DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed August 8, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-30 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4 , 9-11, 16-18, 20, 21, 24-26, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG et al. (hereinafter Jung) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0231734 A1) in view of HAIJA et al. (hereinafter Haija) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0014935 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 26, Jung teaches a method and apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (terminal, figures 2 and 20; [0048]), comprising: a processor (controller, figure 20); memory coupled with the processor (inherent component of the terminal; figure 20); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receiving control signaling indicating a configuration for a channel state information reference signal resource set (a CSI-RS resource set; [0233]) corresponding to one or more reconfigurable intelligent network element (TRPs, figure 2) and a communication beam threshold for the one or more reconfigurable network element ([0233]; “…UE belonging to the base station…exchanges information with the base station using the TRP1…recognized that it also performs communication with the base station using any beams belonging to the TRP1 701, for example, a CSI-RS resource set…”; [0236]; “…the TRP1 601 provides the UE 600 with the configured resource configuration information of the TRP1 601 and TRP2 602 so that the UE 600 can measure each of the TRPs…”; [0238]; “…the TRP 1 601 may indicate that beam measurement results should be reported. The TRP 1 601 may indicate that the best beam or N beams having good performance should be reported for each TRP. The beam measurement result report information may indicate that information on a TRP ID, beam ID, beam quality should be reported…”; teaches the UE receives resource configuration, including CSI-RS resource sets, corresponding to a TRP of the network and a beam threshold, such as N beams, indicating the number of beams that should be reported);
receiving, according to the channel state information reference signal resource set and via the one or more reconfigurable network element, a plurality of channel state information reference signals corresponding to a plurality of respective communication beams ([0154]; [0156]; [0236]; “…the TRP1 601 transmits an RS to the UE 600, as allocated, for measurement. At operation 615, the TRP2 602 transmits the RS to the UE 600, as allocated, for measurement…”; teaches the UE receiving, via the TRP, a plurality of references signals, including CSI-RS, corresponding to a beam); and
transmitting a channel state information report indicating one or more communication beams of the plurality of respective communication beams based at least in part on the plurality of channel state information reference signals and on the communication beam threshold ([0236]; [0238]; [0239]; “…the UE 600 may report beam measurement results. The UE 600 may report the beam measurement results to the TRP…”; teaches the UE transmits a reporting indicating beam based on the measurement respective to the received reference signals and a beam threshold, such as N beams).
However, Jung does not explicitly disclose that the network element is specifically a one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces, and the communication beam threshold for the channel state information reference signal resource set that indicates a capability of a reconfigurable intelligent surface of the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces to concurrently reflect different beamformed signals in different directions.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Haija teaches and suggests that the network element is specifically a one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces (RIS, figures 1 and 5B), and the communication beam threshold for the channel state information reference signal resource set (reference signa/CSI-RS) that indicates a capability of a reconfigurable intelligent surface of the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces to concurrently reflect different beamformed signals in different directions ([0009]; “…the UE receives at least one of: one or more narrow frequency band reference signals that are redirected by the RIS in different directions such that reflected beams from the RIS are substantially non-overlapping; one or more narrow frequency band reference signals that are redirected by the RIS in different directions such that reflected beams from the RIS are overlapping…”; [0015]; [0102]; “…the base station directs a transmission beam to the RIS that includes multiple reference signals, each of narrow bandwidth. An example of a type of reference signal that may be used is a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RSs). The reference signals that are reflected by the portions of the RIS that are configured with different bias voltage are redirected in different directions…”; [0103]; [0131]; [0143]; “…the RIS reflects, or redirects, in multiple directions, either intentionally, as in the case of the overlapping or non-overlapping beams for the narrow bandwidth reference signals, or due to deviation of the direction or certain frequency elements from the direction of a particular frequency elements of the reflected or redirected wide frequency band reference signal. Simultaneous reflection…”; teaches determining a capability of the RIS to simultaneously reflecting a number of beams in different directions/patterns; figures 5B and 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining a capability of the RIS to simultaneously reflecting a number of beams in different directions/patterns as taught by Haija with the method and apparatus for determining and transmitting CSI reports, including the threshold of the number of beams as disclosed by Jung for the purpose of providing configuration information in order to compensate for the prism-like effect of a reconfigurable intelligent surface, as suggested by Haija.
