Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed March 10th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-25 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17, 20-22, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicolaescu (US Patent Application Publication 20190391243A1), hereinafter Nicolaescu, in view of Skirlo et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20190265574A1), hereinafter Skirlo.
Regarding claim 1, Nicolaescu teaches a system for determining a range of a scene, the system comprising ([0096] LIDAR system 100):
an optical source configured to generate an input signal, wherein the input signal is a frequency modulated coherent signal ([0103] Multiple modulation signals of different frequencies may be simultaneously superposed in order to achieve the defined range and resolution);
an optical coupler configured to tap a predetermined portion of the signal as a local oscillator (LO) signal ([0014] The photonic circuit can also include a plurality of signal mixers, wherein an individual signal mixer can be configured to receive a portion of the free space light beam from a corresponding grating coupler and a local oscillator light beam)
an emitting unit coupled to the first optical coupler and configured to receive and flash over a scene with a remaining portion of the input signal as an output signal ([0025] a frequency chirped light beam from the outcoupler and emit the received light towards a refractive optical element, the refractive optical element can be configured to direct the emitted light towards a target region);
and an imaging unit arranged to receive a plurality of return signals from the scene in response to the output signal, wherein the imaging unit comprises ([0096] a plurality of detection modules 104):
an array of detectors directly coupled to at least one lens, wherein a position of each detector is associated with a unique direction of the return signals received from the scene, and wherein the at least one lens is configured to receive and direct the return signals onto the array of detectors, wherein each detector of the array of detectors comprises ([0108] collected by the lens 407 and focused on the detector array 408):
a photodetector site comprising a p-i-n junction that is configured to directly receive one of the return signals through the at least one lens; and [0033] The semiconductor photonic circuit can include silicon nitride. The semiconductor photonic circuit can include silicon. The semiconductor photonic circuit can include a compound semiconductor. A wavelength of the free space light beam can be in a range from about 1300 nm to 1600 nm. The phase modulators can include a PN or PIN junction or a heating element.; [0108] a portion of the reflected signal beam can be collected by the lens 407 and focused on the detector array 408); and
at least one waveguide coupled to the photodetector site and configured to receive the local oscillator signal and distribute the local oscillator signal over a surface of the p-i-n junction of the photodetector site, ([0033] The semiconductor photonic circuit can include silicon nitride. The semiconductor photonic circuit can include silicon. The semiconductor photonic circuit can include a compound semiconductor. A wavelength of the free space light beam can be in a range from about 1300 nm to 1600 nm. The phase modulators can include a PN or PIN junction or a heating element.; [0160] the local oscillator light can be evanescently coupled through two waveguides for each row of cells. Local oscillator light can be coupled in waveguide 3101 from waveguide 3103 situated in the same layer as the other elements of the pixel structure 3000 and connected to the local oscillator distribution network...can allow for precise light distribution to each pixel;)
Nicolaescu fails to teach the Local oscillator coupled to the optical source.
However, Skirlo teaches a first optical coupler coupled to the optical source and configured to tap a predetermined portion of the input signal as a local oscillator (LO) signal ([0085] a unit cell 900 modified to receive a local oscillator 1080 distributed among the tiles with waveguides. This seed 1080 is amplified with a preamplifier 1082 and serves as the source for the tile);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Nicolaescu to comprise the configuration of the local oscillator coupled to the optical source to mix the signals to generate an RF beat signal similar to Skirlo, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of determining the frequency of the signal prior to emission.
Regarding claim 2, Nicolaescu, as modified by Skirlo, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one waveguide comprises at least one of a tapering structure and a grating structure at a portion that is coupled to the photodetector site ([0103] After the phase and amplitude control elements, the first and second optical signals traveling in waveguides 206 and 207 are coupled out of the PIC through grating couplers 204 and 205 respectively… In other examples, the input and output grating couplers may be replaced by adiabatically tapered waveguide end couplers.).
Regarding claim 3, Nicolaescu, as modified by Skirlo above, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein each detector of the array of detectors further comprises a supporting waveguide coupled to the photodetector site and configured to receive the local oscillator signal with a phase shift of 180 degrees so as to cancel noise in the received return signals ([0160] the local oscillator light can be evanescently coupled through two waveguides for each row of cells. Local oscillator light can be coupled in waveguide 3101 from waveguide 3103 situated in the same layer as the other elements of the pixel structure 3000 and connected to the local oscillator distribution network...can allow for precise light distribution to each pixel; [0159] ωIF can represent the modulation frequency of the optical signal, and θsig(t) and θLO(t) can represent the time dependent phases of the optical field).
