Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amendments to the independent claim overcome the rejections of record (pages 9-11) and that the dependent claims rise and fall with the same arguments (page 11). Applicant's arguments are moot due to the additional references applied to the newly added limitations, as detailed in the rejection below.
Regarding claims 23, 24, and 25 (pgs 9-10), applicant argues that the prior art Wells, does not disclose a seal positioned on the distal tip of the adapter body. As recited in the claim limitation, “a seal selectively positioned on the distal tip of the adapter body and distal to the connecting portion” is significantly broad enough to encompass the structure disclosed by the adapter body. Therefore, the applicant’s argument is not sufficient to overcome the rejection of record and the claims remains rejected. Please see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the flush chamber interface" in lines 12-13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 recites the limitation “the fixation device” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 recites the limitation “an internal bore” in lines 8 & 16. It is unclear if these internal bores are the same or different. For the purpose of examination, they are regarded as the same internal bore.
Claim 25 recites the limitation “a fixation device” in lines 1 & 2. It is unclear if these fixation devices are the same or different. For the purpose of examination, they are regarded as the same.
All dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6-8, 19-20, and 23, & 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells et al. (US 20160158005 A1) hereinafter, Wells, in view of Basude et al. (US 20170143330 A1) hereinafter, Basude, and further in view of Vesely (US 20100004739 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Wells teaches a delivery of a valve implant (31, Fig. 1J) in a valve replacement procedure, the system comprising, in combination:
a delivery system having a catheter assembly (100, Fig. 1D), and
a handle assembly (192, Fig. 1D) configured to be selectively removeable from the catheter assembly (remove the obturator, ¶0049, Wells); and
a modular adapter (portions 131 to 180, see annotated Fig. 1D below), the modular adapter comprising,
an adapter body (portions 130 & 140, Fig. 1D), the adapter body comprising,
an elongate body (body formed from 130 and 140, Fig. 1D) having a proximal end portion (portion near 140, Fig. 1D) and a distal end portion (portion near 131, Fig. 1D), wherein
the proximal end portion (portion near 140, Fig. 1D) comprises a cavity (cavity inside of 140, Fig. 1D), and wherein
the distal end portion (portion near 131, Fig. 1D) has a connecting portion (131, Fig. 1D),
an internal bore (130 is a hollow tube, therefore it has an internal bore at distal end portion, ¶0034, Wells) extending the length of the distal portion (portion near 131, Fig. 1D) between a distal opening and the flush chamber interface (where 132 and 142 meets, Fig. 1D);
configured to selectively secure the modular adapter (from portions 131 to 180, see annotated Fig. 1D below) to the catheter assembly (100, Fig. 1D)
a flush port (150, Fig. 1D) opening on the proximal end portion (portion near 140, Fig. 1D);
a seal (120, Fig. 1D) selectively positioned on the distal tip of the adapter body (portions 130 & 140, Fig. 1D) and distal to the connecting portion (131, Fig. 1D between the modular adapter (from portions 131 to 180, see annotated Fig. 1D below) and the catheter assembly (100, Fig. 1D);
a valve (160, Fig. 1D) positioned within a receiving space (inside of 140, Fig. 1C) of the proximal end portion (portion near 140, Fig. 1D) of the adapter body (portions 130 & 140, Fig. 1D);
a cap (180, Fig. 1D) connected to a proximal end portion (portion near 140, Fig. 1D) of the adapter body (portions 130 & 140, Fig. 1D) to selectively secure the valve (160, Fig. 1D) within the valve receiving space (inside of 140, Fig. 1C) of the adapter body, wherein
the cap (180, Fig. 1D) has a cap opening (182, Fig. 1D) aligning with a valve slit (164, Fig. 1F) and the internal bore (130 is a hollow tube, therefore it has an internal bore at distal end portion, ¶0034, Wells) of the adapter body (portions 130 & 140, Fig. 1D); and
a flush tube (syringe, ¶0046, Wells) selectively connected to the flush port (150, Fig. 1D); wherein
the modular adapter (from portions 131 to 180, see annotated Fig. 1D below) is selectively attached to the catheter assembly, the combination allows the catheter assembly to allow for interchangeability and use of both the modular adapter and the delivery system without having to separately access a target site multiple times (Figs. 1D & 1J, to provide a conduit through which other devices may be passed during the procedure (¶0003) & the delivery device may need to be removed and replaced, either with the same or another device, ¶0051 & ¶0055-¶0056, Wells).