Regarding claims 3 and 28, Jung, as modified by Haija, further teaches and suggests selecting the one or more communication beams based at least in part on the indication of which resources of the channel state information reference signal resource set may be concurrently scheduled, wherein the channel state information report is based at least in part on the selecting ([0052]; [0233]; [0238]; teaches and suggests control information indicating that the CSI-RS resource sets may be concurrently scheduled and selecting beam set based on the CSI-RS resource set for the UE reporting the beam measurements).
Regarding claim 4, Jung, as modified by Haija, further teaches and suggests wherein the control signaling comprises an indication of which resources of the channel state information reference signal resource set may not be concurrently scheduled, the method further comprising: selecting the one or more communication beams based at least in part on the indication of which resources of the channel state information reference signal resource set may not be concurrently scheduled, wherein the channel state information report is based at least in part on the selecting ([0052]; [0233]; [0238]; teaches and suggests control information indicating that the CSI-RS resource sets may not be concurrently scheduled and selecting beam set based on the CSI-RS resource set for the UE reporting the beam measurements).
Regarding claim 9, Jung, as modified by Haija, further teaches and suggests wherein: the channel state information reference signal resource set corresponds to a first reconfigurable intelligent surface (TRP1); and the control signaling further configures a second channel state information reference signal resource set corresponding to a second reconfigurable intelligent surface (TRP2) ([0233]; [0236]; [0238]; teaches the UE receives resource configuration, including CSI-RS resource sets, corresponding to a specific TRP of the network which include a first and second TRP).
Regarding claim 10, Jung, as modified by Haija, further teaches and suggests wherein the communication beam threshold is for both the first reconfigurable intelligent surface and the second reconfigurable intelligent surface ([0238]; “…the TRP 1 601 may indicate that beam measurement results should be reported. The TRP 1 601 may indicate that the best beam or N beams having good performance should be reported for each TRP. The beam measurement result report information may indicate that information on a TRP ID, beam ID, beam quality should be reported…”; teaches the beam threshold, such as N beams, corresponds to a particular TRP of the network, including the first and second TRP).
Regarding claim 11, Jung, as modified by Haija, further teaches and suggests wherein: the communication beam threshold is for the first reconfigurable intelligent surface; and the control signaling further configures a second communication beam threshold for the second reconfigurable intelligent surface ([0238]; “…the TRP 1 601 may indicate that beam measurement results should be reported. The TRP 1 601 may indicate that the best beam or N beams having good performance should be reported for each TRP. The beam measurement result report information may indicate that information on a TRP ID, beam ID, beam quality should be reported…”; teaches the beam threshold, such as N beams, corresponds to a particular TRP of the network, including the first and second TRP).
Regarding claim 16, Jung, as modified by Haija, further teaches and suggests communicating data with a network entity (eNB, figure 1) via at least one reconfigurable intelligent surface of the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces using the one or more communication beams based at least in part on the channel state information report ([0324]; [0390]; teaches the UE communicating data with a eNB via one of the TRPs based on the reported measurement information).
Regarding claim 17, Jung, as modified by Haija, further teaches and suggests wherein the channel state information report is transmitted via at least one reconfigurable intelligent surface of the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces ([0151]; [0238]; [0239]; “…the UE 600 may report beam measurement results. The UE 600 may report the beam measurement results to the TRP…”; teaches the UE transmits a reporting indicating beam to the eNB via the TRP).