Regarding claim 4, Nicolaescu, as modified by Skirlo above, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the photodetector site comprises an occlusion free portion for receiving the return signals, and wherein the occlusion free portion includes a width in a range from about 2 pm to about 125 pm and a length in a range from about 2 pm to about 2000 pm ([0014] an individual signal mixer can be configured to receive a portion of the free space light beam from a corresponding grating coupler and a local oscillator light beam; [108] The outbound first optical signal beam can be reflected off targets and a portion of the reflected signal beam can be collected by the lens 407 and focused on the detector array 408; [0114] In an example, the receiver PIC 408 includes an array of 512 by 300 pixels).
Regarding claim 5, Nicolaescu, as modified by Skirlo above, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the return signals and the local oscillator signal are substantially orthogonal to each other on the photodetector site ([0167] The second optical signal can be directed from the distribution tree 3611 and 3612 to phase shifters on each waveguide 3613 and then further to the array of optical antennas 3610 which can radiate the light orthogonal to the surface of the array in the direction of the target. The return scattered second optical signal incident on the receiver array can be combined on each pixel with a fraction of the first optical signal which has been provided as the local oscillator through the dynamic distribution network).
Regarding claim 6, Nicolaescu, as modified by Skirlo above, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the return signals and the local oscillator signal are coherent and interfering on the photodetector site thereby generating the radio frequency beat signal ([0096] using a coherent detection technique; [0111] a local oscillator signal at an optical frequency close to that of the signal to be detected can be mixed with the signal to be measured;).
Regarding claim 7, Nicolaescu, as modified by Skirlo above, teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising:
a second optical coupler configured to distribute the local oscillator signal onto the array of detectors via the at least one waveguide ([0160] the local oscillator light can be evanescently coupled through two waveguides for each row of cells. Local oscillator light can be coupled in waveguide 3101 from waveguide 3103 situated in the same layer as the other elements of the pixel structure 3000 and connected to the local oscillator distribution network...can allow for precise light distribution to each pixel).
Nicolaescu fails to teach a variable delay unit coupled to the first optical coupler and configured to reduce decoherence between the local oscillator signal and the return signals and manage frequency of the RF beat signal;
However, Skirlo teaches a variable delay unit coupled to the first optical coupler and configured to reduce decoherence between the local oscillator signal and the return signals and manage frequency of the RF beat signal ([0117] To produce a sinc pattern in the near-field, there are several approaches to overlap and delay parts of the beam...One implementation includes super-collimating photonic crystals to keep the main part of the beam going straight and defect waveguides to delay and route light to neighboring tiles);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Nicolaescu to comprise the variable time delay unit similar to Skirlo, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of reducing decoherence in the mixing of a local oscillator signal and return signal.
Regarding claim 8, Nicolaescu, as modified by Skirlo above, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the range includes at least one of velocity and distance of the scene ([0142] A plurality of analyses can be performed on the signals generated by image signal processor 1652 with the help of software to create a pointcloud containing velocity, distance and reflectivity information about the surrounding environment).
Regarding claim 9, Nicolaescu, as modified by Skirlo above, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the emitting unit is configured to flash the scene with the output signal ([0025] the refractive optical element can be configured to direct the emitted light towards a target region).
Regarding claim 10, Nicolaescu, as modified by Skirlo above, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one lens is directly coupled to the array of detectors ([0115] the signal scattered from a target can be collected by lens 407 and focused on the Pixel array 503).
Regarding claim 11, Nicolaescu teaches a method for determining a range of a scene, the method comprising:
generating, by an optical source, an input signal, wherein the input signal is a frequency modulated coherent signal ([0103] Multiple modulation signals of different frequencies may be simultaneously superposed in order to achieve the defined range and resolution);
tapping a predetermined portion of the input signal as a local oscillator (LO) signal ([0014] The photonic circuit can also include a plurality of signal mixers, wherein an individual signal mixer can be configured to receive a portion of the free space light beam from a corresponding grating coupler and a local oscillator light beam);
flashing, by an emitting unit, over the scene with a remaining portion of the input signal as an output signal ([0025] a frequency chirped light beam from the outcoupler and emit the received light towards a refractive optical element, the refractive optical element can be configured to direct the emitted light towards a target region);
receiving, by an imaging unit comprising at least one lens and an array of detectors, a plurality of return signals from the scene in response to the output signal ([0096] a plurality of detection modules 104; [0108] collected by the lens 407 and focused on the detector array 408);
directing, by the at least one lens, the return signals onto the array of detectors ([0108] collected by the lens 407 and focused on the detector array 408);
receiving directly, by a p-i-n junction in a photodetector site in each of the array of detectors, one of the return signals through the at least one lens; ([0033] The semiconductor photonic circuit can include silicon nitride. The semiconductor photonic circuit can include silicon. The semiconductor photonic circuit can include a compound semiconductor. A wavelength of the free space light beam can be in a range from about 1300 nm to 1600 nm. The phase modulators can include a PN or PIN junction or a heating element.; [0108] a portion of the reflected signal beam can be collected by the lens 407 and focused on the detector array 408);
distributing, by at least one waveguide coupled to the photodetector site, the local oscillator signal over a surface of the p-i-n junction of the photodetector site; and ([0033] The semiconductor photonic circuit can include silicon nitride. The semiconductor photonic circuit can include silicon. The semiconductor photonic circuit can include a compound semiconductor. A wavelength of the free space light beam can be in a range from about 1300 nm to 1600 nm. The phase modulators can include a PN or PIN junction or a heating element.; [0160] the local oscillator light can be evanescently coupled through two waveguides for each row of cells. Local oscillator light can be coupled in waveguide 3101 from waveguide 3103 situated in the same layer as the other elements of the pixel structure 3000 and connected to the local oscillator distribution network...can allow for precise light distribution to each pixel;); and
mixing, by the photodetector site, the local oscillator signal with the one of the return signals so that the local oscillator signal interferes with the one of the return signals to generate a radio frequency (RF) beat signal, wherein the RF beat signal is fit for determining the range of the scene ([0155] The weak return probe signal from the target can couple through the grating coupler 3001 in the plane of the chip and can be combined with a strong local oscillator in waveguide 3002; [0231] Multiple beat frequencies or phases can be simultaneously or sequentially detected.).
