected on the output side of the inverter, the voltage overshoot circuit to produce an ignition voltage that has overshot an operating voltage of the UV light source at the UV light source, as suggested and taught by Hesterman, e.g., improve UV lamp service life, since Hesterman teaches that the programmed starting improves lamp life (see Hesterman at Col. 1, lines 38 – 40, and Col. 2, lines 27 – 41). See MPEP 2143 (I) (Rationale G).
Regarding claim 9. Noll/Schempf/Ozasa/Hesterman teaches the curing apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein an output side of the inverter is coupled to a voltage overshoot circuit that, by way of an impulsive discharge of a capacitor (C) via an additional winding of a choke (L) connected on the output side to the inverter (see Hesterman’s Col. 5, line 32 – 40), the voltage overshoot circuit to produce an ignition voltage that has overshot an operating voltage of the UV light source at the UV light source (see Hesterman’s Col. 7, line 19 – 23).
Claim(s) 12 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noll (WO 2007057162 A1), in view of Schempf et al. (WO 0061988 A2), Ozasa et al. (US 2004/0000880 A1), and Hesterman et al. (US Pat. No. 5,877,592; of record), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of PEIL et al. (US PGPub. No. 20130010460 A1; of record).
Regarding claim 12. Noll/Schempf/Ozasa/Hesterman teaches the curing apparatus as claimed in claim 1, except for, wherein each UV module has one or more temperature detectors that are connected to, or integrated in, the operating appliance.
Nonetheless, Schempf et al. discloses the modularity of the device 10 allows it to be used with sensors already in existence and allows for the addition of other tooling and/or inspection technologies and systems (Schempf et al. lines 252-256).
In the same field of endeavor of duct relining, “where it is known to provide the inside of pipes with a light-curable coating or substance in the form of a hose,” (Peil [0004]), Peil discloses a UV-light (see Peil [0023]) curing device (“lighting unit, 90, comprising “lighting devices,” 93 – 93’’’; Peil [0090], FIG. 11) [0020],
Peil discloses that the lighting device comprises at least one sensor e.g., voltage sensors, current sensors, and magnetic-field sensors, photosensors, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, motion sensors “which detect an operating status of the lighting device” [0046], said operating devices can be placed on the LED substrate or at different points in the lighting device (analogous to the claimed “at least one operating appliance situated within the UV module”), and are able to report back the operating status of the lighting device, and by feedback mechanisms, “process-relevant parameters can be actively controlled,” e.g. the operating current, the control of certain LEDs or groups, the coolant circuit, the lamp shape, the movement of the lamp or of an illuminated object, the temperature of the object, “in order to optimize the process and the result. Likewise, tolerances or degradation processes can be compensated.” (Peil [0046]). Peil discloses certain UV curing exposure can damage temperature-sensitive objects (see Peil [0023]),
Peil at [0090] discloses that these sensors report the operating status to a control and power-supply unit 91 and allow the operating conditions to be adapted… “This also allows a selective control of relevant operating parameters” – analogous to the claimed “wires as a data line,” having “bidirectional communication between the control device (e.g., 91) and the operating devices (e.g. sensors) takes place via the data line, so that the UV light sources can be individually controlled and monitored.”
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the at least one UV module in the curing apparatus of Noll/Schempf/Ozasa/Hesterman wherein each UV module has one or more temperature detectors that are connected to, or integrated in, the operating appliance, as suggested and taught by Peil, for the purpose of detect an operating status of the lighting device, such as the temperature of the object being cured, and therefore actively control in the case of temperature-sensitive objects, as taught by Peil [0023]. See MPEP 2143 (I) (Rationale C).