Regarding claims 18 and 29, Jung teaches a method and apparatus for wireless communications at a network entity (eNB, figures 1 and 21; [0047]), comprising: a processor (controller, figure 21); memory coupled with the processor (inherent component of the base station); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) (terminal, figure 2; [0048]), control signaling indicating a configuration for a channel state information reference signal resource set (a CSI-RS resource set; [0233]) corresponding to one or more reconfigurable network element (TRPs, figure 2) and a communication beam threshold for the one or more reconfigurable network element ([0233]; “…UE belonging to the base station…exchanges information with the base station using the TRP1…recognized that it also performs communication with the base station using any beams belonging to the TRP1 701, for example, a CSI-RS resource set…”; [0236]; “…the TRP1 601 provides the UE 600 with the configured resource configuration information of the TRP1 601 and TRP2 602 so that the UE 600 can measure each of the TRPs…”; [0238]; “…the TRP 1 601 may indicate that beam measurement results should be reported. The TRP 1 601 may indicate that the best beam or N beams having good performance should be reported for each TRP. The beam measurement result report information may indicate that information on a TRP ID, beam ID, beam quality should be reported…”; teaches the UE transmits resource configuration, including CSI-RS resource sets, corresponding to a TRP of the network and a beam threshold, such as N beams);
transmitting, for the UE via the one or more reconfigurable network element and according to the channel state information reference signal resource set, a plurality of channel state information reference signals corresponding to a plurality of respective communication beams ([0154]; [0156]; [0236]; “…the TRP1 601 transmits an RS to the UE 600, as allocated, for measurement. At operation 615, the TRP2 602 transmits the RS to the UE 600, as allocated, for measurement…”; teaches the base station transmits to the UE, via the TRP, a plurality of references signals, including CSI-RS, corresponding to a beam); and
receiving a channel state information report associated with the UE and indicating one or more communication beams of the plurality of respective communication beams based at least in part on the plurality of channel state information reference signals and on the communication beam threshold ([0236]; [0238]; [0239]; “…the UE 600 may report beam measurement results. The UE 600 may report the beam measurement results to the TRP…”; teaches receiving from the UE a reporting indicating beam based on the measurement respective to the received reference signals).
However, Jung does not explicitly disclose that the network element is specifically a one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces, and the communication beam threshold for the channel state information reference signal resource set that indicates a capability of a reconfigurable intelligent surface of the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces to concurrently reflect different beamformed signals in different directions.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Haija teaches and suggests that the network element is specifically a one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces (RIS, figures 1 and 5B), and the communication beam threshold for the channel state information reference signal resource set (reference signa/CSI-RS) that indicates a capability of a reconfigurable intelligent surface of the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces to concurrently reflect different beamformed signals in different directions ([0009]; “…the UE receives at least one of: one or more narrow frequency band reference signals that are redirected by the RIS in different directions such that reflected beams from the RIS are substantially non-overlapping; one or more narrow frequency band reference signals that are redirected by the RIS in different directions such that reflected beams from the RIS are overlapping…”; [0015]; [0102]; “…the base station directs a transmission beam to the RIS that includes multiple reference signals, each of narrow bandwidth. An example of a type of reference signal that may be used is a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RSs). The reference signals that are reflected by the portions of the RIS that are configured with different bias voltage are redirected in different directions…”; [0103]; [0131]; [0143]; “…the RIS reflects, or redirects, in multiple directions, either intentionally, as in the case of the overlapping or non-overlapping beams for the narrow bandwidth reference signals, or due to deviation of the direction or certain frequency elements from the direction of a particular frequency elements of the reflected or redirected wide frequency band reference signal. Simultaneous reflection…”; teaches determining a capability of the RIS to simultaneously reflecting a number of beams in different directions/patterns; figures 5B and 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining a capability of the RIS to simultaneously reflecting a number of beams in different directions/patterns as taught by Haija with the method and apparatus for determining and transmitting CSI reports, including the threshold of the number of beams as disclosed by Jung for the purpose of providing configuration information in order to compensate for the prism-like effect of a reconfigurable intelligent surface, as suggested by Haija.
Regarding claim 20, Jung, as modified by Haija, further teaches and suggests determining which resources of the channel state information reference signal resource set may be concurrently scheduled based at least in part on an association between the plurality of channel state information reference signals and the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces, wherein the control signaling comprises an indication of which resources of the channel state information reference signal resource set may be concurrently scheduled, and wherein the indicated one or more communication beams are based at least in part on the indication ([0052]; [0233]; [0238]; teaches and suggests control information indicating that the CSI-RS resource sets may be concurrently scheduled and selecting beam set based on the CSI-RS resource set for the UE reporting the beam measurements).
