Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed March 16th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 21 remain pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected set of inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 12th, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ray et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20180024270), hereinafter Ray, in view of Guice et al. (United States Patent No. 8400348 B1), hereinafter Guice, further in view of Stann et al. (United States Patent No. 5608514 A), hereinafter Stann.
Regarding claim 1, Ray teaches a multi-fiber optical sensor system (Title) comprising:
a light source configured to generate light energy ([0026] Uncollimated system 26 includes laser diode 30);
a transmitter fiber configured to receive the light energy from the light source and to project a projected light energy out of a projecting end of the transmitter fiber over a transmitter fiber field of view ([0041] FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram of another embodiment of a cloud conditions measurement system...First optical transmitter 120 includes fiber-coupled laser 124, transmitter fiber 126);
a plurality of receiver fibers, wherein each of the plurality of receiver fibers has a receiving end aligned proximate and substantially parallel to the projecting end of the transmitter fiber and is configured to receive a received portion of the projected light energy reflected from a target within a receiver field of view, wherein the target includes a hard target and/or constituents of a cloud atmosphere; ([0044] Receiver fibers 140, 142 are oriented substantially parallel to and transmitter fiber 126, and receiver fibers 140, 142 have a field of view commensurate with (e.g., substantially equal to) the field of view corresponding to transmitter fiber 126, so as to receive backscattered signals from the volume of cloud atmosphere 12 that is probed by the uncollimated beam projected from transmitter fiber 126.);
a detector configured to detect the portion of the projected light energy received by each of the plurality of receiver fibers ([0030] The backscattered signal detected by fiber-coupled detector 44 can then be modeled);
a processor configured to determine a proximity of the hard target to the light aircraft based upon the received portion of the projected light energy, wherein the processor is further configured to determine conditions of the cloud atmosphere, including a super-cooled large droplet size present in the cloud atmosphere, based upon the received portion of the projected light energy ([0030] Fiber-coupled detector is capable of range-resolved measurements.; [0064] The processor can be configured to calculate a super-cooled large droplet size based on the detected portion of the transmitted light energy received by the receiver fiber.)
wherein the receiver fiber field of view for each of the plurality of receiver fibers crosses the transmitter fiber field of view between a first crossing point at a distance Rmin from a lens axis and a last crossing point at a distance R., from the lens axis, wherein there is a center crossing point Rmid at a point where a centerline of the receiver fiber field of view for each of the plurality of receiver fibers crosses a centerline of the transmitter fiber field of view wherein the range between Rmin and R., for each of the plurality of receiver fibers defines a detection zone such that each of the plurality of receiver fibers has a unique detection zone (Fig. 3 illustrates the overlapping fields of view of the transmitting and receiving fibers as described, wherein the overlap defines a detection zone of a cloud, but each fiber has a distinct detection zone as well)
wherein the multi-fiber optical sensor system is configured to cooperate with at least one additional multi-fiber optical sensor system positioned on the light aircraft such that the light aircraft is surrounded by detection zones in multiple directions ([0050] FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of a multiple-direction cloud conditions measurement system. In FIG. 5, aircraft 10 is equipped with multiple-direction cloud conditions measurement system 214. Multiple-direction cloud conditions measurement system 214 includes three fiber bundles 200 a, 200 b, 200 c.)
Ray fails to teach a sensor system comprising a lenslet array configured to shape the transmitter fiber field of view and give the transmitter field of view a finite cross-sectional area, wherein the lenslet array comprises a plurality of lens corresponding to the transmitter fiber and each of the plurality of receiver fibers and is further configured to shape the receiver fiber field of view for each of the plurality of receiver fibers, tilt the center of the field of view with respect to the axis of the projected light energy, and give the receiver fiber field of view for each of the plurality of receiver fibers a finite cross-sectional area that crosses with the transmitter fiber field of view less then 5m from a light aircraft on which the multi-fiber optical sensor is positioned to enable detection of the target within the receiver fiber field of view;
However, Guice teaches a sensor system comprising a lenslet array configured to shape the transmitter fiber field of view and give the transmitter field of view a finite cross-sectional area, wherein the lenslet array comprises a plurality of lens corresponding to the transmitter fiber and each of the plurality of receiver fibers and is further configured to shape the receiver fiber field of view for each of the plurality of receiver fibers, tilt the center of the field of view with respect to the axis of the projected light energy, and give the receiver fiber field of view for each of the plurality of receiver fibers a finite cross-sectional area ([Col. 11, lines 4-7] An image receiving end 454a of a bundle 452 of fiber amplifier fibers may be affixed directly or via index matching gel or similar substance directly to a lenslet 474 array 468, as also illustrated in FIGS. 4c and 4d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ray to comprise the lenslet array at the end of the fiber bundle similar to Guice, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of directing laser light for each fiber in a bundle to have a unique field of view while maintaining compact space in the apparatus.
