DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 10, 11, 18, 22, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kazama (JP 2010067579 A) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kazama in view of Wang (CN 110027144 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kazama discloses (see English translation, having receipt date of 9/25/2024, and the Figures for citations) a device for (i.e., capable of) drying a coating arranged on a foil material, wherein the foil material includes a strip-shaped carrier material with the coating arranged thereon (note: the foil and coating are not required of the claimed device), the coating including electrically conductive constituents, wherein the device comprises:
at least one inductor (7) for drying the coating by electromagnetic induction of an alternating electromagnetic field of both the electrically conductive constituents (e.g., electrode active material/conductive additive/conductive assistant) of the coating (electrode slurry 6) and the foil material (pg. 3) [the induction heater operates by creating an alternating magnetic field (see pg. 8), and it is inherent of induction heating that the alternating magnetic field induces an alternating electric field within the material to heat the material via joule heating] to directly heat both the strip-shaped carrier material (metal foil 2) and the coating (see comment 1 below),
wherein a desired temperature or temperature profile (temperature profile is interpreted to mean temperature distribution or range) (see last paragraph on pg. 6 – first paragraph on pg. 7 discussing where the temperature can be regulated to be in a desired range) for directly heating both the strip-shaped carrier material and the coating is adjusted using control of operation parameters of the at least one inductor including electric current and frequency of the inductor (see comment 2 below).
Comment 1. First, the claim is for a device and the foil material is not part of the claim. The only limitation required of the claim is that it has an inductor that can create an alternating electromagnetic field.
Second, Kazama teaches that the carrier material is heated directly (pg. 7). Although, Kazama does not explicitly state that the coating/slurry is heated directly, it is inherent that it would also be heated directly. Paragraph 28 of the present specification states that the alternating electromagnetic field in the electrically conductive constituents of the slurry (i.e., coating) causes the slurry to be heated directly.
Kazama teaches all of the claim elements that would produce this result. Kazama teaches an inductor that produces an alternating magnetic field and a coating comprising a slurry containing conductive particles (e.g., carbon black; pg. 3) (the present specification, in para. 47, also discloses the use of conductive carbon black in the slurry). Since the coating has conductive particles, the alternating magnetic field would induce an alternating electric field within the coating. Therefore, since Kazama discloses all of the necessary and sufficient conditions, it is inherent that the coating would be directly heated via joule heating.
Comment 2. A computer controller 10 controls the output power. The power includes electrical current and the power controls the heating/temperature of the material. The temperature can be adjusted by turning on and off the controller which controls the electrical power of the inductor (see second to last paragraph of pg. 6). Moreover, it is inherent that the controller 10 also controls the frequency 23b because it generates the frequency. The frequency can also be adjusted by turning on and off the controller. However, if this reasoning is not persuasive, see also the teaching of Wang.
Wang teaches an induction drying device for drying a coating on a thin film, comprising:
wherein a desired temperature or temperature profile for directly heating both the strip- shaped carrier material and the coating is adjusted using control of operation parameters of the at least one inductor including electric current and frequency (see English translation; pg. 3, list number 4).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Kazama wherein a desired temperature or temperature profile for directly heating both the strip- shaped carrier material and the coating is adjusted using control of operation parameters of the at least one inductor including electric current and frequency. The motivation to combine is so that the temperature can be finely regulated to produce optimal drying (and drying efficiency) of the electrode material.
Regarding claim 2, Kazama discloses wherein a relative movement is generated between the foil material (2) and the device (7) during the heating of the foil material and the electrically conductive constituents of the coating by electromagnetic induction (abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Kazama discloses wherein the at least one inductor is arranged only on one side of the foil material or on a first side and an opposite second side of the foil material (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Kazama discloses wherein the at least one inductor is operated (capable of being operated) such that the coating and the carrier material are heated differently from one another (if the coating and carrier material are different chemically or molecularly then they would be heated differently) (see also bottom of pg. 6 of the English translation).
Regarding claim 6, Kazama discloses wherein the foil material is conveyed at least in one conveying direction through the device (Fig. 3) and wherein the at least one inductor is used to generate a temperature gradient in the foil material in a first direction extending transversely to the conveying direction or in the conveying direction (the third paragraph on pg. 4 of the English translation discloses or suggests that there can be a temperature gradient in the first direction) (a temperature gradient can also be formed in the first direction by varying the composition of the foil material in the first direction).