Regarding claim 21, Jung, as modified by Haija, further teaches and suggests determining which resources of the channel state information reference signal resource set may not be concurrently scheduled based at least in part on an association between the plurality of channel state information reference signals and the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces, wherein the control signaling comprises an indication of which resources of the channel state information reference signal resource set may not be concurrently scheduled, and wherein the indicated one or more communication beams are based at least in part on the indication ([0052]; [0233]; [0238]; teaches and suggests control information indicating that the CSI-RS resource sets may not be concurrently scheduled and selecting beam set based on the CSI-RS resource set for the UE reporting the beam measurements).
Regarding claim 24, Jung, as modified by Haija, further teaches and suggests wherein: the channel state information reference signal resource set corresponds to a first reconfigurable intelligent surface (TRP1); and the control signaling further configures a second channel state information reference signal resource set corresponding to a second reconfigurable intelligent surface (TRP2) ([0233]; [0236]; [0238]; teaches the UE receives resource configuration, including CSI-RS resource sets, corresponding to a specific TRP of the network which include a first and second TRP).
Regarding claim 25, Jung, as modified by Haija, further teaches and suggests communicating data with the UE via at least one reconfigurable intelligent surface of the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces using the indicated one or more communication beams based at least in part on the channel state information report ([0324]; [0390]; teaches the UE communicating data with a eNB via one of the TRPs based on the reported measurement information).
Claims 2, 19, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG et al. (hereinafter Jung) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0231734 A1) in view of HAIJA et al. (hereinafter Haija) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0014935 A1), and further in view of FAXÉR et al. (hereinafter Faxer) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0143870 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 27, Jung, as modified by Haija, discloses the claimed invention, but may not expressly disclose receiving a rank threshold indicator for the channel state information reference signal resource set, wherein the rank threshold indicator indicates a rank threshold for the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces, and the communication beam threshold comprises the rank threshold.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Faxer teaches and suggests receiving a rank threshold indicator for the channel state information reference signal resource set, wherein the rank threshold indicator indicates a rank threshold for the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces, and the communication beam threshold comprises the rank threshold ([0061]; [0112]; “…select a preferred precoder matrix and rank for each TRP/panel and calculate an appropriate channel quality indicator (CQI) under a non-coherent joint transmission (NC-JT) assumption. By associating each CSI-RS resource with a separate precoder codebook…”; [0142]; “…For each of the selected CSI-RS resources, the UE calculates a preferred precoder matrix from the associated codebook, under the assumption that transmission occurs from all of the CSI-RS resources simultaneously. The resulting rank the UE shall select for the hypothetical transmission is thus the sum of the per-resource ranks…”; teaches an indication of a rank for the CSI resources for TRPs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an indication of a rank for the CSI resources for TRPs as taught by Faxer with the method and apparatus as disclosed by Jung, as modified by Haija, for the purpose of efficiently supporting BSI for a range of antenna configuration served by a TRP, as suggested by Faxer.
Regarding claim 19, Jung, as modified by Haija, discloses the claimed invention, but may not expressly disclose determining a rank threshold for the channel state information reference signal resource set based at least in part on an association between the plurality of channel state information reference signals and the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces, wherein the control signaling comprises a rank threshold indicator indicating the rank threshold, and wherein the indicated one or more communication beams are based at least in part on the rank threshold.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang1 teaches and suggests determining a rank threshold for the channel state information reference signal resource set based at least in part on an association between the plurality of channel state information reference signals and the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces, wherein the control signaling comprises a rank threshold indicator indicating the rank threshold, and wherein the indicated one or more communication beams are based at least in part on the rank threshold ([0061]; [0112]; “…select a preferred precoder matrix and rank for each TRP/panel and calculate an appropriate channel quality indicator (CQI) under a non-coherent joint transmission (NC-JT) assumption. By associating each CSI-RS resource with a separate precoder codebook…”; [0142]; “…For each of the selected CSI-RS resources, the UE calculates a preferred precoder matrix from the associated codebook, under the assumption that transmission occurs from all of the CSI-RS resources simultaneously. The resulting rank the UE shall select for the hypothetical transmission is thus the sum of the per-resource ranks…”; teaches an indication of a rank for the CSI resources for TRPs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an indication of a rank for the CSI resources for TRPs as taught by Faxer with the method and apparatus as disclosed by Jung, as modified by Haija, for the purpose of efficiently supporting BSI for a range of antenna configuration served by a TRP, as suggested by Faxer.