Regarding claim 13. Noll/Schempf/Ozasa/Hesterman/Peil teaches the curing apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein the temperature detectors are capable of measure the surface temperature of the inner wall of the pipe (e.g., Peil discloses at [0046] “process-relevant parameters can be actively controlled, e.g. -inter alia- “the temperature of the object”, in this case the temperature of the object is analogous to the claimed “surface temperature of the inner wall of the pipe).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noll (WO 2007057162 A1), in view of Schempf et al. (WO 0061988 A2), Ozasa et al. (US 2004/0000880 A1), Hesterman et al. (US Pat. No. 5,877,592; of record), and PEIL et al. (US PGPub. No. 20130010460 A1; of record), as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of REUTEMANN (WO 2009056362 A1; of record).
Regarding claim 14. Noll/Schempf/Ozasa/Hesterman/Peil teaches the curing apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the operating appliance further comprises one or more photosensors (e.g., Schempf lines 478-496 discloses the use of multiple type of sensors e.g., diffuse light sensors “which detect a marker provided by a marker module 38 to accurately locate a flaw within the pipe. The diffuse light sensors 82 combine both a light source and a detector in one package.”; Ozasa et al. [0076] discloses the use of a photo sensor for detecting brightness) that are connected to, or integrated in, the microcontroller, for measuring the produced UV light intensity, a temperature sensor for measuring the system temperature of the respective UV module or the air temperature in the surroundings of the UV module (e.g., Peil temperature sensors), except for, a spatial orientation sensor for capturing the longitudinal or transverse tilt of at least one of the UV module, and a position sensor for capturing the position of the respective UV module in the pipe.
In the same field of endeavor of apparatus for curing plastic liners for sewer rehabilitation (Reutmann Description p. 2), Reutmann discloses a device for curing plastic refiners for sewer rehabilitation with at least one UV light source, wherein rollers for supporting the device in the sewer pipe and a video camera are provided and wherein a traction device is provided, with which the device pulled through the sewer pipe to be rehabilitated (Reutmann Description, p.2). Reutmann further discloses that at least one heat resistance device for position detection can be provided (Reutmann Description, p.2).
Reutmann discloses that by knowing the internal pipe diameter and also the diameter and the position of the device and thus of the temperature sensors, the determined values of the sensors can be better correlated, evaluated and interpreted (Reutmann p. 3, ¶15), the positions of the device in the tube are determined and recorded, and that this recording makes it possible to record not only the internal pressure, air and surface temperatures, speeds, distances traveled, time, ignited emitters, video images, performances of the ignited emitters, horizontal and vertical position of the device and/or UV intensity, but to relate all these parameters to each other. “Thus, it is conceivable that the tube length for each tube position, the real-time video images are retrievable, as well as the entire relevant data.” (Reutmann p. 4 ¶5).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the operating appliance in the at least one UV curing module of the curing apparatus of Noll/Schempf/Ozasa/Hesterman/Peil with a position sensor capable of capturing the position of the respective UV module in the pipe, as taught by Reutmann, for the purpose of e.g., making possible the position of the device and correlate the data with, in example, the measurements of the sensors such as ignited emitters, surface temperatures, etc., so that the determined values of the sensors can be better correlated, evaluated and interpreted, as taught by Reutmann (Reutmann p.3, ¶15). See MPEP 2144 (I) (Rationale D).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noll (WO 2007057162 A1, of record), in view of Schempf et al. (WO 0061988 A2, of record), and further in view of Ozasa et al. (US 2004/0000880 A1, of record).