Nicolaescu fails to teach the Local oscillator as a first optical coupler.
However, Skirlo teaches the method of tapping, by a first optical coupler, a predetermined portion of the input signal as a local oscillator (LO) signal ([0085] a unit cell 900 modified to receive a local oscillator 1080 distributed among the tiles with waveguides. This seed 1080 is amplified with a preamplifier 1082 and serves as the source for the tile)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Nicolaescu to comprise the configuration of the local oscillator coupled to the optical source to mix the signals to generate an RF beat signal similar to Skirlo, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of determining the frequency of the signal prior to emission.
Regarding claim 12, Nicolaescu, as modified by Skirlo above, teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising receiving the return signals by an occlusion free portion of the photodetector site ([0014] an individual signal mixer can be configured to receive a portion of the free space light beam from a corresponding grating coupler and a local oscillator light beam; [108] The outbound first optical signal beam can be reflected off targets and a portion of the reflected signal beam can be collected by the lens 407 and focused on the detector array 408.).
Regarding claim 13, Nicolaescu, as modified by Skirlo above, teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the return signals and the local oscillator signal are substantially orthogonal to each other on the photodetector site ([0167] The second optical signal can be directed from the distribution tree 3611 and 3612 to phase shifters on each waveguide 3613 and then further to the array of optical antennas 3610 which can radiate the light orthogonal to the surface of the array in the direction of the target. The return scattered second optical signal incident on the receiver array can be combined on each pixel with a fraction of the first optical signal which has been provided as the local oscillator through the dynamic distribution network).
Regarding claim 14, Nicolaescu, as modified, teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the range of the scene is determined based on the plurality of return signals from the scene in response to the output signal and concurrently received in the array of detectors ([0142] A plurality of analyses can be performed on the signals generated by image signal processor 1652 with the help of software to create a pointcloud containing velocity, distance and reflectivity information about the surrounding environment.).
Regarding claim 15, Nicolaescu, as modified, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the emitting unit does not scan over the scene by beam steering the output signal ([0150] Another example suitable for off chip steering as for example using a 2 axes mirror for the probe signal or flash illuminating the entire scene, is depicted in FIG. 23 and a standalone higher power transmitter is shown in FIG. 24.).
Regarding claim 16, Nicolaescu teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the output signal is flashed at once over the entire scene without being scanned over the scene ([0150] Another example suitable for off chip steering as for example using a 2 axes mirror for the probe signal or flash illuminating the entire scene, is depicted in FIG. 23 and a standalone higher power transmitter is shown in FIG. 24.).
Regarding claim 17, Nicolaescu, as modified, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the array of detectors is configured to receive the plurality of return signals from the scene concurrently ([Fig. 30A]; [Fig. 30B]; [0155] The weak return probe signal from the target can couple through the grating coupler 3001 in the plane of the chip and can be combined with a strong local oscillator in waveguide 3002 in the 2×2 multiplexer 3003. At the output of each of the 2×2 multiplexer 3003, are two waveguide detectors 3004 which can detect an optical signal at a frequency equal to the difference between the local oscillator and the return.).
Regarding claim 20, Nicolaescu, as modified, teaches the system of claim 17, wherein the at least one lens is positioned such that return signals received on one side of the at least one lens are directed onto the array of detectors positioned on the other side of the lens ([0108] The outbound first optical signal beam can be reflected off targets and a portion of the reflected signal beam can be collected by the lens 407 and focused on the detector array 408.).