Claims 5-8, 22, 23, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG et al. (hereinafter Jung) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0231734 A1) in view of HAIJA et al. (hereinafter Haija) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0014935 A1), and further in view of Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang2) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0123975 A).
Regarding claim 5, Jung, as modified by Haija, discloses the claimed invention, but may not expressly disclose determining a first group of resources of the channel state information reference signal resource set corresponding to a first reconfigurable intelligent surface of the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces and a second group of resources of the channel state information reference signal resource set corresponding to a second reconfigurable intelligent surface of the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces; and selecting a first one or more communication beams based at least in part on the first group of resources and a first communication beam threshold and selecting a second one or more communication beams based at least in part on the second group of resources and a second communication beam threshold.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang2 teaches and suggests determining a first group of resources of the channel state information reference signal resource set corresponding to a first reconfigurable intelligent surface of the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces (CSI-resource group 1 of TRP1; figure 5) and a second group of resources of the channel state information reference signal resource set corresponding to a second reconfigurable intelligent surface of the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces (CSI-resource group 2 of TRP2; figure 5); and selecting a first one or more communication beams based at least in part on the first group of resources and a first communication beam threshold and selecting a second one or more communication beams based at least in part on the second group of resources and a second communication beam threshold ([0079]; [0086]; [0093]; teaches the CSI resource set comprising a first CSI resource group and second CSI resource group corresponding to a first and second TRP, and selecting a beam, such as a candidate beam, based on the CSI resource groups and the threshold number of beams).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the CSI resource set comprising a first CSI resource group and second CSI resource group corresponding to a first and second TRP, and selecting beams based on the CSI resource groups as taught by Zhang2 with the method and apparatus as disclosed by Jung, as modified by Haija, for the purpose of providing CSI configuration for CSI reporting in the network, as suggested by Zhang2.
Regarding claim 6, Jung, as modified by Haija, discloses the claimed invention, but may not expressly disclose wherein the control signaling further indicates the first group of resources and the second group of resources, the determining based at least in part on the control signaling.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang2 further teaches and suggests wherein the control signaling further indicates the first group of resources and the second group of resources, the determining based at least in part on the control signaling ([0079]; [0086]; [0093]; teaches CSI configuration signaling including the CSI resource set comprising a first CSI resource group and second CSI resource group indicating in the control signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate CSI configuration signaling including the CSI resource set comprising a first CSI resource group and second CSI resource group as taught by Zhang2 with the method and apparatus as disclosed by Jung, as modified by Haija and Zhang2, for the purpose of providing CSI configuration for CSI reporting in the network, as suggested by Zhang2.
Regarding claim 7, Jung, as modified by Haija, discloses the claimed invention including a first signature associated with the first reconfigurable intelligent surface and detecting and a second signature associated with the second reconfigurable intelligent surface (TRP ID; [0233]; [0238]), but may not expressly disclose detecting, in a first set of channel state information reference signals of the plurality of channel state information reference signals received in the first group of resources, in a second set of channel state information reference signals of the plurality of channel state information reference signals received in the second group of resources.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang2 further teaches and suggests detecting, in a first set of channel state information reference signals of the plurality of channel state information reference signals received in the first group of resources (CSI-resource group 1 of TRP1; figure 5), in a second set of channel state information reference signals of the plurality of channel state information reference signals received in the second group of resources (CSI-resource group 2 of TRP2; figure 5) ([0079]; [0086]; [0093]; teaches CSI configuration signaling including the CSI resource set comprising a first CSI resource group and second CSI resource group).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate CSI configuration signaling including the CSI resource set comprising a first CSI resource group and second CSI resource group as taught by Zhang2 with the method and apparatus as disclosed by Jung, as modified by Haija and Zhang2, for the purpose of providing CSI configuration for CSI reporting in the network, as suggested by Zhang2.