Regarding claim 15, Noll teaches an ultraviolet (UV) module of a curing apparatus (radiation source 13; FIG. 1, Noll lines 140-144), the UV module (13) comprising:
a UV light source (“At least one lamp 14”, Noll lines 149-151); and
an operating appliance (circuit arrangement 20) coupled to a control device (3) that includes a switch (25, 26) (e.g., see circuit arrangement 20, FIG. 2, lines 160-163; Noll further discloses it is known to use operating appliances such as ballast for igniting the lamps, Noll lines 120-126, and “two or more ballasts can be connected individually or in parallel to the UV fluorescent lamp in order to compensate for age-related changes in the radiation spectrum with different radiation powers to be able to operate”, see Noll lines 52-58, “switches 25, 26” lines 164-182,
see line 137, FIG. 3, lines 111-115 “the switching from one power supply to the other or both can be done via contactors or relays, so that can be dispensed with complex electronic control devices, although such desired cases can also be used.”),
a power terminal (e.g., electrical lead 18a, 18b, FIG. 2), the power terminal (e.g., electrical lead 18a, 18b) coupled between a power supply line (21, 22) and the switch (25, 26; see FIG. 2), and
a control device (30) of the curing apparatus (lines 195-204),
the operating appliance to actuate the UV light source (14) when the control device (30) is positioned outside of a pipe while the UV light source (e.g., see FIG. 1 UV module 13 comprising lamp 14, Noll lines 149-151) are positioned within the pipe (see FIG. 1).
Noll does not disclose the UV module comprising:
the UV module comprising the operating appliances that includes the switch,
a data interface,
the switch having a gate coupled to the data interface,
the data interface coupled to the control device (30) of the curing apparatus, and
the operating appliance to actuate the UV light source while the operating appliance and the UV light source are positioned within the pipe.
As to the limitations i, ii, iv and v:
Like Noll, Schempf et al. teaches the multi-module pipe inspection and repair device 10, comprising – inter alia – a base module 12, a module 14 comprising circuit boards 92 and having on board sensors 82 (Schempf et al. discloses the on board sensor 82 combines a light source and a detector in one package, lines 482-483), a stepper motor 84 driving a screw 86, a ram 88, proximity type switches, locomotor power regulation 162 [analogous to the claimed power terminal], locomotor microcontroller 164, locomotor actuator 166 (see Schempf et al. lines 478-496, and FIGs. 35 – 40) [hence, under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), said circuit boards 92 comprising all those elements is analogous to the claimed operating appliance that includes a switch],
a data interface (e.g., see FIGs. 35 – 40, the device 10 interconnected with a coiled tubing 22 by a base module 12, lines 430-438 “base module 12 includes circuit boards 42 which may house power conversion, communications, signal conditioning and control electronics”, e.g., lines 726-757 “serial line driver 160 provides high-speed serial communication (e.g. RS-232) over the length of the tether 22”, see also lines 862-891 “A single CPU can reside in the base module 12 and communicate to the topside CPU in the interface 26 by way of a serial connection (or any other type such as fiber-optic, ethernet, etc.”) – [analogous to the claimed “the data interface coupled to the control device of the curing apparatus”],
the switch having a gate coupled to the data interface (e.g., Schempf et al. discloses that the module 14 comprises proximity type switches indicating the end of travel of a ram 88 attached to the module’s electronics by flexible ribbon cables 90 (FIG. 22), hence, under the broadest reasonable interpretation the proximity type switches have a gate coupled to the microcontroller 164 (data interface), as shown in FIG. 36, providing data regarding the ram 88 reaching its end of travel (see lines 484-496),
the operating appliance to actuate the light source while the operating appliance and the light source are positioned within the pipe (e.g., see FIGs. 5, 5C, lines 121-125).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the operating appliance (Noll’s circuit arrangement 20 comprising the switches 25, 26) in the ultraviolet (UV) module in the curing apparatus of Noll with the operating appliance that includes a switch, a data interface, and the operating appliance situated within the UV module, as taught and suggested by Schempf et al., for the purpose of e.g., individual power regulation for varying power requirements of the module components, as taught by Schempf et al. lines 748-753, since Schempf et al. teaches that circuit boards which may house power conversion, communications, signal conditioning and control electronics (i.e., operating appliance) can be situated within a module (Schempf et al. lines 430-438), and since it has been held that making in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in multiple pieces involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (V) (B):
In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 133 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965); In re Lockhart, 90 USPQ 214. The use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the prior art would be obvious. It has been held to be within the general skill of one working in the art to make plural parts unitary or integral.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to pursue the modification of the operating appliance in the UV module of Noll in view of the operating appliance of Schempf et al. for the purpose of e.g., providing the curing apparatus’ UV module with circuits boards capable of power conversion, communications, signal conditioning and electronics control, as taught by Schempf et al. lines 430-438, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, e.g., a curing apparatus comprising at least one UV module capable of bidirectional communication with a control unit, so that the UV light sources can be individually controlled and monitored. See MPEP 2143 (I) (Rationale C).