Regarding claim 7, Kazama fails to disclose wherein the device comprises a plurality of inductors including that least one inductor, and which are operable independently of one another such that temperature fields that differ from one another are generated for heating purposes.
However, a mere duplication of the inductor disclosed in Kazama has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). For example, there is no patentable significance if there are multiple conveyance devices, each with a single inductor. A person skilled in the art may want additional inductors and conveyors to increase production of the batteries.
Regarding claim 10, Kazama discloses an inductor capable for drying strip-shaped carrier material with a coating arranged thereon, wherein the carrier material is an at least partly electrically conductive conductor foil and the coating is a slurry, wherein the slurry comprises at least an active material, a conductive carbon black, a binder and a solvent.
Regarding claim 11, Kazama discloses an inductor capable for drying strip-shaped carrier material with a coating arranged thereon, wherein the at least one inductor brings about a targeted spatial alignment of at least the conductive carbon black present in the slurry as particles or fibers.
Regarding claim 18, Kazama fails to disclose wherein the device comprises a plurality of inductors including that least one inductor, and which are operable independently of one another such that temperature fields that differ from one another are generated for heating purposes. However, a mere duplication of the inductor disclosed in Kazama has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). For example, there is no patentable significance if there are multiple conveyance devices, each with a single inductor. A person skilled in the art may want additional inductors and conveyors to increase production of the batteries.
Regarding claim 22, Kazama discloses wherein the at least one inductor brings about a targeted spatial alignment of at least the conductive carbon black present in the slurry as particles or fibers (a conductive carbon black in a slurry is disclosed on pg. 3 of the English translation but there is no explicit statement that the carbon black is in the form of particles/fibers; however, this would be inherently present since Kazama discloses a “slurry”, which is a watery mixture comprising particles in suspension) (Kazama discloses all of the positively recited steps required to produce the targeted spatial alignment of the conductive carbon black particles).
Regarding claim 23, Kazama discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the desired temperature or temperature profile is adjusted along a depth of the foil material, along a first direction extending transversely to the conveying direction, and in the conveying direction based on the electric current and frequency of the at least one inductor.
As discussed in the rejection of claim 1, the controller 10 controls the electric current and frequency of the inductor. The limitation, “wherein the desired temperature or temperature profile is adjusted along a depth of the foil material, along a first direction extending transversely to the conveying direction, and in the conveying direction”, is an intended result for which the computer-controlled inductor is capable of producing in the disclosed material, or in other non-disclosed materials. This is because when the coating and foil are heated using electromagnetic induction, heat spreads through the material along all directions, including downward through the material and transversely along the length of the material.
Claim(s) 8, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kazama in view of Zhou (CN 110957470 A), alternatively, over Kazama in view of Wang and Zhou.
Regarding claim 8, Kazama discloses wherein tears and/or pores are (i.e., can be) generated in the coating by a controlled heating of the coating, the tears and/or pores starting from a surface of the coating and at least extending to the carrier material. It is possible to construct a material where tears and/or pores are generated in the coating by heating the coating using the induction heater of Kazama.
Nevertheless, as further support, Zhou teaches a lithium ion battery manufacturing method, wherein tears and/or pores (5) are generated in the coating by a controlled heating of the coating, the tears and/or pores starting from a surface of the coating and at least extending to the carrier material (2) (abstract and Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Kazama wherein tears and/or pores are generated in the coating by a controlled heating of the coating, the tears and/or pores starting from a surface of the coating and at least extending to the carrier material. The motivation to combine is to improve the penetration of liquid through the pores of the coating (Zhou, abstract).
Regarding claim 19, Kazama fails to disclose wherein tears and/or pores are generated in the at least one coating by a controlled heating of the coating, the tears and/or pores starting from a surface of the at least one coating and at least extending to the carrier material.
However, Zhou teaches a lithium ion battery manufacturing method, wherein tears and/or pores (5) are generated in the coating by a controlled heating of the coating, the tears and/or pores starting from a surface of the coating and at least extending to the carrier material (2) (abstract and Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Kazama wherein tears and/or pores are generated in the coating by a controlled heating of the coating, the tears and/or pores starting from a surface of the coating and at least extending to the carrier material. The motivation to combine is to improve the penetration of liquid through the pores of the coating (Zhou, abstract).
Claim(s) 12, 13, 15-17, 21, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazama (JP 2010067579 A) in view of Wang (CN 110027144 A).
