DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1,2,6,9 and 11 have been amended.
Claims 1-12 are pending and examined as follows:
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the transport means and smart window must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: connecting members in claim 9
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US20170353996A1) in view of Do et al (KR20200122447A) in view of Gautam et al (X-ray spectroscopy study of ZnxSn1−xO2 nanorods synthesized by hydrothermal technique).
With regards to claim 1, Lee et al discloses a transparent thin film heater (transparent sheet heater, Title) comprising a metal layer (heat-generating layer 300 including a conductive material which can be a metal nanowire, paragraph 0019, lines 1-3); and a transparent conductive oxide layer (zinc tin oxide (ZTO) coating or depositing a solution or material including the metal oxide on the pattern layer 200 on transparent substrate 100, Fig. 1, paragraph 0107, lines 1-4).
Lee et al does not discloses a nitrogen-doped transparent oxide layer and wherein the transparent conductive oxide layer is vapor-deposited as an amorphous phase in the presence of nitrogen at about room temperature.
Do et al teaches a nitrogen-doped transparent oxide layer (a nitrogen-doped SnO2-based lower oxide thin film on the transparent substrate, paragraph 0014, lines 2-4) and wherein the transparent conductive oxide layer is vapor-deposited as an amorphous phase in the presence of nitrogen (the nitrogen-doped SnO2-based lower oxide thin film 121 used a sputtering method, which is a physical vapor deposition method, and to use the sputtering method, the inert gas colliding with the SnO2 target in a vacuum state is argon gas ( Ar), oxygen gas (O2), and nitrogen gas (N2) are preferably mixed in a predetermined ratio, paragraph 0043, lines 1-2) at about room temperature (Do’s step S220 has it that heat treatment occurs after the nitrogen-doped transparent oxide layer is deposited; Do also mentions “room temperature” in its background section, clearly suggesting it applies to its disclosure).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lee et al and Do et al before him or her, to modify the oxide layer of Lee et al to include the doping of nitrogen as taught by Do et al because the combination allows for excellent surface characteristics and improved electrical conductivity for a thin film heater.
Lee et al and Do et al does not teach wherein the composition of the oxide layer is:
Gautam et al teaches composition of ZnxSn1−xO2 (0.0 ≤ x ≤ 0.07) (abstract, lines 1-2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lee et al, Do et al and Gautam et al before him or her, to modify the oxide layer of Lee et al and Do et al to include the composition as taught by Gautam et al because the combination allows for enhanced electrical conductivity.
With regards to claim 2, Lee et al discloses a multilayer structure of the multilayer structure of metal layer/transparent conductive oxide layer (MO) (heat-generating layer 300 including a conductive material which can be a metal nanowire, paragraph 0019, lines 1-3 and zinc tin oxide (ZTO) coating or depositing a solution or material including the metal oxide on the pattern layer 200 on transparent substrate 100, Fig. 1, paragraph 0107, lines 1-4).
With regards to claim 3, Lee et al discloses wherein the metal layer has a thickness of 5-25 nm (the heat-generating layer may have a thickness of from about 10 nm to about 500 nm, paragraph 0020, lines 1-2).
With regards to claim 4, Lee et al discloses wherein the metal layer has a thickness of 8-15nm (the heat-generating layer may have a thickness of from about 10 nm to about 500 nm, paragraph 0020, lines 1-2).
With regards to claim 6, Do et al teaches wherein the transparent conductive oxide layer is formed through vapor deposition conducted under gas atmosphere of argon (Ar), oxygen (O2) and nitrogen (N2) (the nitrogen-doped SnO .sub.2 -based lower oxide thin film 121 used a sputtering method, which is a physical vapor deposition method, and to use the sputtering method, the inert gas colliding with the SnO .sub.2 target in a vacuum state is argon. It is preferable that gas (Ar), oxygen gas (O .sub.2 ), and nitrogen gas (N .sub.2 ) are mixed in a predetermined ratio, paragraph 0043, lines 1-3).
With regards to claim 7, Do et al teaches wherein the transparent conductive oxide layer is doped with nitrogen under gas atmosphere with a partial pressure of nitrogen of 0.1-2.0% (nitrogen gas (N2) is preferably 1 to 4% depending on the purpose of use, paragraph 0044, lines 1-2).
With regards to claim 8, Do et al teaches which is a flexible transparent thin film heater (the transparent substrate is made of a material having excellent transmittance to visible light and excellent flexibility, paragraph 0074, lines 1-2).
With regards to claim 9, Lee et al discloses a connecting members configured to apply electric voltage to the transparent thin film heater, and has an applied voltage of 1-10 V to raise the temperature of the transparent conductive oxide layer (an applied voltage of 0-12 V in order to evaluate heat generation lifetimes of the heaters, paragraph 0144, lines 1-2).
With regards to claim 10, Lee et al, Do et al and Gautam et al teaches the transparent thin film heater with all of the structural limitations of ZnxSn1−xO2 (0.0 ≤ x ≤ 0.07), therefore would teach the parameters of temperature and voltage when testing.
With regards to claim 11, Lee et al discloses a transport vehicle comprising a window fitted with the transparent thin film heater (transparent thin film heater used in a vehicle, paragraph 0003, lines 4-6).
With regards to claim 12, Lee et al discloses a smart window comprising the transparent thin film heater (application of sheet heaters has been expanded to the fields of windows and mirrors required to have transparency, paragraph 0005, lines 3-4).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al, Do et al and Gautam et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hwang et al (KR101696543B1).
With regards to claim 5, Lee et al, Do et al and Gautam et al does not teach where the transparent conductive oxide layer has a thickness of 20-80 nm.
Hwang et al teaches where the transparent conductive oxide layer has a thickness of 20-80 nm (transparent metal oxide has a thickness of 10-30 nm, paragraph 0040, lines 1-2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lee et al, Do et al, Gautam et al and Hwang et al before him or her, to modify the oxide layer of Lee et al, Do et al and Gautam et al to include the thickness of transparent metal oxide as taught by Hwang et al because the combination allows to ensure a film for a transparent film heater that blocks ultraviolet and infrared light.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants arguments: Applicant argues the prior art does not disclose or teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Examiners response: Applicant argues the prior art does not disclose or teach amended limitation “wherein the transparent conductive oxide layer is vapor-deposited as an amorphous phase in the presence of nitrogen at about room temperature”. The applicant is advised that patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966. Do et al teaches a nitrogen-doped transparent oxide layer (a nitrogen-doped SnO2-based lower oxide thin film on the transparent substrate, paragraph 0014, lines 2-4) and wherein the transparent conductive oxide layer is vapor-deposited as an amorphous phase in the presence of nitrogen at about room temperature (the nitrogen-doped SnO2-based lower oxide thin film 121 used a sputtering method, which is a physical vapor deposition method, and to use the sputtering method, the inert gas colliding with the SnO2 target in a vacuum state is argon gas ( Ar), oxygen gas (O2), and nitrogen gas (N2) are preferably mixed in a predetermined ratio, paragraph 0043, lines 1-2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J WARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761