As to the limitation iii:
Ozasa et al. teaches a lighting method and apparatus for a high-pressure discharge lamp (analogous to the claimed “UV light source”), and a high-pressure discharge lamp apparatus [0003], each capable of preventing excessive burden on the lighting apparatus even when the high-pressure discharge lamp is operated at a lower power than its rated power [0007], and used in a curing apparatus for a UV curable resin [0016], the apparatus may be provided with an attachment unit to which the lamp is attached, or without an attachment unit so that the lamp is directly connected to a lighting apparatus [0016],
the apparatus comprising an operating appliance (ballast 300), characterized in that the operating appliance (300) has an input-side rectifier (301) that is connected to the power supply line (see FIG. 4), an inverter (303) that is connected to the rectifier (301) [analogous to the claimed switch] and actuated by a microcontroller (data interface) (305; see [0041]-[0045] – [hence, under BRI, analogous to the claimed “the switch having a gate coupled to the data interface”]), and an output side of the inverter (303) being connected to the UV light source (100) (see FIG. 4 and [0040]-[0041]),
Ozasa et al. discloses the circuit comprises a current detector 306 and voltage detector 307 in communication with the microcontroller 305, and discloses operating power control of the lamp by the microcontroller (a data interface) [0042]- [0043].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the UV module in the curing apparatus of Noll/Schempf with the switch (e.g., Schempf et al. power regulation circuit 178) having a gate coupled to the data interface (e.g., the microcontroller), as suggested and taught by Ozasa et al., for the purpose of operating power control of the lamp by the microcontroller, as taught by Ozasa et al. [0042-0043]. See MPEP 2143 (I) (Rationale G).
Claim(s) 16, and 18 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noll (WO 2007057162 A1), in view of Schempf et al. (WO 0061988 A2), and Ozasa et al. (US 2004/0000880 A1), as applied to claim 15 above, as evidenced by the non-patent literature of Graham Lambert (“How to Build a DC to AC Power Inverter”, Lambert).
Regarding claim 16. Noll/Schempf/Ozasa teaches the UV module of claim 15, wherein the operating appliance further includes a rectifier (e.g., see Ozasa et al. [0041]) coupled between the power terminal and the switch, except for explicitly disclosing, wherein the switch (e.g., Schempf lines 815 – 834 “Patch Power Regulation module” 178 FIG. 39; and/or Ozasa lighting apparatus 300 comprising, inter alia, inverter 303) is a transistor.
However, as evidenced by Lambert, power inverters such as inverter 303 disclosed by Ozasa are comprised by, inter alia, a circuit comprising an square wave oscillator, a half-bridge MOSFET circuit, wherein the MOSFET transistors are switched on and off by the square wave generated by square wave generator, see Lambert pages 3 – 6) the operating appliance further includes a rectifier (see Ozasa DC Power Supply 301, [0041] “DC power supply 301 includes e.g. a rectifier circuit”) coupled between the power terminal (e.g., Ozasa AC100V in FIG 4) and the transistor (303). (See Ozasa et al. FIG. 4).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the UV module of Noll/Schempf/Ozasa so that the rectifier (e.g., see Ozasa et al. [0041]) is coupled between the power terminal and the transistor, as suggested by Ozasa et al. [0041], since it have been held that a mere rearrangement of element without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)
It has generally been recognized that to shift location of parts when the operation of the device is not otherwise changed is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Gazda, 104 USPQ 400.