Regarding claim 21, Nicolaescu, as modified, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the emitting unit is configured to flash the output signal without scanning over the scene by beam steering the output signal ([0150] Another example suitable for off chip steering as for example using a 2 axes mirror for the probe signal or flash illuminating the entire scene, is depicted in FIG. 23 and a standalone higher power transmitter is shown in FIG. 24.).
Regarding claim 22, Nicolaescu, as modified, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the emitting unit is configured to flash the output signal at once over the entire scene ([0150] Another example suitable for off chip steering as for example using a 2 axes mirror for the probe signal or flash illuminating the entire scene, is depicted in FIG. 23 and a standalone higher power transmitter is shown in FIG. 24.).
Regarding claim 24, Nicolaescu, as modified, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one waveguide is configured to distribute the local oscillator signal uniformly over the photodetector site ([0160] In an example, the local oscillator light can be evanescently coupled through two waveguides for each row of cells. Local oscillator light can be coupled in waveguide 3101 from waveguide 3103 situated in the same layer as the other elements of the pixel structure 3000 and connected to the local oscillator distribution network such as 3309.).
Regarding claim 25, Nicolaescu, as modified, teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the local oscillator signal is distributed uniformly over the photodetector site by the at least one waveguide ([0160] In an example, the local oscillator light can be evanescently coupled through two waveguides for each row of cells. Local oscillator light can be coupled in waveguide 3101 from waveguide 3103 situated in the same layer as the other elements of the pixel structure 3000 and connected to the local oscillator distribution network such as 3309.).
Claims 18-19, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicolaescu in view of Skirlo, further in view of Day et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20190317217 A1), hereinafter Day.
Regarding claim 18, Nicolaescu, as modified, teaches the system of claim 17,
Nicolaescu fails to teach the system wherein the array of detectors and the at least one lens are arranged such that the array of detectors receive the plurality of return signals from the scene in multiple directions concurrently.
However, Day teaches the system wherein the array of detectors and the at least one lens are arranged such that the array of detectors receive the plurality of return signals from the scene in multiple directions concurrently ([0125] FIGS. 4A-4E depict various configurations of sensing unit 106 and its role in LIDAR system 100. Specifically, FIG. 4A is a diagram illustrating an example sensing unit 106 with a detector array, FIG. 4B is a diagram illustrating monostatic scanning using a two-dimensional sensor, FIG. 4C is a diagram illustrating an example of a two-dimensional sensor 116, FIG. 4D is a diagram illustrating a lens array associated with sensor 116, and FIG. 4E includes three diagram illustrating the lens structure.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Nicolaescu to comprise the lens distribution similar to Day, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a known technique of optics to ensure the detectors receive returned light concurrently for direct processing.
Regarding claim 19, Nicolaescu, as modified, teaches the system of claim 17,
Nicolaescu fails to teach the system wherein the array of detectors is arranged in a predefined pattern such that different direction of the scene correspond to different detectors at different positions in the predefined pattern.
However, Day teaches the system wherein the array of detectors is arranged in a predefined pattern such that different direction of the scene correspond to different detectors at different positions in the predefined pattern ([Fig. 4A-4E]; [0126] FIG. 4A illustrates an example of sensing unit 106 with detector array 400. In this example, at least one sensor 116 includes detector array 400. LIDAR system 100 is configured to detect objects (e.g., bicycle 208A and cloud 208B) in field of view 120 located at different distances from LIDAR system 100 (could be meters or more).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Nicolaescu to comprise the detector pattern to determine positions similar to Day, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using optical processing to determine the relative location of the targets in a field of view in reference to the detector array.
Regarding claim 23, Nicolaescu, as modified, teaches the system of claim 22,
Nicolaescu fails to teach the system wherein the emitting unit comprises an aperture configured to allow the output signal to be transmitted in multiple directions towards the scene.
However, Day teaches the system wherein the emitting unit comprises an aperture configured to allow the output signal to be transmitted in multiple directions towards the scene ([0123] In embodiments in which the scanning of field of view 120 is mechanical, the projected light emission may be directed to exit aperture 314 that is part of a wall 316 separating projecting unit 102 from other parts of LIDAR system 100. In some examples, wall 316 can be formed from a transparent material (e.g., glass) coated with a reflective material to form deflector 114B.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Nicolaescu to comprise the aperture similar to Day, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring low self-interference of emitted light while performing a multi-directional scan.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 10th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that the prior art combination of Nicolaescu and Skirlo fails to teach the p-i-n junction amended into the current set of claim limitations as outlined in the independent claims, the argument is found to be unpersuasive as the cited rejection listed above shows the use of the p-i-n and other such detectors is encouraged and taught by the prior art of Nicolaescu. The prior art, as cited and as shown through the publication, therefore teaches the limitations as stated and is therefore maintained through this office action.
Conclusion
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645