DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Accordingly, Claims 8, 19-23 have been previously withdrawn. Newly added claim 27 is withdrawn based on original election of species. Claims 1, 2, 11, 13, 18, and newly added claims 24-26, 28, 29 are pending and will be examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections Maintained - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 11, 13, 18, 24-26, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Weiner et al. (WO/2014/144885, listed on IDS filed 8/5/2024) in view of Lonberg et al. (US Patent 9,505,839).
The claims are drawn to a composition for enhancing an immune response against an antigen in a subject in need thereof comprising a monoclonal LAG-3 antibody and a HPV antigen, HIV antigen, HBV antigen, HCV antigen, prostate antigen, RSV antigen, influenza antigen, Plasmodium falciparum antigen, C. difficile, and tumor antigen encoded by a nucleic acid molecule.
Weiner et al. teach increasing immune response in a subject in need thereof by administering a combination of a vaccine comprising one or more nucleic acid or amino acid sequences of cancer antigens that are no longer self-antigens and stimulate an immune response, such as HPV (including HPV16), HIV, HBV (including HBV surface antigen), PSA, PSMA, STEAP, WT1, NYES01, tyrosinase and HCV (including E1 and E2), and a checkpoint inhibitor. Weiner et al. teach when the vaccine is combined with checkpoint inhibitors it increases the stimulation of both the cellular and humoral immune responses and using checkpoint inhibitor antibodies prevents suppression of T-cell and/or B-cell response and the cancer antigens to be recognized by the immune system helps to overcome other forms of immune suppression by tumor cells (see paragraph [0026]). Weiner et al. does not teach using a monoclonal LAG3 antibody as the checkpoint inhibitor. This deficiency is made up for by Lonberg et al.
Lonberg et al. teach blockade of LAG3 by monoclonal antibodies can enhance the immune response and can be used in conjunction with other immunogenic agents and discloses LAG-3 blockade is likely to be more effective when combined with a vaccination protocol. Lonberg et al. discloses examples of tumor vaccines that can be used include peptides of melanoma antigens, such as MAGE and/or tyrosinase (see paragraph [160]) and proteins from viruses including HPV, HBV, and HCV (see paragraph [164]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make a composition comprising a combination of a monoclonal anti-LAG3 checkpoint inhibitor antibody with an antigen vaccine protocol to enhance immune response based on the teachings of Weiner et al. and Lonberg et al. Wiener et al. teach successful immune response by the combination of checkpoint inhibitors and antigens HPV, HBV, PSA, PSMA, STEAP, WT1, NYES01, tyrosinase and HCV and Lonberg et al. teach combining LAG3 antibodies and other vaccines, such as HPV, HBV, HCV, can enhance immune response. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use checkpoint inhibitor antibodies in combination with antigen vaccines to arrive at the claimed composition, for increased immune response in a subject in need thereof.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argue in the response filed 12/11/2025 “Weiner does not teach using a monoclonal LAG3 antibody as the checkpoint inhibitor whatsoever” and “in seeking information about the LAG3 antibody, including its compatibility of use with antigens, would not find such information in Weiner-- and would thus look to the disclosure of Lonberg.” Applicant’s further argue in view of Weiner “a skilled artisan will not be able to predict exactly which antigen to combine with the LAG3 antibody with a reasonable expectation of success” because Weiner is silent on LAG3 antibodies. Applicant’s argue “Lonberg does not disclose that the LAG3 antibody can be used in conjunction with a synthetic antigen selected from the group” recited in instant claim 1.“ These arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Both Weiner et al. and Lonberg et al. are drawn to combination treatment with the objective to stimulate the immune response while targeting a particular antigen. Lonberg et al. specifically disclose the “LAG-3 blockade is particularly useful against established infections by agents such as HIV that present altered antigens over the course of the infections. These novel epitopes are recognized as foreign at the time of anti-human LAG-3 administration, thus provoking a strong T cell response that is not dampened by negative signals through LAG-3” thus providing strong motivation to combine a LAG-3 antibody with a vaccine that encodes for an antigen recited in instant claim 1 as taught by Weiner et al. Furthermore, the instant situation is amenable to the type of analysis set forth in In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069 (CCPA 1980) wherein the court held that it is prima facie obvious to combine two modes of treatment, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to make a protocol that is to be used for the very same purpose since the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. Therefore, the rejection of record is hereby maintained.
New Grounds of Rejection
(based on reconsideration)
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 11, 13, 18, 24-26, 28, and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,116,838 in view of Weiner et al. (WO/2014/144885).
The claims of US Patent 11,116,838 are drawn to a composition comprising a monoclonal TIM-3 antibody or monoclonal LAG-3 antibody and a nucleic acid molecule comprising a nucleotide sequence encoding a synthetic hTERT antigen. The claims of US Patent 11,116,838 do not teach the combination with the recited antigens in instant claim 1, but this deficiency is made up for by Weiner et al.
Weiner et al. teach increasing immune response in a subject in need thereof by administering a combination of a vaccine comprising one or more nucleic acid or amino acid sequences of cancer antigens that are no longer self-antigens and stimulate an immune response, such as HPV (including HPV16), HIV, HBV (including HBV surface antigen), PSA, PSMA, STEAP, WT1, NYES01, tyrosinase and HCV (including E1 and E2), and a checkpoint inhibitor. Weiner et al. teach when the vaccine is combined with checkpoint inhibitors it increases the stimulation of both the cellular and humoral immune responses and using checkpoint inhibitor antibodies prevents suppression of T-cell and/or B-cell response and the cancer antigens to be recognized by the immune system helps to overcome other forms of immune suppression by tumor cells (see paragraph [0026]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make a composition comprising a monoclonal anti-LAG3 antibody and to substitute the hTERT encoded antigen recited in the claims of US Patent 11,116,838 with an encoded antigen of instant claim 1 based on the teachings of Weiner et al. Weiner et al. teach successful immune response by the combination of checkpoint inhibitors and antigens HPV, HBV, PSA, PSMA, STEAP, WT1, NYES01, tyrosinase and HCV to enhance immune response. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make compositions comprising a LAG-3 monoclonal antibody in combination with other antigen vaccines to arrive at the claimed composition, for increased immune response in a subject in need thereof.
All other objections/rejections are hereby withdrawn in view of applicants amendments to the
claims in the response filed 12/11/2025.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 2, 11, 13, 18, 24-26, 28, and 29 are rejected.
No Claim is allowed.
/Meera Natarajan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643