Well does not teach a system for removal of a fixation device. However, Basude teaches a system for disabling or removing a mitral valve fixation device (¶0025, Basude) comprising
a system for removal of a fixation device (mitral valve fixation device, ¶0025, Basude).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wells with the above teachings of Basude in order to disable or remove such a device using minimally invasive methods (¶0018, Basude).
Wells teaches a system for delivery of a valve implant (31, Fig. 1J, Wells) but does not teach it to be a subsequent delivery. However, Vesely teaches tools for the removal and installation of exchangeable cardiovascular valves to facilitate rapid exchange of a cardiovascular valve member (abstract, Vesely) comprising
subsequent delivery of a valve implant in a valve replacement procedure (facilitate rapid exchange of a cardiovascular valve member mounted in the aortic position (retrograde exchange) or the mitral position (transapical exchange), abstract, Vesely).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wells and Basude with the above teachings of Vesely in order to allow exchange of the valve member without requiring open-heart surgery and long periods on cardiopulmonary bypass (¶0004, Vesely).
Regarding claim 3, Wells teaches
wherein an edge (very end of distal portion 131, Fig. 1D) and a stop (smaller diameter area near 131, Fig. 1D) form a sealing groove (sealing groove formed when 131 stretch over 121, Fig. 1C) therebetween, and
the seal (120, Fig. 1C) is positioned within the sealing groove to provide a leak-free seal when selectively connected to the catheter assembly (100, Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 4, Wells teaches a connecting portion (131, Fig. 1D, Wells) but does not teach a plurality of threads. However, Vesely teaches
wherein the connecting portion comprises a plurality of threads (164, Fig. 12, Vesely) configured to interface with the catheter assembly (122, Fig. 12, Vesely).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wells and Basude with the threads of Vesely in order to facilitate rotation of actuator 160 (¶0069, Vesely).
Regarding claim 6, Wells teaches
wherein the connecting portion (131, Fig. 1D, Wells) is located proximal relative to the distal tip (distal tip of 130, Fig. 1D, Wells).
Regarding claim 7, Wells teaches
wherein is the distal tip (distal tip of 130, Fig. 1D, Wells) is recessed to allow the distal tip to be inserted into an opening of larger diameter relative to the diameter of the distal tip, thereby causing the seal (120, Fig. 1D) to be compressed within the catheter assembly.
Regarding claim 8, Wells teaches
wherein the valve (160, Fig. 1C) is positioned proximal to the flush port (150, Fig. 1C) within the valve receiving space (inside of 140, Fig. 1C) of the proximal end portion (portion near 140, Fig. 1D) so as not to obscure a flow of flush fluid from the flush port (150, Fig. 1D) into the flush chamber interface (where 132 and 142 meets, Fig. 1D) of the proximal end portion.
Regarding claim 25, Wells teaches a method for using a modular port accessory device (from portions 131 to 180, see annotated Fig. 1D below) and delivery of a valve implant (31, Fig. 1J) in a valve replacement procedure, the method comprising:
accessing a chamber of a heart (into the heart, ¶0045, Wells);
connecting the modular port accessory device (from portions 131 to 180, see annotated Fig. 1D below) to a catheter assembly (100, Fig. 1D) to selectively secure a modular adapter (portions 130 & 140, Fig. 1D) of the modular port accessory device (from portions 131 to 180, see annotated Fig. 1D below) to the catheter assembly (100, Fig. 1D) and removably creating a seal (seal created from 122 and 131, Fig. 1C) therebetween to allow interchangeable use of both the modular adapter (portions 130 & 140, Fig. 1D) and a delivery system (33, Fig. 1J) to deliver the valve implant (31, Fig. 1J) while the guidewire accessing the heart remains in place,
the modular adapter (portions 130 & 140, Fig. 1D) comprising an elongate body (body formed from 130 and 140, Fig. 1D) having a proximal end portion (portion near 140, Fig. 1D) comprising an internal cavity (cavity inside of 140, Fig. 1D) with a valve receiving space (inside of 140, Fig. 1C),
a distal end portion (portion near 131, Fig. 1D) having a connecting portion (131, Fig. 1D),
an internal bore (130 is a hollow tube, therefore it has an internal bore at distal end portion, ¶0034, Wells) and a distal tip (distal tip of 130, Fig. 1D),
the connecting portion (131, Fig. 1D) being configured to selectively mate with the catheter assembly (100, Fig. 1D),