Regarding claim 12, Kazama discloses a method for drying a foil material that includes a strip-shaped carrier material (metal foil 2) (i.e., carrier foil used in the production of a lithium-ion battery cell; see para. 11 of Applicant’s pgpub) with at least one coating (electrode slurry 6) arranged thereon (see abstract and Background art), the coating including electrically conductive constituents (see second half of pg. 3 of the English translation), the method comprising:
providing the foil material;
providing a device for drying the at least one coating, wherein the device includes at least one inductor (abstract); and
drying the at least one coating by electromagnetic induction of an alternating electromagnetic field using the at least one inductor [the induction heater operates by creating an alternating magnetic field (see pg. 8), and it is inherent of induction heating that the alternating magnetic field induces an alternating electric field within the material to heat the material via joule heating], wherein the electromagnetic induction applied to both the electrically conductive constituents of the coating and the foil material directly heats both the strip shaped carrier material and the at least one coating (see comment 1 below).
Comment 1. Kazama teaches that the carrier material is heated directly (pg. 7). Although, Kazama does not explicitly state that the coating/slurry is heated directly, it is inherent that it would also be heated directly. Paragraph 28 of the present specification states that the alternating electromagnetic field in the electrically conductive constituents of the slurry (i.e., coating) causes the slurry to be heated directly.
Kazama teaches all of the claim elements that would produce this result. Kazama teaches an inductor (inductor 26; see Fig. 2 showing an inductor core 16 located directly over the coating, and this inductor core would produce a magnetic field downward onto the coating; see Figs. 5 and 6 of the present invention showing a very similar configuration) that produces an alternating magnetic field, and a coating comprising a slurry containing conductive particles (e.g., carbon black; pg. 3) (the present specification, in para. 47, also discloses the use of conductive carbon black in the slurry). Since the coating has conductive particles, the alternating magnetic field would induce an alternating electric field within the coating. Therefore, since Kazama discloses all of the necessary and sufficient conditions, it is inherent that the coating would be directly heated via joule heating.
Kazama fails to disclose:
wherein a desired temperature or temperature profile for directly heating both the strip- shaped carrier material and the coating is adjusted using control of operation parameters of the at least one inductor including electric current and frequency.
Wang teaches an induction drying device for drying a coating on a thin film, comprising:
wherein a desired temperature or temperature profile for directly heating both the strip- shaped carrier material and the coating is adjusted using control of operation parameters of the at least one inductor including electric current and frequency (see English translation; pg. 3, list number 4).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Kazama wherein a desired temperature or temperature profile for directly heating both the strip- shaped carrier material and the coating is adjusted using control of operation parameters of the at least one inductor including electric current and frequency. The motivation to combine is so that the temperature can be finely regulated to produce optimal drying (and drying efficiency) of the electrode material.
Regarding claim 13, Kazama discloses wherein a relative movement is generated between the foil material and the device during the heating of the foil material and the electrically conductive constituents of the at least one coating by electromagnetic induction. This claim does not recite any steps and is simply an intended result of the steps positively recited. Since Kazama discloses all of the steps, this intended result would naturally arise.
Regarding claim 15, Kazama discloses wherein the at least one inductor is arranged only on one side of the foil material or on a first side and an opposite second side of the foil material (Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 16, Kazama discloses wherein the at least one inductor is operated such that the at least one coating and the carrier material are heated differently from one another (English translation, bottom of pg. 6).
Regarding claim 17, Kazama discloses wherein the foil material is conveyed at least in one conveying direction through the device (Fig. 3) and wherein the at least one inductor is used to generate a temperature gradient in the foil material in a first direction extending transversely to the conveying direction or in the conveying direction (English translation, bottom of pg. 6).
Regarding claim 21, Kazama discloses wherein the carrier material is an at least partly electrically conductive conductor foil and the at least one coating (6) is a slurry, wherein the slurry comprises at least an active material, a conductive carbon black, a binder and a solvent (English translation, pg. 3).
Regarding claim 24, modified Kazama discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the desired temperature or temperature profile is adjusted along a depth of the foil material, along a first direction extending transversely to the conveying direction, and in the conveying direction based on the electric current and frequency of the at least one inductor. This is because Kazama, as modified by Wang, discloses the step of adjusting the electric current and frequency of the inductor, which would produce the result wherein the desired temperature or temperature profile is adjusted along a depth of the foil material, along a first direction extending transversely to the conveying direction, and in the conveying direction. See MPEP 2111.04(I).
Moreover, the heat would inherently spread in all directions, including the claimed directions, if the foil is heated using electromagnetic induction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments do not apply to any of the current rejections.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762