Regarding claim 18. Noll/Schempf/Ozasa teaches the UV module of claim 15, wherein the switch is a transistor (e.g., Ozasa lighting apparatus 300 comprising, inter alia, inverter 303), the operating appliance further includes a microcontroller (e.g., Schempf lines 817-828 “microcontroller 180” FIG. 39, and/or Ozasa controller 305) coupled between the transistor (e.g., Ozasa inverter 303) and the data interface (e.g., Schempf et al. lines 673-690, 723-735, 862-891; Ozasa FIG. 4 and [0041 – 0045]), and the transistor (e.g., Ozasa inverter 303) coupled between the microcontroller (e.g., Ozasa controller 305) and the power terminal (e.g., Ozasa AC100V, FIG. 4; see the discussion of claim 1 above and Ozasa et al. FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 19. Noll/Schempf/Ozasa teaches the UV module of claim 15, wherein the switch is a transistor (e.g., Ozasa lighting apparatus 300 comprising, inter alia, inverter 303), the operating appliance further includes an inverter (e.g., Ozasa inverter 303) and a rectifier (e.g., Ozasa [0041] “DC Power Supply 301 includes e.g. a rectifier circuit”) coupled in parallel with the inverter (Ozasa 303), and the inverter includes the transistor (as evidenced by Lambert, see the discussion of claim 16 above, and Ozasa et al. FIG. 4).
Claim(s) 20 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noll (WO 2007057162 A1), in view of Schempf et al. (WO 0061988 A2), and Ozasa et al. (US 2004/0000880 A1), as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Hesterman et al. (US Pat. No. 5,877,592; of record) as evidenced by the non-patent literature of Graham Lambert (“How to Build a DC to AC Power Inverter”, Lambert).
Regarding claim 20. Noll/Schempf/Ozasa teaches the UV module of claim 15, except for, wherein the operating appliance further includes a voltage overshoot circuit with an inductance and a capacitance, the voltage overshoot circuit to provide an ignition voltage to the UV light source. (See the discussion of claims 8 and 9 above).
Nonetheless, it is noted that the final operation of the claimed voltage overshoot circuit is similar to Ozasa et al. High-Voltage Generator circuit 304 (FIG. 4l [0041]).
Hesterman, directed to electronic ballasts (operating appliances) that provide a technique known as programmed starting, that utilize dual-mode inverters to achieve filament preheating (Col. 1, lines 5 – 9), discloses a programmed start ballast circuit having a parallel-resonant inverter that receives power from a DC power supply and provides high-frequency power to operate one or more fluorescent lamps, this parallel-resonant inverter has a DC choke inductor, a resonating inductance, a resonating capacitance, and first and second sets of main switching transistors, each of which contains at least one transistor, the DC choke inductor has at least one main winding and at least two additional windings that are used to provide filament heating (Col. 3, lines 13 – 30), and that the DC power supply is typically a rectifier circuit having either active or passive power factor correction (PFC) (Col. 4, ll. 40 – 45), a voltage overshoot circuit (L, C) (see Hesterman’s Col. 7, lines 14 – 27), the latter producing at the input of the UV light source an ignition voltage that has overshot an operating voltage of the UV light source (see Hesterman’s Col. 7, line 19 – 23), depending on the frequency of the output voltage of the inverter (see Hesterman’s Col. 7, line 41 – 44). Hesterman discloses that the programmed starting, improves lamp life by using said soft starting methods (Col. 1, lines 38 – 40, and Col. 2, lines 27 – 41).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify in the same manner the operating appliance in at least one of the UV modules of the curing apparatus of Noll/Schempf/Ozasa wherein an output side of the inverter is coupled to a voltage overshoot circuit, by way of an impulse discharge of a capacitor via an additional winding of a choke connected on the output side of the inverter, the voltage overshoot circuit to produce an ignition voltage that has overshot an operating voltage of the UV light source at the UV light source, as suggested and taught by Hesterman, e.g., improve UV lamp service life, since Hesterman teaches that the programmed starting improves lamp life (see Hesterman at Col. 1, lines 38 – 40, and Col. 2, lines 27 – 41). See MPEP 2143 (I) (Rationale G).