a valve (160, Fig. 1D) secured within the valve receiving space (inside of 140, Fig. 1C), and
a seal (120, Fig. 1D) positioned on the distal tip of the elongate body (portions 130 & 140, Fig. 1D) and distal to the connecting portion (131, Fig. 1D) between the elongate body (body formed from 130 and 140, Fig. 1D) and the catheter assembly (100, Fig. 1D);
advancing the catheter assembly (100, Fig. 1D) and the modular adapter (portions 130 & 140, Fig. 1D) over the guidewire to access to the heart;
following removal of the fixation device, removing the modular adapter from the catheter assembly; while the guidewire accessing the heart remains in place in preparation for delivering the valve implant to the heart assembly (Figs. 1D & 1J, to provide a conduit through which other devices may be passed during the procedure (¶0003) & the delivery device may need to be removed and replaced, either with the same or another device, ¶0051 & ¶0055-¶0056, Wells);
and connecting the delivery system (33, Fig. 1J) comprising a handle assembly (hub, ¶0053, Wells) and a valve holding tube (34, Fig. 1J) loaded with the valve implant (31, Fig. 1J) to the catheter assembly (33, Fig. 1J).
Wells teaches a modular adapter but does not teach it with a method for removal of a mitral valve clip. However, Basude teaches
a method for removal of a fixation device using a modular port accessory device for removal of a fixation device (fixation device may be removed or disabled, abstract, Basude),
accessing a chamber of a heart (into the right atrium, ¶0122, Basude) to position a guidewire in the heart (guidewire, ¶0122, Basude);
capturing the fixation device within the heart (Fig. 30B, Basude) and severing the fixation device from valve tissue (Fig. 30C, Basude), and
while the guidewire accessing the heart remains in place in preparation for delivering the valve implant to the heart (¶0122, Basude).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wells with the above teachings of Basude in order to disable or remove such a device using minimally invasive methods (¶0018, Basude).
Wells in view of Basude does not teach a subsequent delivery of a valve implant. However, Vesely teaches
subsequent delivery of a valve implant in a valve replacement procedure (tools for facilitating the rapid removal and installation of an exchangeable valve member, ¶0012, and in the aortic position or the mitral position, abstract, Vesely).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wells and Basude with the above teachings of Vesely in order to allow exchange of the valve member without requiring open-heart surgery and long periods on cardiopulmonary bypass (¶0004, Vesely).
Regarding claim 19, Wells teaches
wherein the modular adapter (from portions 131 to 180, see annotated Fig. 1D below) is the modular adapter of claim 23.
Regarding claim 20, Wells teaches
wherein the modular adapter is the port accessory device (from portions 131 to 180, see annotated Fig. 1D below) of claim 24.
Claim(s) 5, 9, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells in view of Basude, in view of Vesely, and further in view of Eidenschink et al. (US 20160096001 A1) hereinafter, Eidenschink.
Regarding claim 5, Wells in view of Basude, and Vesely, does not teach a keyed fit structure. However, Eidenschink teaches a delivery catheter for implanting a leadless biostimulator (abstract, Eidenschink)
wherein the connecting portion further comprises a keyed fit structure (key 432, Fig. 4D, Eidenschink).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wells in view of Basude, and Vesely, with the above teachings of Eidenschink in order to align the distal features of the tethers in a side by side (e.g., locked) configuration, or alternatively, to place the distal features of the tethers in an un-aligned (e.g., unlocked configuration), permitting docking and locking of the pacemaker to the delivery catheter (¶0079, Eidenschink,).
Regarding claim 9 Wells in view of Basude, and Vesely, does not teach a keyed fit structure. However, Eidenschink teaches
wherein the keyed fit structure is configured to align with and engage a hub of the catheter assembly (torque key 432 is shown as a “male” key on the proximal end of pacemaker 402, and torque slot 430 is shown as a “female” key, Figs. 4C & 4D, ¶0077, Eidenschink).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wells in view of Basude, and Vesely, with the above teachings of Eidenschink in order to align the distal features of the tethers in a side by side (e.g., locked) configuration, or alternatively, to place the distal features of the tethers in an un-aligned (e.g., unlocked configuration), permitting docking and locking of the pacemaker to the delivery catheter (¶0079, Eidenschink).