Regarding claim 8, Jung, as modified by Haija, further teaches and suggests wherein the control signaling further indicates a first rank threshold corresponding to the first signature (TRP ID) and a second rank threshold corresponding to the second signature (TRP ID), the first communication beam threshold corresponding to the first rank threshold and the second communication beam threshold corresponding to the second rank threshold ([0233]; [0238]; teaches determining and reporting a best beam corresponding to the TRP ID).
Regarding claims 22 and 30, Jung, as modified by Haija, discloses the claimed invention, but may not expressly disclose determining a first group of resources of the channel state information reference signal resource set corresponding to a first reconfigurable intelligent surface of the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces and a second group of resources of the channel state information reference signal resource set corresponding to a second reconfigurable intelligent surface of the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces, wherein the control signaling further indicates the first group of resources and the second group of resources, and wherein the indicated one or more communication beams are based at least in part on the first group of resources and the second group of resources.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang2 teaches and suggests determining a first group of resources of the channel state information reference signal resource set corresponding to a first reconfigurable intelligent surface of the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces (CSI-resource group 1 of TRP1; figure 5) and a second group of resources of the channel state information reference signal resource set corresponding to a second reconfigurable intelligent surface of the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces (CSI-resource group 2 of TRP2; figure 5), wherein the control signaling further indicates the first group of resources and the second group of resources, and wherein the indicated one or more communication beams are based at least in part on the first group of resources and the second group of resources ([0079]; [0086]; [0093]; teaches the CSI resource set comprising a first CSI resource group and second CSI resource group corresponding to a first and second TRP, and selecting a beam, such as a candidate beam, based on the CSI resource groups and the threshold number of beams).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the CSI resource set comprising a first CSI resource group and second CSI resource group corresponding to a first and second TRP, and selecting beams based on the CSI resource groups as taught by Zhang2 with the method and apparatus as disclosed by Jung, as modified by Haija, for the purpose of providing CSI configuration for CSI reporting in the network, as suggested by Zhang2.
Regarding claim 23, Jung, as modified by Haija, discloses the claimed invention including the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces associated with a first signature and the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces associated with a second signature (TRP ID; [0233]; [0238]), but may not expressly disclose determining a first group of resources of the channel state information reference signal resource set corresponding to a first reconfigurable intelligent surface and a second group of resources of the channel state information reference signal resource set corresponding to a second reconfigurable intelligent surface.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang2 further teaches and suggests determining a first group of resources of the channel state information reference signal resource set corresponding to a first reconfigurable intelligent surface (CSI-resource group 1 of TRP1; figure 5) and a second group of resources of the channel state information reference signal resource set corresponding to a second reconfigurable intelligent surface (CSI-resource group 2 of TRP2; figure 5) ([0079]; [0086]; [0093]; teaches CSI configuration signaling including the CSI resource set comprising a first CSI resource group and second CSI resource group).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate CSI configuration signaling including the CSI resource set comprising a first CSI resource group and second CSI resource group as taught by Zhang2 with the method and apparatus as disclosed by Jung, as modified by Haija and Zhang2, for the purpose of providing CSI configuration for CSI reporting in the network, as suggested by Zhang2.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG et al. (hereinafter Jung) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0231734 A1) in view of HAIJA et al. (hereinafter Haija) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0014935 A1), and further in view of ÅSTRÖM et al. (hereinafter Astrom) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0246674 A1),