Regarding claim 21, the claims attempt to further limit the parent claim by defining what certain features are used for (e.g., “the inverter to actuate such that the inductance and the capacitance are in resonance”); however, the operation of the apparatus is not germane to the patentability thereof and such fails to further limit the structure of the apparatus. Applicant is respectfully reminded that, as per MPEP 2114 (II), the manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claim from the prior art:
"[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Nonetheless, Noll/Schempf/Ozasa/Hesterman teaches the UV module of claim 20, wherein the switch is a transistor (as evidenced by Lambert, see the discussion of claim 16 above), the operating appliance further includes an inverter comprising the transistor (e.g., Ozasa DC/AC inverter 303), and the inverter capable of actuating such that the inductance and the capacitance are in resonance. (See the discussion of Hesterman in claim 8 above, and Hesterman Col. 1, lines 57-67, cont. Col. 5, lines 1-21, Col. 5, lines 63-67, cont. Col. 6, lines 1-16).
Regarding claim 22. Noll/Schempf/Ozasa/Hesterman teaches the UV module of claim 20, wherein the operating appliance further includes a voltage doubling circuit, the capacitance coupled between the voltage doubling circuit and a first winding of the inductance (see Hesterman FIG. 4, having capacitance C61, C62, coupled between the voltage doubling circuit e.g., T2, T2A, T2B, and a first winding of the inductance L4E, L4F).
Regarding claim 23. Noll/Schempf/Ozasa/Hesterman teaches the module of claim 22, wherein the inductance includes a second winding (see Hesterman FIG. 4, L4D) to provide a discharge path for the capacitance.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noll (WO 2007057162 A1), in view of Schempf et al. (WO 0061988 A2), Ozasa et al. (US 2004/0000880 A1), as applied to claim 15 above, as evidenced by the non-patent literature of Graham Lambert (“How to Build a DC to AC Power Inverter”, Lambert), and further in view of Limpkin et al. (US Pat. No. 7,646,279; of record).
Regarding claim 17. Noll/Schempf/Ozasa teaches the UV module of claim 15, wherein the switch is a transistor (e.g., Ozasa inverter 303, as evidenced by Lambert), except for, the operating appliance further includes a mains filter coupled between the power terminal (e.g., Ozasa AC100V, FIG. 4) and the transistor (e.g., Ozasa inverter 303).
However, the use of a mains filter coupled between the power terminal and the switch is well known and customary in the art. For example, Limpkin et al. teaches an apparatus for supplying energy to a load comprising a supply unit 102 (e.g., a switched mode electronic transformer of electronic ballast having an input for receiving current at a mains frequency (Abstract), and discloses that “Energy from supply 200 passes to a power supply unit 202 having a mains filter stage 203 for suppressing mains interference flowing from the mains supply to the unit 202 and also from the unit 202 back into the mains.” (Limpkin et al. Col. 5, lines 64-67, cont. Col. 6, line 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the operating appliance in the at least one UV module of the curing apparatus of Noll/Schempf/Ozasa/Hesterman/Peil wherein the operating appliance further includes a mains filter coupled between the power terminal and the switch, as suggested and taught by Limpkin et al., for the purpose of suppressing mains interference flowing from the mains supply between the power terminal to the switch and also from the switch back into the mains, as taught by Limpkin et al. See MPEP 2144 (I) (Rationale G).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed November 21, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 15 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that rejection of independent claim 1 errs, since “the Office acknowledges that Noll does not teach or suggest this claimed feature that involves UV light sources being individually controlled and monitored [a recitation of intended use and the manner in which the apparatus is intended to operate],” and that “Noll cannot be combined with Schempf inasmuch as Noll teaches away from such combination,” since “Noll teaches simultaneously igniting all lamps of a modular or chain-shaped radiation source in its curing apparatus.” However, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In this case, the structural differences between the apparatus of Noll and the claimed invention (i.e., the operating appliance situated within the UV module, the cables comprising two or more further wires as a data line, and the operating appliance has an input-side rectifier that is connected to the power supply line, an inverter that is connected to the rectifier and actuated by a microcontroller, and an output side of the inverter being connected to the UV light source) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art in view of the prior art of Schempf (e.g., Noll/Schempf renders as obvious the operating appliance situated within the UV module, as well as circuitry comprising, inter alia, data lines, and microcontrollers to control the voltage/current of the UV light source), and Ozasa (e.g., Noll/Schempf/Ozasa renders as obvious the operating appliance has an input-side rectifier that is connected to the power supply line, an inverter that is connected to the rectifier and actuated by a microcontroller, and an output side of the inverter being connected to the UV light source), as previously presented in the Non-Final Office action, and as indicated in claim 1 above.