Regarding claim 15, Wells in view of Basude, and Vesely does not teach a keyed fit structure. However, Eidenschink teaches
wherein the connecting portion comprises a keyed fit structure configured to interface with the catheter assembly (torque key 432 is shown as a “male” key on the proximal end of pacemaker 402, and torque slot 430 is shown as a “female” key, Figs. 4C & 4D, ¶0077).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wells in view of Basude, and Vesely, with the above teachings of Eidenschink in order to align the distal features of the tethers in a side by side (e.g., locked) configuration, or alternatively, to place the distal features of the tethers in an un-aligned (e.g., unlocked configuration), permitting docking and locking of the pacemaker to the delivery catheter (¶0079, Eidenschink).
Claim(s) 11-13, 16-17, 21-22 & 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells in view of Basude, in view of Vesely, and further in view of Iverson et al. (US 20190240452 A1), hereinafter, Iverson.
Regarding claim 21, Wells teaches a catheter assembly (100, Fig. 1D) but does not specify a hub. However, Iverson teaches an introducer hub assembly (abstract, Iverson)
wherein the catheter assembly comprises a hub (introducer hub assembly 100, Fig. 1, Iverson) that has a side port (flush port 108, Fig. 1, Iverson) at a proximal end of the catheter assembly and a connector (connecter at proximal end 106, Fig. 1, Iverson) proximal the hub (introducer hub assembly 100, Fig. 1, Iverson).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wells in view of Basude, and Vesely, with the above teachings of Iverson in order to allow the passage of progressively larger medical devices, e.g., cardiovascular devices, without the need for an operator to actuate the seal with an external force (¶0006, Iverson).
Regarding claim 22, Wells teaches a catheter assembly (100, Fig. 1D) but does not specify the connector. However, Iverson teaches
wherein the connector (connecter at proximal end 106, Fig. 1, Iverson) is selectively adjustable to accommodate at least one of
1) the handle assembly (handle 22, Fig. 1, Iverson) and a valve holding tube (introducer sheath 102, Fig. 1, Iverson), or
2) the modular adapter (proximal hub 28, Fig. 1, Iverson).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wells in view of Basude, and Vesely, with the above teachings of Iverson in order to allow the passage of progressively larger medical devices, e.g., cardiovascular devices, without the need for an operator to actuate the seal with an external force (¶0006, Iverson).
Regarding claim 24, Wells teaches a modular port accessory device (from portions 131 to 180, see annotated Fig. 1D below) providing for one-time passage through myocardium (into the heart, ¶0045, Wells) delivery of a valve implant (31, Fig. 1J) in a valve replacement procedure, the port accessory device (from portions 131 to 180, see annotated Fig. 1D below) comprising:
an adapter body (portions 130 & 140, Fig. 1D), the adapter body comprising,
an elongate body (body formed from 130 and 140, Fig. 1D) having a proximal end portion (portion near 140, Fig. 1D) and a distal end portion (portion near 131, Fig. 1D), wherein
the proximal end portion (portion near 140, Fig. 1D) comprises an internal cavity (cavity inside of 140, Fig. 1D) and the distal end portion (portion near 131, Fig. 1D) has a connecting portion (131, Fig. 1D) configured to selectively mate with a catheter assembly (100, Fig. 1D) and comprises an internal bore (130 is a hollow tube, therefore it has an internal bore at distal end portion, ¶0034, Wells); wherein
the internal cavity (cavity inside of 140, Fig. 1D) comprises a valve receiving space (inside of 140, Fig. 1C) and a flush chamber (distal tube 110 and proximal tube 130 in fluid communication with the outside of the housing 140, Fig. 1C) having a flush port (150, Fig. 1D); wherein
a distal end of the distal end portion (portion near 131, Fig. 1D) comprises:
a distal tip (distal tip of 130, Fig. 1D); and
an internal bore (130 is a hollow tube, therefore it has an internal bore at distal end portion, ¶0034, Wells) extending the length of the adapter body (portions 130 & 140, Fig. 1D) between a distal opening (opening at 131, Fig. 1D) and a flush chamber interface (where 132 and 142 meets, Fig. 1D), wherein
the flush chamber interface (where 132 and 142 meets, Fig. 1D) is distal of the flush port (150, Fig. 1C) and proximal a seal (120, Fig. 1C) positioned on the distal tip (distal tip of 130, Fig. 1D);