Ray still fails to teach a system with a cross-sectional area that crosses with the transmitter fiber field of view less then 5m from a light aircraft on which the multi-fiber optical sensor is positioned to enable detection of the target within the receiver fiber field of view;
However, Stann teaches a system with a cross-sectional area that crosses with the transmitter fiber field of view less then 5m from a light aircraft on which the multi-fiber optical sensor is positioned to enable detection of the target within the receiver fiber field of view ([Col. 1, lines 21-25] Moreover, the high carrier frequency allows ladar systems to be made more compact in physical dimension, which is particularly attractive in aircraft, projectile, space and other volume-limited applications.; [Col. 3, lines 43-46] Commercially available laser diodes having 2 GHz modulation bandwidths and output powers to 4 W will support embodiment of the present invention with resolutions less than 0.3 m and ranges to several kilometers.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ray, and as modified by Guice to comprise the short range cross-sectional field of view similar to Stann, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of generating a high resolution short range lidar image, compatible with the same medium and vehicle as the previous prior arts.
Regarding claim 2, Ray, as modified above, teaches the multi-fiber optical sensor system of claim 1, wherein the transmitter fiber and the plurality of receiver fibers are bundled into a fiber bundle ([0048] FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram of an exemplary fiber bundle...FIG. 3. The depicted configuration of optical elements shows transmitter fibers 126, 156 bundled with receiver fibers 140, 142, 160.),
Ray fails to teach the system wherein the lenslet array is positioned in front of a projecting/receiving end of the fiber bundle and each lens the lenslet array has a lens center that is nominally coincident with a center of a fiber end face corresponding to the lens.
However, Guice teaches the system wherein the lenslet array is positioned in front of a projecting/receiving end of the fiber bundle and each lens the lenslet array has a lens center that is nominally coincident with a center of a fiber end face corresponding to the lens ([Col. 11, lines 4-7] An image receiving end 454a of a bundle 452 of fiber amplifier fibers may be affixed directly or via index matching gel or similar substance directly to a lenslet 474 array 468, as also illustrated in FIGS. 4c and 4d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ray to comprise the lenslet array at the end of the fiber bundle similar to Guice, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of directing laser light for each fiber in a bundle to have a unique field of view while maintaining compact space in the apparatus.
Regarding claim 3, Ray, as modified above, teaches the multi-fiber optical sensor system of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of receiver fibers can provide a distinct field of view ([0054] The projected pulse of light energy is projected over a field of view determined by a numerical aperture of a transmission end of the transmitter fiber; [0058] The projected second pulse of light energy can be projected over a field of view determined by a numerical aperture of a second transmission end of the second transmitter fiber.), a polarization receiving channel ([0070] The circular polarizing element can be configured to circularly polarize the second pulse of light energy. The second and third detectors can be configured to detect circularly polarized light energy of opposite polarization directions;), and a wavelength receiving channel ([0065] The second laser diode can be configured to generate a second pulse of light energy of a second wavelength different from the first wavelength. The second detector can be configured to detect the portion of the second pulse of light energy backscattered by the cloud atmosphere.).
Regarding claim 4, Ray, as modified above, teaches the multi-fiber optical sensor system of claim 1, wherein the light source is a laser diode, light emitting diode, or any other light source ([0026] Uncollimated system 26 includes laser diode 30).
Regarding claim 6, Ray, as modified above, teaches the multi-fiber optical sensor system of claim 1, wherein the light source is a laser diode, light emitting diode, or any other light source ([0026] Uncollimated system 26 includes laser diode 30), the transmitter fiber and the plurality of receiver fibers are bundled into a fiber bundle ([0048] FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram of an exemplary fiber bundle… FIG. 3. The depicted configuration of optical elements shows transmitter fibers 126, 156 bundled with receiver fibers 140, 142, 160.),
Ray fails to teach a system with the lenslet array positioned in front of a projecting/receiving end of the fiber bundle and each lens the lenslet array has a lens center that is nominally coincident with a center of a fiber end face corresponding to the lens.
However, Guice teaches a system with the lenslet array positioned in front of a projecting/receiving end of the fiber bundle and each lens the lenslet array has a lens center that is nominally coincident with a center of a fiber end face corresponding to the lens ([Col. 11, lines 4-7] An image receiving end 454a of a bundle 452 of fiber amplifier fibers may be affixed directly or via index matching gel or similar substance directly to a lenslet 474 array 468, as also illustrated in FIGS. 4c and 4d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ray to comprise the lenslet array at the end of the fiber bundle similar to Guice, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of directing laser light for each fiber in a bundle to have a unique field of view while maintaining compact space in the apparatus.