Applicant is respectfully reminded that, as per MPEP 2114 (II), the manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claim from the prior art: "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
In response to applicant's argument that “As Schempf's various circuit boards for power conversion already include a rectifier, the Office's articulated reason fails to explain why one skilled in the art would be motivated to further modify the Office's proposed combination of Noll and Schempf with the DC power supply 301 of Ozasa. The only apparent reason is to cobble together disparate elements to meet the claimed operating appliance, as presently set forth in pending independent claim 1, which suggests that impermissible hindsight analysis underlies the current obviousness rejection of pending independent claim 1,” as well as to applicant’s argument that “the Office has not carried its burden to establish a prima facie case of obviousness for independent claim 15. Specifically, the Office Action lacks any articulated reason as to why the subject matter presently recited by pending independent claim 15 would have been obvious to one skilled in the art in view of the cited references, as currently applied” (Remarks pages 8 – 11), the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning (Remarks pages 8 – 11), it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
From the outset, Noll is directed to the same type of curing apparatus having at least one UV module (comprising e.g., UV-generating metal halide lamps [a type of discharge lamp], which are analogous to the claimed “UV light source”, notice that Applicant discloses at [0030] of the published US Patent Application Publication US 2022/0063146 A1, that the UV light source is embodied as a discharge lamp), as well as concerned with the same problem as the claimed invention (i.e., irradiating an inner wall of a pipe). Similarly, Schempf discloses multi-module pipe inspection and repair devices comprising light sources 263 that can be pulse width modulated (PWM) by circuits within the modules (e.g., see Schempf FIG. 39, and pages 7 – 9 of the Non-Final Office action), and Ozasa discloses lighting method and apparatus for a high-pressure discharge lamp, and a high-pressure discharge lamp apparatus applicable to UV curable resin apparatuses and processes (Ozasa [0016]). Therefore, the references are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (e.g., an UV light curing apparatus for pipes), and a person of ordinary skill would have consulted them and applied their teachings when faced with the problem that the inventor was trying to solve (e.g., an UV module for a curing apparatus, as taught by Noll, wherein the UV module comprises an improved operating appliance situated within the UV module, as suggested by Schempf, as well as the circuitry necessary to operate such UV module comprising a discharge lamp as the UV light source, as taught by Ozasa). Airbus, 41 F.3d at 1380-82. MPEP 2141.01(a). As such, Applicant assertion of impermissible hindsight analysis is unpersuasive, since the examiner rejections takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are found unpersuasive based on the latter, and at least because they are directed to a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention that does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art of record in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art (as discussed above), which prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, meeting the claim.
Absent persuasive evidence or arguments, the examiner submits the claims would need to be further amended to overcome the prima facie case.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Grant. et al. (US Pat. 6,450,104 B1): modular observation crawler and sensing instrument and method for operating same; Col. 16, ll. 15 – 38.
/EDGAREDMANUEL TROCHE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/JEFFREY M WOLLSCHLAGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742