a valve (160, Fig. 1D) positioned within the valve receiving space (inside of 140, Fig. 1C);
a cap (180, Fig. 1D), wherein the cap is configured to mate with the proximal end portion (portion near 140, Fig. 1D) of the adapter body (portions 130 & 140, Fig. 1D) to secure the valve (160, Fig. 1D) within the valve receiving space (inside of 140, Fig. 1C);
a flush tube (syringe, ¶0046, Wells) selectively connected to the flush port (150, Fig. 1D); and
the seal (120, Fig. 1D) selectively positioned on the distal tip (distal tip of 130, Fig. 1D) distal to the connecting portion (131, Fig. 1D) between the adapter body (portions 130 & 140, Fig. 1D) and the catheter assembly (100, Fig. 1D); wherein
the port accessory device is modular for selective configuration on the catheter assembly (Figs. 1D & 1J, to provide a conduit through which other devices may be passed during the procedure (¶0003) & the delivery device may need to be removed and replaced, either with the same or another device, ¶0051 & ¶0055-¶0056, Wells).
Well does not teach a system for removal of a fixation device. However, Basude teaches a system for disabling or removing a mitral valve fixation device (¶0025, Basude) comprising
a system for removal of a fixation device (mitral valve fixation device, ¶0025, Basude).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wells with the above teachings of Basude in order to disable or remove such a device using minimally invasive methods (¶0018, Basude).
Wells teaches a system for delivery of a valve implant (31, Fig. 1J, Wells) but does not teach it to be a subsequent delivery. However, Vesely teaches tools for the removal and installation of exchangeable cardiovascular valves to facilitate rapid exchange of a cardiovascular valve member (abstract, Vesely) comprising
subsequent delivery of a valve implant in a valve replacement procedure (facilitate rapid exchange of a cardiovascular valve member mounted in the aortic position (retrograde exchange) or the mitral position (transapical exchange), abstract, Vesely).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wells and Basude with the above teachings of Vesely in order to allow exchange of the valve member without requiring open-heart surgery and long periods on cardiopulmonary bypass (¶0004, Vesely).
Wells teaches a catheter assembly (100, Fig. 1D) but does not specify a hub. However, Iverson teaches
the catheter assembly comprises a hub (introducer hub assembly 100, Fig. 1, Iverson).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wells in view of Basude, and Vesely, with the above teachings of Iverson in order to allow the passage of progressively larger medical devices, e.g., cardiovascular devices, without the need for an operator to actuate the seal with an external force (¶0006, Iverson).
Regarding claim 11, Wells teaches
wherein a stop (smaller diameter area near 131, Fig. 1D) on the distal end portion (portion near 131, Fig. 1D) defines the distal end of the distal end portion (portion near 131, Fig. 1C) and the proximal end of the distal tip (distal tip of 130, Fig. 1D).
Regarding claim 12, Wells teaches
wherein the distal tip includes an annular edge (very end of distal portion 131, Fig. 1D) distal to the stop (smaller diameter near 131, Fig. 1D), the edge and stop together forming a sealing groove (sealing groove formed when 131 stretch over 121, Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 13, Wells teaches
wherein the seal (120, Fig. 1C) is disposed within the sealing groove (sealing groove formed when 131 stretch over 121, Fig. 1C), and a cross section of the seal is square, rectangle, or circle (120 is tubular, therefore, cross section is circle, Fig. 1D).
Regarding claim 16, Wells teaches a connecting portion (131, Fig. 1D, Wells) does not teach a plurality of threads. However, Vesely teaches
wherein the connecting portion comprises a threaded section (164, Fig. 12, Vesely).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wells and Basude with the threads of Vesely in order to facilitate rotation of actuator 160 (¶0069, Vesely).
Regarding claim 17, Wells teaches
wherein the cap (180, Fig. 1D) has an opening (182, Fig. 1D) configured to align with the internal bore (130 is a hollow tube, therefore it has an internal bore at distal end portion, ¶0034, Wells) of the adapter body (portions 130 & 140, Fig. 1D).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.X.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774