Regarding claim 12, Jung, as modified by Haija, discloses a communication beam threshold, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the capability of the reconfigurable intelligent surface of the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces to concurrently reflect the different beamformed signals in the different directions comprises a concurrent beam transmission capability of the first reconfigurable intelligent surface.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Astrom further teaches and suggests wherein the capability of the reconfigurable intelligent surface of the one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces to concurrently reflect the different beamformed signals in the different directions comprises a concurrent beam transmission capability of the first reconfigurable intelligent surface (figures 1 and 6; [0033]; [0035]; [0078]-[0084]; [0120]; [0122]; “…a capability report from the reconfigurable reflective surface, the capability report indicating a number of beams the reconfigurable reflective surface can resolve and reflect in different directions. In some embodiments, the capability report includes a number of reflection angles by which the reconfigurable reflective surface can simultaneously reflect signals incident upon the reconfigurable reflective surface…”; teaches the beam threshold of the number of reflecting beams based on the capability of the rIS to concurrently reflect the beamformed signals in different directions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the beam threshold of the number of reflecting beams based on the capability of the rIS to concurrently reflect the beamformed signals in different directions as taught by Astrom with the method and apparatus for determining and transmitting CSI reports, including the threshold of the number of beams as disclosed by Jung, as modified by Haija, for the purpose of increasing flexibility and reliability of the network and increase network capacity, as suggested by Astrom ([0028];[0029]).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG et al. (hereinafter Jung) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0231734 A1) in view of HAIJA et al. (hereinafter Haija) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0014935 A1), and further in view of CHOU et al. (hereinafter Chou) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0088818 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Jung, as modified by Haija, discloses the claimed invention, but may not expressly disclose selecting a precoder based at least in part on the one or more communication beams and a quantity of reconfigurable intelligent surfaces corresponding to the one or more communication beams, wherein the channel state information report further indicates the selected precoder.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Chou teaches and suggests selecting a precoder based at least in part on the one or more communication beams (number of beams; [0065]; [0081]) and a quantity of reconfigurable intelligent surfaces corresponding to the one or more communication beams (number of TRPs; figure 10A; [0012]; [0021]), wherein the channel state information report further indicates the selected precoder ([0012]; “…the CSI report configuration indicates the CSI report is a coherent joint transmission (C-JT) CSI report, and the CSI report includes a precoder matrix indicator (PMI) indicating a precoder that indicates the information of one or more phase differences or one or more amplitude differences among the CSI-RSs transmitted from the multiple TRPs…”; [0022]; “…the CSI information in the CSI report indicates a precoder corresponding to the preferred TRP…”; [0081]; [0158]; teaches the CSI report indicated a precoder corresponding to the preferred TRPs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the CSI report indicated a precoder corresponding to the preferred TRPs as taught by Chou with the method and apparatus as disclosed by Jung, as modified by Haija, for the purpose of providing CSI configuration in order to improve CSI reporting in the network, as suggested by Chou.
Regarding claim 14, Jung, as modified by Haija, discloses the claimed invention, but may not expressly disclose wherein the precoder supports coherent precoding based at least in part on the one or more communication beams corresponding to one reconfigurable intelligent surface.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Chou teaches and suggests wherein the precoder supports coherent precoding based at least in part on the one or more communication beams corresponding to one reconfigurable intelligent surface ([0012]; “…the CSI report configuration indicates the CSI report is a coherent joint transmission (C-JT) CSI report, and the CSI report includes a precoder matrix indicator (PMI) indicating a precoder that indicates the information of one or more phase differences or one or more amplitude differences among the CSI-RSs transmitted from the multiple TRPs…”; [0090]; teaches the precoder supports coherence precoding; figure 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the precoder supports coherence precoding as taught by Chou with the method and apparatus as disclosed by Jung, as modified by Haija and Chou, for the purpose of providing CSI configuration in order to improve CSI reporting in the network, as suggested by Chou.
Regarding claim 15, Jung, as modified by Haija, discloses the claimed invention, but may not expressly disclose wherein the precoder supports non-coherent precoding based at least in part on the one or more communication beams corresponding to a plurality of reconfigurable intelligent surfaces.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Chou teaches and suggests wherein the precoder supports non-coherent precoding based at least in part on the one or more communication beams corresponding to a plurality of reconfigurable intelligent surfaces ([0013]; [0090]; teaches the precoder supports non-coherence precoding; figure 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the precoder supports non-coherence precoding as taught by Chou with the method and apparatus as disclosed by Jung, as modified by Haija and Chou, for the purpose of providing CSI configuration in order to improve CSI reporting in the network, as suggested by Chou.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
November 1, 2025