Regarding claim 7, Ray, as modified above, teaches the multi-fiber optical sensor system of claim 1, wherein the target is one or more constituents of a cloud atmosphere, the unique detection zone for each of the plurality of receiver fibers corresponds to a sampling location within the cloud atmosphere, and the multi-fiber optical sensor system further comprises a processor configured to determine conditions of the cloud atmosphere, including a super-cooled large droplet size present in the cloud atmosphere, based on the received portion of the projected light energy ([0019] Apparatus and associated methods relate to sampling a large volume of a cloud atmosphere so as to obtain a large signal response from even a sparse distribution of water droplets in the cloud atmosphere; [0064] The processor can be configured to calculate a super-cooled large droplet size based on the detected portion of the transmitted light energy received by the receiver fiber).
Regarding claim 8, Ray, as modified above, teaches the multi-fiber optical sensor system of claim 7, wherein the light source is a laser diode, light emitting diode, or any other light source ([0026] Uncollimated system 26 includes laser diode 30), each of the plurality of receiver fibers can provide a distinct field of view ([0054] The projected pulse of light energy is projected over a field of view determined by a numerical aperture of a transmission end of the transmitter fiber; [0058] The projected second pulse of light energy can be projected over a field of view determined by a numerical aperture of a second transmission end of the second transmitter fiber.), a polarization receiving channel ([0070] The circular polarizing element can be configured to circularly polarize the second pulse of light energy. The second and third detectors can be configured to detect circularly polarized light energy of opposite polarization directions;), and a wavelength receiving channel ([0065] The second laser diode can be configured to generate a second pulse of light energy of a second wavelength different from the first wavelength. The second detector can be configured to detect the portion of the second pulse of light energy backscattered by the cloud atmosphere.), the transmitter fiber and the plurality of receiver fibers are bundled into a fiber bundle ([0048] FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram of an exemplary fiber bundle),
Ray fails to teach the system wherein the lenslet array is positioned in front of a projecting/receiving end of the fiber bundle and each lens the lenslet array has a lens center that is nominally coincident with a center of a fiber end face corresponding to the lens.
However, Guice teaches the system wherein the lenslet array is positioned in front of a projecting/receiving end of the fiber bundle and each lens the lenslet array has a lens center that is nominally coincident with a center of a fiber end face corresponding to the lens ([Col. 11, lines 4-7] An image receiving end 454a of a bundle 452 of fiber amplifier fibers may be affixed directly or via index matching gel or similar substance directly to a lenslet 474 array 468, as also illustrated in FIGS. 4c and 4d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ray to comprise the lenslet array at the end of the fiber bundle similar to Guice, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of directing laser light for each fiber in a bundle to have a unique field of view while maintaining compact space in the apparatus.
Regarding claim 21, Ray, as modified above, teaches the multi-fiber optical sensor system of claim 1,
Ray fails to teach the system wherein the hard target is a building, tree, utility pole, power line, or terrain.
However, Guice teaches the system wherein the hard target is a building, tree, utility pole, power line, or terrain ([Col. 4, lines 41-48] Cases 1 and 2 described above are important for implementation of some embodiments of airborne biota monitoring and control since, in some embodiments, radar beams may be employed which have a generally horizontal direction in close proximity to the ground or other significant scattering sources, such as trees, utility lines and support structures, vehicles, buildings, fences, and other objects typically found in the vicinity of agricultural crops.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ray to comprise the hard target constituting a building, tree, utility pole, power line or terrain similar to Guice, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using conventionally encountered items as a predetermined criteria for hard target detection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 16th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicants argument that Stann fails to teach the above mentioned limitation of claim 1, the argument is found unpersuasive for reasons stated previously in the correspondence related to this application. Stann, as prior art brought in through a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection, is obvious to combine with the prior art of Ray, which does mention the multi-fiber configuration of the present application, as both are targeted to address aircraft scanning systems with a similar design. The first cited prior art paragraph, as shown previously and above, describes this overlapping area of interest in the two prior art of record. Where the prior art of Ray fails in relation to the current application is specifically in designating a target region as stated in the limitation. This is the specific claim limitation which Stann overcomes, designing a system that can scan such a close region, and the configuration of which would be obvious to combine with the other prior art of record for reasons stated above. As such the rejection is maintained in this new Non-Final Office Action.
Regarding the argument that the new amendments overcome the prior art of record, newly cited sections of the prior art of Ray have been included above that teach the limitations as amended.
Conclusion
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645